View Full Version : Uefa nations league
07-09-2018, 10:16 PM
Wales probably a better example.
They produced a Bale and did well at last Euros.
Scotland don’t have a Bale or anyone of that level coming through or someone who will play for Real Madrid anytime soon.
As a country we should be aiming higher but as I’ve said above the muppets who run the game couldn’t run a bath so until things change the results will be the same.
I cited the two Irelands rather than Wales mainly because of Bale. He obviously makes a massive difference to them and not many teams around the world have "Bale" in their side or coming through. Wales still have a decent side without Bale but he obviously makes a massive difference.
tonyrougier123
07-09-2018, 10:21 PM
I totally disagree with the notion that a place in the starting 11 for tierney should be a given!! Must be annoying if your a centre half seeing him in there and demoralizing.andy robertson is the best left back its tierneys job to get him out the team,nae wonder scotland arny competeing well!!!😤
07-09-2018, 10:23 PM
The only hope we have is that we have a relatively young squad who can improve. And a number of them are good young players. McLeish needs to have the balls to keep playing them though. The worst thing that could happen is that he reverts to the likes of Naismith and Snodgrass.
If you look at the Northern Ireland team that got to the knock out stages of the Euros they weren’t better, player for player, than what we had on the pitch tonight. O’Neill was horrific for his first couple of years but stuck to what he wanted to do and it worked out.
I don’t think McLeish should be anywhere near the job. He’s dull and uninspiring and the apathy towards the national team is worse than ever. The SFA haven’t helped much with the ridiculous fixtures he’s had so far.
07-09-2018, 11:54 PM
Woeful stuff in that match.
In terms of accommodating both Tierney and Robertson, I think the best way would be to have Tierney play left back and Robertson at left wing.
vuefrom1875
08-09-2018, 01:24 AM
I'm normally quite into the national team, but I'm finding it hard to get excited about this.
What exactly is the point?
Was excited once I seen the Belgian line up......Belgium ht/ft.....a snip, weekend sorted 😁
08-09-2018, 01:26 AM
Woeful stuff in that match.
In terms of accommodating both Tierney and Robertson, I think the best way would be to have Tierney play left back and Robertson at left wing.
It's a choice between Tierney and Robertson for me.
Players in their positions, please.
Gone are the days when most top teams in England some in Europe had Scotmen playing for them. We don't produce players like Dalglish, Archibald,Jordan, Souness, Hansen and Gemmil anymore.
08-09-2018, 06:34 AM
Agree entirely with JC we don't produce players of that ilk anymore, but is it chicken and egg?
Is it that we don't produce them or is it a bit like England, who I would argue don't either anymore or at least in the numbers they used to, that they are stifled by not getting exposed to playing against better players in the EPL as they cant get a game.
I think its mostly the former but the latter is also an issue.
And yet, I would say this and the coming generation of Scottish players are more hyped than most of their predecessors over the last 30 years.
Are they worth the hype or are we so desperate for a genuine world class talent that we would hype anything?
Off the top of my head, other than Bale, none of the other Home Nations have any superstars or many more players playing EPL standard football yet their recent records are miles better than ours.
We seem to have lost the grit and determination that once papered over our shortcomings.
Are we forever destined to be a footballing backwater, where bar a few exceptions our best papers aredestined for a life in the SPL or lower English where they and we as a footballing nation will find a level far below that required?
A sobering thought!
08-09-2018, 11:30 AM
Agree entirely with JC we don't produce players of that ilk anymore, but is it chicken and egg?
Is it that we don't produce them or is it a bit like England, who I would argue don't either anymore or at least in the numbers they used to, that they are stifled by not getting exposed to playing against better players in the EPL as they cant get a game.
I think its mostly the former but the latter is also an issue.
And yet, I would say this and the coming generation of Scottish players are more hyped than most of their predecessors over the last 30 years.
Are they worth the hype or are we so desperate for a genuine world class talent that we would hype anything?
Off the top of my head, other than Bale, none of the other Home Nations have any superstars or many more players playing EPL standard football yet their recent records are miles better than ours.
We seem to have lost the grit and determination that once papered over our shortcomings.
Are we forever destined to be a footballing backwater, where bar a few exceptions our best papers aredestined for a life in the SPL or lower English where they and we as a footballing nation will find a level far below that required?
A sobering thought!
Archie MacPherson gave a talk at the Edinburgh book festival this year. He reckoned that Scotland would never be the "force" it used to be and may never qualify for a world cup again.
He gave 2 major reasons for this.
1. The break up of the Soviet Union and
2. The closure of the pits.
That sort of backs up your point about grit and determination.
08-09-2018, 12:57 PM
Are there still going to be playoffs for finishing high enough in the European championship groups or is it just straight qualification and then onto the playoffs from the nations league?
08-09-2018, 01:03 PM
Are there still going to be playoffs for finishing high enough in the European championship groups or is it just straight qualification and then onto the playoffs from the nations league?Apparently not.
10 groups. Top 2 qualify, plus the winners from the 4 leagues..... subject to all the stuff above about teams that have already qualified.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
08-09-2018, 01:08 PM
Archie MacPherson gave a talk at the Edinburgh book festival this year. He reckoned that Scotland would never be the "force" it used to be and may never qualify for a world cup again.
He gave 2 major reasons for this.
1. The break up of the Soviet Union and
2. The closure of the pits.
That sort of backs up your point about grit and determination.
So if Putin annexes all of the former Soviet states back into Russia and causes havoc with the gas supply to Europe meaning that we have to reopen the pits and start digging coal out of the ground agin, then Scotland will get to a World Cup?
Comrade McPherson is an unlikely double agent, but I think I can see where he's coming from.
K-Zazu
08-09-2018, 01:17 PM
He has to start Tierney. He plays for Celtic.
08-09-2018, 02:10 PM
Are there still going to be playoffs for finishing high enough in the European championship groups or is it just straight qualification and then onto the playoffs from the nations league?
No play offs through the Euro 2020 qualification groups. There's 10 groups and the top 2 qualify automatically to give 20 out of the 24 places. The other 4 places come from the Nations League play offs.
08-09-2018, 02:56 PM
Apparently not.
10 groups. Top 2 qualify, plus the winners from the 4 leagues..... subject to all the stuff above about teams that have already qualified.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
No play offs through the Euro 2020 qualification groups. There's 10 groups and the top 2 qualify automatically to give 20 out of the 24 places. The other 4 places come from the Nations League play offs.
Thanks.
08-09-2018, 07:12 PM
1-1 between England and Spain so far.
08-09-2018, 07:18 PM
2-1 Spain. Terrible defending by the World Cup semi finalists.
08-09-2018, 07:53 PM
Looks like a very bad injury to Luke Shaw. He hasn't moved in several minutes and loads of medical people around him.
08-09-2018, 07:53 PM
Really good game between England & Spain (1-2 HT). Quality football, movement, passing, athletic - lightyears ahead of the dross we got from Scotland last night.
IMO many of the guys we're giving caps to are simply devaluing the brand. We'd be better acknowledging the crapness of our national team, shutting it down until we have a proper plan and strategy for improving our players and bringing them up to standard.
08-09-2018, 07:59 PM
Does look a bad one for Shaw. He has had a bad time with injuries.
08-09-2018, 08:05 PM
Didn't even seem to be much in it, but the way he hit the deck was horrible.
08-09-2018, 08:10 PM
Didn't even seem to be much in it, but the way he hit the deck was horrible.
Could easily be a head, neck or spinal injury with the way his head impacted on the pitch.
Fingers crossed it's not as bad as it looked.
08-09-2018, 08:28 PM
Could easily be a head, neck or spinal injury with the way his head impacted on the pitch.
Fingers crossed it's not as bad as it looked.
Commentators saying he is okay. Bad miss from Rashford there. England back in the game now.
08-09-2018, 08:40 PM
England goal disallowed incorrectly
08-09-2018, 08:44 PM
Full time 2-1 Spain. Good game.
08-09-2018, 08:44 PM
Pleasing.
08-09-2018, 08:46 PM
Just looking at Wembley. Makes you realise how bad Hampden is.
08-09-2018, 08:53 PM
Just watching England. Makes you realise how bad Scotland are.
08-09-2018, 08:58 PM
wee shame
08-09-2018, 08:59 PM
Is it home yet?
08-09-2018, 08:59 PM
Aw..didums...😀
All his injuries have came from impact on the pitch, he doesn't hold back in the challenge and he seems come off second best now and then, I'm always fearful for Stevenson at times when he goes into challenges full blooded but he seems to just bounce off people.
08-09-2018, 09:31 PM
Hampden is terrible but I don’t look at Wembley with any sort of envy.
Imo it’s too big, great that they can sell more tickets but I don’t think there’s ever a decent atmosphere in games I see there.
I much prefer English stadiums like Villa Park, Anfield and Goodison, even though Wembley is clearly a very impressive building.
08-09-2018, 09:47 PM
Wembley is a soulless, corporate hell hole. Give me Hampden any day.
08-09-2018, 10:11 PM
Hampden is terrible but I don’t look at Wembley with any sort of envy.
Imo it’s too big, great that they can sell more tickets but I don’t think there’s ever a decent atmosphere in games I see there.
I much prefer English stadiums like Villa Park, Anfield and Goodison, even though Wembley is clearly a very impressive building.
How many games have you seen there?
08-09-2018, 10:12 PM
Delighted at Ingurlund losing. Is it a crisis for them losing 3 successive games in a row for the first time in 30 years and first competitive home loss in 11 years?
08-09-2018, 10:18 PM
How many games have you seen there?
I’ve read my message again and see there’s a typo in there. Just to clarify though, I’ve never been to the new Wembley, from the tele though it looks to me like there’s no atmosphere.
08-09-2018, 10:19 PM
Wembley is a soulless, corporate hell hole. Give me Hampden any day.
Yeah definitely no blazers or prawn sandwich types at Hampden?!?
*I've been to Hampden many times and Wembley once (2011 Champions League Final: Barcelona v Man Utd)
The bedlam after SDG's goal at Hampdump and the 2007 Sunshine on Leith were the only times the atmosphere there topped the day Pep's Barça wiped the floor with Sir Alex's Man U
08-09-2018, 10:20 PM
Delighted at Ingurlund losing. Is it a crisis for them losing 3 successive games in a row for the first time in 30 years and first competitive home loss in 11 years?
You’re forgetting they beat Panama, Tunisia and Sweden in the summer.
Also managed a draw with Columbia so they’ve clearly turned a corner in world football.
08-09-2018, 10:26 PM
Yeah definitely no blazers or prawn sandwich types at Hampden?!?
*I've been to Hampden many times and Wembley once (2011 Champions League Final: Barcelona v Man Utd)
The bedlam after SDG's goal at Hampdump and the 2007 Sunshine on Leith were the only times the atmosphere there topped the day Pep's Barça wiped the floor with Sir Alex's Man U
Nothing like as high a percentage of corporate seats at Hampden. You get huge sways of empty seats for 10 minutes after half time at Wembley. Folk more concerned with their half time buffet than the game. Been to 2 Scotland games there, huge away support but stuck up the top tier, miles away from the pitch. You could hardly make out who was playing. Give me the old Wembley any day. Some great days there back in the day.
Hampden can be both amazing and poor atmosphere wise. Last night was predictably crap with only 20k for a friendly gubbing. When’s it’s near full for a competitive game though, it can be amazing. England (2-2) was a rediculous atmosphere, as were the recent Poland, Spain, Italy, Ukraine games.
08-09-2018, 10:35 PM
Not a bad game but poor defending from England, though having watched the shambles from Scotland last night you realise what a massive gulf there is between the two.
08-09-2018, 10:44 PM
Not a bad game but poor defending from England, though having watched the shambles from Scotland last night you realise what a massive gulf there is between the two.
Between England and Belgium?
I agree.
08-09-2018, 10:56 PM
I know what you’re saying is factually accurate and there no doubting there’s a huge gulf between Scotland and England but for me England aren’t a great side just now.
There doesn’t seem to be much creativity in the English side just now, there seems to be a lot of similar athletic powerful and fast players breaking through but where are the players that’ll beat a man? Where’s your Gazza’s , scholes or Hoddles (even though he was before my time).......when it looked like the game was going to pass England by tonight I couldn’t see who your ‘go to’ guy was?
I’m really not meaning that as a cheap pop at English football but I think the success of the World Cup has been blown well out of proportion.
08-09-2018, 10:59 PM
Between England and Belgium?
I agree.
No between England and Scotland who were dire last night. Plenty of decent players on the park for Scotland too but the way they defended was comical regardless of Belgium’s ability. Not quite sure why they appear to going backwards. This is not a dig either, merely an observation from someone who follows Scottish football every week and knows the undoubted quality of some of the individuals who form the national team. Having lived here for 26 years, I have formed some form of affinity and would like to see them do far better.
08-09-2018, 11:01 PM
Think I'd be concentrating on Scotlands issues personally if I was Scottish, which Im not.
In 2018 is really Spain beating England 2-1 in a fairly good game a reason for a w**k fest in Scotland? Get real. Its sad so many have lost faith in their national team. Im sure a few wins would change things.
When I was younger Hampden was the ultimate place, maybe outside the Maracana, to get a result. Keep the faith theres no reason why Scotland cant do what either of the Irish teams have done. BTW on the debate about Hampden/ Murrayfield, Hampden has such a reputation, if you really want to know is held in awe down south. Personally I thnk Hampden is great. Murrayfield is just a rugby ground, it would be like England playing football matches at Twikenham. Keep your identity and Scottish football is based on Hampden.
08-09-2018, 11:02 PM
I know what you’re saying is factually accurate and there no doubting there’s a huge gulf between Scotland and England but for me England aren’t a great side just now.
There doesn’t seem to be much creativity in the English side just now, there seems to be a lot of similar athletic powerful and fast players breaking through but where are the players that’ll beat a man? Where’s your Gazza’s , scholes or Hoddles (even though he was before my time).......when it looked like the game was going to pass England by tonight I couldn’t see who your ‘go to’ guy was?
I’m really not meaning that as a cheap pop at English football but I think the success of the World Cup has been blown well out of proportion.
You won’t mind me disagreeing with any of that, the WC run though has brought them some breathing space, it’s whether we can use it to kick on or not that is the big question.
09-09-2018, 07:13 AM
Welbeck clearly backed in and fouled de gea last night. Poor result for the world champions losing at home though. Didn't see it but sounds as if they were outclassed by a far superior side
09-09-2018, 07:43 AM
Welbeck clearly backed in and fouled de gea last night. Poor result for the world champions losing at home though. Didn't see it but sounds as if they were outclassed by a far superior side
Not sure what game you weren’t watching but no way did Welbeck back into the keeper, the goal was surely disallowed for the push by Welbeck on the defender prior to De Geas theatrics.
09-09-2018, 07:49 AM
Not sure what game you weren’t watching but no way did Welbeck back into the keeper, the goal was surely disallowed for the push by Welbeck on the defender prior to De Geas theatrics.
Welbeck had a quick look around and made no attempt to jump or win the header. He knew exactly what he was doing.That's a foul for me.
09-09-2018, 08:05 AM
Defo a foul on De Gea IMO
09-09-2018, 08:14 AM
Relative to expectation I don't think there's much between England and Scotland at the moment.
England expect to be beating the big boys, but they're not good enough right now (although they have potential).
Scotland were well beaten by a good side on Friday in a game we shouldn't expect to win, but funnily enough I don't think we're that bad and will do ok on Monday and over the next few years.
09-09-2018, 08:36 AM
Good article on BBC website about the lack of game time the English U21 players are getting in the Premiership.
Describes it as a timebomb. Reminds me of the damage done to young Scots when lots of foreigners were here.
09-09-2018, 09:32 AM
Commentators were back on form. "Spain will provide a good test for England tonight" as if their last 6 matches have been no-contests and Spain are a some kind of plucky, up and coming challenger to the new uncrowned world champs :greengrin
09-09-2018, 01:21 PM
Commentators were back on form. "Spain will provide a good test for England tonight" as if their last 6 matches have been no-contests and Spain are a some kind of plucky, up and coming challenger to the new uncrowned world champs :greengrin
Think this is what is called putting words into people's mouths :greengrin
09-09-2018, 03:49 PM
For non Sky people Denmark v Wales starting on S4C at 5pm
Tudor-Jones studio summariser.
09-09-2018, 05:23 PM
2 0 Dennark. 2nd goal a penalty and a stonewall hand ball, don't know what all the arguing with the ref was all about.
Wales are pish.
Liam978
09-09-2018, 05:47 PM
2 0 Dennark. 2nd goal a penalty and a stonewall hand ball, don't know what all the arguing with the ref was all about.
Wales are pish.
You're obviously not a Scotland fan then eh.
K-Zazu
09-09-2018, 06:21 PM
So what’s happening the morn then 1 striker at home against Albania at home and hope to nick one?
09-09-2018, 06:40 PM
You're obviously not a Scotland fan then eh.
Eh?
09-09-2018, 06:44 PM
Scotland have scored 1 goal in the last 6 games. We are absolutely tom kite at the moment and it won't be changing anytime soon.
09-09-2018, 07:15 PM
France 1 Holland 0, Mbappe
09-09-2018, 08:31 PM
2 1 France
09-09-2018, 08:37 PM
2 1 France
Enjoyable game, France deserved to win but Holland made a few chances and had a some decent spells.