View Full Version : Ryan porteous

rotherhamrob
25-08-2018, 04:01 PM
I thought he was solid today.
He's going to be massive for us and he's going to make us a fortune. The future's bright with talent like that coming through.

25-08-2018, 04:02 PM
played well today, seems more assured on the ball now as well

Terrific tackle in the last seconds too [emoji23][emoji23]

He looks mature beyond his years. I was impressed with him today.

25-08-2018, 04:06 PM
Done very well today.

25-08-2018, 04:06 PM
A future star player for sure, solid and getting better all the time.

coco22
25-08-2018, 04:09 PM
Very calm and collected today. Brilliant

dalkeith stu
25-08-2018, 04:17 PM
Terrific tackle in the last seconds too [emoji23][emoji23]

Why? Exactly what Constantine and Logan done to Boyle!! Took one for the team!!

25-08-2018, 04:17 PM

What what?

25-08-2018, 04:19 PM

He did say terrific. :greengrin

He done the right thing, as did Mallan. Don't get me started on the Aberdeen players who done it to Boyle though! :panic:

dalkeith stu
25-08-2018, 04:23 PM
He did say terrific. :greengrin

He done the right thing, as did Mallan. Don't get me started on the Aberdeen players who done it to Boyle though! :panic:
Oops!! Perhaps shouldn't be on here while driving!!!

25-08-2018, 04:24 PM

25-08-2018, 04:27 PM

I’d say he’s already a star player for us. Will go far in the game, and potentially more valuable to us than McGinn for future transfer fees.

25-08-2018, 04:28 PM
Imperious.

Seekyit
25-08-2018, 04:28 PM
Porteous was great today. Didn’t put a foot wrong barring a wayward pass 2nd half (ref stopped the game for Gray injury). Not sure it was his fault he had to chop Mackay S.

25-08-2018, 04:41 PM

Definitely not :bitchy:

25-08-2018, 04:44 PM
May wasn’t winning anything from him so he moved to Hanlon which is when Aberdeen came into game

Johnny Clash
25-08-2018, 04:49 PM
Wasn’t taking any sh*t fromAberdeen players either. Great performance.

25-08-2018, 04:53 PM
Tackle he had to make. And I'm all for it when they were doing the same. Good game all around.

cabbage_88
25-08-2018, 04:57 PM
The big man played really well today, looked composed, passing was good and tackling was good.

Caught sleeping a bit at the end their though before he had to give away that free kick but he'll learn from that. Future Scotland centre half.

25-08-2018, 04:59 PM
Great prospect. Has all the attributes to be super defender at a high level.

25-08-2018, 05:05 PM
If that clown who's name escapes me had brought down wayne ****in forster, we might have not lost that cup tie against the gunts.

Porteous is a man, who's way ahead of his years.

Hannah_hfc
25-08-2018, 05:11 PM
As much as I love McGregor would love to see Porteous keep his place in the team. One of the most promising youngsters we’ve had come through in years

whereswallace?
25-08-2018, 05:17 PM
His best performance so far.

25-08-2018, 05:18 PM
How does one drop this up and coming star.

He looks entirely at home as a centre half.

Dancehibs
25-08-2018, 05:19 PM
Porteous was great today. Didn’t put a foot wrong barring a wayward pass 2nd half (ref stopped the game for Gray injury). Not sure it was his fault he had to chop Mackay S.
He was solid until that incident. He was ball watching and GMS got the ball. I’d can’t wait to see Daz and Ryan playing together. Zero tolerance defending. Lovely. Hopefully smamshing sc**bos

Dancehibs
25-08-2018, 05:21 PM
As much as I love McGregor would love to see Porteous keep his place in the team. One of the most promising youngsters we’ve had come through in years

He doesn’t have daz physical presence yet. It will come. Daz hits you and you don’t come back.

Leitherhibs
25-08-2018, 05:22 PM
10mil defender, easy.

nellio
25-08-2018, 05:24 PM
He's superb. For his age he's phenomenal.

Green forever
25-08-2018, 05:26 PM
If that clown who's name escapes me had brought down wayne ****in forster, we might have not lost that cup tie against the gunts.

Dave Beaumont was the culprit there...

25-08-2018, 05:30 PM
Ryan Porteous is now, without question, first team regular material - giving Neil Lennon a pleasant headache when choosing a central defender.
He is the equivalent of a brand new solid signing.

Lee Marvin
25-08-2018, 05:58 PM
Ryan Porteous is now, without question, first team material - giving Neil Lennon a pleasant headache when choosing a central defender.
He is the equivalent of a brand new solid signing.

Out best defender so far this season, imo.

gazzag70
25-08-2018, 06:01 PM
Porteous is going on to greater heights. For his age he is magnificent, the sky is the limit for him.

25-08-2018, 06:07 PM
Had an absolutely brilliant tackle in the first half where he clearly won the ball but the inept son of Dallas gave a free-kick against him

hibsquaker
25-08-2018, 06:09 PM
The rock. His passing and distribution is also getting better.

25-08-2018, 06:16 PM
Ryan Pique

25-08-2018, 06:21 PM
Out best defender so far this season, imo.

:agree::agree:

25-08-2018, 06:54 PM
Had an absolutely brilliant tackle in the first half where he clearly won the ball but the inept son of Dallas gave a free-kick against him

That was unbelievable, he so clearly got the ball

25-08-2018, 06:58 PM
Dave Beumeant

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

itslegaltender
25-08-2018, 07:00 PM
That was unbelievable, he so clearly got the ball

Think the red blew for a foul just before Ryan’s tackle.

25-08-2018, 07:01 PM
Think the red blew for a foul just before Ryan’s tackle.

Aye, it was given for a foul just before the tackle.

Robbo6-2
25-08-2018, 07:02 PM
19 year old and performing like that.

Absolutely brilliant.

MOM by a mile

25-08-2018, 07:05 PM
Top man.

I actually feel sorry for the lad, he's clearly gone from being an infant to a man and bypassed most of his childhood.

25-08-2018, 07:10 PM
Aye, it was given for a foul just before the tackle.

:agree: Hanlon fouled the boy I think - Dallas pointed at Hanlon so we all knew...

25-08-2018, 07:12 PM
Definitely not :bitchy:

The kind of client you'd love

25-08-2018, 07:28 PM
How long is Ryan’s current contract?

25-08-2018, 07:28 PM
Porteous has lied about his age.

There is no way he can be that good at reading the game if he's only 19.

25-08-2018, 07:30 PM
Going to keep on improving going to get better and better! Keep saying it on here.

GMS should have received a straight red for his retaliation on him.

I am so glad he is not out on loan as another poster suggested!

Without him we would be struggling!

I thought he showed a lot of composure today and stood up well to the physical challenge posed by the Aberdeen forwards.

25-08-2018, 07:37 PM
Porteous nearly caused a riot in Edinburgh today ;)

Keyser Sauzee
25-08-2018, 07:47 PM
He’s ahead of McGregor now and I think that will be the case until Darren leaves or hangs his boots up.

25-08-2018, 07:58 PM
Just watched his interview for hibs TV, brilliant, such an articulate & confident young man. Also has no fear of Livingston's artificial surface grew up playing on them, likes them.

25-08-2018, 07:59 PM
He wasn’t just solid or decent - he was magnificent. He’s scarily good- 2 years younger than Scott McKenna and almost as good already.

25-08-2018, 08:02 PM
Loves a slide tackle does young Ryan. Looking forward to him putting Yuckpeasoup on his ar$e.

25-08-2018, 09:11 PM
Looks like he's been playing for years, so mature, solid in the tackle and calm on the ball, thankfully he's on a long contact, a future star for us.

25-08-2018, 09:26 PM
Dave ****in Beaumont!! Got a medal for hee haw.
Retired from football to join the police. A horrible imposter of a central defender 😱😱😱

However, Ryan Porteous on the other hand, looks like an absolute legend in the making!

Gaffer1875
25-08-2018, 10:47 PM
Ryan Porteous will be a future Hibs captain, Scotland international and a multi million pound player to a top team in England. He is absolute class.

25-08-2018, 11:31 PM
Built like a tank, composed in possession, mature beyond his years, reads the game superbly, high in confidence and keeps it all simple. He'll walk into the Scotland team when he's ready.

Sincerely hope we have him on a long contract. Loved watching him today.

25-08-2018, 11:39 PM

It was Hanlon's fault. He dived into a tackle and was taken out the game. Porteous then had to take out GMS to stop him getting in on goal.

RP is now firmly part of the first team and getting great experience this season.
Daz is getting lots of injuries and Efe is in the last year of his contract.
Ryan is ready to take over from either of them when the time comes.

26-08-2018, 12:05 AM
Anyone think we should send him out on loan, no i didnt think so? :greengrin

Ryan69
26-08-2018, 12:14 AM
Dave ****in Beaumont!! Got a medal for hee haw.
Retired from football to join the police. A horrible imposter of a central defender 😱😱😱

However, Ryan Porteous on the other hand, looks like an absolute legend in the making!

Plus he bottled it...when he could of taken Wayne Foster out.

26-08-2018, 03:32 AM
Dave Beaumont was the culprit there...

The man who got a League Cup medal without kicking a ball

26-08-2018, 05:17 AM
Ryan put in a fantastic sliding challenge in the first half, perfectly timed got all of the ball, non of the Aberdeen man

But that idiot Dallas gave Aberdeen the free kick! Was Porteous just showing studs during the tackle (oooh er misses)

The tackle was perfect and summed up his full performance

Brilliant job Ryan, keep that up and you’ll go all the way to the top

26-08-2018, 05:22 AM
Needed a sniper in the old main stand to take Foster oot that day :greengrin

Beaumont was an imposter!

26-08-2018, 06:59 AM
Future captain. Delighted he has signed a long contract.

26-08-2018, 07:23 AM
Ryan put in a fantastic sliding challenge in the first half, perfectly timed got all of the ball, non of the Aberdeen man

But that idiot Dallas gave Aberdeen the free kick! Was Porteous just showing studs during the tackle (oooh er misses)

The tackle was perfect and summed up his full performance

Brilliant job Ryan, keep that up and you’ll go all the way to the top

It’s on another thread however apparently the free kick was awarded for a previous challenge.

26-08-2018, 07:29 AM
It’s on another thread however apparently the free kick was awarded for a previous challenge.

Yeah, Hanlon had the slightest of tugs on the boy's arm before Porteous' challenge.

26-08-2018, 07:31 AM
We have another young center half, O'Conner, who is captain of Scotland U17's coming behind Ryan.

26-08-2018, 07:36 AM

Must have missed that while watching the game and the other post

Cheers Keith

26-08-2018, 07:39 AM
Ryan is a brick house. Love his attitude to the game, reads it so well, and going to have a huge future in the game.

Talks very well for a young man too, as per his interviews.

26-08-2018, 07:41 AM

Whittaker had a wee tug at the guys jersey which the ref let go, Porteous won the ball cleanly but Dallas pulled it back for the initial tug on the jersey, actually for once good refereeing by Dallas. Similar thing happened later on down our right hand side when he pulled play back for an initial challenge I think was on Gray.

26-08-2018, 07:42 AM
Yeah, Hanlon had the slightest of tugs on the boy's arm before Porteous' challenge.

Was it Hanlon, I thought it was Whittaker, no matter who though as it was a foul anyway.

26-08-2018, 08:35 AM
Ryan had a great game but a lack of concentration (along with efe) cost us a goal today.

Barring that this lad is going to have a big big future in the game.

26-08-2018, 01:56 PM
I this laddie is the real deal. I know it’s a big claim but I think he’ll make us more more money than Scott Brown did

26-08-2018, 02:02 PM
I this laddie is the real deal. I know it’s a big claim but I think he’ll make us more more money than Scott Brown did

Hope thats not gonna be for some time yet, can see him as future Scotland C.H. for years to come.