View Full Version : SJM on Sky tonight

22-08-2018, 06:05 PM
Home to Brentford live on Sky.

22-08-2018, 06:07 PM
Starting too. Assist in each game so far. Looking forward to seeing how he does.

On another point sky are doing every game live on red button not seen that before.

22-08-2018, 06:08 PM
Could be a decent game this, not a bad side Brentford (thats put a curse on them, 4-0 Villa then :greengrin)

AugustaHibs
22-08-2018, 06:34 PM
232 career appearances at the age of 23 is incredible

22-08-2018, 06:39 PM
232 career appearances at the age of 23 is incredible

Really? It's only ten games a year…

22-08-2018, 06:46 PM
Gon yersel SJM 💚

murray26
22-08-2018, 06:46 PM
Tuned in..👍 come on John..

22-08-2018, 06:54 PM
https://scontent.fltn2-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/39875611_10155686218458309_8382450112114196480_n.j pg?_nc_cat=0&oh=1cdc3c4e096a8965cded9c839f3afa53&oe=5BF057EE

22-08-2018, 06:56 PM
Maroon of Villa looks same as diarrhoea shirts of Brentford. What were they thinking ?

22-08-2018, 06:56 PM
Is it wrong to still have a man crush for someone else’s player 😭

Bob Box Fish
22-08-2018, 06:59 PM
They are singing the SJM song

22-08-2018, 07:00 PM

ken :boo hoo::boo hoo:

22-08-2018, 07:04 PM

Just doesn’t seem right. Suppose imitation is the greatest form of flattery though.

The "... from Hibernian..." version?

This is like when you see your ex with another guy and she still looks just as good as she did when you last saw her...and you start singing your favourite song in your head as he sings it to her...

WillowbraeHibby
22-08-2018, 07:07 PM

2nd page from the Villa Talk forum.. Match thread..
McGinn . what a buy A proper midfielder

22-08-2018, 07:09 PM
Time to move on boys.....

22-08-2018, 07:09 PM
1-0 the 🐝

22-08-2018, 07:12 PM

22-08-2018, 07:16 PM

Agree :agree:, are we going to get a thread inhere every time villa are on TV? :confused:

22-08-2018, 07:16 PM
Villa are rubbish.

22-08-2018, 07:18 PM
Agree :agree:, are we going to get a thread inhere every time villa are on TV? :confused:

What if we do?

If it’s not of interest to people don’t read it.

22-08-2018, 07:19 PM
Really? It's only ten games a year…

22-08-2018, 07:20 PM
McGinn playing with a bunch of overpaid, over-hyped huddies like Hutton. Step up in wages only.

22-08-2018, 07:26 PM
Not convinced the standard is much better than SPFL. Adomah is *****.

22-08-2018, 07:26 PM
1-1
Assist from SJM in that he won ball back in true SJM style!!

Bob Box Fish
22-08-2018, 07:27 PM
Villa playing better now. Good goal and nice passing football. Mcginn playing well.

22-08-2018, 07:28 PM
Sorry fellas disagree. The Championship in England is a very competitive league. Ask SJM :wink: take your tartan tinted specs off for a minute :greengrin

MagicSwirlingShip
22-08-2018, 07:28 PM
Villa crying out for a winger for SJM to feed with those quarterback like passes over the top.

22-08-2018, 07:29 PM
Villa playing better now. Good goal and nice passing football. Mcginn playing well.

If McGinn keeps this up he’ll not have to wait for Villa to get promoted to play in the premier league

22-08-2018, 07:29 PM
What if we do?

👏

Cannae believe folk join threads to state their disappproval that they exist! Easiest thing in the world just to not click on it!

McGinn will always be of interest to many Hibs fans and quite rightly so.

22-08-2018, 07:30 PM
Stamp on SJM, should have been a red card.

1-1
Assist from SJM in that he won ball back in true SJM style!!
Classic McGinn there. It’s a mix of pain and pride watching him do his stuff.

Grealish and SJM in the Championship is some central midfield combo.

Bad stamp on McGinn. Poor that.

22-08-2018, 07:31 PM
Sorry fellas disagree. The Championship in England is a very competitive league. Ask SJM :wink: take your tartan tinted specs off for a minute :greengrin

I watched a lot of the Championship when Newcastle were down there. I'd agree it's competitive but it's also pretty mediocre.

You can usually pick out 2 or 3 very good teams, the same number who are total garbage and much of the rest is just a big bang average sludge.

Absolute shocker.

One thing that is the same standard as the spfl is the refereeing

22-08-2018, 07:32 PM
If McGinn keeps this up he’ll not have to wait for Villa to get promoted to play in the premier league

McGinn exactly the type of player you'd want in your side to get out of the EC. But destined for bigger things.

22-08-2018, 07:32 PM

Cowardly, snide behaviour, couldnae even call it a challenge.

SJNB Hibby
22-08-2018, 07:33 PM
ALSO Dylan on the bench for Sunderland tonight

Bob Box Fish
22-08-2018, 07:34 PM
Grealish and SJM in the Championship is some central midfield combo.

Cracking combo.

22-08-2018, 07:35 PM
I watched a lot of the Championship when Newcastle were down there. I'd agree it's competitive but it's also pretty mediocre.

You can usually pick out 2 or 3 very good teams, the same number who are total garbage and much of the rest is just a big bang average sludge.

:agree: Physically bigger but no better than the SPFL.

22-08-2018, 07:39 PM
You need to have a bit of a physical presence to stand a chance in that league.

It's not a surprise that SJM is thriving.

He's got the physicality as well as that little bit extra.

Tonight's the first time I've seen him play for Villa and tbh he's no less dominant for them than he was for us - he's a cracking talent.

22-08-2018, 07:41 PM
The most hearts attempt at a "tackle" just before half time on mcginn

22-08-2018, 07:41 PM
The Championship's been a mind-numbing hoofball-fest for years but Wolves and Fulham played some nice stuff last season and it's looking much better this season.

22-08-2018, 07:43 PM
Could McGinn leave Villa in January? The way he’s playing he’s going to have EPL clubs queuing round the block for him.

murray26
22-08-2018, 07:47 PM
Very good 1st half from mcginn.. keep it up.. horrible cowardly Steven Naismithesque challenge on him that should see a retrospective red..

22-08-2018, 07:49 PM
Could McGinn leave Villa in January? The way he’s playing he’s going to have EPL clubs queuing round the block for him.
He’s a man of honour. He’ll stay and win the league with the Villa.

22-08-2018, 07:50 PM
Not when it’s worth £120M to get into the top league.

22-08-2018, 07:50 PM
What if we do?

Indeed 👍

Tornadoes70
22-08-2018, 07:53 PM
��

Cannae believe folk join threads to state their disappproval that they exist! Easiest thing in the world just to not click on it!

McGinn will always be of interest to many Hibs fans and quite rightly so.

Exactly this.

i'm sure the vast majority of us want to see SJM doing well at AV and progress his career ever upwards.

RobR27
22-08-2018, 07:59 PM
Exactly this.

i'm sure the vast majority of us want to see SJM doing well at AV and progress his career ever upwards.

Plus the possible sell on could be a gamechanger for us.

22-08-2018, 08:00 PM
The Championship's been a mind-numbing hoofball-fest for years but Wolves and Fulham played some nice stuff last season and it's looking much better this season.

Not being funny mate but you think the likes of Dundee, Hamilton et al serve up Brazil 1970 week in week out? Dont get me wrong Im not knocking the SPL, more defending the the English Championship. We have teams in the SPL that couldnt put three passes together to save their lives. Any Scottish football fan based in England has to constantly fight the pub league jibe week in week out, Im no different and Im English, "why do you support Hibs? Scottish football is **** etc"" you've heard it all before Im sure. Theres a great level of competitiveness in the English championship and I'd say a decent standard of football. The Bundesliga 2 in Germany is very competitive, I'd say for tier two these are the best in Europe.

22-08-2018, 08:03 PM
Villa are pretty good to watch.

Grealish is tricky, Kodjia quick and I quite like Hutton tanking forward.

weedgiehibbie
22-08-2018, 08:06 PM

Could very well :agree: I've always thought and said to mates the best career move for McGinn was to the championship down south. The way the English footballing media hype up average players in that league they would be raving about McGinn who quality wise is fantastic and will pee all lover that league and very soon get a massive move to the Premiership - perhaps even abroad.

22-08-2018, 08:10 PM
BTW does anyone know if we had a sell on clause? :wink:

22-08-2018, 08:11 PM
Commentator saying Mcginn was signed for under £3m

vuefrom1875
22-08-2018, 08:14 PM

Our song gadgie!

22-08-2018, 08:19 PM
Not being funny mate but you think the likes of Dundee, Hamilton et al serve up Brazil 1970 week in week out? Dont get me wrong Im not knocking the SPL, more defending the the English Championship. We have teams in the SPL that couldnt put three passes together to save their lives. Any Scottish football fan based in England has to constantly fight the pub league jibe week in week out, Im no different and Im English, "why do you support Hibs? Scottish football is **** etc"" you've heard it all before Im sure. Theres a great level of competitiveness in the English championship and I'd say a decent standard of football. The Bundesliga 2 in Germany is very competitive, I'd say for tier two these are the best in Europe.

At least most SPL teams (hearts excepted) try to play passing football. I'm really enjoying the Championship this season as I said but it's been awash with long ball stuff for years as far as I'm concerned.

22-08-2018, 08:21 PM
Dylan on now for Sunderland, 4-1 up.

22-08-2018, 08:22 PM
Our song gadgie!

Good the more people know and hear about him down there the b£tt£r.

Ilovehibs
22-08-2018, 08:22 PM
Our song gadgie!

Commenter now claiming Villa fans have nicknamed him McGinniesta...they've nicked that too...all too painful!

22-08-2018, 08:33 PM
Villa strikers are hopeless-no heart.As for playing Hutton at left back while having a right back who doesn’t know what planet he’s on,very strange.

22-08-2018, 08:36 PM
Villa strikers are hopeless-no heart.As for playing Hutton at left back while having a right back who doesn’t know what planet he’s on,very strange.

Hutton appears to be quite popular down there too which is strange.

I’d be amazed if a team playing Hutton at left back gets promoted.

22-08-2018, 08:38 PM
Brentford look good this season.

22-08-2018, 08:40 PM
2-2

22-08-2018, 08:46 PM
Villa are basically hibs. Much the better side but keep shipping goals.

22-08-2018, 08:54 PM
Commentator saying Mcginn was signed for under £3m

:agree: and you'd think from Celtic the way they're going on about them :rolleyes:

22-08-2018, 09:00 PM
Super Leeds running away with the league..

albeit just on goal difference the now :)

22-08-2018, 09:11 PM
Villa are pretty good to watch.

Grealish is tricky, Kodjia quick and I quite like Hutton tanking forward.

Poor mans Scotty Allan.

MagicSwirlingShip
22-08-2018, 09:18 PM
Poor mans Scotty Allan.

Lots of nice touches without much end product. Crazy the money that Spurs were rumoured to be shelling out for him.

22-08-2018, 09:20 PM
Lots of nice touches without much end product. Crazy the money that Spurs were rumoured to be shelling out for him.

Very one paced and a total liability defensively.

22-08-2018, 09:21 PM

In terms of Spurs income, what they offered for Grealish was of no significant impact to their budget.

22-08-2018, 09:23 PM
I thought he had quite a nice burst of pace after he'd dropped the shoulder.

They had decent pace on both flanks, a strong and skilful striker and Grealish just behind him. Nothing much came from his play tonight, but I thought he looked useful, worth having. When you've got a John McGinn you can carry a player like Grealish or Allan.

They still got 2 goals, even though they probably deserved more.

Stick Paul Hanlon in their defence and they are a good side imo.

22-08-2018, 09:29 PM
Not quite sure why Steve Bruce thinks Jedinak is a centre back, Villa fans I know (all two of them) just dont get this at all. Always thought he was a defensively midfield midfield player its a bit like playing Marv as a center back for us.

22-08-2018, 09:44 PM
Was at the game tonight, Grealish is a good player but is a bit greedy for me. SJM fell out the game in the second half but god we miss his drive , tackling and vision. Otherwise a good game which Villa should have won

MagicSwirlingShip
22-08-2018, 10:42 PM
In terms of Spurs income, what they offered for Grealish was of no significant impact to their budget.

Regardless of Spurs budget, the figures quoted were rediculous considering his skill set. Very over rated in my opinion.

22-08-2018, 10:52 PM
Regardless of Spurs budget, the figures quoted were rediculous considering his skill set. Very over rated in my opinion.

Football transfer fees are ridiculous full stop. But in the current era a player is worth what someone is willing to pay, also based on what the buying team has in terms of finance and the market they operating in.

Grealish is a decent player and in the Championship he and SJM will form a pretty formidable central midfield pairing.

MagicSwirlingShip
22-08-2018, 10:53 PM
Football transfer fees are ridiculous full stop. But in the current era a player is worth what someone is willing to pay, also based on what the buying team has in terms of finance and the market they operating in.

Grealish is a decent player and in the Championship he and SJM will form a pretty formidable central midfield pairing.

Going all out on this one but I think our midfield that finished last season is better than the one Villa had out tonight.

22-08-2018, 10:56 PM
Going all out on this one but I think our midfield that finished last season is better than the one Villa had out tonight.

Its all subjective mate. We did have a cracking midfield in Dylan, SJM and Allan, a pleasure to watch.

23-08-2018, 07:28 AM
Was at the game tonight, Grealish is a good player but is a bit greedy for me. SJM fell out the game in the second half but god we miss his drive , tackling and vision. Otherwise a good game which Villa should have won

Grealish looks like one of these players where it’s all about him. What on earth did he take that corner for late in the game? SJM had been taking them all game and then when they need a goal (which SJM has provided 3 assists from crosses for already this season) he decides he’s taking the corner then sticks it directly onto the roof of the net?!

Come January SJM will be established as their main man. He’ll be playing in the EPL next season one way or another.

23-08-2018, 08:07 AM

I was at QPR on Tuesday. Bloody awful.

23-08-2018, 08:38 AM
I was at QPR on Tuesday. Bloody awful.

As footy fans Iggy we've probably all seen more bad or so/so games than good ones. I guess thats football, we live for those classics.

banarc7062
23-08-2018, 08:57 AM
What if we do?

Fully agree. Some of us like to see how someone who helped us is progressing and as the poster states don't read it if of no interest to you. GGTTH

23-08-2018, 09:27 AM
https://www.instagram.com/p/BmqbZlND-aR/?utm_source=ig_share_sheet&igshid=1s3oxebllow3a

If that was Scottish football the English would be all over it like a rash.

On SJM i really wish him well. Especially with the rumoured £2m that'll come our way if Villa win promotion!

Heckys Wheel
23-08-2018, 10:55 AM
Another great performance from him last night. Looks like he’s been playing there for years.

Has the physicality required for that league and is obviously still improving almost game on game.

A gem of a player with an attitude to match. If he doesn’t go to the Prem with Villa, he’ll get his move there. Scotland captain of the future without doubt.

Terraced94
23-08-2018, 04:30 PM
Live with a couple of Villa fans and they rave about Grealish. Can't see it personally. If he was as good as he's claimed to be he'd be playing in the PL already. Look at Dele - similar age, playing comfortably at the top level. SJM has walked into that midfield as the best player, easily.