View Full Version : The Rangers fans in Maribor

17-08-2018, 10:54 AM
sound familiar?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-45214687

nairn hibee
17-08-2018, 11:00 AM
It was Europa league fans that caused it .i am sure the rangers fans were just defending civilians

17-08-2018, 11:04 AM
What is wrong with their fans that they cant just seem to travel, have a few pints and a sing song, enjoy the game and go home? Time after time after time it is the same clubs supporters causing trouble, utter weirdos.

17-08-2018, 11:12 AM
"It is not known what sparked the trouble"... I think I could take a fairly well educated guess :rolleyes:

17-08-2018, 11:17 AM
"It is not known what sparked the trouble"... I think I could take a fairly well educated guess :rolleyes:

The kafflic riot police.

17-08-2018, 11:30 AM
Not saying who’s to blame, but did Hibs fans not have issues in Maribor too?

17-08-2018, 11:46 AM
It was an SFA/UEFA joint conspiracy. The Rangers fans were on their best behaviour and were attacked completely unprovoked.

17-08-2018, 11:49 AM

I never saw one bit of bother in Maribor Billy, and there was drinking in that area where we were, for a good 7-8 hours before the game?

17-08-2018, 11:51 AM
I never saw one bit of bother in Maribor Billy, and there was drinking in that area where we were, for a good 7-8 hours before the game?

The elderly artist caused a bit of bother when she started parading around the square with her Royalist painting! :-)

17-08-2018, 11:51 AM
Chelsea fans aided by Hibs fans, tooled up by Motherwell fans who were supplied by Green Brigade infiltrators in a rammy started by local ultras who were ignored by Police who then took a heavy handed approach to Rangers fans who were busy handing out loose change and food to orphans and sick animals.

17-08-2018, 11:56 AM

Yes, after the game getting escorted back to the town centre through the narrow streets/alleyways there was a few attempts made by their hooligans to get at us, the police pretty much had it under control though.

KDY Hibs
17-08-2018, 12:00 PM
Chelsea fans aided by Hibs fans, tooled up by Motherwell fans who were supplied by Green Brigade infiltrators in a rammy started by local ultras who were ignored by Police who then took a heavy handed approach to Rangers fans who were busy handing out loose change and food to orphans and sick animals.

Brilliant!

17-08-2018, 12:05 PM
The elderly artist caused a bit of bother when she started parading around the square with her Royalist painting! :-)

Hahahaha, she was superb, we had her in goals for a bit too during that kick about. :greengrin

wazoo1875
17-08-2018, 12:15 PM
Hahahaha, she was superb, we had her in goals for a bit too during that kick about. :greengrin

That was funny, better than Zibby tae 😂

17-08-2018, 12:20 PM
Listened to about 20 mins of their game on the radio and not a football song sung but much mention of irrelevant Norn Iron politics, how depressing.

17-08-2018, 12:23 PM

Keith Jackson using good old-fashioned journalistic hacking techniques to get in and use Pretty Boy's hibs.net account.

17-08-2018, 12:29 PM
Sick animals? Amongst themselves then.

Hibs1969
17-08-2018, 12:29 PM
Where’s Traynor when you need him? No long-winded, self-pitying statement from Greyskull yet. I’m pretty sure they would have been provoked though, maybe the TV wasn’t working again 🤔

17-08-2018, 12:31 PM

Ok ta, so The Rangers are to blame!

17-08-2018, 12:41 PM
Until I get the Lee Wallace report I'm putting this down to a taig and tarrier conspiracy (copyright Follow Follow)

17-08-2018, 01:29 PM
Slovenia is a largely Roman Catholic country. That must have been enough provocation for the wee lambs.

17-08-2018, 01:32 PM

Maribor fans trashed Pancho Villas on the Royal Mile before our game at ER.

17-08-2018, 01:46 PM
Ok ta, so The Rangers are to blame!

I think that should be your default position Billy, until told otherwise. :greengrin

17-08-2018, 02:29 PM

Mibbie it was patrons fed up with the tardy service? I’m speaking from personal experience. It was particularly galling as it was my wife and I and our first outing after months holed up with :)

james62
17-08-2018, 02:40 PM

If she’s still with us it’s safe to say the painting will have got a better response last night 😂

17-08-2018, 02:56 PM
Mr Traynor has not yet rushed to print with a statement.

Come on, Jim, you know you should get it done.

Don't want you being accused as selective in your responses to fan misbehaviour.

Then again.........

17-08-2018, 03:03 PM
I think that should be your default position Billy, until told otherwise. :greengrin

Don’t think they’ll behave like this in Russia a week on Thursday though. Think it’s a bit of a wild place are they are visiting

17-08-2018, 08:25 PM
As expected, The Daily Ranger has a whole article today about the incident that never once mentions Rangers Fans, preferring to use the following...

"Five Scots were arrested and five others fined..."

"Slovenian Police said five Scottish citizens and one Austrian were arrested after clashing with police"

"The Scots were released by 6am on Friday."

"Police said two Scottish citizens were fined shortly after 5pm for provoking fights with home supporters"

"Another Scot was fined for provoking a fight and ignoring police orders"

"Meanwhile a Scottish woman was taken to the University Medical Centre"

MoscowHibs
17-08-2018, 08:30 PM
Don’t think they’ll behave like this in Russia a week on Thursday though. Think it’s a bit of a wild place are they are visiting

Oh trust me, the Russki cops and the fans will sort their neds out no problem. I’ve been to a few games in Moscow and the cops take no prisoners.

17-08-2018, 08:50 PM
Oh trust me, the Russki cops and the fans will sort their neds out no problem. I’ve been to a few games in Moscow and the cops take no prisoners.

Good. And I sincerely hope a stiff seeing too for them. They're long overdue another slice of knuckle 😀

17-08-2018, 09:57 PM
Not sure and i don't know if sites like this do any good..

is it worth reporting them anyway..

http://www.kickitout.org/get-involved/report-it/

18-08-2018, 08:17 AM
As expected, The Daily Ranger has a whole article today about the incident that never once mentions Rangers Fans, preferring to use the following...

"Slovenian Police said five Scottish citizens and one Austrian were arrested after clashing with police"

"Police said two Scottish citizens were fined shortly after 5pm for provoking fights with home supporters"

I'd imagine being described as 'Scottish citizens" will be the biggest insult to the proud Brits.

Chic Murray
18-08-2018, 08:52 AM

How could anybody tell?

18-08-2018, 08:56 AM

The Rangers supporters are not to blame for anything. If there is any trouble it will be heavy handed police.

The Pointer
18-08-2018, 09:00 AM
The Rangers supporters are not to blame for anything. If there is any trouble it will be heavy handed police.

That's exactly what the The Rangers guy said on STV news last night.

18-08-2018, 09:56 AM
Just huns being huns.

andyf5
18-08-2018, 10:02 AM
From The Herald

"Ex referee and Rangers fan Jeff Winter, who witnessed the trouble said: "The local police force warmed up after their truncheon twitching fingers were unleashed on everyone in sight. Women, old men anyone in their path. I’ve heard about it, now I’ve seen it first hand.

"They couldn’t wait. Great atmosphere in the square, then everyone frog matched to the ground. Don’t know what instigated it but they just waded into the group batons waving spraying gas into the crowd"

Chic Murray
18-08-2018, 10:21 AM
From The Herald

"Ex referee and Rangers fan Jeff Winter, who witnessed the trouble said: "The local police force warmed up after their truncheon twitching fingers were unleashed on everyone in sight. Women, old men anyone in their path. I’ve heard about it, now I’ve seen it first hand.

"They couldn’t wait. Great atmosphere in the square, then everyone frog matched to the ground. Don’t know what instigated it but they just waded into the group batons waving spraying gas into the crowd"

Well, that's an objective and balanced observation. No doubt it will be much the same thing when the Russian police find their "truncheon twirling fingers".

Why does EVERYONE pick on them?

18-08-2018, 10:21 AM

Just beggars belief

18-08-2018, 11:01 AM
From The Herald

Jeff Winter is the kind of bigot other bigots aspire to be. His blog is an 'interesting' read.

If he told me the grass was green I'd double check just to be sure.

18-08-2018, 11:05 AM

Their "boys" tried to be a bit naughty, police involved, but never saw anything bad. Police helicopter in area, but maybe that was to protect us?

If you go acting up, which is probably what the hun hordes did, you will get trouble....

18-08-2018, 11:33 AM
Their "boys" tried to be a bit naughty, police involved, but never saw anything bad. Police helicopter in area, but maybe that was to protect us?

If you go acting up, which is probably what the hun hordes did, you will get trouble....

After the game we ended up in a pub full of Maribor Casuals. You could've heard a pin drop when we walked in. Huge guy came over to me shook my hand and said, "We're not interested in you guys" and welcomed us into the pub. Stayed there till about 4am and had a great time.

18-08-2018, 11:39 AM

Was this in that area were we were all drinking, as i never saw anything, and i know i was not that pissed. :greengrin

18-08-2018, 11:40 AM
Jeff Winter is the kind of bigot other bigots aspire to be. His blog is an 'interesting' read.

If he told me the grass was green I'd double check just to be sure.

Doubt he would admit to anything being green. He would probably say it was a mixture of blue and yellow.

jax67
18-08-2018, 11:52 AM
What is wrong with their fans that they cant just seem to travel, have a few pints and a sing song, enjoy the game and go home? Time after time after time it is the same clubs supporters causing trouble, utter weirdos.

They are haters, they hate everyone and everything that isn’t Protestant or rangers. Absolute vile lot that know SFA about anything but hatred. Yep that covers it.

18-08-2018, 12:02 PM

The issues v Maribor were around the Easter Road leg.

A women killed her three children to get at her ex and there was traffic chaos after a subsequent gas explosion. The Maribor team bus was delayed and their ar*ehole a manager blamed this on Hibs for 'disrespecting' his team.

18-08-2018, 12:07 PM
Was this in that area were we were all drinking, as i never saw anything, and i know i was not that pissed. :greengrin

One of the sidestreets off square BH

18-08-2018, 12:10 PM
The issues v Maribor were around the Easter Road leg.

A women killed her three children to get at her ex and there was traffic chaos after a subsequent gas explosion. The Maribor team bus was delayed and their ar*ehole a manager blamed this on Hibs for 'disrespecting' his team.

That was a shocking incident.

18-08-2018, 12:25 PM
I missed Jumbo Jim's statement.

Oh, wait..........