View Full Version : Macaroon Bars and spearmint chewing gum

16-09-2018, 08:46 AM
One for the older viewers..who remembers this? Beechnut chewing gum - quite brittle stuff if I correctly recall ?

Anyone other things from footballs bygone days which bring back fond memories ??

16-09-2018, 08:57 AM
One for the older viewers..who remembers this? Beechnut chewing gum - quite brittle stuff if I correctly recall ?

Anyone other things from footballs bygone days which bring back fond memories ??

Erra souvenier macaroon bars and spearmint chewing gum!

Parlyamo Glesga ! :greengrin

16-09-2018, 09:00 AM

Ha! Yes. Always seemed to be the same guy selling them

And I’m sure wagon wheels were much bigger back then!

houstonhibbee
16-09-2018, 09:00 AM

I remember getting a rosette on the way to tinecastle for the 2-1 Scottish cup win in 1971 I think it was

16-09-2018, 09:01 AM
Scotland World Cup send off banner

Jesus saves
but
Kenny gets the rebound.

Fantastic.

16-09-2018, 09:04 AM
Wagon wheels, kiora juice and on more than one occassion the players forming a huddle to protect the modesty of a player who needs to change his shorts midway through a match. Or did I dream that?

16-09-2018, 09:05 AM
Wagon wheels, kiora juice and on more than one occassion the players forming a huddle to protect the modesty of a player who needs to change his shorts midway through a match. Or did I dream that?

Kiora orange !! Yes. Had forgotten about that [emoji106]

16-09-2018, 09:06 AM
Football rattles.

16-09-2018, 09:07 AM
The BBC

:duck:

Lemonade
16-09-2018, 09:11 AM
Yellow pontoon cards with the 3 tear down strips.

16-09-2018, 09:17 AM
spam rolls at the old hamilton ground

16-09-2018, 09:34 AM
I remember the old guy that used to walk around Easter Road holding aloft the blackboard with the lucky programme numbers which were printed on the front of your programme everyone used to pelt it with pies.

I also remember the half time scoreboard with the shaky numbers which were waited on in great anticipation and huge gasps when the scores were put up in prearranged alphabetical order according to your programme in pre internet social media days as only the Sados had a tranny wired to their ears in those days listening to David Francey and Alister Alexander!

Fuzzywuzzy
16-09-2018, 09:35 AM
Football rattles.

They would probably be greeted with the same disdain as vuvuzelas. Would beat the guy a few rows behind me yesterday that went through a cycle of "****ing terrible" "****ing awful" "****ing jambo" and "booooooooo". Bit disappointed it wasn't "****ing boooooooooooo"

stanton_4
16-09-2018, 09:40 AM

I remember...
Erra macaroon bars, erra Juicie Fruit! :greengrin

16-09-2018, 09:40 AM
The magic sponge. Trainer running on the pitch with said sponge and bucket of cold water, a quick application cured everything, broken legs, snapped achilles, laddered stocking the lot.

16-09-2018, 09:48 AM
Bunnets

16-09-2018, 09:53 AM
Erra hats, scarves n macaroon bars

Groathillgrump
16-09-2018, 10:05 AM
The wee light blue, three wheeled invalid cars that used to park behind the goals at some grounds.

16-09-2018, 10:06 AM
https://www.bing.com/th?id=OIP.EDt2JP7OCvZ0WmsL9SpuwgHaHw&w=176&h=180&c=7&o=5&pid=1.7

I will never forget Jubbly's, triangular frozen orange juice that seemed to last forever, but many a sore head eating them.

16-09-2018, 10:13 AM
https://www.bing.com/th?id=OIP.EDt2JP7OCvZ0WmsL9SpuwgHaHw&w=176&h=180&c=7&o=5&pid=1.7

I will never forget Jubbly's, triangular frozen orange juice that seemed to last forever, but many a sore head eating them.

Yes! Had forgotten about those too. Loved a jubbly! The juice left at the end was the best bit

16-09-2018, 10:24 AM
Golden Goal tickets - Can’t remember if was first or last goal, or if it was a Hibs goal or either side to scoop the prize.

Lemonade
16-09-2018, 10:31 AM

It used to take an age to open these :-)

16-09-2018, 10:35 AM

I will never forget Jubbly's, triangular frozen orange juice that seemed to last forever, but many a sore head eating them.Saw these for sale in a Motherwell Londis in the summer. We all chose ice poles.
Pies and kiaora were all I remember from the old East. The pink nylon blazers with the trays walking round the ground with natty white Thunderbirds hats were baffling though.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Brunswickbill
16-09-2018, 10:36 AM
Guy selling papers on Leith Walk at Saturday teatime shouting, “ ‘spatch n news.”

Golden Goal tickets - Can’t remember if was first or last goal, or if it was a Hibs goal or either side to scoop the prize.

Those should make a come back !!

Swan Vestas matches.

16-09-2018, 10:43 AM
not that long ago, the Pink fitba news

Chic Murray
16-09-2018, 10:54 AM
Tartan Special.

16-09-2018, 11:01 AM

And Arrowmint and PK. I think that PK was named after the inventor?

LustForLeith
16-09-2018, 11:01 AM
Games going ahead when it snowed as they played with an orange football

16-09-2018, 11:02 AM
As a wee kid, hanging around outside the exit gates waiting for them to be opened, then sneaking in to catch the last 10mins from the East terrace.

16-09-2018, 11:03 AM
smell of liniment at a floodlit game...used to love that smell as I walked up to the top of the old terracing.....

gaz1875
16-09-2018, 11:07 AM
I remember the sales call of "Era Hats, scarfs, macaroon bars & chewin gum"

16-09-2018, 11:11 AM
Games going ahead when it snowed as they played with an orange football

16-09-2018, 11:12 AM
https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.-4RlClU3GsLzsJI3GziiPwHaER&w=165&h=105&c=8&rs=1&qlt=90&pid=3.1&rm=2
(https://www.bing.com/images/search?q=football+rattles+banned&id=0C709C01B7E1862C49FEE25EDFF0B3B537F006E1&FORM=IQFRBA)

The age old football rattles, they were great for making a noise, but not if you were right next to them!!!
Not sure if they were banned?

16-09-2018, 11:14 AM
Guys with poly bags with cans of Mcewans Export, Tartan Special or some other rubbish - at half time it had morphed into warm pish running down the terracing

Ah, the good old days !!

16-09-2018, 11:14 AM
https://tse1.mm.bing.net/th?id=OIP.-4RlClU3GsLzsJI3GziiPwHaER&w=165&h=105&c=8&rs=1&qlt=90&pid=3.1&rm=2
(https://www.bing.com/images/search?q=football+rattles+banned&id=0C709C01B7E1862C49FEE25EDFF0B3B537F006E1&FORM=IQFRBA)

The age old football rattles, they were great for making a noise, but not if you were right next to them!!!
Not sure if they were banned?

Think I've seen glimpses on TV of some jambos still with them at games - mind you they've probably just caught on with them from first time around! ;)

16-09-2018, 11:15 AM
The ‘plain clothed’ coppers who used to stand among the crowd near the top of the cowshed hoping to catch hooligans.

Problem was, rather than blending in with the crowd, they stood out like a sore thumb and it wasn’t long before an empty circle formed around them as the fans moved a couple of yards away from them!

16-09-2018, 11:18 AM
Pitches covered in straw to protect from frost. Not to mention the open braziers, - absolutely no chance these things would be allowed today!

16-09-2018, 11:25 AM
The cry of “Oggie Oggie Oggie’

Started usually by a well known fan............

RamblingJack
16-09-2018, 11:33 AM
The wee Red Book

pollution
16-09-2018, 11:33 AM
A bold attempt to force people to buy a programme by announcing half time scores as " Match A nil nil, Match B zero two, Match C one nil ".

The booing and whistling forced the announcer to read the teams names' fully .

That was the same season 1980's that you were not allowed to openly swear. I saw a man in the old North stand told to watch his language

by a steward. Again, that didn't last.

Perhaps I am linking all these together but it was at the time when you could see IRA Gerry Adams open his mouth but you were not allowed to hear him speak.

He had to be dubbed by a voice over.

What younger fans make of the above would be hard to fathom, and yet it was normal for us.

16-09-2018, 11:35 AM
I remember getting a rosette on the way to tinecastle for the 2-1 Scottish cup win in 1971 I think it was

tartanhibee
16-09-2018, 11:37 AM
Going to the game not for an experience

16-09-2018, 11:37 AM
Stink bombs

CS Gas

16-09-2018, 12:10 PM
Toilet rolls flying through the air onto the pitch.

Policeman’s hats getting thrown about the terracing.

LustForLeith
16-09-2018, 12:18 PM
The wee Red Book

Think you still get this.

16-09-2018, 12:18 PM

Ah Toilet rolls ...the 70s smoke bomb ! [emoji6]

16-09-2018, 12:19 PM
Cheesettes.

Edit: That reminds me of a story. There used to be red shale separating the pitch from the terracing, or maybe it was just the bottom of the steps, but I remember filling an old cheesette bag with the wee stones and chucking it at a Sporting Lisbon player as he was about to take a throw in.

It was more of a gentle lob than an aggressive launch, but it hit him on the chest and bounced off. He never paid any attention to it.

I just hope Lee Wallace doesn't read this. :paranoid:

16-09-2018, 12:20 PM
Got these still in the Hampden museum, worth a visit

16-09-2018, 12:21 PM
Got these still in the Hampden museum, worth a visit

16-09-2018, 12:25 PM
Half and half woolen hats.

Bunnets and rosettes in the team colours.

Inflatable bananas. (Not sure if that’s my memory playing tricks)

16-09-2018, 12:26 PM
Beach balls when teams qualified for Europe. 😂

16-09-2018, 12:37 PM
Darts. Probably not Tungsten, just the big 28g brass ones. Remember them at Rugby Park in the late 60's/early 70's. :duck:

16-09-2018, 12:38 PM
Cheesettes.

Edit: That reminds me of a story. There used to be red shale separating the pitch from the terracing, or maybe it was just the bottom of the steps, but I remember filling an old cheesette bag with the wee stones and chucking it at a Sporting Lisbon player as he was about to take a throw in.

It was more of a gentle lob than an aggressive launch, but it hit him on the chest and bounced off. He never paid any attention to it.

I just hope Lee Wallace doesn't read this. :paranoid:

Lifetime ban for this hooligan, please Hibs. :greengrin

16-09-2018, 12:40 PM
The smell of tobacco smoke in the old North Enclosure

The stamping of the feet of the standites in the Old North Stand Big Frank Eddie Campbell Jimmy Marriott starting the old chant Hibees! Hibees!

The comments from the crowd “Duncan, ahve seen better ball control in a man wi ten bairns!”

Subs warning up “ Sit doon Hazel! Come and stand beside me!”

16-09-2018, 12:40 PM

Rolls of bus tickets. Used to ask the bus driver for any spare rolls . Unsuccessful most times

16-09-2018, 12:44 PM
We've got Willie Wilson
Number 1
We've got Willie Wilson
Number 1
We've got Willie Wilson
Number 1
We've got the best team in the world

We've got Bobby Duncan
Number 2
We've got Bobby Duncan
Number 2
We've got Bobby Duncan
Number 2
We've got the best team in the world

Etc etc until you've mentioned the whole team.

Pat 0-7
16-09-2018, 12:44 PM
Parking along the middle of the road when there were no spaces left - Dalmeny or Iona St I think - I could leave Bathgate at 2pm and be in the East for kick off.......

16-09-2018, 12:48 PM
Think you still get this.

Yip, the Wee Red Book is still alive and kicking. I bought one at the start of this season.

16-09-2018, 12:51 PM
New Years Day derbys The guy walking aboot ringing a big bell carrying a bottle o whisky to attract friends and family members from both sides of the divide game usually always finished 0-0 apart from 1973 of course :greengrin

ozhibs
16-09-2018, 12:52 PM

We used to ask the bus conductor for any spare ticket rolls 😀

16-09-2018, 12:59 PM
We used to ask the bus conductor for any spare ticket rolls 😀

I must have been on the earlier bus

16-09-2018, 02:09 PM
Lifetime ban for this hooligan, please Hibs. :greengrin

Wisny me. I must have had my account hacked!

The Pointer
16-09-2018, 02:11 PM
The boy standing at the bridge in the long coat used to sell packs of razor blades as well as the spearmint chewing gum. We called him the 'Erzi man' as in "Erzi macaroon bars 'n' spearmint chewing gu-em!"

I also remember one afternoon at a game seeing a Hun supporter opening his coat to reveal several pockets which each contained a bottle of whisky or can of beer. When you think of it, it's amazing there weren't more injuries then with the amount of potential missiles lying on the terracing.

The Pointer
16-09-2018, 02:18 PM
The ‘plain clothed’ coppers who used to stand among the crowd near the top of the cowshed hoping to catch hooligans.

Problem was, rather than blending in with the crowd, they stood out like a sore thumb and it wasn’t long before an empty circle formed around them as the fans moved a couple of yards away from them!

Hmm, in those days a smart haircut and sheepskin coat did nothing for blending in. I was at a Scottish Cup game at Firhill in the seventies when they lifted what appeared to me to be an innocent guy that put me off the bizzies. Then my wee brother joined them!

16-09-2018, 02:55 PM
Parking along the middle of the road when there were no spaces left - Dalmeny or Iona St I think - I could leave Bathgate at 2pm and be in the East for kick off.......Albert Street.

Halmyre Hibee
16-09-2018, 03:05 PM
http://image.wikifoundry.com/image/3/d4b8d8997756d46eea3bff8e1e37caf6/GW858H634

Jim_in_Canada
16-09-2018, 03:08 PM
I always remember Glasgow matches where the guy selling the chewing gum would add a 'y' in the middle of 'spearmint; :

Erra Macaroon bars and Spearymint chewin' gum .

Bangkok Hibby
16-09-2018, 03:10 PM

We used to nick them from the public bogs before the game

16-09-2018, 03:12 PM
Classic shouts like “taxi for ( insert name)”or my favourite “get warmed up son yir coming aff”

16-09-2018, 03:14 PM
http://image.wikifoundry.com/image/3/d4b8d8997756d46eea3bff8e1e37caf6/GW858H634

Two teams playing in nearly the same colour as well.

davemcbain
16-09-2018, 03:16 PM
Surely a mention for Hibee Popcorn - delicious even if it did look like it came with pre-grown mould.

16-09-2018, 03:18 PM
Home made knitted Hibs strips

16-09-2018, 03:22 PM

Anyone other things from footballs bygone days which bring back fond memories ??Yep. Brilliant combination. The youngsters today don't know what they're missing.

16-09-2018, 03:38 PM
Remember getting a job around 1971 selling the snacks walking round the ground. First time we were playing der hun and some weegie said "an gies some ginger" I looked at him and said "we've no got ginger here" He then thought I was being smart and started pointing at the juice on the tray. I said "that's no ginger mate, it's red kola". He was adamant it was ginger as were his mates. It was the first time I'd been selling stuff to them and we were told to never balance the tray on the wall as you usually did, but have the tray on the ground behind you "cause these illegitimate's will have the sugar oot yer tea". Wise counsel indeed.

16-09-2018, 03:43 PM
Remember getting a job around 1971 selling the snacks walking round the ground. First time we were playing der hun and some weegie said "an gies some ginger" I looked at him and said "we've no got ginger here" He then thought I was being smart and started pointing at the juice on the tray. I said "that's no ginger mate, it's red kola". He was adamant it was ginger as were his mates. It was the first time I'd been selling stuff to them and we were told to never balance the tray on the wall as you usually did, but have the tray on the ground behind you "cause these illegitimate's will have the sugar oot yer tea". Wise counsel indeed.

The cry was no sell ginger

16-09-2018, 04:10 PM

"Gerra macarooonnn, tablet. Chewing the chews"

16-09-2018, 04:11 PM
Classic shouts like “taxi for ( insert name)”or my favourite “get warmed up son yir coming aff”

Taxi for Farrell 😉

16-09-2018, 04:13 PM
gettin a lift over the turnstiles

green with envy
16-09-2018, 05:03 PM
Having to wait outside the pub after the game till it opened at 5.00.

16-09-2018, 05:07 PM
The wee club hut at the back of the old east, the glass on the top of walls, still got the scar, sitting oot side the pub waiting for ma dad who would always come out 2 minutes before KO, the stairs up to the east, what a climb.

16-09-2018, 05:19 PM
The wee club hut at the back of the old east, the glass on the top of walls, still got the scar, sitting oot side the pub waiting for ma dad who would always come out 2 minutes before KO, the stairs up to the east, what a climb.

There's not a lot of fans remember about that "Hibs Club" for some reason.

16-09-2018, 07:16 PM
Spot the Ball in the Evening News. Did it every week.

16-09-2018, 07:18 PM
The programe hut at the top of old east Ricky ?

16-09-2018, 07:24 PM

A few stood in the queue for pies there before realising their error. Personally know three people who made that mistake!

16-09-2018, 07:27 PM
A few stood in the queue for pies there before realising their error. Personally know three people who made that mistake!😂

16-09-2018, 07:28 PM

had forgotten about that - sat out there with my bag of crisps and can of juice many a time! :)

ps. What was the name of that club round the back of the East?

16-09-2018, 07:47 PM
A few stood in the queue for pies there before realising their error. Personally know three people who made that mistake!

Count me in as well. I've actually mentioned it a couple of times on here. Stood in the queue for a good ten or fifteen minutes and just went hungry. Reckon it must have been about 1983.

16-09-2018, 08:35 PM
had forgotten about that - sat out there with my bag of crisps and can of juice many a time! :)

I think it was something original like "Hibs Supporters Club" and I'm sure I had a membership card at one time.

16-09-2018, 09:15 PM
Ricky Reginas Programme Hut
Remember saying tae him ahve goat aw oh these programmes !
And him saying Aye, and so have ah ! Are ye going to buy anything?
Like the barman oot oh Still Game.

16-09-2018, 09:27 PM
I think it was something original like "Hibs Supporters Club" and I'm sure I had a membership card at one time.

50 club?

16-09-2018, 09:48 PM

I’ve still got my Hibs Supporters Association (club card’) from 1974 for the Sunnyside club.

There WAS a club in the old car park owned by Hibs that was there for a while, but before and after there was also the St Andrews Bowling Club...

Greenfly
16-09-2018, 10:00 PM
Getting lifted over turnstiles as a bairn.

16-09-2018, 10:58 PM
I remember a time when squads were fully assembled prior to the season starting.

16-09-2018, 11:30 PM
I remember a time when squads were fully assembled prior to the season starting.

Yet clubs could add to their personnel at any point during the season.

16-09-2018, 11:43 PM

Joined when it first opened around the late 60's.
Pretty sure it was the Hibernian Social Club.

hibbydog
16-09-2018, 11:55 PM
Getting a pink paper after the game....they were brilliant

17-09-2018, 01:04 AM

I like cocktail bars and Spearmint Rhinos

17-09-2018, 04:18 AM
Getting a pink paper after the game....they were brilliant

Queuing outside the newsagents at six on a Saturday evening.
The same faces in the queue.
Pink and ten no6.

17-09-2018, 07:03 AM
Radio HIBS the wee hut in the North Enclosure DJ Bill Barclay

Everytime an opposition player went down injured the chant would go out from the shed “dig a hole and bury him” dug on the pitch “ Colin Colin Colin Stein” opposition fans fighting amongst themselves “ Hooli Hooli Hooligans!” Great days ! Building site hard hats painted green and white to protect you from flying bottles.

I can still picture Stewart Brown EEN peering out from the press box a big Hibby sadly dead now.

Many of his team lineups including those great players NEWMAN TRIALIST and AN OTHER !

White dog *****!

17-09-2018, 07:12 AM
Peter Cormack in goals

Willie Wilson oan the left wing wi a bandage roond his heid

leith lynx
17-09-2018, 09:42 AM

The Hibernian development club?

Shanksaidno
17-09-2018, 11:06 AM
Standing in the corner swinging my chain
Along came a jambo, asked my name
Kicked him in the balls and kicked him in the head
Now that jambo is dead

Na na na na na na na

We are the mentol hibees

(sang many a time in the old shed)

Shanksaidno
17-09-2018, 11:09 AM
In retrospect not entirely politically correct wording for a song I suppose ...

17-09-2018, 11:30 AM
A bold attempt to force people to buy a programme by announcing half time scores as " Match A nil nil, Match B zero two, Match C one nil ".

The booing and whistling forced the announcer to read the teams names' fully .

I was at that match. It was when we had the old electronic scoreboard which, up until then, had always shown the half time scores with the team names written out in full. That day the scores came up A 1-0, B 0-0, etc. and the supporters started booing. Then 5 minutes later the announcer said "here are the half time scores A 1-0, B 0-0.... I've never heard fans going so mental outwith match time. 2 minutes later the scores sere announced in full.

Tomsk
17-09-2018, 12:13 PM
Does anyone remember climbing up the telegraph pole at the back of the Dunbar End to get in buckshee?

Bangkok Hibby
17-09-2018, 12:36 PM
Does anyone remember climbing up the telegraph pole at the back of the Dunbar End to get in buckshee?

I remember shinning up a plank of wood and over the wall as a laddie. Was there a builders yard at the Dunbar end around 67-69?

Chic Murray
17-09-2018, 01:38 PM
They started a Sunday market in the old car park, and it must have been Salvador Dali that designed the poster.

I remember a cartoon of Bertie Auld, smoking a big cigar, getting out of a taxi wearing a massive cap. The words on the side of the taxi were "Bertie's Caps".

Perhaps I had too much Camenbert the night before, but I have no idea how that was supposed to drum up custom, and how anybody would think punning cap for cab would be in the slightest bit amusing.

17-09-2018, 02:33 PM

Feet on the wall and hands on the wire and you walked up the wall to get round the broken glass in the top. You had to jump down as you couldn't dreep because of the glass!

Tomsk
17-09-2018, 02:39 PM
I remember shinning up a plank of wood and over the wall as a laddie. Was there a builders yard at the Dunbar end around 67-69?

I remember there was some work done on the social club at the back of the main terracing around about 1972-74, which resulted in various ladders, planks and whatever conveniently placed for the patrons. :greengrin

MM19
17-09-2018, 03:06 PM
Walking along Albion Road at a night game especially the European games and seeing the floodlights on. It's no the same now as when the big floodlights were there.

Bangkok Hibby
17-09-2018, 03:55 PM
I remember there was some work done on the social club at the back of the main terracing around about 1972-74, which resulted in various ladders, planks and whatever conveniently placed for the patrons. :greengrin

Maybe....just can't trust the memory these days :confused:

17-09-2018, 04:10 PM
Feet on the wall and hands on the wire and you walked up the wall to get round the broken glass in the top. You had to jump down as you couldn't dreep because of the glass!

Such a marvellous word. I don't think I've seen it written down before.

17-09-2018, 04:16 PM

Dreeping usually scuffed your ‘clarks commandos ‘

17-09-2018, 04:20 PM

:nerd: It made an appearance in a Higher English Reading Comp paper in the 80's in an article by the columnist Miles Kington. He went to boarding school in Scotland, and the article was about words we have up here he liked that don't have English equivalents. He also liked our use of the word 'bucket' as a universal term for rubbish disposal containers ('Put it in the bucket'), with no need for tedious specifics like 'waste-paper bin'.

I don't know why I remember this, I'll be 51 net week.

17-09-2018, 04:24 PM
Dreeping usually scuffed your ‘clarks commandos ‘
Clarks Commandoes. Now there was a piece of ace marketing before marketing was invented.
(PS I've checked and there's nae apostrophe in Clarks. Then again if they are the commandoes of Clarks, maybe there should be one!)

Dreeping is now built into the sport they call "free running".

West lower
17-09-2018, 05:33 PM
http://image.wikifoundry.com/image/3/d4b8d8997756d46eea3bff8e1e37caf6/GW858H634Those cameramen Dinnae half look dodgy. The matching jacket and hat is a beauty😀

17-09-2018, 07:55 PM
:nerd: It made an appearance in a Higher English Reading Comp paper in the 80's in an article by the columnist Miles Kington. He went to boarding school in Scotland, and the article was about words we have up here he liked that don't have English equivalents. He also liked our use of the word 'bucket' as a universal term for rubbish disposal containers ('Put it in the bucket'), with no need for tedious specifics like 'waste-paper bin'.

Higher English..takes me back..remember someone walking past the exam room in "E" Block at Firhill with a "gettoblaster" just before the exam started..

17-09-2018, 08:14 PM
Life membership was five bob.Wasn’t it closed when someone was knifed?

17-09-2018, 08:17 PM
I was at that match. It was when we had the old electronic scoreboard which, up until then, had always shown the half time scores with the team names written out in full. That day the scores came up A 1-0, B 0-0, etc. and the supporters started booing. Then 5 minutes later the announcer said "here are the half time scores A 1-0, B 0-0.... I've never heard fans going so mental outwith match time. 2 minutes later the scores sere announced in full.
That was a throwback to how they were shown on the large wooden scoreboard that stood at the top of the terracing over the corner flag downhill.

17-09-2018, 08:26 PM
That was a throwback to how they were shown on the large wooden scoreboard that stood at the top of the terracing over the corner flag downhill.

My earliest recollection was the old white scoreboard being in the corner of the south east terracing was it somewhere else before?

17-09-2018, 08:31 PM
The Pink evening news

and

Everyone at Easter Road beating on the wooden benches to make some noise.

OxoHibby
17-09-2018, 08:34 PM
spam rolls at the old hamilton ground

Didnt have them but wish I had😀

Tomsk
17-09-2018, 08:55 PM

That's it. And all because the lady loves ...

17-09-2018, 09:14 PM
“Peeenis”.

I remember all the boys in the class getting pulled up for copying this and shouting this in the playground in P6 when someone missed a sitter.

17-09-2018, 09:23 PM
The old club shop under the main stand. There never seemed to be anyone employed to work in it, it was just whoever was passing at the time. It was better than the one they opened on Easter Road though, I remember buying tickets from that one and there wasn’t enough room for people coming in to get passed the people coming out. It was carnage :greengrin. The only things they had on sale was the strip and the much coveted tracksuit.

Lemonade
17-09-2018, 10:01 PM
Robbo Robbo where’s your wife?

She’s getting snagged by a Hibby.

tynehibs
18-09-2018, 05:40 AM
The old club shop under the main stand. There never seemed to be anyone employed to work in it, it was just whoever was passing at the time. It was better than the one they opened on Easter Road though, I remember buying tickets from that one and there wasn’t enough room for people coming in to get passed the people coming out. It was carnage :greengrin. The only things they had on sale was the strip and the much coveted tracksuit.

Was there a club shop prior to that in albert street just off Easter road (next to the post office)?

18-09-2018, 06:15 AM
Was there a club shop prior to that in albert street just off Easter road (next to the post office)?

The shop moved directly from under the old main stand to the bridge on Easter Road, then to it's current location.

I'm not even sure there was a Post Office on Albert Street. :confused:

18-09-2018, 08:43 AM
I remember the old guy that used to walk around Easter Road holding aloft the blackboard with the lucky programme numbers which were printed on the front of your programme everyone used to pelt it with pies.

I also remember the half time scoreboard with the shaky numbers which were waited on in great anticipation and huge gasps when the scores were put up in prearranged alphabetical order according to your programme in pre internet social media days as only the Sados had a tranny wired to their ears in those days listening to David Francey and Alister Alexander!

:shocked:This is a sexual activity from the 70s that I don't recall at Easter Road.

18-09-2018, 08:55 AM
My earliest recollection was the old white scoreboard being in the corner of the south east terracing was it somewhere else before?

North east corner.Think it was removed when floodlighting was installed.

18-09-2018, 09:07 AM

I saw 'stocious' in a Guardian article on Venezia FC recently. Really surprised to see it written down at all and especially in that paper. I pretty much detest it - the Nuardiag that is.

18-09-2018, 09:15 AM
I seem to remember bars of McCowans Highland Toffee and lots of empty packets of No6, Capstan and Woodbine.

My uncle used to have a newsagents not too far from the ground. Whenever Rangers came the place would be inundated with (Rangers) weirdos wanting to buy pen knives. Actually I remember as a kid a big march coming right past the shop with all these incredibly pompous looking idiots wearing bowler hats. Well warned not to cross the road in front of it or through it.

18-09-2018, 11:12 PM
Who remembers the programme shop used to be in Bothwell Street back in the 70s?

19-09-2018, 05:44 AM
Naw, my first game 1968 floodlights well established by then defo in the corner where the south meets the east nowadays. Anyone else confirm I am not going mad?

19-09-2018, 06:10 AM
Naw, my first game 1968 floodlights well established by then defo in the corner where the south meets the east nowadays. Anyone else confirm I am not going mad?

If we are talking about the old white scoreboard with the alphabet and half time scores....that was in the far "east" corner of the Dunbar end.. yes....

19-09-2018, 06:15 AM
If we are talking about the old white scoreboard with the alphabet and half time scores....that was in the far "east" corner of the Dunbar end.. yes....

Cheers mate just what I thought. Ancient Hibby must be talking about some ancient pre First World War wooden structure. :greengrin

hibbybrian
19-09-2018, 06:29 AM

Old North East Corner Scoreboard circa 1950

Newer South East Corner Scoreboard 1969

19-09-2018, 06:31 AM

nice one. had not heard of that older one before - before my time - nice to see a pic of the Dunbar end one cheers!

19-09-2018, 06:37 AM

Thanks for that before my time as well born 1957.

Good to see John Greig getting a taste of his own medicine as well :greengrin

19-09-2018, 09:44 AM

I had also completely forgotten about those open air, smelly toilets at the junction between terracing and Dunbar end ...both sets of fans standing with a wall between them - a few things lobbed over that wall in the 70s if I correctly recall !

19-09-2018, 10:53 AM

Aberdeen photo reminds me of the old spot-the-ball comp in the Pink.
I won a comp in the Pink when a kid, must have been early 70s, but don't recall exactly what for - don't think it was spot-the-ball - and won a voucher for Ronnie Simpson's sports shop in Rose St. Met the man himself and bought myself a pair of Pele boots.

19-09-2018, 11:51 AM
Cheers mate just what I thought. Ancient Hibby must be talking about some ancient pre First World War wooden structure. :greengrin

Steady on 1950s it was north east.:greengrin

Just seen myself in the 1950s photo.!

19-09-2018, 06:17 PM
Aberdeen photo reminds me of the old spot-the-ball comp in the Pink.
I won a comp in the Pink when a kid, must have been early 70s, but don't recall exactly what for - don't think it was spot-the-ball - and won a voucher for Ronnie Simpson's sports shop in Rose St. Met the man himself and bought myself a pair of Pele boots.

I remember it well, bought my first pair of Peter Bonetti green gloves in there for 2/6.
Did the shop not become The Rose Street Brewery?

https://images.scran.ac.uk/RB/images/thumb/0893/08933243.jpg

Jock Stein opening the shop.

19-09-2018, 06:31 PM
Steady on 1950s it was north east.:greengrin

Just seen myself in the 1950s photo.!

Which one are you then?

Hibs1969
19-09-2018, 07:31 PM
Thanks for that before my time as well born 1957.

Good to see John Greig getting a taste of his own medicine as well :greengrin

The self same John Greig used to have a shop in Bruntsfield Place, which was a gents' outfitters from memory. We used to take great pleasure in opening the shop door on our way home from school and screaming 'Hibees' at him at the top of our voices. It usually riled him up which made it even sweeter.

19-09-2018, 07:39 PM
Didnt have them but wish I had😀

I remember a boy turning up with a big cardboard box at the back of the shed, opening it up and starting to flog his spam rolls. A policeman turned up and turfed him out after he’d sold about 50!

tynehibs
06-11-2018, 02:22 PM
The shop moved directly from under the old main stand to the bridge on Easter Road, then to it's current location.

It would appear you are wrong 👎 on both counts according to Iggy

06-11-2018, 02:59 PM

Definitely was.

I used to live in Iona Street, and got the 13 bus past the Post Office every morning.

Disclaimer. I say "definitely", but I am probably miles off. :greengrin

06-11-2018, 03:04 PM
Definitely was.

I used to live in Iona Street, and got the 13 bus past the Post Office every morning.

The mysterious 13 bus.Used to (and still does)make furtive appearances in strange parts of the city.

06-11-2018, 03:08 PM
The mysterious 13 bus.Used to (and still does)make furtive appearances in strange parts of the city.

It felt like an exploration of the social strata of Edinburgh. The mean streets of Lochend and Leith, to the boulevards of Ravelston.

And in a single decker....

06-11-2018, 03:11 PM
Thundering over the subterranean lav in Albert Street-a visit there was an adventure not readily undertaken

tynehibs
06-11-2018, 03:12 PM
Definitely was.

Thanks CWG I was sure there was a hibs shop and post office on albert st

06-11-2018, 03:28 PM

Look at that crowd in 1950. My Father in Law used to talk about the crowds then.

06-11-2018, 03:33 PM

It still does.

06-11-2018, 03:37 PM
I remember it well, bought my first pair of Peter Bonetti green gloves in there for 2/6.

I thought it was on the other side of the street towards Scott's Bar.

06-11-2018, 03:43 PM
Definitely was.

There was a P.O. @ Shrubhill, cannae remember one on Albert Street (mid 70s onwards).

06-11-2018, 03:48 PM
There was a P.O. @ Shrubhill, cannae remember one on Albert Street (mid 70s onwards).

The Easter Road end is what I'm thinking. Opposite side from the Royal Nip.

tynehibs
06-11-2018, 03:55 PM

Deffo was one big red letter box outside !

telford hibbee
06-11-2018, 04:14 PM

Were the pies rubbish then as well

CLASS OF 72 -73
06-11-2018, 04:40 PM
No away strips.

CLASS OF 72 -73
06-11-2018, 04:44 PM
No away strips

06-11-2018, 04:51 PM

The 13 bus was at least partly responsible for me following Hibs. Great King Street to St Claire Street. No equivalent to the piggery.

06-11-2018, 05:38 PM
Dainty toffee....mouth watering and chewy......but on a freezing winters day was like trying to bite through glass
Black Jacks...... that literally turned one's teeth black
Toffoes.......minty and otherwise
Spangles...flavoured, hard boiled and square

06-11-2018, 05:48 PM
I thought it was on the other side of the street towards Scott's Bar.

Yes, other side from Rose St Brewery.

06-11-2018, 05:59 PM

According to Wikipedia Stein got rid of Simpson from Hibs because he had a bad attitude in training. Did he have a better attitude at Celtc, where he went on to become their 'greatest ever goalie', and make up with Stein? Anyone got the skinny on that?

06-11-2018, 06:01 PM
Miss watching the away fans getting soaked in the rain and snow and That view of Arthur's seat... :wink:

06-11-2018, 06:31 PM
Dainty toffee....mouth watering and chewy......but on a freezing winters day was like trying to bite through glass
Black Jacks...... that literally turned one's teeth black
Rolos.......minty and otherwise
Spangles...flavoured, hard boiled and square

Don’t remember minty rolos?

Lemonade
06-11-2018, 07:16 PM

Think she means minty Toffoes.

You could also get mixed flavoured Toffoes .

06-11-2018, 07:19 PM
The Easter Road end is what I'm thinking. Opposite side from the Royal Nip.

My mind is a blank in regard to that end of the street!

06-11-2018, 07:21 PM

I remember Mintoes not the mixed ones though. Also remember Aztec bars.

Lemonade
06-11-2018, 07:45 PM
I remember Mintoes not the mixed ones though. Also remember Aztec bars.

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=minty+toffoes&ie=UTF-8&oe=UTF-8&hl=en-gb&client=safari#imgrc=YfkH0H9Bwt7atM:

06-11-2018, 07:46 PM

Oops, I meant minty Toffoes!

06-11-2018, 07:47 PM

She is a he, but yes, you are correct, I meant Toffoes! lol

06-11-2018, 07:48 PM
She is a he, but yes, you are correct, I meant Toffoes! lol

Mintola even

06-11-2018, 10:06 PM
Mintola even

Ah, now you are talking!

06-11-2018, 10:49 PM
:shocked:This is a sexual activity from the 70s that I don't recall at Easter Road.
Brilliant 😂

06-11-2018, 10:58 PM

Polos

06-11-2018, 10:59 PM
Oops, I meant minty Toffoes!

Now ur talking !

06-11-2018, 11:02 PM
No away strips.

Yes, last weeks strips washed and ironed well maybe not ironed

06-11-2018, 11:05 PM
Mintola even

Seventh heaven

06-11-2018, 11:22 PM
According to Wikipedia Stein got rid of Simpson from Hibs because he had a bad attitude in training. Did he have a better attitude at Celtc, where he went on to become their 'greatest ever goalie', and make up with Stein? Anyone got the skinny on that?
Sold him for 4K to Celtic good business at the time...??

Leith's finest
07-11-2018, 08:04 AM
Should bring back the old half time scoreboard, it would be better for finding out the scores rather than trying to make them out over tannoy system

Bill Milne
07-11-2018, 08:07 AM
Nipping round the ground nicking empty Coke bottles to reclaim 3d deposit. You had to be careful or you could get a big boot up the jacksie from the owner of said bottle!!

07-11-2018, 10:49 AM

Stein can't have thought he was that bad!

When I started watching Hibs in 1963 he was one of the main reasons we didn't get relegated. I recall him making a spectacular backward leap to tip over a passback from one of his own defenders.

07-11-2018, 01:37 PM
Stein never did anything without thinking about it.Some thought Simpson going to Celtic was part of the master plan.He saved quite a few penalties with Hibs but had maybe reached the age where diving at players feet or dashing out of goal had lost its appeal.Playing for Celtic was good for him because he had to be a reaction type goalie rather than one who came under sustained pressure.His shop did very well too.