View Full Version : Get well soon Craig

27-08-2018, 09:55 AM
“Heart of Midlothian Football Club can confirm that manager Craig Levein was taken to hospital this morning.

Having received medical treatment, Craig is now recovering well in hospital.

No further comment will be made at this time and the club asks that Craig and his family’s privacy be respected, as we all wish him a speedy recovery.“

Some things are bigger than football. Get well soon Craig!

27-08-2018, 09:58 AM
Didn't know about this. Indeed, wish him a speedy recovery from whatever the trouble is. Hopefully it's nothing serious. :aok:

27-08-2018, 09:58 AM
Good rivalries need good panto villains!!!

Get well soon. Hopefully nothing serious.

BegbieHSC
27-08-2018, 09:59 AM
Absolutely!

Hope you’re on your feet, well and spouting yer usual nonsense very soon.

27-08-2018, 10:04 AM
Get well soon Craig! :thumbsup:

Missing you already!

27-08-2018, 10:04 AM
Hopefully nothing untoward and back on an even keel soon.

Hibeewilly
27-08-2018, 10:08 AM
Get well soon Craig.....all the best for a speedy recovery

27-08-2018, 10:11 AM
Hopefully nothing too serious, and good news that the recovery seems to be going well.

All the best to him!

27-08-2018, 10:12 AM
"what's your blood type, Craig?"

"B Negative"

Hope it's nothing serious and he recovers on time to get some abuse at the derby.

banchoryhibs
27-08-2018, 10:13 AM
Hope it's not too serious, but do you think that Queen Anne will ask young master Cathro back to cover for him until he gets better?

Frogga
27-08-2018, 10:13 AM
All the best Craig. Some things are more important than football and got to hope it's nothing too serious. 🤞

Sent from my SM-J530F using Tapatalk

27-08-2018, 10:14 AM
Best wishes for a speedy recovery Craig. I wouldn't wish ill health on anyone.

Hope to see you in the Hearts dug out for the Halloween clash.

27-08-2018, 10:15 AM
Best wishes for a speedy recovery Craig. I wouldn't wish ill health on anyone.

Hope to see you in the Hearts dug out for the Halloween clash.

Hear, hear. At the end of the day just a game of football.

EskbankHibby
27-08-2018, 10:15 AM
All the best for a speedy recovery CL, hopefully nothing too serious.:aok:

I'm Spartacus
27-08-2018, 10:16 AM
Best wishes Craig, like has been said before, he's a great panto villain, hope you're back excelling in that role ASAP.

27-08-2018, 10:17 AM
Despise him with a passion but wouldn't wish him any harm.

It's only football after all.

BH Hibs
27-08-2018, 10:18 AM
Get well soon

27-08-2018, 10:19 AM
Best wishes Craig

Hibernian32
27-08-2018, 10:21 AM
Levein in a ambulance now that’s natural order.

ps - he’s not dead it’s a lighthearted joke I wish him well.

27-08-2018, 10:21 AM
There's a human under that crusty minging Yam fud exterior. I wish the human a speedy recovery.

27-08-2018, 10:29 AM
Fitba’s fitba and ye cannae beat the rivalry, but hope he recovers well and returns to the fray asap.
Get well soon ya Hertz radge...

27-08-2018, 10:30 AM
Sorry but not sure I care too much.

27-08-2018, 10:33 AM
More to life than football rivalry...Get well soon CL.

27-08-2018, 10:33 AM
Good stuff fellow Hibees

27-08-2018, 10:34 AM
Apparently according to a couple of Jambo friends he had a heart attack....

Hopefully it was as minor as possible.

27-08-2018, 10:36 AM
“Heart of Midlothian Football Club can confirm that manager Craig Levein was taken to hospital this morning.

Having received medical treatment, Craig is now recovering well in hospital.

No further comment will be made at this time and the club asks that Craig and his family’s privacy be respected, as we all wish him a speedy recovery.“

Some things are bigger than football. Get well soon Craig!

Get well soon. We are missing the banter and signings already.

27-08-2018, 10:37 AM
Wishing him well. At the end of the day, as many have said, it’s just a game!

Yet you care enough to come and post that in a thread wishing him well. What a loser.

Chic Murray
27-08-2018, 10:37 AM
Get well soon HP.

I'm Spartacus
27-08-2018, 10:38 AM
Well done guys, real class here.

27-08-2018, 10:39 AM
Wonder what's happened. I did think it strange that he seemed content with the relatively mundane director of football role for so long and why it took the yams so long to finally turn to him when they were searching for Cathro's replacement. I put that down to a certain embarrassment and wish to avoid the limelight following his humiliating spell as Scotland boss, but perhaps there's an underlying health issue. Might also explain his attempted reinvention as a more relaxed, jokey character. Or of course none of these thing may be related in any way to his health and what's happened today could have come completely out of the blue.

Whatever, I hope it's not too serious and he makes a good recovery. Cannae stand the guy but wouldn't wish this on anyone.

27-08-2018, 10:39 AM

Never understood the point when folk reply just to say they don’t care.

As unlikeableb as he is it’s just a game of football so hope he’s ok.

27-08-2018, 10:42 AM
Hope your health returns to its natural order soonCL.

Just a game at the end of the day and I hope there’s nothing lasting damage.

Hibs4185
I absolutely detest the man but it’s only football so hope it isn’t too serious and he makes a good recovery.

But on another note I think this thread sums up Hibs class. If Lennon was in hospital I can’t imagine sickbag being as gracious

Hope it's nothing serious, get well soon Craig.

27-08-2018, 10:43 AM
get well soon ya jambo *******

27-08-2018, 10:44 AM
I absolutely detest the man but it’s only football so hope it isn’t too serious and he makes a good recovery.

But on another note I think this thread sums up Hibs class. If Lennon was in hospital I can’t imagine sickbag being as gracious

I think you’d be surprised. There are many on there who genuinely empathise with his mental health issues.

27-08-2018, 10:48 AM
Never understood the point when folk reply just to say they don’t care.

As unlikeableb as he is it’s just a game of football so hope he’s ok.

I assume the poster was expecting more attention than he’s received.

Get well soon, Craig.

27-08-2018, 10:51 AM
Not got a lot of time for the guy but he is a husband, son, father and so on so for that reason I hope he makes a speedy and full recovery.

Best wishes you Hearts barsteward.

euro Hibby
27-08-2018, 10:53 AM
too many wins and lofty position in the league....Looks abit beefy too around the waist..........speedy recovery wished..

27-08-2018, 10:56 AM
Get well soon Craig ya Hearts dick.

27-08-2018, 10:57 AM

But still posted? Weird...

Get well soon Craig. It's only a game of fitba after all.

Seems your team is quite literally painful to watch 👀

27-08-2018, 10:58 AM
Nothing is more imortant than health. Football is only a game. Hope he makes a full recovery.

27-08-2018, 10:58 AM

That isn't good. If so, he'll be away from work for a fair while.

Austinho
27-08-2018, 11:02 AM
All the best Mr Levein, get well soon.

27-08-2018, 11:02 AM
Get well soon.

Crazyhorse
27-08-2018, 11:03 AM
Nothing is more imortant than health. Football is only a game. Hope he makes a full recovery.

Ditto.

27-08-2018, 11:05 AM

I don't think thats fair mate. JKB doesn't represent every Hearts fan.

I hope recovers quickly.

27-08-2018, 11:05 AM
Hope he makes a full recovery, health more important than football. Still be getting it right at the derbies tho

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

27-08-2018, 11:06 AM
Tight
Hope he makes a full recovery, health more important than football. Still be getting it right at the derbies tho

27-08-2018, 11:07 AM
Some things in life are more important than football rivalry. Get well soon.

Steviep73
27-08-2018, 11:08 AM
Get well soon ya hertz ****

After all it's only a game

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

27-08-2018, 11:09 AM
Rivalry aside, get well soon craig

27-08-2018, 11:12 AM
I think the Edinburgh Derby has been richer for the return of Levein and his fuddery.

Get well soon, hope you are there and in fine shape to see your team get pumped in October.

vuefrom1875
27-08-2018, 11:14 AM
I think the Edinburgh Derby has been richer for the return of Levein and his fuddery.

Get well soon, hope you are there and in fine shape to see your team get pumped in October.

He'll be fine once he gets to Hogwarts.

27-08-2018, 11:16 AM

Levein did look a bit subdued and greyish in the aftermatch interview at Kilmarnock.

Get well soon, Craig, its only football.

27-08-2018, 11:21 AM
Get well soon

27-08-2018, 11:22 AM

Not the time for point scoring or whataboutery - leave that to the Glasgow teams.

27-08-2018, 11:24 AM
He has had to have a stent put in I believe. I know someone who has had it done twice and its a relatively simple procedure and should be up and out within a few days as long as it goes to to plan.

Tinribs
27-08-2018, 11:24 AM
Levein did look a bit subdued and greyish in the aftermatch interview at Kilmarnock.

Get well soon, Craig, its only football.

Funnily enough I have been thinking that for a while with him, his colour has been grey at best, and sometimes looks clammy.
Genuinely wish him a full recovery, and I think the kickback lot would say the same for our boss too.

27-08-2018, 11:25 AM
Get well soon Craig, anyone wishing him anything else needs a good shake. It's football after all, not life and death stuff.

Hope he makes a full recovery and then is back to being as miserable and dour as always when we next pump them.

27-08-2018, 11:26 AM
Can’t stand him, but that’s in a football capacity. End of the day he’s got family and Is just like the rest of us. I wish him a speedy recovery. Never nice to hear these things.

27-08-2018, 11:30 AM
Can't stand him as a yam, but you only get one life. Get better and retire from the stress Craig

Chic Murray
27-08-2018, 11:31 AM
As a long time reader of Hibs.net, it never ceases to amaze me how many doctors, psychiatrists and nurses contribute to it.

27-08-2018, 11:34 AM
He has had to have a stent put in I believe. I know someone who has had it done twice and its a relatively simple procedure and should be up and out within a few days as long as it goes to to plan.

Out in 2/3 days and 4 weeks minimum off work.

27-08-2018, 11:37 AM
As a long time reader of Hibs.net, it never ceases to amaze me how many doctors, psychiatrists and nurses contribute to it.

Odd post. Can you pick out a single comment in this thread that’s relevant to what you said?

27-08-2018, 11:37 AM

Sounds like a good outcome, all things considered. Hopefully this is the case.

Renfrew_Hibby
27-08-2018, 11:38 AM
Get well soon Craigie boy

27-08-2018, 11:39 AM
Sounds like a good outcome, all things considered. Hopefully this is the case.Yeah and that's usually it, as in there are rarely problems if it's been a successful operation. Quite an interesting one as well, they go through an artery in the thigh or wrist and straight in. Guy at my work too a heart attack in July and he's back to normal already thanks to the stent.

AltheHibby
27-08-2018, 11:50 AM
Can’t stand him, but that’s in a football capacity. End of the day he’s got family and Is just like the rest of us. I wish him a speedy recovery. Never nice to hear these things.

Ditto. Couldn't put it any better.

sadtom
27-08-2018, 11:51 AM
A heart attack!?
I'm not sure he will be happy with those tactics!
Rivalries aside i hope he makes a full recovery.

27-08-2018, 11:53 AM
Watching Sportscene yesterday I thought he looked grey and bloody awful.
I certainly wish him a speedy and full recovery. There is no need for football rivalry to extend beyond 5pm on a Saturday IMHO.

Chic Murray
27-08-2018, 11:54 AM
Odd post. Can you pick out a single comment in this thread that’s relevant to what you said?

I could have, but preferred to make a general observation so that people weren't too embarrassed. Let's move on.

Edit: put it this way, how can people know what has happened, how can they know what treatment has been given, and do they think it is appropriate to be discussing it on this forum.

By all means lets wish him well, but save the details for him and his medical team.

27-08-2018, 12:03 PM

Ditto.

27-08-2018, 12:06 PM
The bearded lady takes over in the meantime.

Don’t wish him anything but the very best for a full recovery.

hibsfan7
27-08-2018, 12:11 PM
Get well soon craig

hughio
27-08-2018, 12:17 PM
There but for the grace of God go many of us.

So nice to see such a gracious response from those on here.

Wishing you a good recovery you HB.

27-08-2018, 12:24 PM
Get well soon Craig

Weststandwanab
27-08-2018, 12:32 PM

A very good friend of mine had 2 stents fitted a fortnight ago today and died of a second heart attack three days after the fitting.

Get well soon Mr. Levien your club needs you.

JJP
27-08-2018, 12:38 PM
Wishing him a full and speedy recovery.

27-08-2018, 12:43 PM
A real pantomime villain who adds to the charm of our rivalry, both sides have them! Get well soon Craig Levein and hope you’re back in the dugout for our derby.

27-08-2018, 12:54 PM
Thing is if he’s not in the dug out for the derby it won’t feel the same. I love the whole pantomime stuff with Hearts. 90 mins we boo and go mad at him along with anything that goes hearts way.

C’mon Craig get yourself back in that dugout so I can shout at you, while maybe giving you a wee thumbs up. 👍🏼

Edinburgh football is different from Glasgow we all have mates who support Hearts we drink with them, we talk football with them, but deep down I think true supporters respect each other and it’s just banter.

27-08-2018, 01:00 PM
Hope he is back pointing things out sooner than later.

27-08-2018, 01:05 PM
Like most hibs fans I can’t stand him, but also like most hibs fans I can separate football from real life. I wouldn’t wish Ill health on anyone just because they play or manage our rivals. I hope he makes a full recovery and is back in the dugout getting pumped in the next derby.

JOD
27-08-2018, 01:15 PM
Same here hope Craig is ok

27-08-2018, 01:18 PM
Doesn't sound good.

Hope everything's OK

27-08-2018, 01:19 PM
Get well soon Levein ya big galloot.

27-08-2018, 01:23 PM
A very good friend of mine had 2 stents fitted a fortnight ago today and died of a second heart attack three days after the fitting.

Get well soon Mr. Levien your club needs you.

Sorry to hear that, it must have hit you quite hard.

27-08-2018, 01:25 PM

There's a lengthy thread on JKB, thanking us for this thread.

HibbySpurs
27-08-2018, 01:26 PM
Can't stand the bloke but then may rival supporters say that about NL don't they?

Wish him a speedy and full recovery.

27-08-2018, 01:33 PM
I remember chatting to a well known commentator some time back that I thought CL should stop managing for the sake of his health as he obviously found it very stressful. In particular I recalled the Scotland Lich game when I genuinely feared for him. Its a tad ironic that this happens after Yams best start in years. Like the great majority on this board i wish him a full recovery.

27-08-2018, 01:35 PM
There's a lengthy thread on JKB, thanking us for this thread.

Unlikely as it might sound, I'd imagine they'd have a similar thread if it was Lennon taken to hospital with a suspected heart attack.

Let's be honest, our 'hatred' of Levein is really just the usual pantomime villain stuff. I honestly don't like the way he sets out his football team, with tactics that are 'questionable' to say the least, but I genuinely don't wish him any ill will.

27-08-2018, 01:44 PM
Human being first, Yam Fud second.

Wishing him a full, speedy and lasting recovery. After that normal rivalry can resume.

27-08-2018, 01:45 PM
Unlikely as it might sound, I'd imagine they'd have a similar thread if it was Lennon taken to hospital with a suspected heart attack.

Let's be honest, our 'hatred' of Levein is really just the usual pantomime villain stuff. I honestly don't like the way he sets out his football team, with tactics that are 'questionable' to say the least, but I genuinely don't wish him any ill will.

They had one supporting NL in his own issues.

Just goes to show that having 6 fingers on each hand doesn't mean you don't have a heart,.

27-08-2018, 01:45 PM

The psychiatrists I can understand....... :greengrin

27-08-2018, 01:47 PM
Yeah and that's usually it, as in there are rarely problems if it's been a successful operation. Quite an interesting one as well, they go through an artery in the thigh or wrist and straight in. Guy at my work too a heart attack in July and he's back to normal already thanks to the stent.

They last thing anyone should be doing after heart trouble is football management.

27-08-2018, 01:50 PM
They last thing anyone should be doing after heart trouble is football management.

:agree: You rarely see anyone looking as stressed as football managers.

Hope CL is back in time for a healthy but hellish halloween for him.

Babyshamble
27-08-2018, 01:52 PM
Someone's health is more important than a game of football.Get well soon Craig 👍

ValleyHibee
27-08-2018, 01:54 PM
When I lived in Rosyth he came into the bookies daily after training , I wore my Hibs jersey to annoy him and maybe once or twice "accidentally" bumped into him,my cousin played for same school team as him and G.durie(Inverkeithing),no ma fav person and ma Dad got a stent last year so all the best.

MurrayfieldHibs
27-08-2018, 01:57 PM
Thing is if he’s not in the dug out for the derby it won’t feel the same. I love the whole pantomime stuff with Hearts. 90 mins we boo and go mad at him along with anything that goes hearts way.

C’mon Craig get yourself back in that dugout so I can shout at you, while maybe giving you a wee thumbs up. 👍🏼

Edinburgh football is different from Glasgow we all have mates who support Hearts we drink with them, we talk football with them, but deep down I think true supporters respect each other and it’s just banter.

Chic Murray
27-08-2018, 01:58 PM
The psychiatrists I can understand....... :greengrin

Is that the phase after finding hair in the palm of your hand? :coffee::greengrin

JimboHibs
27-08-2018, 02:03 PM
Get well soon Craig,wishing you a speedy recovery 👍💚

Id actually miss flinging abuse at the Hearts fud 👀

27-08-2018, 02:06 PM
Get well soon Avril.

27-08-2018, 02:10 PM
Its only a game, things like this make you realise it. Get well soon, see you on the 31st of October Mr Levein. :greengrin

27-08-2018, 02:14 PM
Haste ye back ya Hearts barsteward.

27-08-2018, 02:14 PM
Sorry to hear this news and I hope he gets well soon. It would be a shame if this spoiled what's turning out to be an interesting season for us all.

Gordy M
27-08-2018, 02:15 PM
Get well soon....hope he makes a speedy recovery, as i want him front and centre when we beat them in the next derby!! In all seriousness, hope he does get well soon.

27-08-2018, 02:30 PM
Craig Levein is as Hearts as you get, and as has been said, he’s more pantomime villain to Hibs fans rather than real hatred. Hopefully back on his feet soon and hostilities can recommence.

27-08-2018, 02:49 PM
I don't want him to be ill. The clowns bicycle needs the right man pedalling and steering.

Get well quickly Craig.

27-08-2018, 02:58 PM
Get well soon Craig

Never nice to hear of anybody being unwell and as much it consumes us all football is only a game.

rosco-hibee
27-08-2018, 03:13 PM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/178522-hibsnet-get-well-soon-craig/&

This thread warmly received on The Terrace. Well done both sets of supporters.

Babyshamble
27-08-2018, 03:31 PM
Class response from everyone on here.

Roxyhibee
27-08-2018, 03:36 PM
Avoid the NHS food, but the staff are wonderful and will get you better. Hope you get a six foot six male Hibby nurse with hands like shovels who insists on giving you a thorough internal.!

Get well soon - it’s only fitba’.

SuperAllyMcleod
27-08-2018, 03:45 PM
Hope you are back in the dugout soon - unless you put Cathro in as sick cover - then you should get well soon and take sickies for as long as you can [emoji106]

27-08-2018, 03:54 PM
Hope he gets over it ok.He looks pretty overweight to me.

aljo7-0
27-08-2018, 03:59 PM
I too hope he is back up on his feet and in good health again. Hearing he is in hospital does allow you to put feelings in perspective. as others have said he is the classic panto villain for us and plays the role to perfection. Natural order is him in the dugout with us booing him.

27-08-2018, 04:02 PM
Rivalry get's put to one side at times like this. Get well soon Craig.

27-08-2018, 04:10 PM
Get well soon.

jax67
27-08-2018, 04:16 PM
Get well soon Craig.

27-08-2018, 04:17 PM

Especially with the pulsating brand of football that his side produce.

AltheHibby
27-08-2018, 04:18 PM
:agree: You rarely see anyone looking as stressed as football managers.

Hope CL is back in time for a healthy but hellish halloween for him.

Probably best he goes back to DOF if it is heart problems.

27-08-2018, 04:35 PM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/178522-hibsnet-get-well-soon-craig/&

This thread warmly received on The Terrace. Well done both sets of supporters.

In the main Edinburgh can be very proud of the rivalry of its clubs. We hate each other but in the right way. :aok:

Get well soon Craig.

Saturday Boy
27-08-2018, 04:38 PM

Absolutely. Even watching a game can be a bit uncomfortable. When my ticker started misbehaving, I thought about starting a “bring back Bobby Williamson” campaign.

Best wishes Craig, there are things more important than football.

27-08-2018, 04:50 PM
Nose bleed from being at the top of the league and playing with strikers. Hope he gets well soon.

LustForLeith
27-08-2018, 04:52 PM
Get well soon Craig.

Reminds me a bit of Jim McLean. Clearly loves and lives for football but there’s no way you’d want to get on his wrong side. And the games a bit duller without characters like them.

HIBEELASS
27-08-2018, 05:02 PM
Get well soon. Banter is all good in football but after all footballers and managers are only human too and illness certainly puts life into perspective...

27-08-2018, 05:06 PM
Probably best he goes back to DOF if it is heart problems.

Not sure being DOF and having to hand over control to a head coach like Cathro would be any less stressful than just getting on with doing it yourself.

27-08-2018, 05:08 PM
Football banter is one thing, real life is another, wishing Craig Levein a full recovery. Get well soon.

27-08-2018, 05:11 PM
I was grudgingly listening to his interview after the game on Saturday and he sounded absolutely terrible which I thought was strange given that they are top of the league.

Get well soon Mr Levein.

AltheHibby
27-08-2018, 05:15 PM
Not sure being DOF and having to hand over control to a head coach like Cathro would be any less stressful than just getting on with doing it yourself.

Good point. I was thinking of it being a step removed, leading to less personal stress. But I see where you are coming from.

27-08-2018, 05:17 PM

My boss - who’s a workaholic - was back within three days! Crazy.

Tug Wilson
27-08-2018, 05:19 PM
At last something I can post about with real knowledge.

Had a heart attack 5 years ago. Thing called a silent MI as it wasn't the chest clutching fall over in the street type. Told that they rarely are. Anyway, felt unwell, got blood test, then a week later told to report to the Western.

Eventually ended up in the Royal which has a world leading cardio department. They quickly put me through my first angioplasty. Unbelievable stuff as you are awake throughout as they pass a wire from your wrist up your arm to your heart.

They found a massive clot in a main artery, put me on a "drain cleaner" drip for 2 days and then another angioplasty to fit a stent.

Once the stent is in then you get released very quickly. There were guys in and out on the same day whilst I was there.

Felt great straight away. However, off work for a month and then phased return. Cocktail of pills every day now but back to reasonable health. Have to carry glyceryl spray in case of an attack and very wary of any twinges.

CL should recover well but will have to take it easy for a while. No reason that he can't go back to current role.

27-08-2018, 05:35 PM
Heard him on the radio on Saturday when he was asked about the effect on Hearts with Lafferty leaving. He responded that at least their IQ level had gone up. :not worth

27-08-2018, 05:35 PM
Heard him on the radio on Saturday when he was asked about the effect on Hearts with Lafferty leaving. He responded that at least their IQ level had gone up. :not worth

So has the rangers squad's IQ

27-08-2018, 05:41 PM
Can understand it being a shock still at the top of the league after 3 games but you will need to take it easy Craig, Get better and leave the comedy attempts to the comedians who get paid for it.

27-08-2018, 05:55 PM
Tug

Thanks for your very helpful and illuminating comments and shines a light on a place we all hope never to find ourselves at.

Good wishes for the future and thank god for 21.05.2016!!!!

27-08-2018, 06:13 PM
I’ve tidied this thread up and removed reference to the Twitter stuff, it doesn’t need any more publicity than it’s already had. If I’ve missed 1 or 2 posts then deal with it.:aok:

Try and keep things civil please and keep the thread in the generally good spirit it has been in thus far.

Cheshire Hibby
27-08-2018, 06:17 PM
Hope you make a full recovery Craig.

weedgiehibbie
27-08-2018, 06:35 PM
Hope Craig gets well soon

27-08-2018, 06:35 PM
I was visiting my sister this afternoon and they had the volume on the telly off. I noticed a bit about Craig Levein on the news where he was holding up a Jambo scarf. I didn’t take any notice of it but was curious what they were reporting. It was only an hour ago that my son phoned me and mentioned the bad news. Good luck to the guy and hopes he makes a full recovery.

27-08-2018, 06:37 PM
Wish him all the best. Shaping up to be a really interesting season with Hearts much improved. I hope he can get back to it soon.

27-08-2018, 06:51 PM
There was a delay in getting an ambulance because he has an aversion to the number 9 and 460 didn't work.

Hope he makes a good recovery.

27-08-2018, 06:53 PM
Sad news, good luck with his recovery.I love to laugh at his gibberish, but deep down he's just a died in the wool supporter, and the derby is all the better for him being involved.

27-08-2018, 06:53 PM
I’ve tidied this thread up and removed reference to the Twitter stuff, it doesn’t need any more publicity than it’s already had. If I’ve missed 1 or 2 posts then deal with it.:aok:

Try and keep things civil please and keep the thread in the generally good spirit it has been in thus far.

Cheers for that, PB.

27-08-2018, 06:55 PM
Hope CL makes a full and speedy recovery and is back attempting to annoy us all quicker than you can say 'Natural Order!'

AltheHibby
27-08-2018, 07:00 PM
I used to work with his dad in Rosyth. He'll be a decent age now. Hope it's not affecting him too much.

I always thought he was a nice guy, but an awful parent for raising an uber Jambo! 😁

sadtom
27-08-2018, 07:04 PM

👍

AltheHibby
27-08-2018, 07:08 PM

Thanks. I see your counterparts on Kickback seem to have done the same.

27-08-2018, 07:18 PM
Football differences aside I've always found Craig to be a really decent guy who will take time to chat to anyone. A very dry sense of humour and he most certainly loves his football club and works very hard to get them where he thinks they should be. Personally, he dealt with a situation involving a friend of mine a few years ago (in his first spell as manager) and he was superb the way he handled it - quickly, sensitively and very professionally. Spoke to him briefly before their game v Celtic and had a wee laugh about the new pitch and how difficult the television cameras would have it trying to spot the Celtic players through grass (as they'd moaned again about it) :greengrin

Wish him a speedy and full recovery and hope he puts his health first and comes back fitter and stronger when he is ready to :aok:

27-08-2018, 07:28 PM
I have called him every name under the sun as both a player and manger of hearts but wish him a full recovery and hope he gets well soon.
When he's fit again and back in the dugout Im sure the natural order will be resumed though!!

Tug Wilson
27-08-2018, 07:55 PM
Tug

Thanks for your very helpful and illuminating comments and shines a light on a place we all hope never to find ourselves at.

Good wishes for the future and thank god for 21.05.2016!!!!

Cheers FF

Have to say that all the doctors and staff were absolutely tremendous.

I am sure CL will be in good hands.

27-08-2018, 08:21 PM
Having said that, once he’s fully recovered can someone delete my nice comments so I can get back to calling him a big speccy latte drinking Dens Park Jambottler? No used to genuinely wishing him well...

son of haggart
27-08-2018, 08:45 PM
Good to see all the get well soon wishes. Shows the Edinburgh football rivalry is a healthy sporting rivalry and can be set aside when more serious issues intervene - I am sure Levein would appreciate all your good wishes despite his passion to succeed against you on the pitch,and will be made aware of what has been posted here. Hopefully we'd do the same in similar circumstances:aok:

AltheHibby
27-08-2018, 08:49 PM
Hopefully we'd do the same in similar circumstances:aok:

I believe you did with Neil Lennon's mental health.

It's nice to see the vast majority of supporters on both sides being decent at times like this.

KingFranck
27-08-2018, 08:55 PM
Get well soon Craig

Wakeyhibee
27-08-2018, 08:59 PM
get well soon Craig! As said above rivalry and football come second.

heidtheba
27-08-2018, 09:03 PM
He's a bloke who is ill and who has family, everything else is secondary to that.
Football's not more important.
Get well soon Mr Levein.

27-08-2018, 09:06 PM
If the shoe was on the other foot . How many of that lot would be wishing Lennon a speedy recovery.
Not many . They sang about Tony Mowbrays dead wife . But I do hope he makes a full recovery. Just don’t think we would get the same decency from them .

heidtheba
27-08-2018, 09:13 PM
If the shoe was on the other foot . How many of that lot would be wishing Lennon a speedy recovery.
Not many . They sang about Tony Mowbrays dead wife . But I do hope he makes a full recovery. Just don’t think we would get the same decency from them .

I remember seeing some positive comments about Neil Lennon on a supportive thread on Kickback. Someone on here posted it at the time but I can't find the thread link.

Silky
27-08-2018, 09:16 PM
get well soon Craig! As said above rivalry and football come second.

Agreed! Hopefully makes a full and speedy recovery - wouldn't wish I'll health on anyone. At the end of the day he's a guy with a family and friends like most of us and life is more important than anything. Get well soon, Craig.

SideBurns
27-08-2018, 09:20 PM
Good to see all the get well soon wishes. Shows the Edinburgh football rivalry is a healthy sporting rivalry and can be set aside when more serious issues intervene - I am sure Levein would appreciate all your good wishes despite his passion to succeed against you on the pitch,and will be made aware of what has been posted here. Hopefully we'd do the same in similar circumstances:aok:

I was brought up to desperately want to beat Hearts, and enjoy the fierce local rivalry, but not to hate them. I can't pretend to have much time for Levein, but that's neither here nor there at the moment. I wish him well in his recovery, and this situation is a timely reminder of applying perspective when it comes to fitba; I'm delighted to see the overwhelming majority showing the decency that prevails amongst the Hibbies and Jambos I'm pals with.

27-08-2018, 09:51 PM
Life is indeed far more important than football and football rivalries.
Get well soon Craig.

Greenfly
27-08-2018, 10:10 PM
I was brought up to desperately want to beat Hearts, and enjoy the fierce local rivalry, but not to hate them. I can't pretend to have much time for Levein, but that's neither here nor there at the moment. I wish him well in his recovery, and this situation is a timely reminder of applying perspective when it comes to fitba; I'm delighted to see the overwhelming majority showing the decency that prevails amongst the Hibbies and Jambos I'm pals with.

I agree totally with this - I love to see us stuffing Hearts - no better feeling and I thoroughly enjoy ripping the p**s out of them when I can but there's far too much guff written on both sides about hating or detesting individual people and labelling others as ****, vermin or whatever - just the the same terminology as the Nazis used. It's cringy and isn't to our credit. I wish Craig Levein a full recovery.

27-08-2018, 10:11 PM

Tit for tat whataboutery best left to yon teams from Glasgow.

27-08-2018, 10:38 PM
Derbies are better with you involved. Get well Craigie.

27-08-2018, 10:42 PM
Dislike Hearts as a club, and can't stand his anti-football philosophy, but absolutely nothing against him as a person. Hope he makes a full and speedy recovery.

Galahibby
27-08-2018, 10:47 PM
Get well soon Craig. Despite how we might feel on a Saturday afternoon, it is only a game and some things are more important. Also, derbies wouldnae be quite the same without having him there to hurl abuse at :wink:

27-08-2018, 10:56 PM
Why is there this clamour to be seen to be wishing Levein well?

Honestly, I do not wish him ill health, but I can’t pretend he’s “in my thoughts” or that football is now “in perspective” etc.

27-08-2018, 11:33 PM

Honestly, I do not wish him ill health, but I can’t pretend he’s “in my thoughts” or that football is now “in perspective” etc.

I'll have you know that my message of support to Craig Levein was genuine and sincere.
My message was not designed in order to, as you say, "be seen".
Wishing a fellow human being well comes naturally to me.
Evidently, you live in a more cynical world and all I can say is good luck with that!

Crunchie
28-08-2018, 12:45 AM

I'd say you speak for the vast majority of both sets of supporters. Get well soon Craig :aok:

28-08-2018, 01:12 AM
I'll have you know that my message of support to Craig Levein was genuine and sincere.
My message was not designed in order to, as you say, "be seen".
Wishing a fellow human being well comes naturally to me.
Evidently, you live in a more cynical world and all I can say is good luck with that!

Have you actually wished him well though, or have you just posted on a messageboard that he won't read?

28-08-2018, 01:35 AM
Have you actually wished him well though, or have you just posted on a messageboard that he won't read?

this really isn't a battle worth fighting man.

get well soon Craig, you maroon ******* :aok:

28-08-2018, 01:40 AM
Not intending to fight, just don’t really get it given he won’t read it or probably care. A lot of it seems to be just for a pat on the back from the other side.

28-08-2018, 02:08 AM
Not intending to fight, just don’t really get it given he won’t read it or probably care. A lot of it seems to be just for a pat on the back from the other side.

It’s not that unlikely that he reads this, or at least reads that he’s had plenty of well wishers from our side.

You’ve got a very cynical perspective on this particular situation.

28-08-2018, 05:48 AM
To paraphrase the song "cheer up Craig Levein" in this instance "get well Craig Levein".

It is only a game and someones health is far more important than football rivalries.

The rest of the song obviously still applies :greengrin

28-08-2018, 07:05 AM
Hoping there is a full recovery for Mr L. Hopefully we'll be flinging abuse at him for a while yet. GWS.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

stuart-farquhar
28-08-2018, 07:06 AM
What's wrong with him? Do we know?

28-08-2018, 07:07 AM

And Hibs fans sing about Wallace Mercer being dead or how he won’t be home for tea. There was also a Hibs fan on Twitter who suggested he was gutted to hear Levein was recovering and that he wanted him in the ground beside Mercer. Both sides have morons in their support. For the majority however it’s a fairly friendly sporting rivalry.

28-08-2018, 08:04 AM

It seems it’s the way of social media.
Careful or you’ll be labelled a weird loser for expressing that sort of opinion.

Chic Murray
28-08-2018, 08:11 AM
What's wrong with him? Do we know?

Accepted knowledge is that he had a heart attack, and has had stents put in. Could just be people jumping to conclusions though, as nothing has come out officially.

28-08-2018, 08:13 AM
Hope your altitude sickness wears off. Get well soon Craig Levein.

28-08-2018, 09:55 AM
And Hibs fans sing about Wallace Mercer being dead or how he won’t be home for tea. There was also a Hibs fan on Twitter who suggested he was gutted to hear Levein was recovering and that he wanted him in the ground beside Mercer. Both sides have morons in their support. For the majority however it’s a fairly friendly sporting rivalry.
It certainly used to be. I'm sure that the Internet has poisoned the well. Hate-filled oafs with nothing better to do can have a field day under the protection of anonymity.

28-08-2018, 11:51 AM

Card in the post to Tynecastle!

28-08-2018, 12:29 PM

Jeezo mate, careful you don't cut yourself on that razor sharp cynicism :confused:

IMO and for what its worth, it may be a strange thing to say but its exactly this type of situation that football needs from time to time to make it realise that its not the be and end all. I'm sure that the vast majority of us aren't going to be tossing and turning in the middle of the night stressing out over Craig Levein's recovery because the vast majority of us don't personally know him or anybody related to him.

But on the other hand its absolutely necessary as football supporters to be able to show that we have more intelligence than these mental folk who attack actors in the street because they play the villain in their favourite soap opera and they don't have the brains to tell the bloody difference. That's what football is in many ways, a soap opera, and in the Hibs v Hearts episode of that soap opera Levein is a hero to some and the villain to others.

In that scenario its entirely appropriate that we as Hibs fans show we can separate the two and genuinely wish the guy a full and speedy recovery for the sake of him, his family, and his friends …. I know I do. Then in the fullness of time he can return to his role of soap opera villain and we can all get back to hurling abuse at the loud mouthed Yam roaster.

So all the best Mr 560 … get well soon :aok:

28-08-2018, 01:23 PM
It seems it’s the way of social media.
Careful or you’ll be labelled a weird loser for expressing that sort of opinion.

Just think it’s pretty sad for a grown man to go out of his way to post “I don’t care” in a thread dedicated to wishing an ill person well. Each to their own though.

28-08-2018, 01:26 PM
What's the latest news? I haven't been keeping up.

28-08-2018, 01:30 PM
As much as I don't like Levein, I don't want to see anyone taken ill, hope it's not too serious and he recovers.

28-08-2018, 04:08 PM
He's an erse and his football is sheight but I would not wish him ill.

So - get well soon Levein - ya big lanky Jambo choob :na na:

28-08-2018, 04:11 PM
Jeezo mate, careful you don't cut yourself on that razor sharp cynicism :confused:

IMO and for what its worth, it may be a strange thing to say but its exactly this type of situation that football needs from time to time to make it realise that its not the be and end all. I'm sure that the vast majority of us aren't going to be tossing and turning in the middle of the night stressing out over Craig Levein's recovery because the vast majority of us don't personally know him or anybody related to him.

But on the other hand its absolutely necessary as football supporters to be able to show that we have more intelligence than these mental folk who attack actors in the street because they play the villain in their favourite soap opera and they don't have the brains to tell the bloody difference. That's what football is in many ways, a soap opera, and in the Hibs v Hearts episode of that soap opera Levein is a hero to some and the villain to others.

In that scenario its entirely appropriate that we as Hibs fans show we can separate the two and genuinely wish the guy a full and speedy recovery for the sake of him, his family, and his friends …. I know I do. Then in the fullness of time he can return to his role of soap opera villain and we can all get back to hurling abuse at the loud mouthed Yam roaster.

Well put NN. Although it was 4-6-0... he’s definitely no gung-ho enough to go without a keeper :)

28-08-2018, 08:21 PM
Football is played by real people, managed by real people, doing a real job. Levein is not playing a ‘character’ on a soap opera FFS. That’s who he is!

28-08-2018, 08:24 PM

You’ve kind of admitted that this is a chance for football fans to “show their intelligence” so you’re agreeing with my point. Do we really wish him well, or is it just a chance to show yourself in a good light?

sh00byd00
28-08-2018, 08:43 PM
You’ve kind of admitted that this is a chance for football fans to “show their intelligence” so you’re agreeing with my point. Do we really wish him well, or is it just a chance to show yourself in a good light?

And you seem to give more ****s than is necessary if what you originally said is your stance on the matter. There is no we. "We" insinuates the person you are talking to speaks for us all. You've made it perfectly clear he doesn't speak for you, nor did he claim that he spoke for anyone other than himself. So why even use the word "we" other than to be an argumentative gob***** just for the sake of being an argumentative gob*****?

No doubt you'll be one of the first on here telling anyone who'll listen how other club fans are classless pricks the next time one of our own ends up in hospital or gets badly injured. That's how it usually pans out.

28-08-2018, 08:53 PM
Is making a big deal about being seen not to care or projecting that appearance not just the antithesis of making a big deal about being seen to care?

If the argument is one position is contrived then surely publicly taking up the opposite position and ensuring you are seen to do so rather than just keeping quiet is equally so.

28-08-2018, 09:15 PM
And you seem to give more ****s than is necessary if what you originally said is your stance on the matter. There is no we. "We" insinuates the person you are talking to speaks for us all. You've made it perfectly clear he doesn't speak for you, nor did he claim that he spoke for anyone other than himself. So why even use the word "we" other than to be an argumentative gob***** just for the sake of being an argumentative gob*****?

No doubt you'll be one of the first on here telling anyone who'll listen how other club fans are classless pricks the next time one of our own ends up in hospital or gets badly injured. That's how it usually pans out.

Ok then not “we”. Great point.

And no I would not be the first on here crying about some other fan group having a go at one of our staff in a similar situation. Nor would I go looking for such comments.

28-08-2018, 09:17 PM
Is making a big deal about being seen not to care or projecting that appearance not just the antithesis of making a big deal about being seen to care?

If the argument is one position is contrived then surely publicly taking up the opposite position and ensuring you are seen to do so rather than just keeping quiet is equally so.

I was merely querying the motivation of some, and this very thread seemed an obvious place to ask the question.

28-08-2018, 09:18 PM
I wish Craig Levein a speedy recovery simply to see his face again after we pump them oh and because I genuinely wish him well.

28-08-2018, 09:29 PM

You dont have to pretend anything. For me, sometimes something like this thread happens and I kind of just leave the thread alone - particularly if I have something less than supportive to say - its someone's life in the balance!

This one, had me thinking - and genuinely found myself feeling sad and wanting him to get better. I replied on that basis. And having reflected on what other people have said on this thread, it has brought it to focus that he (and Hearts in general) is a pantomime villain - rather than an actual one. I'm glad this thread exists as it is a nice thing to be reminded of that.

28-08-2018, 09:39 PM
I hope nobody tells him they're about to sign a striker who is less than 5 foot 8.

28-08-2018, 09:40 PM
Get well soon... 👍

28-08-2018, 10:14 PM

No it's a chance to show yourself in a bad light. There's more to intelligence than logic. There's a few posts on here that empathise with CL's situation because they've gone through similar or have had family who have gone through similar. If you can't understand why people want to show empathy towards CL then that calls your intelligence into question.

28-08-2018, 10:46 PM
No it's a chance to show yourself in a bad light. There's more to intelligence than logic. There's a few posts on here that empathise with CL's situation because they've gone through similar or have had family who have gone through similar. If you can't understand why people want to show empathy towards CL then that calls your intelligence into question.

I can quite understand people who might say "I've had this happen to me and it's not nice", absolutely. It's the rest of the cliches that I'm not getting really. Some of the same people who have probably absolutely slated and detested Levein for years have now suddenly decided football is not even 'real life', those involved in it are just in a giant pantomime, and Levein is playing a character.

Seems a bit two-faced is all I'm saying. And when you look at the Hartley thread about him losing his job, maybe you'll get the picture...

Sympathy and empathy are different FYI.

28-08-2018, 11:37 PM
I can quite understand people who might say "I've had this happen to me and it's not nice", absolutely. It's the rest of the cliches that I'm not getting really. Some of the same people who have probably absolutely slated and detested Levein for years have now suddenly decided football is not even 'real life', those involved in it are just in a giant pantomime, and Levein is playing a character.

Seems a bit two-faced is all I'm saying. And when you look at the Hartley thread about him losing his job, maybe you'll get the picture...

Please understand that because I don't want to continue this discussion doesn't mean I've run out of argumentation, it just means I really can't be arsed debating points that are a given.

DR1875
28-08-2018, 11:49 PM
I think it would be better for him to retire, after all he should consider my pain he has caused in the past hurting my ribs, with me laughing at his anti Hibs quotes then for us sticking it right up him.

29-08-2018, 01:16 AM
Please understand that because I don't want to continue this discussion doesn't mean I've run out of argumentation, it just means I really can't be arsed debating points that are a given.

No idea what you’re on about.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
29-08-2018, 02:13 AM
No idea what you’re on about.

For what it's worth Steve-O, I think I understand what you are saying and maybe even agree with some of it.

But perhaps it's best to leave what Is, ultimately a nice, heart warming thread to be just that and debate the point in the abstract another time, rather than a thread specifically about someone.

29-08-2018, 05:56 AM

So just because our fans can't stand the man and all he stands for football wise, we can't wish him the best when he falls ill, surely all football emotion takes second place when this situation happens, pantomime villain or not he's still a human being.

29-08-2018, 01:37 PM
Maybe someone should start a ---k Craig levein thread, if folk don´t like this one?
I might even join it masel?

29-08-2018, 06:43 PM

I have no time for Craig Levein, I never have and probably never will. However he hasn't done anything to personally hurt me. I'm only going on the way he conducts himself in a football environment and the fact that he is clearly a huge Hearts fan and has little time for Hibs. In a football environment, I feel he is a fair target for a bit of banter and, dare I say it, some abuse up to a certain point obviously.

I think there has to be a distinction made between Craig Levein the Hibs loathing Hearts manager and former player and Craig Levein the human being who is a son, nephew, husband etc. who is recovering from a health issue which has required a hospital admission.

I have no intention of going overboard in my sympathy and would like to leave it by simply saying that I wouldn't wish ill-health on him. I cannot understand why that makes me two-faced when I'm singing the "Cheer up Craig Levein" song the next time we win a derby.

29-08-2018, 07:17 PM
I have no time for Craig Levein, I never have and probably never will. However he hasn't done anything to personally hurt me. I'm only going on the way he conducts himself in a football environment and the fact that he is clearly a huge Hearts fan and has little time for Hibs. In a football environment, I feel he is a fair target for a bit of banter and, dare I say it, some abuse up to a certain point obviously.

I think there has to be a distinction made between Craig Levein the Hibs loathing Hearts manager and former player and Craig Levein the human being who is a son, nephew, husband etc. who is recovering from a health issue which has required a hospital admission.

I have no intention of going overboard in my sympathy and would like to leave it by simply saying that I wouldn't wish ill-health on him. I cannot understand why that makes me two-faced when I'm singing the "Cheer up Craig Levein" song the next time we win a derby.

You misunderstand me. I’ve never said I do, or any of us should, wish ill health on him. It’s the gushing get well soon sentiment that has surprised me a bit.

Levein is still Levein the human being when he’s being an absolute erse while he’s at work, so I don’t really draw that distinction.

I’ll leave this thread by pondering whether this panto villain wished his teammate well when he was recovering from his broken jaw that time...

30-08-2018, 11:04 AM
https://i.gyazo.com/46e47e8798d9a0cf46849cd325cb95ee.png

30-08-2018, 11:10 AM
Yes rumoured to be a heart attack.

30-08-2018, 12:10 PM
I am greatly amused by the idea of this thread - passing Yams will be greatly touched I am sure as they behold a seven page thread devoted to heartfelt messages of support wishing Craig Levein well. Only to open it up and discover that about 50% of it is a debate as to whether we can still take the pish out him now he's in the hospital :tee hee:

PS - I'm sure Craig would get it though - delighted to hear he is sitting up in his bed and feeling a lot better :aok:

30-08-2018, 12:12 PM
I hope nobody tells him they're about to sign a striker who is less than 5 foot 8.

:rotflmao::not worth

30-08-2018, 12:24 PM

That's good news. :agree:

30-08-2018, 12:25 PM

Aye but he won’t read any of this so why bother posting. 🙈

Good news though. He’ll need to maybe avoid the derby, the stress of his team getting humped won’t be good for him.

30-08-2018, 01:33 PM
Levein will stay at home but will still pick the team for their game at the weekend after beginning the season unbeaten.

Someone, somewhere in Tynecastle is currently plugging in a 2012 model, lithuanian branded fax machine and is getting all dewy eyed at the nostalgia of it all.

30-08-2018, 03:36 PM
CCU - Coronary Care Unit.

Not read all the thread but the stent story the other day was obviously not far off the mark.

My advice to him would be that there are more important things in life than football and I would seriously consider the way forward.

30-08-2018, 03:52 PM
Only just caught this news this afternoon and plesaed to hear he's on the mend. Don't get me wrong, I hope he suffers miserably in their dugout for the rest of the season, but purely from a footballing rivalry perspective. I wish CL nothing but a full recovery.

When I was still a student, living in Dundee (when he was United manager), I ended up sitting beside him one evening in the Starbucks in the Borders book shop. We ended up chatting for about an hour about all things football, Hearts and Hibs. He had just finished a training session and had gone for a coffee to unwind afterward but was more than happy chatting to some random guy beside him about football, even after discovering my own allegiances!

As many have said before. Some things just transcend footballing rivalry!

30-08-2018, 04:04 PM
Craig Levein acknowledged and thanked Hibs supporters who wished him well.
This, for me, is validation that our "sincere" get well thread was not in vain.

30-08-2018, 04:46 PM
Craig Levein acknowledged and thanked Hibs supporters who wished him well.
This, for me, is validation that our "sincere" get well thread was not in vain.

He might not read Hibs.net but clearly he is aware of the good wishes from ‘our friends across the city’.

This is like the thawing in relations between North and South Korea!

30-08-2018, 04:55 PM

He might not read Hibs.net but clearly he is aware of the good wishes from ‘our friends across the city’.

I find it quite amusing that he didn't use our actual name in his post. :greengrin

30-08-2018, 05:02 PM
I find it quite amusing that he didn't use our actual name in his post. :greengrinHey!

At least he didn't say "That particular club" :D

Anyhoos... get well soon ya jambo git.

30-08-2018, 07:32 PM

Seoul = vibrant and modern, like Easter Road.

Pyongyang = decrepit and brutal, like the PBS.

30-08-2018, 07:37 PM
Yes rumoured to be a heart attack.

I’ve already wished Craig a good recovery but couldn’t resist a wee smile at the ironic oxymoron - Heart(s) attack. :greengrin

30-08-2018, 07:47 PM
Seoul = vibrant and modern, like Easter Road.

Pyongyang = decrepit and brutal, like the PBS.

Hi beerr nian - In an uplifting forward thinking aspirational tone.

Jambo Jambo Jambo.

30-08-2018, 07:57 PM
Now that Levein is at home recovering, can I just say he is a total and utter f*nny.

30-08-2018, 08:06 PM
Now that Levein is at home recovering, can I just say he is a total and utter f*nny.

Yes my view as well. He is well on road to recovery and has a date to return to football.

On the field I wish him misery and heavy defeats and a tumble down the league.

30-08-2018, 09:15 PM

Huw.. you've taken that too far.. :greengrin

I wish craig all the best like.. but