View Full Version : Range Rover Evoque

20-08-2018, 06:47 PM
The wife has got it into her head that she wants an Evoque. I noticed that Arnold Clark have acquired a good dozen or so 2016 plates which are the facelift model with the new engine.

Does anyone have any knowledge of these motors? All the review websites are too commercialised for my liking.

20-08-2018, 06:53 PM
Look for an owners forum. Bound to be one.

Magnus
20-08-2018, 07:12 PM
Friend of mine had one (dont remember which model) and he ended up getting rid of it after multiple problems with warning lights and sensors.
As Jack says, there is an owners forum http://www.evoqueownersclub.co.uk/forum/
Owners tips and information part has some handy info

20-08-2018, 07:19 PM
Thanks folks, appreciated.

20-08-2018, 07:25 PM
Lovely looking car.

Zilch boot space.

Incredible off road abilities.

Heavy gearing and poor fuel consumption as a result.

I bought a brand new Discovery Sport last January. It had so many faults, I ended up getting all my money back after a month.

I was given an Evoque as a courtesy car for a few weeks while they assessed my DS.

It wouldn't be my choice now, but my wife likes them too.

20-08-2018, 08:00 PM
Friend of mine had one (dont remember which model) and he ended up getting rid of it after multiple problems with warning lights and sensors.
As Jack says, there is an owners forum http://www.evoqueownersclub.co.uk/forum/
Owners tips and information part has some handy info

Thanks. I was in the pub and didn't have time to be so helpful :-)

Tornadoes70
20-08-2018, 08:15 PM
i've a newish VW Golf which is a turbo and is quick off the mark and fairly takes off when the turbo kicks in but the car you're referring to zoomed past me when the lights changed going onto the bypass at Sheriffhall roundabout. Think it may have been an automatic the way it zoomed off in the distance in front of me. Lovely looking car, mind you I'd be very reluctant to swap my VW Golf as its a great all rounder and the sat nav is just superb.

patch1875
20-08-2018, 09:40 PM
Old freelander in a pretty frock.

Electrical problems like most Land Rover/Jaguars

20-08-2018, 10:12 PM
Diesel car? Becoming as socially cceptable to drive one as to fart in a lift. Expect resale prices to plummet.

21-08-2018, 06:41 AM
Diesel car? Becoming as socially cceptable to drive one as to fart in a lift. Expect resale prices to plummet.

Diesel is absolutely fine financially speaking as long as you aren't buying it outright or on HP. So if you are taking it on a lease deal you've a guaranteed minimum value at the end which protects you should the erchie fall out of the diesel car market (which it will at some point).

Ironically diesels are nowhere near as bad environmentally as publicity makes them out to be - particularly the modern ones.

However the Range Rover Evoque is basically more of an accessory than a car as far as I'm concerned. I'd either go the full Range Rover or not at all. But all that off road capability for what? Does she own a farm or travel long wintry distances to work? :greengrin

If you've the money for one of those perhaps you should be seriously considering something electric or dual fuel? That's a jump most people will probably have to make sooner or later and there's a lot of financial support for buying one.

green leaves
21-08-2018, 02:31 PM
I wouldn't,similar to Audi they're exclusively driven by ****s.
It also opens the chicken and egg question are they bought by ****s or do you become s **** by owning one?

21-08-2018, 03:00 PM
It also opens the chicken and egg question are they bought by ****s or do you become s **** by owning one?

How are you getting on with your Audi cowie?

The new Land Rover Velar is proving to be a difficult car to sell and you can get a decent price (very decent!) from struggling dealers H18S FR.

21-08-2018, 03:22 PM

These type of posts always make me laugh...they take sweeping generalisation to a new level! And no I don’t drive an Audi 🤪

As for an Evoque...well you are really just buying the badge. They are similar sized to an X1 or Q3 but generally a wee chunk of change more expensive for no more car.

Can see why the Mrs would like the looks of it though.

21-08-2018, 03:44 PM
Thank God I'm not married if that is what you have to be buying these days.

Alfiembra
21-08-2018, 03:49 PM
I'd be very reluctant to swap my VW Golf as its a great all rounder and the sat nav is just superb.

Got a 63 plate Golf myself and can't say I'm liking the Sat Nav at all, many's the time it's taken me a roundabout route still to update the version though as it's not got the new bridge on it yet. Similarly I'm not that impressed with the performance it's a 2.0tdi GT (150bhp) and my old 2.0tdi mk6 (140bhp) was much quicker and loads more torque, mind you I didn't let VW get there mitts on it and reprogramme it after the emissions scandal. The new one has a real flat spot below 1500revs.

21-08-2018, 03:51 PM
Got a 63 plate Golf myself and can't say I'm liking the Sat Nav at all, many's the time it's taken me a roundabout route still to update the version though as it's not got the new bridge on it yet. Similarly I'm not that impressed with the performance it's a 2.0tdi GT (150bhp) and my old 2.0tdi mk6 (140bhp) was much quicker and loads more torque, mind you I didn't let VW get there mitts on it and reprogramme it after the emissions scandal. The new one has a real flat spot below 1500revs.

Is it just me, or the influence of the Fringe?

There's a sketch in that. The reaction of your satnav as you drive across a "non-existent" bridge.

"Turn back immediately. Or we're all going to die...."

21-08-2018, 04:42 PM
Is it just me, or the influence of the Fringe?

There's a sketch in that. The reaction of your satnav as you drive across a "non-existent" bridge.

"Turn back immediately. Or we're all going to die...."

I got a new 18 plate in April and the new bridge doesn't show up on the sat nav, next time I go out that way I'm going to put in a destination just to see what the sat nav tells me to do.. :greengrin

Tornadoes70
21-08-2018, 04:53 PM

I've got the brand new 2018 plate 1.5 bluemotion turbo with 8 inch screen Discover Navigation. The sat nav on my model is brilliant and easy to use. I was on holiday recently down in Dorset, Devon and Somerset and the sat nav got me everywhere I wanted to go without any problems whatsoever.

The new 1.5 turbo engine that's more than quick enough for me and the excellent Discover Navigation system is perfect for my needs and the quality inside the car is just sublime. I love it and so I should at just over 21k.

21-08-2018, 04:57 PM
I've got the brand new 2018 plate 1.5 bluemotion turbo with 8 inch screen Discover Navigation. The sat nav on my model is brilliant and easy to use. I was on holiday recently down in Dorset, Devon and Somerset and the sat nav got me everywhere I wanted to go without any problems whatsoever.

The new 1.5 turbo engine that's more than quick enough for me and the excellent Discover Navigation system is perfect for my needs and the quality inside the car is just sublime. I love it and so I should at just over 21k.

I know you've been accused of cutting and pasting on another thread but doing it with VW ads is too far.

Tornadoes70
21-08-2018, 04:58 PM
I know you've been accused of cutting and pasting on another thread but doing it with VW ads is too far.

Aye ok.

21-08-2018, 05:06 PM

He only bought one as Corbyn and Leonard told him to. 😉

And the proletariat spending £21k on a mode of transport? What's wrong with using the bus?

Tornadoes70
21-08-2018, 05:24 PM
He only bought one as Corbyn and Leonard told him to. ��

And the proletariat spending £21k on a mode of transport? What's wrong with using the bus?

https://mooknews.com/mook-of-the-month-nicola-sturgeon/

No thank you. Look who's in charge of the bus. If Sturgeon drives like her pal Shona Robison ran the NHS then the passengers are in for a very bumpy ride indeed.

Mon Scottish Labour

21-08-2018, 05:40 PM
How are you getting on with your Audi cowie?

The new Land Rover Velar is proving to be a difficult car to sell and you can get a decent price (very decent!) from struggling dealers H18S FR.

The Velar looks incredible. Didn’t know that about them being difficult to shift but unfortunately I couldn’t afford it even if they knocked about 50% off it :greengrin

21-08-2018, 06:30 PM
Thank God I'm not married if that is what you have to be buying these days.

I just got a Toyota. Small, low maintenance and hard-wearing - like the wife. :greengrin

21-08-2018, 07:35 PM
Old freelander in a pretty frock.

Electrical problems like most Land Rover/JaguarsI've had a jaguar just over a year and other than one of the tyre valves breaking off I've had no issues at all, thus far.
Great car to drive it must be said.

21-08-2018, 07:51 PM

well thats just pish, i have an audi and i certainly wouldnt class myself as a w#£&@r

21-08-2018, 07:55 PM
The wife has got it into her head that she wants an Evoque. I noticed that Arnold Clark have acquired a good dozen or so 2016 plates which are the facelift model with the new engine.

Does anyone have any knowledge of these motors? All the review websites are too commercialised for my liking.

my inlaws have the evoque hse, nice car but wouldnt say its worth what they paid, they havent had any issues with it, they use it for towing the horse box and again have no issues with this, the father inlaw reckons they should have got a q5

21-08-2018, 09:12 PM

No thank you. Look who's in charge of the bus. If Sturgeon drives like her pal Shona Robison ran the NHS then the passengers are in for a very bumpy ride indeed.

Mon Scottish Labour

At least she can drive, your esteemed leader does not have a driving licence, preferring to be chauffeur driven.

22-08-2018, 12:07 PM

Mon Scottish Labour

At least she can drive, your esteemed leader does not have a driving licence, preferring to be chauffeur driven.

This exchange perfectly sums up the state of Scottish and UK politics right now.

28-08-2018, 11:23 AM
omfg he even says 'mon scottish labour' on a thread about....... cars

:faf: bet he even has richard leotard jammies, or maybe even a nighdress