View Full Version : Official Site: PAT STANTON | FIVE MEMORIES

RSS Bot
13-09-2018, 09:10 AM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/9194)

linlithgowhibbie
13-09-2018, 09:29 AM
He is the man that the word "Legend" was invented for!

13-09-2018, 09:39 AM
Lovely touch from Hibs.

Hibs1969
13-09-2018, 10:10 AM
Our greatest ever player, my boyhood hero.

wandering_hibee
13-09-2018, 10:22 AM
Our greatest ever player, my boyhood hero. Says it all for me.:flag:

Tom Hart RIP
13-09-2018, 10:47 AM
Pat is 74 today. Hopefully the club could honour him in some way whilst he is alive so he can see it eg name a stand after him, a statue, a hospitality suite, or some other suggestion???

pollution
13-09-2018, 11:18 AM
A legend until he signed for Celtic.....

13-09-2018, 11:24 AM

Jackie McNamara the other way great deal for Hibs. Even in leaving he done great stuff for us.

delbert
13-09-2018, 11:26 AM

Absolute nonsense, Pat didn’t want to go and was forced out by Tom Hart and sadly, Eddie Turnbull. Just glad he went to a club where he was able to complete the set of domestic medals his play so richly deserved, Jock Stein certainly knew what a player he was although injury in the end disrupted the latter stages of his career. A Hibs legend then, now and long after all of us are gone and anyone like me who was privileged to see how the man played for our club knows why !

Barman Stanton
13-09-2018, 11:26 AM

Really? So not a legend now?

13-09-2018, 11:40 AM
Was before my time but sounds a great player.

13-09-2018, 11:45 AM

Hibs fans have never held that move against Pat. As it turned out he completed his set of domestic medals and only played for a season before injury forced him into retirement from playing.

13-09-2018, 11:47 AM

Crass comment, as previously posted Pat was forced out of the club. Pat is the most talented and loyal footballer to pull on the famous white sleeves. True legend.

hughio
13-09-2018, 11:55 AM
No squabbles on this thread please.

All Hail King Pat.

To younger members think of an amalgamation of Broonie at his best and John McGinn but with the ability to get in the box and score goals ..and always a Captain.

:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

13-09-2018, 11:55 AM
Was before my time but sounds a great player.
Great does not even begin to describe it Sally. I can picture him now gliding across the grass majestically with the ball at his feet pointing reading the game telling players where the ball is going what to watch out for constantly probing encouraging his teammates but all at the same time calmness personified.

I watched the 1972 League Cup Final again the other night and what an outstanding individual performance Pat bossed that game Celtic at that time we’re no mugs but the result was never in doubt.

It was our revenge for the 6-1 drubbing earlier in the year.

Once again Pat thanks for the memories not only are you a legend you are immortal

13-09-2018, 11:58 AM
My all time favourite. Pure class aligned with determination and a true leader. :not worth

Risboro Hibby
13-09-2018, 12:23 PM
My Boyhood Hero
Too young to see the Famous Five but I would think most fans of my generation have never seen a better more graceful player play for Hibs than Pat Stanton

martinmcgurk
13-09-2018, 02:45 PM
My favourite footballer ever. A class player.

13-09-2018, 03:27 PM
Legend, no more no less. My hero.

13-09-2018, 04:16 PM
I had the honour of writing a wee ditty for Pat's 70th Birthday Party which to my embarassment Grant Stott read out to all present! Hope you like it.

The wee lad fae Niddry”

In the streets of Niddry a wee lad kicked a baw
Nae goalposts in them days, all he had was a wa’
He’d go oot in the morning, ball under his arm,
Wi Jumpers for goalposts, he could do nae harm.

He kicked and he passed from pillar to post
So quickly he ran just like a ghost
No one got near him as he played his tricks
A wee shimmy here, with a few fancy kicks

At school he played in the Holy Cross team
He was as good a player then, as they’d ever seen.
On leaving school he signed as a schoolboy, for Hibs
His dad guided him wisely, to wear one of those bibs.

They farmed him out to Bonnyrigg, to mature and to refine
The skills he was showing were simply Devine.
A long lanky school boy, he became a legend in his day
Everyone wanted to play the Pat Stanton way.

As one of Turnbull’s tornadoes he rose to the fore
No one could have given that Hibs team more.
His pride in the jersey in which he played
Shone through with every pass, that he made

Sublime were his movements as he hovered over the field
Goals he would score and results, they were sealed
They nicknamed him “GOD” of which he was true
I don’t think God minded ‘cause he didn’t sue!

He led with dignity and with grace
his head held high, whilst cutting the chase.
The punters they loved him this man they called “God”
But he always felt this was a fraud.

I’m a wee lad fae Niddrie he’d say in reply
Why do the fans hold me so high?
You gave your all Pat, for that jersey of green
You are the best footballer, they’d ever seen

You’re our king and our hero all made in one
You’re the sunshine on Leith, an all season sun.
Thank you Pat Stanton, the wee lad, with the baw
You gave us excitement and magic, some never saw.
So let’s take the time to thank you right now
Patrick Gordon Stanton please take a bow!

13-09-2018, 04:23 PM
[QUOTE=BILLYHIBS;5548465]Great does not even begin to describe it Sally. I can picture him now gliding across the grass majestically with the ball at his feet pointing reading the game telling players where the ball is going what to watch out for constantly probing encouraging his teammates but all at the same time calmness personified.

I watched the 1972 League Cup Final again the other night and what an outstanding individual performance Pat bossed that game Celtic at that time we’re no mugs but the result was never in doubt.

You described him to a T Billy, the man was majestic in every way. A true leader and a TRUE Hibs legend all wrapped in one!

13-09-2018, 04:43 PM
[QUOTE=BILLYHIBS;5548465]Great does not even begin to describe it Sally. I can picture him now gliding across the grass majestically with the ball at his feet pointing reading the game telling players where the ball is going what to watch out for constantly probing encouraging his teammates but all at the same time calmness personified.

You described him to a T Billy, the man was majestic in every way. A true leader and a TRUE Hibs legend all wrapped in one!

And even more so, as he was one of our own, living the dream with pure Hibs class.

13-09-2018, 11:21 PM
My jambo mates swear they were in the Tinycastle Arms having their first pint when King Paddy scored this late equaliser in the 93rd minute 1975

Pubs opened at 5.00 pm in those days

https://youtu.be/ylqab835BVs

ano hibby
14-09-2018, 06:58 AM
Great wee poem Stanton’s Angel 👍 brilliant, thanks for sharing

hughio
14-09-2018, 10:02 AM
My jambo mates swear they were in the Tinycastle Arms having their first pint when King Paddy scored this late equaliser in the 93rd minute 1975

Pubs opened at 5.00 pm in those days

https://youtu.be/ylqab835BVs

Sweet:thumbsup:

Bump

14-09-2018, 03:46 PM
Sweet:thumbsup:

Bump

He looks offside as well which makes it even sweeter!

14-09-2018, 03:56 PM
He looks offside as well which makes it even sweeter!

Pat has openly and gleefully admitted to me he was offside 😂

14-09-2018, 04:05 PM
Offside a mile. Just goes to show that officials were pish even back then.:greengrin

14-09-2018, 04:10 PM
An absolute legend and had the great pleasure of watching him when I first started following the Hibees in the mid sixties. I was at the Naples match and the 72 cup final. I even did a song about that day back in 1973 in which Pat took a great part in. 😁 To the tune of My Old Man's a Dustman.

Oh my old man's a Hibby
He used to sit me on his knee
He took me to Tynecastle Park
In January 73
There were only 9 minutes gone
When O'Rourke gave Hibs the lead
The Hibs fans were estastic
My pants I almost peed

The second came on fifteen minutes
Alex Edwards got the ball
He crossed it to Alan Gordon
He stood at six foot tall
He brought the ball down on his chest
And slipped it in the net
The Hibs were now two goals up
Without even breaking sweat

We didn't have too long to wait
Before we grabbed another goal
Twenty six minutes were on the clock
The Hibs were on a roll
This time it was Arthur Duncan's turn
To stick it in the net
My dad had £10 on us to win
He knew he had won his bet

The Hearts fans they were singing
"We'll support you ever more"
When Cropley scored for the Hibs
It was twenty five to four
The Hibs fans they went ballastic
They couldn't believe their eyes
The Hibees were now four goals up
I almost dropped my pie!

We were still in celebration mode
When we scored to make it five
Arthur Duncan with a header in the box
It was great to be alive
The Hearts fans were astounded
Their team couldn't match the green
You could tell just from the look on their face
This was the best fitba they had ever seen

Fifty six minutes were on the clock
When Pat Stanton won the ball
He ran it past the Hearts defence
They were ****ed, they could hardly crawl
He kept on going and going
The Hibs fans thought he was brill
He crossed it to wee Jimmy O'Rourke
To make it Hibs six Jam Tarts nil

Fifteen minutes of the game remained
When Alan Gordon made it seven
The Hearts fan they were in hell
But the Hibs fans were in heaven
Stanton, Cropley, Duncan and O'Rourke
Some of the finest to wear the green
Thank you Turnbull's Tornadoes
The greatest team I've ever seen

P.S. I made it up. My dad never took me to football and I was 16 in 1973.

14-09-2018, 04:20 PM

He's said same to me John but that's just part of the myth, he was clearly onside. You can just see him moving forward in the clip & the ball is well on its way by then. I remember looking at the lino immediately the ball went in & I was happy to see him heading for the halfway line. The Hawrts players didn't even protest.

14-09-2018, 04:46 PM
He's said same to me John but that's just part of the myth, he was clearly onside. You can just see him moving forward in the clip & the ball is well on its way by then. I remember looking at the lino immediately the ball went in & I was happy to see him heading for the halfway line. The Hawrts players didn't even protest.

I know,B but letting the Hearts fans think it was offside is much more fun 😂

14-09-2018, 04:47 PM

Think we have been paying for that decision ever since. Probably the last decision we got against them.

14-09-2018, 05:11 PM
:brokenyam: :whistle:

Will take any goal against Hearts but certainly looks one for the Dubious Goals Panel. The Hearts back four appear to step out before the cross comes in leaving King Paddy in splendid isolation.

Ralph Callachan a big Hibby appears to think it was defo offside as it cancelled out his 25 yard screamer
Judas

Agree with Johnny Boy better to let the jambos think it was miles offside makes it all the sweeter :greengrin

14-09-2018, 06:28 PM
An absolute legend and had the great pleasure of watching him when I first started following the Hibees in the mid sixties. I was at the Naples match and the 72 cup final. I even did a song about that day back in 1973 in which Pat took a great part in. 😁 To the tune of My Old Man's a Dustman.

Oh my old man's a Hibby
He used to sit me on his knee
He took me to Tynecastle Park
In January 73
There were only 9 minutes gone
When O'Rourke gave Hibs the lead
The Hibs fans were estastic
My pants I almost peed

The second came on fifteen minutes
Alex Edwards got the ball
He crossed it to Alan Gordon
He stood at six foot tall
He brought the ball down on his chest
And slipped it in the net
The Hibs were now two goals up
Without even breaking sweat

We didn't have too long to wait
Before we grabbed another goal
Twenty six minutes were on the clock
The Hibs were on a roll
This time it was Arthur Duncan's turn
To stick it in the net
My dad had £10 on us to win
He knew he had won his bet

The Hearts fans they were singing
"We'll support you ever more"
When Cropley scored for the Hibs
It was twenty five to four
The Hibs fans they went ballastic
They couldn't believe their eyes
The Hibees were now four goals up
I almost dropped my pie!

We were still in celebration mode
When we scored to make it five
Arthur Duncan with a header in the box
It was great to be alive
The Hearts fans were astounded
Their team couldn't match the green
You could tell just from the look on their face
This was the best fitba they had ever seen

Fifty six minutes were on the clock
When Pat Stanton won the ball
He ran it past the Hearts defence
They were ****ed, they could hardly crawl
He kept on going and going
The Hibs fans thought he was brill
He crossed it to wee Jimmy O'Rourke
To make it Hibs six Jam Tarts nil

Fifteen minutes of the game remained
When Alan Gordon made it seven
The Hearts fan they were in hell
But the Hibs fans were in heaven
Stanton, Cropley, Duncan and O'Rourke
Some of the finest to wear the green
Thank you Turnbull's Tornadoes
The greatest team I've ever seen

P.S. I made it up. My dad never took me to football and I was 16 in 1973.

good one! well done!

14-09-2018, 06:36 PM
Great wee poem Stanton’s Angel 👍 brilliant, thanks for sharing

Well thank you my friend.

Billy McKirdy
15-09-2018, 12:27 AM
I’ve lived in Niddrie for years and I can tell you that all Niddrons of a certain age, no matter their team, idolise Pat here, he is one of his areas greatest success stories, as a Hibby and long term Niddron I feel the same, legend is an overused word but not for Pat