View Full Version : we wont be European next March
10-08-2018, 01:28 AM
now that our United Kingdom has decided to bolt from Europe, and the fact that Brexit means Brexit, does this open up lots of opportunities for smaller European Nations like Malta, Albania Belarous Estonia etc for entering more teams for the Eoropa compatitions? As Scotland Wales N.Ireland and England wont be actually European, do other nations put their teams in the fram?/ WE have decided, we aint part of Europe. do remember that.:wink:
10-08-2018, 01:48 AM
It always surprises me the number of people who don’t understand the difference between Europe and The EU. Mind you, nothing monktonharp posts at 2am surprises me at all anymore.
By the way, Norway isn’t in the EU either
10-08-2018, 01:58 AM
It always surprises me the number of people who don’t understand the difference between Europe and The EU. Mind you, nothing monktonharp posts at 2am surprises me at all anymore.
By the way, Norway isn’t in the EU eitherI just love a wee bit of banter, hope you get the same with your wife Camille.Aye, anytime after 2 am I will start an argument, a bit like Camille is it? :greengrin
10-08-2018, 02:04 AM
wait a minute, are Norway not one of those in the back door Europeans? we'll give you some oil, you let us sell some bacon and protect us from those nasty Russians
10-08-2018, 02:05 AM
By the way, Norway isn’t in the EU either
Or Switzerland, Russia, Israel (not even in Europe and an illegal state )etc
10-08-2018, 02:34 AM
Or Switzerland, Russia, Israel (not even in Europe and an illegal state )etc
Australia were runners up in the Eurovision Song Contest not long ago.
Go figure out that one!
10-08-2018, 05:23 AM
Britain's never been in Europe. It's an island off the coast.
10-08-2018, 05:29 AM
If we beat a club from Non-EU members Norway, we are likely to play Minsk from Non-EU members Belarus
10-08-2018, 05:55 AM
If we beat a club from Non-EU members Norway, we are likely to play Minsk from Non-EU members Belarus
The moral of this thread is dont post at 2am unless you are on nighshift.
10-08-2018, 06:33 AM
Another early morning thriller from MH. I look forward to taking on the Estonian Champions in the 2026 Champions League Final - it'll be a blast
10-08-2018, 06:36 AM
there is a serious serious point about visas and freedom of movement though.
people got antsy about the £186 for a Russian visa if we got Zenit, and the turnaround time which means life is inconvenient.
get used to that. for France. or Germany. or Italy or Spain etc trip to Rome got harder. stag doo in Prague or Preston? weekend in Barcelona- better plan ahead, apply for that visa, pay for that visa and give yourself time for the red tape.
want to live or work in Berlin, Krakow, Venice, Salzburg, Ibiza, Paris? good luck with that.
oh and your pound is worth less than a euro and your mobile phone roaming charges just went up more than you could imagine.
then theres the English Tory sponsored economic crash thats coming meaning you can't afford the flights anymore...
time for Scotland
10-08-2018, 06:41 AM
people got antsy about the £186 for a Russian visa if we got Zenit, and the turnaround time which means life is inconvenient.
get used to that. for France. or Germany. or Italy or Spain etc trip to Rome got harder. stag doo in Prague or Preston? weekend in Barcelona- better plan ahead, apply for that visa, pay for that visa and give yourself time for the red tape.
want to live or work in Berlin, Krakow, Venice, Salzburg, Ibiza, Paris? good luck with that.
oh and your pound is worth less than a euro and your mobile phone roaming charges just went up more than you could imagine.
then theres the English Tory sponsored economic crash thats coming meaning you can't afford the flights anymore...
time for Scotland
Good post.
Also and more directly football related. But all future European signings from the EU will need work visas, permits, etc. Just like any other foreign player from outside the EU. It won’t be a given that they can sign,
10-08-2018, 06:52 AM
time for ScotlandNot sure about the visa needed for travel within Europe. I'm old enough to remember when we weren't in the EU, and pretty sure we didn't need one back then.
Indeed, there are many non-EU countries around the world for which UK citizens don't need a visa.
That said, the wider point about work permits for players is certainly an issue. Part of me thinks that it might be of benefit to the Scottish game. Less of those pesky foreigners might mean a necessity for clubs relying on young Scots.
And then, there's the effect it might have on the English leagues. Will Sky and BT be willing to pay as much for a much-less cosmopolitan product?
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
10-08-2018, 06:57 AM
Im currently in Croatia.
Everything here is 20% more expensive since the Brexit vote.
GBP to HRK was at around 10:1, now at about 8:1
The GBP isnt exactly getting stronger either
Worth it to keep they foreigners out though
Oh, and don’t forget our blue passports
10-08-2018, 07:22 AM
Another early morning thriller from MH. I look forward to taking on the Estonian Champions in the 2026 Champions League Final - it'll be a blast
How he logs into here without a crippling dose of fear I’ll never know
PapillonVert
10-08-2018, 07:55 AM
time for Scotland
Think the work one might be more of an issue, although qualified people will always be welcome and employers will be able to secure work visas for them quite easily IMO. Worked myself in Switzerland for four years in the 90's (wasn't part of the free movement zone then) and employers had no probs obtaining a work visa for me and many others who came not only from EU countries but also non-EU countries.
Also worked in Paris in the late 70's, again before automatic freedom of movement rights were fully established, and, although I had to register with the French police and obtain a 'Carte de Séjour', there was no problem.
Wouldn't be in the interests of Europe to impose travel visas. Think of the number of Brits who regularly holiday in Spain, France, Italy etc., not to mention what must run into millions of short visits for city breaks every year. Even if the Commission would like to impose a visa charge, I doubt the individual member states would swallow this as they would risk losing millions if not billions in income from the loss of British tourists every year.
TrinityHibs
10-08-2018, 08:21 AM
time for Scotland
Why would you need a visa to go to Preston? Is this after independence?
EricStoner
10-08-2018, 08:23 AM
your mobile phone roaming charges just went up more than you could imagine.
🙈🐑
Aye. The EU sets tariffs for all telecom firms right enough.
Look on the bright side though: the EU will no longer be able to switch on your phone's camera or microphone at will from next March. Something they do now. Frequently.
...& Surely any right-minded, patriotic Scot would be having his weekend breaks in Saltcoats and his stag in the Highlands, no?
10-08-2018, 08:27 AM
Britain's never been in Europe. It's an island off the coast.
That depends on one's viewpoint.
From Wikipedia:-
The prevalent definition of Europe as a geographical term has been in use since the mid-19th century. Europe is taken to be bounded by large bodies of water to the north, west and south; Europe's limits to the far east are usually taken to be the Urals, the Ural River, and the Caspian Sea; to the southeast, including the Caucasus Mountains, the Black Sea and the waterways connecting the Black Sea to the Mediterranean Sea.[21]
Islands are generally grouped with the nearest continental landmass, hence Iceland is generally considered to be part of Europe, while the nearby island of Greenland is usually assigned to North America. Nevertheless, there are some exceptions based on sociopolitical and cultural differences. Cyprus is closest to Anatolia (or Asia Minor), but is usually considered part of Europe both culturally and politically and is a member state of the EU. Malta was considered an island of Northwest Africa for centuries.[22]
"Europe" as used specifically in British English may also refer to Continental Europe exclusively.
In the latter definition, Sicily, Malta, the Balearics, Corsica, the Lofoten Islands etc etc wouldn't be European.
Brunswickbill
10-08-2018, 08:31 AM
🙈🐑
Look on the bright side though: the EU will no longer be able to switch on your phone's camera or microphone at will from next March. Something they do now. Frequently.
...& Surely any right-minded, patriotic Scot would be having his weekend breaks in Saltcoats and his stag in the Highlands, no?
Is this a joke? If not where did you get the stuff on the EU switching on your phone camera camera?
10-08-2018, 08:32 AM
🙈🐑
Only to bad people :greengrin
If that is the case, won't the UK security services want (and get) the same power?
10-08-2018, 08:33 AM
Given the way the pound is going against the euro, we're not going to be able to buy any players from eurozone. However in the mad max anarchy of post-brexit UK we will be well placed to barter food in the form of deid seagulls to secure big name signings from other teams on the island.
PapillonVert
10-08-2018, 08:36 AM
That depends on one's viewpoint.
From Wikipedia:-
The prevalent definition of Europe as a geographical term has been in use since the mid-19th century. Europe is taken to be bounded by large bodies of water to the north, west and south; Europe's limits to the far east are usually taken to be the Urals, the Ural River, and the Caspian Sea; to the southeast, including the Caucasus Mountains, the Black Sea and the waterways connecting the Black Sea to the Mediterranean Sea.[21]
Islands are generally grouped with the nearest continental landmass, hence Iceland is generally considered to be part of Europe, while the nearby island of Greenland is usually assigned to North America. Nevertheless, there are some exceptions based on sociopolitical and cultural differences. Cyprus is closest to Anatolia (or Asia Minor), but is usually considered part of Europe both culturally and politically and is a member state of the EU. Malta was considered an island of Northwest Africa for centuries.[22]
"Europe" as used specifically in British English may also refer to Continental Europe exclusively.
In the latter definition, Sicily, Malta, the Balearics, Corsica, the Lofoten Islands etc etc wouldn't be European.
I always thought it was to do with the tectonic plates. So, British Isles are definitely in Europe as we sit on the European tectonic plate.
The eastern part of Iceland is on the European tectonic plate and the western part on the American tectonic plate, although Iceland is deemed to be part of Europe (and is also counted as part of Scandinavia due to history/culture).
There is a valley you can visit where you can see the visible evidence of where the tectonic plates lie.
EricStoner
10-08-2018, 08:47 AM
Mod - Errr - Ehh - Torrrs!!😵
Could ye no move this thread tae a more appropriate location?
One of those uninhabited islands off the coast of "Europe" would be a good place for it. Best do it before March though😀.
10-08-2018, 08:47 AM
I always thought it was to do with the tectonic plates. So, British Isles are definitely in Europe as we sit on the European tectonic plate.
The eastern part of Iceland is on the European tectonic plate and the western part on the American tectonic plate, although Iceland is deemed to be part of Europe (and is also counted as part of Scandinavia due to history/culture).
There is a valley you can visit where you can see the visible evidence of where the tectonic plates lie.
Yeah, I've been there. As a Geography nerd, I was almost tumescent (I used that word on another thread here yesterday.... maybe TMI about me :rolleyes:)
PapillonVert
10-08-2018, 08:54 AM
Yeah, I've been there. As a Geography nerd, I was almost tumescent (I used that word on another thread here yesterday.... maybe TMI about me :rolleyes:)
Me too, fascinating country (expensive, though). Went at the end of June - Land of the Midnight Sun and all that. Husky-dog sledding on a glacier, walking around the rim of an active volcano (although not at the time we were there obviously), whale watching, Blue Lagoon, second mortgage on the house…..
Hibs.net - approved by the Open University. :greengrin
10-08-2018, 09:05 AM
Catastrophic glacial melt eventually separated us from Europe. See yon global warming! Can't say we've not been warned (warmed?). Shame 'cos I'm sure Doggerland would have been quite popular with a few on here.
BTW, was this map drawn up by a drunk from Hawick?
10-08-2018, 09:08 AM
If we’re basing it on tectonics then shouldn’t we be talking about Eurasia?
That’s a hell of a lot of new teams eligible for UEFA competitions post-Brexit. :panic:
10-08-2018, 09:12 AM
I doubt this thread is heading in the direction MH planned (If he actually had a plan).
10-08-2018, 09:13 AM
I'm gonna have to bite the bullet & get Irish citizenship so I can get best of both worlds...I've not been able to justify the cost at the moment but soon it looks like it'll be a no brainer..
10-08-2018, 09:18 AM
I'm gonna have to bite the bullet & get Irish citizenship so I can get best of both worlds...I've not been able to justify the cost at the moment but soon it looks like it'll be a no brainer..
Irish. No-brainer.
tee hee
(sent through Tapatalk from the 1970's.... where we're heading back to..... :rolleyes:)
10-08-2018, 09:29 AM
Irish. No-brainer.
tee hee
(sent through Tapatalk from the 1970's.... where we're heading back to..... :rolleyes:)
No blacks No Dogs No Irish
10-08-2018, 09:30 AM
I always thought a teutonic plate was what those nasty Germans ate their oddly shaped foreign sausages off.
10-08-2018, 11:02 AM
Catastrophic glacial melt eventually separated us from Europe. See yon global warming! Can't say we've not been warned (warmed?). Shame 'cos I'm sure Doggerland would have been quite popular with a few on here.
BTW, was this map drawn up by a drunk from Hawick?
Since then, with the weight of those enormous ice sheets removed, the island of Great Britain has been tilting, Scotland rising, England sinking. Take whatever Brexit related metaphorical value from that you see fit. :wink:
PapillonVert
10-08-2018, 11:21 AM
Me too, fascinating country (expensive, though). Went at the end of June - Land of the Midnight Sun and all that. Husky-dog sledding on a glacier, walking around the rim of an active volcano (although not at the time we were there obviously), whale watching, Blue Lagoon, second mortgage on the house…..
Hibs.net - approved by the Open University. :greengrin
10-08-2018, 01:42 PM
The bedwetting about Brexit has put me firmly into the hard Brexit camp.
The lack of balls on show is embarrassing.
10-08-2018, 01:45 PM
I agree. The windows in Amsterdam are completely female-centric.
Let's get out of Europe, set up our own version of their red-light district, and make it gender-neutral. That way we'll get some proper tackle on show.
Hard as you like.
10-08-2018, 02:49 PM
We need to get Hearts involved. They have already saved us from central European tyranny at least once before. Balls in the air and proud of it with them.
10-08-2018, 09:32 PM
time for Scotlandyour making all this up, to try and defend some erse that made a flippent remark this morning sometime after he had his nightime Horlicks :wink:
10-08-2018, 09:37 PM
How he logs into here without a crippling dose of fear I’ll never know its because I take copious amounts of Horlicks, as previously stated. I also seek out as many bait takers as possible in the early hours.
10-08-2018, 10:44 PM
The pre-witching hour posts arnae as entertaining.
time for Scotland
Should be an increase in the Barnett formula to compensate Scotland for its losses, no?