View Full Version : Official Site: JOHN MCGINN COMPLETES ASTON VILLA MOVE

RSS Bot
08-08-2018, 06:40 PM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/9064)

08-08-2018, 06:41 PM
Thanks John.. All the Best

08-08-2018, 06:41 PM
Farewell, legend.

Nevi_SOL
08-08-2018, 06:42 PM
😭😭😭

08-08-2018, 06:43 PM
Fair play to him , continued to give his all, never once went to the papers and continued to give his all ... hibee legend wish him all the best

Sad to see him go but goes with my best wishes, he’s been absolutely superb throughout his time at the club and deserves his chance at a higher level. Whatever he does in the future, among the great performances he’s put in I will always remember him being a part of that cup winning side.

all the best a John.

RoscoHibby
😥😥 all the best super John, will forever be a legend in these parts.

Undisclosed fee..

08-08-2018, 06:44 PM
Thanks for everything John, best of luck.

Sad to see another Scottish Cup legend leave.

Scotty Leither
A guy that really got the club and that spread to other players too, and he's one of the main reasons we've been so galvanised these last couple of years, in my book.

Good luck John, the epitome of "Hibs class".

1068gary
Farewell to a Hibs legend

Thanks for everything mate.

One day we will have another John McGinn.

08-08-2018, 06:45 PM
I'm gonna enjoy watching this guys career, he'll go far. I am absolutely gutted the now though. Good luck SJM

Good luck John
What was the fee

Legend is over used in this day in age but he is a bona fine Hibs legend, good luck SJM :top marks

08-08-2018, 06:47 PM
Thank you Super John McGinn.

murray26
One of if not my favourite Hibs player of all time great player at a great time for the club but more importantly a great person.. wish him all the luck in the world.. he deserves it.

Who's in charge of the photos on these announcements? WTF is that? :faf:

Goodbye and good luck, John.

Biggest Hibs legend in my lifetime.

https://cdn.thecelticblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/23715652-900x540-800x504.jpg

Scotty Leither
Oh aye, forgot to add, tear it up down there and get us another dollop of cash when you're signed by Arsenal/Man Utd or whoever.

All the very best to an excellent player and ambassador to the club. Intelligent and ambitious enough guy to skip the intermediate level at celtc and going straight to a higher level before pushing on again.

Thanks for the memories SJM.

All the best John thanks for the memories

Best wishes to Super John McGinn. Will never forget his contribution to Hibs over the last 3 years.

Forever a Hibs Legend.

Aston Villa have got one hell of a player :hibees

08-08-2018, 06:48 PM
Without a doubt one of my all time favourite Hibees - gutted :boo hoo:

Gutted, but also delighted for the guy - a great move and thoroughly deserved.

All the best John McGinn. You leave a permanent Hibs legend who probably was the biggest player in our rejuvenation :not worth

Curried
Massive loss to the club, but your service will never be forgotten.

Best wishes for the future John.

08-08-2018, 06:49 PM
Good luck John
What was the fee

Undisclosed. Guess it is wait until next set of accounts

08-08-2018, 06:49 PM
It's a sad day. We say goodbye to an absolute legend of the club.

You'll be sorely missed John! A legend to every hibs fan I know of and has done more for this club than almost anyone, you'll go far!

08-08-2018, 06:50 PM
Sad but inevitable day. Hope Super remains super for Villa and gets his team up to the Premier. Great memories of a great player.

Eaststand
08-08-2018, 06:51 PM
John, you've been an absolute pleasure to watch during your time with us.

All the best at Villa and wherever else you grace a football pitch.
I really hope to see you back at Easter Road someday :-)

RobR27
08-08-2018, 06:52 PM
It's a sad day, but this is really the best realistic outcome.

We don't lose him for free next year, he's not playing against us 4 times a season, and Aston Villa has a higher potential sell-on fee to benefit from than Celtic.

Plus if the rumours of the 2m promotion clause turn out to be true it could be very lucrative.

All the very best SJM.

Never did anyone deserve the moniker Super more.

Great player, great guy who treated our club and our support with the respect deserved and earned in his leaving.

https://t.co/cFaKyl8ZPi?amp=1.

Seems strange to see him on Villa gear. All the best.

hibs#1
08-08-2018, 06:54 PM
Sad to see him go.However he is a legend and got us a nice fee.Thanks for the Scottish cup win and promotion and other 'super' performances.

Hannah_hfc
08-08-2018, 06:55 PM
I was gutted when McGeough went but seeing McGinn go is even tougher. What an absolute legend he’s been to this club. Wish him all the best at Villa

Scotty Leither
Aye the one downside - seeing him in a puke-maroon coloured strip...

Callyballybe
All the best John, knew this day was coming but feels weird seeing him in another strip.

Hibs legend, hope he pushes on and does well down there.

So glad he's not going to Celtic as well.

Top man John, top man. 👍

We've got Mcginn! All the best helicopter legs. Hibs legend

jakedance
08-08-2018, 07:00 PM
Aaw man. I feel so sad he’s gone. Probably my all time favourite player. I just love his attitude to the game and passion for playing for Hibs. I really hope he does well at Villa and continues to improve. I think they’ve got a bargain.

08-08-2018, 07:03 PM
Mix of emotions.

Gutted that he has gone but delighted for him at the same time, he thoroughly deserves a big move like this. Looks like I'm going to have an English team to support now.

08-08-2018, 07:03 PM
https://media.giphy.com/media/KrHaLUAF1vaZq/giphy.gif

08-08-2018, 07:04 PM
His performances in his last 2 or 3 games were outstanding and that's despite knowing he'd be leaving soon. Sums him up!
Total legend and so glad he went to England, where we can cheer him on to bigger and better things.
Thanks for everything SJM!

gogsy23
08-08-2018, 07:05 PM
Gutted. No one is irreplaceable but my god it's a big hole to fill

08-08-2018, 07:06 PM
Never had an 'english' club.....do now! Good luck John👍

08-08-2018, 07:07 PM
His performances in his last 2 or 3 games were outstanding and that's despite knowing he'd be leaving soon. Sums him up!
Total legend and so glad he went to England, where we can cheer him on to bigger and better things.
Thanks for everything SJM!

He’s been absolutely sparkling these past few games. Very best wishes to him, a fantastic player for Hibs.

08-08-2018, 07:08 PM
I couldn’t go to the Linlithgow Rose game and thought that would be his last game. Delighted he was here till Sunday and wish him all the best.

Famousfivehh
08-08-2018, 07:08 PM
Was a privelage to watch him play. Well done John for your commitment and well done Hibs for allowing him to grow into a star.

08-08-2018, 07:09 PM
Undisclosed fee..

Yeah... turns out the Aston Villa offer was slightly less than Celtc were willing to pay, but we accepted it just to wind up the lesser greens!

08-08-2018, 07:09 PM
Sad he has gone but it was inevitable I suppose.
The one silver lining is he hasn't gone West!!😁

ads913
08-08-2018, 07:10 PM
The day we always knew was coming and dreaded is here.
We called him SJM, not John or Mcginn just SuperJohnMcginn.
Good luck SJM and thanks for the fantastic memories and I hope we see on the telly playing for Scotland or later years in Green.

08-08-2018, 07:11 PM
"Someone once said my running style looks like I'm chasing a helicopter" 😂😂😂

tynehibs
08-08-2018, 07:13 PM
Proper Hibs man Proper player, good luck John you have been superb

08-08-2018, 07:14 PM
Delighted he's gone to Villa and not Celtic.The effort he has put into the games at the start of the season has been terrific.He reminded me of Des Bremner recently but with more skill.Villa did well to get Bremner and he repaid them but I suspect that their fans do not fully recognise how lucky they are to get McGinn and if he continues at the level he has reached they will realise what a steal he is.

YETI1875
08-08-2018, 07:14 PM
Absolute legend.i predict he will move next year for serious money

08-08-2018, 07:17 PM
Gutted if I’m honest but what a pleasure it was to watch John play for these last three years.

A much too often used phrase but a genuine Hibs legend.:flag:

WestStandMoaner
08-08-2018, 07:18 PM

Can't believe I'm saying this but not bothered about the fee, hibs have obviously done well out the deal. Celtic tried to low ball us and it backfired and I'm sure Brendan Rodgers is not a happy man.

john acted professionally throughout this saga and ultimately he realised his future would be better at Villa. I have never been so happy at one of our best players being sold. Probably because he is not going to be playing against us

hibs legend I wish him all the best

EastCalderHibby
08-08-2018, 07:20 PM
thank you SUPER JOHN MC GINN you have been a gentleman on and of the park, hope you get all the success you deserve it
going to miss you big time, PLEASE come to the match on thursday so we the fans can give you the send of you deserve
good luck mate:thumbsup::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

kevo1875
08-08-2018, 07:21 PM
Go and show the English championship what us hibs fans already know , that u are one fantastic footballer...all the best

08-08-2018, 07:21 PM
Good luck John, another legend moves on.

scuttle
08-08-2018, 07:22 PM
Would be nice if Villa let him come to tomorrows match so he can say a proper farewell. He will be almost impossible to replace, good luck SJM

08-08-2018, 07:23 PM
Hopefully he goes to the very top, he's certainly got the talent and attitude.
Good luck SJM.

08-08-2018, 07:24 PM
Will be hoping Villa get promoted with John playing a big part in it.

Gotta be worth a few quid to us down the line :cb

WestStandMoaner
08-08-2018, 07:25 PM

Can't believe I'm saying this but not bothered about the fee, hibs have obviously done well out the deal. Celtic tried to low ball us and it backfired and I'm sure Brendan Rodgers is not a happy man.

john acted professionally throughout this saga and ultimately he realised his future would be better at Villa. I have never been so happy at one of our best players being sold. Probably because he is not going to be playing against us

hibs legend I wish him all the best

GRA
08-08-2018, 07:31 PM
Knew this day was coming but at least we got some cash and he won't be playing directly against us this season!

Many happy memories of SJM. Aside from the obvious games, his performance v The Huns in November 2015 confirmed to me he was going to be a star. All the best SJM!

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

08-08-2018, 07:33 PM
Goodbye SJM. It has been an absolute pleasure to watch you develop over the past three years. You are a Hibs legend. Thanks for the memories and your part in breaking that hoodoo. I hope you achieve everything you deserve in the game. Aston Villa fans have someone special in their team.

Mcpakeisgod
08-08-2018, 07:34 PM
I’ve never been so confident of one of our players going down England and absolutely smashing it - he was a cut above for a long time . Well deserved. Now drive the villa to the top league

TrinityHibs
08-08-2018, 07:36 PM
Many thanks for all the good memories John. I wish you and Villa well this year and I will follow your career with pride knowing Hibs helped you to become the player you will become. Sad to see you go but you never gave less than !00% for the team and I back your decision 100%. Mon the Villa. I now have a reason to keep Sky.

08-08-2018, 07:37 PM
Would be nice if Villa let him come to tomorrows match so he can say a proper farewell. He will be almost impossible to replace, good luck SJM

He'll need to come back up the road to get his stuff and say bye to the lads etc so don't see how that would be a problem.

ShadesLongThrow
08-08-2018, 07:38 PM
Delighted for the lad. Looking forward to seeing how he gets on in the Championship.

08-08-2018, 07:41 PM
So happy to hear its Villa and not Celts.

Will do his career the world of good too. A great move. Future Scotland HERO. Without any doubt.

08-08-2018, 07:43 PM
Will be hoping Villa get promoted with John playing a big part in it.

Gotta be worth a few quid to us down the line :cb

Not a Villa fan, but I so hope they do well now and get promoted.

Cat Stanton
08-08-2018, 07:43 PM
So happy to hear its Villa and not Celts.

Will do his career the world of good too. A great move. Future Scotland HERO. Without any doubt.

Song for Septic:

You've not got McGinn*
(*tho neither have we),
Super John McGinn,
I just don't think you understand,
He's Aston Villa's man
And you're a bunch of fan (-nies)
Oh super John McGinn

(He played for us and not for you, you horrible arrogant smelly often-bigoted tits, now give us Allan back and **** off).

I'm still working on the scanning (especially the last bit) but I think it's a decent start.

Eesti
08-08-2018, 07:46 PM
Dont post often. Obviously. But cannot let it pass without thanking John for his contribution and his humility. A great guy who deserves everything that will surely come his way. Thanks John

08-08-2018, 07:48 PM
Sad day but pleased he can showcase himself on a bigger stage, as it were. Got no doubt at all that he’ll be a revelation there. Hope he has two stinkers against Bolton though.

08-08-2018, 07:49 PM
Thanks for everything John. A club legend, a great player and a wonderful representative off the park. Will go on to have a long and successful career, no doubt.

Doh Rae Me
08-08-2018, 07:50 PM
SJM.
How to do things properly.
Always Hibs legend.
Good luck.

08-08-2018, 07:53 PM
i feel a wee tear coming :boo hoo: i wish him all the best, except the games against super leeds

08-08-2018, 07:56 PM
The man’s a bloody star on and off the pitch. Going to name each of my three testicles ‘super’ ‘john’ and ‘McGinn’.

08-08-2018, 07:57 PM
https://media.giphy.com/media/KrHaLUAF1vaZq/giphy.gif

08-08-2018, 07:58 PM
The man’s a bloody star on and off the pitch. Going to name each of my three testicles ‘super’ ‘john’ and ‘McGinn’.

Tattoos, bruv?

08-08-2018, 08:00 PM
My heart was broken, sorry to see the inevitable, but John can play at a much higher level than we could ever offer, positive he will be a future Scotland Captain and will have a massive sell on figure once he gets established down there.
The Villa support perhaps dont understand they are getting a player that reminds me of a certain "Crazy Horse" that played down there for a while at some wee Liverpool team. He done good for Hibs and goes to a club with a bit of history of taking our best midfield players. He now joins the list of Alex Cropley then Des Bremner and in my humble the name John McGinn is not out of place amongst these two Hibernian greats.

Good luck John.
:flag::flag::flag::flag:

The Pointer
08-08-2018, 08:03 PM
Good luck John, you played a major part in the revival of the club. http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/not%20worthy.gif

(And as I type, bizarrely, a mouse has just set off the trap!)

08-08-2018, 08:04 PM
For anyone looking for a John McGinn fix, Aston Villa are on tv next Tuesday against Yeovil.

08-08-2018, 08:06 PM
In years to come we will talk about that weird way that he shielded the ball, he was brilliant to watch, you just never knew what he was going to do next.

Irreplaceable.

08-08-2018, 08:07 PM
I wonder what Villa offered as a wage to John, no idea what the average wage in the championship is.

Feed McGraw
08-08-2018, 08:08 PM
Thank you so, so much John, for everything you`ve done for our beloved Hibs. You will quite rightly go down in history as one of our club`s greatest and most popular players. You are a fantastic footballer and a fantastic person and we are all sure you will go on and have an amazing career. Thanks again for all you`ve done in helping us back to where we belong and helping win the Scottish cup that glorious day in May 2016. Wishing you the very best of luck John, you`re just SUPER.

08-08-2018, 08:08 PM
Such a classy individual, as well as a classy player. Reminds me a lot of a Dave Murphy or even Franck Sauzee in that respect.

I actually feel a bit like welling up.

08-08-2018, 08:10 PM
For anyone looking for a John McGinn fix, Aston Villa are on tv next Tuesday against Yeovil.

FFS that’ll be a tough watch.

Wanting the maroons to beat the green and whites?

No sure I’ll be able to do it.

08-08-2018, 08:11 PM
FFS that’ll be a tough watch.

Wanting the maroons to beat the green and whites?

No sure I’ll be able to do it.

Claret. Not maroon. It's just those manky bassas who wear that.

18Craig75
08-08-2018, 08:12 PM
All the best John McGinn, a legend in every sense of the word. Thank you for playing a huge part in reconnecting this club to the fans.

He’ll leave a huge hole in the squad, but goes with my best wishes. Hope to see you back one day. It’s been a pleasure...”we’ve got McGinn...” [emoji22]

08-08-2018, 08:16 PM
Doesn't matter how old I get, I still feel like a heartbroken schoolgirl after her favourite pop band has split up any time we lose our best players.
This one was particularly hard because of the type of guy John is and his contribution and conduct during his wonderful spell at Hibs. We have been good for John, no doubt about it, and hopefully we see many more young players develop into excellent ones at our club in the future.
He deserves a good move, and I truly hope this turns out to be the case. A top player, a top lad and one one who will always be warmly welcomed at Easter Road.

08-08-2018, 08:19 PM
I wonder what Villa offered as a wage to John, no idea what the average wage in the championship is.

Said on Sportsound his wages were double at AV than Celtic offered.

08-08-2018, 08:21 PM
All the best SJM hope it all goes well

08-08-2018, 08:21 PM

20k then. Good for him.

scooby
08-08-2018, 08:22 PM
It's been an absolute pleasure watching SJM over the last 3 years, and I feel that he is irreplaceable.
Wish him nothing but the best, he has absolutely earned his move, but boy are we going to miss him.

08-08-2018, 08:26 PM

Funny that John was wondering what kind of wages you were on?

Scotty Leither
08-08-2018, 08:28 PM

Good...That should have its own sticky on Kerrydale Street.

08-08-2018, 08:28 PM
Gutted to see SJM go but wish him all the best

Northern Hibby
08-08-2018, 08:29 PM
To all celtic fans who told me "it's only a matter of time"

🎶you'll never have
super John McGinn
I just don't think you understand
he never was your man said Lennon and Leeann
we had super John McGinn🎶

All the best SJM

coco22
08-08-2018, 08:30 PM
In years to come we will talk about that weird way that he shielded the ball, he was brilliant to watch, you just never knew what he was going to do next.

Irreplaceable.

I watched my son coaching one of his teammates on how to deploy the McGinn ‘stick your erse oot to protect the ball’ Technique tonight during a match then came home to the expected news he was gone. See you later John...massive impact on me as a Hibs fan and my son as a player/fan. Legend in our eyes. 💚

08-08-2018, 08:31 PM
I will miss this legend and am gutted to see him go, but so glad also to see him go south and not along the road.

Villa are a sleeping giant with a phenomenal support.
I can see him being a mainstay in a promotion-winning side, if not this season, then next.

Thank you for your outstanding contribution to our great club, John.

:flag::flag:

08-08-2018, 08:33 PM
Funny that John was wondering what kind of wages you were on?

You should have put a comma after "that" in your comment, your good !

coco22
08-08-2018, 08:39 PM
A Celtic supporting mate is absolutely raging and gutted - they thought it was a sure thing. Apparently Rodgers is fuming with the board for not getting it over the line.

08-08-2018, 08:41 PM
A Celtic supporting mate is absolutely raging and gutted - they thought it was a sure thing. Apparently Rodgers is fuming with the board for not getting it over the line.

Rodgers should feel aggrieved. His board have let down badly here by underestimating the resolve of our board. I’m delighted he didn’t end up there.

08-08-2018, 08:42 PM
Cant believe this but I actually have a tear running down my cheek … 58 year old man FFS :greengrin

All the very best to a super football player and a super guy, terribly sad for us as a support to be losing him, but delighted for Super John as a person who thoroughly deserves to go all the way in the game ….. Its C'mon the Villa now :aok:

08-08-2018, 08:46 PM
Such a classy individual, as well as a classy player. Reminds me a lot of a Dave Murphy or even Franck Sauzee in that respect.

I actually feel a bit like welling up.

I'm the same. I'm in the middle of packing for my trip to Chicago tomorrow and rather than feeling excited, I'm sad and lethargic.

We saw a cracking player. We're lucky.

Good luck SJM.

YanYansen
08-08-2018, 08:47 PM
I'm the same. I'm in the middle of packing for my trip to Chicago tomorrow and rather than feeling excited, I'm sad and lethargic.

We saw a cracking player. We're lucky.

Good luck SJM.

I'm going there in September - give us some tips when ye get back!

Hibs 16
08-08-2018, 08:49 PM
Cracking servant to hibs. Drove us forward by sheer willpower. Scottish cup winner. Happy to wait for his move than rush to leave at first offer. He’s going right to the top.

08-08-2018, 08:50 PM
Absolutely delighted he didn't end up along the M8. Go make a name for yourself young man!

Hopefully the money is reinvested in the squad pronto - losing McGinn, Allan and McGeouch definitely presents a challenge, but now we should have the resources to bring in some new talent.

08-08-2018, 08:51 PM
Up alongside Sauze as my favourite Hibs player ever. Gutted to see him leave but we knew it would happen for a while now. Proud of how the club and John handled all this, and I'm confident that we will go on to build a strong squad by 31st August. We'll not be able to replace that arse-roll though.

Good luck SJM :aok::boo hoo:

08-08-2018, 08:52 PM
It's a great move for him. Far better than warming the bench in the Prem or with Celtic. He'll play a part in a promotion season hopefully.

oldbiker
08-08-2018, 08:54 PM
Thank you and good luck you played a great shift :flag::flag:

08-08-2018, 08:56 PM
I have answered my own earlier question about Villa players earnings, read this

https://sillyseason.com/salary/aston-villa-players-salaries-99599/

08-08-2018, 08:59 PM
Good luck SJM your a legend who we will sorely miss...

Over to you Lenny - let's gets a couple of quality signings in the door please sharpish...we r down Dylan, SJM and Allan from the midfield last season

No excuses now Hibs - record STs and money in the bank - let's add some quality pls

08-08-2018, 09:00 PM
Cant believe this but I actually have a tear running down my cheek … 58 year old man FFS :greengrin

All the very best to a super football player and a super guy, terribly sad for us as a support to be losing him, but delighted for Super John as a person who thoroughly deserves to go all the way in the game ….. Its C'mon the Villa now :aok:

Yeah, I'm slightly surprised by the strength of emotional response I'm having to this news.

I'm long enough in the tooth to know that players leave and that there will be others along to capture our affections. John is something a bit special though, a great player but also an outstanding attitude and in terms of achievement at Hibs he's right up there. He's shown respect for the club and deserves this move. I hope it gives him a platform to move up even further.

Utterly delighted too that those parasites at Celtc have been bumped. Good for John. Good for Hibs. Good for the Scottish game.

Man I'll miss seeing him in a Hibs jersey though.

sadtom
08-08-2018, 09:01 PM
Sorry to see SJM leave. Inevitable but still sad.
His contribution to the club has been immesurable.
A true modern legend and a model pro who played with skill, determination and passion.
Not only a fantastic player on the park but an equally top lad off it.
Respectful, modest, approachable and friendly.
Good luck John. You'll be missed.

GTMRossaK3
08-08-2018, 09:04 PM

Sad for me/us - but hugely happy for him - one of the very best I've seen in my 60+ years supporting Hibs ( and I'm from Inverness! ). He has epitomised and contributed massively to the huge change forward in our great club over the last few yeare - thank you Alan Stubbs as well - will watch his progress with great interest and take pride in what contribution our club and certain personnel made to his progression. Welcome back any time John! Loved his conducting of the John McGinn song on the Cup parade bus at Leith Links.

All the very best John and unreserved thanks for the great enjoyment you have given me ( and many thousands more ) in the great strip of our club.

Lastly John, thank you for being such a fantastic role model in this day and age of troubled times, to the youngsters at Hibs and other teams and the kids in the football world in general. We need more like you. You absolutely deserve your success.

Best Wishes

7 Up
08-08-2018, 09:08 PM
Gutted that he's left the club but wish him the best.

With all the media speculation recently he could have downed tools, but instead he acted professionally and turned in a great performance for us in Greece. That shows he's got the mentality to do well down south.

The Leith Dutch
08-08-2018, 09:08 PM
Undisclosed fee..

I really don't care.
I care what players we get in.

If we got 1 million and spend it well that's better than getting 4 million and spending it badly.

There's a reason fantasy financial football success
is less popular than fantasy football.

08-08-2018, 09:09 PM
I just watched the obligatory first interview with him on AVFC. He described his type of play as "like chasing a helicopter"!

Villa fans can be assured they have a real 100% sort.

The Leith Dutch
08-08-2018, 09:10 PM

Cracking post sir

08-08-2018, 09:11 PM

I’m the same. This is a hard one to take but I’m delighted for the guy. I’ll be watching out for the Villa scores now, hope they do well and he ends up as one of the top players in the Premiership.

08-08-2018, 09:11 PM
Been thinking about it a lot tonight and it just feels very strange that he's gone. It feels like John has been at Hibs for ever, feels like such a critical part of the club. I am so sad to see him leave. My son is devastated and I've had to go and console him about it. The best he could muster through the tears was "at least he hasn't signed for celtic". I think we will both be keeping a very interested watch on Aston Villa this year. I did have a Village strip the year they won the European cup. Always a glory hunter!

08-08-2018, 09:13 PM
Rodgers should feel aggrieved. His board have let down badly here by underestimating the resolve of our board. I’m delighted he didn’t end up there.

They have thought nothing of paying PSG £9m and various other signings over past few years. Absolutely Celtic will have been able to afford the fee for SJM.

They have completely disrespected the very league that they are in and us as a club thinking we are small time and to just sell as we are not PSG etc etc. They have got exactly what they deserve. Disrespect SJM to a degree.

A lot of the talk is about how Celtic missed out but the more important aspect is Hibs strong approach and how that maybe stands us in good steed going forward.

But papers will spin this as a Celtic story rather than a strong positive Hibs one.

08-08-2018, 09:15 PM
Been thinking about it a lot tonight and it just feels very strange that he's gone. It feels like John has been at Hibs for ever, feels like such a critical part of the club. I am so sad to see him leave. My son is devastated and I've had to go and console him about it. The best he could muster through the tears was "at least he hasn't signed for celtic". I think we will both be keeping a very interested watch on Aston Villa this year. I did have a Village strip the year they won the European cup. Always a glory hunter!

I think what SJM and all the others who have been at club over last 3 years gave had the ups and downs of a lifetime here. Missed promotions and cup finals and Cup wins.

IncredibleHibee
08-08-2018, 09:17 PM
Very sad day for me but I’m happy for SJM. Massive, great personality and drive lost from the changing room. Special player and special young man - in this day and age it is very rare to see guys with such good values. Good luck SJM, you will be badly missed 😢

08-08-2018, 09:21 PM
No doubt in my mind that McGinn will be one of the best players in that league this season.

Folk talk it up, and our players down, all the time but McGinn will handle it easily.

08-08-2018, 09:21 PM
Very best of luck to Super John McGinn - what a player he has been for us. An absolute star both on and off the pitch - but most especially on it! It's been a joy watching him these last few years and well .....

Aw John - WHY'D YE HAVE TO GO :boo hoo::boo hoo::boo hoo:

08-08-2018, 09:27 PM
Best wishes, John. Few players have deserved the terms ‘Super’ and ‘legend’ more than you. You always gave everything for the team and were a true professional. I am sure that the Villa fans will love you as much as we have.

08-08-2018, 09:47 PM
Massive loss. Loved him.

Thanks and good luck SJM son.

08-08-2018, 09:54 PM
A pleasure to see you play. Good luck to Villa. Pre season game vs next year please :)

08-08-2018, 10:23 PM
Good luck to him... very few have left us and we have accepted it.. I’m just glad he has went to a team down south .. hoping he has a great season and moves on to a big team. He is defo a hibees legend

Chorley Hibee
08-08-2018, 10:33 PM
Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.

CropleyisGod
08-08-2018, 10:38 PM
Most influential Hibs player since Pat Stanton in my view. Big game player who never let us down. Scottish Cup winning legend. The SJM song at the end of the Brondby game in Copenhagen will live with me for ever. Good luck John and be all you can be. Welling up...

08-08-2018, 10:52 PM

Ironically, that’s properly ruined me tonight. Gutted. But happy for him.

Chorley Hibee
08-08-2018, 10:56 PM
Ironically, that’s properly ruined me tonight. Gutted. But happy for him.

Don't worry, despite my own advice I feel pretty much the same.

08-08-2018, 11:07 PM
I used to be a Baggies fan doon Brummie way.ok to change to Villa ? I am totally gutted that he is gone, but delighted for him if you know what I mean. watched his interview on youtube and he was absolutely perfect and correct with every answer. he is a lot more astute and "wide" than his appearance suggests (looks like a glesga keelie fi Garthamlock lol ) but I wish him all the best. He is up there in the top 3, that I have watched grace our stadium and I have been going there for over 50 years.

08-08-2018, 11:10 PM
Feeling flat like one of my kids has left home.
Love him to bits but know the move is the best thing for him.

Very very weird seeing him interviewed in an Aston Villa strip speaking about Aston Villa.

SuperAllyMcleod
08-08-2018, 11:18 PM
Who's in charge of the photos on these announcements? WTF is that? :faf:

Goodbye and good luck, John.

Biggest Hibs legend in my lifetime.

https://cdn.thecelticblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/03/23715652-900x540-800x504.jpg

‘Chasing a helicopter’ after scoring the winner in the League Cup semi at Tynecastle - what’s not to like? [emoji3][emoji1184]

08-08-2018, 11:22 PM
Feeling flat like one of my kids has left home.
Love him to bits but know the move is the best thing for him.

Very very weird seeing him interviewed in an Aston Villa strip speaking about Aston Villa.quite true, felt similar although he brought Hibs and our recent Managers , as well as the fans into the conversation very truthfully from his point of view.

Babyshamble
09-08-2018, 01:20 AM
Thanks for the memories john.you arrived a good player.you left a LEGEND.💚💚

Babyshamble
09-08-2018, 01:23 AM

Brilliant 👍 Ian brown said something similar at the last stone roses gig..Don't be sad its over.be happy it happened 👌

09-08-2018, 01:34 AM
Saw this on Facebook but no idea of its accuracy. Says we got 4,400 000 Euros which would convert to 3,968,646 so just short of 4 million if my math is accurate.....

jax67
09-08-2018, 04:08 AM
Thanks for everything SJM.
Looking forward to seeing you tear up the
Championship and Premiership. God bless.

houstonhibbee
09-08-2018, 04:11 AM
Saw this on Facebook but no idea of its accuracy. Says we got 4,400 000 Euros which would convert to 3,968,646 so just short of 4 million if my math is accurate.....

more likely 4mln GBP that they converted to Euros........they may be just basing that on reports rather than fact as its undisclosed

09-08-2018, 04:49 AM
more likely 4mln GBP that they converted to Euros........they may be just basing that on reports rather than fact as its undisclosed
You may well be correct but either way it is a rather different number to the 2.8 million that is already being stated as a .net "FACT".......

AltheHibby
09-08-2018, 09:09 AM

Not just you. Sitting in Greggs near Villa Park thinking about SJM and 21-5-16 and trying not to cry in public.

Normally I would think about my oompa loompa lookalike sister in law to calm any positive emotions, but she's a jambo, which only heightens the pleasure. (of winning the cup. Behave yourself)

snedzuk
09-08-2018, 10:10 AM

If this is correct, we should keep it in the bank in euros as it'll be worth about 20 million pounds soon enough.

snedzuk
09-08-2018, 10:16 AM
Three McGinn moments:-

1. Goal versus St Johnstone at Tynecastle.
2. The ball out of defence to Malonga to score THAT goal gainst the sheep.
3. Booting the ball into the crowd at the end of the cup final.

Maybe Hibs sould release a McGinn DVD!

09-08-2018, 11:02 AM
SJM along with a fair few others are a major part in Hibs coming back from the severe lows of previous seasons and this includes the people at the very top.

Guys like SJM will just simply be remembered alongside the club rising again and of course winning the cup. Hibs are a big part of my life and seeing us at our best is important we have lost a figure that represented what Hibs have been about over the last 3 years and that spirit is not easy to replace.

SJM leaves us with great memories but he leaves us with a bright future if not for Stubbs bringing him in and improving him to Lennon continuing that improvement and SJM giving his 100% and becoming the player he is we now have some really good money to build with. He may have left but what he has left for us should mean Hibs can continue to be up at the right end of things for seasons to come.

09-08-2018, 11:52 AM
SJM along with a fair few others are a major part in Hibs coming back from the severe lows of previous seasons and this includes the people at the very top.

Guys like SJM will just simply be remembered alongside the club rising again and of course winning the cup. Hibs are a big part of my life and seeing us at our best is important we have lost a figure that represented what Hibs have been about over the last 3 years and that spirit is not easy to replace.

SJM leaves us with great memories but he leaves us with a bright future if not for Stubbs bringing him in and improving him to Lennon continuing that improvement and SJM giving his 100% and becoming the player he is we now have some really good money to build with. He may have left but what he has left for us should mean Hibs can continue to be up at the right end of things for seasons to come.

Also if AV are promoted and maybe sold on,hopefully mair cash in the bank. New inside pitch paid for investmentbin team and grass roots, the future is looking rosy.
For any up and coming kid reading this thread, this is how to conduct yourself as a pro and make yourself a name a big move and big bucks.
Good luck SJM,
what an impact 1 player can make to a club.
This club has a fantastic team in all aspects from the bottom to the top, it really does hit home how far we have come in the last couple of years. The whole club irrespective of the result tonite should take a bow,
proud to be Hibbie

Hibiza
09-08-2018, 12:03 PM
All the very best John.

09-08-2018, 12:25 PM
Gutted for us. Pleased for the boy.

Thanks John. Orrabest

IncredibleHibee
09-08-2018, 12:25 PM
I love John McGinn. I’m away again 😢😢😢

09-08-2018, 01:57 PM
Been looking on the villa forums and they are very complimentary to us hibs fans , some even saying we could be there favourite Scottish team. Hope John rips that league apart.all the best top man

Sheep_Nae_Mair
09-08-2018, 02:16 PM
The Ballad of John McGinn

When John McGinn came frae St. Mirren
He had the Hibee faithful purrin'
“This lad McGinn is quite a find
He might just be one o' a kind”

An' so it proved in just three years
He shifted up through several gears
He helped us win the Scottish Cup
An' made sure that we got back up

Defenders a' began tae fear him
The poor buggers couldnae get near him
He had a way tae shield the ba'
They couldnae get up close at a'

An' when the time had come tae go
The Celtic bid was far too low
They found their rusty biscuit tin
Was short o' funds for John McGinn

So John decided, on reflection
Tae just ignore his Hoops connection
He went instead tae Aston Villa
An' gained the Hibees loads o' siller

We'll miss ye, John, an' that's a fact
Ye've always been a classy act
We'll watch wi' interest your life story
An' tae the Hibees, glory glory!

JackHibs
09-08-2018, 02:21 PM

Class, well done mate.

Barman Stanton
09-08-2018, 02:22 PM
Not been this gutted since Optimus Prime died in the 80s!

09-08-2018, 02:26 PM

Fantastic.

09-08-2018, 02:45 PM
Sooooo jealous of Aston Villa fans right now - most have really no idea of what they're getting. Just imagine the joy of seeing SJM wearing your club's jersey for the very first time and quickly realising that 'YES - he's playing for MY club' !!

All the very, very best John and thank-you !

09-08-2018, 02:53 PM
https://twitter.com/jmcginn7

I'm welling up! :boo hoo:

09-08-2018, 03:01 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DkKm88JXcAALsAn.jpg

09-08-2018, 03:12 PM
The most-loved Hibby of the past 40 years imo.

09-08-2018, 03:20 PM

I don’t do Twitter. Can someone let him know it was not a small part he played. It was a massive part.

scooby
09-08-2018, 03:27 PM

What a lovely human being, irreplaceable!
Pass the tissues please.

09-08-2018, 03:32 PM
I'm at my desk at work and genuinely have tears in my eyes reading that. Top player, top person, top Hibby. Please come back at any given opportunity to see the Hibees play. And anytime you want to come back and wear the real green and white you will be welcomed back with open arms

09-08-2018, 03:48 PM
He has been given the number 7 shirt by them.

scotia44
09-08-2018, 03:51 PM
As quoted by SJM

I would Like to thank everyone associated with Hibernian for a special 3 years.
Since I walked through the door they made me and my family feel at home and I'll be forever grateful for that.
The support I have received over the past couple of days has been overwhelming.
I am proud to have played a small part in giving the supporters their club back and to win a certain trophy along the way
I wish everyone all the best for the future and hopefully any players that come in can feel as loved as I felt

End of quote

09-08-2018, 04:07 PM
I don’t do Twitter. Can someone let him know it was not a small part he played. It was a massive part.

Don’t worry, big love for him on Twitter!

09-08-2018, 04:48 PM

Jesus. :applause:

09-08-2018, 04:51 PM
Do you remember when we used to have 'Super' John McGinn, as we called him, playing for us?

09-08-2018, 05:04 PM
Do you remember when we used to have 'Super' John McGinn, as we called him, playing for us?

Not 'super'. Super John McGinn forever.

09-08-2018, 05:14 PM
My mates wee boy thought his first name was Super. We never corrected him.

Hibs_Villain
10-08-2018, 09:47 AM
I haven't logged on for quite a while but being a Brummie, Villa fan with a soft spot for Hibs (from a mate at Uni 25 years ago) I have to be delighted in signing SJM. I think we have an absolute bargain. We love our Scottish players (take Alan Hutton and Snoddy who might be coming back) with 2 of the best coming from Hibs in the past - Alex C and Des B. Not sure Ulises is held in the same light mind.

All Villa fans have utmost respect for the way the Hibees have taken the move and wished the player and Villa well. It is greatly appreciated and reciprocated.

I hope you can push on and that yourselves, Aberdeen and even the Jambos can upset the OF (who personally I cannot stand).

Best of luck for the season and I'm looking forward to coming up to the Burgh in a couple of weeks to meet a Villa mate and hit the Festival.

10-08-2018, 09:49 AM
I haven't logged on for quite a while but being a Brummie, Villa fan with a soft spot for Hibs (from a mate at Uni 25 years ago) I have to be delighted in signing SJM. I think we have an absolute bargain. We love our Scottish players (take Alan Hutton and Snoddy who might be coming back) with 2 of the best coming from Hibs in the past - Alex C and Des B. Not sure Ulises is held in the same light mind.

All Villa fans have utmost respect for the way the Hibees have taken the move and wished the player and Villa well. It is greatly appreciated and reciprocated.

I hope you can push on and that yourselves, Aberdeen and even the Jambos can upset the OF (who personally I cannot stand).

Best of luck for the season and I'm looking forward to coming up to the Burgh in a couple of weeks to meet a Villa mate and hit the Festival.

You were doing so well with that post until you mentioned the Jambos doing well!

Hibs_Villain
10-08-2018, 09:50 AM
Apologies...:wink:

10-08-2018, 09:50 AM

Steady on there! You were doing so well too. :tsk tsk::wink:

ArmadaleHibs
10-08-2018, 09:52 AM

What is the word on the street in your neck of the woods regarding the fee paid, any add ons etc etc including a sell on percentage. Obviously it was undisclosed but would be interested in what you guys have heard as there are several things being printed up here

Hibs_Villain
10-08-2018, 09:58 AM
I've seen nothing of the details. Tbh, they rarely leak down here. Would be very surprised if there was no sell-on plus promotion bonus but that isn't based on any facts.

AltheHibby
10-08-2018, 10:33 AM
From the Birmingham Mail. Bear in mind it's a sister paper to the Record.

Talented midfielder John McGinn is also on board after signing from Hibs for £2.1million.

He can play in the middle or wide left and will take some of the pressure off Grealish to create.i

10-08-2018, 12:53 PM
Club legend. Hope we see him back at ER a few years down the line.

10-08-2018, 12:55 PM

Could try to take in the Hibs - Aberdeen match as well. :wink:

Hibs_Villain
10-08-2018, 01:07 PM
Unfortunately not...staying in North Berwick Aug 20th to 22nd :rolleyes:

10-08-2018, 08:37 PM
Just watching some clips of SJM and listening to our song for him.

He is a big big miss here.

11-08-2018, 07:35 AM

Presume he will make his debut v Wigan on Saturday.

Tug Wilson
11-08-2018, 08:01 AM
Presume he will make his debut v Wigan on Saturday.

I am sure that we will all be checking out the game if he does. Never wanted a player to do so well after leaving us as I do SJM.

11-08-2018, 10:34 AM
https://t.co/cFaKyl8ZPi?amp=1.

Seems strange to see him on Villa gear. All the best.

What a great interview. Level headed laddie and have a feeling he can go right to the top in English football. Time will tell and irt will be good to watch his progress.