View Full Version : Terms/words you only hear on Hibs.net

13-09-2018, 02:27 PM
Swine castle
Hunbrox
Smelltic

Any more? I could be wrong but none of mates say any of these, or do I. Anyone else find the thought of grown men saying these just a wee bit strange? :greengrin

13-09-2018, 02:32 PM
Petrie!!

13-09-2018, 02:33 PM
Nae Nookie 😁

13-09-2018, 02:35 PM
Deary Me

Care to elaborate?

Utter tosh

Complete drivel

13-09-2018, 02:35 PM
Nae Nookie 😁

Sadly I also hear that in the house 😭

13-09-2018, 02:36 PM
Yams

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
13-09-2018, 02:38 PM
Yams

Definitely this - never heard it in my life anywhere else

renato
13-09-2018, 02:38 PM
Admin pricks

13-09-2018, 02:39 PM
Potter

cockroaches

orcs

m'orc'orwell

Bangkok Hibby
13-09-2018, 02:40 PM

Yep, been a Hibs fan since 1967 and never heard Hearts called this until I joined here recently

13-09-2018, 02:44 PM
Turgid was a regular word for a couple of years.

Though not used correctly.

13-09-2018, 02:47 PM
I've just thought of the worst one. Rankgers.

13-09-2018, 02:47 PM
Turgid was a regular word for a couple of years.

Though not used correctly.
How was it used?

13-09-2018, 02:49 PM
Yams

Thankfully neither have I. It's awful.

13-09-2018, 02:52 PM
Should of!!!

13-09-2018, 02:52 PM
How was it used?

In reference to dull, uninspired football.

13-09-2018, 02:53 PM
Hibs class

Also, not necessarily a Hibs net thing, but I think the only time I’ve ever heard the word “imperious” used is to describe a central defender’s performance.

13-09-2018, 02:56 PM
"Yam". Don't understand where it came from (and apparently neither does anyone else given the 23958230958 explanations we have for it) and don't use it considering anyone outside this forum will more than likely invariably reply "who the **** are the Yams?". They don't need a derogatory nickname for us to express their dislike of them - same goes for "hobo" over there.

13-09-2018, 02:58 PM
ltyf

13-09-2018, 03:01 PM
Swine castle
Hunbrox
Smelltic

Any more? I could be wrong but none of mates say any of these, or do I. Anyone else find the thought of grown men saying these just a wee bit strange? :greengrin

***********, abbreviated to Swiney, dates from pre internet times.

Not a .net thing, but when I were a lad we certainly didn't have a "match day experience" and players weren't "culpable" of things, they were either guilty or they simply f***ed up.

13-09-2018, 03:10 PM
In reference to dull, uninspired football.
I don't remember it being used but I think it's fair usage tbh

13-09-2018, 03:11 PM
Source?

13-09-2018, 03:16 PM

It was extremely common in the Fenlon days. It does sound like a word that would mean boring tbf, but it's not.

13-09-2018, 03:17 PM
Source?

Or “sauce”. That’s a beauty

It was extremely common in the Fenlon days. It does sound like a word that would mean boring tbf, but it's not.

Flaccid would be a lot more appropriate to describe fenlons team

Not confined to here, but common - ‘fact’ and ‘end of’.

13-09-2018, 03:19 PM
PBS (aka Pink Bus Shelter)
Bloodied Turd strip
Ipox
Greggs

13-09-2018, 03:21 PM

I think it's one of those words that sounds like it means something else. I think it would be better used to describe the latter years of Wengers Arsenal as opposed to Fenlons Hibs, which is when it was most used on here.

HiBremian
13-09-2018, 03:21 PM
Bloodied Turd strip
Ipox
Greggs

previously the Wongadome

13-09-2018, 03:22 PM
Oh and I hate things like Murderwell, Rankgers, St Midden and so on.

I'm not sure if they are exclusive to here though.

13-09-2018, 03:24 PM
Mute points, broakback, sickbag, Rod Petrie.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

13-09-2018, 03:25 PM
previously the Wongadome

Also, who could forget the “Poppy Thieves”?

13-09-2018, 03:25 PM
**** sake Whittaker

13-09-2018, 03:26 PM
Bloodied Turd strip
Ipox
Greggs

I may have invented the "pink bus shelter" thing. It was in the real world and I was the first person I knew to call it that, though other people might have independantly started saying the same thing, given that it describes their stands pretty well.

Scairdrie was pre internet and very apt.

13-09-2018, 03:35 PM

Was a word synonymous with Fenlon

13-09-2018, 03:37 PM
Mute points, broakback, sickbag, Rod Petrie.

Lesser Greens, Celtc (although that was their own brand of eloquence that spawned that one), the Smellies.
All fair game but I’ve never heard those terms elsewhere.

13-09-2018, 03:42 PM
Lesser Greens, Celtc (although that was their own brand of eloquence that spawned that one), the Smellies.
All fair game but I’ve never heard those terms elsewhere.

The one that annoys me the most.

hibee
13-09-2018, 03:44 PM
Yams

Beat me to it, I’ve never heard anyone actually say this face to face and have no idea where it came from!

McSwanky
13-09-2018, 03:50 PM
Smelltic gets used in real life. Not by me though.

13-09-2018, 03:54 PM
Beat me to it, I’ve never heard anyone actually say this face to face and have no idea where it came from!Pointless/useless orange fruit, rhymes with Jambo (Yambo) then shortened is my theory anyway

Sent from my KFTBWI using Tapatalk

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
13-09-2018, 03:54 PM
Smelltic gets used in real life. Not by me though.

By 6 year olds?

13-09-2018, 03:55 PM

Nah. I regularly ask Hertz ****s if they've paid for their poppies yet. Favourite pastime of mine.

13-09-2018, 03:58 PM
The one that annoys me the most.

Did that not spring from the 'improve your hygeine please' letter sent out by the Club to some of their supporters?

Why does that one annoy you?

13-09-2018, 04:03 PM
Yeah I know the main meaning but still think it’s ok. The online dictionary had labored, stodgy, strained and ponderous as synonyms which is probably what the idea was, not that it really matters

McSwanky
13-09-2018, 04:04 PM
By 6 year olds?

Possibly. I haven't heard any 6 year olds use it. I have, however, heard a few adults do so.

I'll let you draw your own conclusions.

beensaidbefore
13-09-2018, 04:14 PM
One I have seen a lot recently is 'tanner baw player'. Seems we don't have as many as we used to...

13-09-2018, 04:14 PM
Yeah I know the main meaning but still think it’s ok. The online dictionary had labored, stodgy, strained and ponderous as synonyms which is probably what the idea was, not that it really matters

Yeah, I think people knew the point that was being made by using it, which is the main thing. Not appropriate but sounded like it was.

13-09-2018, 04:16 PM
Did that not spring from the 'improve your hygeine please' letter sent out by the Club to some of their supporters?

Why does that one annoy you?

Predates that letter for sure.

I just think it's very juvenile and not funny.

It doesn't bother me a great deal, the thread just went that way.

douglashibs
13-09-2018, 04:18 PM
Auld pishy breeks.

13-09-2018, 04:20 PM

This is absolutely the worst one that gets used regularly on here. Grim.

13-09-2018, 04:25 PM
Bloodied Turd strip
Ipox
Greggs

I'm fairly certain that Gregg's is a real thing away from hibs.net, 😉 but it was me who made it synonymous with made up rumours.

I can't remember the manager's name now, but for reasons of mischief, I said that I'd heard 2 officials in Gregg's on Easter Road discussing his imminent appointment. It became a FACT.

We eventually hired Tony Mowbray and Gregg's rumours were born. Pwoud, vewy pwoud.

I think Greggs is used in the same way on some other football websites now.

Hibs1969
13-09-2018, 04:25 PM

13-09-2018, 04:30 PM
Fact. 😁

pollution
13-09-2018, 04:40 PM
***********, abbreviated to Swiney, dates from pre internet times.

Not a .net thing, but when I were a lad we certainly didn't have a "match day experience" and players weren't "culpable" of things, they were either guilty or they simply f***ed up.

Swine castle reflects the fact that the ground site used to be a pig farm.

It was termed a piggery on an 1877 map.

13-09-2018, 04:42 PM
In any given day someone will accuse someone else of 'spouting pish'. Grammatically, it's a stand alone. 'Pish' is the only noun that is ever spouted and 'to spout' is the only verb that actions on the noun 'pish' .

Maybe I just travel in more polite circles offline but I've never heard this anywhere else. Is it a Gary Locke thing :dunno:

13-09-2018, 04:50 PM
I’d say ‘spouting pish’ was quite a commonly used phrase in real life.

Could just be that a lot of folk keep telling me I do it of course as I probably don’t keep quite as good company as you!

13-09-2018, 05:23 PM

Works a treat online though.

And that’s ok.

13-09-2018, 05:24 PM
The phrase ‘Hibs Class’ gets a fair airing on here.
I know it’s origin yes, but I’ve rarely heard it used in real-life Hibs circles.

Lemonade
13-09-2018, 05:32 PM
I’m hearing ...

Stax
13-09-2018, 05:32 PM
Bed wetting happy clappers

13-09-2018, 05:34 PM
PBS
fill the corners in
Get it sorted

13-09-2018, 05:47 PM
This type seem to creep in when we lose a game?
F*****g useless B******s we should have won that one!
The referee was a W****r, he had no idea of the rules of football!
If one of our players did that it would be RED!
He nearly cut our player in half, and only got a yellow?

13-09-2018, 05:49 PM
Itk

13-09-2018, 06:02 PM
After a run of bad results..

"Get them back training on the sand dunes at Gullane"

"They should be made to run round Arthur seat Like the good old days"

tartanhibee
13-09-2018, 06:09 PM
Two weeks

13-09-2018, 06:15 PM

13-09-2018, 06:40 PM
Hibs class

Also, not necessarily a Hibs net thing, but I think the only time I’ve ever heard the word “imperious” used is to describe a central defender’s performance.

That was me 😎

13-09-2018, 06:41 PM

There’s someone on Facebook that calls Lafferty, Dire LaughAtMe [emoji85][emoji85][emoji85]

13-09-2018, 06:49 PM
There’s someone on Facebook that calls Lafferty, Dire LaughAtMe [emoji85][emoji85][emoji85]

I've seen Piles Laughatme on here. Plays for the the's..

13-09-2018, 06:49 PM
Fact

13-09-2018, 06:51 PM
Breaking rumour.

Aw no, wait..

13-09-2018, 06:57 PM
Hibs class

Not reading other comments before posting is not Hibs class IMO

BegbieHSC
13-09-2018, 08:43 PM
The phrase ‘Hibs Class’ gets a fair airing on here.
I know it’s origin yes, but I’ve rarely heard it used in real-life Hibs circles.

I was involved in a foul-mouthed, slightly angry ‘discussion’ with a Hearts fan across the corner between the Roseburn and Wheatland stand at full time a few years ago. I was mid flow, when a wee guy shocked me, tapped my shoulder and telt me I’m no Hibs Class. Couldnae believe it 😂😂😂😂.

It does get said in real life apparently.

13-09-2018, 08:53 PM
Not reading other comments before posting is not Hibs class IMO

13-09-2018, 09:11 PM
^^^ That.

13-09-2018, 09:22 PM
Should of!!!

This drives me nuts!

heidtheba
13-09-2018, 09:29 PM
bathtub of beans
150k...FACT

13-09-2018, 09:38 PM
Darkheid
Brenda (Brendan Rodgers)

13-09-2018, 09:43 PM
Arguement

13-09-2018, 09:47 PM
"Airplane" does ma heid in. Another Americanism that is taking over. Sorry to any yankee hibees but it's f***ing aeroplane in this country.

Clarence
13-09-2018, 09:50 PM
On a transfer rumour thread:

“I’ll just wait until I hear the club announce the signing.”

Why do people feel the need to share that?

13-09-2018, 09:56 PM
I'll just wait till the fans get back from the game.

1875godsgift
13-09-2018, 10:23 PM
Swine castle
Hunbrox
Smelltic

mon scottish labour

13-09-2018, 10:27 PM
mon scottish labour

13-09-2018, 11:05 PM
IIRC

:wtf:

13-09-2018, 11:10 PM
IIRC

That's widespread jargon, not just here.

13-09-2018, 11:35 PM
That's widespread jargon, not just here.
Sorry Radge must have led a sheltered life had to google it

13-09-2018, 11:41 PM
Sorry Radge must have led a sheltered life had to google it

Dictionary says only to be used when trying to cover up a vague guess so sounds about right for .net

In my line of work vague guesses resulted in disciplinary action hence foreign to me :greengrin

14-09-2018, 12:00 AM
Dictionary says only to be used when trying to cover up a vague guess so sounds about right for .net

In my line of work vague guesses resulted in disciplinary action hence foreign to me :greengrin

IIRC, Joe Tortolano was about to take a throw in against Dundee United when the news that Albert Kidd had scored against Hearts filtered through.

That's not a vague guess. It just means I'm not 100% certain about all the facts.

(On this occasion, I'm 100% correct, by the way 😁)

14-09-2018, 06:14 AM
sorry radge must have led a sheltered life had to google it

fomo?

14-09-2018, 06:14 AM
Sevco
The the Rangers

Etc etc. Cringe factor of 1000

14-09-2018, 06:21 AM
Sevco
The the Rangers

You might not hear them in Zurich but I can assure you that they are still widely used here!

14-09-2018, 06:39 AM
"Pant wetters" mainly because it's absolutely horrendous stuff from people who think the club can never do anything wrong ever

14-09-2018, 06:42 AM
Sevco
The the Rangers

These terms are used widely in other forms of social media and also in real life as well. They're definitely not exclusive to hibs.net.

14-09-2018, 06:44 AM
“That game was crap, so much for the best league in the world”

14-09-2018, 07:04 AM
Sevco
The the Rangers

Why? Anything that expresses disdain and disrespect to that vile mob is fine with me.

14-09-2018, 07:04 AM
"Pant wetters" mainly because it's absolutely horrendous stuff from people who think the club can never do anything wrong ever

I've never heard 'pant wetters' before. I'd say 'bed wetters' is often used to describe people who overreact and criticise the players/club over the most insignificant things.

14-09-2018, 07:05 AM
Sevco
The the Rangers

Why cringey? You want to hear what they call us.

14-09-2018, 07:13 AM
Poppy thieves.

14-09-2018, 07:14 AM
Why cringey? You want to hear what they call us.

“The Thes”, which has appeared recently, is definitely pretty cringe.

14-09-2018, 07:21 AM
Another classic - Sally McCoist or Fat Sally.

14-09-2018, 07:23 AM
This thread is going well.

14-09-2018, 07:27 AM
Cringe and seething - surely folk don't get that worked up about stuff they read on here?

14-09-2018, 07:28 AM
Cringe and seething - surely folk don't that sounds up about stuff they read on here?

What?

14-09-2018, 07:35 AM
What?

Bloody auto-correct. I swear it changes when you hit 'submit'.

Fixed now, I hope.

14-09-2018, 07:49 AM
Bloody auto-correct. I swear it changes when you hit 'submit'.

Fixed now, I hope.

Tbf, I don’t personally get worked up about things, but some posts automatically give me second-hand cringe. Monktonharp’s late night rants wouldn’t be the same without the added cringe.

14-09-2018, 08:12 AM

I’ve definitely heard that discussed in real life by those that can see through the hype.

14-09-2018, 08:13 AM
I’ll get my coat. I’m not even sure I understand what it means.

14-09-2018, 08:18 AM
#prayfor ...

14-09-2018, 08:23 AM
IIRC, Joe Tortolano was about to take a throw in against Dundee United when the news that Albert Kidd had scored against Hearts filtered through.

That's not a vague guess. It just means I'm not 100% certain about all the facts.

(On this occasion, I'm 100% correct, by the way 😁)

That will be a dotnet fact then! :wink:

14-09-2018, 08:25 AM
That will be a dotnet fact then! :wink:

It's a FACT fact. :greengrin

14-09-2018, 08:26 AM
I’ll get my coat. I’m not even sure I understand what it means.

It comes from someone being at a party or whatever who does or comes out with something totally inappropriate. As everyone stares daggers at him, he says "I'll get my coat", meaning he's leaving before he's chucked out. I'm sure they did a few sketches on the Fast Show (or something) based on this.

People now use it when they come out with crap jokes.

14-09-2018, 08:29 AM
fomo?

Had to google that as well......born in the fifties :thumbsup:

14-09-2018, 08:32 AM
It comes from someone being at a party or whatever who does or comes out with something totally inappropriate. As everyone stares daggers at him, he says "I'll get my coat", meaning he's leaving before he's chucked out. I'm sure they did a few sketches on the Fast Show (or something) based on this.

People now use it when they come out with crap jokes.

Spot on, was the Fast Show.

14-09-2018, 08:48 AM
It's a FACT fact. :greengrin

Sorry it is definately a dot.net fact. I was there that great day and when the news filtered through it was a Dundee United throw in half way down the slope outside the old North Enclosure :greengrin

14-09-2018, 08:54 AM
Sorry it is definately a dot.net fact. I was there that great day and when the news filtered through it was a Dundee United throw in half way down the slope outside the old North Enclosure :greengrin

I was there and I'm convinced JT was about to take a throw, but when the roar went up, he looked around to see what had happened.

Years of certainty and now this! :boo hoo:

14-09-2018, 09:09 AM
On a transfer rumour thread:

“I’ll just wait until I hear the club announce the signing.”

Why do people feel the need to share that?

"In Lenny we trust" when we sign someone who doesn't look great on paper. Seems you're not allowed to have a negative opinion on a player?

14-09-2018, 09:12 AM
Sevco
The the Rangers

Yup. Pretty much every discussion goes along the lines of this:
"So we're playing Rangers today.."
"..Don't you mean we're playing THE Rangers today??? AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAH AHAHAAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA what a story Mark"

14-09-2018, 09:13 AM
I was there and I'm convinced JT was about to take a throw, but when the roar went up, he looked around to see what had happened.

Years of certainty and now this! :boo hoo:
Sorry mate ! I can still remember the look on the guys face as he was about to take the throw in as the noise from the crowd was like a goal had been scored.

Account verified by CHIBS on dot net February 2011 😁👍🏾⚽️🏆🇳🇬

14-09-2018, 09:18 AM
Sorry mate ! I can still remember the look on the guys face as he was about to take the throw in as the noise from the crowd was like a goal had been scored.

Account verified by CHIBS on dot net February 2011 😁👍🏾⚽️🏆🇳🇬

I remember if just like that, but I must have transposed Torto into the memory.

So, it wasn't any sort of fact at all.

I was spouting pish. 😁

14-09-2018, 09:19 AM
“The Thes”, which has appeared recently, is definitely pretty cringe.The The’s is brutal. I cry myself to sleep most nights because of it.

"In Lenny we trust" when we sign someone who doesn't look great on paper. Seems you're not allowed to have a negative opinion on a player?

Also said by people who aren’t able to form an opinion for themselves so they just agree with whatever the manager does because it means they can’t be wrong. See also “In Butcher we trust”, “In Fenlon We Trust”, “In Calderwood we trust” and so on.

14-09-2018, 09:22 AM
The The’s is brutal. I cry myself to sleep most nights because of it.

Also said by people who aren’t able to form an opinion for themselves so they just agree with whatever the manager does because it means they can’t be wrong. See also “In Butcher we trust”, “In Fenlon We Trust”, “In Calderwood we trust” and so on.

I'm not sure which is worse, putting faith in the manager or forming a negative "opinion" about players which the poster(s) have never seen playing.

14-09-2018, 09:24 AM
I remember if just like that, but I must have transposed Torto into the memory.

So, it wasn't any sort of fact at all.

I was spouting pish. 😁
Ha Ha! Dont worry about it mate.

My biggest gripe on dotnet is the knobs on here that pull you up for the slightest thing even when you are only having a laugh 😂

14-09-2018, 09:24 AM
I'm not sure which is worse, putting faith in the manager or forming a negative "opinion" about players which the poster(s) have never seen playing.
I definitely only encounter this smug and pedantic tone on hibs.net

Codheed
14-09-2018, 09:27 AM
Internationalist

14-09-2018, 09:29 AM

Have you read your post above? Scattergun insulting every poster who puts their faith in the manager.

14-09-2018, 09:44 AM

Have you read your post above? Scattergun insulting every poster who puts their faith in the manager.
Come on, you know fine well that neither post said there is anything wrong with actually having ‘faith in the manager’. It’s about people, presumably like yourself, that seem to think that the term is some sort of trump card that wins them an argument when there’s differing opinions.

Example

“James Collins is crap and we’ll get relegated with him up front”
”Deary me, complete tosh, utter drivel, care to elaborate?”
”He’s a big lump that can’t score, can’t pass, can’t control a ball etc”
”Well I trust Butcher over Hibs.net experts”

14-09-2018, 09:52 AM
Lets get this back on track.

Hundee/****dee

14-09-2018, 09:57 AM
Lets get this back on track.

That’s a good one, I definitely only ever see that on here.

I’ll also add “guys can we cut out the personal stuff please”

14-09-2018, 10:01 AM
Come on, you know fine well that neither post said there is anything wrong with actually having ‘faith in the manager’. It’s about people, presumably like yourself, that seem to think that the term is some sort of trump card that wins them an argument when there’s differing opinions.

Example

“James Collins is crap and we’ll get relegated with him up front”
”Deary me, complete tosh, utter drivel, care to elaborate?”
”He’s a big lump that can’t score, can’t pass, can’t control a ball etc”
”Well I trust Butcher over Hibs.net experts”

I don't think I've ever used the phrase, but I learned long ago that trying to win an argument on here is a futile exercise, trump cards or not.

However, I do think that dismissing a player without having seen them play isn't actually forming an opinion. It's just having a guess.

It would be like me saying that the view from this balcony is Portugal is lovely, and you saying that in your opinion it was crap and then criticising anyone for "not being able to form an opinion of their own" and believing me.

Sure, it's a stock phrase and I suppose I can understand that it might occasionally grate, but insulting people for using it was unnecessary, imo.

Crazyhorse
14-09-2018, 10:15 AM
Swine castle
Hunbrox
Smelltic

Nihilsts! or was that a shout from the terraces at ER?

I like the terms we have invented about the little stadium across the city.
The Rustbowl
and especially
Tinycastle - this is the perfect riposte to the jambo obsession with size.

14-09-2018, 10:17 AM
I don't think I've ever used the phrase, but I learned long ago that trying to win an argument on here is a futile exercise, trump cards or not.

However, I do think that dismissing a player without having seen them play isn't actually forming an opinion. It's just having a guess.

It would be like me saying that the view from this balcony is Portugal is lovely, and you saying that in your opinion it was crap and then criticising anyone for "not being able to form an opinion of their own" and believing me.

Sure, it's a stock phrase and I suppose I can understand that it might occasionally grate, but insulting people for using it was unnecessary, imo.
If you were a former professional balcony view reviewer who was now coaching people to review balcony views then yes that would be a fair comparison that I’d agree with.

14-09-2018, 10:31 AM

This is interesting. At times you make good points and have driven discussions in an interesting way - but I find the tone of the majority your posts to be pretty smug.

14-09-2018, 10:45 AM
This is interesting. At times you make good points and have driven discussions in an interesting way - but I find the tone of the majority your posts to be pretty smug.

I think he's seeking attention. On the internet.

14-09-2018, 10:48 AM
Ha Ha! Dont worry about it mate.

My biggest gripe on dotnet is the knobs on here that pull you up for the slightest thing even when you are only having a laugh [emoji23]See its this type of generalist pash gets on my thrupennies....

14-09-2018, 11:02 AM
Yeah it is interesting but I guess it happens when you’re just reading someone’s words and you don’t have other cues like body language, tone of voice, facial expressions to go on like you would face to face

14-09-2018, 11:06 AM
Yeah it is interesting but I guess it happens when you’re just reading someone’s words and you don’t have other cues like body language, tone of voice, facial expressions to go on like you would face to face

Very true man.

14-09-2018, 11:07 AM
See its this type of generalist pash gets on my thrupennies....

Sorry could not remember the names of the individual knobs but yes pretty general 😂

14-09-2018, 11:20 AM

Nonsense - it annoys the Yams and so it must be simply Yamtastic :greengrin

14-09-2018, 11:25 AM
Dunno if already mentioned "Yamemathics".

14-09-2018, 11:41 AM
Sorry could not remember the names of the individual knobs but yes pretty general [emoji23]:faf:

14-09-2018, 11:43 AM

👍🏾

14-09-2018, 11:43 AM
And to get this back on track ....

Kickbackistan - who ever coined this should be up for a medal.

and ...

The Tache - moniker for Petrie reserved for the rare occasions he's perceived to have done something good. Otherwise it's PETRIE!!! :brickwall

14-09-2018, 11:55 AM

Indeed ...

14-09-2018, 11:59 AM

Posting that for me to read while sat in the office is definitely smug :grr:

14-09-2018, 12:06 PM

That, I give you. :greengrin

15-09-2018, 07:57 AM
Ceptic
St Midden

heidtheba
15-09-2018, 09:23 AM
LTYF
sniff sniff (reserved for interlopers from over the road/an insult used against people who don't tow the party line)

15-09-2018, 09:41 AM

Where did you get the impression I was referring specifically to players nobody had seen before?

The most recent occasion I have witnessed these comments used after a player's signing was when we signed Bogdan. A player who's been around the British game for about 10 years.

The next occasion was when hibs released their statement saying our summer business was completed and some felt we were still lacking 2 or 3.

15-09-2018, 09:43 AM

Cannae be that good if he prefers to look at hibs.net.. :greengrin

15-09-2018, 10:04 AM
Making up terrible songs for players. Not one song suggested on hibs.net has ever been sung at Easter Road

15-09-2018, 12:20 PM

Commonly heard outside hibs net too, in fact I was just thinking so watching the Liverpool spurs game...

15-09-2018, 12:32 PM
Yam

15-09-2018, 12:59 PM
LTYF
sniff sniff (reserved for interlopers from over the road/an insult used against people who don't tow the party line)

"Over the road"

"The party line"

15-09-2018, 01:01 PM
Where did you get the impression I was referring specifically to players nobody had seen before?

The most recent occasion I have witnessed these comments used after a player's signing was when we signed Bogdan. A player who's been around the British game for about 10 years.

The next occasion was when hibs released their statement saying our summer business was completed and some felt we were still lacking 2 or 3.

I didn't reply to your post.

15-09-2018, 01:03 PM
Cannae be that good if he prefers to look at hibs.net.. :greengrin

Hibs.net in 28° sunshine is pretty good, trust me 😎

15-09-2018, 01:20 PM
I didn't reply to your post.
You replied to mine which was backing agreeing with her though. Still, I didn’t say anything about payers that we hadn’t seen either. In fact, the example I was thinking about was Andy Halliday

15-09-2018, 01:29 PM
You replied to mine which was backing agreeing with her though. Still, I didn’t say anything about payers that we hadn’t seen either. In fact, the example I was thinking about was Andy Halliday

I said that trusting the manager was better than writing off players that the posters hadn't seen.

What made you think I was referring to you?

15-09-2018, 01:46 PM
I’ve definitely heard that discussed in real life by those that can see through the hype.

It’s nothing to do with being able to see through the hype, there are dull games in every league in the world.

15-09-2018, 01:50 PM
It’s nothing to do with being able to see through the hype, there are dull games in every league in the world.

I know that but you wouldn’t think it the way sky hype it up. Just over exposure I think.

ChicoM1875
15-09-2018, 02:51 PM
No pace. No passion. No belief. No hope. Etc.

15-09-2018, 06:27 PM
I said that trusting the manager was better than writing off players that the posters hadn't seen.

What made you think I was referring to you?
The fact you replied to my post 👀

17-09-2018, 04:10 PM
Spat my coffee out/choked on my cornflakes. Does anyone actually do that when reading hibs.net?

17-09-2018, 04:23 PM
Spat my coffee out/choked on my cornflakes. Does anyone actually do that when reading hibs.net?

Tend to chuckle or chortle at good jokes rather than dribble coffee, but do occasionally spit at the screen if a poster comes out with something grossly offensive, such as sticking up unduly for Glasgow Rangers International Company PLC FC Club or its supporters.

17-09-2018, 08:14 PM
Spat my coffee out. Does anyone actually do that when reading hibs.net?

My personal pet peeve for years. :-)

17-09-2018, 09:10 PM
Yams.

By far the worst thing on .net by a country mile.

17-09-2018, 09:14 PM
Yams.

They are, and there's a lot of them.

17-09-2018, 09:15 PM
Yams.

:agree: have never said nor written this.

17-09-2018, 09:15 PM
Bring back ****bo!

17-09-2018, 09:58 PM
His legs have gone

17-09-2018, 09:58 PM
The Matty Jack role

17-09-2018, 10:00 PM
"Yam". Don't understand where it came from (and apparently neither does anyone else given the 23958230958 explanations we have for it) and don't use it considering anyone outside this forum will more than likely invariably reply "who the **** are the Yams?". They don't need a derogatory nickname for us to express their dislike of them - same goes for "hobo" over there.

:agree: Needs to be replaced by "Charity Thieves" for evermore.

18-09-2018, 12:44 AM
Commonly heard outside hibs net too, in fact I was just thinking so watching the Liverpool spurs game...

Aye rubbish.

Give me a match between Cowdenbeath and East Fife any day.

18-09-2018, 01:08 AM
Malonga - come back to Easter Road!

Austinho
18-09-2018, 01:09 AM
If I was a Hibs.net admin, I’d be tempted to add Yam to the swear filter, just so I never have to read it again. And I’d be most definitely be changing the pink Yam thread titles.

As far as derogatory names, Sharts is far better. Gorgoyles or Sc*mbos for their followers.

18-09-2018, 11:35 AM
Not confined to here, but common - ‘fact’ and ‘end of’.

Others have tried over the decades, many attempt it and all fail with the above (here and elsewhere).

For the last time, it is irrefutably and undeniably...

ENDOF <<< (one word, all caps, no space :greengrin:aok::thumbsup:)

ENDOF :greengrin

18-09-2018, 11:51 AM
Auld pishy breeks.

Still makes me chuckle. Very juvenile I know; incontinence is no laughing matter :greengrin

18-09-2018, 12:00 PM
‘Wage thief’

‘It’s a disgrace’

‘Rolf’

Ipox/Hunbrox/Greyskull

Darkheid

****bos

18-09-2018, 12:04 PM
Saviles :greengrin

Never heard that elsewhere.

St Pauli Hibee
18-09-2018, 12:12 PM
Not Sure they are mentioned too much on here but some of my personal favourites

Up Like A Salmon
Postage Stamp
Half em !!
Get that Tae ****
Its Desmond
On the Napper

18-09-2018, 02:10 PM
Yams

I know its been mentioned before, but FFS !

WHY ????????????????:confused::confused:

18-09-2018, 02:15 PM
Yams

I find the term "hearts" more boke inducing.

18-09-2018, 02:38 PM
Derek Riordan could still do a job for us.

18-09-2018, 02:44 PM
Heart the size of a pea.

18-09-2018, 02:50 PM
Derek Riordan could still do a job for us.

"Bring him home".

A .net staple phrase.

18-09-2018, 02:52 PM
Yams

WHY ????????????????:confused::confused:Keeps coming up. I can only speculate but a common term amongst my group of Hibbies many of whom have green blood in their veins and go back 4 or 5 decades.

My preference is for the ugly maroon coloured vegetable theory, aspiring to be a potato but not quite getting there.

If the few I know don't like it it's good enough for me.

18-09-2018, 05:06 PM
Yams

But then again, why not ????????????????????? :confused: :confused:

18-09-2018, 05:09 PM
But then again, why not ????????????????????? :confused: :confused:

Is it something you use in real life? Talking in pub etc?

I don't, I refer to them as hearts ****s

18-09-2018, 05:15 PM

Call Hearts "Hearts" in pubs. Just in case there's .netters within earshot who'd be cringing, mortally offended, etc etc etc, by the use of the term yam.

18-09-2018, 05:31 PM

I don't say "LOL" in pubs.

Or #prayfor...

Or "This" when I agree with someone, and I don't draw a wee face with blue tears running down its cheeks when someone says something funny?

I don't even say "STF, SDG or SJM".

It's not the pub, it's the internet. The rules and the languages are different.

18-09-2018, 06:00 PM
he's gonna pump her...

18-09-2018, 06:04 PM
Heart the size of a pea.

Also mouse. And indeed 'chicken hearted'.

18-09-2018, 06:06 PM
he's gonna pump her...

Preceded by "lol".

18-09-2018, 06:19 PM
I’m waiting for the fans to get back.

18-09-2018, 06:25 PM
The price of an egg mayonnaise roll.

18-09-2018, 07:08 PM
If Skoops says it that is good enough for me.

18-09-2018, 07:25 PM
I don't say "LOL" in pubs.

Or #prayfor...

Or "This" when I agree with someone, and I don't draw a wee face with blue tears running down its cheeks when someone says something funny?

I don't even say "STF, SDG or SJM".

It's not the pub, it's the internet. The rules and the languages are different.

^This