View Full Version : tonights games

14-08-2018, 06:00 PM
AEK looking like they could be bankrupt with the amount of flares going off behind the goal.

It also looks like they have a new ground from the one we played at.

14-08-2018, 06:06 PM
Aek 1-0

14-08-2018, 06:06 PM
1-0 aek.

guthrie01
14-08-2018, 06:08 PM
Yass come on AEK, score a few more please

AEK 1-0 get in !!

Hehehehe

14-08-2018, 06:10 PM
Celtic are all over the shop at the back. Lustig is a truly terrible footballer. Never understood why Celtic persist with him, looks pish any time I've seen him.

14-08-2018, 06:10 PM
Maybe because I've been listening to lots of English slagging Scottish football recently, I'm actually wanting the Lesser Greens to win here. Not my usual position at all.

14-08-2018, 06:11 PM
AEK looking like they could be bankrupt with the amount of flares going off behind the goal.

It also looks like they have a new ground from the one we played at.

Yeah it is. The stadium we played at was demolished in 2003.

14-08-2018, 06:12 PM
Celtic are all over the shop at the back. Lustig is a truly terrible footballer. Never understood why Celtic persist with him, looks pish any time I've seen him.

He was a very good full back for a number of years.

14-08-2018, 06:12 PM
Yeah it is. The stadium we played at was demolished in 2003.

It needed demolished, ****hole of a place.

14-08-2018, 06:13 PM
Celtic's defence is rotten, Brown looks past it and Ntcham is stinking.

14-08-2018, 06:13 PM
Maybe because I've been listening to lots of English slagging Scottish football recently, I'm actually wanting the Lesser Greens to win here. Not my usual position at all.

Want them to get to group stage as we pick up a few quid, then get slaughtered.

14-08-2018, 06:14 PM
Think I’d rather Celtic went through tonight.

If they get a pumping it could cause more unrest with Rodgers.

14-08-2018, 06:14 PM
Celtic's defence is rotten, Brown looks past it and Ntcham is stinking.

Ntcham is a really good player. He's been immense so far this season. We could do with an Ntcham!

14-08-2018, 06:15 PM

Same here. Think they're out though.

14-08-2018, 06:15 PM
It's okay, they'll sign john mcginn on a pre contract in January

14-08-2018, 06:17 PM
Ntcham is a really good player. He's been immense so far this season. We could do with an Ntcham!

Opinions eh! he looks all over the place tonight, I honestly think this is the most ordinary Celtic team I've seen in years.

14-08-2018, 06:19 PM
Opinions eh! he looks all over the place tonight, I honestly think this is the most ordinary Celtic team I've seen in years.

:agree: Was it £3m they paid for him, and they had the cheek to offer the peanuts they did for McGinn?

They deserve all they get.

Hibs4185
14-08-2018, 06:19 PM
Usually I’d be wanting to Celtic to win in order to help the coefficient and blah blah, but after their shenanigans with Mcginn and their supporters attitude towards us, I hope they get pumped.

14-08-2018, 06:20 PM
:agree: Was it £3m they paid for him, and they had the cheek to offer the peanuts they did for McGinn?

I think you guys are confusing him with Kouassi who was £3m and is utterly *****.

14-08-2018, 06:21 PM
I think you guys are confusing him with Kouassi who was £3m and is utterly *****.

Nope, he's pish too

14-08-2018, 06:21 PM

Ah :greengrin Although this guy in midfield tonight is hardly in SJM's class from what i've seen tonight or in the first game?

14-08-2018, 06:22 PM
Usually I’d be wanting to Celtic to win in order to help the coefficient and blah blah, but after their shenanigans with Mcginn and their supporters attitude towards us, I hope they get pumped.

I find these games win win for me.

Celtic win - better coefficient and money for Scottish football.

Celtic lose - f'n hilarious.

Same applies to their blue pals and Jambos in Europe. Ultimately its Hibs results I really care about.

14-08-2018, 06:24 PM
Simonovic loves a misplaced pass :faf:

Rodgers would look like a total *****bag if he walked away from Celtic with Gerrard arriving on the scene.

Celtic look a million miles from where they were though. And BR looks far from happy.

£4.5m for him I think.

Don’t see it myself. Think he’s pish.

14-08-2018, 06:25 PM
What ever happened to the big German Compper they signed from Leipzig, 1 appearance and never been seen since.

14-08-2018, 06:26 PM
What ever happened to the big German Compper they signed from Leipzig, 1 appearance and never been seen since.

Valued that boy no far off the same as they thought SJM was worth.

Incredible.

Always thought Hendry was a strange signing.

SJM on the bench for Villa, Bruce l starting some youngsters away to Yeovil.

Pity as I was going to watch, had he started.

14-08-2018, 06:27 PM
Dundee won the lottery when they sold that huddy to the smellies.

14-08-2018, 06:28 PM
SJM on the bench for Villa, Bruce l starting some youngsters away to Yeovil.

Pity as I was going to watch, had he started.

I wouldn't bother, we've to get over it apparently as he's gone :wink:

14-08-2018, 06:28 PM

Constantly injured it would seem.

14-08-2018, 06:30 PM
Constantly injured it would seem.

Northern Hibby
14-08-2018, 06:30 PM

My thoughts too.

14-08-2018, 06:32 PM

He played his debut against Morton in January and hasn't been seen since.

Celtic lacking leaders on the park.

I wouldn't bother, we've to get over it apparently as he's gone :wink:

I missed that chat, who said that ?

14-08-2018, 06:33 PM
Nearly 1-1 Griffiths inches wide.

14-08-2018, 06:33 PM
The quality is absolutely boggin. Just not good enough. I imagine it's the rest of the leagues fault they're all playing like they've just met each other mind you.

14-08-2018, 06:35 PM
The quality is absolutely boggin. Just not good enough. I imagine it's the rest of the leagues fault they're all playing like they've just met each other mind you.

No presence or personality in the Celtic team at all. Well and truly lost their mojo it would seem.

14-08-2018, 06:36 PM
Scouting at Queens Park vs Ayr, I will supply my usual Shankland report to .net...he starts on the bench.

AEK look ordinary. LG should have scored. Celtic going to win this.

Anything that limits Celtic’s finances is good for Scottish football, so it’s ‘mon AEK for me.

14-08-2018, 06:38 PM
Hope Celtic lose heavily. Arrogant, entitled muppets the lot of them.

14-08-2018, 06:39 PM
Hearts young team losing 1-0 to Ross County in the Irn Bru Cup.

14-08-2018, 06:39 PM

Same for me. Starting to fear lossing Lennon with there current problems.

14-08-2018, 06:42 PM
I don't watch much Scottish football that doesn't involve Hibs, so I've never really noticed simonovic as a player. Is he normally as bad as last week against the yams and again tonight? He's got the control of an Eastern European Colin Murdoch.

14-08-2018, 06:43 PM
Looks like Scott Brown's met his match. :greengrin

14-08-2018, 06:46 PM
Half time 1-0 AEK Athens

14-08-2018, 06:49 PM
They’re playing like they’re 3-0 up. No urgency at all.

14-08-2018, 06:49 PM
Looks like Scott Brown's met his match. :greengrin

Also looks like Broony's legs might be going. Either that or he's carrying that old hip injury?

By the way, what the hell does "He is carrot" and "We are a shampooing it" mean? As seen on KDS.

Curried
14-08-2018, 06:50 PM
Most satisfying.

14-08-2018, 06:50 PM
Couldn’t care less if they are a Scottish side, I want Celtic out. Sick to the back teeth of these arrogant pricks gaining a huge financial advantage then offer sweets for the best Scottish players.

**** Celtic and **** Lawwell.

Wull
14-08-2018, 06:52 PM
If thats the goal that knocks the tic oot o the CL, they will be spewin, the worst defensive display I seen in a long time, Paul Hanlon would walk into that team anyday :greengrin

14-08-2018, 06:52 PM
Sevco's young team losing 1-0 to Falkirk.

14-08-2018, 06:54 PM
Celtic's young team 1-0 down to Annan.

14-08-2018, 06:54 PM
If thats the goal that knocks the tic oot o the CL, they will be spewin, the worst defensive display I seen in a long time, Paul Hanlon would walk into that team anyday :greengrin

🤫 they might offer us a couple of bob for him!

14-08-2018, 06:55 PM
Are either of Allan or Christie anywhere to be seen?

14-08-2018, 06:56 PM
Not that I want PH to leave, but I would take 10M off the mhanks for him....... :greengrin

14-08-2018, 06:56 PM
Are either of Allan or Christie anywhere to be seen?

Nope

14-08-2018, 06:58 PM
I missed that chat, who said that ?

It's not worth going over again don't worry. There was another thread from someone saying the game was on and the comment was made then it very quickly got very silly (as seems to be the trend this summer!) I assumed your post was in reference to that.

They would be first picks for me.

Sevco U20s 0-2 Falkirk

14-08-2018, 06:59 PM
Celtic losing tonight changes nothing in Scotland, they will still have £millions more than us. What it would do is increase the risk of us losing Lennon, which would be a disaster for Hibs.

Dislike Celtic as much as the next, but I love the Hibs even more .. so it’s come on Celtic and Rogers.

14-08-2018, 07:01 PM
Thats not the ground we played in is it?

Dan Sarf
14-08-2018, 07:04 PM

hfcok
14-08-2018, 07:05 PM
Brandon Barker scores for PNE.

14-08-2018, 07:07 PM
Aek 2-0

2-0 Athens

2-0 Athens

14-08-2018, 07:08 PM
See ya smellies. :greengrin

Haha Celtic oot. Good, stops the enormous gap getting even bigger.

😭

Too easy. Lustig caught there ball watching

Brandon Barker scores for PNE.

25 yarder :greengrin

14-08-2018, 07:09 PM
That Jack Hendry is murder by the way, badly at fault there.

As I said earlier. He is pish. As are Simunovic and Hendry

A free header.

Wee Effen Bee
2-0 Athens

Celtic are dire!

Sutton seething is always pleasing

14-08-2018, 07:10 PM
Aw naw, its all our fault too. :greengrin

Curried
14-08-2018, 07:10 PM
Goodnight Athens.

14-08-2018, 07:11 PM
They are rank. Crisis club.

14-08-2018, 07:12 PM
That Jack Hendry is murder by the way, badly at fault there.

He’s not that good.

Aek 2-0

You would have been amazing at fastest finger first on Who Wants To Be A Millionaire! :greengrin

Gordon looked like he was greeting.

Currently 31° in Chicago, by the way. 😁

As I said earlier. He is pish. As are Simunovic and Hendry

Paid good money for them both too!

14-08-2018, 07:16 PM
Great clearance from AEK defender there.

Anyone else feeling a bit guilty about Hibs not giving them a better challenge domestically and for us standing in the way of John McGinn progressing his career with them?

Good save from the Athens keeper.

14-08-2018, 07:21 PM
Anyone else feeling a bit guilty about Hibs not giving them a better challenge domestically and for us standing in the way of John McGinn progressing his career with them?

14-08-2018, 07:23 PM
sellik gettin rekt

14-08-2018, 07:23 PM
Think Rogers will walk after this?

gaz1875
14-08-2018, 07:24 PM
Celtic could struggle to win the league this year, they look quite flat and not the strongest defence.

14-08-2018, 07:25 PM
Brenda might be in with a shout at Rotherham or somewhere like that if he can somehow manage to blame both recent erse collapses on lawell offering £45 for SJM.

14-08-2018, 07:26 PM
Think McGinn would have made a big difference to that team, had he signed for them.

Really glad to see that he had more ambition and go down to Villa (ignoring the fact he's on the bench against Yeovil Town).

Away and shove yer Celtic scarf up yer erchie........

Think Rogers will walk after this?

Not out with the realms of possibility, but as I said earlier, would look awful if he did when it looks like they'll get a decent challenge this season - not to mention Steven Gerrard arriving at Rangers.

14-08-2018, 07:28 PM
Imagine celtic go into the Europa league play off round and lose, but we beat molde and Minsk and we go through 😂😂

14-08-2018, 07:28 PM
Greece Frightening.

14-08-2018, 07:30 PM
Imagine celtic go into the Europa league play off round and lose, but we beat molde and Minsk and we go through 😂😂

Even worse - imagine if both us and Celtic get to the group stage, and we ****ing get drawn with them. Two of our six European games wasted with ANOTHER two games against them.

14-08-2018, 07:31 PM
Even worse - imagine if both us and Celtic get to the group stage, and we ****ing get drawn with them. Two of our six European games wasted with ANOTHER two games against them.

Pessimist I’m seeing it as an easy 6 points 🕺🏽

Can’t happen I’m sure.

LG looks totally out if his depth at this level. Poor.

14-08-2018, 07:32 PM

I'll save them for the final.

Can’t happen I’m sure.

Right enough, just checked. Phew!

Ache are nothing special but they look more likely to make it 3-0 than Celtic are to reduce the deficit. Scottish football looks really **** tonight.

whoops 2-1 :greengrin

14-08-2018, 07:35 PM
Celtic score 2-1

14-08-2018, 07:36 PM
Well worked. Interesting end to this one ahead

Griffiths was offside, jumping across the keeper

2-1 aek

Games got interesting !

Hulk1875
14-08-2018, 07:37 PM
Griffiths was offside, jumping across the keeper

First thing I thought aswell no aek players claimed and commentary said nothing aswell

14-08-2018, 07:38 PM
Game on.

14-08-2018, 07:39 PM
Greek cheats feigning injury . Celtic the better side, goal coming.

14-08-2018, 07:40 PM
Only 700 tic fans there. We took 1500 to Tripolis.

14-08-2018, 07:41 PM
James Forest is utter gash

14-08-2018, 07:41 PM
James Forest is utter gash

I like him but hes had no joy tonight.

14-08-2018, 07:42 PM
Griffiths not offside? Looked like he ran across the face of the goalie?

Edit: been pointed out a couple times already.

14-08-2018, 07:44 PM
Is Sutton ever going to shut his moaning yap?

14-08-2018, 07:45 PM
Is Sutton ever going to shut his moaning yap?

I like him. he gives a ****.

14-08-2018, 07:47 PM

Likewise. Really good exponent of the Scottish game too.

14-08-2018, 07:48 PM
Griffiths not offside? Looked like he ran across the face of the goalie?

Edit: been pointed out a couple times already.

Different angle shows AEK player lying on the bye line. Lino got it right [emoji849]

14-08-2018, 07:49 PM

I don’t mind him normally, but half an hour of bleating about Celtc’s transfer policy has worn me down.

14-08-2018, 07:49 PM
Great half volley from Ntcham, just wide. :greengrin

14-08-2018, 07:51 PM
Greeks are so bad for time wasting its embarrassing.

14-08-2018, 07:53 PM
Celtc. They’re literally not in the Champions League.

Full time 2-1 AEK Athens.

Celtic out.

They’re oot. Let the blame game begin .

That was so close.

14-08-2018, 07:54 PM

Same. Really bigs up our game.

Cheerio Smeltic 👋

See you in the Europa League 👍🏾

Rogers will blame Lawell

14-08-2018, 07:55 PM
3 Scottish teams in the EL group stages will keep interest going throughout the season and hopefully bump up our coefficient a wee bit.

Getting sick of celtic lowering our coefficient

Rogers will blame Lawell

Lawell will blame Hibs.

14-08-2018, 07:56 PM
Spending £2m on new lights for the big European nights and then not making the champs league. Glorious.:greengrin

That 5 mins was only 2.5 of game play. Thought there might have been a 6th added.

:faf::faf::faf:
:bye::bye::bye:

:dummytit::dummytit::dummytit:

With all the money they’ve got they could’ve upgraded significantly at the back. Hendry is rotten.

14-08-2018, 07:57 PM
I think Hibs should issue a statement apologising for our part in their sorry champions league exit. Hopefully followed by the rest of the ungrateful lot who are doing our best to hold them back each season.

Disappointed would liked to have seen Celtic progress.

Lawell will blame Hibs.

Sevco will blame everyone.

14-08-2018, 07:58 PM
Rogers should just start channeling Corbyn:

“My team was present at the Champions League, but I don’t think it was actually involved.”

That'll be Rogers off then.

Rogers will blame Lawell

He's a bit unfortunate, Did Lawell do a Stevie G tonight and trip over his own feet giving the ball away thus denying Brenda a historical result again?:wink:

They'll never get to know how good SJM is.

14-08-2018, 07:59 PM

" :Taxi for RODGERS ? "
rolleyes:

14-08-2018, 08:00 PM
Did I hear right that their fourth round tie will be against winner of a tie involving a Latvian and a Lithuanian team? Would either of them have been seeded in the last draw?

14-08-2018, 08:01 PM
They will be in the Europa league long after we're out.

14-08-2018, 08:01 PM
Not especially bothered one way or the other about them exiting the Champions League but what does my head in is that they will now automatically get a Europa League play-off spot. The two competitions should be unconnected and no club which exits the Champions League at any stage should be handed a Europa League parachute. When yer oot yer oot.

Cat Stanton
14-08-2018, 08:02 PM
That'll be Rogers off then.

Slightly worried that might be true - and then they come calling for Lennon.

It's taken the shine off one of my usually favourite moments of every season.

14-08-2018, 08:02 PM

good to see you are optimistic

14-08-2018, 08:03 PM

That's the spirit!

14-08-2018, 08:03 PM
Yeovil miss a penalty against Villa

14-08-2018, 08:05 PM
Less money for the Celtic biscuit tin now. So hopefully a better chance of them wanting to offload Allan.

dalkeith stu
14-08-2018, 08:06 PM
Crazy how their keeper wasn't booked after the Celtic goal. His time wasting near the end was unbelievable too. Happy they're out but always hate that **** at the end of games.

14-08-2018, 08:06 PM
Less money for the Celtic biscuit tin now. So hopefully a better chance of them wanting to offload Allan.

They'll be wanting to do a swap deal with Efe looking at the state of their defence.

14-08-2018, 08:08 PM
Just watched Celtic crash out of Europe in Athens, turned over to watch the Villa match and they are playing Celtic, modern football, marvellous.

14-08-2018, 08:08 PM
They'll be wanting to do a swap deal with Efe looking at the state of their defence.

They'll be wanting rid of Jack Hendry for a start.

14-08-2018, 08:09 PM
Just watched Celtic crash out of Europe in Athens, turned over to watch the Villa match and they are playing Celtic, modern football, marvellous.

They're not out of Europe, they go into the Europa league.

14-08-2018, 08:10 PM

I'd take Ajer, not Hendry.

They’re out of the part they need financially.

Watched the Hearts Celtic game in the local on Sunday with a Celtic supporting mate, Despite Efe's moments he'd rather have Efe than Boyata. I would too.

14-08-2018, 08:11 PM

Thought he was bang average at Dundee

14-08-2018, 08:12 PM
For a player that Brenda was ho hum about, SJM now appears to be the key reason Celtic have failed in the CL and is symbolising Celtics malaise. Unbelievable turn of events.

14-08-2018, 08:12 PM

You could have also pointed it was Yeovil not Celtic :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin was a slightly tongue in cheek comment.

14-08-2018, 08:14 PM

Do you sit in a gimp suit while writing about Hibs?

14-08-2018, 08:17 PM
Not especially bothered one way or the other about them exiting the Champions League but what does my head in is that they will now automatically get a Europa League play-off spot. The two competitions should be unconnected and no club which exits the Champions League at any stage should be handed a Europa League parachute. When yer oot yer oot.

The rules is the rules.

And there are reasons for them.

14-08-2018, 08:18 PM
Fantastic

14-08-2018, 08:19 PM
To be fair, four qualifiers despite being Scottish Champions is a joke IMO.

14-08-2018, 08:19 PM
Did I hear right that their fourth round tie will be against winner of a tie involving a Latvian and a Lithuanian team? Would either of them have been seeded in the last draw?

That's who Celtic will face in the play off round of the Europa League.

14-08-2018, 08:20 PM
They’re out of the part they need financially.

Pretty sure they'll survive. They're loaded, and the Europa prize isn't shabby this year.

14-08-2018, 08:21 PM
What's with wanting celtic to win tonight ?:confused:

Delighted they are out ! Lets not let the rich get richer , Hartson and Sutton Raging they never got Mcginn , Offered peanuts so GIFRUY

14-08-2018, 08:21 PM

14-08-2018, 08:24 PM
While it’s an blow for Scottish football, it still enrages me that our champions have to face the embarrassment of these play offs while the ‘money’ leagues have three and four teams in the group stage. Do UEFA not understand the concept of champions? All they understand is greed

14-08-2018, 08:26 PM
That's who Celtic will face in the play off round of the Europa League.

Yeah, got that, but would one of them have been seeded in the third round draw? Would much have preferred one of them to Molde!

soupernashwan
14-08-2018, 08:27 PM
Final Villa sub, no Mcginn... Bye Aston Villa game...

Mango Man
14-08-2018, 08:28 PM
Watching the Villa game, Grealish reminds me of a Scott Allan type player, crafty.

14-08-2018, 08:29 PM
You could have also pointed it was Yeovil not Celtic :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin was a slightly tongue in cheek comment.

Yeah, just realised. :greengrin

dalkeith stu
14-08-2018, 08:31 PM
Final Villa sub, no Mcginn... Bye Aston Villa game...

Exactly my thoughts!! LOL

14-08-2018, 08:32 PM
Watching the Villa game, Grealish reminds me of a Scott Allan type player, crafty.

Grealish is a great young player. He seems to want away from Villa but a central midfield with SJM and Grealish in it will be pretty useful in a highly competitive Championship league.

SideBurns
14-08-2018, 08:33 PM
To be fair, four qualifiers despite being Scottish Champions is a joke IMO.

Aye, it's not a genuine Champions League anymore - as close to a 4 country cartel as UEFA are able to get away with. The Scottish Champions (and champions of every country) should have one automatic place in the groups, and the coefficient should kick in thereafter. But of course UEFA know this and aren't interested.

14-08-2018, 08:34 PM

This is a family forum.

14-08-2018, 08:36 PM
This is a family forum.

That does not necessarily preclude the wearing of said item.

14-08-2018, 08:40 PM
Aye, it's not a genuine Champions League anymore - as close to a 4 country cartel as UEFA are able to get away with. The Scottish Champions (and champions of every country) should have one automatic place in the groups, and the coefficient should kick in thereafter. But of course UEFA know this and aren't interested.

100% spot on.

14-08-2018, 08:42 PM
Never understood why (like ourselves), Celtic play a weird shape in midfield. This 3-4 central players then Forrest wide right seems strange, do they not have a player that can play wide left? Same with us until this season with Boyle wide right and then everyone else in the centre. Leaves huge gaps for them and puts a lot of onus on Tierney, similarly puts pressure on Stevenson for us.

14-08-2018, 08:48 PM
Yeah, got that, but would one of them have been seeded in the third round draw? Would much have preferred one of them to Molde!

Ah right sorry, I've got you now.

Suduva and Spartaks were part of the Champions Path of the Europa League which means they were both initially in the Champions League qualifiers and dropped down into the Europa League. Funnily enough they were both knocked out by Red Star Belgrade in successive rounds.

Neither of them have a co-efficiency as high as Molde.

14-08-2018, 08:52 PM
That does not necessarily preclude the wearing of said item.

It should prevent the discussion of such an item though. :wink:

14-08-2018, 08:53 PM
Ah right sorry, I've got you now.

Suduva and Spartaks were part of the Champions Path of the Europa League which means they were both initially in the Champions League qualifiers and dropped down into the Europa League. Funnily enough they were both knocked out by Red Star Belgrade in successive rounds.

Neither of them have a co-efficiency as high as Molde.

Thanks :aok:. Can’t keep up with how the qualifying rounds all work!

14-08-2018, 09:03 PM
Never understood why (like ourselves), Celtic play a weird shape in midfield. This 3-4 central players then Forrest wide right seems strange, do they not have a player that can play wide left? Same with us until this season with Boyle wide right and then everyone else in the centre. Leaves huge gaps for them and puts a lot of onus on Tierney, similarly puts pressure on Stevenson for us.

When we have been playing Boyle wide on the right, it’s a right wing back position with Lewis doing the same on the left. I think that’s what Celtc do with Forrest and Tierney playing the wing back roles

14-08-2018, 09:04 PM

I must've missed the part of this that's a negative. We had a very good season and Celtic won the league?

EricStoner
14-08-2018, 09:21 PM
Have to say it irks me to look at the clubs which still have to win another tie to make the Champions League, never mind some that are out.
Ajax, Dinamo Kiev, Benfica, Red Star & Dinamo Zagreb used to win stuff in Europe. AEK & PAOK were always a test and I suppose Salzburg, BATE and Videoton have come into money to some extent.
Spartak, Celtic, Fenerbahce, Standard & Malmö were also decent at times in the good old days.
To think Brian Glanville called the English Premier "The Greed Is Good League" in its early days.

14-08-2018, 11:10 PM
No sympathy with those tight arsed muppets and their once smug but now paranoid fans. They shell out big money on uncommitted and mediocre players when they could have had a class act who gives his all for little more than a song. Despite their piteous bleating there can’t be one who seriously doubts McGinn would have made a huge difference to the last three results.

14-08-2018, 11:59 PM
For a player that Brenda was ho hum about, SJM now appears to be the key reason Celtic have failed in the CL and is symbolising Celtics malaise. Unbelievable turn of events.

No sympathy with those tight arsed muppets and their once smug but now paranoid fans. They shell out big money on uncommitted and mediocre players when they could have had a class act who gives his all for little more than a song. Despite their piteous bleating there can’t be one who seriously doubts McGinn would have made a huge difference to the last three results.

Caught the 2nd half tonight and said to my mate that SJM was exactly the type of player that could've/might've made the difference for them tonight !. Ok, no-one official from Septic said anything derogative about SJM but their axxe-hole 'Best supporters in the world' were here, there and everywhere telling the world that SJM 'wasn't good enough for Septic'/'Squad-player at best' along with the belter -'We'll get him for nowt come January so Hibs are f*****d if they don't give him to us now' !. If the powers-that-be at 'Darkheid' had actually bothered to read any of his past interviews they'd also have cottoned-on to the fact that, apart from being a top-quality player, SJM is also very ambitous and that he was more than happy at Hibs because he was wanted (and loved) here ! If Lawell & Co don't think modern-day footballers don't read fan-sites then they're bigger axxe-holes than their support !

15-08-2018, 01:34 AM
The rules is the rules.

And there are reasons for them.doesn't mean you have to agree to them. I agree with GB. totally mucked up what used to be a fair system, and you must agree with that, surely.

15-08-2018, 01:35 AM
all about mutually agreed components I suppose :greengrin

15-08-2018, 01:44 AM

still a baffling signing..imo

15-08-2018, 01:53 AM
still a baffling signing..imo

He was a threat to them in the league so they signed. Been doing it for years.

houstonhibbee
15-08-2018, 04:08 AM
Slightly worried that might be true - and then they come calling for Lennon.

It's taken the shine off one of my usually favourite moments of every season.

Do you think he would go? Run the risk of it not working out there when he has great relationships at Eater rd? And if Rodgers does go is it a great opportunity to become immortal with Hibs and win the league???

15-08-2018, 05:25 AM
He was a threat to them in the league so they signed. Been doing it for years.

In what way was he a threat to them? Without checking I’m guessing they finished about 40/50 points ahead of Dundee and probably beat them every time they played them?

15-08-2018, 05:38 AM
Amazes me still that people wanted Celtic to win. Clearly nothing to do with coefficients as they wouldn’t be wanting Rangers or Hearts winning.

15-08-2018, 05:42 AM
Did they sing “ The fields of Athens cry”

15-08-2018, 06:24 AM
When we have been playing Boyle wide on the right, it’s a right wing back position with Lewis doing the same on the left. I think that’s what Celtc do with Forrest and Tierney playing the wing back roles

Pretty sure I’ve seen Celtic play Forrest in front of Lustig. Similarly I’ve seen Efe or Whittaker played at right back with Boyle in front (although that has stopped now, haven’t seen that since last season).

Even with playing them at wing backs, it’s just a wee bit strange that they are retained within the team even when the position doesn’t quite suit them.

15-08-2018, 06:26 AM
In what way was he a threat to them? Without checking I’m guessing they finished about 40/50 points ahead of Dundee and probably beat them every time they played them?

In a year where i've seen some of the strangest posts ever on here, that is up there in the top 3? :confused:

15-08-2018, 06:43 AM
I'm actually still laughing at Celtic spending £2m on disco lights at Parkhead for the CL games :LOL::LOL::LOL:

15-08-2018, 06:56 AM
I'm actually still laughing at Celtic spending £2m on disco lights at Parkhead for the CL games :LOL::LOL::LOL:

They could have bought just over half a John McGinn for that amount.

15-08-2018, 07:46 AM
Seeing Celtic getting horsed is a double-edged sword. The pleasure we get is marred by the untold joy it gives the Ibrox muppets.

15-08-2018, 08:35 AM
Pleased they're out of the Champions League - it means they won't have their bank balances ballooned once more, but can continue to contribute toward improving the coefficient.

I find it risible that they're pissing and whining about "lack of investment" being a key reason they haven't qualified. Perhaps now they have an idea of what it's like for the rest of Scottish Football trying to keep pace with their finances! But I'd rather we are where we are than take the sectarian pound and use that to build an empire of bigotry, smugness and paranoia :thumbsup:

15-08-2018, 01:06 PM

Ok, I'll rephrase that. He probably played well every time they played Celtic so they signed hm.

15-08-2018, 01:32 PM
Rather annoying article here, albeit the bits explaining the split of the money are quite interesting:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45190227

The whole tone is that Celtic have 'lost' money - which is nonsense. Obviously going out has prevented them from earning a lot more, but they haven't lost money as they aren't worse of than they were yesterday. This line in particular bugged me:

"That is £11m gone already. But the haemorrhaging does not stop there."

Haemorrhaging?! They're ****ing minted.

Also, what's the issue here? It should be about them missing out on the prestige and huge games that come with the group stages, had they got there - why does the extra money not coming in matter? In European terms, they had lots of revenue from the CL group stages in the last two years, and haven't used it to try and be more competitive in the tournament. In Scottish terms, they still have way more money than the rest of the teams put together and multiplied several times over, so no real problems there.

15-08-2018, 01:34 PM
Rather annoying article here, albeit the bits explaining the split of the money are quite interesting:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45190227

The whole tone is that Celtic have 'lost' money - which is nonsense. Obviously going out has prevented them from earning a lot more, but they haven't lost money as they aren't worse of than they were yesterday. This line in particular bugged me:

"That is £11m gone already. But the haemorrhaging does not stop there."

Also, what's the issue here? It should be about them missing out on the prestige and huge games that come with the group stages, had they got there - why does the extra money not coming in matter? In European terms, they had lots of revenue from the CL group stages in the last two years, and haven't used it to try and be more competitive in the CL. In Scottish terms, they still have way more money than the rest of the teams put together and multiplied several times over, so no real problems there.

Means we’ll get a reduced payment from UEFA too, although we’ve done quite well ourselves
Anyone remember what we got last season from UEFA

15-08-2018, 05:49 PM
Is Lewis Morgan injured?

15-08-2018, 06:06 PM
Is Lewis Morgan injured?Had keyhole surgery late July to solve a niggly knee problem mate

15-08-2018, 07:08 PM
Had keyhole surgery late July to solve a niggly knee problem mate

Cheers man.

15-08-2018, 07:25 PM
Dundee utd losing to st.johnstone colts at home , How far have they actually sunk ?!

15-08-2018, 07:36 PM
Dundee utd losing to st.johnstone colts at home , How far have they actually sunk ?!

They are fielding a colts/reserve side as well tonight. But yeah, they are sinking just like the titanic.

15-08-2018, 08:01 PM
They are fielding a colts/reserve side as well tonight. But yeah, they are sinking just like the titanic.

Bet365 have them as dundee utd :confused: Anyway 2-0 now

15-08-2018, 08:02 PM
Bet365 have them as dundee utd :confused: Anyway 2-0 now

Because it is their main team. They're just playing the youths.

15-08-2018, 08:11 PM
Because it is their main team. They're just playing the youths.

Bit misleading if you wanted to bet large on Dundee utd thinking they were playing against a colts team when in actual fact they are playing there colts also

15-08-2018, 08:14 PM
Bit misleading if you wanted to bet large on Dundee utd thinking they were playing against a colts team when in actual fact they are playing there colts also

Should always do your homework before placing a bet!

15-08-2018, 08:17 PM

P.s how do you know it's the youth team dundee utd are fielding ?

edit: Wee read on the utd forum confirms

15-08-2018, 08:32 PM

Indeed.

15-08-2018, 08:32 PM
Ok, I'll rephrase that. He probably played well every time they played Celtic so they signed hm.

I knew what you meant.

15-08-2018, 08:47 PM
2-2 in Madrid derby super cup.

GRA
15-08-2018, 09:55 PM
FT 4-2 Atleti AET some fightback from them!

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

16-08-2018, 01:14 AM
Utd ended up winning 3-2.

16-08-2018, 01:14 AM
Spartans go out on pens.