View Full Version : Match Updates Scotland v Albania

10-09-2018, 05:20 PM
Let's get Glorious Failure #11 off to a good start. :wink:

Heard there will be less than 20k at the game tonight, apathy may have finally set in en masse. Team news?

10-09-2018, 05:28 PM
Naismith and Russell start. Griffiths on bench.

O’Donnell of Killie starts on the right.

10-09-2018, 05:33 PM
Let's get Glorious Failure #11 off to a good start. :wink:

Heard there will be less than 20k at the game tonight, apathy may have finally set in en masse. Team news?

The fact it’s a Monday night won’t help

The perfect type of game for Easter Road or Pittodrie instead of a Hampden

10-09-2018, 05:34 PM
That team is a joke.

Naismith who’s been here and done it before over our best striker avaiable.

Gonna be a long 90 minutes at hampden.

10-09-2018, 05:36 PM
That team is a joke.

Naismith who’s been here and done it before over our best striker avaiable.

Gonna be a long 90 minutes at hampden.

You’d have to think that Griffiths isn’t fit. But then why bother having him on the bench.....

10-09-2018, 05:37 PM
McGregor
Souttar Mulgrew Tierney
O'Donnell McDonald McGinn Robertson
Russell McGregor
Naismith

Naismith 😆

Lendo
10-09-2018, 05:37 PM
5/1 for Albania. Seems like to good a price to turn up.

10-09-2018, 05:38 PM

Tempted myself

10-09-2018, 05:39 PM
Mcleish has lost the plot, 5 defenders and naismith up front at home to Albania jesus wept

10-09-2018, 05:41 PM
Surely Martin Boyle must be worth a shot if this is the best team we have eh

10-09-2018, 05:41 PM
Mcleish has lost the plot, 5 defenders and naismith up front at home to Albania jesus wept

Poor show from a man who should never have returned to the National job.

If Naismith is it then we really are struggling.

Hope I’m wrong but I’m going for a draw this evening.

10-09-2018, 05:46 PM
First Scotland home competitive game in about 10 years I'll be missing tonight.

Strange line up. No objection to the formation as we play similar and with pretty poor central defensive options going with 3 makes sense to me - can't grasp that Armstrong and Griffiths are on the bench though

Huge game. Lose this and i can't see how McLeish will turn it around.

Prediction - win tonight followed by the announcement tomorrow that we'll be remaining at Hampden.

Off the bar
10-09-2018, 05:49 PM
Surely Martin Boyle must be worth a shot if this is the best team we have eh

I think he's sensibly angling for a call up to the soceroos!

10-09-2018, 05:50 PM
Garbage line up.

Griffiths was hobbling a little at points during the Belgium game, so I suspect he probably has a knock.

That back 5 will quickly become a back 3 when we're attacking.

I know recent games have been grim, but FFS, some folk have us written off before we've stepped onto the field in McLeish's first competitive game. At least give him half an hour to see how it pans out first!

H113EE5
Prediction - win tonight followed by the announcement tomorrow that we'll be remaining at Hampden.[/QUOTE]

Heap o’****. Fed up with the whole weegie biased setup. They’ll never move out of Glasgow.

10-09-2018, 05:51 PM
We always complain when the form player isn’t picked, particularly if it’s an OF player that is selected ahead of him.

So, based on that, why shouldn’t Naismith start ahead of Griffiths?

10-09-2018, 05:52 PM
As much as we did fail under Strachan last campaign, the team he was playing picked up a lot of good results (the biggest non-losing streak in 15 years I believe).

McLeish not trying to build on that, but rather persevering with these bizzarre team selection experiments, suggests that he has no idea what he's doing.

10-09-2018, 05:52 PM
Has anyone seen Albania play?

Are they any good?

They're only a few places below is in the UEFA coefficient rankings and they're 58th in FIFAs take on things. We're 40th.

10-09-2018, 05:54 PM
Seems a bit strange to swap Griffiths for Naismith, but it would just be like Naismith to score in this one. Score draw.

10-09-2018, 05:56 PM
We always complain when the form player isn’t picked, particularly if it’s an OF player that is selected ahead of him.

I'm sticking my neck out a bit here, but it might be because of who he plays for.

A bit left field, I know, but truth is often stranger than fiction.

10-09-2018, 05:57 PM
Seems a bit strange to swap Griffiths for Naismith, but it would just be like Naismith to score in this one. Score draw.

Got to assume Griffiths has a knock ....on the bench only for an emergency need .....tbh Naismith has started season well , he usually
Gives a decent contribution for Scotland

10-09-2018, 05:57 PM
I'm sticking my neck out a bit here, but it might be because of who he plays for.

A bit left field, I know, but truth is often stranger than fiction.

:tee hee: and who he used to play for.

10-09-2018, 05:58 PM
Dunno where this myth about ''5 defenders'' being a defensive formation came from. All about how it is played.

10-09-2018, 05:58 PM

Are they any good?

They're only a few places below is in the UEFA coefficient rankings and they're 58th in FIFAs take on things. We're 40th.

I’m a big fan of Albanian football. This won’t be easy - mark my words.

Nevi_SOL
10-09-2018, 06:02 PM
Got to assume Griffiths has a knock ....on the bench only for an emergency need .....tbh Naismith has started season well , he usually
Gives a decent contribution for Scotland

Griffiths has a international scoring record of a goal every 4.5 games
Naismith has a goal in every 6 plus games

I know there is more to a striker than scoring but a lone striker with an out and out winger on one side and a left back on the other side. Griffiths also is a threat from set pieces

10-09-2018, 06:04 PM
Griffiths has a international scoring record of a goal every 4.5 games
Naismith has a goal in every 6 plus games

I know there is more to a striker than scoring but a lone striker with an out and out winger on one side and a left back on the other side. Griffiths also is a threat from set pieces

That’s fine. But if he is not fit to start what do you want McLeish to do ?

What a terrible starting line up. Griffiths, Armstrong and Forrest give energy and movement.

Naismith is on form but not a striker. He doesn’t have the legs or physical presence to be a lone striker (you need one of those attributes).

Did they beat Israel ???

10-09-2018, 06:05 PM
Biggest problem is we're playing this at Hampden. Well, that and having McLeish as manager, players out injured, lack of quality generally, it's a Monday night and it's raining. Other than that it's all good....

10-09-2018, 06:07 PM
Did they beat Israel ???

Yes 1-0

10-09-2018, 06:08 PM

£10 on at 5s. Decent value bet.

Nevi_SOL
10-09-2018, 06:08 PM
That’s fine. But if he is not fit to start what do you want McLeish to do ?

I agree but I’ve seen nothing saying Griffiths isn’t fit to start

Ryan69
10-09-2018, 06:09 PM

Are they any good?

They have 3 or 4 in Serie A including the Lazio goalie.

Think im gonna put a bet on them to score in each half.

Scotland team is really poor on paper.

Godsahibby
10-09-2018, 06:10 PM
Is everyone moaning about Naismith just because he plays for Hearts? He’s the only Scottish striker who seems to know where the back of the net is, he has Had a great season so far.

As much as I don’t like him he’s our best option just now.

10-09-2018, 06:11 PM
I agree but I’ve seen nothing saying Griffiths isn’t fit to start

Surely has to be ?? No other reason to not start Griffiths ..if he is dropped - then McLeish has been taking drugs ! [emoji2][emoji106]

10-09-2018, 06:12 PM
What channel is it on?

10-09-2018, 06:12 PM
Is everyone moaning about Naismith just because he plays for Hearts? He’s the only Scottish striker who seems to know where the back of the net is, he has Had a great season so far.

As much as I don’t like him he’s our best option just now.

Don’t mind him starting ...Would prefer Griffiths up there with him - but assuming he has a knock ...

10-09-2018, 06:13 PM
What channel is it on?

Sky Sports Main Event.

10-09-2018, 06:14 PM
eck said sparky picked up a knock against Belgium, he wanted to stay on another 15 mins to try run it off but big eck took him off incase it got worse

10-09-2018, 06:14 PM

I agree, Griffiths can’t be fit and it sounds like Naismith has made a good start to the season so why not?

Two concerns for me are O’Donnell, IMO from what I’ve seen, which isn’t a lot to be fair, he’s nowhere near international standard and McDonald, I know he plays in England so people will automatically think he’s better than what we’ve got up here but he’s been completely anonymous in the Scotland games I’ve seen him. SJM made a mistake the other night but at least he took a bit responsibility and got stuck in, i suspect at the end of this game I’ll still be wondering what this guy does.

Gordy M
10-09-2018, 06:20 PM
£10 on at 5s. Decent value bet.

Scotland dont lose a lot of competitive matches at home....probably jinxed it now but we generally dont.

I think we have lost one since from the start of Euro 2016 qualifiers.....Germany beat us.

10-09-2018, 06:24 PM
Sky Sports Main Event.

Christ the cricket is on for another 6 minutes

10-09-2018, 06:32 PM
Scotland dont lose a lot of competitive matches at home....probably jinxed it now but we generally dont.

I think we have lost one since from the start of Euro 2016 qualifiers.....Germany beat us.
Probably why 5/1 looks decent then.

10-09-2018, 06:33 PM

Apparently his legs have gone?

10-09-2018, 06:37 PM

Somebody might have found them when they were fluffing the grass up at tiny

10-09-2018, 06:39 PM
Somebody might have found them when they were fluffing the grass up at tiny
Here you we'll have no mention of fluffing in a place where Ann Budge spends her time... FFS some of us have to eat tonight......

10-09-2018, 06:42 PM
Not doing much for the stay at Hamdump argument. Strange line up too

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

10-09-2018, 06:43 PM
Hats off to the fans who have turned up
Tonight - deserve a performance..I’m happy to watch on telly. But wouldn’t have gone through there..

The only two pricks not singing the national anthem were McGregor and Tierney, tossers.:rolleyes:

I think the mood around the game is summed up quite well by the weather.

10-09-2018, 06:45 PM
What a laughably bad attendance :rolleyes:

This could have been hosted at any other stadium.

10-09-2018, 06:46 PM
Come on Scotland!

10-09-2018, 06:46 PM
What a dreadful looking line up!!!

10-09-2018, 06:48 PM
**** me, I put a wedge on us before the line up was announced, silly boy!

10-09-2018, 06:49 PM
Rather smallish looking front line!

If the first few mins are anything to go by humping the ball to them isn’t going to work mcLeish

Should that not be a booking?

10-09-2018, 06:49 PM

Why not Tony Watt before both of them?

10-09-2018, 06:50 PM
please tell me that runt got a yellow card for that foul ?

10-09-2018, 06:51 PM
please tell me that runt got a yellow card for that foul ?

Doesn’t look like it

10-09-2018, 06:53 PM

Or Stephen Dobbie :greengrin

10-09-2018, 06:54 PM
Albanians at it already I see. Ref should just play on

10-09-2018, 06:54 PM
Albania look rubbish. If Scotland get in about them, should do well.

10-09-2018, 06:55 PM
Doesn’t look like it

bizarre :confused:

10-09-2018, 06:56 PM
******* weather :grr:

bizarre :confused:

Agreed. Another yard or so and it was in the box!

Where's McBurnie? Cairney? Bannan? Was there's not a big lump called Oliver something or other that played in Germany?
I suppose even Paterson has been playing for a prem league team. Where's he?

Surely there's better than Naismith!

******* weather :grr:

Old style Hampden weather :aok:

10-09-2018, 06:58 PM
Where's McBurnie? Cairney? Bannan? Was there's not a big lump called Oliver something or other that played in Germany?
I suppose even Paterson has been playing for a prem league team. Where's he?

Surely there's better than Naismith!
I think McBurnie and Oliver may be the same player :greengrin

murray26
10-09-2018, 06:59 PM
Decent start from Scotland.. pressing high up the park.. got to keep this going..

10-09-2018, 07:01 PM

Burke.

I think he's thinking off Oliver Burke, now at West Brom I think.

Provan is a fud. Souttar knee in the boys back, clear yellow

10-09-2018, 07:02 PM
scotland player gets the first yellow...shockerooni

10-09-2018, 07:02 PM

Yep, knee clearly in the back. Been on the phone to his pal Berra before the game for some tips.

10-09-2018, 07:03 PM
Burke.
Ah, It's McBurnie's first name as well........

10-09-2018, 07:04 PM
Scotland look really good so far, sharper and hungrier than the Albs

murray26
10-09-2018, 07:04 PM
Scott mctominay Man U player..

10-09-2018, 07:06 PM

Na, Albanian boy just stood there waiting to get fouled

Souttar won the ball

Gloucester Hibs
Been impressed with us so far, McGinn pulling the strings.

hit the ***** thing robertson

10-09-2018, 07:07 PM
Trying to walk it in. Put your laces through it. On a night like this and with poor conditions it could go anywhere.

10-09-2018, 07:07 PM
We're knocking on the door, keep it up.

Forever_Green93
10-09-2018, 07:08 PM
WTF! How did he get booked for that?

Scotland playing well so far.

10-09-2018, 07:10 PM
That couldn’t have been closer!

So many fouls

What a miss from the hertz fud

a goals coming :)

Hearts class

Mr Grieves

Souttar won the ball

Nah, you can't challenge like that.

The Mcdonald booking was a joke.

How’s Naismith missed that. Absolute sitter.

10-09-2018, 07:11 PM

Souttar won the ball

....and knees him in the back!

Anyway, I have Scotland HT FT

Robertson looks a shadow of the player he is for Liverpool.

WTF. NaeSmythe ****s it and misses a sitter !

How did he miss that.

Shocking miss. Easier to score you would think

ffs naismith

10-09-2018, 07:13 PM
Apart from Griffiths we have no other recognised Striker in the squad.

murray26
10-09-2018, 07:13 PM
We desperately need a finisher.. the teams played well and deserve a lead here..

10-09-2018, 07:14 PM

That's a yellow card every single time , Provan talking shight as usual

JXM73
10-09-2018, 07:15 PM
Tierney showing the mope superstar how its done...

That McDonald strolls around the middle of the park hardly breaking out of a quick walk?

BegbieHSC
SJM is genuinely our best player.

Naismith flat footed FFS

10-09-2018, 07:16 PM
Apart from Griffiths we have no other recognised Striker in the squad.

Disgrace that Morelos doesn't get a game.

Aye, Burke was the one i was talking about.

Naismith flat footed FFS

He was offside so glad he missed it

Jambo or not, Naismith’s pish!

That McDonald strolls around the middle of the park hardly breaking out of a quick walk?

Not being funny, but who the **** is he?

10-09-2018, 07:17 PM
He was offside so glad he missed it

He was but he should still have been in a better position and shouldn’t be offside

Mr Grieves
Robertson looks a shadow of the player he is for Liverpool.

WTF. NaeSmythe ****s it and misses a sitter !

Robertson's final ball has been poor. He's made the wrong decision every time

I’d have played young Rolf in there this evening.

10-09-2018, 07:18 PM
Not being funny, but who the **** is he?

I had to google him, 29 year old who plays for Fulham in the Premier league. :greengrin

In Naismith, nigel quashie has a new best friend

I’d have played young Rolf in there this evening.

So would I - he is all action and a goal threat

10-09-2018, 07:19 PM
Ffs Naismith really is brutal why is he playing??

10-09-2018, 07:19 PM
As much as I'm liking the look of us if we don't put it in the back of the net soon this has a 0-1 or 1-1 written all over it.

10-09-2018, 07:20 PM
Naismith is pish

10-09-2018, 07:20 PM
So would I - he is all action and a goal threat

He was very good for Cardiff last season, scoring a few.

10-09-2018, 07:22 PM
John McGinn really is a good footballer, and when you think that McDonald is playing in the premier league, it really is surprising that scouts in Englands top tier clubs didn't go for him?

10-09-2018, 07:22 PM
Fancy SJM for a goal. Getting into great shooting positions but always choosing to pass to ineffective Robertson. He'll get fed up with that and have a shot.

10-09-2018, 07:23 PM
aw fer the luv o **** professional footballer :rolleyes:

Ffs Naismith really is brutal why is he playing??

:agree: when he's not allowed to kick lumps out of opponents, he shows his true worth.

I think we've played very well indeed.

Albania couldn't really complain if we were 2 or 3 up, Robertson's decisions and final ball have let us down a few times.

The lack of a striker has cost us, hopefully our weak centre of defence doesn't get tested any more than it has thus far.

10-09-2018, 07:24 PM
Souttar nearly done ala Simon Murray there

10-09-2018, 07:26 PM
If you pick a team without any recognised strikers then it's hardly surprising we struggle to score any goals. Or is Naismith supposed to be a striker?

I think we've played very well indeed.

Albania couldn't really complain if we were 2 or 3 up, Robertson's decisions and final ball have let us down a few times.

The lack of a striker has cost us, hopefully our weak centre of defence doesn't get tested any more than it has thus far.

We have played ok, but this Albania side are pish, we need better width especially on the right and much better deliveries too.

:agree: when he's not allowed to kick lumps out of opponents, he shows his true worth.Exactly mate...gets away with being a wee thug in league every week yet [emoji90]himself from colliding with post there...

10-09-2018, 07:29 PM
get that aston villa guy off

HibbyDave
10-09-2018, 07:30 PM
This match should never have been at Hamdump fact

10-09-2018, 07:30 PM
Mcginn was very lucky there

10-09-2018, 07:31 PM
"Scotland 0" is a statistic that is permanently etched into my brain after watching us the last 10 years.

10-09-2018, 07:32 PM
This match should never have been at Hamdump fact

Easter road or tynecastle

10-09-2018, 07:33 PM
That's 45 minutes of my life i'll never get back.

Does Tynie even qualify for full internationals?

Asking for a friend.

My biggest worry is that once mcleish goes, the SFA will come after lennon.

10-09-2018, 07:34 PM
I read somewhere that the SFA are close to buying Hampden? We will likely not see another international at ER if that happens.......

10-09-2018, 07:34 PM
Absolute drivel

That fulham gadgey is utter garbage

murray26
10-09-2018, 07:35 PM
Get Griffiths on.. Naismith off..

10-09-2018, 07:35 PM
That's 45 minutes of my life i'll never get back.

Really?

I thought it was good stuff. We were excellent for half an hour, created some decent chances and played with pace, aggression and passion.

Football gets so, so much worse than that first half (such as the second half Scotland are inevitably about to serve up).

10-09-2018, 07:36 PM
Disgrace that Morelos doesn't get a game.

:bitchy: He’s Finnish.

10-09-2018, 07:37 PM
Sorry but we will not win this game with Naismith as our scoring hope!

If Griffith’s isn’t fit I’d take off Naismith and replace him with Paterson. I’d also take off Russell and bring on Forrest

My biggest worry is that once mcleish goes, the SFA will come after lennon.
Doubt that - they'd be too feartie of him lol.......

I've only watched the last 20 minutes of the 1st half - this is Ithsmian level. Utter dross.

Albania - WTF

:bitchy: He’s Finnish.

No he’s no he’s only 31!!! Best phone in caller ever!

10-09-2018, 07:38 PM
Much better team than Albania. Trying to walk the ball into the net though. Just have a shot ffs. Decent Albania support, few in the home end too including the one that is sitting beside me 😏

10-09-2018, 07:40 PM
Slivka is a starter every time for Lithuania

10-09-2018, 07:40 PM
Typical boring international game. Cannot wait for the real football to return this weekend.

10-09-2018, 07:43 PM
Finished work early and missed the first 30 mins, a lot of huffing and puffing without doing much apart from the offside goal Forgot Russell was playing then heard his name, McDonald is decidedly average and the hoofing by Soutar and Mulgrew are just wasted balls. Get Russell off and Griffiths on, swap Armstrong for McDonald.

Paul1642
10-09-2018, 07:44 PM
Slivka is a starter every time for Lithuania

Aye but they are loosing 2-0 to Montenegro 😂 ( doesn’t mean he’s not playing well )

10-09-2018, 07:44 PM
Aye but they are losssing 2-0 to Montenegro 😂 ( doesn’t mean he’s not playing well )

And Scotland are drawing with Albania :confused:

10-09-2018, 07:45 PM
Typical boring international game. Cannot wait for the real football to return this weekend.

Each to their own but I’d say that tonight is anything but boring?

Can’t fathom how we’ve not scored, we look so nervous in front of goal.

Watched Norn iron batter Bosnia at the weekend but get hit with two sucker punches, I predict the same thing happening tonight, hope not though.

McLeish should never be the Scotland manager (when was the last time he did a good job anywhere?) but I feel a bit for him tonight, hard to legislate for missing the chances we have.

10-09-2018, 07:46 PM
Kevin McDonald going off, thank god, brings absolutely nothing to the party IMO.

10-09-2018, 07:46 PM

Fair question. Might be experience?

:hilarious I read that somewhere as well.

10-09-2018, 07:48 PM
I had to google him, 29 year old who plays for Fulham in the Premier league. :greengrin

Haha , just did the same and remember him for playing with Dundee!! Just goes to show that the EPL isn’t all it’s made it to be!!

10-09-2018, 07:48 PM
Finally, 1-0 Scotland

Naismith

10-09-2018, 07:49 PM
Naismith is garbage and will never... oh.

Mon the Scotland.

Sorry but we will not win this game with Naismith as our scoring hope!

If Griffith’s isn’t fit I’d take off Naismith and replace him with Paterson. I’d also take off Russell and bring on Forrest

Oooppps [emoji85]

Edit: OG stand by my post [emoji41]

Forever_Green93
YAASS! 1-0 Scotland

That's an o.g. It was never going in.

10-09-2018, 07:50 PM
Finally

murray26
Great ball in from Robertson.. well done Naismith..

Despite his best efforts ... Naismith scores :greengrin

Good goal, if slightly fortunate .

What's with these hospital balls by McGinn

Jesus Christ SJM

Naismith was even more offside for that one than he was the earlier chance.

Oooppps [emoji85]

To be fair to you, I think he made a total horse's ar5e of that one as well, and was lucky it went in off the defender.

10-09-2018, 07:51 PM
McGinn really needs to wisen up

Once he plays against decent opposition he's going to get punished like Belgium on Friday

ffs McGinn again

murray26
Mcginn has been excellent tonight but that’s twice he’s nearly cost us.. can’t switch off for a second at international level..

10-09-2018, 07:52 PM
To be fair to you, I think he made a total horse's ar5e of that one as well, and was lucky it went in off the defender.

Ta. Head like a ten bob bit! Thankfully the defender was in the right place to knock it in

10-09-2018, 07:53 PM
Provan is a slavering arse!

Jesus Christ SJM

Doing some great work but need to just calm down a bit. Lot of pressure on him in a poor Scotland side.

even an OG will do :)

Top save from Britain's number 1

10-09-2018, 07:54 PM
Mc Ginn’s not learning.

Naismith is doing ok some should take off their anti Hearts specs.

Armstrong has done and shown more in the last 5 or so minutes than McDonald did for an entire half

Newry Hibs
ffs McGinn again

Trouble is, if McGinn wasn't making those kind errors he wouldn't be playing for Scotland.

10-09-2018, 07:55 PM
Top save from Britain's number 1

He's a fud, but I'd rather have him in goals than Gordon.

Scotland stopped since the goal. Albania woke up.

McGinn is playing a bit pish naw?

10-09-2018, 07:56 PM
Trouble is, if McGinn wasn't making those kind errors he wouldn't be playing for Scotland.

😂😂😂

10-09-2018, 07:56 PM
What's with these hospital balls by McGinnThat was horrific

10-09-2018, 07:57 PM
I love the way Callum McGregor turns on the ball when he gets it in to feet, I remember that being the first thing that impressed me about Liam Henderson when he joined us.

I don't tend to like Celtic players but it's been a while since I liked a non-Hibs Scotland based player as much as I like McGregor - he's class.

10-09-2018, 07:57 PM

Think he’s played really well apart from two crazy moments.

Not sure if those two crazy moments are enough to mean he’s playing badly or not?!

10-09-2018, 07:58 PM

He's playing very well indeed but has had 2 lapses that he was very lucky indeed to get away with.

Hibster
10-09-2018, 08:00 PM
Is there something wrong with my phone, or has the BBC website text coverage of the game not had any updates since half an hour into the first half?

10-09-2018, 08:00 PM
O’Donnell is never in a million years international class.

10-09-2018, 08:01 PM
Is there something wrong with my phone, or has the BBC website text coverage of the game not had any updates since half an hour into the first half?

Have you paid your TV license?

I'd get Gladstone Small on for O'Donnel.

I'm on a computer and it's the same. BBC wa****s..........

10-09-2018, 08:02 PM
O’Donnell is never in a million years international class.Nor Jonny Russell...been anonymous

10-09-2018, 08:03 PM
Nor Jonny Russell...been anonymous

He started off pretty well first 10 mins but has faded away badly

10-09-2018, 08:03 PM
Nor Jonny Russell...been anonymous

He started brightly but I think you’re probably right.

10-09-2018, 08:04 PM
Get Sparky on.

dmc1875
10-09-2018, 08:08 PM
We are woeful

10-09-2018, 08:08 PM
We have been poor since the goal!

Paul1642
10-09-2018, 08:09 PM
Most wasteful in attack I have see a team for a while. We need a young Chris Boyd 😂

10-09-2018, 08:09 PM
2-0

Naismith

10-09-2018, 08:10 PM
Smelly hertz cant

McGinn’s deliveries from set pieces have been very good

Good player is Naismith

Always has been

FFS Naysmiths legs are completely gone, good job he only uses his head. :faf:

Forever_Green93
2-0 Scotland!

Bit of breathing space now.

10-09-2018, 08:11 PM
That should have been 3-0

Griffiths on for Russell now

murray26
Get in there.. more realistic score line now..

10-09-2018, 08:13 PM
Naismith been the best player on the park. Good call to start him.

McSwanky
I'm sure it's been mentioned before, but what is Naismith's 'celebration' thing with his hands all about? It looks weird.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk

FFS Naysmiths legs are completely gone, good job he only uses his head. :faf:Aye so people keep telling us...wish we had someone banging them in as frequently tho

10-09-2018, 08:14 PM
Thank god we're back to the real football next weekend

Albania are about as bad as any team we've seen at Hampdump in a while.

Much more our level.

FFS Naysmiths legs are completely gone, good job he only uses his head. :faf:

Some people on here really don’t have a clue how football works.

10-09-2018, 08:16 PM
Albania are about as bad as any team we've seen at Hampdump in a while.

Much more our level.

They beat Israel so not sure they’re as bad as they’ve played tonight. Think they’ve just really struggled with the conditions.

10-09-2018, 08:19 PM
Aye so people keep telling us...wish we had someone banging them in as frequently tho

But we do have. Or have you just erased the last 6 months or so from your memory?

Here's a question that's popped up watching this game.

Have you ever seen a happy Albanian?

Why do the tartan army sing Doe A Deer from the sound of music? Is it originally a Scottish song?

Our number 10 is awful.

McGinn looks fantastic bar a couple of naive passes.

10-09-2018, 08:21 PM
i'm positive that albanian player said to naismith **** off ya wee hertz d ick, in albanian obviously

But we do have. Or have you just erased the last 6 months or so from your memory?No but we haven't so far this season?? I'm sure we will once Flo and Jamie are fit and up and running but as things stand this season we haven't at present

Well played McTominay

10-09-2018, 08:22 PM
Why do the tartan army sing Doe A Deer from the sound of music? Is it originally a Scottish song?

Started at qualifier in Vienna in 1996. Was funny for a year or so. TA songs are guff.

10-09-2018, 08:22 PM

Think it goes back to an away game in Austria in 1996 or 1997.

10-09-2018, 08:26 PM
Number 2 is mince as well.

Robertson’s quality is obvious.

10-09-2018, 08:28 PM
I'm sure it's been mentioned before, but what is Naismith's 'celebration' thing with his hands all about? It looks weird.

https://imgur.com/download/YYODwug

10-09-2018, 08:29 PM
O'Donnell is absolute garbage, how is he getting a game, Gray is a far better RB option, jeez get Boyle in there as a wingback even.

Nevi_SOL
Number 2 is mince as well.

Robertson’s quality is obvious.

Opinions eh. I think he’s had a decent game, faded a bit second half

No but we haven't so far this season?? I'm sure we will once Flo and Jamie are fit and up and running but as things stand this season we haven't at present

But you agree we do have someone. Simon Murray was 'banging them in' this time last season. Lets see how things pan out before getting all wishful over a yam thug.

I'd rather have an injured Flo than a Naismith who will inevitably burn out.

10-09-2018, 08:30 PM
O'Donnell is absolute garbage, how is he getting a game, Gray is a far better RB option, jeez get Boyle in there as a wingback even.

Who does he play for? :confused:

10-09-2018, 08:30 PM
Who does he play for? :confused:

Kilmarnock

10-09-2018, 08:31 PM
Griffiths looks like he can’t be arsed.

10-09-2018, 08:32 PM
Kilmarnock

Did he not go south then came back again?

10-09-2018, 08:33 PM
Griffiths looks like he can’t be arsed.

Not had a lot of football this season, an injury the sitting on the Celtic bench.

McSwanky
https://imgur.com/download/YYODwugAh, I see!

I just assumed it was something to do with children and he'd learnt it at Tynecastle.

Kilmarnock

10-09-2018, 08:36 PM
Our number 10 is awful.

McGinn looks fantastic bar a couple of naive passes.

Im not watching but Willie 'gonad heid' millar has described McGinn as,'magnificent' on the radio, despite the errors.

10-09-2018, 08:38 PM
But you agree we do have someone. Simon Murray was 'banging them in' this time last season. Lets see how things pan out before getting all wishful over a yam thug.

I'd rather have an injured Flo than a Naismith who will inevitably burn out.I can't stand Naismith but he's not "finished" like some would have us believe on here...that much is evident

10-09-2018, 08:38 PM
Well done lads. Decent performance and job done.

I predict a lot of posters who have been happy to contribute to the national team threads over the past few days won’t bother tonight.

10-09-2018, 08:39 PM
Tominany will become a big player for Scotland.Robertson gets a surprisingly small percentage of his crosses into dangerous areas.

10-09-2018, 08:40 PM
Well done lads. Decent performance and job done.

I predict a lot of posters who have been happy to contribute to the national team threads over the past few days won’t bother tonight.

Three or four wouldn't have flattered us tonight, can't ask for a better start.

10-09-2018, 08:41 PM
Job done tonight. Something to build on.

10-09-2018, 08:42 PM
All about opinion but I thought O’Donnell played very well and has put a marker down to be the first choice right back.

Playing against a awful team who rarely troubled but he can only play who he is up against.

Constantly got forward, couple of good crosses, won his headers, pressed well and won his tackles.

10-09-2018, 08:43 PM
I can't stand Naismith but he's not "finished" like some would have us believe on here...that much is evident

I never said he was finished. Although I do think he will fade quickly. A few of goals against st mirren and Albania won't change my opinion.

Anyway. Good result tonight. Back to proper football on sat now 😀

10-09-2018, 08:44 PM
Naismith, McGinn and Robertson had good games. McGregor also made a couple of good stops when he had to. McDonald from Fulham was utterly dreadful and rightfully hooked at half time.

Gordy M
10-09-2018, 08:44 PM
I can't stand Naismith but he's not "finished" like some would have us believe on here...that much is evident

So because he has scored a couple in the first 4 games for hearts and one game for Scotland completely erases the fact he has done nothing for 6 months......lets just see how it pans out.

10-09-2018, 08:45 PM
I never said he was finished. Although I do think he will fade quickly. A few of goals against st mirren and Albania won't change my opinion.

Anyway. Good result tonight. Back to proper football on sat now [emoji3]No wasn't meaning yourself mate indeed big game now for the Hibees on Sat need a big performance on Sat

10-09-2018, 08:45 PM
Naismith played very well. I thought he was a good player to begin with, but struggled to see how he could lead the line for us. He's proved me wrong.

Still, I'm sure even if he finished top scorer in the league and scored a hat-trick against us in every derby this season, he'd still be "past it". :rolleyes:

murray26
10-09-2018, 08:46 PM
Well done Scotland limited opposition or not that was a potential banana skin.. professional performance and hopefully better players to come back in..

10-09-2018, 08:46 PM
So because he has scored a couple in the first 4 games for hearts and one game for Scotland completely erases the fact he has done nothing for 6 months......lets just see how it pans out.

His performances for hearts and Scotland suggest he’s definitely not finished. It’s not difficult, for all he’s a nasty wee Jambo twat ;)

GreenOnions
10-09-2018, 08:47 PM
Im not watching but Willie 'gonad heid' millar has described McGinn as,'magnificent' on the radio, despite the errors.

I was watching. I agree with Willie Miller. Actually - although the whole team played well I thought Mcginn, Souttar and Naismith were the pick of the bunch.

10-09-2018, 08:47 PM
So because he has scored a couple in the first 4 games for hearts and one game for Scotland completely erases the fact he has done nothing for 6 months......lets just see how it pans out.Come on...he's started the season extremely well...take the Hibs tinted specs off for a minute mate...he's been instrumental in them winning all their 4 matches in league and played well tonight. I personally can't stand him but he's playing well so far...whether he keeps it up we shall see but he's obviously a lot fitter than he was last season. Don't see the point in lying to ourselves