View Full Version : Nothing Against Jambos But... / Today's games
11-08-2018, 01:45 PM
I expected to think the same before the match today given their last few results...but Honeslt wasn't that impressed tbh. Celtic were rank rotten and Hertz barely threatened it was a typical Levein performance...grab a goal and defend what you got and fair play to them it worked. But they haven't improved that much imho and I thought differently before seeing the match today
Celtic were poor, but a lot of that was down to Hearts, who dealt with them well.
Levein's teams will always be hard to break down, and they look stronger in midfield, up front, and in the full back positions.
11-08-2018, 01:48 PM
Celtic were poor, but a lot of that was down to Hearts, who dealt with them well.
Levein's teams will always be hard to break down, and they look stronger in midfield, up front, and in the full back positions.I honestly think your making them out to be a lot better than what they are mate but time will tell...
11-08-2018, 01:48 PM
I don't see a huge change to last season tbh I expected more of them despite them winning today ...wee bit more threat up front but in essence they are still tough to breakdown and a bunch of dirty hacking bassas...
Sent from my SM-G950F using TapatalkYep, they probably deserved the win against a poor celtc team with no game plan but strong consistent refereeing is needed against hearts. How they avoided a couple of sending offs is beyond me. Naismith diving is going to be a feature this season as well.
11-08-2018, 01:49 PM
I caught the 2nd half - Septic were absolute keech and Potter has his ideal team !. They will kick **** out of the opposition and run about endlessly - though with the skill-levels shown today 'endlessly' is easily replaced by 'aimlessly' !
11-08-2018, 01:49 PM
Sorry, not getting you?
Quite straight forward. Replying to the poster who said Celtic poor today. They have AEK away through the week. Brenda been greetin to his Board about their inability to sign his signing targets i.e SJM. SJM scored in Greece this season. Celtic need to score to progress. They missed the boat on SJM. The poster also says Brenda will walk presumably because he is getting pissed off with the biscuit tin mentality Just my wee joke. I was laughing at the irony! Did not think I would have to explain my thoughts on this thread. :wink:
11-08-2018, 01:51 PM
Hearts played quite well, Celtc were brutal, looked like they had never met eachother.
11-08-2018, 01:51 PM
I honestly think your making them out to be a lot better than what they are mate but time will tell...
Just dealing with the reality that's in front of me. They've won 4-1 away from home last week, and then inflicted what, Celtic's only 4th domestic defeat on them today?
As you say, time will tell. But it's a very good start for them - and momentum from a good start goes a long way.
Hopefully Killie will take care of them next.
11-08-2018, 01:52 PM
Just dealing with the reality that's in front of me. They've won 4-1 away from home last week, and then inflicted what, Celtic's only 4th domestic defeat on them today?
As you say, time will tell. But it's a very good start for them - and momentum from a good start goes a long way.
Hopefully Killie will take care of them next.
They had 5 yellow cards today. The amount of yellow and red cards they generate will ensure that players are regularly suspended, thus disrupting them.
11-08-2018, 01:57 PM
2 goal victory tomorrow, and we go top of the league
Dunno Killie might turn over Livvy away by a big margin unlikely but might !! 😁👍🏾
11-08-2018, 01:59 PM
From the thankfully little I saw of the game today. Celtic looked pretty poor and hearts worked their backsides off, chased everything and gave celtic no time. Very little actual football was played from what I saw. Tynecastle is perfect for Leviens teams to play at
11-08-2018, 02:01 PM
From the thankfully little I saw of the game today. Celtic looked pretty poor and hearts worked their backsides off, chased everything and gave celtic no time. Very little actual football was played from what I saw. Tynecastle is perfect for Leviens teams to play atSpot on btw did u get your St J tickets today?? Mine arrived this morning thank***ly as hibs never replied to my tweet last night
Anyone manage to get a stream for the AV game?
11-08-2018, 02:03 PM
Anyone manage to get a stream for the AV game?
Links no good for radio
Willis1875
11-08-2018, 02:05 PM
Hibs supporters group on Facebook are streaming it
OxoHibby
11-08-2018, 02:05 PM
Hearts were very lucky to be facing Celtic this weekend. Think most teams would have taken points off the team they put out today.
Celtic will still win the league at a canter.
Not sure they will and we should be pushing them
11-08-2018, 02:07 PM
Levein's teams will always be hard to break down, and they look stronger in midfield, up front, and in the full back positions.
They look like they’ve found a solid LB and they definitely have better options upfront - albeit I’d still expect Lafferty to leave.
Not convinced in midfield though. They basically bypass the midfield and have 2 guys sitting to protect the defence. Still no quality in midfield but if it works to go direct and they’re winning games I doubt they’ll care.
11-08-2018, 02:08 PM
Absolute joke of a pitch. Levein teaching them the art of injuring players just enough to escape red cards.
11-08-2018, 02:12 PM
They look like they’ve found a solid LB and they definitely have better options upfront - albeit I’d still expect Lafferty to leave.
Not convinced in midfield though. They basically bypass the midfield and have 2 guys sitting to protect the defence. Still no quality in midfield but if it works to go direct and they’re winning games I doubt they’ll care.
Agreed. The boy Haring in midfield looks like a good acquisition, but the midfield only stood out from a defensive perspective today. They played some neat stuff at times but never in areas where they could play through Celtic.
Their game plan will largely be getting the ball to Ikpeazu, who looks impressive, getting the ball wide, and plenty crosses into the box.
I suspect it will serve them well.
11-08-2018, 02:13 PM
No stream it seems
11-08-2018, 02:15 PM
Sorry, not getting you?
Sorry did not realise you were the OP. You will see other posters concur with my thoughts that Celtic will live to regret their low balling penny pinching strategy in trying to steal SJM from us for as little as possible :thumbsup:
11-08-2018, 02:15 PM
McGinn assist and AV score
11-08-2018, 02:16 PM
sammy stanton scores for dundee utd @ Q.o.S
Spot on btw did u get your St J tickets today?? Mine arrived this morning thank***ly as hibs never replied to my tweet last night
No, no tickets and no reply to my email and no one answering phones again today. Tried to call St J but no answer there either. Looks like I need to go and either try to get tickets with my e-receipt or PATG and try to get my money back from Hibs. Total shambles to be honest
coco22
Stream on Hibernian Supporters Facebook page
11-08-2018, 02:17 PM
Hearts got stuck in aboot a very poor sellik side,they are hoping they go further in Europe so anyone could have taken points off them today, we would have hammered both teams today, hertz have improved miles from last seasons team but still bang average.
11-08-2018, 02:26 PM
Maryhill Magyars 0 Falkirk 1
Q.o.S 0 Dundee utd 2
11-08-2018, 02:28 PM
Goal for Cummings to equalise for Posh.
DavidDavidGray
11-08-2018, 02:28 PM
Cummings scores for Peterborough
11-08-2018, 02:29 PM
Maryhill Magyars 0 Falkirk 1
Sky Sports have it the other way round.
Cummings has scored.
Crazyhorse
11-08-2018, 02:29 PM
Presumably it is a 20,099 sellout.
Reported as 19,133 by the BBC. Described as a 'sellout' by the Yams.
Those who predicted a final capacity of circa 19,300 for Tiny seem pretty close to the mark.
11-08-2018, 02:30 PM
Sky Sports have it the other way round.
Cummings has scored.
the BBC commentator on the Dundee v Aberdeen game has now decided to change the result to Partick 2 Falkirk 0 :rolleyes:
11-08-2018, 02:49 PM
Well done Hearts. We're in for a competitive season.
11-08-2018, 02:55 PM
No, no tickets and no reply to my email and no one answering phones again today. Tried to call St J but no answer there either. Looks like I need to go and either try to get tickets with my e-receipt or PATG and try to get my money back from Hibs. Total shambles to be honestThat's a shambles mate...yeah I emailed and tweeted and not had a response to neither ...good luck 2moro at the gate
Crazyhorse
11-08-2018, 03:01 PM
They will be a typical Levein team I think, thuggish, attritional, difficult to beat, especially at Tiny's 5-a-side pitch. But incapable of winning anything. For a start they would have to play at Hampden eventually and while Levein blocks the sewage system due to his well publicised problems with big games his team will get stretched all over the pitch.
11-08-2018, 03:16 PM
They will be a typical Levein team I think, thuggish, attritional, difficult to beat, especially at Tiny's 5-a-side pitch. But incapable of winning anything. For a start they would have to play at Hampden eventually and while Levein blocks the sewage system due to his well publicised problems with big games his team will get stretched all over the pitch.
The success, or otherwise, of the Hearts team this season will depend almost solely on how much ****housery they're allowed to get away with (apparently quite a lot today, by all accounts)
They'll always be a difficult team to play on their Tiney Pitch, but how many points they accumulate in away matches remains to be seen.
11-08-2018, 03:16 PM
Haven't seen the Hertz kick a baw this season so I can only judge them on results and what other folk are saying, dismissing the Hertz are rubbish folk and concentrating on those with a more measured view …. Two wins including one against Celtic isn't to be sniffed at, it sounds like the approach hasn't changed but for once the scattergun approach to signings seems to have found Levin a few guys who are better at the attritional nasty style of 'football' he loves than the last lot were.
Looking at the signings we are making my guess is that given our lack of physicality we will find it incredibly tough to get a result at the rust arena, but will have a far better chance of successful at ER on a proper sized pitch where we can stretch them.
I cant say I'll be sorry if Celtic take this apparent malaise into the rest of the season, how refreshing would it be to see a real title race for a change.
11-08-2018, 03:20 PM
It would be tremendous if we had a real nailbiter of a season, if Hibs and Aberdeen, even, Hearts could keep the OF close. The SPFL is due to negotiate a new TV deal so exciting games and big crowds could help to get a decent deal, instead of the crumbs we get at present.
11-08-2018, 03:21 PM
the dobbmeister pulls one back for Q.O.S
11-08-2018, 03:25 PM
After today's game, The Rangers must really fancy their chances this season.
11-08-2018, 03:25 PM
Haven't seen the Hertz kick a baw this season so I can only judge them on results and what other folk are saying, dismissing the Hertz are rubbish folk and concentrating on those with a more measured view …. Two wins including one against Celtic isn't to be sniffed at, it sounds like the approach hasn't changed but for once the scattergun approach to signings seems to have found Levin a few guys who are better at the attritional nasty style of 'football' he loves than the last lot were.
Looking at the signings we are making my guess is that given our lack of physicality we will find it incredibly tough to get a result at the rust arena, but will have a far better chance of successful at ER on a proper sized pitch where we can stretch them.
I cant say I'll be sorry if Celtic take this apparent malaise into the rest of the season, how refreshing would it be to see a real title race for a change.
havnt seen hertz kick a baw either but i watched them kick and boot 11 green and white hooped things earlier on , some of the challenges were studs up and 5 minutes late .. and Naismith , what a horrible dirty little rat that guy is
11-08-2018, 03:30 PM
I mean, they clearly are.
No they are not 👍
11-08-2018, 03:32 PM
jammy ****s aberdeen with a penalty at dens 0-1
11-08-2018, 03:35 PM
hamilton 1 up @ murrawell, yikes
brave/wise enough to back hertz to beat sellick but stupid enough to think the fir park huddies could beat hamilton ******* accies :grr:
11-08-2018, 03:37 PM
McGinn MOTM
McGinn could be an Aston Villa legend
He's fast
Assist from McGinn
I love McGinn
Just some of the comments on the Villa forum. Gutted he's gone but glad he's having a decent debut.
11-08-2018, 03:56 PM
sammy stanton scores for dundee utd @ Q.o.S
Good. Always liked him as a player.
Austinho
11-08-2018, 04:32 PM
Just need to win 3-2 or by 2 goals or more tomorrow and we’ll be top of the league 😎 🇳🇬 🇳🇬
11-08-2018, 04:38 PM
Just need to win 3-2 or by 2 goals or more tomorrow and we’ll be top of the league 😎 🇳🇬 🇳🇬
💚👍
11-08-2018, 04:45 PM
The success, or otherwise, of the Hearts team this season will depend almost solely on how much ****housery they're allowed to get away with (apparently quite a lot today, by all accounts)
They'll always be a difficult team to play on their Tiney Pitch, but how many points they accumulate in away matches remains to be seen.
:agree: Its been discussed before but they concentrate on rotational fouling, even if they have to swap positions on the pitch to do it. Eighteen fouls to Celtics seven and five yellows. If a yam concedes a foul and don't get booked he goes in again, as if he 'got away with one', but with the intention to hurt the opponent. Ikpeazu committed five fouls today without a booking.
It's so obvious, Leveins been doing it all his managerial career. I'm sure the refs can see it :dunno:
11-08-2018, 05:03 PM
Will Naismith get cited?
11-08-2018, 05:06 PM
Hearts deserved to win but Celtic were dire, they usually are after a Euro midweek match. Early days yet but it looks like we're for a good competitive season vs them.
There are genuine posts on Facebook about them challenging for the league after 2 games. :rolleyes:
Last season they won 4 away games all season, Kilmarnock before clark, Hamilton x 2 and Ross County who are gash and their big home results was v us and Celtic.
This season they've beaten Hamilton who are 5hite (although Motherwell look 5hiter) and a poor Celtic team today that had made several changes with Athens in mind. Rogers has to take the blame for today.
SingaporeHibs
11-08-2018, 05:08 PM
I’m not sure we can really learn that much from today’s game. Hearts were up for it (as they always are against Celtic) while Celtic were too predictable and struggled to get going. Maybe they haven’t prepared through pre-season well enough given the European campaign. Maybe they are just as average as they looked. One thing for sure, they are crying out for a player like McGinn to drive their midfield, their penny pinching could turn out to be a real own goal. They must be concerned at this stage.
Back to Hearts - Even my 10 year old commented on the continuous mob of jambos surrounding the ref time after time. Naismith truly is a filthy wee weasel of a professional footballer. Lafferty may have just been excited by his goal winning the game but it looked like a cheerio lap of honour, last man on the pitch and he went to all 3 stands. Overall, I thought a very typical Hearts performance in a big game. They may be slightly better than last years team, time will tell but the style is exactly the same.
IF Celtic are going to drop more points this season due to their performances being of today’s standard then we should absolutely be going all out in the belief we’ll be in the mix to win the league at the end of the season. Could end up a 4 or 5 horse race. Scottish Football may be about to have the most exciting season in living memory.
11-08-2018, 05:08 PM
Will Naismith get cited?
Probably should.
11-08-2018, 05:13 PM
Hearts will be a different proposition this season, that much is clear. Let’s face it, they could scarcely produce worse than the putrid pish they served up for most of last season. But they do appear to have more steel and may not roll over at Easter road like they have in the last three years. We need to be ready for them. The derbys could be very tasty.
11-08-2018, 05:14 PM
hamilton 1 up @ murrawell, yikes
brave/wise enough to back hertz to beat sellick but stupid enough to think the fir park huddies could beat hamilton ******* accies :grr:
Killed my accy stone dead too bud.
K-Zazu
11-08-2018, 05:20 PM
Thought both of them were pretty pish tbh.
11-08-2018, 05:24 PM
:agree: Its been discussed before but they concentrate on rotational fouling, even if they have to swap positions on the pitch to do it. Eighteen fouls to Celtics seven and five yellows. If a yam concedes a foul and don't get booked he goes in again, as if he 'got away with one', but with the intention to hurt the opponent. Ikpeazu committed five fouls today without a booking.
It's so obvious, Leveins been doing it all his managerial career. I'm sure the refs can see it :dunno:
I've been going on about this for a while too.
11-08-2018, 05:29 PM
Hearts pressed well and launched the ball to the big men as expected. They kicked everything that moved as usual. Naismith’s antics made him look like he was high on something. The injury to Berra will hurt them as he’s their best player along with Lafferty and Souter.
As for Celtc, the penny pinching was there for all to see.
11-08-2018, 05:31 PM
Probably should.
He should based on the rules but the panel set a precedent last week and you’re now apparently allowed to kick folk.
11-08-2018, 05:40 PM
The Celtic forum must be something to behold tonight. For the first time in years there must be genuine worry creeping in.
Lovely stuff :D
11-08-2018, 05:50 PM
Hearts deserved to win but Celtic were dire, they usually are after a Euro midweek match. Early days yet but it looks like we're for a good competitive season vs them.
There are genuine posts on Facebook about them challenging for the league after 2 games. :rolleyes:
Last season they won 4 away games all season, Kilmarnock before clark, Hamilton x 2 and Ross County who are gash and their big home results was v us and Celtic.
This season they've beaten Hamilton who are 5hite (although Motherwell look 5hiter) and a poor Celtic team today that had made several changes with Athens in mind. Rogers has to take the blame for today.
We'll need wee teams like Hearts to take points off Celtic for us to win the league.
11-08-2018, 05:52 PM
Laffatme expected to sign for the zombies in the next couple of days according to ITK jambo guy in the boozer.
11-08-2018, 05:55 PM
Hoofing the ball to that big forward will be effective but only if the team without the ball switch off and allow the hoofing to happen.
11-08-2018, 05:58 PM
Hearts are the best Rugby union team in Europe. FACT.
11-08-2018, 06:04 PM
Celtic demonstrated arrogance and sheer contempt for Scottish football for the 2nd time this season:
Firstly, by their miserly offerings for McGinn.
and Secondly, by resting key players for the Tynecastle clash, thinking they could send in their reserves to do a job.
11-08-2018, 06:05 PM
Sorry did not realise you were the OP. You will see other posters concur with my thoughts that Celtic will live to regret their low balling penny pinching strategy in trying to steal SJM from us for as little as possible :thumbsup:
No arguments about that! Just didn’t know what you were getting at saying SJM scored in Greece and just leaving it at that 👍
11-08-2018, 06:05 PM
Laffatme expected to sign for the zombies in the next couple of days according to ITK jambo guy in the boozer.Love him or hate him...and it's deffo the latter for me...he's probably their best player and they will deffo be weakened if he goes
I knew hearts would be a step up this year
All Leveins team this year
He's always been a decent manager.
It was all his team last year as well, he signed the stars such as Malaury Martin & Adao.
11-08-2018, 06:18 PM
Will Naismith get cited?
I don't see how he can be to be honest.
The SFA has set a precedent by rescinding Morelos' red card last week. It's open season now for players to kick each other with only a booking as punishment.
11-08-2018, 06:20 PM
The Celtic forum must be something to behold tonight. For the first time in years there must be genuine worry creeping in.
Lovely stuff :D
Celtic will get tucked out the CL on Tuesday, go out the league cup to Partick Thistle next Saturday and be in for Lennon on the Sunday.
I don't see how he can be to be honest.
The SFA has set a precedent by rescinding Morelos' red card last week. It's open season now for players to kick each other with only a booking as punishment.
I agree. I can’t see how that is any worse than Morelos. Open season for snidely little ***** like Naismith.
rotherhamrob
Hearts pressed well and launched the ball to the big men as expected. They kicked everything that moved as usual. Naismith’s antics made him look like he was high on something. The injury to Berra will hurt them as he’s their best player along with Lafferty and Souter.
As for Celtc, the penny pinching was there for all to see.
I don't know about the penny pinching, that team they put out probably cost more than the rest of the Premier league put together.
Maybe if some of the so called smaller teams had a go instead of letting them dictate, then who knows, we might actually have a challenge for the league that goes on past feb/March.
11-08-2018, 07:01 PM
It was all his team last year as well, he signed the stars such as Malaury Martin & Adao.
Totally agree he has bought all the players for a while. Would cathro have bought cole Stockton? He isn't an idiot and can organise a team however the style of football is a bit like his personality absolutely odious. For an ex international manager to play 70s style Wimbledon tactics is imo pathetic. Also think they shouldn't be able to sell front two rows of the stands as imo it is unacceptable for players to be getting the abuse they get at the midden.
11-08-2018, 07:12 PM
I can see Brenda leaving. He’s almost been setting it up with some of his comments and general attitude about the Celtc board.
Looks like the real reason Lenny left is coming back round to Brenda (soap) Dodgers.
11-08-2018, 10:37 PM
Animal
http://i66.tinypic.com/2ypelic.jpg
11-08-2018, 10:51 PM
Celtic demonstrated arrogance and sheer contempt for Scottish football for the 2nd time this season:
Firstly, by their miserly offerings for McGinn.
and Secondly, by resting key players for the Tynecastle clash, thinking they could send in their reserves to do a job.
I get resting players later in the season, to avoid fatigue or injury, but August?? Surely everyone should be raring to go and full of energy?
11-08-2018, 10:58 PM
Delighted with this start to the season from the Rover drivers. Hopefully they will be loaded with arrogance come 31st October at the Wee Stadium.
11-08-2018, 11:13 PM
Animal
Far far more worrying was his mock laughing 'spat' at young Hendry late second half. Naismith, for an experienced international player and so-called 'nice guy' is an absolute rocket on the pitch up here in Scotland. Bizarre bizarre behaviour during a game and that alone could have earned a second yellow. Wee pretend ned :aok:
The only one of Celtic's backline showing any mettle today was young Tierney. Having worked at the game today the feeling was that Rodgers was not just resting players but subliminally making a statement to their board. Hearts did what we did last season and pressed them and did it well. Took their chance and took advantage of their poor play. Neither side worried me but Hearts deserved the win, no doubt about it.
What struck me today was why no teams drive through their middle - Hibs, Celtic, etc always seem to want to play wide - on a very tight pitch - which is why Berra and co manage well. Next time at Tynie I want to play narrow but with a midfield and front two that drive through the middle and take on their midfield pair and centre halves. They're set up to expect teams to work the ball wide and they're well drilled to that routine. If you go through their middle they're vulnerable.
Oh and even with a hybrid pitch they grew it long for today on purpose - Celtic were unhappy with it prior to kick off - grass was longer than McPhees hair :cb
11-08-2018, 11:28 PM
Animal
I'd love to see him try any of that pish with Marvin Bartley or Darren McGregor.
11-08-2018, 11:46 PM
I'd love to see him try any of that pish with Marvin Bartley or Darren McGregor.
He wouldn't even try it with Lewis - indeed, wee Lewy would rattle him into the Wheatfield before Naismith would know what day it is. He (Naismith) is a coward.
11-08-2018, 11:53 PM
He wouldn't even try it with Lewis - indeed, wee Lewy would rattle him into the Wheatfield before Naismith would know what day it is. He (Naismith) is a coward.
Totally agree. I'd love Darren to wipe him out like he did to the Greek forward at er. Then of course help him up and smile at him.
11-08-2018, 11:59 PM
Totally agree. I'd love Darren to wipe him out like he did to the Greek forward at er. Then of course help him up and smile at him.
What annoyed me today was Beaton ignoring that episode with Hendry - it was a second yellow and he bottled it because of the crowd. Naismith could easily have had 4 yellow cards today (and a red)
therealgavmac
12-08-2018, 06:09 AM
http://i63.tinypic.com/2dkiikh.jpg
12-08-2018, 08:37 AM
Quite happy to see the Jambos getting a loan of three points yesterday and giving Celtic cause for another reality check after their handling of the McGinn deal ( or no deal, as Noel might say, :greengrin)
Missed the football yesterday and from the photos on here it looked like Naismith was up to his sneaky rat tactics again.
Will we see the CO intervene?
Was Berra injured?
12-08-2018, 09:47 AM
I like players to have a nasty side to them.
The way Naismith was acting yesterday was utterly bizarre though. He’s always been a bit nippy, chirping away at the referee non stop. But if he continues like he did yeaterday, it won’t be long before someone takes serious exception and he ends up with a dull one.
12-08-2018, 09:48 AM
http://i63.tinypic.com/2dkiikh.jpg
He wears a gumshield to protect THAT?
12-08-2018, 10:00 AM
Missed the football yesterday and from the photos on here it looked like Naismith was up to his sneaky rat tactics again.
Will we see the CO intervene?
Was Berra injured?
Naismith probably can't be disciplined after the Morelos affair last week.
Berra could be out for months if the pictures yesterday are anything to go by.
Yip the powers that be setting the benchmark to suit the OF and it comes back to bite them on the arse.
From the pictures in the media it looks a sore one.
Wee Effen Bee
12-08-2018, 10:13 AM
That’s just MAD!
12-08-2018, 10:25 AM
Animal
Naismith is an absolute thug. He used to be a decent player but he's turned into a drugged up thug since returning to Scotland.
12-08-2018, 10:37 AM
I like players to have a nasty side to them.
The way Naismith was acting yesterday was utterly bizarre though. He’s always been a bit nippy, chirping away at the referee non stop. But if he continues like he did yeaterday, it won’t be long before someone takes serious exception and he ends up with a dull one.
What's unpleasant about Lafferty and Naismith is the way they take a 'Rangers' mentality into the games against Celtic, and to some extent Hibs. Naismith's challenge on Brown at the end of last season was a shocker and it was remarkable he stayed on the pitch yesterday. The way Lafferty talks about Rangers you get the impression the reason he didn't speak to Lennon last season about a move to Hibs is because he regarded Hearts as the more 'Proddy' club.
12-08-2018, 10:39 AM
Barry Anderson said it was a hamstring injury but the knee brace suggests different or it’s a really really bad hamstring injury?
12-08-2018, 10:43 AM
What's unpleasant about Lafferty and Naismith is the way they take a 'Rangers' mentality into the games against Celtic, and to some extent Hibs. Naismith's challenge on Brown at the end of last season was a shocker and it was remarkable he stayed on the pitch yesterday. The way Lafferty talks about Rangers you get the impression the reason he didn't speak to Lennon last season about a move to Hibs is because he regarded Hearts as the more 'Proddy' club.
I don't think you're far off the mark with any of that.
I have no doubt that Lafferty's decision last summer was steeped in bigotry.
12-08-2018, 10:44 AM
Barry Anderson said it was a hamstring injury but the knee brace suggests different or it’s a really really bad hamstring injury?
I'm no doctor but the pictures of Berra at the tunnel area late in the game yesterday would suggest it's more than just a hamstring injury.
I would be surprised if he's playing any time soon.
speedy_gonzales
12-08-2018, 10:45 AM
Animal
What made this worse for me was the fact that Hayes is clearly out of it so when Naismith is leaning over he's screaming obscenities at someone that needs treatment.
Hayes clearly bundles in to Naismith and hearts should have had a foul but as Hayes ricochets off Naismith he goes down and his head clatters in to Lustigs thigh/knee. On the deck, it was clear that Naismith was stunned if not in a state of semi-consciousness. Nearby Celtic players were very quick to summon the physio over.
Naismith is an animal right enough!!!
12-08-2018, 10:45 AM
The way Lafferty talks about Rangers you get the impression the reason he didn't speak to Lennon last season about a move to Hibs is because he regarded Hearts as the more 'Proddy' club.
to be honest I just assumed that’s what it was. I’m from the same tiny county in Northern Ireland as Lafferty is, and while there’s a lot of pride in him there, there’s certainly a whiff of sectarianism about the lad. Lennon’s history with the norn iron fans may also have played a role.
Alternatively he could have just seen hearts as the bigger, more established premiership club at the time rather than a team that had just been newly promoted.
hes a twat in either case.
12-08-2018, 10:51 AM
Delighted with this start to the season from the Rover drivers. Hopefully they will be loaded with arrogance come 31st October at the Wee Stadium.What like we were going there in May?? Let's not forget we can be just as bad in these situations let's not get carried away...our record there is honking
12-08-2018, 11:00 AM
Lafferty’s performance to get Mulgrew sent off was the most disgraceful bit of cheating I’ve seen in the Scottish game and one which should stay with him forever. Lest he forget:
https://youtu.be/B3iUDg6JEo0
12-08-2018, 11:02 AM
I'm no doctor but the pictures of Berra at the tunnel area late in the game yesterday would suggest it's more than just a hamstring injury.
I would be surprised if he's playing any time soon.
Same - if it is a hamstring it could be he’s ripped it off the bone.
ferry hibby
12-08-2018, 12:16 PM
Can’t believe Celtic paid £3M for Kouassi. Even more stupid when they refused to pay that sort of fee for SJM. I can see why Brenda was p***** off with Lawell and the board
Do you think he played him today just to show what £3M buys you and for the board to not be so penny pinching
12-08-2018, 12:24 PM
Saw a video on Facebook of hearts fans celebrating in the concourse of their stand. Fair enough it was a big unexpected win for them against an albeit poor and greatly changed Celtic team
What did surprise me was the number of union flags being waved about - more than a couple
I didn’t watch the game but I believe you could clearly hear them singing the billy boys song too
Shocking really and totally against Ann Budges’ plea to make them a family club.
They really are diet Huns
alnewhaven
12-08-2018, 05:58 PM
He wears a gumshield to protect THAT?
Speaks a dentist?!
13-08-2018, 12:04 PM
Far far more worrying was his mock laughing 'spat' at young Hendry late second half. Naismith, for an experienced international player and so-called 'nice guy' is an absolute rocket on the pitch up here in Scotland. Bizarre bizarre behaviour during a game and that alone could have earned a second yellow. Wee pretend ned :aok:
The only one of Celtic's backline showing any mettle today was young Tierney. Having worked at the game today the feeling was that Rodgers was not just resting players but subliminally making a statement to their board. Hearts did what we did last season and pressed them and did it well. Took their chance and took advantage of their poor play. Neither side worried me but Hearts deserved the win, no doubt about it.
What struck me today was why no teams drive through their middle - Hibs, Celtic, etc always seem to want to play wide - on a very tight pitch - which is why Berra and co manage well. Next time at Tynie I want to play narrow but with a midfield and front two that drive through the middle and take on their midfield pair and centre halves. They're set up to expect teams to work the ball wide and they're well drilled to that routine. If you go through their middle they're vulnerable.
Oh and even with a hybrid pitch they grew it long for today on purpose - Celtic were unhappy with it prior to kick off - grass was longer than McPhees hair :cb
I think that's a fair point. Berra's injury yesterday was interesting from that point of view. As you say, he and the rest of the defence are well drilled when it comes to crosses being thrown in but Griffiths led him a dance in the penalty box by simply continuing to drive at goal with the ball at his feet, which Berra couldn't handle and ultimately ended up in a heap with a pulled hamstring to boot.
13-08-2018, 12:36 PM
Brown and Naismith cited for incidents from Saturday’s game
Austinho
13-08-2018, 12:58 PM
Saw a video on Facebook of hearts fans celebrating in the concourse of their stand. Fair enough it was a big unexpected win for them against an albeit poor and greatly changed Celtic team
What did surprise me was the number of union flags being waved about - more than a couple
I didn’t watch the game but I believe you could clearly hear them singing the billy boys song too
Shocking really and totally against Ann Budges’ plea to make them a family club.
They really are diet HunsThere were larger numbers singing a dity about Lafferty hating the IRA in that video. A handful of Red Hand flags on display in the crowd too. What struck me was they'd put the new singing section as close as possible to the Celtic fans, at the far end of the Wheatfield. Hearts fans climbing up the floodlight pylons in celebration at the end and proper goading the Celtic fans right next to them. Surprised the police allowed it. If they continue to do that versus us, it could well lead to trouble.
13-08-2018, 12:59 PM
Have they been cited? This article merely indicates the incidents are being looked at.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45172031
13-08-2018, 01:05 PM
Have they been cited? This article merely indicates the incidents are being looked at.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/45172031
Maybe jumped the gun a bit then
13-08-2018, 01:16 PM
Maybe jumped the gun a bit then
Naismith should definitely be getting cited for his kick and his mouthing off at an obviously injured player.
K-Zazu
13-08-2018, 01:18 PM
Naismith should definitely be getting cited for his kick and his mouthing off at an obviously injured player.
He kicked a Celtic player in the second half aswell
13-08-2018, 01:34 PM
They really are diet Huns
Think the word 'diet' is being kind- they're not even trying to have their own identity, they are just singing Rangers songs word for word.
Unoriginal, boring, bigoted trash. :aok:
13-08-2018, 01:44 PM
To me, Brown just put the brakes on hard and slammed his back into Naismith as 'obstruction with a bit of needle'. There is no elbow, the arm just flails about a bit. No action necessary.
But Naismith's actions are altogether different; kicks out at Hayes erchie when prone on the ground and ridiculous levels of aggression afterwards fall under the 'bringing the game into disrepute' bracket. Just typical Hertz really.
13-08-2018, 02:31 PM
I don't think you're far off the mark with any of that.
I have no doubt that Lafferty's decision last summer was steeped in bigotry.
One of my flatmates from Uni is good pals with a lad that plays for NI and seemingly Laugherty is a massive bigot and one of - if not the worst - for it in the national team. There was never any chance he would play for us.
13-08-2018, 02:38 PM
One of my flatmates from Uni is good pals with a lad that plays for NI and seemingly Laugherty is a massive bigot and one of - if not the worst - for it in the national team. There was never any chance he would play for us.
He loves the song about him being 7ft and playing the flute.
13-08-2018, 04:20 PM
Naismith has no chance of getting away with his latest assault. Blatant kick when the man is down. What a baffoon. Hope he gets decent ban and a fine. Its deserving of it. Utter thug he is.
13-08-2018, 04:22 PM
He loves the song about him being 7ft and playing the flute.
7ft, plays the flute, hope he breaks a foot.
Never nice seeing sectarian footballers. Naismith seems to be his little henchman too.
13-08-2018, 04:39 PM
To me, Brown just put the brakes on hard and slammed his back into Naismith as 'obstruction with a bit of needle'. There is no elbow, the arm just flails about a bit. No action necessary.
But Naismith's actions are altogether different; kicks out at Hayes erchie when prone on the ground and ridiculous levels of aggression afterwards fall under the 'bringing the game into disrepute' bracket. Just typical Hertz really.
If Brown gets a suspension he will miss the bigot derby against Sevco.
13-08-2018, 04:44 PM
Are you sure, 1 more league games before that game. Also does 1 game not include Betfred Cup, or would it be a league ban only?
13-08-2018, 04:46 PM
Are you sure, 1 more league games before that game. Also does 1 game not include Betfred Cup, or would it be a league ban only?
That was what they said on Radio Scotland about 3pm.
13-08-2018, 04:48 PM
Not only that Pat, the SPFL have put themselves in the ridiculous (and unnecessary) position where they will now have to deal with the Naismith incident on the back of a similar incident with Morelos. Even if they gave SN a ban, Hearts would quite rightly appeal given their bizarre decision previously.
Naismith should have been shown a second yellow for his 'mock laughing' square up in the face of Hendry which was not only unsporting but downright bizarre behaviour for a grown man. He is a very strange little man is Naismith, very peculiar indeed :agree:
13-08-2018, 04:48 PM
That was what they said on Radio Scotland about 3pm.
Ok ta, just a bit confused about bans for league/cups now
Means he’ll get off with it now😄
13-08-2018, 04:54 PM
Speaks a dentist?!
I wonder if the cosmetic dentists of the West of the city have had many folk in today asking for a "Christophe"?
13-08-2018, 05:06 PM
Clyde scoreboard saying neither will be cited
13-08-2018, 05:21 PM
Clyde scoreboard saying neither will be cited
Same just said on STV news.
13-08-2018, 05:25 PM
Industrial hoofball 1 - football 0
Well done SPFL
13-08-2018, 05:41 PM
Naismith is a little, bitter, over-aggressive sneak. I pray he gets his come-uppence soon, whatever that will take.
13-08-2018, 06:35 PM
So if SN is not to be pulled up for mock laughing in your opponents face. That is deemed acceptable behaviour in Scottish football.......crazy
I assume SN was already on a booking ?!
Better not pretend to be an aeroplane though, people ask for you to be jailed if you do that - or cup your ears.
K-Zazu
13-08-2018, 06:55 PM
Morelos and now Naismith are actually kicking people, yes KICKING players and getting away with it.
13-08-2018, 07:58 PM
Naismith is a little, bitter, over-aggressive sneak. I pray he gets his come-uppence soon, whatever that will take.
Weird thing is that he always came across as a genuine guy who understood and appreciated how lucky he had been in life.
He used to play with a smile on his face.
Hearts seem to have turned him into a dirty thug.
13-08-2018, 08:05 PM
Weird thing is that he always came across as a genuine guy who understood and appreciated how lucky he had been in life.
I think we should have a little bit more sympathy for someone whose life was going quite well now finding themselves a Hearts player.
13-08-2018, 09:51 PM
People are different on the park to what they are offit.That’s What gives them their edge.
14-08-2018, 10:49 AM
I see Berra is going to be out for 6 months or so. Seems a long time for a torn hamstring. They’ll miss him
14-08-2018, 11:14 AM
Morelos and now Naismith are actually kicking people, yes KICKING players and getting away with it.
It's baffling and it's more and more obvious that our game is becoming more and more aggressive and physical at the same time as its becoming faster and more skilful everywhere else.
I'm Spartacus
15-08-2018, 08:35 AM
Cannot believe they've let Naismith and Brown away with both challenges, but then again, they had to after the Morelos farce.
Part of me wonders if the SFA have let them go to save banning Brown but in the next couple of weeks we'll see Naismith being given a straight red for something not even worthy of a yellow - watch this space!!!
15-08-2018, 08:42 AM
It's baffling and it's more and more obvious that our game is becoming more and more aggressive and physical at the same time as its becoming faster and more skilful everywhere else.
Agree definitely more aggressive than other leagues which isnt really the way we should be going if we want to qualify for tournaments or do well in Europe IMO. Referees are being far more lenient than they should be IMO meaning hammer thrower teams are doing better than they should.