View Full Version : Europa League playoff draw - Dynamo Minsk/Zenit v Hibernian/Molde FK

mayo hibee
05-08-2018, 04:24 PM
Draw at lunchtime tomorrow for the last round before the groups.

Hibs potential opponents are the winners of these ties:

Dinamo Minsk/Zenit St Petersburg Olympiacos/Luzern
Genk/Lech Poznan
Zorya/Braga
Trencin/Feyenoord

Nothing easy there but would want to avoid Zenit I guess. Feyenoord or Olympiakos would be good big name opponents while Braga out of the seeded teams might offer the best chance of making further progress.

Of course none of this might happen depending on how we go against Molde but great to be in the hat at this stage.

05-08-2018, 04:25 PM
Genk or Braga please. Zenit and Olympiacos will wipe the floor with us.

renato
05-08-2018, 04:29 PM
So, if we manage to get through, it’s likely Zenit, Genk, Braga or Feyenoord.

Really tough.

Ah it’s 5, so likely Olympiacos too?

We’d need to play out our skin to get through this round and a playoff against that lot.

05-08-2018, 04:43 PM
Minsk for a laugh.

05-08-2018, 04:46 PM
Lech Poznan please :D

05-08-2018, 04:51 PM
If we get through, Linfield please.

05-08-2018, 04:57 PM
If we get through, Linfield please.

If we get Linfield I'd be worried about the midfield battle considering Scott Allan is cup tied.

RoscoHibby
05-08-2018, 04:58 PM
Are these just some of our potential opponents? Or we're definitely getting one of the teams above??

05-08-2018, 04:58 PM
Trencin please

mayo hibee
05-08-2018, 05:00 PM
Are these just some of our potential opponents? Or we're definitely getting one of the teams above??

Definitely drawn against one of the above ties - UEFA have shortlisted everyone into pots - we're in pot three.

davhibby
05-08-2018, 05:00 PM

We're definitely getting one of those 5 ties. The pots are on the europa league website

05-08-2018, 05:06 PM
Genk or Braga please. Zenit and Olympiacos will wipe the floor with us.

Olympiakos were only 2 places above Asteros. Beatable IMO

05-08-2018, 05:12 PM
We could have got a worse group to pick from. So far the draws have been good to us. Let’s hope it continues.

05-08-2018, 05:14 PM
Luzern or Trencin please

05-08-2018, 05:15 PM
Braga would be class.

05-08-2018, 05:16 PM
We could have got a worse group to pick from. So far the draws have been good to us. Let’s hope it continues.

Definitely, if we can beat Molde (a tough task) after beating Tripoli there's no reason why these likely opponents should strike fear.

05-08-2018, 05:16 PM
Is there not a Danish team we could possibly get? Would be winnable , and an easier destination for the fans

HibeeEmma
05-08-2018, 05:39 PM
Do we know when the ties will be played?

05-08-2018, 05:40 PM

Thursday 23rd and 30th August

05-08-2018, 05:41 PM

https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/matches/format/

23rd and 30th August

05-08-2018, 10:35 PM
If we get Linfield I'd be worried about the midfield battle considering Scott Allan is cup tied.

Murray on for Miller.

05-08-2018, 11:07 PM
Every one of those teams would steam roller us.

05-08-2018, 11:10 PM

Keep the faith, we are Hibs we rule supreme.

05-08-2018, 11:14 PM

I would fancy our chances against a couple of the underdogs if they happened to knock out the favourites.

05-08-2018, 11:51 PM
Keep the faith, we are Hibs we rule supreme.

I would fancy our chances against a couple of the underdogs if they happened to knock out the favourites.

Tell you what though theres some trips in there as well as some absolute howlers, what an adventure its been so far though.

05-08-2018, 11:53 PM
Romanov used to own Minsk about 10 years ago as well.

06-08-2018, 05:42 AM
Lech Poznan would probably be pushing for the whole of the south stand!

06-08-2018, 05:51 AM
Draw at lunchtime tomorrow for the last round before the groups.

Hibs potential opponents are the winners of these ties:

Dinamo Minsk/Zenit St Petersburg Olympiacos/Luzern
Genk/Lech Poznan
Zorya/Braga
Trencin/Feyenoord

Nothing easy there but would want to avoid Zenit I guess. Feyenoord or Olympiakos would be good big name opponents while Braga out of the seeded teams might offer the best chance of making further progress.

Of course none of this might happen depending on how we go against Molde but great to be in the hat at this stage.

Definitely look to avoid Zenit. We could easily spring a surprise against the other sides though. None of them will be as good as Burnley and we all saw how close Aberdeen ran them.

06-08-2018, 06:18 AM
This is live on BT sport 2 at 12:30 according to my TV planner.. champions league play off draw is at 11

Austinho
06-08-2018, 06:33 AM
Feyenoord would be a good draw I reckon. Finished 4th in the Eredivisie, so they are a big name, but not necessarily an amazing team at the moment. Would be a massive scalp if we could beat them, and our players would be right up for it. Lowest coefficient of the seeded teams too.

Genk are definitely one of the poorer teams, finishing a distant 5th in the Belgian League, however Lech Poznan could quite as easily be the ones we faced if we were drawn that tie though. Poznan finished 3rd in Poland.

I think Braga would be too good for us, they finished 4th in Portugal, not far behind Sporting and Benfica. Nice away trip and interesting stadium though! Zenit speak for themselves don’t they. No thanks.

Olympiacos finished 12 points ahead of Asteras, and drew with them twice so not out of the realms of possibility - much more intimidating away leg though!

06-08-2018, 07:13 AM
Definitely look to avoid Zenit. We could easily spring a surprise against the other sides though. None of them will be as good as Burnley and we all saw how close Aberdeen ran them.

A few if not all of the seeded teams would be better than Burnley.

06-08-2018, 07:16 AM
Feyenoord would be a good draw I reckon. Finished 4th in the Eredivisie, so they are a big name, but not necessarily an amazing team at the moment. Would be a massive scalp if we could beat them, and our players would be right up for it. Lowest coefficient of the seeded teams too.

Genk are definitely one of the poorer teams, finishing a distant 5th in the Belgian League, however Lech Poznan could quite as easily be the ones we faced if we were drawn that tie though. Poznan finished 3rd in Poland.

I think Braga would be too good for us, they finished 4th in Portugal, not far behind Sporting and Benfica. Nice away trip and interesting stadium though! Zenit speak for themselves don’t they. No thanks.

Olympiacos finished 12 points ahead of Asteras, and drew with them twice so not out of the realms of possibility - much more intimidating away leg though!

A few interesting trips fan wise, such as Feyenoord, Zenit and Posnan. Hope Genk or Braga.

06-08-2018, 07:17 AM
Huns got an easy set of teams. Could have done with their draw.

The Pointer
06-08-2018, 07:33 AM
Trouble is, with some of the teams a visa will be required creating possible difficulties given the short time before games, e.g. Minsk, St Petersburg.

Juniper Greens
06-08-2018, 07:34 AM

Maribor are seeded, makes quite a big difference at this stage

06-08-2018, 07:35 AM

Maribor will be one of the seeded sides in the playoff round. If Sevco were to beat them then they will take their spot in the seeded section.

Juniper Greens
06-08-2018, 07:39 AM
Trouble is, with some of the teams a visa will be required creating possible difficulties given the short time before games, e.g. Minsk, St Petersburg.

Would need to apply for the Visa just now, just in case.

Mind when the Saints played Minsk a while back, there were 2 fans at the game, think they were just a couple of boys from Perth who were inter-railing and happened to be there. Think they won 1-0 away!

Austinho
06-08-2018, 07:40 AM
Huns got an easy set of teams. Could have done with their draw.Slovan Bratislava (SVK) v Rapid Wien (AUT)
Ufa (RUS) v Progrès Niederkorn (LUX)
Apollon Limassol (CYP) v Dinamo Brest (BLR)
Hapoel Haifa (ISR) v Atalanta (ITA)

Rangers getting the benefit of being seeded in the next round if they beat Maribor.

We obviously have it tougher in that round, but I’d still rather be in our position than theirs - Maribor will be tough and are specialists in beating Scottish teams it seems. They’ve knocked out better teams than this current Rangers one. We’ve got to beat what’s in front of us in this round to give us the chance of potentially pulling off a shock in the playoffs.

TheGreenMan
06-08-2018, 07:44 AM
Do we know if we're home or away first?

06-08-2018, 07:46 AM
Do we know if we're home or away first?

Not yet

Juniper Greens
06-08-2018, 07:47 AM
If we get Feyenoord...maybe the club can charter a boat!

:partyhibb:partyhibb:partyhibb

Bleed green
06-08-2018, 07:50 AM
We will get Olympiacos

06-08-2018, 07:58 AM
We will get Olympiacos

My thoughts too - though I like your definitive view.

Are you Sepp Blatter?

06-08-2018, 07:59 AM
If we get Feyenoord...maybe the club can charter a boat!

:partyhibb:partyhibb:partyhibb

Newcastle to Ijmuiden ferry, probably expensive as hell just now being August, a decent trip when full of Hibs fans.

06-08-2018, 08:01 AM
A boat to Holland?

Can our Gorgie chums not fix us up with a second hand submarine?

06-08-2018, 08:09 AM

Good luck going to Belarus or Russia!

06-08-2018, 08:19 AM
At least when we get to the group stages, we’ll end up mostly getting teams who are in easier areas to get too, like Chelsea, Arsenal, Zurich, Frankfurt, Seville, Milan Lisbon etc😄
Will be much easier for the fans to get too!

06-08-2018, 08:26 AM
We will get Olympiacos

Home or away first? (asking for a friend.)

Would they all steam roller Celtic ?

Did Celtic steam roller us over 4 ties last season?

we are a good side, if we play to our capabilities, not one of those teams will “steamroller” us.

If we must get a difficult team in the next round after hopefully beating Molde, I would take Feyenoord, large hibs contingent in the Kuip, :agree:

Have a feeling it will be Feyenoord at this very second I just heard an advertisement on radio for feyenoord, how weird was that?

Austinho
06-08-2018, 08:30 AM
If we must get a difficult team in the next round after hopefully beating Molde, I would take Feyenoord, large hibs contingent in the Kuip, :agree:

Have a feeling it will be Feyenoord at this very second I just heard an advertisement on radio for feyenoord, how weird was that?If you live in Holland, then not very ;)

06-08-2018, 08:31 AM
Good luck going to Belarus or Russia!

No visa required for Belarus as long as entering by air (which may make flying to Minsk more attractive than a flight to Vilnius / Kaunas and a bus from there, as many of us have probably done in the past).

While Russia is trickier we do have a Russian visa processing centre in Edinburgh (ironically situated pretty much opposite the corner of the West and South stands!) and they have done the business for Celtic fans in the recent past quite efficiently I understand.

06-08-2018, 08:31 AM

Have a feeling it will be Feyenoord at this very second I just heard an advertisement on radio for feyenoord, how weird was that?

I'm desperate to get on a European jaunt however financial restrictions have made that impossible so far, from looking at the possibilities in the next round Feyenoord is the one that has my credit card inching its way out my wallet. Would be a tremendous away trip to be on i think.

06-08-2018, 08:32 AM
Would they all steam roller Celtic ?

Did Celtic steam roller us over 4 ties last season?

we are a good side, if we play to our capabilities, not one of those teams will “steamroller” us.

While not strictly relevant to your question, let's remember that Molde beat Celtic twice in 2016. Let's not get ahead of ourselves here.

06-08-2018, 08:36 AM
While not strictly relevant to your question, let's remember that Molde beat Celtic twice in 2016. Let's not get ahead of ourselves here.

To be fair UEFA are to blame with these Monday draws. People can't help but dream a little.

06-08-2018, 08:36 AM

Were Celtic not pretty ***** then? Think that was when Delia was in charge wasn't it?

You can be as conservative as you want, i'm allowing myself to get carried away, good result on Thursday and i'm booking up for Baku :wink:

06-08-2018, 08:37 AM
To be fair UEFA are to blame with these Monday draws. People can't help but dream a little.

And with such little time between matches fans have to start the planning of these trips far earlier than they probably should.

06-08-2018, 08:39 AM

No one steamrollers us.

Austinho
06-08-2018, 08:50 AM
While not strictly relevant to your question, let's remember that Molde beat Celtic twice in 2016. Let's not get ahead of ourselves here.It’s alright, we’ve beaten and drawn with a much better Celtic team this year too ;)

06-08-2018, 08:53 AM
It’s alright, we’ve beaten and drawn with a much better Celtic team this year too ;)

It’s a very winnable game. Celtic comfortably put Rosenburg out, who are currently top of the Norwegian league, so a good Hibs performance should be able to see us through

06-08-2018, 09:04 AM
Have we now been put into a pot to play one of these other teams, or am misreading it

Hibernian (SCO) v Molde (NOR)
Hajduk Split (CRO) v FCSB (ROU)
Sevilla (ESP) v Žalgiris Vilnius (LTU)
Sigma Olomouc (CZE) v Kairat Almaty (KAZ)
Slovan Bratislava (SVK) v Rapid Wien (AUT)

https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=2019/draws/round=2000988/

HibeeHibernian4
06-08-2018, 09:06 AM
Have we now been put into a pot to play one of these other teams, or am misreading it

You're reading the Third Qualifying Round draw, our Playoff potential team group is:

Dinamo Minsk (BLR)/Zenit (RUS)Olympiacos (GRE)/Luzern (SUI)Genk (BEL)/Lech Poznań (POL)Zorya Luhansk (UKR)/Braga (POR)Trenčín (SVK)/Feyenoord (NED)

06-08-2018, 09:07 AM

That is the draw for the current round. The playoff round draw is today and the pots were mentioned earlier.

06-08-2018, 09:08 AM
You're reading the Third Qualifying Round draw, our Playoff potential team group is:

Dinamo Minsk (BLR)/Zenit (RUS)Olympiacos (GRE)/Luzern (SUI)Genk (BEL)/Lech Poznań (POL)Zorya Luhansk (UKR)/Braga (POR)Trenčín (SVK)/Feyenoord (NED)

Oops😎

06-08-2018, 09:21 AM
Also worth checking whether Zorya Luhansk play there games in Luhansk or somewhere else. Luhansk took an absolute hammering during the Russian intervention in Ukraine in 2014-2015.

06-08-2018, 09:28 AM
Also worth checking whether Zorya Luhansk play there games in Luhansk or somewhere else. Luhansk took an absolute hammering during the Russian intervention in Ukraine in 2014-2015.

https://www.dw.com/en/zorya-luhansk-a-football-club-in-exile/a-37022726
https://www.gov.uk/foreign-travel-advice/ukraine

There you go - we won't be going anywhere near Luhansk. I've been to Odessa - did a trip round the Ukraine enroute to Dnipro in 2005 - Kiev, Odessa, Simeferpol, Sevastopol, Yalta. Odessa is a pleasant city to look at as far as port cities go but felt fairly sketchy - two gadgies tried to relieve me of my backpack in the market - and if it was a place to keep your wits about you back then I suspect it's even more the case nowadays.

06-08-2018, 09:37 AM
Lech Poznan would probably be pushing for the whole of the south stand!

I’ve been to one of there games and they have a noise support but it’s not big. I’d love to play them direct flights from Edinburgh as well

06-08-2018, 09:39 AM
Hopefully avoid Zenit. Hard to get to and they'd skelp us.

The other ties could go either way and if we were to get through I reckon we'd have a chance (roughly similar odds as beating Celtic over two legs).

06-08-2018, 10:22 AM
What time today is the draw?

06-08-2018, 10:28 AM
What time today is the draw?

To answer my own question just seen 13:30 CET

06-08-2018, 10:31 AM
To answer my own question just seen 13:30 CET

Thought it was 12.30

06-08-2018, 10:33 AM
Thought it was 12.30

13.30 - Europe, 12.30 UK

06-08-2018, 10:35 AM
Thought it was 12.30

It is but we're not on CET. :greengrin

06-08-2018, 10:38 AM
It is but we're not on CET. :greengrin

So it’s 12.30 here?

smack
06-08-2018, 10:39 AM
So it’s 12.30 here?

Depends where you are

06-08-2018, 10:39 AM
So it’s 12.30 here?

Yes, it’s at 8:30pm JST.

06-08-2018, 10:41 AM
I’ve been to one of there games and they have a noise support but it’s not big. I’d love to play them direct flights from Edinburgh as well

Do their travelling support not have a bit of a reputation for being emmm boisterous shall we say?

06-08-2018, 10:44 AM
If I was picking the draw I'd go for Ghent or Braga, both good away days for the fans and lets face it the opposition is going to be tough who ever we got drawn against. Hopefully we'll find a couple of great performances to get past Molde and let the journey continue.

06-08-2018, 10:51 AM
Marathon Bet have just tweeted we play the winners of the Zenit tie.... I assume that’s a mistake on their part?

06-08-2018, 10:52 AM
Celtic can get Malmo in Champions league if they dispose of AEK Athens

Austinho
06-08-2018, 10:52 AM
Genk got to the Europa League quarter final 2 years ago and won their group. Not easy.

06-08-2018, 10:54 AM
Marathon Bet have just tweeted we play the winners of the Zenit tie.... I assume that’s a mistake on their part?

Is that one of those "practice" draws that somehow bears an uncanny resemblance to the real draw?

06-08-2018, 11:01 AM
I hope that not the real draw, horrendous places to get to and we'd get skelped.

06-08-2018, 11:02 AM
Celtic have pulled the winner of Malmo/Videoton if they get past Athens . Probably the best draw they could have hoped for .

06-08-2018, 11:04 AM
I hope that not the real draw, horrendous places to get to and we'd get skelped.

It would be a terrible draw but trying to look on the bright side do Russian tele companies not pay a fortune for TV rights?

Plus if you were to offer me the chance of playing them right now i'd bite your hand off as it'd mean we'd have got through to the next round which is by no means a banker.

06-08-2018, 11:04 AM

It’s a lot nearer than Athens

06-08-2018, 11:18 AM
Celtic have pulled the winner of Malmo/Videoton if they get past Athens . Probably the best draw they could have hoped for .

Yeah Malmo are pants who have they ever beaten :cb

06-08-2018, 11:19 AM
Think the Braga tie would give us the best chance if we can dispose of Molde .
But I stand to be corrected;)

06-08-2018, 11:22 AM
Draw has not been made. 13:30 CET time according to Uefa website, no idea why marathon bet have posted that tweet.

The Leith Dutch
06-08-2018, 11:22 AM
It would be a terrible draw but trying to look on the bright side do Russian tele companies not pay a fortune for TV rights?

Plus if you were to offer me the chance of playing them right now i'd bite your hand off as it'd mean we'd have got through to the next round which is by no means a banker.

Isn't it the case that we get prize money instead of TV money (which goes to UEFA to fund the prize money)?

Apologies if I misunderstood your post.

06-08-2018, 11:23 AM
Is the draw on tv? If so, what channel?

06-08-2018, 11:24 AM
Will be on here
https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/

Andy Bee
06-08-2018, 11:24 AM

BT Sport 2 @ 12.30

06-08-2018, 11:25 AM
Celtic got Malmo I hope they play to see how Malmo have deterioated or improved :wink:

hibsdaft
06-08-2018, 11:25 AM
Think the Braga tie would give us the best chance if we can dispose of Molde .
But I stand to be corrected;)

Just been looking over their recent history - they reached the final in 2011. Pretty solid record in Europe otherwise too.

All the ties would be really, really tough but Genk/Lech Poznan probably best of the lot for me.

We'll do very well to get past Molde IMO.

06-08-2018, 11:26 AM
The live stream has started at https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/season=2019/draws/round=2000989/?iv=true

06-08-2018, 11:26 AM
Isn't it the case that we get prize money instead of TV money (which goes to UEFA to fund the prize money)?

Apologies if I misunderstood your post.

No, i think you're right. I wondered why i never heard much about clubs getting good TV deals from European ties so your explanation makes sense.

06-08-2018, 11:32 AM
Live now on BT Sport 2.

06-08-2018, 11:42 AM
Going to take longer than previous rounds if they are drawing them individually. What pot are we in?

Lendo
06-08-2018, 11:43 AM
Going to take longer than previous rounds if they are drawing them individually. What pot are we in?
Pot 3 i think

Rivetinnnn zzzzzzzz

This guy's Derek Zoolander poses are absolute art :greengrin

Main path pot 5.

Mr_F
06-08-2018, 11:44 AM

FastEddieFelson
watching now. good job this guy appears to know how the draw works.

This needs a drunken Rod Stewart to liven it up.

xyz23jc
06-08-2018, 11:45 AM
watching now. good job this guy appears to know how the draw works.

Arsed it up already he's that good! :greengrin

06-08-2018, 11:47 AM
Right, I'm lost - haven't Celtc/AEK already been drawn to play either Malmo or MOL Vidi?

Is it a case of winners play winner of Malmo/MOL Vidi tie to progress in CL, whilst losers play whoever they were just drawn against for the EL?

This needs a drunken Rod Stewart to liven it up.
He'd have been dancing at that draw for the Tic

one day maybe...
What a drag

06-08-2018, 11:48 AM
Right, I'm lost - haven't Celtc/AEK already been drawn to play either Malmo or MOL Vidi?

Is it a case of winners play winner of Malmo/MOL Vidi tie to progress in CL, whilst losers play whoever they were just drawn against for the EL?
Yip

Delboy4
Looks as if they beat AEK they have an easy next game as I've never heard of them!!

This is their draw if they lose to AEK

Correct. :agree:

Delboy4
06-08-2018, 11:49 AM

Ahh, get it now!

06-08-2018, 11:49 AM
He's going to do 3&4 together which'll speed us up a wee bit.

Lendo
06-08-2018, 11:50 AM
Sounds like a computer draw for the remaining teams, so should speed it up.

one day maybe...

Yes

New Huns/Maribor are team 3 in this.

06-08-2018, 11:51 AM

I didn't understand this at first either!

06-08-2018, 11:51 AM
Jings this is complicated!

FastEddieFelson
06-08-2018, 11:52 AM
half the time is spent on the guy reading out the team names, which by the way he's doing an impressive job of pronouncing. maybe he's a robot. maybe it's a fix.

06-08-2018, 11:53 AM
Huns or Maribor v UFA or Progres Niederkorn again. :greengrin

06-08-2018, 11:54 AM
Dream draw for New Huns if they can get past Maribor. Progres (Lux) or Ufa (Rus).

Lendo
Rangers vs Progres!!!1

Huns or Maribor v UFA or Progres Niederkorn again. :greengrin

Pleasing :greengrin:greengrin

half the time is spent on the guy reading out the team names, which by the way he's doing an impressive job of pronouncing. maybe he's a robot. maybe it's a fix.

Not a patch on Rod Stewart.

Rangers vs Progres!!!1

tbh, it's almost certainly going to be Maribor v Ufa!

the huns get progres niederkorn or some russian mob haha

06-08-2018, 11:55 AM
that's they dirty vile filthy pieces of **** through to the group stages, i feel nauseated

Our group coming up next.

Good draw for the Hun*****s as well.

Nae idea how the automatic pairings are coming up. Don't seem to have any connection.

06-08-2018, 11:56 AM
Zenit or Minsk v Hibs or Molde

Greenfly
Minsk or Zenith - scoosh case!

mayo hibee
Oh well...

Boo - Zenit.

Minsk or Zenit.

Zenit st Petersburg if we win. Shocker of a draw.

Zenit/Minsk.

Zenit FFS

FastEddieFelson
06-08-2018, 11:57 AM
disaster

Boooooo!

Lendo
Minsk or Zenit!!!

Nightmare

Zenit or Minsk v Hibs or Molde

Oh well it was a good run :greengrin:wink:

Away first as well, basturd!

Bar steward of a draw

***** draw.

How did Marathonbet apparently know this earlier this morning?

Mr_F
Ah well :faf:

Dinamo Minsk or Zenit if we beat Molde

1st leg away.

Can’t see us getting past Zenit

thegaffer12
06-08-2018, 11:58 AM
Are Marathonbet and BleedGreen the same person?

And that will be that 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Could it have been tougher ? Not great incentive to beat Molde.

Delboy4
Ffs

007 Mickey Weir
No way we will get past Zenit. They are normally in Champions League group stages!

What a tie for the players. Great incentive for Thursday and next week.

Home or away 1st

06-08-2018, 11:59 AM

That'll be a nightmare to arrange travel at such notice.

For some reason, I just knew we’d get Zenit...

Hopefully Rangers get pumped out by Progres again!

Zenit st Petersburg if we win. Shocker of a draw.

You have just been watching an allegedly "live" draw that Hibs sponsors reported correctly over an hour ago.

Have UEFA borrowed the SFA's balls?

guthrie01
We can beat them, we just need to belie.... ah who am I kidding we are f***** :greengrin

Lendo
06-08-2018, 12:00 PM
Maybe we can do what the Huns couldn't and beat Zenit.

IF we get past Molde, our team will be different come the Zenit games. I’ll never right us off, there’s always a chance.

El Gubbz
Guff draw but if we play Zenit will we make a pretty penny in TV cash?

If we beat Molde and get past Zenit, we’ll win this thing !!

Only positive we can take from that is we are away first. If we avoided a hiding there then maybe...

TV money is already accounted for in our prize money.

06-08-2018, 12:01 PM
Well, it was a good run lads.

That'll be a nightmare to arrange travel at such notice.

And will play Aberdeen a few days later, wish it was the other way round

Home or away 1st

Zenit and Minsk drawn first so I'm assuming we are away first.

I think the UEFA payment includes the TV money - deals not done separately.

TV money is already accounted for in our prize money.

No it's not.

One of the most far right and racist supports in Europe - awful draw for that alone. Horrible club.

06-08-2018, 12:02 PM
Are you mad enough to book flights to St Petersberg
Flights currently £350 return plus £40 a night for hotel

Could it have been tougher ? Not great incentive to beat Molde.

Except the 300k prize money :greengrin

I suppose the best case scenario is we beat Molde and Minsk beat Zenit ...

Lennon beat Zenit away, did he not?

Bit of a glamour tie but we've no chance. They beat Celtic by 3 at home last season. Got hundreds of international caps in their squad including 4 Argentina internationals and a Portugal international. Wish we were at home first, I'd presume we'll be out the tie before even getting them to ER.

davhibby

Sadly not, the playoff is the first round in the centralised tv deal. So both games would be on BT

i think it's maybe best we now concentrate on winning the betfred cup again

007 Mickey Weir
Maribor will beat Progres. Maribor will be tough but Rangers have a chance to get to group stages. Better for Scottish football if all 3 teams do well.

06-08-2018, 12:03 PM
Nothing to fear from Zenit, they only spent £50-60M last season on players......:eek:

I suppose the best case scenario is we beat Molde and Minsk beat Zenit ...

That's true! I'd fancy our chances against Minsk but perversely I'd fancy Minsk more than I would us to beat Zenit.

No it's not.

Is that because it's the Play-off round?

Again the positive is there is always a chance and if we can beat Molde how great would be to have a Team like Zenit playing us competitively at Easter Road

Are you mad enough to book flights to St Petersberg
Flights currently £350 return plus £40 a night for hotel

Financial suicide, no guarantee zenit will win or we will for that matter.

Lendo
Are Rangers potential opponents UFA not Russian too?

06-08-2018, 12:04 PM
One of the most far right and racist supports in Europe - awful draw for that alone. Horrible club.

:agree: Marvin and Efe will take some abuse.

Were they the club that got rid of a black player before he had played a game because the fans were less than happy about signing a black player?

Disaster of a draw

Are Rangers potential opponents UFA not Russian too?

Yes. rangers are home first though so ties wouldn't be switched.

If we beat Molde and get past Zenit, we’ll win this thing !!

Beating Zenit would be us winning the trophy of a massive massive wad of cash

06-08-2018, 12:05 PM
Pfffffft

Minging draw

Nothing to fear from Zenit, they only spent £50-60M last season on players......:eek:

Couldn't get them into the champions league though. :wink:

I've been to St petersburg great city. You also don't need visa if you go via Ferry from Helsinki . You get 3 day visa with boat. Was 90 gbp for my visa when I went

PapillonVert
Originally Posted by GreenArmyyy!

Is that one of those "practice" draws that somehow bears an uncanny resemblance to the real draw?

Just focus on getting past Molde. We can make history later.

Again the positive is there is always a chance and if we can beat Molde how great would be to have a Team like Zenit playing us competitively at Easter RoadExactly. Before the Runavik game was drawn if someone said you'll win the next two rounds and be in with a shot of hosting Zenit St Petersburg at Easter Road I'd have bitten their hand off.

Radge70
Plenty of flights to both though! circa £350 with one change in both cases and it takes about 5 hours total. No reason not to book now!!!

Thats good, no? :confused:

06-08-2018, 12:06 PM
:agree: Marvin and Efe will take some abuse.

Were they the club that got rid of a black player before he had played a game because the fans were less than happy about signing a black player?

The fans at one time infamously displayed a pitchside banner that appealed to the club not to sign any black players.

It's a ***** draw, there is no getting away from that but this is why we wanted to qualify for these matches. I don't know who plays for them these days but they're normally one of the top sides in Europe, to have them visit Easter Road is a great incentive. They'll bring a big support, it'd be a full house and it would be a terrific occasion.

I'd rather go out to them after a good run than a team i'd never heard of like Maribor or some mob from deepest darkest Azerbaijan.

Is that because it's the Play-off round?

Only the group stages onwards as these TV deals are auctioned off as packages years in advance. (Eg BT Sport securing for the rights to 2021). The matches prior to this are negotiated on a match-by-match basis between the TV networks and the home side, hence why other broadcasters such as Premier Sports and the BBC have broadcast matches.

So about the same as Celtc.

Fantastic draw. What an incentive to get through and have a true giant of european fitba rocking up at ER.

Are we forgetting Dynamo Minsk , must have a small chance.

Were they not one of Vlad's teams in his football pyramid ?

Lee Marvin
06-08-2018, 12:07 PM
The dream is over. Deflated

Get past Molde then worry about the next round. 2 tough ties but it was always going to be that way if we were serious about challenging for the group stages.

If nothing else it's valuable experience going forward.

Fantastic draw. What an incentive to get through and have a true giant of european fitba rocking up at ER.

And Zenit St Petersburg...

Keep ourselves in the tie in Russia and get them downn the slope at ER, easy :greengrin

The club really need to be getting the fans on their charter if we get through

06-08-2018, 12:09 PM
Only the group stages onwards as these TV deals are auctioned off as packages years in advance. (Eg BT Sport securing for the rights to 2021). The matches prior to this are negotiated on a match-by-match basis between the TV networks and the home side, hence why other broadcasters such as Premier Sports and the BBC have broadcast matches.

Ok, cheers.

So we'll only make anything if somebody wants our home match?

Appreciate Lennon aspiring to get to group stages, and it should be our ambition long term. However, whatever happens from here, I feel, is a bonus. No matter the result we've had a good run, picked up some extra £ and enjoyed, at least, 3 european ties at Easter Road.

Thats good, no? :confused:

2 away games in 7 days with a league match sandwiched in between. Not good.

Tough but not impossible Zenit were 5th in Russian league last season and have won both games of the season so far.

We'd obviously have to play well but would be a great scalp if we did it.

Not good for travelling to Holland or Portugal would have been so much better.

Anything could happen, Its football.

I hope the team dont surrender as quickly as Hibs.net has done. :greengrin

Where are Zenit/Minsk in their season

Callyballybe
06-08-2018, 12:10 PM
Honker of draw. Zenit will be not far off one of the top few teams to win the entire competition. Was fun while it lasted...

Got some decent cash from our European run at least.

06-08-2018, 12:11 PM
Oh well, it’s been fun, there’s always next year! Lol

Where are Zenit/Minsk in their season

Zenit are 2 games into the season top of the league

Ok, cheers.

So we'll only make anything if somebody wants our home match?

Yes and our Home match is likely to be more attractive to Russian broadcasters than our away match for obvious reasons.

If we get Minsk, I hope that there is suitable respect shown to the "other club" of that city that Vlad managed to **** up.

No way we will get past Zenit. They are normally in Champions League group stages!

So are Celtic and we beat them.

Heckys Wheel
06-08-2018, 12:12 PM

That really isn’t a priority for Hibs. They need to get the team and staff over there. Chartering a flight is a ball ache for a club of Hibs’ size. Proven by the Tripolis shambles. I was happy for them to nip a Molde charter in the bud so everybody knew where they stood.

Anyone see our Academy manager in the room, with his Hibs tie on

AldoHFC
Anyone know how to make it possible to get a visa in time whilst going to Molde next week as they need the passport for visa application and visa applications take 3 days minimum (plus postage time to get the passport back.) Worrying this may be an impossible task.

Unlikely billy.

06-08-2018, 12:13 PM
Anyone see our Academy manager in the room, with his Hibs tie on

Was the tie bleeding green?

Again the positive is there is always a chance and if we can beat Molde how great would be to have a Team like Zenit playing us competitively at Easter Road

Not great when it ends in a world record score line 😂

xyz23jc

:agree::greengrin:aok::top marks

Anyone know how to make it possible to get a visa in time whilst going to Molde next week as they need the passport for visa application and visa applications take 3 days minimum (plus postage time to get the passport back.) Worrying this may be an impossible task.

Russian Consulate on Melville St?

06-08-2018, 12:14 PM
Folk crapping it about Zenit already!!!

They’re nowhere near the team they used to be.

Bring it on.

06-08-2018, 12:15 PM
Is there not a Russian visa opposite opposite Easter Road?

06-08-2018, 12:15 PM
Oh well, it’s been fun, there’s always next year! LolYup very little chance of groups now....just hopefully get past Molde and make some money

06-08-2018, 12:16 PM
Folk crapping it about Zenit already!!!

They’re nowhere near the team they used to be.

Bring it on.

Nae need. We have to beat Molde first. Only then we should "start crappin' it".

PapillonVert
06-08-2018, 12:17 PM
I've been to St petersburg great city. You also don't need visa if you go via Ferry from Helsinki . You get 3 day visa with boat. Was 90 gbp for my visa when I went

Yeah, it is stunning. Also visited the Catherine Palace at Tsarskoe Sela and the Peterhof Palace as well as the Hermitage Museum (you could spend month there and you still would have barely scratched the surface) as well as several other museums and churches, including the Yusupov Palace where Rasputin was drugged and assassinated (or partially assassinated at least).

One of the highlights was the Mariinsky Ballet which was amazing. Even though we know absolutely nothing about ballet or dance, you just couldn't help appreciating the technique and the professionalism involved. It was mesmerising.

Well worth a visit, although the visa process (if you don't arrive from Helsinki) is a bit of a pain as the Russians want your full unexpurgated life story including details of your parents, every primary and secondary school you ever attended, uni/college, all educational and professional qualifications, details of every job and employer you have ever had. You need to have all the names, addresses, 'phone, fax numbers, website addresses etc. to hand before you start to fill in the on-line visa form.

Dundalk gave them a good game when they got to the groups if I remember... just the danger of being away first that the tie could be gone by the time we get them to ER. Not forgetting Molde!!!

I think this is a massively exciting draw - huge team and will raise the profile of our club.

Who would have thought 4 years ago we would be in with a fantastic chance of playing Zenit St Petersburg for a place in the Europa League group stages. We would, if we progress past Molde, go into this ones as heavy, heavy underdogs...but can you imagine the scenes if we somehow produced an upset?

Hardest draw possible... Bring them and Molde on. We won't be disgraced under NL. Probably on our way out but can you imagine ER in the return league if it's a draw or a goal in it? 💚💚 Got to get past Molde.

I'm liking the draw to be honest, glamour tie vs a team regularly winning the Russian league and regulary in the Champions League, when was the last time we played a team that big competitively?

PapillonVert
06-08-2018, 12:19 PM
Is there not a Russian visa opposite opposite Easter Road?

I believe so. In London, the office is a short walk from the Old Street roundabout (or it used to be).

I'm liking the draw to be honest, glamour tie vs a team regularly winning the Russian league and regulary in the Champions League, when was the last time we played a team that big competitively?

When we beat Celtc at Easter Road last season?

They’ve lost to worse teams than us. Just need to not get slaughtered in St Petersburg then we have a chance when we bring them to ER. Granted, if they’re on form we’ve got no chance, but stranger things have happened.

Got a tough 2 games vs Molde to worry about first anyway.

06-08-2018, 12:20 PM
http://ru.vfsglobal.co.uk/tourist.html - by my reckoning if it looks like we're going to St Petersburg it will necessitate applying for an urgent visa (which is basically essential given we're looking at 5-20 day processing for non-urgent visa) you'll be looking at a charge of £186.60!

06-08-2018, 12:20 PM
Zenit with2 wins in 2 top the Russian league whilst Minsk from Belarus just lost at home to Derry City.

AldoHFC
06-08-2018, 12:21 PM
Russian Consulate on Melville St?
From what I read it still takes 3-20 days to process, however, I may have read this wrong. If so, I guess that means I'd have to apply tomorrow or Wednesday and pick up the passport from there early next week if it's been processed.

bigswissstriker
06-08-2018, 12:21 PM
The huns will go out to Maribor

Tough draw for us though but we have nothing to fear/lose. Get past molde and give it as good as we’ve got.

06-08-2018, 12:22 PM
Plenty of flights to both though! circa £350 with one change in both cases and it takes about 5 hours total. No reason not to book now!!!

£186.60 visa cost to add on to that :greengrin

06-08-2018, 12:23 PM
Zenit with2 wins in 2 top the Russian league whilst Minsk from Belarus just lost at home to Derry City.

But sill went through 3-2. They won 0-2 in Derry.

Wakeyhibee

Don't get the negativity either. If we get past Molde it will be a very tough tie. It was always gonna get to this stage, we will be well into the season by then with maybe new signings etc.. Let's look forward to staying in as long as we can. We've got through one tricky one already.

From what I read it still takes 3-20 days to process, however, I may have read this wrong. If so, I guess that means I'd have to apply tomorrow or Wednesday and pick up the passport from there early next week if it's been processed.

My understanding is that all Russian visa processing is now outsourced to http://ru.vfsglobal.co.uk/ - their Edinburgh office is right behind the West Stand at 64 Albion Road.