View Full Version : Dundee away

NorthRoadHibee
16-09-2018, 08:50 AM
Sorry if posted elsewhere, where is everyone heading pre-match for a few beers? Looking for somewhere that is fine with wearing colours and ideally does food 🍻 🍔

16-09-2018, 09:13 AM
Think I used to go to the Ambassador,up the hill fae ground many moons ago,

16-09-2018, 09:15 AM
The V&A?

16-09-2018, 09:18 AM
Not sure what its like on football days but visited the BrewDog on Panmure Street quite recently, good beer selection, food etc.

16-09-2018, 09:23 AM
The Beer Kitchen on Perth Rd has good beer and good food.

Chic Murray
16-09-2018, 01:14 PM
Was thinking of going, but am put off by potential for traffic chaos. It's the September weekend, and the first weekend there's public access to the V&A.

16-09-2018, 01:20 PM
The Ambassador is normally where I end up before the game. Decent wee pub.

16-09-2018, 01:25 PM
Is there a more dreary, depressing place than Dundee? Awful town.

NthCarolinaHibs
16-09-2018, 01:25 PM
We're heading to Trades house..no far from station then a Joe up to the ground..🇳🇬

16-09-2018, 01:29 PM

Edinburgh

16-09-2018, 01:30 PM
Was thinking of going, but am put off by potential for traffic chaos. It's the September weekend, and the first weekend there's public access to the V&A.

it’s only an hour up the road from the bridge ....the route to the ground doesn’t take you through the city centre , or the river area where the Gallery is...give yourself and extra 30mins if you are concerned and it will be a breeze ..

16-09-2018, 01:32 PM
Edinburgh

Nae chance. Dundee could be the setting of any Kafka novel.

Daydreamer
16-09-2018, 01:33 PM
Always head to Halleys at Strathmartine Road. Where else do you hear of the same guy having a pub for thirty years. The pint of Tennents is the best I've ever tasted.

16-09-2018, 01:37 PM
Hopefully Dundee keep their manager as we'll pump them

Change and it could give them a lift for Saturday

16-09-2018, 01:44 PM

It’s not the most attractive place but the people are generally okay. I was at uni there for four years in mid 80s so it might have improved. Mind you my daughter says Aberdeen runs it close. Must be all the grey granite and the fact that temperatures are baltic all year round.

16-09-2018, 01:45 PM
Tickety Boo's does the job for lunch and early live matches.

16-09-2018, 01:50 PM
It’s not the most attractive place but the people are generally okay. I was at uni there for four years in mid 80s so it might have improved. Mind you my daughter says Aberdeen runs it close. Must be all the grey granite and the fact that temperatures are baltic all year round.

Dundee has improved beyond recognition over the past decade, the continuing development on the Riverside are pretty impressive. I would have had Aberdeen slightly ahead of Dundee in terms of an attractive place to live over the past twenty years but Dundee is moving ahead now.

16-09-2018, 01:51 PM

I actually don't mind Aberdeen. Yes it's austere, but I kind of like that melancholic vibe. Dundee, on the other hand, leaves me cold; there's a hopelessness about the place. It's like the darkest days of Thatcher's Scotland have permanently settled there.

Chorley Hibee
16-09-2018, 01:55 PM
I actually don't mind Aberdeen. Yes it's austere, but I kind of like that melancholic vibe. Dundee, on the other hand, leaves me cold; there's a hopelessness about the place. It's like the darkest days of Thatcher's Scotland have permanently settled there.

That sounds exactly like Lanarkshire to be honest.

16-09-2018, 01:58 PM
My old man loves Dundee as just about every pub sells McEwan's 80!

16-09-2018, 02:00 PM
That sounds exactly like Lanarkshire to be honest.

Lanarkshire can have some life to it. I quite like Motherwell/Hamilton/Bellshill. Perhaps I have strange taste :greengrin

My best pal stays in Wishy, like yourself.

Bangkok Hibby
16-09-2018, 02:07 PM

Aberdeen

Bangkok Hibby
16-09-2018, 02:11 PM
Edinburgh

In a 2017 poll only 16% of Edinburgh's residents described their lives as happy

16-09-2018, 02:15 PM

Yams, after our cup win.

16-09-2018, 02:18 PM

Dundee’s a tremendous place. Genuinely creative undertone to it, some really good places to eat and drink and friendly people.

16-09-2018, 02:18 PM
Lanarkshire can have some life to it. I quite like Motherwell/Hamilton/Bellshill. Perhaps I have strange taste :greengrin

My best pal stays in Wishy, like yourself.

There's nae danger that those three hovels are better than Dundee.

16-09-2018, 02:19 PM

:yawn: Grew up in Carnoustie and Dundee has improved considerably since I moved there. It's a great city.

16-09-2018, 02:21 PM
The V&A?

Perfect opportunity for a double whammy of culture & Hibs.

16-09-2018, 02:28 PM
Dundee’s a tremendous place. Genuinely creative undertone to it, some really good places to eat and drink and friendly people.

I get what you're saying, but I just can't connect with it. Dundee always makes me think of the Morrissey song 'Everyday Is Like Sunday': dreich, desolate, grey. :greengrin

There are plenty of such places in the UK, but Dundee has always given me the fear for some reason. I can imagine being sent to live there as punishment; one of those tenements near Tannadice for the winter.

16-09-2018, 02:41 PM

Absolutely no need to go anywhere near the city centre or the V&A

A90 until turn off for Strathmartine Road. Take that and travel towards the city.
You will come across the junction for Dens Road on your left, take that and Bob's your Aunty.

An hour after crossing the Forth Road Bridge to the ground.

16-09-2018, 02:43 PM
There was nothing wrong with Dundee in the 60s but like many other places, Ayrshire comes to mind, there has been a gradual decline. At least Dundee seems to be on the up again.

16-09-2018, 02:45 PM
Dundee is a great City

16-09-2018, 02:47 PM
I lived in Dundee for a few years. You get to know everyone eventually. Great vibe to it but was a total dump when I was there.

Happy to see it making a comeback. Nearly unrecognisable.

16-09-2018, 03:01 PM
I lived in Dundee for a few years. You get to know everyone eventually. Great vibe to it but was a total dump when I was there.

Happy to see it making a comeback. Nearly unrecognisable.

I will take a look around before the game, in the interest of being fair. Perhaps I've been overly harsh. I shall try to be objective.

Jay
16-09-2018, 03:27 PM

Is it not the sept weekend this weekend? Schools.here are off and I'm sure its a public holiday pay day at work tomorrow?

Its an open day at Dundee Uni on saturday too.

16-09-2018, 03:49 PM

This is the sept weekend??

16-09-2018, 03:59 PM

??? Dundee is a great place. I'm guessing you don't know it very well.

16-09-2018, 04:03 PM

Dundee is fine, looking forward to getting to the new V&A with my wife

As for that poll? That one was commissioned for 9Nine Superseeds (who?). I could have done a better one by wandering the streets for a couple of days - It surveyed 3000 people across the UK - think about those numbers and how many that would mean in Scotland - perhaps 300 bodies? How many in Edinburgh? Apparently Glasgows numbers in that one were almost as bad.

Its as stupid as those ones which regularly tell us that place XY or Z is the best to live. Honestly, newspapers just reprint this kind of advertorial pish without even thinking.

p.s. google brings up a more recent alternative view to that 2017 one, perhaps with a more valid sample size - 5000 Edinburgh Residents were polled in 2018 and 95% said they were happy..........

https://stv.tv/news/east-central/1414586-nearly-all-edinburgh-residents-happy-with-life-in-city/

16-09-2018, 04:05 PM
??? Dundee is a great place. I'm guessing you don't know it very well.

Not very well, other than a few visits and for Hibs games. It's always left me with a sense of bleakness.

16-09-2018, 04:10 PM
My old man loves Dundee as just about every pub sells McEwan's 80!

really, would die for one now

Chic Murray
16-09-2018, 05:06 PM
Is it not the sept weekend this weekend? Schools.here are off and I'm sure its a public holiday pay day at work tomorrow?

Its an open day at Dundee Uni on saturday too.

I think it's the Glasgow September weekend next week. :agree:

Jay
16-09-2018, 05:12 PM
I think it's the Glasgow September weekend next week. :agree:

Ahhhh...but whens the Dundee one then? :greengrin

Chic Murray
16-09-2018, 05:29 PM

I'll tell you the next time I'm working there. :greengrin

Been surrounded by Weedgies the last couple of days.

16-09-2018, 06:05 PM
Will this be PATG?

16-09-2018, 06:06 PM
Just heard Dundee are on a terrible run. What are the odds we are the team they end it against?

16-09-2018, 06:29 PM
Just heard Dundee are on a terrible run. What are the odds we are the team they end it against?

I think every football fan thinks this way about their own team - keep the faith!

16-09-2018, 06:31 PM
I think every football fan thinks this way about their own team - keep the faith!

Suppose I could counter it by saying we are not winning games away from home. Our run could be coming to an end.

16-09-2018, 06:53 PM
Suppose I could counter it by saying we are not winning games away from home. Our run could be coming to an end.

Hibs haven’t won away from home in the league since February I’d heard
So this is the time to put it right

stuart-farquhar
16-09-2018, 06:58 PM

What is a " creative undertone"

16-09-2018, 07:05 PM
What is a " creative undertone"Fergal Sharkey?

bodhibs
16-09-2018, 07:12 PM
Will this be PATG?

Anyone know?

16-09-2018, 07:15 PM
Anyone know?

Of course it will be. Can’t remember in recent time us selling out our Stand

bodhibs
16-09-2018, 07:20 PM
Of course it will be. Can’t remember in recent time us selling out our Stand

Gee thanks bud 🙄

16-09-2018, 09:59 PM

Totally disagree there. Dundee is a great day out.

16-09-2018, 10:01 PM
Nae Kenny Miller next weekend. Straight red was it yesterday?

16-09-2018, 10:10 PM
Fergal Sharkey?

Genius... 10/10 😀

17-09-2018, 12:04 AM
In a 2017 poll only 16% of Edinburgh's residents described their lives as happyright then. hae a nice life in bankook

Ardenttwo
17-09-2018, 06:28 AM
Think I used to go to the Ambassador,up the hill fae ground many moons ago,

Was in Whites last week and it’s a bit scruffy now. Ticky Boos in town but will be packed out on a Saturday with shoppers

Ardenttwo
17-09-2018, 06:33 AM
As I am out of the country is there any chance I will get this game live on International Hibs TV

17-09-2018, 06:46 AM
Dundee is a fabulous place. Lived and worked there from 2000 to 2017, and regard it as home. Fantastic re-birth going on.

17-09-2018, 07:41 AM

Dundee schools don't take a Monday holiday in September.

Jay
17-09-2018, 07:46 AM
Dundee schools don't take a Monday holiday in September.

So now we know the schools are in so it may just be okay, as long as the weedgies dont fancy a weekend in Dundee :greengrin

17-09-2018, 08:35 AM
McCann will be clearing his desk this time next week.

17-09-2018, 10:50 AM
Nae Kenny Miller next weekend. Straight red was it yesterday?

They’re going to appeal it

17-09-2018, 06:47 PM
I can’t believe the grief Dundee is getting. The people up there are brilliant, they’re funny and warm in equal measures. There’s so much more to a city than bricks and mortar. Edinburgh is a prime example of that.

17-09-2018, 06:56 PM
I can’t believe the grief Dundee is getting. The people up there are brilliant, they’re funny and warm in equal measures. There’s so much more to a city than bricks and mortar. Edinburgh is a prime example of that.

To be fair, it's only me giving Dundee grief; plenty of others sticking up for it. :greengrin

I still think it's a dump :na na:

murray26
17-09-2018, 07:38 PM
They’re going to appeal it

They canny appeal that FFS.. it better be heard before Friday if they do..

17-09-2018, 07:39 PM
To be fair, it's only me giving Dundee grief; plenty of others sticking up for it. :greengrin

:greengrin Spend a few days there and you’ll love it.

17-09-2018, 08:18 PM
Was in Whites last week and it’s a bit scruffy now. Ticky Boos in town but will be packed out on a Saturday with shoppers

We usually turn up there just in time for the early ko games and have always got a seat.

19-09-2018, 06:31 AM
As I am out of the country is there any chance I will get this game live on International Hibs TV
Contact Hibs TV admin and pay one months international subscription approx £8

chinaman
19-09-2018, 05:03 PM
will there be a pay gate on the day,does anyone know ?

houstonhibbee
19-09-2018, 05:10 PM
Contact Hibs TV admin and pay one months international subscription approx £8

Its not definitely on Hibs TV yet? Might be better subscribing to Dundee TV?

19-09-2018, 05:19 PM

Dundee Tv has shown all there home games so far this season.

21-09-2018, 08:37 PM
Both clubs are showing the game on there channels.

BlackSheep
21-09-2018, 08:48 PM

It has been confirmed.

mghibs
21-09-2018, 08:58 PM
any one have any advice for parking for those driving to the game? :confused:

22-09-2018, 02:07 AM
any one have any advice for parking for those driving to the game? :confused:

Just park in the surrounding streets

22-09-2018, 02:21 AM
I will take a look around before the game, in the interest of being fair. Perhaps I've been overly harsh. I shall try to be objective.

Do yourself a favour and have a few pints before you go walk about.
You might feel a bit more cheery and less pessimistic about the town.
It's amazing what a bit of alcohol does to the senses....but do draw the line at hugging the locals and telling them how much you love them and their toon!

22-09-2018, 05:48 AM

If you think Dundee is a dump, try spending time in Luton, Hartlepool or Newport ; they make Dundee look like Paris :greengrin

Dundee has been on the up for the last decade and the V&A has been the catalyst for further impressive improvements to everything from culture to retail to bars and restaurants.

If I was to live in another Scottish city other than Embra it would be Fundee:aok:

22-09-2018, 07:39 AM
The waterfront is very nice these days but the area around Dens and beyond is still very run down. Dundee has a massive drugs problem. Infact it's been labeled the drugs death capital of Scotland. Not somewhere I'd like to live.

22-09-2018, 07:48 AM
Stuck in the Lake District this weekend, gutted to be missing what will be our first away league victory for a while.

mghibs
22-09-2018, 08:06 AM
Just park in the surrounding streets

Cheers, not been to Dundee much and wasn’t sure if there was a better option

22-09-2018, 08:21 AM

When did you last visit? You’re not describing the place I know.

22-09-2018, 08:26 AM
Stuck in the Lake District this weekend, gutted to be missing what will be our first away league victory for a while.

Lucky you, I'm stuck in Glasgow

:boo hoo:

22-09-2018, 10:13 AM
When did you last visit? You’re not describing the place I know.

Im with H&A on this, I think Dundee is a miserable place. I heard lots about the discovery quarter, the supposed new vibe and all the tech jobs but I was there last season and thought it was still the dismal hovel I remember from the nineties. Except there's now a boat that got some erdf funding that paid for a sort of a crappy museum with plastic penguins.

22-09-2018, 10:17 AM
Aberdeen can be characterised by the massive chip on the shoulder everyone carries there and the disdain they hold for anyone not from Aberdeen.

Their overly "I'm alright Jack" vote in 2014 sums them up.

I won't have anything against Dundee as a Yes city

22-09-2018, 10:19 AM
Aberdeen can be characterised by the massive chip on the shoulder everyone carries there and the disdain they hold for anyone not from Aberdeen.

Agree

22-09-2018, 10:31 AM

“Chip on the shoulder”. Hmmmm. Ironic.

I’ve lived in both cities and wouldn’t characterise it by the way they choose to vote.

22-09-2018, 10:49 AM

Eh?

22-09-2018, 10:51 AM

Eh? That’s two morons in row.

CorrieHibs
22-09-2018, 11:38 AM
What pubs are folk heading to?

22-09-2018, 11:58 AM
Im with H&A on this, I think Dundee is a miserable place. I heard lots about the discovery quarter, the supposed new vibe and all the tech jobs but I was there last season and thought it was still the dismal hovel I remember from the nineties. Except there's now a boat that got some erdf funding that paid for a sort of a crappy museum with plastic penguins.

I was there a few times last year and the year before and thiught the transformation was amazing. I’ve always found there to be plenty of good boozers in the city but theres seems to be a much more positive vibe about the place now. To label it a dump based on historic perceptions is a tad ignorant imo. Not that I’m aiming that at you though.

22-09-2018, 12:25 PM
I was there a few times last year and the year before and thiught the transformation was amazing. I’ve always found there to be plenty of good boozers in the city but theres seems to be a much more positive vibe about the place now. To label it a dump based on historic perceptions is a tad ignorant imo. Not that I’m aiming that at you though.

I think we all have different opinions on cities based on the kind of day or days we've spent there. Personally I love Manchester whereas some folk I know hate the place, Amsterdam left me cold compared to Brussels and I love Marseille when a lot of people think its a nightmare.

22-09-2018, 12:44 PM
I think we all have different opinions on cities based on the kind of day or days we've spent there. Personally I love Manchester whereas some folk I know hate the place, Amsterdam left me cold compared to Brussels and I love Marseille when a lot of people think its a nightmare.

Indeed. I worked in London for three years and love the place whereas there are plenty of others can’t stand it.

22-09-2018, 02:13 PM
I won't hear a word said against Dundee, as you used to get some decent rammies there, many moons ago.

I remember walking along (the strangely named) Main St, just off Dens Road, as it joined with Isla St and encountering the 'Utility'. Boy could those guys run!

Heady days indeed.