View Full Version : McGinn Straight In

11-08-2018, 01:44 PM
JMG listed in the Aston Villa side as a starter today. They are not wasting any time.

Celtic must be sick after today's result at the Bus Shelter.

I predict big things for JMG and await the after match reaction with interest.

11-08-2018, 01:45 PM
Hope he has a great game and helps Villa get promoted. Wish him nothing but the best for what he done for this club and the respect he showed it.

11-08-2018, 01:46 PM
JMG listed in the Aston Villa side as a starter today. They are not wasting any time.

Celtic must be sick after today's result at the Bus Shelter.

I predict big things for JMG and await the after match reaction with interest.

On KDS Celtic fans are slaughtering Brown and Kouassi's performances today. They assured us that SJM couldn't lace their boots and would be lucky to be on the bench. I bet SJM on his own would have performed twice as well as Brown and Kouassi combined today.

11-08-2018, 01:55 PM
On KDS Celtic fans are slaughtering Brown and Kouassi's performances today. They assured us that SJM couldn't lace their boots and would be lucky to be on the bench. I bet SJM on his own would have performed twice as well as Brown and Kouassi combined today.

Kouassi cost them £3M 😂😂😂😂

11-08-2018, 02:00 PM
Neither Scott Allan or Christie even made their bench today.

11-08-2018, 02:07 PM
Villa match day thread

https://www.villatalk.com/topic/17863-match-thread-do-not-mention-streams-in-this-thread/

coco22
11-08-2018, 02:14 PM
Goal...McGinn assist

11-08-2018, 02:16 PM
Goal for Villa assisst for SJM .Good start

11-08-2018, 02:17 PM
Goal for Villa assisst for SJM .Good start

where are you seeing the game? couldnt find a link

Theinsider
Villa match day thread

https://www.villatalk.com/topic/17863-match-thread-do-not-mention-streams-in-this-thread/

Assist for the first goal according to the forum.

Go on McGinn.

They’re raving about McGinn already. Not surprised in the slightest.

SJNB Hibby
11-08-2018, 02:19 PM
Barker on the bench for Preston
Cummings starting for Peterboro
Dylan must still be injured

11-08-2018, 02:21 PM

No change there then!

With his injury record, I am not sure that League One was the best move for Dylan.

11-08-2018, 02:23 PM

Yup, I'm sure the club will have included a decent sell on clause - could be worth more than the transfer fee we received as John has all the makings of a £20m-25m player.

SJNB Hibby
11-08-2018, 02:23 PM
Barker on the bench for Preston
Cummings starting for Peterboro

Conrad starting for Mansfield, but theyre 2-1 down early on

11-08-2018, 02:24 PM
Mcginn is an easy player to like purely down to his determination and heart. Delighted to hear he has an assist in his first match

11-08-2018, 02:25 PM
Value probably up to at least £15million already...

007 Mickey Weir
11-08-2018, 02:26 PM

The quote ‘This McGinn is gonna fast become a fans favourite’

Did they buy the rights to the SJM song???

11-08-2018, 02:28 PM
Goal Cumdog.

11-08-2018, 02:38 PM
SJM is steal of the century at less than £3 Million in English market terms.

Can't wait for Talksport on Monday morning. One of their contributors is a Rupert Bell who is a big Aston Villa supporter and regularly bigs them up. Will be interesting to hear what he has to say.

This is just the start of a huge journey for SJM.

Callyballybe
11-08-2018, 02:41 PM
Villa match day thread

Was a good read until the 'sweaty sock' comment.

Seems like McGinn fitting in well at least.

jst1875
11-08-2018, 02:44 PM
shocking goal for villa to lose

11-08-2018, 03:15 PM
SJM is steal of the century at less than £3 Million in English market terms.

Can't wait for Talksport on Monday morning. One of their contributors is a Rupert Bell who is a big Aston Villa supporter and regularly bigs them up. Will be interesting to hear what he has to say.

This is just the start of a huge journey for SJM.
St Mirren announced that the fee they received from the McGinn 30% was a club record .
Their previous record was 1m ( Hun face Ian Ferguson ) So we had to get at least 3.3m :cbme thinks.

11-08-2018, 03:16 PM
The guy on sky sports news news who is at game keeps calling him Josh Magennis

joe_hfc
11-08-2018, 03:17 PM
McGinn playing well, sounds like he MOTM contender. Celtic missed out big time.

Guy on SSN keeps calling him Josh McGinn. Lazy and embarrassing, said it about 3 times now.

11-08-2018, 03:17 PM
2-1 wigan now ..

ShadesLongThrow
11-08-2018, 03:20 PM
Villa defence is rotten. Think we could sell them Porteous for £10m in January.

11-08-2018, 03:25 PM
2-2 McGinn with the corner.....

11-08-2018, 03:28 PM
2-2 McGinn with the corner.....

He's off to a good start , been Villas best player

11-08-2018, 03:31 PM
They love our boy already. Some of the comments are amazing. He will be a total star down there. Super indeed.

mayo hibee
11-08-2018, 03:36 PM
How rubbish are they apart from him though? Crazy given the financial disparity between them and us.

11-08-2018, 03:36 PM

11-08-2018, 03:38 PM
If he's added set pieces to his game then he must be worth about £40m now.

11-08-2018, 03:40 PM
Must be guaranteed a Scotland start now given Brown appears to have reached the blowing out his arse stage of his career.

11-08-2018, 03:41 PM
Must be guaranteed a Scotland start now given Brown appears to have reached the blowing out his arse stage of his career.

Brown has retired from international games hasn’t he?

mayo hibee
11-08-2018, 03:41 PM
Great that McGinn seems to be having such a strong debut but the posters on that Villa forum don't half come across as a crowd of dicks.

Sioux
11-08-2018, 03:43 PM
"Deserves MOTM today, as he's been the best Villa player on the pitch. Fab debut. "

Villa fan

11-08-2018, 03:45 PM
Great that McGinn seems to be having such a strong debut but the posters on that Villa forum don't half come across as a crowd of dicks.

Agree, but you'll find that on any forum...........this one included :greengrin

11-08-2018, 03:48 PM
Brown has retired from international games hasn’t he?

Aye good point I'd forgot that, even more reason for Mcginn to be in :greengrin

11-08-2018, 03:49 PM
Wonder if Spurs will switch their attention from Jack Grealish to John McGinn? Seems to be having an absolute superb debut. He’s not even been there for a week!

11-08-2018, 03:50 PM
Brandon Barker has been brought on by Preston ,1-0 down

BegbieHSC
11-08-2018, 03:52 PM
Cummings scored for Peterborough

11-08-2018, 03:52 PM
McGinn, steal of the year

BegbieHSC
11-08-2018, 03:54 PM

Bet ye Sellic would have beat the puddle drinkers if they hadn’t been knobs about McGinn.

11-08-2018, 03:55 PM

Brenda went out of his way to dismiss SJM’s qualities after a game v them last season. If he wants to blame somebody for not signing him, he could start close to home...

11-08-2018, 03:56 PM

Undoubtedly. But we were also fortunate to have a player of his class in Scottish football for so long, and here at Hibs. It would have been a tragedy if he had stayed in this backwater with Celtic. He’ll be a Premiership player next year, with or without AV.

11-08-2018, 03:58 PM
Been following their game on their matchday thread. 3 assists for SUPER John McGinn. MOTM performance from him. The best £3 or 4m they will ever spend!!they

Austinho
11-08-2018, 04:07 PM
I hope we have a giant sell on clause, as I don’t think we can count on Villa getting us that promotion bonus this season!

jst1875
11-08-2018, 04:08 PM
Been following their game on their matchday thread. 3 assists for SUPER John McGinn. MOTM performance from him. The best £3 or 4m they will ever spend!!they

2 assists ?
watched the game, what he done he done well but had a quiet game by his usual standards, lots more to come for the villa fans

11-08-2018, 04:09 PM
2 assists ?
watched the game, what he done he done well but had a quiet game by his usual standards, lots more to come for the villa fans
Yeah they changed it to 2 assists. If he didn't have his usual game then when he really starts to play they are going to be blown away!! How did you watch it? I couldn't find a stream for it anywhere

jst1875
11-08-2018, 04:12 PM
Yeah they changed it to 2 assists. If he didn't have his usual game then when he really starts to play they are going to be blown away!! How did you watch it? I couldn't find a stream for it anywhere

ifollow on iptv

Austinho
11-08-2018, 04:12 PM
2 assists ?
watched the game, what he done he done well but had a quiet game by his usual standards, lots more to come for the villa fansVilla played a fair bit differently to us - the full backs seemed to punt the ball up the byline at every opportunity and bypass the midfield. A few times McGinn in space and never received the pass. Looked quality every time he was involved.

11-08-2018, 04:13 PM

You just need to know were to look :greengrin

11-08-2018, 04:13 PM
We should have got so much more for him, he is a special, special player. Hopefully we have a sell-on clause?

Regardless, delighted to see our SJM strolling it down south for Aston Villa, what a man.

11-08-2018, 04:16 PM
You just need to know were to look :greengrin
Yeah, I'm a total luddite tho, mechanical things I understand, digital stuff is just some kind of magic, so a wee bit of help would be good thanks

If he's added set pieces to his game then he must be worth about £40m now.

Hope we have a decent sell on clause 😃

Jdawg
We should have got so much more for him, he is a special, special player. Hopefully we have a sell-on clause?

Regardless, delighted to see our SJM strolling it down south for Aston Villa, what a man.

So much more? He has less than 1 year left on his deal and could have signed a pre contract for ZERO in January. What part of that do you not get?

cammy1969
11-08-2018, 04:17 PM
I think villa will be a good fit for sjm not a bad team could be better if grealesh passed the ball a bit more

H18S NX
11-08-2018, 04:18 PM
Didnae look like grealish wanted to pass to him.

jst1875
11-08-2018, 04:19 PM
Villa played a fair bit differently to us - the full backs seemed to punt the ball up the byline at every opportunity and bypass the midfield. A few times McGinn in space and never received the pass. Looked quality every time he was involved.

i agree, i would have liked his team mates to have involved him a bit more, im sure they will once he gets settled and they discover his style of play and his qualities

11-08-2018, 04:20 PM
So much more? He has less than 1 year left on his deal and could have signed a pre contract for ZERO in January. What part of that do you not get?

Armstrong had 1 year left and Celtic got £7m. Mcginn went for less than he was worth due to him being at a club like hibs. What part of that don’t you get?

11-08-2018, 04:22 PM

Of course, was more meaning when I think back to Brown going for £4m etc...he will be worth a lot of money in 1 or 2 seasons down there. Of course his contract situation dictated the fee we got, just wish that wasn't the case.

11-08-2018, 04:32 PM
One or two on KS saying that Hibs stood in McGinn’s way from going to Celtic, so I suppose we’ve ruined his career. :faf::faf::faf:

11-08-2018, 04:37 PM
One or two on KS saying that Hibs stood in McGinn’s way from going to Celtic, so I suppose we’ve ruined his career. :faf::faf::faf:

Idiots , Peter Lawwell stood in his way . Watched the Villa game , they love him already ,he looked like he was loving it . Im sure he's forgotten all about Celtic now

11-08-2018, 04:39 PM
Didnae look like grealish wanted to pass to him.

Grealish is reasonably talented but a total fud, and he'll be threatened by McGinn's presence.

McGinn is the real deal - talent but with a great attitude to match.

I confidently predict that McGinn is going to show up a good few of the primadonnas for what they are.

11-08-2018, 04:42 PM
Hope we have a decent sell on clause 😃
10 % is the number being said .

Andymac85
11-08-2018, 04:43 PM
Reading the Villa forum and it sounds like it was a typical SJM performance. Love this line from a fan who was at the game:

If Steven Gerrard wasn't a bell end he'd have been John McGinn.

11-08-2018, 04:44 PM
Grealish is reasonably talented but a total fud

11-08-2018, 04:46 PM

Slightly off subject but did we have a sell on for Brown when he left?

11-08-2018, 04:46 PM
Idiots , Peter Lawwell stood in his way . Watched the Villa game , they love him already ,he looked like he was loving it . Im sure he's forgotten all about Celtic now

Celtic actually valued him at around £1.5m

It’s incredible somebody employed in football could think that was a realistic valuation.

11-08-2018, 04:48 PM

Probably the same phannies that had been saying they weren't bothered about signing him.

biscuitersed75
11-08-2018, 04:53 PM
Villa played a fair bit differently to us - the full backs seemed to punt the ball up the byline at every opportunity and bypass the midfield. A few times McGinn in space and never received the pass. Looked quality every time he was involved.I agree, times in the second half when Villa players appeared reluctant to pass to him, Grealish in particular. They'll soon realise it's a sound option!

11-08-2018, 04:54 PM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hibernian/what-aston-villa-fans-said-about-john-mcginn-on-his-debut-1-4782556/amp

11-08-2018, 04:58 PM
MOTM from ‘Birmingham live’ :)

Newry Hibs
11-08-2018, 05:04 PM
Steve Bruce interviewed on five live. Interviewer said 'grand lacerny £3m for mcginn". Bruce didn't deny the fee and went on to say they've been watching him for a while.

11-08-2018, 05:16 PM
One of the many superlative comments on the AV forum:

What a player... He is tenacious, can pass, can tackle, is fantastic with a dead ball, and has a never give up attitude... He's going to be a star. Fantastic debut.

11-08-2018, 05:21 PM
They’re raving about him.

’I think they might actually understand’.

Chorley Hibee
11-08-2018, 05:22 PM
I can't read anymore of the glowing reports - it's still too raw! 😭

11-08-2018, 05:23 PM
Going to be a star down South. Reminds me a lot of Bryan Robson of Man U in the way he tackles and his drive. Celtic have ballsed up here.

SideBurns
11-08-2018, 05:24 PM
Magic to hear. Maybe any Celtic fans who think they were right to hold off breaking open the biscuit tin earlier in the window will now come to their senses. Pathetic from Peter 'Lesser Green' Lawell - brilliant from Hibs, and SJM today.

11-08-2018, 05:26 PM
One of the many superlative comments on the AV forum:

What a player... He is tenacious, can pass, can tackle, is fantastic with a dead ball, and has a never give up attitude... He's going to be a star. Fantastic debut.

Feel like a proud father reading these reports, so chuffed for him......and looking forward to us getting the sell on %!:)

11-08-2018, 05:30 PM
I can't read anymore of the glowing reports - it's still too raw! 😭

Feel your pain but per Morgan Freeman ... Some birds are not meant to be caged, their feathers are too bright :offski:

11-08-2018, 05:34 PM
EFL highlights are being shown at 9pm on Quest channel tonight if anybody wants to try and catch the highlights of the McGinn show :greengrin

11-08-2018, 05:34 PM
Celtic beat of them whilst John gives a MOTM performance for Villa, Lawell will be sick of hearing Mcginn's name!haha

andybev1
11-08-2018, 05:47 PM
They are absolutely raving about Mcginn over on Villa Talk. ''Best debut for ages', 'cannot wait to see more' 'MOTM and he has a shot on him too' etc

We knew this already but very pleasing all the same.

11-08-2018, 05:50 PM
He'll be a £10m man now

11-08-2018, 05:51 PM
Celtic beat of them whilst John gives a MOTM performance for Villa, Lawell will be sick of hearing Mcginn's name!haha

They could be out with the pitchforks come Tuesday.

11-08-2018, 05:52 PM
I watched the Hearts Celtic match in the local with Celtic supporting mate, without much prompting (which I was ready to give) he openly admitted Celtic had made a complete mess of this. Compounded by their inept performance today.

11-08-2018, 05:57 PM
although this seasons english championship winners are presently winning 4-1 at Derby i do hope villa go up at the very least via the play-off's, more cash is always welcome :)

11-08-2018, 05:59 PM
One Villa fan commented: "Seems we have actually got a bargain for once, rather than spending £15 million on s****. "

The Celtic fans will be fuming at losing out on McGinn, all because their club tried to get him for peanuts!

I wonder how much our club settled on? Hopefully, there are add on's in addition to a hefty lump sum up front.

11-08-2018, 05:59 PM
88% have voted him MOTM on their fans web site.

11-08-2018, 06:01 PM
Celtic actually valued him at around £1.5m

It’s incredible somebody employed in football could think that was a realistic valuation.

It's actually infuriating and an indictment of Celtic who showed nothing but contempt and disrespect on this occasion to Hibs.

coco22
11-08-2018, 06:06 PM
Apparently he is now nicknamed McGinniesta (apologies if already posted!)

11-08-2018, 06:12 PM
It's actually infuriating and an indictment of the utter contempt that Celtic showed on this occasion to Hibs.

Arrogance of the highest degree. And they have the cheek to say we’ve ruined the ‘special relationship’... (the mere idea of a special relationship with that lot turns my stomach anyway!)

11-08-2018, 06:15 PM
It's actually infuriating and an indictment of Celtic who showed nothing but contempt and disrespect on this occasion to Hibs.

I wouldn’t get too worked up about it. It’s then that have lost out, not us.

11-08-2018, 06:21 PM
although this seasons english championship winners are presently winning 4-1 at Derby i do hope villa go up at the very least via the play-off's, more cash is always welcome :)

Is that the play-offs that start in November? :greengrin

11-08-2018, 06:24 PM
If Celtic think anything is ruined it's on them. Offers were a disgrace especially that fist offer. Probably the most disrespectful offer I have seen.

11-08-2018, 06:31 PM
From KS:

The positive is that this loss has come at the start of the season. The short, sharp shock we needed. No excuses about fitness or the pressure of the invincible run etc. just a team that badly needs freshening up. Time to spend some of that money in the bank on quality to ensure we win the league.

A wee reminder Brenda and Peter:

:faf::faf::faf:

11-08-2018, 06:40 PM
If Celtic think anything is ruined it's on them. Offers were a disgrace especially that fist offer. Probably the most disrespectful offer I have seen.

They made an arse of it, the whole thing, on the basis of their arrogance and sense of entitlement. McGinn was probably turned off by Rogers dismmive comments following that game against us, that’s if he ever considered staying in Scotland as a viable option which I very much doubt. They massively underestimated John McGinn as a person and a player and paid the price.

11-08-2018, 06:42 PM
hope sjm doesn't get one of those Pesky Blinder haircuts

11-08-2018, 06:53 PM
88% have voted him MOTM on their fans web site.

Quite like the poll - looks like the admins do it after every game. Wonder if our admins could do the same.

Also noted that the admins had set up a "pre-match thread" that they immediately "archived" once the match start, to be replaced by the "match thread" that was live until the end of the match, to be replaced by the "MOTM" thread.

One for the "admins" to consider.

PapillonVert
11-08-2018, 07:18 PM
So glad that SJM has made a great start. I am sure with much more to come.

But why do the English think that Scotland and Scottish football is so rubbish?

11-08-2018, 07:27 PM
Quite like the poll - looks like the admins do it after every game. Wonder if our admins could do the same.

Also noted that the admins had set up a "pre-match thread" that they immediately "archived" once the match start, to be replaced by the "match thread" that was live until the end of the match, to be replaced by the "MOTM" thread.

One for the "admins" to consider.

As if they pricks would take any notice 😂😂

11-08-2018, 07:27 PM
Really pleased for John, so pleased he went there rather than Celtic.

11-08-2018, 07:32 PM

It's what they do. Belittle other leagues including the, Spanish, German, and Italian leagues, when they're at least on a par with their own...If not better.

11-08-2018, 07:36 PM
I'd concentrate on bigging up Scottish football rather than continually trying to knock English league football which is obviously successful and popular world wide. Money or no money.

11-08-2018, 07:41 PM
I'd concentrate on bigging up Scottish football rather than continually trying to knock English league football which is obviously successful and popular world wide. Money or no money.

So would I. It's a pity some try to talk down our product and therefore the money we should be getting for the players we develop.

11-08-2018, 07:45 PM
So would I. It's a pity some try to talk down our product and therefore the money we should be getting for the players we develop.

I think the SFA have a lot to answer for in that respect. On paper there are a lot more leagues across Europe who are less appealing than the SPL that attract a lot better TV deals and sponsorship. They are the guardians of Scottish football but they arent very good at it. Im English, support Hibs and love Scottish football.

11-08-2018, 07:50 PM
I think the SFA have a lot to answer for in that respect. On paper there are a lot more leagues across Europe who are less appealing than the SPL that attract a lot better TV deals and sponsorship. They are the guardians of Scottish football but they arent very good at it. Im English, support Hibs and love Scottish football.

No argument from me on the Sfa.

It's the continual pish from the media, both Scottish and English that gets my goat.

I knew buy your accent that you were English. 😂

11-08-2018, 07:52 PM
No argument from me on the Sfa.

It's the continual pish from the media, both Scottish and English that gets my goat.

I knew buy your accent that you were English. 😂

Well Lytham St Annes which is next door to Blackpool, which is virtually Scottish in summer :greengrin

11-08-2018, 07:55 PM
It's what they do. Belittle other leagues including the, Spanish, German, and Italian leagues, when they're at least on a par with their own...If not better.

Have a look at the Bournemouth fans forum thread on Hyndman being loaned to us for some top notch arrogance …. including Hibs being called a "mediocre' club ….. by Bournemouth fans FFS. My favourite one was a phone in on Talksport where an EPL fan asked how a player they were loaning to Borussia Monchengladbach could possibly improve there … unbelievable!!!

11-08-2018, 07:57 PM

The SFA don’t do the deals for the Scottish leagues, it’s the SPFL that do that. SFA do the deals for Scotland games and the Scottish Cup, and I believe they have great deals in place for each of these

11-08-2018, 08:00 PM
Watched the second half. one of the things which epitomizes SJM, he lost the ball just at the oppositions 18 yard line most players would have given up not him chased the player down and blocked his clearance. Why i think he will do well in England is his sheer stubbornness.

11-08-2018, 08:01 PM
Well Lytham St Annes which is next door to Blackpool, which is virtually Scottish in summer :greengrin

Say hello to your dad for me. Fair Nae. 😂

11-08-2018, 08:10 PM
The SFA don’t do the deals for the Scottish leagues, it’s the SPFL that do that. SFA do the deals for Scotland games and the Scottish Cup, and I believe they have great deals in place for each of these

I dont know how it works Billy but my point is the people selling the game in Scotland arent up to it or doing a particularly good job, thats why financially the game in Scotland has fallen so far behind, not in terms of the English, Spanish, Italian and German Leagues which have a good and desirable product world wide, but in terms of being compared to Swiss, Scandinavian, Belgian, Greek etc etc, why cant the Scottish game attract the same financial support as those and equivalent leagues? There is a big interest especially in England for instance around Celtic and Rangers, simply not cashing in on it.

11-08-2018, 08:20 PM
Celtic thought they could get him for free next year after their pathetic ‘bids’. Step up Aston Villa.

11-08-2018, 08:28 PM
I dont know how it works Billy but my point is the people selling the game in Scotland arent up to it or doing a particularly good job, thats why financially the game in Scotland has fallen so far behind, not in terms of the English, Spanish, Italian and German Leagues which have a good and desirable product world wide, but in terms of being compared to Swiss, Scandinavian, Belgian, Greek etc etc, why cant the Scottish game attract the same financial support as those and equivalent leagues? There is a big interest especially in England for instance around Celtic and Rangers, simply not cashing in on it.

Probably playing catchup from the erse falling out the league when that Govan club got rumbled and tumbled then Hearts fell and wouldn’t you know we followed suit - bonkers. That must have been a tough sell..

Maybe we need to think bigger than the UK. It would seem Sky decided to “punish” Scottish football let it wither on the vine whilst pumping more that the lions share of dosh into English football. Exports always seem more exotic - Tennents have managed to punt Super Strength on draft to the Italians. Maybe there’s the answer - get our drinks companies to promote our product overseas ;)

11-08-2018, 08:41 PM
Big thank you to the recent investors in Aston Villa.

Apparently Steve Bruce reported after the match as saying that 2 weeks ago they could not have thought about buying John McGinn before the cash injection.

Celtic must be sick.

PapillonVert
11-08-2018, 09:11 PM
[QUOTE=Famous Fiver;5510681
Celtic must be sick.[/QUOTE]

Oh God, I hope so!

As for oor bonnie laddie, go on, son, we love you and want you to do the very best you can!

PapillonVert
11-08-2018, 09:16 PM
[QUOTE=Famous Fiver;5510681
Celtic must be sick.[/QUOTE]

Oh God, I hope so!

As for oor bonnie laddie, go on, son, we love you and want you to do the very best you can!

11-08-2018, 09:17 PM
He'll be a £10m man now

If he attracts the attention of any of the big boys, he'll go for several times that.

Bleed Green could still be right. Everton might yet be a good fit. :wink:

11-08-2018, 09:18 PM
Are the championship highlights not on channel 5 anymore? Was hoping to see how SJM got on.

alihibs1
11-08-2018, 09:25 PM
Are the championship highlights not on channel 5 anymore? Was hoping to see how SJM got on.Now on Quest.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

AltheHibby
11-08-2018, 09:25 PM
Are the championship highlights not on channel 5 anymore? Was hoping to see how SJM got on.

As someone else said, they are on Quest now.

11-08-2018, 09:26 PM
Wtf is quest? Is it on free view?

11-08-2018, 09:27 PM
They made an arse of it, the whole thing, on the basis of their arrogance and sense of entitlement. McGinn was probably turned off by Rogers dismmive comments following that game against us, that’s if he ever considered staying in Scotland as a viable option which I very much doubt. They massively underestimated John McGinn as a person and a player and paid the price.

If SJM continues his good start down south then Villa will think they have got a bargain.

The chat won’t be about Petrie anymore, but about Celtc missing out on a player because they were too cheap to get the deal done.

w pilton hibby
11-08-2018, 09:34 PM

Ch 39 on Freeview or Ch 83 for Quest +1

killie-hibby
11-08-2018, 09:39 PM

Freeview Channel 37.Ian Holloway on tonight's programme described McGinn as a £10 million player.

11-08-2018, 09:41 PM
I would pay 10m for one night with mcginn 💚

PapillonVert
11-08-2018, 09:42 PM

If SJM continues his good start down south then Villa will think they have got a bargain

I think Steve Bruce already thinks he has got a bargain!

11-08-2018, 09:57 PM
Absolutely thrilled that John has got off to a great start and quickly found favour with the Villa support - long may that can continue and he can develop into an even better player, and we can still enjoy watching him as a mainstay in the Scotland side for the foreseeable future.

11-08-2018, 10:03 PM
SJM last few games for us summed him up. Even though he knew his time was up no tackle was shirked no quarter given and 100% given. I believe he would have had his best season ever if we had kept him.

11-08-2018, 10:03 PM
Ch 39 on Freeview or Ch 83 for Quest +1

Repeated 10am tomorrow

itslegaltender
11-08-2018, 10:04 PM
They have a new version of our song (from twitter)

We’ve got McGinn
Super John McGinn
I just don’t think you understand
He came from Hibernian
He hates the Albion
We’ve got super John McGinn!

11-08-2018, 10:14 PM
Now on Quest.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Thanks. Got it on series link now. 👍 Caught most of it on plus one, but typically, missed the villa game.

sean04
11-08-2018, 10:21 PM
Villa fans singing super John mcginn is tough to accept

11-08-2018, 10:34 PM
Freeview Channel 37.Ian Holloway on tonight's programme described McGinn as a £10 million player.

Appeared to know a bit about him as well. Whatever Villa paid they will know that they won't buy better even if they sign Messi for £5 million. Cheap as chips and already loved by the fans after only ninety minutes. Expect there to be a queue a mile long on Monday with fans getting McGinn on their Villa shirts.

11-08-2018, 10:48 PM
On a Mcginn
Super Jean Mcginn
je pense que tu ne comprend pas
il est milieu de terrain
plus mieux que Zidane
On a super Jean Mcginn

:boo hoo:

TheReg!
11-08-2018, 10:54 PM
They have a new version of our song (from twitter)

We’ve got McGinn
Super John McGinn
I just don’t think you understand
He came from Hibernian
He hates the Albion
We’ve got super John McGinn!

Wow! I’m a wee bit pished but SJM is by far thee best Hibs player I’ve ever seen. Gutted he’s gone!

11-08-2018, 10:55 PM
A debut observed by a man well respected by both clubs

http://i67.tinypic.com/2i0q61t.jpg

11-08-2018, 11:04 PM

Did he play in their European cup final team?

TheReg!
11-08-2018, 11:04 PM
Is SJM in the same territory as Pat Stanton? I know Pat was a pure Hibernian but does our John deserve the same acolytes? I think he does, he’s the new Pat for me!

11-08-2018, 11:06 PM
Did he play in their European cup final team?

Yes he did.

11-08-2018, 11:06 PM

I'm guessing Des Bremner.

11-08-2018, 11:08 PM
Villa fans singing super John mcginn is tough to accept

Yep it is but at least we get a mention in there new version of the SJM song 😉

11-08-2018, 11:08 PM

Yeah he looks better with his mullet

11-08-2018, 11:13 PM
Is SJM in the same territory as Pat Stanton? I know Pat was a pure Hibernian but does our John deserve the same acolytes? I think he does, he’s the new Pat for me!

3 years vs 13 but it’s a different world now.

11-08-2018, 11:14 PM

I assume you mean accolades.

One of them has won a Scottish Cup at hibs. One of them has captained hibs to a league Cup win.

Personally I would choose SJM, fairly sure my father would choose pat Stanton.

11-08-2018, 11:15 PM
3 years vs 13 but it’s a different world now.

The Scottish Cup hasn’t changed though.

11-08-2018, 11:19 PM
Yeah he looks better with his mullet

Can still see the younger Des in there.

TheReg!
11-08-2018, 11:27 PM
I assume you mean accolades.

One of them has won a Scottish Cup at hibs. One of them has captained hibs to a league Cup win.

Personally I would choose SJM, fairly sure my father would choose pat Stanton.

Yes mate accolades, bloody phone.

I was too old to appreciate Pat Stanton but I do appreciate SJM, my grandad and uncle worshiped the man butt SJM for me is in the same league

houstonhibbee
11-08-2018, 11:27 PM
Can still see the younger Des in there.
yes I recognized the face straight away - took a while to place it - but theres no mistaking him.....

11-08-2018, 11:49 PM
Yes mate accolades, bloody phone.

I was too old to appreciate Pat Stanton but I do appreciate SJM, my grandad and uncle worshiped the man butt SJM for me is in the same league

Too old to appreciate Stanton??

Assume you're in the same boat as me. Pat probably has him on service tbf, but for me, SJM did so much for us, you canny whack him.

He'll be the first player my son remembers as well. So that's important to me 👍

11-08-2018, 11:55 PM
Villa forum purring over him. Tear in my eye, so proud to have watched him in my team.

The epic fail by Celtic is the extra cherry on top of the cherry on top of the icing on top of the cake....

11-08-2018, 11:58 PM

Not yet. Pat at his best was majestic and a colossus. Mcginn has done great for us but not in the stanton bracket. I'm sure he will be in time.

12-08-2018, 12:07 AM
Villa fan saying that McGinn reminds hIm of Cropley. What would Cropley's value have been today?

12-08-2018, 12:42 AM
I love John but for me, no one will ever come close to Pat Stanton

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

12-08-2018, 01:43 AM
Never had the honour of watching Pat Stanton, but it was an honour to watch John play for us. If anyone wants to put him up there in the list of our greats I will never argue it because he's up there in my time watching Hibs thats for definite.

12-08-2018, 01:54 AM

Spot on!

12-08-2018, 03:24 AM
Never had the honour of watching Pat Stanton, but it was an honour to watch John play for us. If anyone wants to put him up there in the list of our greats I will never argue it because he's up there in my time watching Hibs thats for definite.

He's definitely up there.

How high, I don't know, but it deserves a thread of its own.

I'll start it...

proud_and_green
12-08-2018, 05:06 AM
Probably playing catchup from the erse falling out the league when that Govan club got rumbled and tumbled then Hearts fell and wouldn’t you know we followed suit - bonkers. That must have been a tough sell..

Maybe we need to think bigger than the UK. It would seem Sky decided to “punish” Scottish football let it wither on the vine whilst pumping more that the lions share of dosh into English football. Exports always seem more exotic - Tennents have managed to punt Super Strength on draft to the Italians. Maybe there’s the answer - get our drinks companies to promote our product overseas ;)I think that's part of it, but add in the earlier epic fail of trying to negotiate a deal with sky by insult. After that Sky said scottish football was dead to them. That will have kick started a culture of talking down Scottish football which would have been received by most down south as the truth. It also lost us a shop window, out of sight is out mind. Fast forward to the comments you refer to coming from the blazers about armageddon following the demise of oldco. It really is quite unforgiveable what they have done to the perception of the game here which has in turn led to a real economic disadvantage both in media sales and in dealings such as SJMs.

Sent from my G8441 using Tapatalk

12-08-2018, 11:27 AM
A lot of chat on here about Celtic missing an opportunity. However what most Celtic fans and apparently some Hibbies have been slow to realise is that few footballers with ambition want to spend their whole careers at Fir Park, Tynecastle or Hamilton.

Leeds, Notts Forest, West Brom, Wigan and Middlesbrough may not be to league now but their size, scale, tv coverage, crowds and wages surely make them a far better career proposition.

John McGinn is a fish who needs a bigger pond than Celtic can offer. He knew that and it was just a case of hoping a club like Aston Villa came calling.

12-08-2018, 11:35 AM
Think Villa will be my English team as long as SJM is there.

12-08-2018, 11:36 AM
A lot of chat on here about Celtic missing an opportunity. However what most Celtic fans and apparently some Hibbies have been slow to realise is that few footballers with ambition want to spend their whole careers at Fir Park, Tynecastle or Hamilton.

Leeds, Notts Forest, West Brom, Wigan and Middlesbrough may not be to league now but their size, scale, tv coverage, crowds and wages surely make them a far better career proposition.

John McGinn is a fish who needs a bigger pond than Celtic can offer. He knew that and it was just a case of hoping a club like Aston Villa came calling.

Totally agree. Scottish football can seriously slow a young players career down. England is the place to be.

12-08-2018, 11:36 AM

They are on Tv this week in the League Cup I think

12-08-2018, 11:39 AM
Just watched a Villa fan interview on YouTube and they were well happy with him

12-08-2018, 11:51 AM
Seems to have had a great debut for Villa making 2 assists. A few quotes below from their fans forum:

Best debut from a player in a long while.

Great debut!!!!! Very impressed with him. Plenty of energy, great passing, two assists, tracks back, tackles, got a shot on him.

The blokes crossing and set pieces are unreal. What a breath of fresh air can't wait to see more of him.

Fantastic! Will be the anchor of our starting 11. Hibs fans weren't joking.. he's some player!

One of the best debuts I've seen, he was absolutely superb.

Excellent stuff. Hassled the opposition, wanted the ball, beautiful crossing and seems to have a shot on him too. Best Villa debut that I can remember.

If we can somehow get this guy and Hourihane into the same team we will run people to death. I believe the technical term used to describe his play is 'busy c***'

Put a number of the other lazy ***** to shame with work rate and effort. Will be a fans favourite for sure, great debut

Best debut since Benito Carbone. So close to getting the winner he so richly deserved. I’m already in love.

Cracking debut! Oh, and Hibs are now totally my team in Scotland.

12-08-2018, 11:55 AM
I see a number of Villa fans have adopted Hibs as their Scottish club due to SJM

12-08-2018, 12:02 PM
I see a number of Villa fans have adopted Hibs as their Scottish club due to SJM

Think a lot of Hibs fans have adopted Villa as well.

12-08-2018, 12:08 PM
I love John but for me, no one will ever come close to Pat Stanton

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

4m? King Paddy would be worth 80m nowadays :thumbsup:

cocteautwin
12-08-2018, 12:10 PM
Villa will be back next year for Porteous, Mallen, Kamberi, Shaw, McLaren . . . . . .

12-08-2018, 12:15 PM
Villa will be back next year for Porteous, Mallen, Kamberi, Shaw, McLaren . . . . . .

and Leeann?

12-08-2018, 12:28 PM

Hopefully they’ll be back in the epl and will offer serious money.

dave62
12-08-2018, 12:45 PM
Extended highlights for yesterday's Villa game on Villa's YouTube channel for anyone that hasn't seen them yet.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GiTstgguj8A

Can't really get an idea of the ebb and flow of a game from a ten minute highlights package, but McGinn sets up the first two goals and always looks to get involved in the play, pretty much as we knew he would. He's going to be a real star down there.

12-08-2018, 12:47 PM
Think a lot of Hibs fans have adopted Villa as well.

A Villa and a City fan at work. City were my preferred team owing to the David Murphy connection. First day back at work tomorrow, where my new favourite colleague will be the Villa fan... I'm so fickle :greengrin

12-08-2018, 01:14 PM
A Villa and a City fan at work. City were my preferred team owing to the David Murphy connection. First day back at work tomorrow, where my new favourite colleague will be the Villa fan... I'm so fickle :greengrin
What Jack and Dougal are Villa and City fans!

12-08-2018, 01:18 PM
McGinn will be at a bigger club in no time. Can see him being a James Miller type in front of Andy Robertson at Liverpool for example.. it is not unimaginable IMO.

12-08-2018, 01:19 PM
What Jack and Dougal are Villa and City fans!

Nah - Mrs Doyle Is the Villa fan.

Dougal's a Tim who writes a blog and Ted "that money was only resting in my account" Crilly is surprisingly a Jambo.

12-08-2018, 01:20 PM
NL just near enough confirmed on the radio that we've got a sell on clause.

12-08-2018, 01:21 PM
McGinn will be at a bigger club in no time. Can see him being a James Miller type in front of Andy Robertson at Liverpool for example.. it is not unimaginable IMO.

Hope Liverpool do a Virgil van Dijk and fork out £75 million for him. :aok:

12-08-2018, 01:25 PM

And if he went to Celtic were they your 2nd Scottish team?

12-08-2018, 01:47 PM

Villa are a big club. If they go up this year and keep progressing, SJM could fulfil plenty of career ambitions with them.

Wakeyhibee
12-08-2018, 02:06 PM

part arrogance, part malevolence. When they can cherry pick the best in Scotland for a relevant pittance, Scottish or otherwise, it is like taking sweeties from a baby. Personally I think its a lot better than they portray as results are showing in Europe.

PS very pleased also for SJMs start at AV.

12-08-2018, 08:03 PM
Probably already posted but highlights of John's Villa debut here. He most certainly plays a key role:

Ilovehibs
12-08-2018, 08:53 PM
Probably already posted but highlights of John's Villa debut here. He most certainly plays a key role:

Cant bring myself to watch it yet...too soon 😪

12-08-2018, 09:16 PM

Yes he's had a great debut.

Grumpy
12-08-2018, 09:21 PM
Good evening everyone.

I'm a Villa fan and felt compelled to join after watching McGinn's debut yesterday (still a little early for me to be referring to him as SJM).

As you will no doubt have gathered, I was impressed with his debut. So much so that I would agree with all of the other Villa fans you have quoted, it's the best debut I've seen for a long time, if not the best debut full stop.

I'm convinced that he will improve even further once he has grown accustomed to his new surroundings. Villa may not be the best team in England but the team spirit and unity among the players is as good as you could wish for. McGinn has joined a very close group of players and there are no groups or "clicks" - Just one group. It is going to be easy for him to fit in and become accepted in the dressing room.

I was shocked by the energy, aggression and enthusiasm that McGinn showed. If he lost the ball, he would often chase back and regain possession. Unlike skill and flair, these qualities will not dip. I am absolutely amazed that no Premier League sides were in for him (and also that we were able to beat off Celtic).

I think it unfair to compare him with other players - I considered him to be unique and as I previously stated, I'm convinced that, that was only the beginning and that he is going to improve further once settled. At times, he linked up extremely well with Grealish and that pairing is better than a lot in the Premier League.

I wouldn't get too comfortable watching Villa. If he keeps this up (which he almost certainly will), I would imagine that we'd have trouble keeping hold of him in a years time if we don't go up.

I'm so happy to have McGinn on board and am sorry that it has been at your expense. I wasn't even aware that the Championship had this lure to be honest.

Finally, as someone else alluded to earlier, Villa tend to build up play from out wide with wingers and overlapping fullbacks. Don't expect everything to go through McGinn but rest assured that he is going to play his part and will be one of the top performers not only at the club but also in the Championship.

Good luck for the new season.

12-08-2018, 09:26 PM
Good evening everyone.

I'm a Villa fan and felt compelled to join after watching McGinn's debut yesterday (still a little early for me to be referring to him as SJM).

As you will no doubt have gathered, I was impressed with his debut. So much so that I would agree with all of the other Villa fans you have quoted, it's the best debut I've seen for a long time, if not the best debut full stop.

I'm convinced that he will improve even further once he has grown accustomed to his new surroundings. Villa may not be the best team in England but the team spirit and unity among the players is as good as you could wish for. McGinn has joined a very close group of players and there are no groups or "clicks" - Just one group. It is going to be easy for him to fit in and become accepted in the dressing room.

I was shocked by the energy, aggression and enthusiasm that McGinn showed. If he lost the ball, he would often chase back and regain possession. Unlike skill and flair, these qualities will not dip. I am absolutely amazed that no Premier League sides were in for him (and also that we were able to beat off Celtic).

I think it unfair to compare him with other players - I considered him to be unique and as I previously stated, I'm convinced that, that was only the beginning and that he is going to improve further once settled. At times, he linked up extremely well with Grealish and that pairing is better than a lot in the Premier League.

I wouldn't get too comfortable watching Villa. If he keeps this up (which he almost certainly will), I would imagine that we'd have trouble keeping hold of him in a years time if we don't go up.

I'm so happy to have McGinn on board and am sorry that it has been at your expense. I wasn't even aware that the Championship had this lure to be honest.

Finally, as someone else alluded to earlier, Villa tend to build up play from out wide with wingers and overlapping fullbacks. Don't expect everything to go through McGinn but rest assured that he is going to play his part and will be one of the top performers not only at the club but also in the Championship.

Cheers Grumpy, you do have a very good player on your books now, one who i hope does what you predict, and goes to a big Premier league side in a year or two.

We'd just like the extra money it would give us. :greengrin

Good luck this coming season, enjoy SJM while you have him. :aok:

12-08-2018, 09:26 PM
Good evening everyone.

Interesting post and welcome ! thanks for sharing....he will be a joy to watch...I would also expect him to grow in performance as he matures further. Even when he is not on his best form, you will get that level of application. Enjoy him - we miss him already [emoji24][emoji106]✌️

12-08-2018, 09:28 PM
Good evening everyone.

Treat him nice. He's very special. Good luck for the season.

12-08-2018, 09:43 PM

McGinn played his part in their win but I thought the Villa defence was very suspect and the result could have been reversed if Wigan had taken their chances. ( yes I know they were only highlights).

12-08-2018, 10:52 PM
Good evening everyone.

Welcome Grumpy and thanks for posting. Give it a few weeks and SJM may well turn you into Happy.

There will be a few of us keeping an eye on how well he is doing and I for one would be happy to hear from you again with your opinions. Like others, I have now adopted Villa as my English team and it would be good to see if any Villa fans start following Hibs.

As bigwheel said, even when SJM isn't having his best game you know he'll always give 100%. What I would also say is how brilliant he is when interacting with fans. Not only will he be a great asset for Villa on the park, he will be a great ambassador off it.

You may or may not be aware that SJM is a Hibs legend having been part of the Scottish Cup winning team on 21/5/16, which we celebrated by singing "Sunshine On Leith", the Football Anthem World Cup winner (after beating Hey Duggee's Kick song in extra time in the semi).

Here's some footage:

https://youtu.be/LeHkQYDoVJ0

And if you want to see yer man, here's the official version:

https://youtu.be/JdP_KK75ThI

13-08-2018, 08:29 AM
Welcome Grumpy and thanks for posting. Give it a few weeks and SJM may well turn you into Happy.

There will be a few of us keeping an eye on how well he is doing and I for one would be happy to hear from you again with your opinions. Like others, I have now adopted Villa as my English team and it would be good to see if any Villa fans start following Hibs.

As bigwheel said, even when SJM isn't having his best game you know he'll always give 100%. What I would also say is how brilliant he is when interacting with fans. Not only will he be a great asset for Villa on the park, he will be a great ambassador off it.

You may or may not be aware that SJM is a Hibs legend having been part of the Scottish Cup winning team on 21/5/16, which we celebrated by singing "Sunshine On Leith", the Football Anthem World Cup winner (after beating Hey Duggee's Kick song in extra time in the semi).

Here's some footage:

https://youtu.be/LeHkQYDoVJ0

And if you want to see yer man, here's the official version:

https://youtu.be/JdP_KK75ThI

Grumpy, you might wonder why there is such a police presence around the pitch during that clip?

Lets say there was a little bit of exuberance for 10 minutes or so. :wink:

Hibs_Villain
13-08-2018, 11:45 AM
Have to back up my fellow Villain, he had a great debut. Wicked left peg that Wigan couldn't defend. Energy, aggression and demanding the ball, all the qualities I like to see. His understanding with Grealish will only develop.

Agree on our defence, a new keeper on his debut and a midfielder (Jedinak) at centre half. We should only improve in all areas.

UTV and GGTTH

13-08-2018, 12:26 PM
Have to back up my fellow Villain, he had a great debut. Wicked left peg that Wigan couldn't defend. Energy, aggression and demanding the ball, all the qualities I like to see. His understanding with Grealish will only develop.

Agree on our defence, a new keeper on his debut and a midfielder (Jedinak) at centre half. We should only improve in all areas.

UTV and GGTH

Hope you lads get promotion this season. Villa are an EPL club and SJM deserves to showcase his talent on the biggest stage. I reckon it will only be a matter of time before one of the big 6 in England start making offers to take him.

Hibs_Villain
13-08-2018, 12:37 PM
Hope you lads get promotion this season. Villa are an EPL club and SJM deserves to showcase his talent on the biggest stage. I reckon it will only be a matter of time before one of the big 6 in England start making offers to take him.

Hope the Hibees upset the OF too, don't let the Bigots prosper.

Colhint
13-08-2018, 01:48 PM
Have to agree with my fellow Villa fans about McGinniesta. He will be loved at VP, fantastic debut.

Back in May

our hearts were broken

Sorrow sorrow sorrow

But he came, he'll fix it

thank you thank you thank you.

Also you guys have been amazing. You'll get plenty of Villa fans following you.

One last thing Sunshine on Leith after the cup win was probably the classiest thing I have seen in football.

birdspotter
13-08-2018, 02:34 PM
One last thing Sunshine on Leith after the cup win was probably the classiest thing I have seen in football.

It sure was but it was also the most emotional time many, many thousands of us have ever experienced. Quite a few tears were shed that day by many.
A day that a sleeping giant was finally woken! GGTTH

13-08-2018, 02:55 PM
NL just near enough confirmed on the radio that we've got a sell on clause.

What did he say?

13-08-2018, 04:57 PM
What did he say?

It was in the build up to the game yesterday on Sportsound. The reporter asked Lennon about having received good money for McGinn and having insisted on us getting a sell on clause. Lennon said he wasn't privy to the contract negotiations but does think we have a sell on clause that might net us a good fee in future.

No figures or percentages were discussed but from the way Lennon was talking, not just the words he used, it sounded very much to me like he knows fine well that we have a sell-on clause.

13-08-2018, 07:12 PM
It was in the build up to the game yesterday on Sportsound. The reporter asked Lennon about having received good money for McGinn and having insisted on us getting a sell on clause. Lennon said he wasn't privy to the contract negotiations but does think we have a sell on clause that might net us a good fee in future.

No figures or percentages were discussed but from the way Lennon was talking, not just the words he used, it sounded very much to me like he knows fine well that we have a sell-on clause.
Cheers mate, sounds promising :aok:

13-08-2018, 07:33 PM
He's in the EFL's team of the week.

13-08-2018, 07:48 PM
He's also number one of FourFourTwo's smartest signing of the Championship this summer.

13-08-2018, 07:50 PM
Wonder how much we could have sold him for if he’d still had 3 years on his contract.

13-08-2018, 08:02 PM
Wonder how much we could have sold him for if he’d still had 3 years on his contract.

£5m easy, but prob not much above that.

The market seems to set a ceiling for players from Scottish clubs. Craig Gordon very much an anomaly in that respect.

13-08-2018, 08:23 PM
He's also number one of FourFourTwo's smartest signing of the Championship this summer.

https://www.fourfourtwo.com/features/ranked-championships-10-smartest-transfers-summer

Just in the door and he's already getting accolades.

13-08-2018, 08:31 PM
£5m easy, but prob not much above that.

The market seems to set a ceiling for players from Scottish clubs. Craig Gordon very much an anomaly in that respect.

Pundits are talking about £8 million, now, as a potential price for that Aberdeen defender whose name escapes me. Theres no such thing as a ceiling.

13-08-2018, 09:17 PM
Pundits are talking about £8 million, now, as a potential price for that Aberdeen defender whose name escapes me. Theres no such thing as a ceiling.

That’s Lionel Ritchie f.....d then

13-08-2018, 09:27 PM

McKenna? I’d be amazed if they get that.

14-08-2018, 06:04 PM

Hopefully, Hibs will have got a sell on clause included in the deal for John McGinn. It would have been totally remiss of Hibs not to have insisted on that IMHO. Surely Leeann Dempster wouldn't have agreed to let McGinn go for just £2.75m, or whatever it actually was? Other than those directly involved in the negotiations, nobody appears to actually know.

If it was only £2.75m then SJM is a ridiculous bargain, and an absolute steal, for AV.

I'm not clear why there is secrecy surrounding any sell on clause. It was well known, and public knowledge, that St Mirren had one (30%?) included when they sold John to Hibs.

14-08-2018, 06:12 PM
Hopefully, Hibs will have got a sell on clause included in the deal for John McGinn. It would have been totally remiss of Hibs not to have insisted on that IMHO. Surely Leeann Dempster wouldn't have agreed to let McGinn go for just £2.75m, or whatever it actually was? Other than those directly involved in the negotiations, nobody appears to actually know.

If it was only £2.75m then SJM is a ridiculous bargain, and an absolute steal, for AV.

I'm not clear why there is secrecy surrounding any sell on clause. It was well known, and public knowledge, that St Mirren had one (30%?) included when they sold John to Hibs.

It was only "well known" as St Mirren claimed it was 33% on twitter, and that was refuted at our AGM quickly afterwards. Many on here decided to take it as fact. It may be villa don't want people knowing what the sell on fee is in case it affects future bids?

Regarding the fee, St Mirren have claimed the sell on they received was a club record fee, so if their sell on was anywhere around the 33% then it's safe to assume the total fee was more than 2.75. Suggestion that 2.75 was our take home after everyone else got their cut ties in with the maths for fee being around 4 million.

14-08-2018, 06:35 PM
It was only "well known" as St Mirren claimed it was 33% on twitter, and that was refuted at our AGM quickly afterwards. Many on here decided to take it as fact. It may be villa don't want people knowing what the sell on fee is in case it affects future bids?

Regarding the fee, St Mirren have claimed the sell on they received was a club record fee, so if their sell on was anywhere around the 33% then it's safe to assume the total fee was more than 2.75. Suggestion that 2.75 was our take home after everyone else got their cut ties in with the maths for fee being around 4 million.

If it (the sell on percentage) claimed by St Mirren was refuted at Hibs AGM, what was the sell on percentage? Nobody knows, other than those party to the negotiations it seems?

You then go on to say it's "safe to assume" the total fee was more than £2.75m because of what St Mirren have claimed about the fee they received being a club record. Which is what? I don't know. Yet their claim of 33%, which was refuted at Hibs AGM, is not to be believed.

So we are none the wiser what the sell on percentage, if any, is in the sale of John McGinn to AV.

Am I understanding you correctly?

14-08-2018, 06:53 PM
He’s that good he gets rested for cup games like Grealish etc 😉

14-08-2018, 06:55 PM
If it (the sell on percentage) claimed by St Mirren was refuted at Hibs AGM, what was the sell on percentage? Nobody knows, other than those party to the negotiations it seems?

You then go on to say it's "safe to assume" the total fee was more than £2.75m because of what St Mirren have claimed about the fee they received being a club record. Which is what? I don't know. Yet their claim of 33%, which was refuted at Hibs AGM, is not to be believed.

So we are none the wiser what the sell on percentage, if any, is in the sale of John McGinn to AV.

Am I understanding you correctly?

First paragraph I was pointing out that it was not widely know what the exact fee was, it was claimed once then taken as fact. It might have been 33% and Rod was playing games at the AGM, we don't know. It was the comment about St Mirren fee being widely known that I was mainly disputing.

We do know what St Mirren prev record fee was, so we know if the got over that then we have a pretty good idea that the fee was not 2.75 in total, as their prev record fee was 1mw million. That said it could be the sell on was more that 33% but you'd have to question why Stewart Gilmour would give a lower fee out on twitter.

If we take him at his word and it was 33% then a fee of 4 million minus their 33% gives Hibs for Hibs around 2.75. As the reports all phrase it in a way that the 2.75 is what Hibs made out the deal then they're not wrong in what their saying.

You are correct though, even my own sums are supposition. It's an undisclosed fee so it's all guess work, as is everyone else's figures.

14-08-2018, 07:05 PM
First paragraph I was pointing out that it was not widely know what the exact fee was, it was claimed once then taken as fact. It might have been 33% and Rod was playing games at the AGM, we don't know. It was the comment about St Mirren fee being widely known that I was mainly disputing.

We do know what St Mirren prev record fee was, so we know if the got over that then we have a pretty good idea that the fee was not 2.75 in total, as their prev record fee was 1mw million. That said it could be the sell on was more that 33% but you'd have to question why Stewart Gilmour would give a lower fee out on twitter.

If we take him at his word and it was 33% then a fee of 4 million minus their 33% gives Hibs for Hibs around 2.75. As the reports all phrase it in a way that the 2.75 is what Hibs made out the deal then they're not wrong in what their saying.

You are correct though, even my own sums are supposition. It's an undisclosed fee so it's all guess work, as is everyone else's figures.

OK I get what you're saying.

Just out of interest, who was it St Mirren got £1m for? :aok:

14-08-2018, 07:12 PM
OK I get what you're saying.

Just out of interest, who was it St Mirren got £1m for? :aok:

I had thought it was Ian Ferguson to Rangers for about £850,000 after he scored winner against Dundee Utd in Scottish Cup Final.

14-08-2018, 07:16 PM
I had thought it was Ian Ferguson to Rangers for about £850,000 after he scored winner against Dundee Utd in Scottish Cup Final.

St M fans say they got £850k then an add on of £100, so just shy of £1M in total

14-08-2018, 07:19 PM

Incredibly that was 30 years ago.

Callum7
15-08-2018, 05:50 AM
http://i64.tinypic.com/162206b.jpg
http://i67.tinypic.com/2ng6khf.jpg
Lost?

15-08-2018, 07:02 AM
Lost?

Confused.

The usual rent-a-gobs assured him that John Mcginn ‘will be a Celtc player’... and yet this??

What’s goan on mammy?

15-08-2018, 07:03 AM
Lost?

Or a Yeovil fan considering that’s who they were playing

15-08-2018, 09:19 AM
McKenna? I’d be amazed if they get that.

I think everything is now changing. James Madison a midfielder I wasn't familiar with, has signed for Leicester from Norwich City of the second tier for £25 million. The boy has never played top flight football before! (he had a very good debut against man u on Friday). It's a sellers market and if a wolves or a west Brom took a punt on Mckenna for a fee like £8 million, then it doesn't represent a big loss for them if he's gash at that level. It's peanuts for them.

15-08-2018, 10:34 AM
I think everything is now changing. James Madison a midfielder I wasn't familiar with, has signed for Leicester from Norwich City of the second tier for £25 million. The boy has never played top flight football before! (he had a very good debut against man u on Friday). It's a sellers market and if a wolves or a west Brom took a punt on Mckenna for a fee like £8 million, then it doesn't represent a big loss for them if he's gash at that level. It's peanuts for them.

He did play for Aberdeen

15-08-2018, 11:56 AM
He did play for Aberdeen

Indeed, but as we were saying, the common belief in England is that the spfl isn't top level. The interesting thing about Madison is the imagined ceiling for a championship player has been smashed, as was the belief up till recently that no-one would pay more than £30 million for a keeper. These beliefs are all being proved wrong.

16-08-2018, 10:24 AM
https://twitter.com/avfcofficial/status/1030034009710120960?s=12

16-08-2018, 10:35 AM

That was some debut from SJM...

I always thought his corners were his downfall, he seems to have turned that around since he left... or it's highlighted that I was too critical when he was here.

16-08-2018, 12:47 PM
Don't worry. There were many others on here quick on the don't like button.

The man is a superstar and we were so lucky to have him as long as we did.

How he was not snapped up immediately after 21.05.2016 will always be a mystery.

In my opinion.

soupernashwan
16-08-2018, 12:59 PM

Says it all about McGinn that my biggest emotion watching that is pride, and not regret or bitterness. I think I might be getting a preview of the types of feelings that will come when my daughters leave home.

Where were those corners before though!!!

McSwanky
16-08-2018, 12:59 PM

You can see why the Villa fans took to him straight away!

16-08-2018, 03:54 PM
Always thought he would go for 5mil. Disappointed.but on this showing hes worth millions more than that.
Bugger cant even hold up my big told you so banner. Annoyed as hell.

16-08-2018, 05:21 PM
Always thought he would go for 5mil. Disappointed.but on this showing hes worth millions more than that.

Less than 12 months to run on his contract. That is why he went for less money.

Overall he was a great signing for us though.

houstonhibbee
19-08-2018, 05:49 AM
Mom for second week in a row..........

19-08-2018, 06:08 AM

I hope the love in comments from Hibs fans come to an end pronto, it's becoming very Celtic-esque.

19-08-2018, 06:46 AM
I hope the love in comments from Hibs fans come to an end pronto, it's becoming very Celtic-esque.

What does that even mean? Is it a whoosh moment or just you in need of attention?
Fans interested in all time legendary former players fortunes in the weeks after he leaves them- shock, horror::shocked:

Soon it’ll be the IRA songs, eh OK.

19-08-2018, 06:52 AM

Whit are you even talking about? If anything I'm really proud and enjoy seeing him doing so exceptionally well in his first few games down south.

19-08-2018, 07:11 AM
https://www.expressandstar.com/sport/football/aston-villa/2018/08/19/ipswich-town-1-aston-villa-1---player-ratings/

huggie1875
19-08-2018, 07:29 AM

Why ? I want to keep tabs on SJM want him to be a massive player for Scotland and id imagine we will have a tidy sell on clause

Liam6270
19-08-2018, 07:45 AM

Totally agree

19-08-2018, 07:50 AM

Nonsense natural to want the guy to do well quite why any Celtic reference I have no idea. Maybe says more about you than anyone else.

19-08-2018, 07:52 AM
Totally agree

Seems you do.

Tug Wilson
19-08-2018, 08:12 AM
Why ? I want to keep tabs on SJM want him to be a massive player for Scotland and id imagine we will have a tidy sell on clause

Absolutely. So there is a direct connection between SJM doing well and Hibs benefitting.

There is also the slightly more indirect benefit that when looking to attract good young prospects in the future we can use SJM as a perfect example of how me can add value to their career.

Finally I want him to do well just to prove what we have been saying about him for 3 years is true.

The Leith Dutch
19-08-2018, 08:20 AM

His worth was always lower due to being a player having about a year left on his contract and playing for a club of our relative stature.
Whether or not anyone thinks this is fair or reasonable is irrelevant in determining his value for being sold.

If we've got £2.75 million (minus whatever the St Mirren sell on was) plus a decent sell on clause inserted I think we've done well.
The fact that people we've never heard of are going from Norwich to Leicester for £25m has nothing to do with it.

The best part is that he didn't go West and I can now follow his career and hope he's a success.

19-08-2018, 09:00 AM
In all the fall out from the McGinn saga, it seems it’s now obligatory for the media to say Celtc missed out on their “long term target”.

When Hibs played Celtc last season and Rodgers was invited to comment on McGinn, he went out of his way to dismiss any comparison with Scott Brown and talked him down.

If McGinn was indeed a long term target, it was a strange way to act.

Steve Bruce was very much personally involved in persuading McGinn to move to Villa.

It’s convenient for Rodgers to blame his board, but the Celtc hierarchy might also ask their manager why he didn’t push harder for the player if he really wanted him.

I think Celtc miscalculated massively, and assumed they held all the cards.

19-08-2018, 09:34 AM
In all the fall out from the McGinn saga, it seems it’s now obligatory for the media to say Celtc missed out on their “long term target”.

When Hibs played Celtc last season and Rodgers was invited to comment on McGinn, he went out of his way to dismiss any comparison with Scott Brown and talked him down.

If McGinn was indeed a long term target, it was a strange way to act.

Steve Bruce was very much personally involved in persuading McGinn to move to Villa.

It’s convenient for Rodgers to blame his board, but the Celtc hierarchy might also ask their manager why he didn’t push harder for the player if he really wanted him.

I think Celtc miscalculated massively, and assumed they held all the cards.

I took Rodgers' quote at the time in the same way I regarded Lennon's comments last week about not having much room left in the budget ie a negotiating tactic rather than a statement of fact.

houstonhibbee
19-08-2018, 09:52 AM
His worth was always lower due to being a player having about a year left on his contract and playing for a club of our relative stature.
Whether or not anyone thinks this is fair or reasonable is irrelevant in determining his value for being sold.

If we've got £2.75 million (minus whatever the St Mirren sell on was) plus a decent sell on clause inserted I think we've done well.
The fact that people we've never heard of are going from Norwich to Leicester for £25m has nothing to do with it.

The best part is that he didn't go West and I can now follow his career and hope he's a success.
The EEN said that we had banked £2.75 mln so. I assume that is what we got after st mirren got their 30%

RoscoHibby
19-08-2018, 11:13 AM
https://twitter.com/TheVillaHome/status/1030811939843330048?s=19

19-08-2018, 11:52 AM

Celtic-esque? :faf:

I've absolutely no idea what you mean.

Are you referring to all the "Bring him home" comments we've had on here about players like Deek, Griffiths and currently Scott Allan?

That's Hibs-esque, no?

22-09-2018, 03:29 PM
https://twitter.com/ryanwtking/status/1043519435460562945?s=21

Goal of the season contender from SJM.

Richibee
22-09-2018, 03:35 PM
Better angle!
https://twitter.com/wittonroad/status/1043519792089587714?s=21