View Full Version : Marvin Bartley

Inconsequential
06-09-2018, 02:58 PM
According to the Edinburgh Evening News Hibs have a five player boost for their next home match. Surprisingly Bartley is one who is expected to be fit. Good news I would say while not the most gifted of players he will add some steel to the side and let the others create. The team at present is softer than Andrex…:wink:

06-09-2018, 03:01 PM
Marvin could still easily be an important player for us in the next few seasons - albeit with a diminishing role.

Precision built for the most physical aspects of the SPL, and a very big character too. Would have made a huge difference v Livi.

beensaidbefore
06-09-2018, 04:02 PM
He is what we are screaming out forat the moment. Great player, and underrated I feel.

06-09-2018, 04:07 PM
Can't help but feel a bit underwhelmed that 3 months ago folks had him moved on and not good enough for where we want to be and now he's apparently the saviour?

06-09-2018, 04:12 PM
Can't help but feel a bit underwhelmed that 3 months ago folks had him moved on and not good enough for where we want to be and now he's apparently the saviour?

Folk who think he's not good enough are clueless . The guy is class , never lets us down

06-09-2018, 04:15 PM
Folk who think he's not good enough are clueless . The guy is class , never lets us down

Correct. As soon as he went of against Molde we struggled. We need him in there now that we don’t have Mcginn. Sadly we need two players to do what Mcginn did, but that’s the reality.

beensaidbefore
06-09-2018, 04:17 PM

That's my take on the matter too. I'd be interested to see how we concede when he is playing compared to when he isn't. I always thing we look more solid when he is breaking things up, not sure if the stats would back that up though.

06-09-2018, 04:19 PM

Only some people, and I can only imagine that people were doing that based on the fact that he was used sparingly when McGinn and McGeough were both fit and available.

Quite a few posters were writing eulogies on David Gray's Hibs career in the summer too - both still have loads to offer.

K.Marx
06-09-2018, 04:26 PM
Seeing as we’re pretty powderpuff at the back at the moment, perhaps a 4-2-3-1 system with Bartley and Milligan in holding midfield roles would be the answer. Certainly think we’ll be seeing more of Marv this season anyway.

06-09-2018, 04:28 PM
🎶 Marvin Bartley he’s so much better than that £&@? Paul Hartley 🎶

06-09-2018, 04:39 PM
Marvin could still easily be an important player for us in the next few seasons - albeit with a diminishing role.

Precision built for the most physical aspects of the SPL, and a very big character too. Would have made a huge difference v Livi.

I agree. There is no doubt for me, he has a role to play.

RoscoHibby
06-09-2018, 04:42 PM
Maaaarvin Bartley!! Be great to have the big man back in, really needing him just now, especially if mallan and Horgan continue in midfield, both good players but too many 5ft 7 players and we get out-muscled like 2nd half of last week...folk talking of him not being what we need watch too much fitba on sky for me.

06-09-2018, 04:43 PM
According to the Edinburgh Evening News Hibs have a five player boost for their next home match. Surprisingly Bartley is one who is expected to be fit. :aok: Good news I would say while not the most gifted of players he will add some steel to the side and let the others create. The team at present is softer than Andrex…:wink:

:talkh:

His Gift is that he's Awesome..

:rockin: :take that

06-09-2018, 04:47 PM
Great to see that Marvin Bartley is getting the recognition he undoubtedly deserves. It would be great if his patience and loyalty can be rewarded with a run in the team. It would be great if he could keep doing what he does best by breaking up play and giving the ball to those players that can play and perhaps he will find the opportunity to venture forward and score that elusive goal that would bring the house down. I always said we had the real deal in Big Marv 😁👍🏾⚽️

06-09-2018, 05:00 PM
Big Marv is a solid, no-nonsense player who gets right in the faces of opponents.
There are some games more than others (the derby) where his muscle is absolutely crucial.
Every balanced side needs a Marvin Bartley.

06-09-2018, 05:01 PM
Seeing as we’re pretty powderpuff at the back at the moment, perhaps a 4-2-3-1 system with Bartley and Milligan in holding midfield roles would be the answer. Certainly think we’ll be seeing more of Marv this season anyway.

I would like to see that. Boyle on the right, Horgan on the left with Mallan as a 10. Kamberi up top.

06-09-2018, 05:13 PM
Over the course of the season I’m not sure how much we’ll see of him, if Milligan comes in and proves to be a good player.

I don’t see Lennon playing the two of them together, other than at Tynecastle possibly.

I think he might prove useful in certain games but becoming a regular starter again would be a step backwards IMO.

06-09-2018, 05:17 PM
Glad he's fit again, I rate him very highly and have since he joined the club. We have missed him lately with our midfield at the moment. The day big Marv scores for us will be a great day, I tell my boy every week that this will be the match it happens. I still wait expectantly! Love the big mans attitude to football and even more importantly, Hibs.

Jim Herriot
06-09-2018, 05:55 PM
His last goal was on 11 November 2014. Leyton Orient 2 Northampton Town 0 in the Johnstone's Paint Trophy. He scored the second in the 89th minute.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fjEPFtxcD28

The clip doesn't show his immediate reaction to scoring, but he's had nearly four years to work on his goal celebrations so we should expect something special when it happens.

06-09-2018, 06:02 PM
Over the course of the season I’m not sure how much we’ll see of him, if Milligan comes in and proves to be a good player.

I don’t see Lennon playing the two of them together, other than at Tynecastle possibly.

I think he might prove useful in certain games but becoming a regular starter again would be a step backwards IMO.

Why not in other games? It may be a shift in the way we play, but now is a good time to try different things. I wouldn't mind a more aggressive centre of the park as a starting point.

06-09-2018, 06:11 PM
Big Marv is a solid, no-nonsense player who gets right in the faces of opponents.
There are some games more than others (the derby) where his muscle is absolutely crucial.
Every balanced side needs a Marvin Bartley.

Agreed. We particularly need him to protect the back 3 at the moment.

06-09-2018, 06:21 PM
His performance at Easter Road against Hearts a couple of years ago was one of my favourite individual performances from a Hibs player. Won every single tackle. Great to see him back fit and we will see his worth throughout the season when he’s called upon. I actually think he’s a better footballer than he gets credit for. Some games he’s found himself in amongst passing moves well up the pitch before retreating back, so I wonder if he maybe lacks a bit of confidence in an attacking sense.

06-09-2018, 06:23 PM
Why not in other games? It may be a shift in the way we play, but now is a good time to try different things. I wouldn't mind a more aggressive centre of the park as a starting point.

We have the majority of the ball in most games. That’s not Marv’s game.

Don’t know much about Milligan but I’m hoping he’s an upgraded Bartley in that he can do the ugly side but also move the ball a bit quicker.

I just don’t see them playing together too often.

06-09-2018, 06:36 PM
I for one would be happy to see him back.

As far as I'm concerned he adds steel to our sometimes powder-puff defence, especially in any absence of Daz.

I would like to see how a back line (4) of Daz, Marv, Paul H and the ever ready Lewis perform with each other over a run of games with each other.

Seems to that their usually high rate of winning tackles and balls out might be what a midfield would benefit from.

The sad thing is my defence leaves no immediate place for SDG.

06-09-2018, 06:40 PM
His performance at Easter Road against Hearts a couple of years ago was one of my favourite individual performances from a Hibs player. Won every single tackle. Great to see him back fit and we will see his worth throughout the season when he’s called upon. I actually think he’s a better footballer than he gets credit for. Some games he’s found himself in amongst passing moves well up the pitch before retreating back, so I wonder if he maybe lacks a bit of confidence in an attacking sense.
I’d had quite a bit to drink that night and normally I wouldn’t really remember the sort of performance he put in, but he was a colossus in the middle that night. I very much doubt we’d have won that game without him.

06-09-2018, 06:55 PM
We have the majority of the ball in most games. That’s not Marv’s game.

Don’t know much about Milligan but I’m hoping he’s an upgraded Bartley in that he can do the ugly side but also move the ball a bit quicker.

I just don’t see them playing together too often.

I wonder if we will have the majority of the ball without McGinn/McGeough/Allan. It'll be interesting to see how Lennon will use them.

06-09-2018, 06:59 PM
Bartley bosses Hearts I think they scared of him !

06-09-2018, 07:05 PM
I wonder if we will have the majority of the ball without McGinn/McGeough/Allan. It'll be interesting to see how Lennon will use them.

We have in the games so far. Just not done enough with it.

HIGHLANDLEITHER
06-09-2018, 07:43 PM

Best midfield enforcer we have had for years.

06-09-2018, 07:51 PM
We have in the games so far. Just not done enough with it.

Would Livi get back in the game if we have those two on? Maybe you have one starting and the other to see games out.

06-09-2018, 08:25 PM
Bartley bosses Hearts I think they scared of him !

We wouldn’t have lost to them at all if he was on the pitch for the full 90 in the last 2 games at the PBS

proud_and_green
06-09-2018, 08:28 PM
Correct. As soon as he went of against Molde we struggled. We need him in there now that we don’t have Mcginn. Sadly we need two players to do what Mcginn did, but that’s the reality.Agreed, he seemed to playing further up the pitch as well which I think made a difference.

Sent from my G8441 using Tapatalk

Squirrel 1875
06-09-2018, 09:20 PM
Only some people, and I can only imagine that people were doing that based on the fact that he was used sparingly when McGinn and McGeough were both fit and available.

Quite a few posters were writing eulogies on David Gray's Hibs career in the summer too - both still have loads to offer.

Spot on

06-09-2018, 09:25 PM
We wouldn’t have lost to them at all if he was on the pitch for the full 90 in the last 2 games at the PBS
Aye !

Especially the last game when it was must win. The TV cameras kept flashing to Bartley and Jamie Mac sitting on the bench kicking their heels both shudda started imo but it was Lennys call!

06-09-2018, 09:37 PM
Marvin is very much one of my favourite players, he's fearless, tough, and superb at the job he's asked to do. He's the sort of player you would 100% want in your team with you.

06-09-2018, 10:00 PM
I for one would be happy to see him back.

As far as I'm concerned he adds steel to our sometimes powder-puff defence, especially in any absence of Daz.

I would like to see how a back line (4) of Daz, Marv, Paul H and the ever ready Lewis perform with each other over a run of games with each other.

Seems to that their usually high rate of winning tackles and balls out might be what a midfield would benefit from.

The sad thing is my defence leaves no immediate place for SDG.

Marv has looked a bit lost at CB when played there.

It’s DM or nothing. That’s his role.

06-09-2018, 10:07 PM

It's DM or nothing?

Are you a pro coach? If you are come and join us.

06-09-2018, 11:03 PM
It's DM or nothing?

Are you a pro coach? If you are come and join us.

Yes, DM or nothing. Some players can play in a number of positions, others are specialists in one. Marv is the latter and there’s no shame in that. He’s very good at what he does.

07-09-2018, 06:17 AM

Agreed. Always looks a bit lost in there

07-09-2018, 06:39 AM
It does not matter how you dress things up, but Bartley was superb for us in games where we needed his battling skills.

He was superb at breaking things up and winning the ball back for us.

Yet saying this, he couldn't break his way into the side when we had McGinn McGeouch and Allan. Its obvious we need to change the way we play without those 3 players, and we need to find a system that works with these players.

It looks like we can score goals, maybe even more than we did last season, but while this might be the case, we certainly look as if we will concede more too.

Which is why Bartley and hopefully Milligan will play a huge part in giving us that platform to defend first and then attack with pace and skill.

07-09-2018, 06:45 AM
First name on the team sheet for each and every derby.

07-09-2018, 06:58 AM
The dream is that he scores a 90th minute thunderbolt against hearts at tynecastle to win it but I would say that's unlikely as the only time I remember him shooting was when he was one on one against Dundee last season and hit the goalie. He was driving forward quite a bit against Motherwell and there was a couple of times he could have let fly but opted to pass.

07-09-2018, 07:05 AM
The game definately changed Molde away when he went off injured not saying we would have won but all hope seemed to disappear as our squad resources were pushed to the max we had no one else that could perform his role so effectively.

07-09-2018, 07:13 AM
I can't say I've seen too many people post on here who don't rate Marv as an important player in the squad. There are maybe certain situations where he isn't needed so much but I think even the big man himself knows where his strengths and weaknesses are which is why he is so good at what he does. Good news that he is back soon!

07-09-2018, 08:35 AM
I think people are getting a bit carried away about what Bartley will actually bring to the team. Yes he's an enforcer type, gets stuck in and gives that bit of steel we sometimes need but he isn't what we actually need in midfield.

Last season our midfield of McGinn, McGeouch and Alan were easily the best in the league, we had no enforcer type, McGinn gave us that wee bit of steel box to box, Dylan gave us the deep playmaker who took the ball off the defence and moved it through the ranks and Allan was the guy who created in the top 3rd of the pitch. Bartley hardly played in the 2nd half of the season and due to this everyone expected him to move on as he was getting almost zero game time.

The only real reason people want him playing now is because our midfield has vanished and the 3 players we had have not been replaced with the same, Bartley isn't a great footballer and his technique is pretty limited, he does what he does by putting the boot in where it hurts but this is to the detriment of the team by stopping any creativity. Certain games, Marvin is perfect and is a valued squad member but again his participation should be limited, unfortunately we haven't really got the players all together yet and I'd expect Milligan to be 1st pick as the DM and bring in that steeliness.

You can't deny Bartley has a huge heart and enjoys the physicality of the game but if we are to move forward like we did last season he needs to be a bit part player like he was last season.

07-09-2018, 08:49 AM
Bartley is to the midfield, what McGregor is to the defence and it's telling that we have been shipping sloppy goals without them in the team.

It's not pretty, but its highly effective.

The Livi player that slalomed through our defence to score would have been booted into next year before he even got a sniff of goal had Marv or Darren been playing.

07-09-2018, 08:59 AM

Precision built for the most physical aspects of the SPL, and a very big character too. Would have made a huge difference v Livi.Yep, great guy to have around. One we'll miss when he's gone.

07-09-2018, 09:37 AM
He should be the first name on the team sheet at Tinycastle.

The small pitch suits his game perfectly.

07-09-2018, 09:44 AM
Bartley is to the midfield, what McGregor is to the defence and it's telling that we have been shipping sloppy goals without them in the team.

It's not pretty, but its highly effective.

The Livi player that slalomed through our defence to score would have been booted into next year before he even got a sniff of goal had Marv or Darren been playing.

Agree we need at least one of them back preferably both though hopefully Mark Milligan will provide that also.

07-09-2018, 09:54 AM
I think people are getting a bit carried away about what Bartley will actually bring to the team. Yes he's an enforcer type, gets stuck in and gives that bit of steel we sometimes need but he isn't what we actually need in midfield.

Last season our midfield of McGinn, McGeouch and Alan were easily the best in the league, we had no enforcer type, McGinn gave us that wee bit of steel box to box, Dylan gave us the deep playmaker who took the ball off the defence and moved it through the ranks and Allan was the guy who created in the top 3rd of the pitch. Bartley hardly played in the 2nd half of the season and due to this everyone expected him to move on as he was getting almost zero game time.

The only real reason people want him playing now is because our midfield has vanished and the 3 players we had have not been replaced with the same, Bartley isn't a great footballer and his technique is pretty limited, he does what he does by putting the boot in where it hurts but this is to the detriment of the team by stopping any creativity. Certain games, Marvin is perfect and is a valued squad member but again his participation should be limited, unfortunately we haven't really got the players all together yet and I'd expect Milligan to be 1st pick as the DM and bring in that steeliness.

You can't deny Bartley has a huge heart and enjoys the physicality of the game but if we are to move forward like we did last season he needs to be a bit part player like he was last season.

Brilliant , so Bartleys a limited footballer that just runs around booting folk . And he's pish because he couldnt displace McGinn or Dylan from the midfield . And he stops any other players displaying creativity .

Wow

07-09-2018, 10:00 AM
Brilliant , so Bartleys a limited footballer that just runs around booting folk . And he's pish because he couldnt displace McGinn or Dylan from the midfield . And he stops any other players displaying creativity .

Wow

Yes limited and no not booting people, you obviously have a different view point to getting stuck in and putting the do It in where it hurts. Bartley is s no nonsense ball winner and does that well enough but offers little to nothing else, there's stress on we did so well last season, our midfield was the best in the league.

07-09-2018, 10:14 AM
Yes limited and no not booting people, you obviously have a different view point to getting stuck in and putting the do It in where it hurts. Bartley is s no nonsense ball winner and does that well enough but offers little to nothing else, there's stress on we did so well last season, our midfield was the best in the league.

Keep seeing the limited comment , what does that even mean ? Do you want him doing Cruyff turns and stepovers outside our box after he's won the ball ?

07-09-2018, 10:25 AM
Keep seeing the limited comment , what does that even mean ? Do you want him doing Cruyff turns and stepovers outside our box after he's won the ball ?

No, but a forward pass or a goal would be good.

07-09-2018, 10:32 AM

Is this the opposite end off the scale to the overused scapegoat chat, where some posters won’t entertain any constructive criticism of certain players.

Bartley is a very effective defensive minded ball winner. While he isn’t completely useless, dribbling, passing and creativity are aspects he’s limited in. If we are to move onto the next level we need someone with the strengths of Bartley but also passing ability etc. Hopefully that is Milligan.

07-09-2018, 10:36 AM

Surely youre not that stupid to know what i mean. Bartley is an enforcer in the midfield, does the dirty work, then gives it to the more creative talented players, can't deny his attitude and in certain games he's essential but if we had a midfield like last season he'd be on the bench most weeks. At the moment he's missed because we haven't replaced our midfield from last season and the spine is soft, he'll still have a role to play.

07-09-2018, 10:40 AM
Marv has a specific role to play in the squad, sometimes we need a bit of steel and he provides it very well. He's served us very well.

Just out of interest on a slightly different note does anyone know how often our much vaulted midfield of Allan, SJM and Dylan actually started a game together? I don't know the answer but would guess a lot less than many seem to think or presume.

07-09-2018, 10:48 AM
Marv has a specific role to play in the squad, sometimes we need a bit of steel and he provides it very well. He's served us very well.

Just out of interest on a slightly different note does anyone know how often our much vaulted midfield of Allan, SJM and Dylan actually started a game together? I don't know the answer but would guess a lot less than many seem to think or presume.

I’d say probably 10-12 times at a guess. But don’t know if we’d have lost a single one of them.

07-09-2018, 10:53 AM
Is this the opposite end off the scale to the overused scapegoat chat, where some posters won’t entertain any constructive criticism of certain players.

Bartley is a very effective defensive minded ball winner. While he isn’t completely useless, dribbling, passing and creativity are aspects he’s limited in. If we are to move onto the next level we need someone with the strengths of Bartley but also passing ability etc. Hopefully that is Milligan.

il entertain constructive criticism of him but saying he does **** all apart from put the boot in where it hurts is quite frankly a load of pish and nothing constructive about it .

07-09-2018, 11:04 AM
il entertain constructive criticism of him but saying he does **** all apart from put the boot in where it hurts is quite frankly a load of pish and nothing constructive about it .

Who has said “he does **** all apart from put the boot in”? I’ve not seen one post on this thread saying that. Lots of people praising him, and a few, myself included, acknowledging his positive aspects but also acknowledging he does have his limitations too.

I’ve not seen much evidence of you entertaining constructive criticism.

07-09-2018, 11:10 AM
I’d say probably 10-12 times at a guess. But don’t know if we’d have lost a single one of them.

A quick scan of the last game of the seasons programme against Rangers and its roughly half a dozen matches. They were undoubtedly a talented midfield trio and an absolute joy to watch, but hardly a permanent Hibs fixture as Hibs.net folklore in some quarters seems to have promoted it to.

07-09-2018, 11:34 AM

I'm liking the look of that formation with an attacking midfield trio of Horgan, Mallan and Boyle and with Kamberi up top - could be pretty tasty.

07-09-2018, 11:56 AM
Bartleys a club legend and i love him

07-09-2018, 12:06 PM

TBF if you watch the DVD we released last summer there was an interview with Bartley and he said something similar to the poster you have disagreed with.

It is at the part they are talking about training drills and he was asking why he has to bother dribbling cones, that's not his game and never will be his game, his job is just to stop the other team playing and give it to someone that's better with the ball than him.

There is absolutely no shame in that at all. I love Marv but i completely agree with JC, his post summed up my thoughts on Bartley perfectly.

Heckys Wheel
07-09-2018, 12:08 PM
Bartleys a club legend and i love him

I’m with this guy.

08-09-2018, 06:12 AM
Exhudes confidence and battles - especially important in derbies and against the cloggers of the world.

Plays the Marry Jack role made it his own to the point we talk about needing someone the the Matt Jack role.

08-09-2018, 08:55 AM
Marvin Bartley....Marvin Bartley.....Marvin Bartley....He’s better than that......Paul Hartley!! :greengrin