View Full Version : Could the yams do a Leicester?

15-09-2018, 04:23 PM
Mediocre mid-table team becomes flash-in-the-pan champions of England.

Could such a scenario be repeated in Scotland?

With Celtic having failed to strengthen, the Rangers a work in progress under Gerrard and ourselves and Aberdeen blowing hot and cold so far the league presently looks a lot less 'unwinnable'.

I find it hard to imagine that by parachuting in a new squad of players the yams have suddenly turned from non-runners into league contenders but they've certainly made a strong start.

Hopefully they'll start to fall away shortly and who knows, once we've got our strongest team playing consistently we can start to have a say in the title race ourselves.

spudhib
15-09-2018, 04:25 PM
**** off with that chat after 5 games

I’ll end this now. No.

Just what are they up to?

15-09-2018, 04:27 PM
If they are still top after the January window I'll start to get concerned. As it is now they have had a very good start and nothing more.

15-09-2018, 04:28 PM
Genuinely not arsed, they're annoying anyway, as long as we win derbies and we finnish well in the league i don't care what they're up to.

Austinho
15-09-2018, 04:29 PM
Their knees in f***** blood apparently.

15-09-2018, 04:30 PM
Delete this shi*e now.

15-09-2018, 04:33 PM
Dilly ding
Dilly dong
Hearts are sh*te
I'm not wrong

THREAD CLOSED

DickieDastardly
15-09-2018, 04:34 PM
No chance.

Made the most of the good fortune that’s come their way to date, Killie sending off, goal gifted today.
Main issue is the gap between them and us and the fact the first derby is at tin pot castle where we have a dreadful record.

15-09-2018, 04:34 PM
We win next week and they lose they’re only 4 points ahead of us and they’ve had the best ever start to a season any team ever in world football has ever known while we’ve had a pretty sluggish start to the season.

It’s two big ‘ifs’ as they’ve got a pretty easy game next week while we’ve got a tricky away trip but it does just show how early in the season we are.

15-09-2018, 04:39 PM
Celtic will get their act together eventually and start putting pressure on the Jams. Meanwhile we're heading for a helluva derby match next time.

15-09-2018, 04:39 PM
**** off.

CathroMustStay
15-09-2018, 04:40 PM
No chance!

Celtic will win the league by 10-15 points.

Sadly they have a good chance of finishing above us, but it's FAR TOO EARLY.

Utter pish

18Craig75
Surely you’ve posted that on the wrong forum.

15-09-2018, 04:41 PM
No lol. How often have we seen Hearts start the season well and implode? They are serial bottlers with a manager who hasn't won anything his entire career. The first result i looked for after ours was Aberdeens to hope they had dropped points.

15-09-2018, 04:42 PM
Try kickback, this is a Hibs forum

Nae chance. Fair play to them for making a positive start, but no chance of the title. Celtic will win the league very comfortably.

OsloHibs
No chance

I'm Spartacus
15-09-2018, 04:43 PM
Folk realise there’s only been 5 games!!!

15-09-2018, 04:44 PM
Last time they had a run like this in the top flight, they sacked their manager.

Try kickback, this is a Hibs forum
I know. Two threads about hearts less than an hour after a big win for hibs. I think I might take the night off tonight if this is what we’re going to be getting.

Yes, I think they can do one.

15-09-2018, 04:55 PM
Have they started singing about being unbeatable yet? :dunno:

15-09-2018, 04:57 PM

Invincibles.

TheHarpy76
15-09-2018, 04:58 PM
Highly unlikely.

Credit where it’s due though. They’re the only team in the league that’s firing on all cylinders at the minute.

As another poster said though, I’ll start worrying if they’re still there in January

TheHarpy76
15-09-2018, 04:59 PM
Last time they had a run like this in the top flight, they sacked their manager.

They’ve not got a lunatic in charge now though.

MoscowHibs
15-09-2018, 05:00 PM
Give ye a clue. It ends in off.

xyz23jc
15-09-2018, 05:00 PM
Genuinely not arsed, they're annoying anyway, as long as we win derbies and we finnish well in the league i don't care what they're up to.

THIS. 100%. :agree:

TheHarpy76
15-09-2018, 05:01 PM
They’ve had a great start to the season. That can’t be denied.

The ****fest over them is getting a little nauseating though tbh.

15-09-2018, 05:02 PM

With Celtic having failed to strengthen, the Rangers a work in progress under Gerrard and ourselves and Aberdeen blowing hot and cold so far the league presently looks a lot less 'unwinnable'.

I find it hard to imagine that by parachuting in a new squad of players the yams have suddenly turned from non-runners into league contenders but they've certainly made a strong start.

Hopefully they'll start to fall away shortly and who knows, once we've got our strongest team playing consistently we can start to have a say in the title race ourselves.

Aye, there's a lot of Jambos coming out of the woodwork these days. Even some "sleepers" on this forum it seems 😏

15-09-2018, 05:02 PM

According to someone on Twitter they were singing "we shall not be moved" and their European song whatever that is. How tinpot after 5 games.

15-09-2018, 05:04 PM
Potter interview today was hilarious - even though he doesnt admit it, hes thinking it.

The fall will be all the better :aok:

TheHarpy76
According to someone on Twitter they were singing "we shall not be moved" and their European song whatever that is. How tinpot after 5 games.

We’d be lapping it up as well if it was us.
Let’s not kid on otherwise.

They’re clear on top spot, they’re milking it for what it’s worth. Fair play to them.

Remember the last time they went unbeaten for 12 games? Sacked the manager and won SFA

15-09-2018, 05:05 PM
No

They are real contenders, no doubt about it.

Just what you’d expect from a Big Club. Could be a repeat of their famous title win in 86.

Another medal for Craig Levein?

BegbieHSC
**** off with that chat. They’re pish, and all will go tits up soon!

TheHarpy76
15-09-2018, 05:06 PM
Remember the last time they went unbeaten for 12 games? Sacked the manager and won SFA

They won the cup that season.

15-09-2018, 05:07 PM
Hearts play more like Leicester Tigers than Leicester City. :greengrin

15-09-2018, 05:07 PM
Maybe not challenge for the league, but they have a big squad which is apparently pretty decent, so wouldn’t surprise me to see them in one of the top 3 positions.

15-09-2018, 05:08 PM
Could the Yams do a Leicester?

Yes!

Does this make me a Jambo?

No!

15-09-2018, 05:08 PM
Stupid thread....5 games in means nothing, granted its a great start.....get half way through the season on top and any team on top thats isnt the new/old firm could be predicted as doing a Leicester..At the moment **** hearts

15-09-2018, 05:09 PM
They could.

Will they? No

It'll be very much like our season under Fenlon when we were top after a similar amount of games and wound up sneaking 4th.

15-09-2018, 05:11 PM

It'll all end in tears, snotters and burst balloons.

They've done very well but let's not get carried away here.

I'd like to point out their 'we are unbeatable' season...then they came to Easter Road.

It's in their own hands now. The good thing is the history of them being in that position ends with them jambottling it. Listening to the Sportsound teams at ER and Fir Park giving their descriptions of the games, I know who I'd rather be watching for entertaining football

15-09-2018, 05:15 PM
Apparently signing yet another midfielder WTF?? Their squad is literally double the size of ours

15-09-2018, 05:15 PM
It will be 1986 Episode 2 - Return of the arse collapse.

15-09-2018, 05:18 PM
Can't believe what I'm reading, unbelievable.

15-09-2018, 05:19 PM
Could the Yams do a Leicester?

Yes!

Does this make me a Jambo?

No!

What time you been drinking since?

Inconsequential
15-09-2018, 05:22 PM
Never mind if Hearts could do a 'Leicester' what about Hibs could we? Early days yet but maybe our team with all the first picks returning will become more consistent. 2 points of second at the moment which isn't bad. Aberdeen and Celtic are dropping points and Sevco are nothing to fear either only beaten St.Mirren and Dundee at home. Hearts certainly doing well is it the unknown factor that's giving them the advantage at the moment?

15-09-2018, 05:22 PM
The yams will be a busted flush by Halloween at the latest.

£20 to Dnipro if I’m wrong.

Feel free to sticky this one.

15-09-2018, 05:24 PM
Is this thread linked with the "I wasn't always a Hibee" thread..

I'm starting to question a lot of posters in this place, hardcore double agents.

15-09-2018, 05:27 PM
Hearts will more than likely do a Kilmarnock and finish 5th

15-09-2018, 05:27 PM
What time you been drinking since?

19:86 last night

15-09-2018, 05:33 PM

Hahahahaha

15-09-2018, 05:39 PM

I was in Radisson Hotel on Royal Mile that day for my daughter's wedding & Vlad was in hotel. He looked like a mafia boss surrounded by henchmen but it was obvious something was up. I popped over the road for a pre prandial & it came up on the Sky Sports ticker that Burley was sacked. Next week we blew their unbeaten run away & that was that. They're doing well so far but have enjoyed huge chunks of luck in their last 2 league games. It won't last.

15-09-2018, 05:43 PM
I cannae see them up and moving to the English shires, not when they've just built a one of a kind unique atmospheric stand in Edinburgh.

15-09-2018, 05:43 PM
Never in a million years 😀 their bubble will burst long before the end of the season mark my words

Hibernia1875
15-09-2018, 05:58 PM
No lol. How often have we seen Hearts start the season well and implode? They are serial bottlers with a manager who hasn't won anything his entire career. The first result i looked for after ours was Aberdeens to hope they had dropped points.

This thread was defo started by a troll but difficult to agree with calling Hearts serial bottlers when they regularly finish above us

15-09-2018, 06:03 PM
Taking all the emotion out of it..they have done very well to bed in a complete New squad in a short period of time..they have some size of squad ..it will be difficult for them to keep them all happy ...

Celtic currently look a shadow of last season..so there could well be a chance of another team to give them a real go..If Hearts were to go and win another 6-7 out of 8..they will be right in the mix to give it a go..

Mind you , any other team who does that will also be in the mix too...

15-09-2018, 06:03 PM
This thread was defo started by a troll but difficult to agree with calling Hearts serial bottlers when they regularly finish above us

That's some reverse psychology rite there, top marks.

15-09-2018, 06:21 PM
mediocre mid-table team becomes flash-in-the-pan champions of england.

Could such a scenario be repeated in scotland?

With celtic having failed to strengthen, the rangers a work in progress under gerrard and ourselves and aberdeen blowing hot and cold so far the league presently looks a lot less 'unwinnable'.

:lol::lol:

15-09-2018, 06:25 PM
:faf::faf:

15-09-2018, 06:26 PM
About to sign their 18th player this week. I know they have outside investment from mysterious benefactors but feels like they are just repeating the same nonsense as under Romanov - wildly spending others money with no long term planning.

They won't win the league but the size of squad does concern me. They've can afford a few injuries now whereas if we lose 2-3 key players we're in big trouble.

Have to say I think we'll have a tough time in the derbies this year.

15-09-2018, 06:34 PM
If it looks even remotely possible come January then Celtic will spend big in january. To win the title in this country u need to go to glasgow , aberdeen , easter road and win these games .. They havent even played at any of these grounds.

15-09-2018, 06:35 PM
Behave, 5 games in FFS. :rolleyes:

15-09-2018, 06:36 PM
No

15-09-2018, 06:40 PM
Dont half read some proper Tom Kite on here sometimes :greengrin.

They aren't winning any league :faf:

15-09-2018, 06:45 PM
More chance of this
https://amp.theguardian.com/football/2015/jun/17/leicester-sack-three-players-racist-thai-orgy

than of them winning the league.

15-09-2018, 06:45 PM
The yams will be a busted flush by Halloween at the latest.

£20 to Dnipro if I’m wrong.

Feel free to sticky this one.

Spot on. In October they play us, the sheep and the big huns as well as a trip to Dens where Levein can visit his favourite toilet.

RoscoHibby
15-09-2018, 06:46 PM
No read the thread, but NAW! They're pish. Beating sellick at hoofball on their wee toaty park might have them believing but not a hope in hell. Listening to the radio after the game sounded like was a very fortunate 3pts for them.

15-09-2018, 06:47 PM
Who?

15-09-2018, 06:54 PM
Not a chance of Hearts winning the league.

15-09-2018, 07:47 PM
We're two points behind Celtic, level on points with Rangers and two points ahead of Aberdeen. Hearts? irrelevant apart from providing a pantomime villain three or four times a season. Good start by them but thats all it is.

15-09-2018, 07:54 PM
Behave, 5 games in FFS. :rolleyes:

This!

15-09-2018, 08:06 PM
I don't even know any hearts fans who think they can win the league.

Brutal thread.

15-09-2018, 08:10 PM
I don't even know any hearts fans who think they can win the league.

Brutal thread.

Levein has booked his plane tickets to next seasons Champions league draw. Apparently.

15-09-2018, 08:16 PM
About to sign their 18th player this week. I know they have outside investment from mysterious benefactors but feels like they are just repeating the same nonsense as under Romanov - wildly spending others money with no long term planning.

They won't win the league but the size of squad does concern me. They've can afford a few injuries now whereas if we lose 2-3 key players we're in big trouble.

Have to say I think we'll have a tough time in the derbies this year.

One for every point we finished above them last season?

As you say, how are they funding this? It's here that I think Levein escapes a lot of criticism. He oversaw the whole Cathro fiasco, the failure of which is underlined by the total overhaul of a squad Levein played an instrumental part in building. Yet despite what that must have cost the club, it's all been airbrushed away in the same way as the £30 million of debts they walked away from.

McSwanky
15-09-2018, 08:18 PM
They've played 5 games. 4 against teams in the bottom 6. They have yet to play:

Us
Huns
Dons

Let's talk again mid-November. If they're still top then, I might start worrying a teensy bit.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

paddy1875
15-09-2018, 08:20 PM
There’s more chance of me falling back in love with my wife than hearts winning the league

15-09-2018, 08:20 PM

15-09-2018, 08:24 PM
The fact someone even titles a thread with this is systemic of the utter guff the media peddles about that lot.

They beat Celtic. Well done. Apart from that all games they should’ve won anyway Motherwell are not nearly as good as last year.

15-09-2018, 08:25 PM
Can't believe what I'm reading, unbelievable.
I know get this thread to ****. Why would any hibs fan start a thread like this?

15-09-2018, 08:30 PM
Could Hibs do a Leicester?

These guys post some good stats

https://www.thetwopointone.com/which-scottish-premiership-team-has-the-toughest-start/

statistically they have the second easiest start to the season.

The yams are like an elephant up a tree you don’t know how it got up there but there is one sure thing it is coming down

15-09-2018, 08:36 PM
They've replicated their beating of Celtic from last season and done what any reasonable team should do in the other games. The fact that they've managed to do that (and we haven't) is commendable, but any notion that they're going to do anything - never mind win the league! - isn't worth considering until at least a round of games in.

15-09-2018, 08:37 PM

I'm starting to question a lot of posters in this place, hardcore double agents.

What a ludicrous comment. Get a grip ffs.

15-09-2018, 08:54 PM

**** guys, Hercule Poirot here has rumbled us all. Could everybody here who wasn’t Christened at St Pat’s and can’t trace their Hibee lineage back to 1875 head home to Kickback now. It was good while it lasted. :greengrin

Greenfly
15-09-2018, 08:59 PM
We should congratulate them and wish them well. It's great that a bottom 6 club like Hearts have had such a good start, including taking points from our top 6 rivals like Celtic. They're doing us a favour. We mustn't forget to thank them when we overtake them.

I also think it's perfectly possible that Hearts could do what Leicester City did, ie. sack Craig Levein as manager after little more than a season in charge.

15-09-2018, 08:59 PM
**** guys, Hercule Poirot here has rumbled us all. Could everybody here who wasn’t Christened at St Pat’s and can’t trace their Hibee lineage back to 1875 head home to Kickback now. It was good while it lasted. :greengrin

Dont mention the CCS green black and white union jack, he'll have a cardiac arrest :wink:

15-09-2018, 09:04 PM

Worst thing is Monsieur Poirot only has his Belgian freedom because of our brave boys (and a few million other latecomers), not just once but twice!!

Still, when you’ve got a memorial garden and a glass curtain you can look down your nose at stupid Hobo resentment.

15-09-2018, 09:18 PM
Get this thread to France. Imagine even discussing it I'm here. Toughen up lol.

I'm Spartacus
15-09-2018, 09:19 PM
What’s doubly annoying, they’re winning BUT the rest are taking points off each other pushing them further clear.

Still 99 points to play for!!!

15-09-2018, 09:45 PM
Could Hibs do a Leicester?

As long as it's not a Sunderland.

15-09-2018, 10:02 PM

Funniest .net post ever. Fact and End of.

15-09-2018, 11:27 PM
I think it would be easier to do a "Leicester" in Scotland than it was in England.

Can't see it being Hearts this season though.

Mr Grieves
15-09-2018, 11:50 PM
They've had a great start and deserve credit for that, but we're only 5 games into the season. Chill

15-09-2018, 11:56 PM
That's some reverse psychology rite there, top marks.

You are a right slaver. Stop intimating that everyone who has a dissenting opinion from yourself is a Hearts fan.

They look good this season, and their scatter gun approach to signings has paid off - rather luckily so, but still. Coupled with the fact that Celtic are clearly in a trough, Hearts (and us, Rangers, and the Dons) definitely can close things up at the top of the table. On recent form, Hearts seem the most likely to do so.

16-09-2018, 12:13 AM
Dont think Hertz will win the league, but there's no doubt that Celtc are no where near the team they've been the last couple of seasons and that the title race will be a lot closer than its been for many a season.

Tornadoes70
16-09-2018, 12:24 AM
You are a right slaver. Stop intimating that everyone who has a dissenting opinion from yourself is a Hearts fan.

They look good this season, and their scatter gun approach to signings has paid off - rather luckily so, but still. Coupled with the fact that Celtic are clearly in a trough, Hearts (and us, Rangers, and the Dons) definitely can close things up at the top of the table. On recent form, Hearts seem the most likely to do so.

According to the radio commentators the yams were literally gifted a goal today in the form of a very sloppy motherwell short back pass interception. Add that to the Willie Collum fake sending off the Kilmarnock player last game that 'helped' them go on to win that game and Djoum avoiding being sent off when it was actually a deserved red card and there's plenty who'd say that once again they're living up to their nickname the Jammy B's.

As for our game today I'll happily take a 3-2 win against a hard working Killie team any day of the week. A good game with plenty of goals and grit and determination to get all three points. Well done the Hi bees.

zitelli62
16-09-2018, 01:04 AM
Remember Dundee and Sir Albert kidd

16-09-2018, 01:17 AM
Remember Dundee and Sir Albert kidd
As funny as that was, and I was at Easter Road the day when it happened, I'd rather it didn't go that far this season to be fair.

16-09-2018, 01:19 AM

I aint intimidating no one.

16-09-2018, 01:27 AM
The same similar speel I hear when it comes to a political debate. OK marinello you tell me how exactly the Yams will win the league and I will somehow try to create a debate.

16-09-2018, 01:43 AM

Maybe you should ask the people who you’ve disagreed with on this thread and tried to belittle on the other thread you mentioned earlier.

Or was that some sort of double negative thing?

16-09-2018, 05:21 AM
Maybe you should ask the people who you’ve disagreed with on this thread and tried to belittle on the other thread you mentioned earlier.

Or was that some sort of double negative thing?

They have came out and I applaud them for that.

16-09-2018, 06:32 AM
They have improved and they will be as difficult to beat as in any Derby but talkof them winning the league is just fanciful. Their fans, and rightly so, are shouting from the rooftops, I’m not quite sure we’d be doing the same as we are a more realistic bunch but we’d certainly be buzzing.

I think they’ll finish top 4 and have good runs in the cup. A similar season to us.

16-09-2018, 06:40 AM
**** sake. What is this chat??

No. No Hearts will not win the league ffs. Easily Celtic's league again.

BlackSheep
16-09-2018, 07:10 AM
**** sake. What is this chat??

No. No Hearts will not win the league ffs. Easily Celtic's league again.

While I don’t think the yams stand a chance, it’s certainly not a stick on that Celtic will win the league.

16-09-2018, 07:14 AM
The same similar speel I hear when it comes to a political debate. OK marinello you tell me how exactly the Yams will win the league and I will somehow try to create a debate.

I haven’t said they will win the league because they won’t. :confused:

16-09-2018, 07:19 AM

intimate
ˈɪntɪmeɪt/

imply or hint.
"he had already intimated that he might not be able to continue"

16-09-2018, 07:26 AM
Will they win the treble..nah..

The thing is Celtic are all over the place - while they beat the Huns (and probably will beat them x4 this season) they aren’t that great.

The Huns have improved but also Celtic took them apart.

Aberdeen - like Rodgers - McInnes is getting found out and thier fans aren’t happy.

For Hibs and Hearts we both have a chance to do pretty well this season due to the others being pretty poor but winning leagues can be so difficult so I would say no.

A cup is an easier route to silverware but with their awful league cup record and Levein never won anything / let alone the Scottish Cup I cant see it happening.

16-09-2018, 07:51 AM

Cannon Hannon was my great-great-grandad, so I should be OK.

Alright, the Church have always denied the link, but it's as legitimate as yesterday's penalty, so...

16-09-2018, 07:54 AM

Intimidating - no.

Irritating - yes.

16-09-2018, 07:54 AM
Its a good start from the hertz and it is 15 points, but no they wont be top come the end, they are not good enough, their football is also back to hoofball as one of the BBC reporters called it yesterday, or words to that effect,

Mr_F
16-09-2018, 07:59 AM
This place is hilarious, anyone who doesn’t swear blindly by everything Hibs is labelled a jambo..

They’ve started very well, will be flying, have no idea on their fixtures but if they avoid the sheep & Huns until playin us they could be on some points total..

Anyone see Celtc on Friday? Horrendous, a decent team with squad depth could really challenge this year.

16-09-2018, 08:00 AM
I think there is a bigger chance of Kilmarnock doing a Leicester. I was very impressed with them yesterday. They are well organised and play very good football. For a non old firm team to win the SPFL, I think it's important not to hit the front too early because if you are leading in January, Celtic/Rangers/Weegie Media will unsettle players and you'll have a job keeping a hold of them. Once the January transfer window closed, there's not too much they can do.

16-09-2018, 08:02 AM
This place is hilarious, anyone who doesn’t swear blindly by everything Hibs is labelled a jambo..

They’ve started very well, will be flying, have no idea on their fixtures but if they avoid the sheep & Huns until playin us they could be on some points total..

Anyone see Celtc on Friday? Horrendous, a decent team with squad depth could really challenge this year.

I think the only league game this season so far Celtic have actually played well in was their victory over Rangers. Played 5 and only scored 5 goals. Certainly misfiring.

16-09-2018, 08:06 AM
I think the only league game this season so far Celtic have actually played well in was their victory over Rangers. Played 5 and only scored 5 goals. Certainly misfiring.

the problem is though celtic can go spend a few million in January to improve, the rest of us dont have that luxury which makes catching them that bit harder

16-09-2018, 08:15 AM
As has been said, I’ll start being worried if they are 5 points clear in January. Their fans have every right to be crowing. I would be if it was Hibs who’d won 5 out of 5. Hopefully the collapse will be spectacular.

16-09-2018, 08:23 AM
Just noticed Hearts didn't have a sponsor on their shirt today? Why is that?

Fuzzywuzzy
16-09-2018, 08:30 AM
According to the radio commentators the yams were literally gifted a goal today in the form of a very sloppy motherwell short back pass interception. Add that to the Willie Collum fake sending off the Kilmarnock player last game that 'helped' them go on to win that game and Djoum avoiding being sent off when it was actually a deserved red card and there's plenty who'd say that once again they're living up to their nickname the Jammy B's.

As for our game today I'll happily take a 3-2 win against a hard working Killie team any day of the week. A good game with plenty of goals and grit and determination to get all three points. Well done the Hi bees.

Going by the state of Carson's ankle on Twitter it should have been a free kick not the 50/50 they're claiming it was

16-09-2018, 08:44 AM

Anyone see Celtc on Friday? Horrendous, a decent team with squad depth could really challenge this year.I just had a wee look and they have 2 very winnable home games coming up against St J and Livi I think...so regardless of how good they are the chances are they will have momentum going into Oct when I think they play Sevco us and the Sheep. However we also have some winnable games coming up and a real chance to go on a run...interesting times ahead

16-09-2018, 08:47 AM
Just noticed Hearts didn't have a sponsor on their shirt today? Why is that?

Too big for sponsors. Hearts sponsor themselves

16-09-2018, 09:03 AM
HIBS.net are thinking about starting a Heart of Midlothian Football Club Supporters Branch in preparation for the 2018/19 SPFL title winning celebrations please PM Pacoluna with your name in order that he may add you to his list. :greengrin

16-09-2018, 12:35 PM
They've got off to a great start there is no doubt about that, 5 out of 5 wins, fair play that's pretty good and if it was us we'd be delighted as well but leagues are not won in September and if you listen to some of the yams you'd think the title was sewn up already. I'm happy for now listening to their bravado and cockiness. I work with a bunch of them and believe me they are VERY confident and giving it the big un about how we are in for a doing etc etc.

As I say, just let them do their talking. It wont be the first time they've bigged themselves up only to fall flat on their faces. If anything I quite enjoy when they start to get cocky because it just makes it all the funnier when the bubble bursts.

To answer the original question, do I think they will "do a Leicester"? No don't in all honesty. I think they will have a good season unfortunately and probably finish 3rd or maybe even 2nd but over the course of the season I think Celtic will have more in their locker. If they are going to do it though, this season is a rare perfect opportunity because Celtic are a much weaker side than last year IMO, the huns are still a working progress and us and Aberdeen are pretty inconsistent and drop silly points left, right and center.

16-09-2018, 12:50 PM
They've got off to a great start there is no doubt about that, 5 out of 5 wins, fair play that's pretty good and if it was us we'd be delighted as well but leagues are not won in September and if you listen to some of the yams you'd think the title was sewn up already. I'm happy for now listening to their bravado and cockiness. I work with a bunch of them and believe me they are VERY confident and giving it the big un about how we are in for a doing etc etc.

As I say, just let them do their talking. It wont be the first time they've bigged themselves up only to fall flat on their faces. If anything I quite enjoy when they start to get cocky because it just makes it all the funnier when the bubble bursts.

To answer the original question, do I think they will "do a Leicester"? No don't in all honesty. I think they will have a good season unfortunately and probably finish 3rd or maybe even 2nd but over the course of the season I think Celtic will have more in their locker. If they are going to do it though, this season is a rare perfect opportunity because Celtic are a much weaker side than last year IMO, the huns are still a working progress and us and Aberdeen are pretty inconsistent and drop silly points left, right and center.

Come the end of the season they’ll be fighting it out for 4th/5th/6th.

16-09-2018, 01:03 PM
Come the end of the season they’ll be fighting it out for 4th/5th/6th.Not so sure about that TBH...seems like another decent signing today. They won't win the league but they aren't gonna fall away neither imo...they have improved greatly on last season. Still hope we hump them in Oct but we need to get our strongest 11 firing on all cylinders by then

16-09-2018, 01:35 PM
Not so sure about that TBH...seems like another decent signing today. They won't win the league but they aren't gonna fall away neither imo...they have improved greatly on last season. Still hope we hump them in Oct but we need to get our strongest 11 firing on all cylinders by then

They were sixth last year and may well improve a couple of places, although i remain to be convinced. During October i think they could well lose all four games. At the end of the day Levein teams don’t win things.

16-09-2018, 02:07 PM
They've just signed ANOTHER player.

16-09-2018, 02:34 PM

According to the BBC, he chose hertz over the English premier!!

16-09-2018, 02:34 PM

Who?

16-09-2018, 02:40 PM
Who?

Sean Clare. Very good signing for them. Kind of player who'd thrive at us.

I'm Spartacus
16-09-2018, 02:53 PM
Why are we not picking up players like Sean Clare? FFS honestly, my brother lives/works in Sheffield and has been raving about him for a long time, he was linked with Spurs 6 months ago.

Even if we get to Christmas and the unthinkable is happening, Sellick will panic and bring in a shed load of Premiership loan players.

16-09-2018, 03:17 PM
Sean Clare. Very good signing for them. Kind of player who'd thrive at us.Yup and kind of signing we could have done with in all honesty given what we've lost over the summer...hey no I hope he turns out to be useless for them

16-09-2018, 03:46 PM
Yup and kind of signing we could have done with in all honesty given what we've lost over the summer...hey no I hope he turns out to be useless for them

Maybe he's picked up scafferty's wage and we couldn't afford those?

16-09-2018, 03:52 PM
According to the BBC, he chose hertz over the English premier!!

What that actually means is the three-year deal Hearts were offering was better for him than anything else on offer. No player would actually CHOOSE to play in Scotland ahead of the EPL otherwise.

Nevertheless, as has been raised earlier in the thread, the question must be where is the funding coming from to pay the wages of all these new players? It's not so long ago Levein was saying he needed to move players on before he could bring more in and getting Lafferty off the payroll is hardly going to bankroll all this investment in players, especially when Budge said a big chunk of the Lafferty cash would be going into propping up the shambolic main stand project.

Going back to the original thread question, over the previous two seasons Hearts have finished 5th and 6th, 58 points and 33 points behind Celtic. Even by flooding the club with new signings, and even allowing for Celtic's failure to strengthen, it would presumably be a hell of a stretch to imagine that sort of deficit could be overcome in just one season.

16-09-2018, 03:58 PM
What that actually means is the three-year deal Hearts were offering was better for him than anything else on offer. No player would actually CHOOSE to play in Scotland ahead of the EPL otherwise.

Nevertheless, as has been raised earlier in the thread, the question must be where is the funding coming from to pay the wages of all these new players? It's not so long ago Levein was saying he needed to move players on before he could bring more in and getting Lafferty off the payroll is hardly going to bankroll all this investment in players, especially when Budge said a big chunk of the Lafferty cash would be going into propping up the shambolic main stand project.

Going back to the original thread question, over the previous two seasons Hearts have finished 5th and 6th, 58 points and 33 points behind Celtic. Even by flooding the club with new signings, and even allowing for Celtic's failure to strengthen, it would presumably be a hell of a stretch to imagine that sort of deficit could be overcome in just one season.

People said the same about Leicester, - it couldn’t be done etc. as you pointed out earlier. It will be impossible until it happens.

I think your op was a bit premature 5 games in, but the general question of “when will someone else win the league?” Is an intetesting one.

16-09-2018, 04:10 PM
People said the same about Leicester, - it couldn’t be done etc. as you pointed out earlier. It will be impossible until it happens.

I think your op was a bit premature 5 games in, but the general question of “when will someone else win the league?” Is an intetesting one.

Can't see any club outside Glasgow winning the league, as the financial gap in Scotland is so wide. Of course there is the possibility of a club having one incredible season, as Leicester did, but it's once in a blue moon. The last time a team outside the Old Firm won the league was 1985 - a long time ago.

16-09-2018, 04:22 PM

The reason I asked whether Hearts could do a Leicester is because it seems such a stretch to imagine a team like the yams who have been doing more than treading water for some time, not even threatening to earn a European place, could so quickly turn themselves into title contenders. With Celtic undoubtedly weakened, logic would dictate that if anyone was going to finally break their hold on the title it would be Aberdeen, who have for several years been the best of the rest. As you say, though, Leicester came from nowhere (they were actually in relegation bother the season before they won the title) and capitalised on the big clubs having inconsistent seasons so I guess it's not beyond the realms of possibility it could happen here.

Looking at the yams objectively, I do wonder if there are parallels to be drawn with the season they went down. After being docked 15 points they knew they were screwed so had time to plan for the Championship. Following the Cathro fiasco perhaps they realised they were going to be lucky to finish top six with the squad they'd been lumbered with and (with the exception of devoting every waking hour to finally getting a win over us) spent much of last season sizing up a platoon of new players with a view to making an impact this season.

HibbySpurs
16-09-2018, 04:25 PM
No, Celtic will win the title.

Obviously some debate on this as it’s gone to 5 pages but I’m not reading it as it’s such a horrific concept!

Can’t eait until I hear the enormous “POP” from over tiny way... which will come I assure you.

16-09-2018, 04:28 PM
Can't see any club outside Glasgow winning the league, as the financial gap in Scotland is so wide. Of course there is the possibility of a club having one incredible season, as Leicester did, but it's once in a blue moon. The last time a team outside the Old Firm won the league was 1985 - a long time ago.

Difference back then though was that Aberdeen and Dundee United were for a number of years BETTER than Celtic and Rangers (especially Rangers). While Aberdeen's title win in 79-80 was a landmark moment, over the next few years it wasn't actually a shock to see the 'new firm' winning titles. The yams came from nowhere to almost do it 86 but that was a flash in the pan which nobody has come close to repeating since, almost solely due to the fact Celtic and Rangers moved on to a different planet in terms of spending.

What makes this season different is the sense that Celtic have got complacent and started to think they don't need to keep spending to stroll to another title.

16-09-2018, 04:33 PM
Simple no . Remember them rocking up to ER when they had won 8 on the bounce singing “we are unbeatable “ 2-0 win for us stopped that song in its tracks .
They win at Motherwell but still damage loads of seats in the away end . Sums them up , cannie even win with class .

16-09-2018, 04:38 PM
They'll jambottle it when it counts.

Again.

16-09-2018, 04:44 PM
I don't want Celtic getting 10 in a row, that's just getting embarrassing tbh but I certainly don't want it to be that lot of break the run. Their arrogance and smugness is nauseating at the best of times, them winning the league would send it through to unbearable levels. As I mentioned in my earlier post, let them get carried away and cocky for now, the higher they build themselves up the bigger the fall. They have a good team this year and sadly I fully expect them to have a good season but I just cannot see anyone other than Celtic winning the league.

16-09-2018, 05:10 PM
Just seen the highlights.

Horrific passback aside, nothing between these teams. Hearts didnt look amazing. Leveins assessment, as always one eyed - good to see the plum back on form :wink:

Dont think the one on the keeper was in any way deliberate.

16-09-2018, 05:20 PM
It's a stinking thread, to be honest.

The yams can rightly be smug, because all preseason Levein was being roundly mocked by most commentators for being a useless tactical dinosaur and for buying too many unknowns that nobody rated or had heard of. I still can't believe how well they've started, and they've certainly unearthed some good players. I doubt it'll last. Levein is a loser. Who locks himself in Dundee toilets pretending to be ill when his teammates need him. There's no need to worry, europa league qualifiers at best.

16-09-2018, 06:13 PM
Simple no . Remember them rocking up to ER when they had won 8 on the bounce singing “we are unbeatable “ 2-0 win for us stopped that song in its tracks .
They win at Motherwell but still damage loads of seats in the away end . Sums them up , cannie even win with class .
That would be the year they split the Uglies to come 2nd?
Only 6 seats were damaged the 2 pictures shown the worst 1 was when Celtic were there, typical media rouse to cause more bother as the Uglies are not on top at the moment!
It was the same for us last year, when we were winning for fun, it was ok against the rest but not against their darlings!!!

17-09-2018, 08:26 AM
Looking at the yams starting line-up on Saturday, there's not a single player there who started the opening game of last season.

Obviously they've achieved nothing yet, but does this indicate that if you keep trying the scattergun approach to signings often enough (they had 32 arrivals and departures over the course of last season followed by 18 signings this season) it will finally come good?

Again, you have to ask where's the funding coming for all this??

17-09-2018, 08:41 AM
Looking at the yams starting line-up on Saturday, there's not a single player there who started the opening game of last season.

Obviously they've achieved nothing yet, but does this indicate that if you keep trying the scattergun approach to signings often enough (they had 32 arrivals and departures over the course of last season followed by 18 signings this season) it will finally come good?

Again, you have to ask where's the funding coming for all this??

Yamonomics and their 'unique' accounting methods. Hibs are looking a threat, so, when in doubt, cheat your way out. :agree:

I'm Spartacus
17-09-2018, 08:53 AM
The title could be changed to us/Aberdeen/Killie.

SevCo are papering over the cracks IMO - they've beaten Dundee and St Mirren. WOW hardly standard setting stuff.
Celtic seem bored, uninterested and complacent.

Hearts are plugging away while the rest take points off each other, we were 12 minutes away from being 9 points behind after 5 games. We should win our next 3 but then have a tough run of 3 after that. Drop anything in the next 3 games and I'll be pretty annoyed at potentially being 10+ points off so early on.

17-09-2018, 11:15 AM
Yamonomics and their 'unique' accounting methods. Hibs are looking a threat, so, when in doubt, cheat your way out. :agree:

There would certainly appear to be additional funding coming from somewhere to sustain such a suddenly swollen squad when the main stand fiasco remains a work in progress.

17-09-2018, 11:26 AM
Why are we not picking up players like Sean Clare? FFS honestly, my brother lives/works in Sheffield and has been raving about him for a long time, he was linked with Spurs 6 months ago.

Even if we get to Christmas and the unthinkable is happening, Sellick will panic and bring in a shed load of Premiership loan players.

To be fair we aren't the only ones to have failed to appreciate his talents. Sheffield Wednesday had him signed for 2 years and yet only gave him a handful of games in their first team, preferring instead to put him out on loan to 3 lower division teams.

17-09-2018, 11:47 AM
To be fair we aren't the only ones to have failed to appreciate his talents. Sheffield Wednesday had him signed for 2 years and yet only gave him a handful of games in their first team, preferring instead to put him out on loan to 3 lower division teams.

I'm not believing for a second if this lad was as good as he's being made out he'd be joining Hearts. If the likes of Spurs and Villa were wanting him he wouldn't be coming to Scotland.

I'm Spartacus
17-09-2018, 12:34 PM
I'm not believing for a second if this lad was as good as he's being made out he'd be joining Hearts. If the likes of Spurs and Villa were wanting him he wouldn't be coming to Scotland.

He had a pretty bad ankle injury that scuppered any potential big move, I'm guessing they've taken a chance with a 3 year deal on the basis they'll get a very decent transfer fee - all going well.

Islington Hibs
17-09-2018, 12:34 PM
Oddschecker says no

Celtic 1-7 on, Rangers 5-1, Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen 150-1 against, albeit most have Hearts at a more realistic 25-1

We still have to play Celtic, Rangers and Hearts- that will be very telling - take 5 points or more and that would be a great start.....

17-09-2018, 12:36 PM
Has there ever been this much hype about a team being top of the league after 5 games?

McSwanky
17-09-2018, 12:40 PM
Has there ever been this much hype about a team being top of the league after 5 games?

2005?

I'm Spartacus
17-09-2018, 12:46 PM

Aye but the hype doesn't help when it's coming from our own forum!!!!

17-09-2018, 01:33 PM
Aye but the hype doesn't help when it's coming from our own forum!!!!

2005?

Both very good points.

17-09-2018, 01:33 PM
Did they not win the first five games the season they came up?

17-09-2018, 02:08 PM
Erm, no.

Lunatic
17-09-2018, 03:06 PM
What a load of nonsense this thread is. Don't you people stay up to date with the chat around world football?

As soon as the January transfer window opens, hearts are ****ed. Real Madrid and Barcelona are going to split their first team down the middle and continue their domination of world football (Messi will be EVEN BETTER once the hearts players pass on harry's offensive tactical genius.....), Man Utd are going to buy their subs and stroll the Premiership. PSG are buying their youth team, which will EASILY be good enough to win in France and will net them a CL in a couple of years.

Leaving Hearts to find a whole new team. Better get that scatter gun ready again Potter.....

17-09-2018, 06:12 PM
If they are still top after they have played every team in the league then it might warrant serious discussion But I haven't seen them play and until they got that lucky break for thier goal v Motherwell , the highlights had only shown oppertnunitoes for Motherwell
So they are certainly getting the breaks and they have brought in more players than any other Team , So in the short Term Quantity is winning over Quality
Quality will however find the right blend and we will see whete both teams are after ax Mass that will be s more telling time to draw comparissions and speculate whete both teams may finish come the end of the Season
Althogh The January Transfer Window will also have a bearing on matters as well

17-09-2018, 07:18 PM
A ‘small minority’ of their fans seem to be in high spirits anyway going by the video of them marching out of the stadium singing the “Gorgie Billy boys” at the weekend..

17-09-2018, 07:36 PM
They could do a Leicester 2007-08 season, everybody would be delighted.

OxoHibby
17-09-2018, 08:39 PM

Don't think so

17-09-2018, 09:35 PM
The more up themselves they are, the more satisfying that loud ‘POP’ will be when it inevitably happens. They can never resist over-estimating themselves and they just never ever learn.

17-09-2018, 11:41 PM
Hearts haven't been THAT good. Everything that could have gone in their favour has done so far. Dodgy penalties in their favour, dodgy sending offs for the opposition, not getting players sent off when they should be getting sent off. The "panel" choosing to ignore their dirty antics while punishing other clubs that play against them for far lesser/non offenses.

Something will give sooner or later and when the bubble finally bursts, watch as their delusional fanbase swiftly turn against them.

broondog
18-09-2018, 06:21 AM
There is a much higher chance of someone doing a Leicester this year purely because Celtic look a shadow of their former selves, aberdeen are dropping points all over the place and Rangers still haven't improved that much on last season.

There is no chance it will be Hearts though, despite the fact they have got away with cheating yet again. They are very very overrated this season and although they have got off to a good start we will finish above them comfortably and still have a far superior team. They have signed what 21 new players most of whom I have never heard off and come from the likes of league 2 in England. if you speak to any of the Yams they concede they have been very lucky in most games and scraped through matches with red cards and horrible errors going in their favour.

quite funny how confident they are though. long may it continue because when they have a massive slump it will be all the more hilarioius to witness

broondog
18-09-2018, 06:24 AM

exactly. You have to question how they continue getting away with it. When are the authorities going to step in and take action as they are clearly spending more than they are bringing in yet again. As you say we become a threat and their solution is to rack up huge debts to gain an advantage

Juniper Greens
18-09-2018, 06:32 AM
exactly. You have to question how they continue getting away with it. When are the authorities going to step in and take action as they are clearly spending more than they are bringing in yet again. As you say we become a threat and their solution is to rack up huge debts to gain an advantage

Not sure it's that simple. I think their grand plan is to run up debt this season to keep the FOH backers happy-which seems to be working as their contributions are going up again-then sell souttar to the highest bidder. Even if they only get £1m for him, that'll cover any overspending for this season. If they hadn't done this, their contributions were in danger of falling through the floor, then their time would be up. It's a very dangerous business model, but I can see it working for this season maybe

18-09-2018, 08:25 AM
Family yams view is that this is "all going to plan".

Still plenty money to spend on quality players but only ones that are good enough to maintain their "recent advantage" over celtc. With their facilities they can only continue to pull away.

He's a proper authority on the subject as he tore himself away from the golf club bar and went to the celtc game on a freebie. Only game this season.

Apparently they have much bigger financial backers than Budge- she is just the front. Can't say who they are but most Hearts fans know. He's no idea why they won't spend their wealth finishing off the stand but it's just hobos that focus on stuff like this when "we are flying, on and off the pitch "

Haven't heard a thing from him in months.

I'm Spartacus
18-09-2018, 08:42 AM

Here's where you might want to sit down:

- They're paying peanuts for Naismith. He's a top class player, easily hateable right enough.
- Got £690k for Lafferty PLUS have his salary to play with. That's potentially 4 players worth from one sale.

Most of the guys they've brought in would've be on less money than the others who've gone out the door, PLUS the fans cash coming in each month. Demi Mitchell is an unbelievable talent (Man U reserve player of the year so not my opinion).

We can bury our heads in the sand all we want but we should be able to have 5-8k fans paying £20 per month to help the club and keep in touch with the budgets of Rangers, Aberdeen and Hearts. Another example being James Wilson from Man U that went to Aberdeen, i'd have taken him in a heartbeat. Our network disappoints me, think back to how much we wasted on Stokes and what he brought to the club.

The McGinn cash should have been used to bring in quality that could be sold on in 12-18 months, then you go again. McGinn cash, or McGinn cash plus £100k per month from the fans.

Where Hearts are ******ing it for me is there must have been 10 players who have come in on 2-3 year deals then vanished, but that's their problem and we need to stop looking West and look at how we can be one step ahead of the rest.

18-09-2018, 08:44 AM
exactly. You have to question how they continue getting away with it. When are the authorities going to step in and take action as they are clearly spending more than they are bringing in yet again. As you say we become a threat and their solution is to rack up huge debts to gain an advantageI'm not sure what you mean by "getting away with it".

If they are "spending more than they are bringing in", and we don't know that they are, they will eventually run out of money.

What action would you suggest is taken?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

18-09-2018, 08:52 AM
I'm not sure what you mean by "getting away with it".

If they are "spending more than they are bringing in", and we don't know that they are, they will eventually run out of money.

What action would you suggest is taken?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

It would surely be unthinkable for them to have returned to a reckless Vlad-era policy of spending money they don't have. As I mentioned earlier in the thread, what does appear to be happening is that there is additional funding coming from somewhere to facilitate such an extraordinary influx of players. Is this coming from Budge and if so what's prompted it (given that in her most recent ramble much was made of how the new stand still requires a great deal of expenditure and that a good chunk of the Lafferty cash was going to be channelled towards that)?

18-09-2018, 08:56 AM
It would surely be unthinkable for them to have returned to a reckless Vlad-era policy of spending money they don't have. As I mentioned earlier in the thread, what does appear to be happening is that there is additional funding coming from somewhere to facilitate such an extraordinary influx of players. Is this coming from Budge and if so what's prompted it (given that in her most recent ramble much was made of how the new stand still requires a great deal of expenditure and that a good chunk of the Lafferty cash was going to be channelled towards that)?

Not completing the eighth wonder stand and yet further diversions of the DD's from the actual purchase of shares? Just a wild guess.

18-09-2018, 09:36 AM

Well they have clearly decided they don't want us finishing above them again in the League The natives were restless and us selling more Season Tickets than them and getting into Europe will have irked them
Fair play to them for stepping up to the mark now it's up to us to respond and prove Quality Counts
But yes it does make you wonder how they are able to afford this given they made a very clear statement before the Season started that this Season would be a period of Transition and fans may need to be patient Do clearly something has changed

18-09-2018, 09:40 AM
The thing im detecting from Hertz fans this season is the total absence of any caution, or balance, or calm about their start. Its like they're three quarters of the way through the season instead of five games in. Ive just been listening to Anthony Brown from the EEN on podcast. Apparently

1. Its a 'myth' that Levein is a defensive minded coach :faf:
2. Its already going to be a 'special season'.
3. Hearts are the 'real deal'.
4. The credit goes to Levein. He cant be judged on last seasons sixth place because he didnt have a preseason to work with the boys.

and of course
5. 'Hibs havent done as well as expected' which makes it all the sweeter.

My thinking is, its possible that they keep up their early form and stay in the hunt till the Spring. And there is a part of me that would quite like them to, in order to make the Scottish game look more competitive, stop it being the Celtc show every year and in general shake it up a bit.

But then the kind of rampant small cock mentality shown above, and also to be heard on the back of every Lothian Bus by spotty faced, testicle fiddling jambo cretins in cheap trackies and tragic 'hairdos', reveals itself and I want them to be destroyed by everyone they play.

18-09-2018, 10:26 AM
The thing im detecting from Hertz fans this season is the total absence of any caution, or balance, or calm about their start. Its like they're three quarters of the way through the season instead of five games in. Ive just been listening to Anthony Brown from the EEN on podcast. Apparently

4. The credit goes to Levein. He cant be judged on last seasons sixth place because he didnt have a preseason to work with the boys.

and of course

My thinking is, its possible that they keep up their early form and stay in the hunt till the Spring. And there is a part of me that would quite like them to, in order to make the Scottish game look more competitive, stop it being the Celtc show every year and in general shake it up a bit.

But then the kind of rampant small cock mentality shown above, and also to be heard on the back of every Lothian Bus by spotty faced, testicle fiddling jambo cretins in cheap trackies and tragic 'hairdos', reveals itself and I want them to be destroyed by everyone they play.

This is the bit that sticks in the craw. As director of football Levein was the main man when it came to ushering in the supposed Cathro revolution and will have overseen every failed signing made during that time. A rip it up and start again approach for this season doesn't suddenly make him a managerial genius. Most managers try to build a team and don't have the luxury of simply signing an entire new one when Plan A implodes. The guy was getting pelters from the yam support just a few weeks ago when they were losing to Raith in the League Cup yet a few wins later all is forgiven.

Take a look at his managerial career. Solid enough in parts but abysmal at times (Leicester, Scotland) and not a trophy to be seen. The way he's reinvented himself after the Scotland fiasco as some sort of managerial guru is something that gets swallowed all too easily.

18-09-2018, 10:34 AM

and of course

They have such short memories. The Burley season was just the same: after a great start, they were going to break up the Old Firm etc. Erm naw. And then there's the ultimate in bravado gone wrong - 1986. They never learn to shut their big mooths. We are FIVE games gone. :greengrin

By the way, that Jambo fanzine, also known as the EEN, is an embarrassment.

18-09-2018, 10:36 AM
Christ this thread is over-egged.

5 games out of 38 played so far, I'm really worried that with just 99 points left to play for no-one will be able to catch them.

I'm Spartacus
18-09-2018, 10:45 AM
They have such short memories. The Burley season was just the same: after a great start, they were going to break up the Old Firm etc. Erm naw. And then there's the ultimate in bravado gone wrong - 1986. They never learn to shut their big mooths. We are FIVE games gone. :greengrin

They did LOL. As pointed out 99 points to play for, post Christmas then we can discuss/panic/not care/laugh.

18-09-2018, 11:00 AM
A little tip for Hearts fans looking in.. Big teams don't sing about "not being moved" and Europa league qualifiers five games in to a season. The big team perception is looking a bit flawed with the over reaction to being five points above Livingston in September. It's almost as misleading as celebrating going in level at half time with Hibs at Easter Road.

You know what happens when you start to celebrate achievements too early.. The double in 86, we are unbeatable in 06, high five's with fans in semi finals against teams with 9 men, money spinning replays etc, etc, etc.

You've admittedly had a good start to the season, well done, but it's only a good start.

Gloucester Hibs
18-09-2018, 11:02 AM
The wheels will come off at some point. Rewind to 2007 - we were flying high top of the table mid-October, undefeated with wins over both halves of the old firm and Hearts. Ended up finishing 6th!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/7029174.stm

18-09-2018, 11:05 AM
They did LOL. As pointed out 99 points to play for, post Christmas then we can discuss/panic/not care/laugh.

You're right, they finished second, but it was a flash in a pan. At that the time they were talking about being a new force, a trophy winning machine, based upon financial doping. The gormless of Gorgie lapped it up, believing it was about to happen.

18-09-2018, 11:09 AM
The wheels will come off at some point. Rewind to 2007 - we were flying high top of the table mid-October, undefeated with wins over both halves of the old firm and Hearts. Ended up finishing 6th!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/scot_prem/7029174.stm

October no bad u got a copy of the table at that stage? Didn’t think we were unbeaten?

18-09-2018, 11:16 AM
October no bad u got a copy of the table at that stage? Didn’t think we were unbeaten?

Haven't got a copy of the table, but here are our early results from that season. It went rapidly downhill almost straight after the Ibrox win:

Hearts 0 Hibs 1
Hibs 4 Gretna 2
Dundee Utd 0 Hibs 0
Hibs 3 Aberdeen 3
Hibs 1 Inverness 0
Falkirk 1 Hibs 1
Hibs 3 Celtic 2
Hibs 4 Kilmarnock 1
Rangers 0 Hibs 1

18-09-2018, 11:18 AM
Haven't got a copy of the table, but here are our early results from that season. It went rapidly downhill almost straight after the Ibrox win:

6 August 2007SPL (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007%E2%80%9308_Scottish_Premier_League)
Heart of Midlothian (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heart_of_Midlothian_F.C.)
0 – 1
Hibernian (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hibernian_F.C.)

show
Tynecastle (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tynecastle_Stadium), Edinburgh (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edinburgh)

11 August 2007SPL (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007%E2%80%9308_Scottish_Premier_League)
4 – 2
Gretna (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gretna_F.C.)

show
Easter Road (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Easter_Road), Edinburgh (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edinburgh)

18 August 2007SPL (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007%E2%80%9308_Scottish_Premier_League)
Dundee United (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dundee_United_F.C.)
0 – 0

show
Tannadice Park (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tannadice_Park), Dundee (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dundee)

25 August 2007SPL (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007%E2%80%9308_Scottish_Premier_League)
3 – 3
Aberdeen (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aberdeen_F.C.)

show
Easter Road (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Easter_Road), Edinburgh (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Edinburgh)

1 September 2007SPL (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007%E2%80%9308_Scottish_Premier_League)
1 – 0
Inverness CT (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inverness_Caledonian_Thistle_F.C.)

show

15 September 2007SPL (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007%E2%80%9308_Scottish_Premier_League)
Falkirk (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Falkirk_F.C.)
1 – 1

show
Falkirk Stadium (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Falkirk_Stadium), Falkirk (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Falkirk)

23 September 2007SPL (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007%E2%80%9308_Scottish_Premier_League)
3 – 2
Celtic (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celtic_F.C.)

show

29 September 2007SPL (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007%E2%80%9308_Scottish_Premier_League)
4 – 1
Kilmarnock (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kilmarnock_F.C.)

show

6 October 2007SPL (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007%E2%80%9308_Scottish_Premier_League)
Rangers (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rangers_F.C.)
0 – 1

I blame Whittaker

18-09-2018, 11:19 AM
My memory is getting fuzzy. Can someone remind me what happened when they cunningly sacked Burley, as they sat top of the league and looked good for it....I have a fuzzy, hazy recollection of singing in the east and some dafties banging on about being unbeatable, wearing stupid ****ing hats and looking mighty daft. It may be one big Bobby Ewing type dream mind and history may well be conning my grey matter :greengrin

MagicSwirlingShip
18-09-2018, 11:19 AM
I bet we’re above them in the table by the 1st of November.

Gloucester Hibs
18-09-2018, 11:22 AM

Not got a table but we were definitely top and unbeaten after that Rangers game. I think the following week we lost 2-1 at Fir Park (Fletcher put us 1-0 from the spot too!) and that began a massive downward spiral culminating in Collins walking before the end of the year.

I'm Spartacus
18-09-2018, 11:24 AM
I blame Whittaker

Haha Boozy apart, we had a **** team back then! Collins went on to greatness after us (said nobody EVER!), i'd not want any of the others near our team now.

18-09-2018, 05:54 PM

and of course

Another thing that should be said about this kind of 'analysis' is that it's not really analysis at all is it? Like pretty much all football punditry it's a reaction to what takes place on the field, nothing more insightful. Yes, a paid journalist may put things a little more eloquently (though not in all cases!) but essentially it's just a dressed up version of what most fans could come up with over a post-match pint. Had Hearts made a terrible start to the season and Hibs got off to a flyer, Anthony Brown would instead have said something along the lines that it was a mistake to keep Levein in the manager's post after the sixth-place finish, that he'd once again signed too many average players and that Hibs were again proving that they are a better organised club. There's no real expertise, just a desire to write or talk about football for a living.

cocteautwin
19-09-2018, 03:29 AM

I don't think they are spending more than they are bringing in. They've just thought of new and interesting ways of attracting income since their Admin. By my calculations they've attracted some additional £15-18m to the project since their Admin. That's additional cash over and above normal football club income, match day sales, season tickets, outside sponsorship etc. The only funding debt they really have is the (possible) £2m of bank loans they applied for last year. The amount of money they have injected and spent is quite astonishing but it's not in any way dodgy or unsustainable. They've had to spend a large part of the last 5 years funding on rescuing the club but once that's done you only need to average out their additional funding (say £18m/5 years = £3.6m per annum) to realise they could be miles ahead of anyone apart from the Old Firm in Scotland.

19-09-2018, 09:21 AM

Sorry to say, but they did they were 2nd!

But what's wrong with a bit of out and out bravado, it makes it easier to ram it down their throat when the bubble bursts!!!!!

19-09-2018, 11:32 AM
I don't think they are spending more than they are bringing in. They've just thought of new and interesting ways of attracting income since their Admin. By my calculations they've attracted some additional £15-18m to the project since their Admin. That's additional cash over and above normal football club income, match day sales, season tickets, outside sponsorship etc. The only funding debt they really have is the (possible) £2m of bank loans they applied for last year. The amount of money they have injected and spent is quite astonishing but it's not in any way dodgy or unsustainable. They've had to spend a large part of the last 5 years funding on rescuing the club but once that's done you only need to average out their additional funding (say £18m/5 years = £3.6m per annum) to realise they could be miles ahead of anyone apart from the Old Firm in Scotland.

It also helps when you can walk away from £30 million of debt then reinvent yourself as a bastion of financial prudence :wink:

Be interested to see your calculations. The £15-18m you mention should, if true, just about cover the cost of the new stand, which is set to cost £15 million or more to complete (though given the snail's pace progress nobody will be surprised if it ends up costing significantly more). Granted, £4.5 million of that has been provided by 'mystery' donors but other than lump sums being donated by wealthy fans and putting out the begging bowl to the fans to keep the club alive by founding FOH I'm not sure what 'new and interesting ways of attracting income' they've found.

As an aside, it's interesting to read in this piece from last December that Levein rated last summer's signings as an improvement on the previous January's. How many of them are still at the club or playing in the first team?

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-agm-final-cost-of-main-stand-to-reach-15-million-1-4643058

19-09-2018, 11:51 AM
It also helps when you can walk away from £30 million of debt then reinvent yourself as a bastion of financial prudence :wink:

Be interested to see your calculations. The £15-18m you mention should, if true, just about cover the cost of the new stand, which is set to cost £15 million or more to complete (though given the snail's pace progress nobody will be surprised if it ends up costing significantly more). Granted, £4.5 million of that has been provided by 'mystery' donors but other than lump sums being donated by wealthy fans and putting out the begging bowl to the fans to keep the club alive by founding FOH I'm not sure what 'new and interesting ways of attracting income' they've found.

As an aside, it's interesting to read in this piece from last December that Levein rated last summer's signings as an improvement on the previous January's. How many of them are still at the club or playing in the first team?

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-agm-final-cost-of-main-stand-to-reach-15-million-1-4643058

Could be wrong, but was it not nearer £70M ?
Did they not do 2 x £20M debt for equity swaps with UKIO ?

Either way, thieving tramps are jammy as **** getting these private individuals helping them out. (sooner Andy Murray retires and decides to throw some cash our way, the better)

19-09-2018, 12:04 PM
Could be wrong, but was it not nearer £70M ?
Did they not do 2 x £20M debt for equity swaps with UKIO ?

Either way, thieving tramps are jammy as **** getting these private individuals helping them out. (sooner Andy Murray retires and decides to throw some cash our way, the better)

Not sure if it ended up as more but approx £30 million was the figure given out initially:

https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/13116282.Hearts__a_debt_of___29m_and_200_creditors/

19-09-2018, 12:34 PM
The entitlement brigade are back in town.

Hiding since 21st May 2016.

They will be away soon enough.

cocteautwin
19-09-2018, 03:09 PM
Not sure if it ended up as more but approx £30 million was the figure given out initially:

https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/13116282.Hearts__a_debt_of___29m_and_200_creditors/

That £30m was only the amount owed to Ukios and written off at the time of Administration. In the preceding years an earlier massive amount (could be the £40m mentioned above) was converted from debt to equity thus eliminating that debt enabling them to rack up even more thieved money and it not look so bad on their balance sheet. The total amount injected by HMFC benefactors over the past 30 years must be approaching £100m.

19-09-2018, 04:22 PM
That £30m was only the amount owed to Ukios and written off at the time of Administration. In the preceding years an earlier massive amount (could be the £40m mentioned above) was converted from debt to equity thus eliminating that debt enabling them to rack up even more thieved money and it not look so bad on their balance sheet. The total amount injected by HMFC benefactors over the past 30 years must be approaching £100m.

UKIO Bankas were "only" owed £15m. The rest of the £29m debt was made up of other creditors.

There were 2 DfE swaps, one for £12m and one for £10m.

19-09-2018, 04:30 PM
UKIO Bankas were "only" owed £15m. The rest of the £29m debt was made up of other creditors.

There were 2 DfE swaps, one for £12m and one for £10m.Jeez, give me a £66m head start on everyone else and I'd be able to win more than 2 Scottish cups in the same period.

19-09-2018, 04:34 PM
Jeez, give me a £66m head start on everyone else and I'd be able to win more than 2 Scottish cups in the same period.

Give me your calculator :greengrin

(it's "only" £51m.....)

19-09-2018, 05:14 PM
Give me your calculator :greengrin

(it's "only" £51m.....)Alright, 1 Scottish cup for £51m it is.

19-09-2018, 05:25 PM
Christ this thread is over-egged.

5 games out of 38 played so far, I'm really worried that with just 99 points left to play for no-one will be able to catch them.

Let them chugg off, then face the ridicule. Again.

cocteautwin
20-09-2018, 03:25 AM

There were 2 DfE swaps, one for £12m and one for £10m.

UBIG and related parties were also owed approx £10m, all part of the same coven, so approx £25m in total to the Vlad connection at the end.

The big difference this time is that the amounts HMFC are spending are not actually owed to anyone aside from a small manageable bank loan. Will be interesting to see their figures for the recent and financial years to see just how much they've actually been spending on their team. When they don't have a stand, pitch and Malaury Martin to pay for they are going to have a substantial playing budget, vastly bigger than ours.

20-09-2018, 06:56 AM
No!

20-09-2018, 08:30 AM
UBIG and related parties were also owed approx £10m, all part of the same coven, so approx £25m in total to the Vlad connection at the end.

The big difference this time is that the amounts HMFC are spending are not actually owed to anyone aside from a small manageable bank loan. Will be interesting to see their figures for the recent and financial years to see just how much they've actually been spending on their team. When they don't have a stand, pitch and Malaury Martin to pay for they are going to have a substantial playing budget, vastly bigger than ours.

Is that not quite a big when?

The difference in budget is FOH and the mysterious benefactor factor. We also have the 500,000/ Farmer loan to take int9 account. It’ll not last forever.

20-09-2018, 08:45 AM

The big difference this time is that the amounts HMFC are spending are not actually owed to anyone aside from a small manageable bank loan. Will be interesting to see their figures for the recent and financial years to see just how much they've actually been spending on their team. When they don't have a stand, pitch and Malaury Martin to pay for they are going to have a substantial playing budget, vastly bigger than ours.When they don't have a stand, pitch and the enigmatic Mr Martin to pay for they might be able to get on with the business of actually buying their club/fan ownership (remember that?[emoji6]).

Unless of course the one fan owner they currently have wants to further divert the cash raised to essential ground maintenance or improvements further improving her secured asset, or buying players or whatever else might come along..

I'm Spartacus
20-09-2018, 09:36 AM
When they don't have a stand, pitch and the enigmatic Mr Martin to pay for they might be able to get on with the business of actually buying their club/fan ownership (remember that?[emoji6]).

Unless of course the one fan owner they currently have wants to further divert the cash raised to essential ground maintenance or improvements further improving her secured asset, or buying players or whatever else might come along..

"Could they do a Leicester?" And it's now a UKIO £30-£70M debate.

The worst bit is to come IMO, in terms of jammie-ness, as there's a story going round she's going to gift her "loan" back to the club and all the paperwork is in place for that to happen at the end of the 'loan term'.

Anyway - this forum is only missing the maroon banners at times, LETS TALK HIBS!!!!

21-09-2018, 09:12 AM
"Could they do a Leicester?" And it's now a UKIO £30-£70M debate.

The worst bit is to come IMO, in terms of jammie-ness, as there's a story going round she's going to gift her "loan" back to the club and all the paperwork is in place for that to happen at the end of the 'loan term'.

Anyway - this forum is only missing the maroon banners at times, LETS TALK HIBS!!!!

I'm just glad someone had to time to notice and comment on it!!!!

22-09-2018, 04:01 PM
I can't be the only one gutted that we've left it so late in the season to try and catch the might Hearts now?

22-09-2018, 04:14 PM
Levein was talking about the similarities between this team and the 1986 lot. Clear for all to see really. Both teams bottling games they should have won. It's the Potter way.

22-09-2018, 04:19 PM
For all the millions spent they couldn't get the better of a team with a fraction of their resources and budget.

Big team, league winners, my a**e.

22-09-2018, 04:28 PM
They were booing at full time. Mental.

CathroMustStay
22-09-2018, 04:29 PM
Cheer up Craig Levein :greengrin

22-09-2018, 04:29 PM
For me, this is the turning point I’ve been waiting on. The slide begins ...

22-09-2018, 04:30 PM
They were booing at full time. Mental.They were booing the part built stand. What a shambles.

22-09-2018, 04:31 PM
For all the millions spent they couldn't get the better of a team with a fraction of their resources and budget.

Big team, league winners, my a**e.

TBF, they got one point more than we did

:duck:

22-09-2018, 04:41 PM
I was hoping for our lothian rivals to get beat but unfortunately Hearte couldn’t find a goal.

22-09-2018, 06:10 PM
TBF, they got one point more than we did

:duck:

They had home advantage😝

22-09-2018, 07:16 PM
And with the centenary of the Armistice coming up let them NEVER forget that they are poppy thieves.

That debt, in my opinion, was the lowest of the low.

Unbelievable.

22-09-2018, 07:21 PM

Sad, bitter people who are a flute short of a Hun and hate their city rivals more than they like their own team. It's a sad life being a Jambo.

capitals_finest
22-09-2018, 08:20 PM

I heard that on the radio, what f****n planet are they on!?!?

22-09-2018, 08:25 PM
I heard that on the radio, what f****n planet are they on!?!?

That’s like asking why’s water wet!

22-09-2018, 09:10 PM

You have forgotten the £40 million that was written off/converted to worthless equity by Romanov (UBIG) over a number of years. Where do you think UBIG got the money from? The parent Ukio Bankas. A big contribution to the £280 million hole in Ukio Bankas'sbalance sheet when they were declared bankrupt.

22-09-2018, 09:12 PM
You have forgotten the £40 million that was written off/converted to worthless equity by Romanov (UBIG) over a number of years. Where do you think UBIG got the money from? The parent Ukio Bankas. A big contribution to the £280 million hole in Ukio Bankas'sbalance sheet when they were declared bankrupt.

Yes, the money "stolen" from the people of Lithuania by Romanov has never really been focused on....hope he gets his comeuppance someday...

22-09-2018, 09:15 PM
Despicable poppy thieves.

22-09-2018, 09:39 PM
Sad, bitter people who are a flute short of a Hun and hate their city rivals more than they like their own team. It's a sad life being a Jambo.

Must use this one. :greengrin

22-09-2018, 10:27 PM
As if they aren't loathsome enough, Naismith cost me a couple of hundred quid by missing that penalty. Had a wee accumulator on, and those ***** scunnered it. I thought a home game against Livi was a gimme.

22-09-2018, 10:30 PM
As if they aren't loathsome enough, Naismith cost me a couple of hundred quid by missing that penalty. Had a wee accumulator on, and those ***** scunnered it. I thought a home game against Livi was a gimme.

TBH, I always feel that betting on them deserves that type of outcome [emoji6]

22-09-2018, 10:32 PM
TBH, I always feel that betting on them deserves that type of outcome [emoji6]

Went with the head and not the heart, thinking they would get the win at home. **** that wee **** Naismith.

Still, they dropped points, which is a wee comfort. Annoying though.

22-09-2018, 10:43 PM
5 wins and 1 draw in the first 6 games, still an excellent start but hopefully today is just a little reality check for some of their fans thinking that they have won the league already. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I work with a few of them and it's been cringeworthy listening to them go on and on about hearts as if theyhave suddenly turned into some sort of world beating team this season.

23-09-2018, 12:05 AM
5 wins and 1 draw in the first 6 games, still an excellent start but hopefully today is just a little reality check for some of their fans thinking that they have won the league already. As I mentioned in an earlier post, I work with a few of them and it's been cringeworthy listening to them go on and on about hearts as if theyhave suddenly turned into some sort of world beating team this season.

As delusional as Hearts fans are - I don't think a single one genuinely believes that they are even outsiders to win the league.

23-09-2018, 12:12 AM
As delusional as Hearts fans are - I don't think a single one genuinely believes that they are even outsiders to win the league.

You're probably right but they did have a whole stand at Fir Park singing about going to Europe

23-09-2018, 12:31 AM

Three I know, including one working at their club, genuinely think they can win the league. They have this unbelievable misplaced sense of entitlement the minute they win a few games - embarrassing to be honest. In keeping with this 'big team' charade and the 'famous' line (only in their own heads).

Levein on the radio today claiming that Sean Clare was a coup as EPL clubs wanted him is absolute fantasy land stuff (in his head). For perspective, we sign a left back who has played many seasons for Feyenoord, league winner in Holland, with numerous Champions League appearances, and an Australian international mainstay who played in the World Cup this year and yet they claim to have signed the new Gareth Bale in an untried Man United youth player with 1 first team appearance, and a guy who couldn't even hack it at Bury, Accrington Stanley and Gillingham but was allegedly a target for Spurs yet he's the new Dele Alli :faf: that for me, is the reality :agree: better a cruel truth than a comfortable delusion as they say !

As ever, cannot wait for the derbies this season - we are the better team :aok:

Austinho
23-09-2018, 07:27 AM
Hearts have benefitted from all their main rivals being in Europe and having slow starts through injuries, fatigue and the like, while they’ve been able to focus purely on the league - Cove Rangers etc aside. Celtic played a weakened side against them as they had their biggest game of the season v AEK days later. We’ve still not even been able to play a settled side yet due to the hangover of playing Thursday/Sunday for weeks. We weren’t full stength against St Johnstone for example. Rangers wouldn’t be midtable if they didn’t have such a big run of games.

Hearts have been decent, but also fairly fortunate and their position is massively exaggerated. They’re no great shakes and the derby will be a tight affair.

23-09-2018, 07:51 AM
As delusional as Hearts fans are - I don't think a single one genuinely believes that they are even outsiders to win the league.I wouldnt bet on it...not the ones i work with anyway...

23-09-2018, 12:15 PM
Was so sweet listening to Potter on Radio after game yesterday. All very gloomy and he sounded well miffed.

Karma, you Yam fud! 😁

23-09-2018, 12:17 PM
Was so sweet listening to Potter on Radio after game yesterday. All very gloomy and he sounded well miffed.

Karma, you Yam fud! 😁

Does he ever sound anything else?

23-09-2018, 12:28 PM
Alot of Hearts fans do genuinely believe they are a massive club. Such a massive club that have not won the League or League cup in over 50 years in one of the weakest domestic leagues in Europe.

To be fair to them they do have a massive stadium , it's the biggest football stadium in Edinburgh. They also have a state of the art training facility that they own and dont have to rent out. Oh wait , no they don't .

24-09-2018, 08:54 AM
Booing your team off sitting top of the table and after 5 straight wins is all very Hearts. New stand is bad enough to get out without having to watch your feet stepping over the teddies and dummies scattered around.

24-09-2018, 09:31 AM
Booing your team off sitting top of the table and after 5 straight wins is all very Hearts. New stand is bad enough to get out without having to watch your feet stepping over the teddies and dummies scattered around.

Tbf they had just endured Hearts v Livi. Hoofball ++. The Hoofball Cup Final.

Maybe even Jambos have a limit to how much eye bleeding football they can endure?

24-09-2018, 09:43 AM
Tbf they had just endured Hearts v Livi. Hoofball ++. The Hoofball Cup Final.

Maybe even Jambos have a limit to how much eye bleeding football they can endure?

:agree:Sounds like some of them have given up if they are actually admitting to a crowd of only 17300 in their "over 20,000" capacity stadium, especially when every week is a "sell out" and there's another 380,000 locked out.

Greenio
24-09-2018, 09:46 AM
Someone told me that hearts right now are like an Elephant up a tree. No c*** kens how they got there, but they won't be there for long.