View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Molde

09-08-2018, 05:11 PM
Another great night for football. Team news?

TelaStella
09-08-2018, 05:14 PM
Bogdan out? Can Hyndman feature?

09-08-2018, 05:14 PM
Minsk have just gone 1 up vs Zenit. Keeper at fault.

09-08-2018, 05:15 PM
Minsk have just gone 1 up vs Zenit. Keeper at fault.

Yassssssss

09-08-2018, 05:18 PM
Yassssssss

Minsk are no mugs either.

09-08-2018, 05:20 PM
Minsk are no mugs either.

They're a semi-winnable tie though unlike Zenit.

09-08-2018, 05:21 PM

If Minsk beat Zenit then surely that would mean Zenit was, in fact, a winnable tie?

Newcastlehibby
09-08-2018, 05:23 PM
If Minsk beat Zenit then surely that would mean Zenit was, in fact, a winnable tie?

09-08-2018, 05:24 PM

Wouldnt that rule Minsk out from beating Zenit? Or is theirs a semi-winnable tie too?
Edit: beaten by the bell.

09-08-2018, 05:25 PM
Zenit are pretty minsk

09-08-2018, 05:25 PM
Okay, you got me. :wink:

I'm sure we'd all prefer Minsk though.

09-08-2018, 05:26 PM

Doesnt look like Zenit have a full strength team out ,no Dzyuba or Mak

09-08-2018, 05:26 PM
Said to my mate when the draw was made that Minsk will be better than we expect.

09-08-2018, 05:27 PM
Europa League app has our team out before Hibs!

Laidlaw, Gray, Ambrose, Porteous, Hanlon, Stevenson, Mallan, Bartley, Slivka, Boyle, Kamberi.

09-08-2018, 05:28 PM
According to the stats it’s all Minsk

09-08-2018, 05:28 PM
Doesnt look like Zenit have a full strength team out ,no Dzyuba or Mak

I need to be honest. I've never heard of either of them. Or if I have, it didn't stay with me!

09-08-2018, 05:29 PM
According to the stats it’s all Minsk

They're making Minskmeat of them.

09-08-2018, 05:29 PM
I need to be honest. I've never heard of either of them. Or if I have, it didn't stay with me!

Dzyuba was Russia's main striker at the world Cup.

09-08-2018, 05:30 PM
They're making Minskmeat of them.

Don’t talk minsk

09-08-2018, 05:32 PM
Just Slivka and Laidlaw replacing McGinn and Bogdan then. Haaland not in Molde's squad.

SJNB Hibby
09-08-2018, 05:33 PM
2-0 Minsk

09-08-2018, 05:33 PM
Just Slivka and Laidlaw replacing McGinn and Bogdan then. Haaland not in Molde's squad.

Kamberi in for Shaw

SJNB Hibby
09-08-2018, 05:34 PM

Did Ole not say in his interview that there was a bid in for him?

supermcginn

Dzyuba was Russia's star man in the world cup.

Did Ole not say in his interview that there was a bid in for him?
Yes he said that a bid had been accepted.

09-08-2018, 05:36 PM

even better Zenit have an Oleg Shatov and minsk have an Igor sh i tov

09-08-2018, 05:36 PM
Kamberi in for Shaw

Ah yeah that guy too.

09-08-2018, 05:37 PM
Laidlaw
Gray
Efe
Porteous
Hanlon
Stevenson
Slivka
Mallan
Bartley
Kamberi
Boyle

Clarence
09-08-2018, 05:37 PM

We appreciate your honesty.

09-08-2018, 05:39 PM
Hope Laidlaw has a good game. Got to admit im slightly concerned

09-08-2018, 05:41 PM
Is Lennon in the dugout tonight?

09-08-2018, 05:42 PM
SUBS | Dabrowski, Whittaker, Hyndman, Murray, Swanson, Shaw, Maclaren

09-08-2018, 05:42 PM
Hope Laidlaw has a good game. Got to admit im slightly concerned

He's had like one bad game for us, we'll be fine.

Liam6270
09-08-2018, 05:44 PM
3-0 Minsk!

09-08-2018, 05:45 PM
3-0 Minsk!

Wow!

09-08-2018, 05:45 PM
Hope Laidlaw has a good game. Got to admit im slightly concernedWhy?? He had 1 bad game against Celtic apart from that he's done fine for us...folk were saying the same about Bogdan a week ago

09-08-2018, 05:48 PM
Why?? He had 1 bad game against Celtic apart from that he's done fine for us...folk were saying the same about Bogdan a week ago

my only concern is lack of match sharpness, he is a decent enough back up but not ideal having our third choice keeper starting such an important match

09-08-2018, 05:50 PM
Laidlaw has rarely let us down. He's not fantastic but he should be fine tonight.

09-08-2018, 05:55 PM
Have to think that’s the end of Scott Martin if he can’t make that bench

I really hoped he would kick on and eventually fill the DM roke

Which Murray is sub Fraser or Innes

09-08-2018, 05:56 PM
Why?? He had 1 bad game against Celtic apart from that he's done fine for us...folk were saying the same about Bogdan a week ago

Our 3rd choice keeper in a massive European game.

09-08-2018, 05:59 PM

There is no point worrying about it now - hope Laidlaw - and the team - have a good game :greengrin

RobR27
09-08-2018, 06:00 PM
Minsk a lot easier for me to get to anyway!

09-08-2018, 06:01 PM
Pleased to see Bartley in the team. He will be chuffed to have worked his way back into the team and played so well last weekend

CathroMustStay
09-08-2018, 06:03 PM
GGTTH! :flag::nlgwa:flag:

RobR27
09-08-2018, 06:04 PM
Tonight’s squad does highlight the lack of depth at the back.

09-08-2018, 06:09 PM
Molde just out to warm up and they look a team of giants.

Austinho
09-08-2018, 06:09 PM
Wasn’t Laidlaw at fault in the Brondby home game?

dmc1875
09-08-2018, 06:10 PM

Nope that was vertanen

09-08-2018, 06:11 PM

No. He wasn’t playing

09-08-2018, 06:13 PM

Not just that, how much football has he played in the last 6 months say?

Goalkeepers need to stay match fit like any other player. Look at difference a few games made to Bogdan!

Lets have the place rocking tonight :aok:

Goalkeepers need to stay match fit like any other player. Look at difference a few games made to Bogdan!

Should we play Hanlon in goals then?

ElginHibbie
09-08-2018, 06:15 PM

Remember similar comments before a certain semi final :hmmm:

But seriously, Laidlaw must have played most of our friendlies? So while it's not ideal not like he'll be completely out of practice

09-08-2018, 06:17 PM
Let’s recreate the AEK Athens atmosphere tonight guys and show why we call Easter Road the Leith San Siro.

C’MON HIBS!!!!

09-08-2018, 06:18 PM
Should we play Hanlon in goals then?

Yup

09-08-2018, 06:24 PM
4 - 0 Minsk now, Belarus here we come, hopefully

09-08-2018, 06:25 PM
Remember similar comments before a certain semi final :hmmm:

But seriously, Laidlaw must have played most of our friendlies? So while it's not ideal not like he'll be completely out of practice

Lennon wasn’t concerned about the defence in his interview. I assume he was taking our goalkeeping situation into consideration. We have to go all out in attack and outscore them if that’s how it turns out.

09-08-2018, 06:37 PM
Lennon wasn’t concerned about the defence in his interview. I assume he was taking our goalkeeping situation into consideration. We have to go all out in attack and outscore them if that’s how it turns out.

He made the valid point that laidlaw had a stormer away against Brondby

Souter96Mac
09-08-2018, 06:41 PM
Big occasion for Laidlaw to stake a claim for the team. Hope he seizes it.

09-08-2018, 06:43 PM

Brilliant innit. Love this approach.

09-08-2018, 06:52 PM
Remember the days when goalies didn’t get injured and played entire seasons?

Kavinho
09-08-2018, 06:53 PM
Maribor 1 down at ibrox

hibbie02
09-08-2018, 06:54 PM
Any updates?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Any updates?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Mallan rattled the woodwork

Mallen just hit the bar from 20yds (open play).

09-08-2018, 06:55 PM
Slivka just stung the keeper's palms from 25ydd.

09-08-2018, 06:55 PM
Maribor 1 down at ibrox

🤬

09-08-2018, 06:56 PM
Porteous to score first.

09-08-2018, 06:56 PM
Zenit 4 doon

09-08-2018, 06:58 PM
Hibs pressing in the early exchanges.

Man Down Under
09-08-2018, 06:58 PM
Mallan has had 2 good shots, both outside the box again. He's going to score some crackers this season.

Sent from my SM-J330G using Tapatalk

09-08-2018, 06:59 PM
Hibs being hemmed in at the moment.

09-08-2018, 07:01 PM
The defence are missing SJM as an 'out'.

09-08-2018, 07:01 PM
The defence are missing SJM as an 'out'.

Give it to Marv instead.

Kavinho
09-08-2018, 07:10 PM
Maribor 1 down at ibrox

A ”real suspicion of offside about it” according to Chick Young....
morelos.

09-08-2018, 07:11 PM
Nothing much happening?

09-08-2018, 07:12 PM
Efe injured, Mallan shooting on sight.

09-08-2018, 07:14 PM
This team are a step up from Asteras, much more physical and organised. We are playing well but this is going to be a tough tie.

09-08-2018, 07:15 PM
Hibs on top, but we're giving them a little too much space in the middle of the park for my liking

09-08-2018, 07:16 PM
Mallan will score one of these thunderbolts

Wull
09-08-2018, 07:17 PM
Stevie Malan some player :flag:

09-08-2018, 07:17 PM
Great strike from Mallan again - saved by keeper.

09-08-2018, 07:25 PM
They look really iffy at the back. Bit more pressing needed

09-08-2018, 07:27 PM
They look really iffy at the back. Bit more pressing needed
According to BBC we also look iffy at the back.:confused:

Flights to Minsk if the 1st leg is away... £316 out Tuesday back Friday from Edinburgh. £3i8 Wed-Fri. Roughly the same if away 2nd leg

Just saying likes :greengrin

Edit

Sauce... Skyscanner

I'd like to see hyndman on for the 2nd half. Maybe in place of slivka

Kavinho
09-08-2018, 07:28 PM
A ”real suspicion of offside about it” according to Chick Young....
morelos.

Maribor equaliser after Rangers goal disallowed

Maribour 1-1

Maribor equalise yass

09-08-2018, 07:29 PM
Maribears

09-08-2018, 07:32 PM
Not a bad half. Molde look dangerous

Decent first half. They're very strong and disciplined.

OsloHibs
C'mon Hibs

09-08-2018, 07:33 PM
HT, some thoughts on hibs play in first half, strengths & weakness.

09-08-2018, 07:34 PM
Started well but faded as the game went on. We're not seeing much of the ball but Malling looking dangerous.

Would be putting McLaren on soon if its still goalless.

sean04
There a pretty good side, retain the ball well. Think we have to stop there deep laying midfielder from knocking it about

Not bad. Molde look a good side when they are in possession but defensively there for the taking. The Molde GK doesn’t look comfortable with long shots.

Hope we start the 2nd half the same way we did against Asteras in the 1st leg.

Chorley Hibee
09-08-2018, 07:35 PM
Both sides looking fairly organised but I feel Hibs are lacking any creative outlet. Kamberi looks isolated.

john18722
09-08-2018, 07:35 PM
They sit deep and like to retain possession but haven’t been too dangerous. Couple of blocks but Laidlaw hasn’t had a save to make. Hibs need to get Mallon on the ball more often.

09-08-2018, 07:36 PM
Both sides looking fairly organised but I feel Hibs are lacking any creative outlet. Kamberi looks isolated.

Showing them too much respect when they attack IMO.

09-08-2018, 07:36 PM
HT, some thoughts on hibs play in first half, strengths & weakness.

They have better movement , we have Stevie Mallan . Pretty even so far but no reason we cant go on and win this

09-08-2018, 07:37 PM
Thanks folks, nice round up.

09-08-2018, 07:37 PM
Good overall performance from Hibs first half - Slivka and Mallan very impressive - we have had several excellent chances, Molde game is stodgy, disciplined and their ball retention is good, but even though they've had chances think we look better going forward IMO - we need to get Kamberi and Boyle more involved - open game still, pretty even at the moment - enjoying it

09-08-2018, 07:38 PM
I'd take Gray off to get Boyle wide and Jamie mac on

I'd also leave slivka in the dressing room and give hyndman his debut

positionally right now we are asking for trouble

imo

Bob Box Fish
Slivka excellent first half

Showing them too much respect when they attack IMO.

Maybe but I thought it was decent performance first half. We’re being cautious but we’ve tested them out. Happy at 0-0.

CathroMustStay
09-08-2018, 07:39 PM
This is all set up for a 2-0 Hibees win in the 2nd half!

:flag::nlgwa:flag:

09-08-2018, 07:39 PM
What about SDG off, Boyle to RWB and Gash up front?

09-08-2018, 07:42 PM
Good overall performance from Hibs first half - Slivka and Mallan very impressive - we have had several excellent chances, Molde game is stodgy, disciplined and their ball retention is good, but even though they've had chances think we look better going forward IMO - we need to get Kamberi and Boyle more involved - open game still, pretty even at the moment - enjoying it

I am clearly watching a different slivka.

mine is wearing no8 and is wrong side of his man

09-08-2018, 07:42 PM
What about SDG off, Boyle to RWB and Gash up front?
Keep up ya daftie - Gash plays for Sevco.......

09-08-2018, 07:44 PM
Keep up ya daftie - Gash plays for Sevco.......

Fair enough, put Shaw on then.

09-08-2018, 07:45 PM
I am clearly watching a different slivka.

mine is wearing no8 and is wrong side of his man

Find it interesting that you see it that way ... :greengrin

09-08-2018, 07:47 PM
Couple of Fannys appearing in this thread already.

Saint Hibee
09-08-2018, 07:51 PM
Lennon needs to change something.

09-08-2018, 07:53 PM
2-1 huns

Lemonade
09-08-2018, 07:53 PM

09-08-2018, 07:54 PM
Lennon needs to change something.

Your underpants?

09-08-2018, 07:55 PM
Never fails

09-08-2018, 07:56 PM
The Edger Davids guy looks like a good player.

09-08-2018, 07:59 PM
2-1 huns

Sevco might need some more lessons teaching them this season just in case they get delusions of adaquecy again.

09-08-2018, 08:01 PM
that was brilliant play from Kamberi and slivka. Unlucky not to score there.

09-08-2018, 08:01 PM
Great save . Porteous header from a Mallan corner.

09-08-2018, 08:07 PM
Nae idea how folk can be moaning about Slivka.

Still a very even game.

Wull
09-08-2018, 08:08 PM
very even game, but dont think we have anything to fear, cummon the Hibees

hibeez1875
09-08-2018, 08:09 PM
Loving a lot of Stevie Mallan's work

Greenfly
09-08-2018, 08:10 PM
Hibs fairly going for it - good to see.

LReilly95
09-08-2018, 08:10 PM
Mallan will have no problem playing the McGeouch role with the added bonus of 20 goals a season. Get Mulumbu in and play them alongside Hyndman and we'll be laughing

09-08-2018, 08:15 PM
The guy Porteous was marking has been hooked. Well played Ryan!

Mallon knackered hope he scores a raker to prove me wrong

Need to make a change soon - more attacking. Need a goal here

Looper
09-08-2018, 08:16 PM
Bring Mac on for Boyle

09-08-2018, 08:17 PM
We need Boyle down the wing.

09-08-2018, 08:18 PM
The guy Porteous was marking has been hooked. Well played Ryan!

Been class.

09-08-2018, 08:19 PM
Bring on j mac and hyndman and let's go for this

Wull
09-08-2018, 08:22 PM
Shaw and Hyndmann commin on for the Hibees

09-08-2018, 08:32 PM
4 minutes added.

Wull
09-08-2018, 08:32 PM
4 min extra time

09-08-2018, 08:33 PM
Poor by Shaw.

09-08-2018, 08:34 PM
How is hyndmann looking?

09-08-2018, 08:35 PM
He nearly scored there - great save from the keeper.

Wull
09-08-2018, 08:35 PM
Hyndmann looks good

-Jonesy-
09-08-2018, 08:36 PM
Really nice display of technique getting that shot away from hyndmann

Tough luck we came up against a standout keeper.

MacLaren should have been on 15 minutes ago

09-08-2018, 08:37 PM
FT 0-0. Not too bad.

09-08-2018, 08:37 PM
Impressive result. I'll take it. Another week to get proper match sharpness and bed tbe new guys in. An away goal would be huge.

09-08-2018, 08:38 PM
Another Dnipro?

Not the worst result, hope we go more attacking over there and start Jamie and Flo.

Greenfly
Well done Hibs - unlucky not to get something more but everything still to play for.

a very valuable clean sheet - i'll take it :aok:

:nlgwa:flag::nlgwa:flag::nlgwa

After McGuinn's departure an excellent performance from Hibs - still all to play for ... we can score over there and still progress

09-08-2018, 08:39 PM
Played well, no goals conceded..Bit fitter/sharper next time, players to come in...Can certainly score there, all good.

CathroMustStay
Score draw next week, very plausible!

:flag::nlgwa:flag:

Good performance foiled by Linde. Molde never really threatened much. Pressure is on them second leg so maybe we can get some openings.

Decent performance and we’re far from out of it.

Played well, deserved to win, missed McGinn a bit but nothing earth shattering, we can beat them next week for sure. Hopefully the players gained some more confidence from another good performance.

09-08-2018, 08:40 PM
Like the look of hyndman already. Great technique for his shot which was tough one.

Wish we'd start with Flo and Jamie Mac next week though. Been nice to have taken a lead but not conceding an away goal is a good effort.

Should have won that. Good performance against a very handy side. Not conceding gives us a chance, will be a tough game though.

OtleyHibs
Enjoyed that, disappointed not to have got a winner but not conceding the away goal could be big.

Looked pretty evenly matched so we should go there with no fear, players coming in have another week to settle and we are definitely capable of winning this tie (though it won’t be easy)

Lemonade
Very decent result.

soupernashwan
09-08-2018, 08:42 PM
Good performance. Another week of fitness and when did we last fail to score two games in a row? Quietly confident. Hyndman looks very promising. Still bit of a head scratcher about how to accommodate SDG and utilise Boyle in his best position out wide.

09-08-2018, 08:43 PM
Disappointed not to win but glad to have not lost an away goal.

All to play for.

09-08-2018, 08:45 PM
They looked decent but we played well. Hibs probably edged it.

09-08-2018, 08:46 PM
Decent stuff. Mallan was excellent until he visibly tired near the end, put in some shift mind.

Exciting start from Hyndman!

Molde had quite a bit of possession but never really threatened, we missed the drive of Mcginn a wee bit did well under the circumstances, not out of it by any means.

Unlucky not to have won, especially with Mallan’s chances in the first half.

Porteous was my MOTM

09-08-2018, 08:47 PM
Here’s hoping that Håland isn’t registered to play in the second leg.

09-08-2018, 08:47 PM
Efe looked imperious at times but Porteous was my MoM.

Bob Box Fish
09-08-2018, 08:48 PM
Fantastic performance, proud.

TheReg!
09-08-2018, 08:48 PM
Take the draw, it gives our new players a little more time to get used to the squad. I really want Slivka to do well but he doesn’t half go missing throughout games. Stevie M played well, he’s gonna score a lot of goals for us this season.

09-08-2018, 08:51 PM
They are a decent team so not too unhappy with that result. Couldn't really fault any Hibs players but the stand outs for me were Ambrose, Mallan and Porteous. Kamberi worked his socks off just didn't have much service.

New American looked decent in the time he was on.

sean04
09-08-2018, 08:52 PM
Going to be very tough over there but no reason why we can't score a couple of goals. Molde tidy in possession without threatening

09-08-2018, 08:54 PM
What was the attendance?

09-08-2018, 08:55 PM
Going to be very tough over there but no reason why we can't score a couple of goals. Molde tidy in possession without threatening

If we score first, it will force them to come forward and maybe leave more space!

Should have won that. Good performance against a very handy side. Not conceding gives us a chance, will be a tough game though.Yeah we should have won it but they were a noticeable step up in class from Asteras...we did well and matched them. Every chance next week tho it will be tough

Boyle has to play wide right to create excitement and chances.

jonny
09-08-2018, 08:56 PM
What was the attendance?

16,303 I think - sounded like that's what the announcer said

09-08-2018, 08:56 PM
Yeah we should have won it but they were a noticeable step up in class from Asteras...we did well and matched them. Every chance next week tho it will be tough

Remember Brondby! :flag:

We've been away before against tough Scandinavian teams and won.

09-08-2018, 08:57 PM

Excellent backing once again ... !

09-08-2018, 08:58 PM
Still in the match so can't complain at all. Came close on a number of occasions to sneak a 1-0 win. Efe was by some distance MoM for me.

09-08-2018, 09:00 PM

Which shows how the official attendances at league games are exaggerated by including the no-show ST holders. There was a lot more at the game tonight than on Sunday.

09-08-2018, 09:00 PM
Decent result again good team, no poor performances but stand outs for me was Porteous, we have one hell of a player there. Still very much in the game, they never had a shot at goal all game, clean sheet was important, just half time.

7 Up
09-08-2018, 09:01 PM

16,294 according to Hibs on twitter. :nerd:

09-08-2018, 09:03 PM
Decent result as we didn’t concede an away goal, even though I don’t think Laidlaw had a save to make. I feel it will be difficult over there but I am confident in this Hibs team to get a result over in Norway.

09-08-2018, 09:05 PM
That was cagey as ****. Did well though.

09-08-2018, 09:05 PM
Take the draw, it gives our new players a little more time to get used to the squad. I really want Slivka to do well but he doesn’t half go missing throughout games. Stevie M played well, he’s gonna score a lot of goals for us this season.

Need to show some patience with him I think, but he does need to improve.

09-08-2018, 09:08 PM
Thought Slivka played well, did a lot of the dirty work as well as making some decent runs, regular football will see him get better.

ForeverHibs93
09-08-2018, 09:10 PM
I’m surprised at the negativity in the stands at the end of the game, people around me moaning about a 0-0 home draw in Europe. That was a very decent result for us.

Yes, we should have probably won it as we had all the shots/chances.

The most important thing tonight was that we didn’t concede and give them an away goal.

I have faith in us going over there and grabbing a goal!

Stand outs for me was Porteous - had a few shaky moments but recovered well, Stevie Mallan - some player, I didn’t expect him to ace as good an engine as he has had since signing with us. Also a wee shout out to Marv - bullied them and rally relishes getting stuck in which I think is something our team lacks.

Billy McKirdy
09-08-2018, 09:13 PM
That was a massive performance tonight against a decent side, very hopeful we can progress

09-08-2018, 09:14 PM
Mallan made some great cross field balls tonight. Almost SJM esque..

09-08-2018, 09:15 PM
Really solid and intelligent performance tonight against a technically good and fit side. Game management is getting better as each tie is played and it's great experience for the likes of Porteous, Shaw and Mallan.

Interesting to hear Neil say he wants another wide man in which makes me think our interest in Hayes isn't over. Could be some more fun and games with Celtic after all :greengrin

09-08-2018, 09:15 PM
Must admit I'm really surprised at all the praise for Porteous tonight. I must add I think he's a cracking player with bags of potential and was amazing against Motherwell.

But I'm sorry I thought he was average at best tonight. Their number 17 bossed him most of the game and was wasteful in possession more than once. I think that's down to age and experience though and night's lie this will only help him. I reckon he'll go on to be the best centre half we've had in decades.

Stewboy
09-08-2018, 09:16 PM
Must admit I'm really surprised at all the praise for Porteous tonight. I must add I think he's a cracking player with bags of potential and was amazing against Motherwell.

But I'm sorry I thought he was average at best tonight. Their number 17 bossed him most of the game and was wasteful in possession more than once. I think that's down to age and experience though and night's lie this will only help him. I reckon he'll go on to be the best centre half we've had in decades.

Yeah, you can tell that with all the free shots we gave them

Jeezo

09-08-2018, 09:16 PM
Thought they were very comfortable on the ball but never had any bite about them. Though Sir David had scored with the header and when was the last time we had a shot hit the bar then go in.

Dancehibs
09-08-2018, 09:18 PM

Total opposite of how I saw it. He was excellent

09-08-2018, 09:18 PM

Not sure I agree with you on that, I thought he was very good. What I would say though is that I thought Efe Ambrose was our stand out defender, thought he was different class tonight.

09-08-2018, 09:19 PM
Really solid and intelligent performance tonight against a technically good and fit side. Game management is getting better as each tie is played and it's great experience for the likes of Porteous, Shaw and Mallan.

Interesting to hear Neil say he wants another wide man in which makes me think our interest in Hayes isn't over. Could be some more fun and games with Celtic after all :greengrin

Given Hayes is starting games for Celtic, there is no chance of us signing him.

09-08-2018, 09:20 PM

Jeezo

Like I said I thought it was an average workman like performance. Wasn't bad but certainly isn't worth singling out for praise.

Auckland Hibs
09-08-2018, 09:23 PM
Like I said I thought it was an average workman like performance. Wasn't bad but certainly isn't worth singling out for praise.

Funny how others see it - I thought he was excellent tonight and unlucky not to get MOM.

Laced1875
09-08-2018, 09:24 PM
If ever there was a contrast in defenders... Porteous and Efe

beensaidbefore
09-08-2018, 09:24 PM

Jeezo

Don't think they had one on target. Brilliant result. All to play for next week.

09-08-2018, 09:25 PM
Funny how others see it - I thought he was excellent tonight and unlucky not to get MOM.

Totally! And that's the beauty of it all I suppose.

09-08-2018, 09:25 PM
Given Hayes is starting games for Celtic, there is no chance of us signing him.

They're getting Arzani and Roberts in aren't they ? Hayes would be well down the pecking order I'd say.

If NL is looking at a wide man you'd think it would be a left sided player. Not itk but I'm sure there was plenty saying Hayes was one NL was after during McGinn-gate :greengrin

JimboHibs
09-08-2018, 09:26 PM

I thought all of the defence were excellent.

sean04
09-08-2018, 09:26 PM

I thought he was brilliant, he s a young no nonsense defender. Enjoys a battle and came out on top. Yes he does the the ball away but need to remember hes just a boy

wallpaperman
09-08-2018, 09:28 PM
Not a bad result by any means, I quite enjoyed it for a nil nil.

Efe was my man of the match thought he was immense, Porteous will have learned a lot tonight, he had one heart stopping gaffe, but got away with it.

No failures tonight at all, should look at the positives, we are well in this tie.

09-08-2018, 09:28 PM
We realy miss boyle outwide but its a difficult one as gray has played very well since coming back into the team. Wouldnt mind seeing a 451 to accomodate both next week (if the man city boy is able to play).

Baw187
09-08-2018, 09:29 PM
We were unlucky not to win tonight. Small margins in Mallan’s strike, Gray’s header, and Emerson’s chance at the end, going in or not.

Think we have got a lot wiser in how to approach different games and manage them. We played a great team in a calm and controlled way. We weren’t naive going chasing things and leaving ourselves exposed. Again, we were organised at the back and weathered everything that came our way and looked dangerous going forward. On Sunday we essentially closed the game down after going 3 up as well. Lennon has us playing very astutely.

In previous years I’d be convinced that this tie was over and that we’d never win over in Norway, but things are different with this team.

09-08-2018, 09:32 PM
Laidlaw will seldom have had less to do in a game. Nothing to fear over there. Their goalie had a great game-
Bogdan-eque!

They're getting Arzani and Roberts in aren't they ? Hayes would be well down the pecking order I'd say.

If NL is looking at a wide man you'd think it would be a left sided player. Not itk but I'm sure there was plenty saying Hayes was one NL was after during McGinn-gate :greengrin

I can see why we’d be be interested but can’t imagine them letting him go on loan now, especially not to us.

We do need another left sided player though. I’d rather we try to buy Greg Taylor from Killie. Good young Scottish player but they’d want a decent fee

Would have bit your hand off for 0-0 before the game but feel disappointed now as we could have won that 2-0 with a bit of luck. Feels like an opportunity missed but an away goal over there and i thin we’ll be through.

sean04
09-08-2018, 09:34 PM
I thought the big guy sar? For molde was super

09-08-2018, 09:35 PM
We were unlucky not to win tonight. Small margins in Mallan’s strike, Gray’s header, and Emerson’s chance at the end, going in or not.

Think we have got a lot wiser in how to approach different games and manage them. We played a great team in a calm and controlled way. We weren’t naive going chasing things and leaving ourselves exposed. Again, we were organised at the back and weathered everything that came our way and looked dangerous going forward. On Sunday we essentially closed the game down after going 3 up as well. Lennon has us playing very astutely.

In previous years I’d be convinced that this tie was over and that we’d never win over in Norway, but things are different with this team.

09-08-2018, 09:37 PM
Given some of the early comments must give a shout out to both Slika and Porteous. I think Slivka was more or less told to man Mark the midfielder that eve tually got booked. Lennon must have singled him out. Porteous was close to being my MOM. 0 away goals conceded andd Stevie Mallan looking good from open play and dead ball. Sure we'll get one over there and they didn't look like a team who will score two based on their forwards tonight.

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

09-08-2018, 09:39 PM
We realy miss boyle outwide but its a difficult one as gray has played very well since coming back into the team. Wouldnt mind seeing a 451 to accomodate both next week (if the man city boy is able to play).

I was hoping to see MacLaren on and Boyle go wide for final 30 mins. A difficult night for our guys against very tall and strong opposition. Our build up was just too slow to hurt them down the flanks. Efe was outstanding. Man of the match by a mile...

09-08-2018, 09:41 PM

But I'm sorry I thought he was average at best tonight. Their number 17 bossed him most of the game and was wasteful in possession more than once. I think that's down to age and experience though and night's lie this will only help him. I reckon he'll go on to be the best centre half we've had in decades.Haha. Is that why he was hooked with 20 minutes to go?

houstonhibbee
09-08-2018, 09:41 PM
Its a fine balance between going all out for a goal and running the risk of conceding and chasing the game. 0-0 in these two legged affairs at home is better than a scoring draw. Score draw next week takes us through.....
Another nail biting evening coming up................cant get enough

09-08-2018, 09:43 PM
Such a contrast of opinions on here, thought porteous & ambrose were superb.

Thought slivka was like a rabbit in headlights in the first half didn't know where to stand when to go when to drop back who to mark. He improved slightly in the 2nd half but he's definitely no replacement for mcginn for me.

09-08-2018, 09:44 PM
Haha. Is that why he was hooked with 20 minutes to go?

No idea why he was subbed. Certainly wasn't because he was struggling against our defence though.

09-08-2018, 09:46 PM
No idea why he was subbed. Certainly wasn't because he was struggling against our defence though.

They scored 0 goals mate surely that means they struggled. Oh and zero shots on target

09-08-2018, 09:48 PM
A 0-0 draw at home in Europe is not a disadvantage.
In fact, it can be seen as an advantage, as it will instill a fear in Molde for the return leg, knowing that a score draw will put them out.
Our team has goals in it from all quarters, so I think the odds of us failing to score in two games against them are high.
I feel quietly confident that our boys will deliver over there.

09-08-2018, 09:49 PM
They scored 0 goals mate surely that means they struggled. Oh and zero shots on target

He looked their best player to me.

jonny
09-08-2018, 09:50 PM

Thought slivka was like a rabbit in headlights in the first half didn't know where to stand when to go when to drop back who to mark. He improved slightly in the 2nd half but he's definitely no replacement for mcginn for me.

I think I was watching the same game as you. Exactly as I saw it.
Slivka for me was the only player that didn't get pass marks.

09-08-2018, 09:50 PM

Thought slivka was like a rabbit in headlights in the first half didn't know where to stand when to go when to drop back who to mark. He improved slightly in the 2nd half but he's definitely no replacement for mcginn for me.You were moaning about Slivka on another thread before the game even started. You were talking pish then and you're talking pish tonight.

09-08-2018, 09:51 PM

Haha I think I'm getting too deep into something here. I in no way think anyone played badly tonight so it was maybe poor bringing up I thought Porteous had an average game.

Anyway, onto Norway we go!

09-08-2018, 09:51 PM

Decent enough performance but a bit reserved, think we could have got a win had we pushed forward a bit more in certain parts of the game. That said, I don’t think they had more than 1 shot? I like how we press as a team, certainly something we are improving on. We need to keep working on it though because there were moments in the 2nd half when we missed a few challenges and it became disjointed as we kept diving in or storming out to the ball 1 by 1. More games at this level will help with this though, some of the players need to learn when a press has failed and they need to contain or drop.

On balance of play we were probably due a 1-0 win. As you say small margins, one thing we clearly lacked was a driving force in the centre of the park, they all played well but nobody ran forward into open spaces with the ball. Slivka is probably the best player we have to do that and he is improving game by game (shouting instructions to teammates is a good sign as he sometimes looked like a lost loner on the pitch last season) so I’m pretty happy with the way we played and the way we are developing.

09-08-2018, 09:52 PM
You were moaning about Slivka on another thread before the game even started. You were talking pish then and you're talking pish tonight.

No problem mate 😂 Nice structured argument from yourself. Jog on.

Slivka was poor, my opinion, don't like it, ignore it.

09-08-2018, 09:55 PM
No problem mate �� Nice structured argument from yourself. Jog on.

I wouldn't go quite as far as poor but I certainly wouldn't have given him more than a 6. Him and Flo I thought were our poorest performers tonight although none of them were bad.

ShadesLongThrow
09-08-2018, 09:55 PM
Thought Efe was outstanding tonight. Strolled through the game. Don’t know how he didn’t get MoM.

09-08-2018, 10:05 PM
No problem mate 😂 Nice structured argument from yourself. Jog on.

Just based on something else you said, Slivka isn’t a replacement for McGinn so while you may have thought he was poor, is it is not maybe a wee bit harsh to review him based on comparisons to McGinn? Entitled to think he was poor, just think poor in relation to memories of an ex-player is not the best.

Kamberi was our worst player tonight. Not a dig at Flo but he contributed very little overall and obviously, because of his position, didn’t contribute as much as Slivka in terms of box to box running and tackling etc.

We have drawn 0-0 in the third qualifying round for Europe. No player that played tonight was poor. Some had better than others. New midfield 3 combination needs to gel as well.

Wee Effen Bee
09-08-2018, 10:08 PM

Sorry, but for me, he came out on top in that square go. The boy looked quite a handfay but Porteous played him well. People around me were praising how well he defended against a solid, decent player. Thought tonight was one of the best defensive displays I have ever seen from a Hibs team.

09-08-2018, 10:11 PM
Molde were a big, strong, organised and disciplined team. Much better than the Greeks and offered no free goals or sendings off.
All their midfield to front guys passed well and moved well off the ball.

Hibs defended effectively all night and Efe was magnificent. My MOTM by a distance.
Hyndmann was given only 10 minutes but was up to speed and will be a great success. Should have been brought on earlier for a tiring Mallen.

With a little luck we could have taken a 1-0 into the away leg but a 0-0 draw was a good effort against a good team and keeps us well in the tie.

We definitely need to add a Mulumbu/ Glen Kamara type guy to give the midfield some legs and power

houstonhibbee
09-08-2018, 10:11 PM
Just based on something else you said, Slivka isn’t a replacement for McGinn so while you may have thought he was poor, is it is not maybe a wee bit harsh to review him based on comparisons to McGinn? Entitled to think he was poor, just think poor in relation to memories of an ex-player is not the best.

Kamberi was our worst player tonight. Not a dig at Flo but he contributed very little overall and obviously, because of his position, didn’t contribute as much as Slivka in terms of box to box running and tackling etc.

We have drawn 0-0 in the third qualifying round for Europe. No player that played tonight was poor. Some had better than others. New midfield 3 combination needs to gel as well.

All things considered we are still in with a great chance to advance - so no damage done. 0-0 is about as good as 3-1 in the last round. Scoring draw and were through

gaz1875
09-08-2018, 10:13 PM
Was it just me or did every loose ball and 50/50 challenge run in their favour tonight?

09-08-2018, 10:14 PM
I wouldn't go quite as far as poor but I certainly wouldn't have given him more than a 6. Him and Flo I thought were our poorest performers tonight although none of them were bad.

regarding slivka, the first 5 yards of any game are in your head. yet he always seems 5 yards the wrong side of his man. he has a lot to offer in theory but he now needs to step up or get used to being on the bench. best I can say is tonight is a wake up call and we live to fight another day but he must must must get tighter on his man

09-08-2018, 10:14 PM
Efe was very good. Thought Marv did well.

Kamberi was poor. Boyle runs around a lot but not a striker.

Two pretty evenly matched teams.

09-08-2018, 10:19 PM

Just thought he was quite poor tonight in general albeit had a better 2nd half. Not sure if he was asked by Lennon to float in first half but was barely near any of their players to attempt to win the ball back nor did he seem to mark anyone.

Was a massive opportunity for him tonight with mcginn gone, although it would be a massive ask for him to be on the same level as SJM, but don't think he grabbed the opportunity at all.

09-08-2018, 10:19 PM
No failures tonight for me. Kamberi was subdued by his standards but he was up against real quality and wasn't fully fit IMO.

I think Slivka's qualities are obvious, not really sure what people can't see. Granted he hasn't had a truly outstanding 90 minutes yet, but I think he'll be a big player for us.

Porteous was excellent, got done by the boy a couple of times but gave him plenty too. The fact that the boy got the shepherd's crook says a lot about his performance.

Efe was awesome. Mallan is such a huge threat and it's a joy watching his technique as he spreads play about.

Really enjoyed the game tonight, was a great contest against quality opposition.

TrinityHibs
09-08-2018, 10:23 PM
Molde were a big, strong, organised and disciplined team. Much better than the Greeks and offered no free goals or sendings off.
All their midfield to front guys passed well and moved well off the ball.

Hibs defended effectively all night and Efe was magnificent. My MOTM by a distance.
Hyndmann was given only 10 minutes but was up to speed and will be a great success. Should have been brought on earlier for a tiring Mallen.

With a little luck we could have taken a 1-0 into the away leg but a 0-0 draw was a good effort against a good team and keeps us well in the tie.

We definitely need to add a Mulumbu/ Glen Kamara type guy to give the midfield some legs and power

Saved me having to type anything

09-08-2018, 10:28 PM
Not the worst result in the world.

In terms of making the group stage, we’re in as good a position as you could have realistically hoped for at the start of the campaign.

It’ll take a huge effort but it’s there for us.

09-08-2018, 10:31 PM
Just thought he was quite poor tonight in general albeit had a better 2nd half. Not sure if he was asked by Lennon to float in first half but was barely near any of their players to attempt to win the ball back nor did he seem to mark anyone.

Was a massive opportunity for him tonight with mcginn gone, although it would be a massive ask for him to be on the same level as SJM, but don't think he grabbed the opportunity at all.

Problem is we don’t know what he was asked to do. As far as I saw it in the first half, Bartley and Slivka dropped deeper and regularly took positions that shielded the 3 CBs. They worked closely with the CBs to pass their markers on to them (good communication). Mallan contributed more to the high press with Boyle, Kamberi, Gray and Stevenson. I have no idea what Slivka was told but for large spells of the first half, it certainly looked like Mallan was told to contribute to the press. Slivka joined in a few times now and then.

We will change our play style, we won’t get a McGinn, nobody will take the opportunity to replace McGinn. We need to have some patience with these players, the core of our midfield has been decimated this summer and players will need to step up. They need to get used to each other’s games though and that takes time. It’ll be the same when Efe, Hanlon and McGregor are gone. Partnerships and understanding will start from scratch as the new players come in.

09-08-2018, 10:36 PM
Problem is we don’t know what he was asked to do. As far as I saw it in the first half, Bartley and Slivka dropped deeper and regularly took positions that shielded the 3 CBs. They worked closely with the CBs to pass their markers on to them (good communication). Mallan contributed more to the high press with Boyle, Kamberi, Gray and Stevenson. I have no idea what Slivka was told but for large spells of the first half, it certainly looked like Mallan was told to contribute to the press. Slivka joined in a few times now and then.

We will change our play style, we won’t get a McGinn, nobody will take the opportunity to replace McGinn. We need to have some patience with these players, the core of our midfield has been decimated this summer and players will need to step up. They need to get used to each other’s games though and that takes time. It’ll be the same when Efe, Hanlon and McGregor are gone. Partnerships and understanding will start from scratch as the new players come in.

Yea fair enough mate, you make a good point

09-08-2018, 11:09 PM

Whereas first half I thought Slivka was composed on the ball, didn’t miss a pass and was driving forward whenever we had the ball getting into dangerous positions. 2nd half I thought he tired around 60/65.

I don’t think he is ever going to be an outstanding defensive midfielder but I really like what he brings to the team. Bartley gave him and Mallan a bit more freedom.

If Oli had teed him up near the end he could have been the hero tonight!

09-08-2018, 11:12 PM
No failures tonight for me. Kamberi was subdued by his standards but he was up against real quality and wasn't fully fit IMO.

I think Slivka's qualities are obvious, not really sure what people can't see. Granted he hasn't had a truly outstanding 90 minutes yet, but I think he'll be a big player for us.

Porteous was excellent, got done by the boy a couple of times but gave him plenty too. The fact that the boy got the shepherd's crook says a lot about his performance.

Efe was awesome. Mallan is such a huge threat and it's a joy watching his technique as he spreads play about.

Really enjoyed the game tonight, was a great contest against quality opposition.

Pretty much how I saw it. [emoji106]

09-08-2018, 11:16 PM
Just reading through this and seeing people have a go at Slivka. I thought he was great first half, but like the Tripolis 2nd leg, tired a little bit in the second. Good performance all around, however not too surprised to see negative comments as Slivka seems to get the brunt of most them at the moment.

09-08-2018, 11:19 PM
Good contest, thought we just about shaded it and were especially unlucky with a couple of chances. Nothing to fear from the away leg. GGTTH

10-08-2018, 12:03 AM

:agree:we played a very good side, who are probably well into their season ? the Skandic leagues are usually a good bit in front, in that sense. I was a bit worried at times, with their possession and slick passing around the 18 yard box in the first half and the wee pony tail guy was a box o' tricks. our back line did well to deal with it, although Hanlon's attempted long ball pass is shocking at times. Mallan's couple of attempts, Boyle's too and the header from SDG were all quuite unlucky as their goalie made great saves. Abit disappointed, but not undonted. we can still get through as I think we can score over there. Kamberi though looked a bit off the pace although he did not have great service.

10-08-2018, 07:08 AM
When exiting the stand last night there was a nice moment of appreciation for ole gunnar solskjaer.

10-08-2018, 07:21 AM

Learning to play without Mcginn will not happen overnight.

Slivka definitely worth persevering with and I think we need to be patient. I think the issue with him (and Swanson to a degree) is that they are trying to make a match winning contribution every time they get the ball. They seem rushed and lack composure.

Getting more game time will helpfully increase his confidence.

10-08-2018, 07:26 AM
Just reading through this and seeing people have a go at Slivka. I thought he was great first half, but like the Tripolis 2nd leg, tired a little bit in the second. Good performance all around, however not too surprised to see negative comments as Slivka seems to get the brunt of most them at the moment.

Thought Slivka started quite well. But he has a tendency to go missing a bit for me. Keep saying there is a player in there but he really needs to step up and start showing it now.