View Full Version : Match Updates League opener for Hibernian v Motherwell

05-08-2018, 12:47 PM
Post any team updates and match shenanigans here.

:flag::nlgwa:flag:

05-08-2018, 12:48 PM
Mick Laren wears number 9 today.

I wonder who will makecway for him, Boyle or SDG?

alihibs1
05-08-2018, 12:49 PM

I wonder who will makecway for him, Boyle or SDG?Reckon it might be Kamberi and Boyle staying up top.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

05-08-2018, 12:49 PM

I wonder who will makecway for him, Boyle or SDG?

Doesn’t mean he’s starting

05-08-2018, 12:54 PM
MacLaren and Kamberi on the bench.

Bogdan
Ambrose
Porteous
Hanlon
Gray
Mcginn
Bartley
Mallan
Lewis
Boyle
Shaw

kevinc
No Daz, Slivka, Kamberi or McLaren in the starting line up

05-08-2018, 12:55 PM
Bogdan
Gray
Porteous
Efe
Hanlon
Stevenson
Bartley
Mallan
McGinn
Boyle
Shaw

No Daz, Slivka, Kamberi or McLaren in the starting line up

And no daz on the bench either!

I hope Lennon isn't resting the team for Europe. League should be the priority.

05-08-2018, 12:57 PM

He'll be resting players so that our physio isn't too busy come december

05-08-2018, 12:57 PM
Really don't like the look of that team at all....a back 3 and Bartley rarely seems to work and we look so weak upfront...I hope I'm wrong tho

05-08-2018, 01:00 PM
Really don't like the look of that team at all....a back 3 and Bartley rarely seems to work and we look so weak upfront...I hope I'm wrong tho

No Whittaker anywhere.

05-08-2018, 01:00 PM
Nice joke, Hibs

05-08-2018, 01:01 PM
No Whittaker anywhere.Think he's suspended mate

05-08-2018, 01:01 PM

The league just gives us an outside chance of qualifying for Europe again. We'll never get a better chance at Europe than this year.

05-08-2018, 01:02 PM
Think he's suspended mate

Ah, that would explain it.

05-08-2018, 01:03 PM
That's the team I'd have gone for if Maclaren isn't totally match fit. Sensible.

05-08-2018, 01:04 PM

I see where you are coming from, but we aren’t going to beat Celtc for the league title, so we play to get into Europe. What’s the point of playing to get Into Europe then concentrate on the league which makes our euro progression chances less. Sounds a bit of a catch-22

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

05-08-2018, 01:05 PM
That's the team I'd have gone for if Maclaren isn't totally match fit. Sensible.I'd have thought he would have been fit enough to start he's played for Darmstadt in pre-season - maybe not tho or maybe just keeping them both in cold storage for Thurs which I can understand...that team worries me today tho I must say

05-08-2018, 01:10 PM
As an aside is that a final nail in Danny Swanson s hibs career today?? Really thought he might get a start today...with more signings imminent can't see him being here beyond the end of Aug now which is a pity as never really had a chance

Mcpakeisgod
05-08-2018, 01:11 PM
Got faith in that. 2-1 hibs - can see us conceding first though

alihibs1
05-08-2018, 01:11 PM
Team is still good enough to do. Bartley will allow Mallan and Mcginn to push on. Shaw has already proven he can score against premier league opposition.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

05-08-2018, 01:12 PM
As an aside is that a final nail in Danny Swanson s hibs career today?? Really thought he might get a start today...with more signings imminent can't see him being here beyond the end of Aug now which is a pity as never really had a chance

Coming on the 71st minute for McGinn.

hibIBZ
Good decisions for me. Europa league should be a priority. The prize money from the group stages out ways the league and points dropped now can be made up as realistically there is little chance of beating Celtic to the league title. Although I don’t see why that team can’t win today

I think the line up shows we are still 2 or 3 players away from having a squad as strong as last season.

The Leith Dutch
05-08-2018, 01:13 PM

With McGregor not on the bench you'd think he's not fit to play (or suspended - haven't followed that closely).
Kamberi played with a knock on Thursday so sensible to drop him to the bench regardless of priority as he's out of both League and Europe with an injury.

So basically dropping Slivka out. Might have been tempted with Swanson in either for Bartley or a Centre Back but regardless - this feels more like necessity and managing the squad than prioritising one competition over another.

05-08-2018, 01:13 PM

Europe should be priority.

05-08-2018, 01:15 PM
Bartley in a 3-5-2 usually doesn’t work. Hope it comes off today.

05-08-2018, 01:15 PM
We're playing Thursday and Sunday 3 weeks in a row with long distance travel, anyone who thinks the same 11 players are going to do that is mental, that's why we have a squad of players to choose from. Good opportunity for Shaw and porteous hopefully they produce the goods

05-08-2018, 01:17 PM
We're playing Thursday and Sunday 3 weeks in a row with long distance travel, anyone who thinks the same 11 players are going to do that is mental, that's why we have a squad of players to choose from. Good opportunity for Shaw and porteous hopefully they produce the goodsDon't think anyone is thinking that tho mate?? My main concern is Bartley and a back 3 today tbh...I struggle to see creativity on that team...esp with Boyle up front rather than wide. Hopefully be pleasantly surprised tho

Europe should be priority.

Absolutely. Our league position won't be defined today. We could be out of Europe by Fri morning though.

Other than shaw leading the line alone, i dont particularly think it's a weak side.

Hibs 3 well 1

Boyle hasn't impressed me as a striker, expected Maclaren to be in from the start.

MagicSwirlingShip
05-08-2018, 01:18 PM
We're playing Thursday and Sunday 3 weeks in a row with long distance travel, anyone who thinks the same 11 players are going to do that is mental, that's why we have a squad of players to choose from. Good opportunity for Shaw and porteous hopefully they produce the goods

This ^

Good to see Lennon trusting his squad. Hope they don’t let him down.

Strong bench if he needs to change things

05-08-2018, 01:23 PM
This ^

Good to see Lennon trusting his squad. Hope they don’t let him down.

Strong bench if he needs to change things

Agree and hope so..

05-08-2018, 01:25 PM
I'm reasonably happy with that team - looks a wee bit light up front though.

Not far off the team I'd have picked - and the principle of keeping the majority of the team intact with a few players getting a rest is a principle I agree with.

Some strength on the bench in case we need it too.

05-08-2018, 01:30 PM
Bogdan
Gray
Porteous
Efe
Hanlon
Stevenson
Bartley
Mallan
McGinn
Boyle
Shaw

Interesting team ...hope Bartley fits in and doesnt sit on top of the back 3 if he does it knocks our shape out too much ...bit pressure on Oli up top ...tempo will have a bearing in this today ....lets do it Hibs

05-08-2018, 01:34 PM
Calculated gamble.

Fingers crossed it works.

Lemonade
05-08-2018, 01:34 PM
Boyle hasn't impressed me as a striker, expected Maclaren to be in from the start.
Boyle guaranteed to score now :thumbsup:

05-08-2018, 01:35 PM
Defence will need to be on their game against two big lads - main and sammon start for well.

05-08-2018, 01:38 PM
Interesting team ...hope Bartley fits in and doesnt sit on top of the back 3 if he does it knocks our shape out too much ...bit pressure on Oli up top ...tempo will have a bearing in this today ....lets do it Hibs

Bartley plus 3 at the back doesn't tend to work, but his presence might allow Hanlon and Ambrose to pile forward even more than normal.

MacGruber
05-08-2018, 01:44 PM
And no daz on the bench either!

He wasnt subbed in Greece for tactical reasons hanging on to the goal aggregate. Clearly injured. Flo took a few knocks and not fully fit. Only surprise for me Stevenson made it and thought Swanson would get nod

05-08-2018, 01:44 PM
Agree in principle with the idea of playing a slightly weaker team to allow players to rest but it shows we're a little lacking in depth in comparison to last year.

As for Bartley he's had a few cheeky comments in regards to how little game time he's had so up to him to take this opportunity to show us what we've been missing lately.

Looking forward to the game.

05-08-2018, 01:45 PM
I think the line up shows we are still 2 or 3 players away from having a squad as strong as last season.

05-08-2018, 01:47 PM
Whose on the bench?

johncrobertson@
05-08-2018, 01:49 PM
Great opportunity for Oli and Ryan

05-08-2018, 01:54 PM
Can't see us causing them much problems at the back

05-08-2018, 01:54 PM
Interesting choices made by Lennon - he has to make full use of the squad he has, so let's see how they get on - think even this "weaker" team has what it takes to beat Motherwell ... they will have been surprised by the team selection too

05-08-2018, 01:57 PM
Hopefully we can keep it tight and then bring on the quality to get a win.

EricStoner
05-08-2018, 01:59 PM
As above, Daz must've tweaked a muscle Thursday.
A fair few delicate eggs being carefully placed in the Norwegian basket here though. I see our bare erse jiggling in the water & hear John Williams's two-note masterpiece. Hope I'm wrong.

05-08-2018, 02:01 PM
I’m travelling and the game doesn’t appear to be on the radio?

05-08-2018, 02:01 PM
Hibs need to have a plan B and plan C. Not just to rest players between UEFA ties but because injuries will definitely restrict our first team choices at some point and the reserve players need to be up to the task when called upon. Today is as good a day as any to start. C'mon the Cabbage!!!

05-08-2018, 02:04 PM
Are we winning yet? :greengrin

05-08-2018, 02:05 PM
Judging by Motherwell's new kit we're playing Hearts.

05-08-2018, 02:06 PM
Judging by Motherwell's new kit we're playing Hearts.

Underestimate them at our peril...

05-08-2018, 02:07 PM
Is it on the wireless

PaulC
I’m travelling and the game doesn’t appear to be on the radio?

I cannot make the game today so was going to listen on Radio Scotland. They have people at the game but are waiting to hear the post match reaction for the Aberdeen Rangers game rather than give us commentary from ER :grr::grr:

Underestimate them at our peril...

HibeeEmma
05-08-2018, 02:08 PM
Is the game on tv anywhere?

05-08-2018, 02:11 PM
Yellow for the mothers.

ArmadaleHibs
05-08-2018, 02:12 PM
It is on sportsound live but they are more interested in talking about the Rangers game before they cross over to the game for what they say is full commentary

Bangkok Hibby
05-08-2018, 02:14 PM
It is on sportsound live but they are more interested in talking about the Rangers game before they cross over to the game for what they say is full commentary

The Rangers far more important to BBC

05-08-2018, 02:16 PM
The Rangers far more important to BBC

The same The Rangers who have banned the BBC from Ibrox.

chasitup
05-08-2018, 02:17 PM
Appalling coverage from BBC here, still talking about Rangers and listening to interviews than cover the live game.

I'm listening to it as well.
Fuming :fuming::fuming::fuming::fuming:

C'mon the Hibees:flag:

Mcpakeisgod
Absolutely dominating

05-08-2018, 02:18 PM
Bartley has started well.

We're not really creating much / anything though.

Bangkok Hibby
05-08-2018, 02:18 PM

I just meant pandering to the West coast masses, seems to be more important than commentary of another big live game

05-08-2018, 02:23 PM
I just meant pandering to the West coast masses, seems to be more important than commentary of another big live game
Frankly I think the BBC is padding this out & it will be full commentary 2nd half. Disgraceful.

Lemonade
05-08-2018, 02:23 PM
Still listening to Willie Miller . WTF?

05-08-2018, 02:24 PM
Looking poor up front without the dream team.

Curly1875
05-08-2018, 02:25 PM
Someone want to tell the bbc there’s another game on today?

05-08-2018, 02:25 PM
Turned it off, just totally bizarre. Shall we have a match commentary? Nah, not when we can spend an hour dissecting a Rangers draw.

ArmadaleHibs
05-08-2018, 02:26 PM
The bbc pundits (usual west coast bias) are so far up Steven Gerard’s ass it’s not real. If they could climb up it I think they would. The fact there is very little option to listen to the game and other than hibs tv live or hibs radio live bbc is all we have. It frustrating listening

Bangkok Hibby
I'm positive they're even speaking slowly!!!!!

NZ Green
Hibs started well, Motherwell coming into the game a bit more now but struggling against our defence.

I'm positive they're even speaking slowly!!!!!

Was thinking the exact same.

05-08-2018, 02:27 PM
Frankly I think the BBC is padding this out & it will be full commentary 2nd half. Disgraceful.

Shameful is the word I would choose to describe it. They are even interviewing the Aberdeen goal scorer as I type.

ArmadaleHibs
05-08-2018, 02:27 PM
The ironic thing is that they will eventually get to the hibs game but you can guarantee that the halftime talk in the hibs game will be all about Rangers

Bangkok Hibby
05-08-2018, 02:30 PM
http://www.hesgoal.com/news/32135/Hibernian_vs_Motherwell.html

Delboy4
That’s them over to the game! Just in time for Mallan to score

Yesssss 1-0 to the Hibees :thumbsup::nlgwa:flag:

Mallan with a free kick

05-08-2018, 02:31 PM
Mallan great signing

It wasn't 10 yards. I demand a retake

Brilliant from Mallan

NZ Green
Boy knows how to take a free kick

Lovely strike by Mallan!!

05-08-2018, 02:33 PM
Goal!

05-08-2018, 02:33 PM
I had been thinking that when Mallan was scoring from free kicks in Europe that he may not be so lucky against better keepers. Show what I know......:doh:

Mcpakeisgod
05-08-2018, 02:36 PM
We’re playing really well. Shaws looking good

05-08-2018, 02:37 PM
***** signing Hearts said

05-08-2018, 02:37 PM
Is that 3 goals from 4 free-kicks he's got?

2 goals v the Faroese, one into the wall vs Asteras at home.

I think I remember the keeper saving one that he tried to sneak in at the near post in Greece.

CathroMustStay
05-08-2018, 02:39 PM
Stevie Mallan!!!

:nlgwa

05-08-2018, 02:40 PM
McGinn’s playing well, he’ll be raging to be subbed in the 70th.

cjward2
05-08-2018, 02:41 PM
Suprised to see the number of empty seats in the FF and East. Due to folk on holiday or what?

05-08-2018, 02:45 PM
Suprised to see the number of empty seats in the FF and East. Due to folk on holiday or what?

Must be, 30 odd of us on a stag including the sexy Hibs drummer.

Get in 2-0 to Hibs :flag::nlgwa

Shaw gets the 2nd goal, great pass from SJM

Great ball for Shaw from McGinn, but Oli still had work to do, good finish

Bangkok Hibby
05-08-2018, 02:46 PM
Oli...he's going to be great :agree:

05-08-2018, 02:46 PM
Goal!

NZ Green
05-08-2018, 02:47 PM
Difficult goal to score that, tight angle with the goalie in his face.

05-08-2018, 02:47 PM
Good finish by Shaw

What the heck is that tool doing standing up with his head blocking HibsTV camera? Someone needs to give him a clip round the ear! :greengrin

MagicSwirlingShip
05-08-2018, 02:48 PM
Lennons team selection looking pretty solid now. 2-0 HT, Big Marv & Mcginn imperious In midfield.

Mcpakeisgod
05-08-2018, 02:48 PM
We are looking very good today

05-08-2018, 02:49 PM
Porteous, McGinn and Bartley especially seem to be enjoying their battles with the physical Motherwell players.

CathroMustStay
Lenny's team selection has been bang on!

2-0!

We're gonna win the league!

Got to love that Shaw is wearing the number 32 .....:greengrin

Really nice goal

05-08-2018, 02:50 PM
Not bad for being fatigued after Europe. Great season ahead

Lemonade
Really happy for Shaw. I think he will have a decent part to play this season .

HT

Was a bit concerned with the team selection, shows what I know thats why NL is the manager & I'm not:greengrin

Wouldn't have guessed that we don't have the full first 11 playing, we've been on easy street for the 45 minutes.

05-08-2018, 02:51 PM
Makes a mockery of the team sheet bed wetting! GGTTH

Is it too much to ask that we win 4-0 so we go above Hearts to restore natural order?

ForeverHibs93
I would love for us to win by 4 and knock hearts off the top of the league, they’ve have a f’ing meltdown about it 😂😂

05-08-2018, 02:52 PM
Great first half.

Bit light up top but Shaw setlled and started leading the line well and deserved his goal.

Bartley excellent. Ryan continues to impress. Mallan looks tired despite his goal perhaps swap him with Danny.

As for John McGinn. Hes a class apart and its a joy to watch him.

05-08-2018, 02:55 PM
Sttolling it tbh. Motherwell not really offering much so far. Almost like a training exercise which is a surprise Motherwell aren't pressing us higher after our midweek exertions

More of the same in the 2nd please. Nab a third, get Boyle/Mcginn and Mallan off if we can

05-08-2018, 02:55 PM
Decent, commanding performance from HIibs 1st half - Be good to see us creating more chances up front - Motherwell very poor, but feel that is mainly down to our high work levels and overall team performance, impressed by Shaw's game so far, some excellent ball distribution and well-taken goal ...

mayo hibee
05-08-2018, 02:57 PM
Very good so far. Nice that we can change a few and still look this strong, with hopefully more squad strengthing to come. Don't see much point in signing another striker, Shaw will provide the cover as needed. One more defender and a defensive midfielder (as well as Agyepong) will do it, plus maybe Allen if that's a goer.

05-08-2018, 02:57 PM
Great first half.

Bit light up top but Shaw setlled and started leading the line well and deserved his goal.

Bartley excellent. Ryan continues to impress. Mallan looks tired despite his goal perhaps swap him with Danny.

As for John McGinn. Hes a class apart and its a joy to watch him.

Wee Lewis looks a bit fatigued as well...worked his ass off first half tho but looked too tired to run across and celebrate the second!

Easy from Hibs so far, Motherwell have been rather toothless with Bartley and McGinn holding the midfield well.

Mallan I’m still not sure about. Great goal (keeper side tho) apart think he looks a yard slow. Hopefully he’ll sort that out with a run of games but reminds me of Swanson the way he runs and plays sometimes.

05-08-2018, 02:58 PM
By the way as soon as i saw that huddy Sammon in their line up i thought theyre destined for a relegation dogfight.

05-08-2018, 02:58 PM
Great first half. Best keep tight in the second as Motherwell have previous for coming back at ER.

05-08-2018, 02:59 PM
Them talking about John McGinn "he doesn't go down if omeone brushes his eyebrow", a snip at 3/4 million is the consensus

Great to see a dominant first half end in is 2-0 up and not 0-0 but feeling confident.

Another couple in the second half please Hibs! :aok:

The bbc banned themselves from ibrox after the rangers banned one of their journalists.

dmc1875
05-08-2018, 03:00 PM
Commanding, but it’s only half time and Motherwell are big and physical - 3rd goal to kill it off would be nice

Pretty sure Efe made a pretty neat interception in our box immediately prior to us going up the park and getting the 2nd.

Really good half. Shaw took his goal well and has played some great stuff with his back to goal. Bartley is winning his physical battle and Mallan has shown that wee bit of quality that we need.

McGinn has been as excellent as he's ever been. When he goes, there will be a huge hole in our team. Obviously a player is only worth what someone is prepared to pay for him, but given what would be left after everyone has taken their cut, I don't think we can afford to accept anything less than £5m for him. I'd rather have him for the season, playing for a big move and a massive signing on fee as a free agent next summer.

renato
Houston and Duffy absolutely waxing lyrical about us on Sportsound.

Also Duffy incredulous that English clubs haven’t been banging down the door for SJM, saying £3-4m an absolute bargain for someone of his class.

05-08-2018, 03:04 PM
The bbc banned themselves from ibrox after the rangers banned one of their journalists.

True which is why it's so much more annoying that the BBC still go on about them. Just ignore them.

05-08-2018, 03:05 PM
Any links to game

Delboy4
05-08-2018, 03:07 PM
Houston and Duffy absolutely waxing lyrical about us on Sportsound.

Also Duffy incredulous that English clubs haven’t been banging down the door for SJM, saying £3-4m an absolute bargain for someone of his class.

One of them said it could easily be double or treble that amount! 👏

05-08-2018, 03:08 PM
to easy this 3-0 Hibees :greengrin:hibees:flag:

Boyle with 3rd

Fabulous play in the run up. Great finish from Boyle

Not long 'til McGinn gets subbed.

Delboy4
3-0 Boyler 👏🇳🇬⚽️

05-08-2018, 03:09 PM
Let’s go top

NZ Green
05-08-2018, 03:10 PM
Hibs TV a bit behind. Goal of the season :greengrin

CathroMustStay
3-0 thanks to my favourite squirrel!

Tony Bobulinski
Spectacular

KinchHibee
Simply magnificent build up play to that third goal.

get them absolutely pumped. we've been due someone an absolute horsing for about 3 years.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Lendo
05-08-2018, 03:11 PM
We are gonna have this league won by Christmas.

mayo hibee
05-08-2018, 03:14 PM
Time to start thinking about changes with Thursday in mind. Maybe give Stevenson and Boyle a rest.

05-08-2018, 03:16 PM
We are gonna have this league won by Christmas.

(Imagine a Liverpool accent),,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, Calm down! Calm down! ;-)

Lendo
05-08-2018, 03:19 PM
(Imagine a Liverpool accent),,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, Calm down! Calm down! ;-)

I can dream

The passing and build up play to that 3rd goal was magnificent and worthy of gracing any stadium in the world.

Brilliant to watch.

Let’s go top

Can you imagine the seethe if we did - 1st game of the season and we've punctured the halfwits already !!

05-08-2018, 03:23 PM
We're tiring now. Europa League fatigue showing.

05-08-2018, 03:26 PM
So are we going to do a sort-of Hampden Roar in anticipation of this 70th minute substitution?

05-08-2018, 03:27 PM
It's the 70th minute lads!

05-08-2018, 03:28 PM
It's the 71st minute. :(

05-08-2018, 03:29 PM
Is John away to Everton yet?

Anyone else a bit worried we've not done enough business before the start of the season? :greengrin

Well, that's the 70th minute been and gone.

Anyone got any updates from Birnam Wood or Dunsinane?

05-08-2018, 03:30 PM
Anyone else a bit worried we've not done enough business before the start of the season? :greengrin
Bed wetter.

05-08-2018, 03:30 PM

Not yet.:greengrin

05-08-2018, 03:32 PM
Is John away to Everton yet?

The plan is for him to start one of his trademark runs, run down the tunnel and keep running until he gets to Goodison. Thousands of Hibbies will line the road and applaud him on his way.

05-08-2018, 03:32 PM

If we're not top by the end of the 90 heads must roll.

05-08-2018, 03:34 PM
The goalie's been quietly competent throughout.

05-08-2018, 03:35 PM
Change coming now

Kinda fallen out of the game a wee bit these past 5 or so minutes.

renato
A 4th would be rather pleasing, here.

05-08-2018, 03:36 PM
Get macca on

05-08-2018, 03:37 PM
Interesting, mcginn off

79th minute. Close. :wink:

Get macca on
You mean Flo mate? McLaren is on.....

Bam
Get macca on

He's been on for 15 mins mate

Delboy4
79mins 👏👏👏

79 mins McGinn off.

05-08-2018, 03:38 PM
79 mins McGinn off.

Does it look like a farewell?

05-08-2018, 03:39 PM
Get macca on
Pay attention :greengrin

Does it look like a farewell?
No it didn't.

If only BG had said 80th minute

AugustaHibs
05-08-2018, 03:40 PM
36th minute on hibs tv for anyone?

Bam
We want 4

If only BG had said 80th minute

NL got longer odds!

NZ Green
05-08-2018, 03:41 PM
36th minute on hibs tv for anyone?
Oh aye haha, had a bit of trouble at the start with the clock too.

Looking forward to the third half

05-08-2018, 03:46 PM
Shaw sponsors MOTM

renato
05-08-2018, 03:47 PM
Just under 17,500 attendance

Goal disallowed for the mothers

Shaw sponsors MOTM

McGinn or Bartley for me.

Wull
05-08-2018, 03:48 PM
just shows how far we have come, being able to sub SJM and Mallan, and still being a very good team. In Lennon we trust :flag:

05-08-2018, 03:48 PM

Well, Well .... you know the rest.

05-08-2018, 03:50 PM

Confirms what I have often read on this forum.....we have the best refs in world !!

05-08-2018, 03:50 PM
Ft

05-08-2018, 03:52 PM
Brilliant after the European heroics. Well done Hibs

mayo hibee
05-08-2018, 03:52 PM
Phoned in the last 20 to be honest. But that's a good thing, should be fighting fit by Thursday night.

05-08-2018, 03:54 PM
Job done. Brilliant work hibs.

DetroitHibs
05-08-2018, 03:54 PM
Watching on Hibs TV, great all round performance, Ambrose almost repeated his mistake from last week at the death. Always thought we had an extra gear if needed. Just a note for Cliff Pike commentating on Hibs TV, Slivka is Lithuanian, not from the Ukraine. Kinda amateurish not to know that.

Thegreenside
05-08-2018, 03:55 PM
Hope the keeper is okay

05-08-2018, 03:56 PM
They came in to the game from 70 mins onwards as we tired.

Dominated them before that though and a thoroughly deserved win.

Another mention for Bogdan. After a v poor start to his hibs career he's put in another solid display making a couple of excellent and vital saves

05-08-2018, 04:02 PM
Good start, we tired towards end, but that should put is in good stead for the rest of season.

Deejk107
05-08-2018, 04:03 PM
Watching on Hibs TV, great all round performance, Ambrose almost repeated his mistake from last week at the death. Always thought we had an extra gear if needed. Just a note for Cliff Pike commentating on Hibs TV, Slivka is Lithuanian, not from the Ukraine. Kinda amateurish not to know that.

To be fair I'm pretty sure he does know that, I've heard him refer to Slivka as Lithuanian countless times.

ForeverHibs93
05-08-2018, 04:04 PM
Terrific result today, especially with the game we had in midweek, clean sheet as well which is great!

05-08-2018, 04:07 PM
Very happy to be proven wrong ...I feared the worst today when I saw that team but we were brilliant the first hour...visibly tired after that

05-08-2018, 04:08 PM
Follow the Hibs for thrills and spills.

DetroitHibs
05-08-2018, 04:08 PM
To be fair I'm pretty sure he does know that, I've heard him refer to Slivka as Lithuanian countless times.

Twice he said it, its amateurish and disrespectful.

coco22
05-08-2018, 04:14 PM
Motherwell manager...’there was nothing in it other than a bad refereeing decision’. Aye right, ya weapon 😂

05-08-2018, 04:18 PM

I'm pretty sure they are amateurs, who've made a mistake. Hardly disrespectful, in fact i'd bet Slivka wont give a toss either way.

05-08-2018, 04:19 PM

Jesus, cliff take a piss in your cornflakes this morning

05-08-2018, 04:23 PM
I'm pretty sure they are amateurs, who've made a mistake. Hardly disrespectful, in fact i'd bet Slivka wont give a toss either way.
Not sure about that - if you called me English to my face I'd box yer ****** ears.......

05-08-2018, 04:27 PM
Just back from Europe, without McGregor, Kamberi and Maclaren and still to strengthen with a couple signings. Where's the kleenex?

Professional performance. Dominated possession and after Mallan scored we won fairly comfortably. A few tired players at the end though. I thought the back 3 and Stevenson played pretty well along with McGinn and Shaw but their were no poor displays. Glory glory!

Not sure about that - if you called me English to my face I'd box yer ****** ears.......

Box my ears, not heard that phrase since my mother was alive. :greengrin

05-08-2018, 04:28 PM

Think you're being a bit harsh - Cliff's overall performance today was anything but amateurish - he made a mistake, that happens - the half-time pie report was as good as it ever was though, as was commentary on the game ...

DetroitHibs
05-08-2018, 04:30 PM
Think you're being a bit harsh - Cliff's overall performance today was anything but amateurish - he made a mistake, that happens - the half-time pie report was as good as it ever was though, as was commentary on the game ...

I like Cliff, but saying it twice during the game made it look like he thinks the lads Ukrainian.

jakedance
05-08-2018, 04:34 PM
Great game. Hibs looked very comfortable and easily deserved the win (the Motherwell Manager is taking *****). Bogdan, Hanlon, Porteous and Bartley were superb. SJM clearly ready to play at an entirely different level to Hibs.

05-08-2018, 04:41 PM
Motherwell manager...’there was nothing in it other than a bad refereeing decision’. Aye right, ya weapon 😂

They only came into the game when we made the subs and already 3 up.

DetroitHibs
05-08-2018, 04:46 PM
We tired a bit around the 70th minute mark, to be expected though. Game was never in doubt at 3-0, very comfortable afternoon.

05-08-2018, 04:56 PM

Cliff tweeted this

Vykintas Slivka is of course Lithuanian as opposed to Ukrainian!!! I got the “ian” bit right. I blame it on fatigue from 2 weeks in the sun 😂

were all human 😜

05-08-2018, 05:01 PM
Box my ears, not heard that phrase since my mother was alive. :greengrin
I'm probably older than she was :greengrin

05-08-2018, 05:01 PM
Game on BBC Alba now

DetroitHibs
05-08-2018, 05:19 PM
Cliff tweeted this

Vykintas Slivka is of course Lithuanian as opposed to Ukrainian!!! I got the “ian” bit right. I blame it on fatigue from 2 weeks in the sun 😂

were all human 😜

Heard Slivka boxed his ears after the game :wink:

05-08-2018, 05:22 PM
See the Motherwell manager saying nothing in the game. I thought we controlled the game almost throughout, I'll have a pint of what he's had.

05-08-2018, 05:25 PM
See the Motherwell manager saying nothing in the game. I thought we controlled the game almost throughout, I'll have a pint of what he's had.

Must have watched a totally different game to me. We were never out of first gear imho and from first whistle to last whistle we never looked liked losing. They had a Few moments when we were 3 up but to say there was nothing in it is off the mark for me.

05-08-2018, 05:30 PM

I think that is highly disrespectful to the Motherwell fans who travelled today. Apart from the last 20-25 minutes when the game was done and dusted, they were brutal and never in the game.

05-08-2018, 05:40 PM

Well there was certainly nothing in the game from a Motherwell perspective until way too late in the day so he was half right...

Controlled and comfortable performance from Hibs today.

Mr Grieves
05-08-2018, 05:49 PM

He called the free kick, that led to Mallan scoring, an 'incredible decision'. We'll, I'm watching the replay on Alba you will never see a more clear cut handball. The Motherwell player stuck his hand out to block the shot

05-08-2018, 05:59 PM

and he must have said that a dozen times, blah blah blah, but that decision, blah blah blah, but that decision and so on and so forth :) jim duffy partly agreed with him re the free kick, whoever else was in the studio said he "100% disagreed with the motherwell managers opinion of the game, hibs controlled everything" and so on and so forth and so it is written

05-08-2018, 06:05 PM
Great way to kick off the season, 3 goals and a clean sheet :thumbsup:

05-08-2018, 06:17 PM
He called the free kick, that led to Mallan scoring, an 'incredible decision'. We'll, I'm watching the replay on Alba you will never see a more clear cut handball. The Motherwell player stuck his hand out to block the shot

Exactly how I'm seeing it. Looked like the shot was on target and he stuck out his arm to stop it.

05-08-2018, 06:20 PM
btw well done bogdan flicking the ball away when the cross came in along the ground in the 1st half, murrawell player just waiting to stick it away

The Leith Dutch
05-08-2018, 06:27 PM
Not sure if it's been mentioned here but the BBC report has the following line:
"Shaw then set up Martin Boyle to power in Hibs' 22nd goal in their past five home games and secure the three points."

22 goals in 5 home games.
Oooft.
Great time to be a Hibby.

05-08-2018, 06:39 PM

For someone coming from Detroit you're not very rock n roll are you?
I'd say you maybe need to get your rock n roll soon.

05-08-2018, 07:23 PM
I think that is highly disrespectful to the Motherwell fans who travelled today. Apart from the last 20-25 minutes when the game was done and dusted, they were brutal and never in the game.

Brutal in every respect. The game clip at the end of the Alba screening was basically 5 or 6 Motherwell attacks (on our players) and 3 sublime goals

05-08-2018, 07:46 PM
That Connor samon is ganting. Praying he returns to hearts but can't see it unfortunately.

05-08-2018, 07:47 PM

Duff Jimmy were saying they wrote surprised the free kick was given. I hope once they have watched the replay they would admit it was a deliberate handball. Tell me what ale sign was nobody protested the decision.

05-08-2018, 08:09 PM
That Connor samon is ganting. Praying he returns to hearts but can't see it unfortunately.

Putting the many successes in our team to the side, you’re bang on the money - it’s actually laughable how rank lousy a footballer he is. 🤣

05-08-2018, 08:14 PM
Do Motherwell have the baldest front line in football.

05-08-2018, 08:28 PM
Not sure if it's been mentioned here but the BBC report has the following line:
"Shaw then set up Martin Boyle to power in Hibs' 22nd goal in their past five home games and secure the three points."

22 goals in 5 home games.
Oooft.
Great time to be a Hibby.

All for goals and glory... Which I'd love to see as a banner from the Since 1875 lads.

05-08-2018, 08:32 PM
Do Motherwell have the baldest front line in football.

:tsk tsk: You're just splitting hairs now, PH.

05-08-2018, 08:37 PM
Certainly pretty physical, never mind the lack of hair ( and Bowman wasn't playing today).

05-08-2018, 08:39 PM
Anybody know when the highlights will be on and where?

Cheers.

06-08-2018, 07:22 AM
Anybody know when the highlights will be on and where?

Cheers.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44995763

06-08-2018, 09:15 AM
Don't know if its had a mention elsewhere, but I heard on the tannoy that yesterday's match sponsor was JB Contracts.

That's Mrs Budge's brothers company who have been doing a lot of the construction work over at Tiny Park.

I wonder if the Gorgie Grunts know some of their FoH direct debits is finding its way into Hibs coffers. :greengrin

06-08-2018, 10:25 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44995763

Nice one. :thumbsup: