View Full Version : Match Updates Molde v Hibs

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

16-08-2018, 06:36 PM
Come on Hibs, we're not out yet.

We won't get two, mate. It's a shame, as we should have gotten that away goal.

Hillsidehibby
We are rookies in Europe. By no means a bad team.

You don’t realise just how often McGinn would take the ball and run at defenders until you see the alternative. Desperately need someone to do that.

It's a hard game to judge how well players will do in the League but it has pointed out a fair few deficiencies, especially ones that will need to be addressed if we hope to continue qualifying for Europe as well as progressing further.

16-08-2018, 06:37 PM
Disappointed at the current score but some on here really need to get a grip

Poor goals to lose but we’ve been more than a match for them over the 2 legs - they played better at Easter Road and we easily could have scored 2

Would love to see us having played 18 games in our seasons them on 2 - match fit, match sharp and the team know each other better

I’m still proud of our European adventure

Nothing coming off for us at all, on another night we could've scored 4

Folk need to calm down

Hibs have been okay but we need some serious replacements if we want to win at this level.

We have competed. We just aren't good enough at the moment

To get the quality we need instead of a sticking plaster requires cash to be spent.

Open letter to Dempster.

Dear So called chief exec,

No excuses. This has been coming, blah, blah.... unprepared etc, etc. Forget the fact that we are playing a side with much more European ( recent) experience half way through their season, so what. Lennon has signed sub standard gash, no tactical nous. He should resign after this shambles. So what if we just lost the best Scottish midfielder, did we not expect that to happen? N9 leadership, nae ambition, no hope. This is the end my beautiful friend, Oh I see a Darkness so Paint it Black and Rip it up and start again. It’s over.

Yours,

A. Fudd

Hyndman has looked so far off the pace.

In a poor performance all round he has been, 2 nil down and he tries a cruyf and loses the ball. Just get rid ffs

Nah.

What is going on in here? We're losing to an experienced European side who have a 9million quid striker. Calm down

Meh, excuses. We've had more than enough chances to go through

16-08-2018, 06:38 PM
We are missing McGinn, but the club needs £3m more than it needs McGinn.

We have had chances and made some errors that cost us goals, we need some sort of McGinn replacement but we are FAR from terrible.

:agree: You can feel the smugness in some of them.

It’s like they wanted us to get beaten just to say.... well you know.

We have reached the 3rd QR of the europa league. Probably further than any of us expected.

Very proud of our achievements and for a bit more composure in the final 3rd could have been very different.

ForeverHibs93
If you dont take your chances, you don’t win games. Simple enough really, we’ve not taken any of our chances over the two legs which is bitterly disappointed because we’ve had a few.

Same as last week to an extent. Wee bit quality lacking in the final 3rd is costing us. So many passes just misplaced by a yard or 2 that give the defender a chance.

We get away with that against Dundee and Hamilton and so on but teams with that wee bit more quality seize on it more often.

Ach well.

Three ties isn’t a bad crack I suppose.

Onto domestic matters.

3-0

Zenit 3-0 up against Minsk if anyone is interested in where Molde are going in the next round.

EH54
Don't think we have been awful but too many no shows tonight IMO unfortunate but hey and another..

That deflection sums up our night.

Another break of the ball and more comedy defending.

Very disappointing.

steelendhibs
16-08-2018, 06:39 PM
Kamberis first touch has been hellish tonight

**** sake! Another *****y goal to lose.

Don't deserve to be three down. Very cruel on us.

Zenit 3-0 up against Minsk if anyone is interested in where Molde are going in the next round.

SJNB Hibby
aach well, it was fun while it lasted.
Zennit winning 4-0 too

Off the bar
​ballbags

Ruthless.

Goals win games. All over the shop at the back although I can see why we were commiting.

Time to sit in and just make sure it doesn't get silly.

He's nowhere near fit. I'd rather see him miss a few weeks and get sorted than continue at 75% and be pretty ineffective.

Agree and also needs the service to be most effective.

Berwickhibby
Absolutely pathetic defending

horrible deflection off of hanlon into the guys path 3-0 i actually think this team will win the ******* thing, luck..pffttt

In a poor performance all round he has been, 2 nil down and he tries a cruyf and loses the ball. Just get rid ffs

I'm not sure if you're on the wind up

Thrashing. Cannot defend for toffee.

Hopefully we bounce right back in the next game against County.

soupernashwan
16-08-2018, 06:40 PM
Ach weel, it was fun while it lasted.

jakedance
Well that’s that then.

Mcpakeisgod
Say what you want. They are far sharper in the pass and better as a team. Better team’s won.

dmc1875
Shambles to be honest. Our defence this season looks shocking with no help from midfield to boot.

Shambles

Oh well, we'll be back next season :aok:

Atrocious defending again.

ValleyHibee
ffs,terrible defending again

Molde have scored three times without reply.

Can’t begrudge them this win.

3 nil down to this *****. Truly awful. No shots from Mallan, kamberi a man short, so gutted it's not true

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

First defeat of the season. And could have been very different. We've a lot to learn at this level, and that's ok.

Plenty quality for domestic business, with more to come for sure.

16-08-2018, 06:41 PM
Come on Hibs, we're not out yet.

That wasn't meant to be a hint to make sure we went out.

Embarrassment

What’s Swanson done tho , always looks bright when gets his chance but very rarely given one

Embarrassment

Hardly.

Very disappointing, not the end of the world, but this defence needs sorting......and soon!

3 nil down to this *****. Truly awful. No shots from Mallan, kamberi a man short, so gutted it's not true

Mallan has had at least two shots on target.

Think Mallan had a shot first half keeper saved it.

Slivka has been non existent

hibIBZ
Really poor tonight, defending has been a comedy act. Is it me or do our players look totally off the pace? Certain players look painfully slow out there. I’ve stuck up for Slivka over and over but there is no space for him after tonight. No fight at all. We are short 2/3 players in midfield. I still think we will be ok in the league but no better than that

Just back from booking my flight to Minsk, what have I missed?

Embarrassment

Eh naw.

BBC live text feed has us as 2-0 down to Malmo! Quality and precision from the national broadcaster.

You are surprised and we have also paid for they numptys to have a wee swally over there while dribbling pish and we all pay for this, amazing really.

scooby
We look lightweight up front, and our defending has been shocking. We're making them look way better than they are.

Deejk107
Well that's that then, shame as we played not bad in the first leg, good enough to grab a couple of goals but it was never a realistic expectation to reach further in the competition, hopefully the players knuckle down and focus on fitness now because they all look off the pace. Need a strong midfielder in to do the dirty work as well because Slivka is a passenger and I have no faith in his ability to do anything but attack and even then he's inconsistent.

16-08-2018, 06:42 PM
Let's face it, it wouldn't be Hibs without a random 3-0 defeat from nowhere. No doubt we'll bounce back with a win and go on a decent run from the next game..

Before another random defeat.

Keeper saved a Mallan shot in first half!

murray26
What’s Swanson done tho , always looks bright when gets his chance but very rarely given one

He should stop trying to hard.

The legs have gone, we're finished.

Embarrassment

Get a grip.

Say what you want. They are far sharper in the pass and better as a team. Better team’s won.

I said last week they were a slightly better team than us and I stand by that. Not out of reach better but just a cut above.

We can preach about missed chances all we like but ultimately they took chamces, we didn't and over the piece they deserve to go through.

DTS
Honestly wouldn’t be arsed if slivka left

Berwickhibby
Too many passengers tonight

Your flight.

Embarrassment

I wouldn't go that far. Molde are a decent side and we've had chances. Some dreadful defending has killed us for sure. 3-0 flatters them in truth.

OtleyHibs
Some horrific defending tonight.

To be fair, it’s been a pretty hectic start to the season as well as a lot of transfer stuff going on in the background and new players not being settled in etc so not ideal but overall I’ve enjoyed our spell in Europe.

Fairly optimistic we will have another good season when we get going, just hope it happens fairly quickly

Shambles to be honest. Our defence this season looks shocking with no help from midfield to boot.

Shambles

:shocked:

hhibs
Defence horrible ,midfield no where ,forwards toothless ,manager absent. IMO

Players clearly need in ,and now !

16-08-2018, 06:43 PM
Embarrassment

Aye right then 😂 Going out to a side who’s made the group stages is far from an embarrassment. Some of the comments on here though are!

dmc1875
:shocked:

What? Our defence has been a shambles have you seen the goals we have conceded?

Slivka is not good enough I’m afraid. Just cruises around the pitch with zero urgency.
Hyndman has been hiding as well.
We will struggle if that is to be our midfield this season. Time to spend some money Hibs.

Did this team not beat Celtic home and away in 2015?

Can't dismiss their quality at this level.

Unfortunately if you don't score a goal in 180 minutes of football then you're never going to progress.

itslegaltender
So defence is pish, midfield totally ineffectual and forwards lightweight powder puffs.

... bit like a training game for Molde now - where's the fighting spirit in our team ??

murray26
Frustrating night.. I feel we’ve played well but maybe just 1 or 2 players short of making the group stages.. let’s make sure we’re back again next year but better prepared.. GGTTH

Embarrassment

Nonsense.

Dissapointing , the game was there for the taking . Hopefully the players learn a lesson from this . Poor finishing cost 3 points against motherwell , its now cost us a place in the play offs

hibbytam
Very disappointing, not the end of the world, but this defence needs sorting......and soon!

Nah it's the midfield. There's nowhere near the same level of running from midfield, and it's putting the defence under so much more pressure.

It's to be expected, but we need 1 more atleast for the middle.

16-08-2018, 06:44 PM
I wouldn't go that far. Molde are a decent side and we've had chances. Some dreadful defending has killed us for sure. 3-0 flatters them in truth.

And dreadful finishing. We’ve just lacked an edge at both ends.

Dissapointing , the game was there for the taking . Hopefully the players learn a lesson from this . Poor finishing cost 3 points against motherwell , its now cost us a place in the play offs

We beat Motherwell

We’ve had a good run. Hardly embarrassing Molde are a decent side.

Chorley Hibee
Whilst aware we won't replace our midfield of last season easily, I'm very concerned if that's what we have in there going forward.

Equally concerned that there has been no strengthening of our defence either.

Being honest I don't think you could say we've been good in any part of the pitch. Defence, nope, 3 horrendous goals to lose (even with the luck). Midfield, too many long hopeful balls or just side ways passing, awful attempts to press which have just put defence under pressure. Forwards, Kamberi and Maclaren were shocking.

Team hopefully learns from this. Midfield is our biggest issue, there is absolutely no balance and get bypassed with ease.

Had to win the home leg, was always gonna be tough. Then with Boyle missing chances that you can't do at this level, it was always looking doubtful

ah well, thoroughly enjoyed our 3 home european ties :agree: i bet Molde fans are going home thinking how ******* lucky they are

16-08-2018, 06:45 PM
Honestly wouldn’t be arsed if slivka left

I don’t get the hype with him myself. Offers very little in most games he plays. Really expected more from him when he arrived.

Slivka is not good enough I’m afraid. Just cruises around the pitch with zero urgency.
Hyndman has been hiding as well.
We will struggle if that is to be our midfield this season. Time to spend some money Hibs.

We desperately need a Mulumbu or Kamara in there. The three that are in there right now are very lightweight.

EH54
Gutted expected more from us... Very poor preformance tonight and made a bang average side look decent

Ready for abuse but Kamberi hasn't tried a leg. Mibbe unhappy? At Perth, all Hibs subs gave fans a clap warming up but he never even looked at us despite being cheered

Molde are far more intelligent than this Hibs team. Efficent ruthless and composed..

Always amazes me how many unfamiliar poster names you see when Hibs are getting beaten....

Enters thread. Reads a bit. Leaves.

Back in a few days 👍

And dreadful finishing. We’ve just lacked an edge at both ends.

True, should have something to show for it.

Better quality all round and far more experience playing in Euro ties than we have.

Sioux
Slivka has been non existent

Typical performance.

JackHibs
Far too many players caught hiding, we’ve just not shown up and they’ve taken their chances. Why we still have 3 centre backs on the pitch I don’t know, and now in the 88th we make a change...

Not scoring at home hasn’t helped us

Hurry back to the travel agent, Zenit are winning 4-0

Well said. A balanced side half-way through their season beating a side in transition at the start of their's is hardly a shock. If we'd taken our chances last week its a different story but as you say, the better team won.

So weak in midfield now. 2nd goal was the killer and as poor defending as you'll see all season.

16-08-2018, 06:46 PM
No urgency from the team tonight - disappointing show but hopefully they'll learn from it !.

Must have missed that at toilet or sommat.
Mallan has had at least two shots on target.

Molde are a decent side going forward but we should have punished them as their defence is average. I don’t think either Maclaren or Kamberi are fully fit. It’s been a decent campaign, made a few quid hopefully.

What? Our defence has been a shambles have you seen the goals we have conceded?

Yup.....Trying to take everything else into consideration though

Gutted expected more from us... Very poor preformance tonight and made a bang average side look decent

Molde are far from average.

rotherhamrob
Defending been poor and as I've said before our midfield is far too lightweight.
It doesn't look like it with the scoreline but there wasn't much between the teams.
It was good while it lasted but it might be a blessing in disguise going out now as playing thursday/Sunday every week would be too much for us just now.

We look lightweight up front, and our defending has been shocking. We're making them look way better than they are.

Our attack and defenders are the same as last season. Only area decimated is midfield!

anon1875
16-08-2018, 06:47 PM
Better side won. The boys done well to get this far.

The home leg more or less suggested we were in for a hard night. We've not taken any chances so that doesnt help. Molde's massive players that are also half decent footballers are always going to give us a problem. Look forward to focusing on the League and getting the new team some confidence.

Oh well, mon the Maribor!

RossScott1991
Hibs have been poor tonight tbh. Disappointed with this, I actually feel Asteras were a better outfit and that was them without playing a competitive match. Molde half way through season. Hibs not been good enough on the ball, nothing sticking up top and 3 soft goals given away.

Deejk107
Think our issue is in that Lennon plays with a certain system that allowed our forwards to close defenders down with freedom of choice rather than necessity, McGinn and McGeouch kept everything so stable in the middle of the park and it allowed players like Allan, Kamberi and MacLaren to shine and we just don't have that in the middle, I see a lot of the qualities in Mallan I saw in both McGeouch and McGinn but we need someone strong in there beside him with Hyndman ahead just behind the two forwards in order for the way we're trying to play to work, Slivka is the weak link.

weststandhibby
I just don’t get the negativity from some on here. Just over a season ago we were still in the Championship, we did exceptional last season and got our rewards in Europa league. To get through 2 rounds is fantastic , we just haven’t had the luck that you need at this level. What tonight and last week shows to me is that we are missing someone to unlock defences - last year we had Scotty, this year even with McGinn we’ve missed that wee bit composure to pick that pass in the final third.
Dont know what the answer is but I totally trust Lenny will know what is needed.
We just need to have faith and calm down a wee bit tonight! GGTTH

EH54

We have made them look good tonight IMO

Scotty Leither
It’s like they wanted us to get beaten just to say.... well you know.

We have reached the 3rd QR of the europa league. Probably further than any of us expected.

Very proud of our achievements and for a bit more composure in the final 3rd could have been very different.

Utter garbage - and people complain about poster's " smugness" just because you venture an opinion counter to the "we've done well getting this far" line?

13.5k season tickets, Mcginn and Murray transfer monies in, 3 healthy home gates in Europe, and we're still trawling the loan market for players?

Two players that would immediately improve us from our own league, Main of Motherwell and Kamara of Dundee, in positions that we're short in, but no, "steady as we go, don't overstep ourselves", it's the Hibs Board way, don't you know?

If we don't splash a bit of cash now to consolidate the upswing in the club's fortunesw, when will we ever?

Bear in mind that Bartley went off injured at 0-0

16-08-2018, 06:48 PM
Hardly.

Eh naw.

Get a grip.

Aye right then 😂 Going out to a side who’s made the group stages is far from an embarrassment. Some of the comments on here though are!

Nonsense.

3-0 down away in Europe against a decent side but nothing much more than that and we haven't even matched them for effort at times. But whatever floats your boat.

Molde are a decent side and I would say at this time a better side than us (and arguably any team in Scotland at the moment) so I don't think we can have much to complain about.

Bear in mind that Bartley went off injured at 0-0

Was 1-0 I think

3-0 down away in Europe against a decent side but nothing much more than that and we haven't even matched them for effort at times. But whatever floats your boat.

Bet you're delighted at all that attention.

Molde are far more intelligent than this Hibs team. Efficent ruthless and composed..

Deep into their season, full of confidence and playing on their own plastic pitch.

There really hasn’t been much between the sides (and we have been a bit disappointing)

16-08-2018, 06:49 PM
Unfortunately if you don't score a goal in 180 minutes of football then you're never going to progress.

Not far wrong there.

Bet you're delighted at all that attention.

No I'm not like you.

Aach well we're better than Braan.

Some ‘typical’ .net posts following a defeat!

I’m as disappointed as anyone but I wouldn’t say we are *****

No urgency from the team tonight - disappointing show but hopefully they'll learn from it !.

Our problem is that the lessons are only any help if you regularly play inEurope, like celtic and Aberdeen. This was a one shot hit for many.

Proud of the team getting this far , let’s focus on season and getting back for another crack next season

No I'm not like you.

0/10 patter that, it doesn't even make sense.

Well done Hibs. Always up against it at this level. Held our own against two very good sides.

Always amazes me how many unfamiliar poster names you see when Hibs are getting beaten....

Strangely enough it's nearly always posters who feel the need to emphasise their Hibbyness in their user name. :hmmm:

Mr_F

We’d have pumped them last season....

This is the game where I finally draw the straw with Slivka. If he's not going to put the effort in now then when will he ever?

We've gone from having one of the best midfields in the country to one that can barely string 3 passes together, no idea how to fix it either without buying a fair few players...

I don't mind losing this game, it's the way we've lost it in midfield that particularly frustrates me

Utter garbage - and people complain about poster's " smugness" just because you venture an opinion counter to the "we've done well getting this far" line?

13.5k season tickets, Mcginn and Murray transfer monies in, 3 healthy home gates in Europe, and we're still trawling the loan market for players?

Two players that would immediately improve us from our own league, Main of Motherwell and Kamara of Dundee, in positions that we're short in, but no, "steady as we go, don't overstep ourselves", it's the Hibs Board way, don't you know?

If we don't splash a bit of cash now to consolidate the upswing in the club's fortunesw, when will we ever?

Time to call it a night I think.

onionman
Molde are one of those good competent teams that make the game hard for you with good organisation and tough pressing without ever looking that good themselves. Against that you have to take your chances and defend well. We've done neither tonight but overall the run has been enjoyable.

Sure the squad will take this defeat on the chin, regroup and move on.

16-08-2018, 06:50 PM
Was 1-0 I think

I'll shut up then.

Him going odd hurt us though.

Has it occurred to you that there might be some middle ground between meek acceptance and "embarrassing"?

Really miss J McGinn in the middle.

onwards and upwards though. Roll on Sunday :aok:

About time we had a classic euphoria meets doom and gloom Hibs.net thread. I was worried we'd lost the ability.

Mr_F
Some ‘typical’ .net posts following a defeat!

I’m as disappointed as anyone but I wouldn’t say we are *****

We’re average at best... Top 6 will be a struggle at this rate

DTS
I don’t get the hype with him myself. Offers very little in most games he plays. Really expected more from him when he arrived.

I’m exactly the same but he doesn’t know how to tackle or even defend and doesn’t offer nearly enough going forward

Don’t understand the Stevenson for Gray substitute tbh, surely makes more sense to bring on Swanson or Whittaker and just push them up

Alfiembra
Don’t know if it’s the pitch but we look so slow. Molde don’t look like they have much pace in them but they’ve been dancing round us.

Ok mate. "Patter" are you 12?

16-08-2018, 06:51 PM
No cutting edge in midfield. We need SA and we need him now.

We beat Motherwell

haha........But apart from that

renato
On top of their quality and the issues we’ve had defensively, I can’t recall a team getting so many breaks over both legs, literally everything from 50/50’s to goal scoring chances have broken their way.

Also need to be mindful we’ve hit the woodwork 3 times too..

We’d have pumped them last season....

Pumped them? Give it a rest. They are a good side with a half decent record in Europe. Why are some folk so keen to say how much of a bad side Molde are? It’s blatanty not true.

0/10 is generous.

He had a good game a couple of weeks ago... Another maybe last year... and... that's about it. We have far too many players that are all capable of playing behind the strikers but only one who's role is to sit in front of the defence. A lot has been said about Mulumbu but he's almost a carbon copy of Bartley. Another defensive mid who's a bit more comfortable on the ball would do wonders I think.

kevo1875
16-08-2018, 06:52 PM
Have to take this one on the chin , we got punished for bad finishing and sloppy defending..Time to concentrate on league now and hopefully we will have more European nights to look forward to..

Yeah I think we’ll be relegated and go bust with John McGinn signing for Hearts on a free from Villa down to his pure love of the club. Don’t you?

Ok mate. "Patter" are you 12?

1/10 for that one. Keep improving.

No chance. We've so much more quality than half the league. And more will come.

Has it occurred to you that there might be some middle ground between meek acceptance and "embarrassing"?

Losing 3-0 is embarrassing

No cutting edge in midfield. We need SA and we need him now.

Agreed. We need that touch of class to make things happen.

EVENTUALLY
16-08-2018, 06:53 PM
Molde physically stronger and more athletic. Hibs were punished for poor defending, bad decision making and were on the wrong side of the breaks more often. Mallan is coming on, but Kamara and Allan would make a difference to the midfield.

Proud of the team getting this far , let’s focus on season and getting back for another crack next seasonAbsolutely this despite some idiotic posts on here..the boys done us proud

1/10 for that one. Keep improving.
You're rather odd aren't you?

Deejk107
I just don’t get the negativity from some on here. Just over a season ago we were still in the Championship, we did exceptional last season and got our rewards in Europa league. To get through 2 rounds is fantastic , we just haven’t had the luck that you need at this level. What tonight and last week shows to me is that we are missing someone to unlock defences - last year we had Scotty, this year even with McGinn we’ve missed that wee bit composure to pick that pass in the final third.
Dont know what the answer is but I totally trust Lenny will know what is needed.
We just need to have faith and calm down a wee bit tonight! GGTTH

I agree that we've done well to get through these two rounds and I also have full faith in Lenny, he's the best manager Hibs have had in my lifetime but realistically this is the worst I've seen us play in a couple of years and I think its fair if some people are being negative, I don't agree that we're crap or that any of our players (besides Slivka) is crap but they have been crap tonight, simple as that. We should be doing better than losing like that. If they'd outplayed us to the result it'd be better but the fact the same old mistakes from the start of last season cost us again at the start of this one and I'd prefer the club addressed that right now rather than waiting until January like they did last year.

Wow. What a load of absolute *****.

No losing 3-0 to Morton, Alloa etc under Stubbs was embarrassing.

Don't take your chances at this level and you'll get punished. We need a couple more defensive minded players in.

You're rather odd aren't you?

Nah back to 0/10, nevermind.

Whilst disappointed with a couple of players in particular let’s have a bit perspective. Good run, could have got through this tie with a bit composure in front of goal and made some extra money to hopefully bring in another couple of quality players.

Not read the thread but I assume its liberally soaked with a heady mix of the usual bedwetting pish garnished with a dose of additional undercover Yam Fuds?

Eh? That comment is embarrassing yourself. Fine margins tonight but sadly we were on the wrong side off a few big moments. Not much in it in truth.

16-08-2018, 06:54 PM

Depends upon context. Losing 0-7 to Malmo was embarrassing; we're a million miles better than we were back then, even though we have lost last season's midfield.

FFS I give up.

Yes that was embarrassing too, what's your point?

Gerard
Disappointed at the current score but some on here really need to get a grip

Poor goals to lose but we’ve been more than a match for them over the 2 legs - they played better at Easter Road and we easily could have scored 2

Would love to see us having played 18 games in our seasons them on 2 - match fit, match sharp and the team know each other better

I’m still proud of our European adventure

I hope that next year the team will make The group stages in Europe

How many games have we lost this year?

Reactions on here from many - as also - are so absurdly over the top.

Spot on. This is so far from being an embarrassment.

Not read the thread but I assume its liberally soaked with a heady mix of the usual bedwetting pish garnished with a dose of additional undercover Yam Fuds?

Scotty Leither
Time to call it a night I think.

Thanks for reinforcing my point

16-08-2018, 06:55 PM

seems like it, we were beaten by a team who took their chances, we didnt and that was the difference

Yep

Abysmal display especially in that defence, no pass marks for me, thank fluck it's not a league game on Sunday, we need to regroup and get a couple of players in especially a midfielder.

That was a horror show. Lennon had no plan B tonight, worrying.

Posts like this are embarrassing tbf

I thought they were better and sharper all over the pitch. Poor decision making and passing in the final third from us too. Disappointed to be honest. Plenty nice footballers in the midfield but there’s a huge John McGinn sized hole in there. We need a bit of drive to be installed.

16-08-2018, 06:56 PM
Lost opportunity here - we were poor in every department, particularly in the 2nd half - our defensive lapses are somebody's fault Mr Lennon ....

Pish but kind of predictable. Lennon simply MUST sign a tough CM or 2 or we’re stuffed this season. Far, far too lightweight in midfield. SJM provided protection for our dodgy defence and drove our team forward, linking mid with forwards. That is glaringly missing.

FFS I give up.

Totally agree. We were playing in the second tier last year. The progress is excellent.

21sMay
we weren't bad tonight at all . had our chances and never took them. we still need someone who can dictate the game. unfortunately Ambrose just isn't good enough,for every great game he has, he is just one pass or moment of madness to losing us important games

Thief
Passive pressing from the midfield is putting us in so much trouble. 3 run to one man, nobody gets within touching distance (puts a foot in) and he makes an easy pass to bypass them. Takes 3 men out of the game with 1 pass.

Agree entirely! We could learn a lot from watching Molde. Their pressing and off the ball movement has been excellent. Comfortable on the ball as well.
We definitely need a quality defensive mid who’s fairly comfortable on the ball.

Slaver

16-08-2018, 06:57 PM
Pumped them? Give it a rest. They are a good side with a half decent record in Europe. Why are some folk so keen to say how much of a bad side Molde are? It’s blatanty not true.

They say that on kickback too.

FFS I give up.

Ok so if we lose 3-0 on Sunday it's not an embarrassment? Losing 3-0 to anyone is embarrassing

That losing away to Molde in the Europa league is not embarrassing compared to that.

Why couldn’t you understand that?

hhibs

They are a better team than us by some margin unfortunately.

Really surprised folk are saying they're not impressed by them. They're a big, physical team but always try and pass the ball. They just look much more composed and confident on the ball than us.

I must confess though that I'm feeling pretty gutted about tonight. The odds just feel stacked against clubs our size.

Bobo
Defence was a shambles, really poor, and needs addressed, we had plenty possession but were found sadly lacking at both ends of the pitch. Crossing and finishing were woeful and far from good enough, there no point in having the ball if you don’t do anything with it. ��

3-0 flatters them but they won’t care, the score line shows we were well beaten on the night.

I don’t think Molde will go any further though as they are no more than average at best and won’t face such a soft touch in the next round.

Yes that was embarrassing too, what's your point?And losing away to Molde a team who have made the champions league groups lately isn't...away and attention seek elsewhere

Deejk107
Abysmal display especially in that defence, no pass marks for me, thank fluck it's not a league game on Sunday, we need to regroup and get a couple of players in especially a midfielder.

That was a horror show. Lennon had no plan B tonight, worrying.

Bit harsh blaming it on Lennon not having a plan B tbh, Bartley went off injured and he had nobody but Slivka to put there. Can't blame the manager if there isn't a player to play in the position.

It’s really not when your playing a side who’s way into their season and been to the group stages. Calm yourself down!

See what you did there. Thanks.

So I think we have done well so far this season and have done well to get where we are. Disappointed we went out... yip. Realistic yip.

Some people are always negative regardless and look for every opportunity to let folk know.

FWIW how do you know that these players would immediately improve us?? I sure as hell don’t.

Most clubs favour loans not just us. It’s part and part of football these days.

So if you think I post ‘utter garbage’ stick me on ignore. I’d appreciate that very much!

16-08-2018, 06:58 PM
Bit harsh blaming it on Lennon not having a plan B tbh, Bartley went off injured and he had nobody but Slivka to put there. Can't blame the manager if there isn't a player to play in the position.

Whittaker?

That losing away to Molde in the Europa league is not embarrassing compared to that.

Why couldn’t you understand that?

Why are you comparing 3 completely different results from completely different times. You aren't making any sense. Molde aren't some world class side they are about similar levels to us. If we lose 3-0 to Aberdeen would it be classed as an embarrassment?

EH54
They have done us proud but I can't help feel disappointed in them for tonight's preformance... Onto the next game GGTTH

Its not about bashing hibs or bed wetting its an honest opinion we are better than what we showed tonight

weststandhibby
I agree that we've done well to get through these two rounds and I also have full faith in Lenny, he's the best manager Hibs have had in my lifetime but realistically this is the worst I've seen us play in a couple of years and I think its fair if some people are being negative, I don't agree that we're crap or that any of our players (besides Slivka) is crap but they have been crap tonight, simple as that. We should be doing better than losing like that. If they'd outplayed us to the result it'd be better but the fact the same old mistakes from the start of last season cost us again at the start of this one and I'd prefer the club addressed that right now rather than waiting until January like they did last year.

Think we agree to disagree on a couple of points 😉 Absolutely agree that we need to do something before 31/8 and I’m sure that Lenny will do that.

Pish but kind of predictable. Lennon simply MUST sign a tough CM or 2 or we’re stuffed this season. Far, far too lightweight in midfield. SJM provided protection for our dodgy defence and drove our team forward, linking mid with forwards. That is glaringly missing.
Well if you can give Hibs 4 or 5 million to buy a replacement we'll be sorted.......

16-08-2018, 06:59 PM
If this is our midfield for this season then I'm a wee bit worried for the league. Molde are better than most teams we will face in the league but their physicality is something we come up against often (and we've struggled badly tonight to compete in midfield). We created very little from passing in this leg and too many of our midfielders press in a "I'm making up the numbers" way which gives them far too much time.

Being honest I think our midfield needs both Mulumbu and Kamara (or players of that quality).

Mr_F
Wow. What a load of absolute *****.

How? What have I said that’s *****?

houstonhibbee
Absolutely this despite some idiotic posts on here..the boys done us proud

Everyone tried their best. We just came up short. Did look a bit lethargic. We lacked the quality required. Neil will be fully aware of what we need to be better. A lot of new faces so will take time to gel. Getting quality players on long tem contracts will help in the long run.
We got further than anyone expected.

We'll no doubt be chewing the fat of tonight over the next few days. Take a time out put the kettle on, calm down.

We recently got back into Europe after quite some time and performed well in our tie with Brondby, a couple of seasons later we've played 3 ties and six matches, hopefully European football will become the norm as it once was and regard it as a bonus.

Anyway back to concentrating on our league and cup double.

HIBS AND PROUD LANCASHIRE

we weren't bad tonight at all . had our chances and never took them. we still need someone who can dictate the game. unfortunately Ambrose just isn't good enough,for every great game he has, he is just one pass or moment of madness to losing us important gamesBeen saying this for weeks...he really is an accident waiting to happen at times...yes he's entertaining but we need better imo...I'd happily see him move on before the end of the window. Also wins very little in the air for a centre half

Deejk107
16-08-2018, 07:00 PM
See what you did there. Thanks.

So I think we have done well so far this season and have done well to get where we are. Disappointed we went out... yip. Realistic yip.

Some people are always negative regardless and look for every opportunity to let folk know.

FWIW how do you know that these players would immediately improve us?? I sure as hell don’t.

Most clubs favour loans not just us. It’s part and part of football these days.

So if you think I post ‘utter garbage’ stick me on ignore. I’d appreciate that very much!

He's being aggressive in his argument but he's slightly right about Kamara at least, he'd definitely be an improvement to our team, not sure about Main but 100% we'd be much stronger with Kamara, that's literally all we're missing.

Just hope zenit go through now.

Far too many not good enough tonight, mallan done well but we need a new signing in there with him.

This made me laugh out loud. Post of the evening for me!

We will finish top 6 easily imho.

Has someone actually suggested we sign Curtis Main? The boys a huddy who went on a wee hot streak when he first signed for Motherwell. Dreadful suggestion.

I’ve enjoy the last 5 Thursday nights - one to many for us tonight. Thank you Hibs.

We will bounce back under Lennon. GGTTH

Deejk107
Been saying this for weeks...he really is an accident waiting to happen at times...yes he's entertaining but we need better imo...I'd happily see him move on before the end of the window. Also wins very little in the air for a centre half

He's our best defender imo. See him move on and leave another hole in the team? No thanks.

16-08-2018, 07:01 PM
Some mental posts on here tonight. To get past Asteras Tripolis was an achievement never mind Molde. We've done incredibly well.

Think what’s annoying most is the Hibs team which ended last season would not have lost that tie. Molde won because we are weaker especially in midfield. That’s what’s galling.

It’s really not when your playing a side who’s way into their season and been to the group stages. Calm yourself down!

They reached the group's 3 years ago. How far are we going back? So if we lose 3-0 to rangers it won't be embarrassing because they were in the final 10 years ago? Molde are significantly weaker now than they were then

Coming on here after a defeat should be banned! We actually played pretty well tonight. Midfield is clearly lacking 'dig' and we lost a couple of criminal goals. We need to buy a solid defensive mid that can play. If we'd taken any of our chances up until and including the post.... I reckon we'd have gone through and all the drivel would be saved for another day.

Ok so if we lose 3-0 on Sunday it's not an embarrassment? Losing 3-0 to anyone is embarrassing

....... FFS give it a rest, pal. :bitchy:

In reality we have played two more games than most of us thought we would when we were 0-2 down against the Greeks. I am disappointed but not embarrassed.

....... FFS give it a rest, pal. :bitchy:

Eh, naw?

Nice to see a smile

londonhibby
16-08-2018, 07:02 PM
He had a good game a couple of weeks ago... Another maybe last year... and... that's about it. We have far too many players that are all capable of playing behind the strikers but only one who's role is to sit in front of the defence. A lot has been said about Mulumbu but he's almost a carbon copy of Bartley. Another defensive mid who's a bit more comfortable on the ball would do wonders I think.

Seriously? Mulumbu's at least four levels of capability above Bartley. Former Prem player who at 31 is 'maybe' only now English Champs level. Head and shoulders above almost every (glad to hear names of others) defensive midfielder in Scotland though. Hard as f***k in the tackle, can pick a pass, drives forward and scores too.

When was the last time we won 2 knockout ties in a European competition that wasn't the Intertitty Cup? Just out of interest....

Why are you comparing 3 completely different results from completely different times. You aren't making any sense. Molde aren't some world class side they are about similar levels to us. If we lose 3-0 to Aberdeen would it be classed as an embarrassment?

No. It would class as a 3-0 defeat.

An embarrassment is a sense of shame.

Where’s the shame in losing to Molde?

Molde would’ve been embarrassed to lose to us.

Money talks in football and they have a LOT more money than us.

Thoughts on tonight:
Played well in spells and extremely unlucky, but still well beaten by a better team.
We haven't replaced either McGinn or McGeouch let alone both of them. Slivka has not shown enough quality and is a sub at best, Mallan needs support to play effectively.
Our front two have been poor since re-signing and aren't up to match fitness, but that will come.
We NEED to invest in at least a ball winning midfielder. The money is there, Hibs: get it done. Every day we waste our rivals pull further ahead of us.

And finally:
It's a complete ****ing joke that Norway's equivalent of St Mirren has CONSIDERABLY more revenue than us, and that lies squarely to blame with our pathetic TV deal. The SFA/SPFL are a ****ing embarrassment.

16-08-2018, 07:03 PM
When was the last time we won 2 knockout ties in a European competition that wasn't the Intertitty Cup? Just out of interest....

The first couple of rounds basically are the Intertoto level after things were changed, aren’t they?

16-08-2018, 07:03 PM
Hibs fans are roasters at times

16-08-2018, 07:04 PM
They reached the group's 3 years ago. How far are we going back? So if we lose 3-0 to rangers it won't be embarrassing because they were in the final 10 years ago? Molde are significantly weaker now than they were then

Depends, if we get totally outplayed against The Rangers and they pumped us 3-0 then yes it’s embarrassing. That was never a 3-0’game though, we weren’t dominated we were outclassed at certain periods of the game and their passing was more sharp and that’s because they are well into their season we aren’t. Think you should take that into consideration.

Not ‘at times’.

Gordy M
We dont half like ripping into the team and management after one bad game.....first of the season id say. Jeez gie it a break.

euro Hibby
16-08-2018, 07:05 PM
Just looked like a game too far and fact that we are only at the middle od August. Some player need time to reach form and yes we are weaker than end of last year.

No complainst here. I have seen much worse Hibs teams and i am sure Lennon and management know what is needed.

16-08-2018, 07:05 PM
They are a better team than us by some margin unfortunately.

Really surprised folk are saying they're not impressed by them. They're a big, physical team but always try and pass the ball. They just look much more composed and confident on the ball than us.

I must confess though that I'm feeling pretty gutted about tonight. The odds just feel stacked against clubs our size.

Said pretty much the same after the first game, they have some real quality along with being half way through there own season, we have work to do and with some luck we will be back to compete again next year hopefully with a more established and settled side.

16-08-2018, 07:06 PM
Did nothing at ER recently and hooked.Talking about Main.

I think we missed Allan more than McGinn tonight. We need someone who can create chances and make a killer pass. No surprise Kamberi and Maclaren looked average because they had nothing on tonight.

I thought they were better and sharper all over the pitch. Poor decision making and passing in the final third from us too. Disappointed to be honest. Plenty nice footballers in the midfield but there’s a huge John McGinn sized hole in there. We need a bit of drive to be installed.

Spot on. Imperative to get Allan in for creativity also

16-08-2018, 07:07 PM
We did not play that well tonight, some bad phases of play cost us.

I'll take getting to the third stage of a European Qualifier over playing in the League Cup group stages and being in the championship.

Hopefully next year we can moan about being put out of europe and only losing our second game since January deep into August.

16-08-2018, 07:07 PM
He's being aggressive in his argument but he's slightly right about Kamara at least, he'd definitely be an improvement to our team, not sure about Main but 100% we'd be much stronger with Kamara, that's literally all we're missing.

FWIW I think Kamara could do a job and looked decent for Dundee and I would hope we sign someone in that mound before the window slams shut.

Main looked poor against us with Ryan cruising it against him!

Remember Horgan didn’t start tonight and I think we miss Allan!

gogsy23
16-08-2018, 07:08 PM
Been saying this for weeks...he really is an accident waiting to happen at times...yes he's entertaining but we need better imo...I'd happily see him move on before the end of the window. Also wins very little in the air for a centre half

Totally agree always a liability, yes he is exciting going forward but we really need a solid defender in him

Not ‘at times’.

I take it you share that at games with the people around you.

I’ve enjoy the last 5 Thursday nights - one to many for us tonight. Thank you Hibs.

We will bounce back under Lennon. GGTTH

Agreed. It was a decent run and now its back to the bread n butter stuff of league n cups. We will do alright this season I am not worried in the least. GGTTH.

16-08-2018, 07:09 PM
I think we missed Allan more than McGinn tonight. We need someone who can create chances and make a killer pass. No surprise Kamberi and Maclaren looked average because they had nothing on tonight.

I don’t think so. Not only did McGinn’s strength, stamina, and skill add a huge amount to our midfield, his attitude spurred the entire team on. Think we would’ve won had he been here. He’s not though, hey-ho!

Deejk107

Not sure about that, our midfield besides Mallan was largely anonymous and I don't believe Allan to be the sort of player to dig in and make something happen by himself like McGinn would. Allan would have been anonymous too sadly as the play bypassed our midfield time and time again.

Salisbury Hibby
FFS from where we were a few years ago. Look, it's a long game. We've netted some money. We can now 100% concentrate on the league/cups and may consolidate in Europe again next year.
Onwards and upwards.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

I take it you share that at games with the people around you.

No I just spit on their pies.

16-08-2018, 07:10 PM
No. It would class as a 3-0 defeat.

An embarrassment is a sense of shame.

Where’s the shame in losing to Molde?

Molde would’ve been embarrassed to lose to us.

Money talks in football and they have a LOT more money than us.

I don't think the performance in the second half was acceptable. I don't think every player was giving 100% either but that could be down to knocks. I don't get people were saying we played well when we evidently didn't. I think their is a bit of shame in getting pumped 3-0 in Europe regardless of who you are playing.

Some, yes. Giant ones. :agree:

coldingham hibs
Thought Hibs played well, unlucky to lose by 3 goals as I didn’t think there was much between the teams. We seem to have lost a bit sharpness up front & Kamberi still finding his feet. Hopefully do better next year.

This thread is absolutely swimming in not so undercover Yams …… That you can put up with coz we do it to them when the **** hits their fan, so knock yersels oot ya Gorgie tramps.

What is far far more bloody annoying are the handful of so called Hibs fans who hardly ever show themselves on here unless its to come on and bitch about the team, individual players, the manager and the club itself after a defeat like this.

Ooh, why did we sell McGinn?, why haven't we signed Malumba yet? Why haven't we spent all of the McGinn money? How is it a midfield who have barely played a game together found it tough against a team who are half way through their season in a decent league and humped the league leaders 5 - 1 at the weekend?

Can you all **** off now and leave the forum to actual Hibs fans :aok:

Hulk1875
FFS from where we were a few years ago. Look, it's a long game. We've netted some money. We can now 100% concentrate on the league/cups and may consolidate in Europe again next year.
Onwards and upwards.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Great post

16-08-2018, 07:11 PM
We dont half like ripping into the team and management after one bad game.....first of the season id say. Jeez gie it a break.

"We"? It's usually just the same select small group...