View Full Version : Fringe 2018

04-08-2018, 10:37 PM
Went to see the Irish comedian Jason Byrne tonight. Hilarious. First thing he did was pick on Christophe Berra who was in the audience and slag the size of his heid!

patch1875
05-08-2018, 10:43 AM
Only seen the Tattoo so far which is a bit special as my daughter is in it!

05-08-2018, 05:50 PM
Only seen the Tattoo so far which is a bit special as my daughter is in it!

Which act?

Was at the tattoo last night for the first time and really enjoyed it!

patch1875
05-08-2018, 07:55 PM
Which act?

Was at the tattoo last night for the first time and really enjoyed it!

She's in the choir.

Its a brilliant show this year the Swiss drummers and the USA drill team were amazing.

05-08-2018, 08:27 PM
She's in the choir.

Its a brilliant show this year the Swiss drummers and the USA drill team were amazing.

Awesome - great thing to be part of. :aok:

They were both great acts - my highlights too. :agree:

08-08-2018, 08:21 AM
Jason Byrne last night was hilarious, he's a very funny man.

09-08-2018, 12:44 PM

Better than Zidane?

patch1875
09-08-2018, 03:25 PM
High brow show today.

Dick v Dom

Great fun!

09-08-2018, 03:28 PM
Christian Reilly, at the Liquid Room.

It's free, but it really shouldn't be. :greengrin

pontius pilate
10-08-2018, 05:51 PM
Going to see a comedian tomorrow Jamie Dalgleish from buckfast to middle class at the stand. Me and the other half haven’t been out in a while so looking for where is good for a drink afterwards it starts at 16:45

10-08-2018, 07:23 PM
Allan Havey. Stand up at the Novotel.

Some of you will recognise him as an actor in things like Billions and Louie.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

hibbybob
11-08-2018, 09:58 AM
1902 - discussed elsewhere on .net. A must see for Hibs fans! 10/10

Eric Davidson - really funny! Anybody inbred and from Fife could be offended by his material!! One for the locals more than tourists. 8/10

Russell Howard - I didn't choose to go and see him but was pleasantly surprised. So much better than you see on TV 9/10.

Andrew Maxwell next - having seen him several times before I'm really looking forward to it.

11-08-2018, 01:55 PM
Seen loads so far. Highlights have been Jack Docherty (i.e. Cameron Miekelson from Scotsquad) - one of the funniest shows I've seen at the fringe. And Mr Thing purely because it was bizarre, it's a comedy game show/chat show - I'd definitely recommend it for a group on a boozy night out

12-08-2018, 09:55 AM
Colin Cloud yesterday. Very entertaining.

Larry Dean last night, great show. Would definitely recommend him. Funny guy.

12-08-2018, 08:42 PM
For those who like a political conspiracy, and there are a few on here....

3000 Trees, the Death of William Macrae.

15-08-2018, 10:06 AM
It would be remiss of me not to mention the lovely and talented Alice Marshall. The Caves, every night at 530.

The fact that she's my lodger renders me biased. However, the judges of the Best Comedy Award at the Brighton Fringe last year are not so narrow-minded.... she won that :greengrin

It's free, so go along, have a giggle, and stick some money in the bucket if you like it. It'll make my life easier......

Stick
19-08-2018, 12:28 PM
Went to see 1902 last week, enjoyed it even more than I expected too. Would recommend all hibies to see this. Left wondering if this could be altered to be appropriate for any other team. Probably not, as so many things unique to hibs, the cup final, 104 years, scored in the 92nd minute, sunshine on leith etc. Go see it. Better still, take a Jambo friend.
Also saw Allan Havey, well known comedian and actor. Enjoyed but be warned very blue. Felt sorry for a young couple in the audience who came in late and were with the girls mother, Havey questioned the young lad about various aspects of there love life, wasn't cruel but very funny.

19-08-2018, 12:49 PM
Some of you might like The Pieman Cometh, co-written by Bryan Jackson, administrator of Hearts and Dundee. Plenty fitba-related gags.

On another level is Steen Raskopoulous. Thus far, my most "wtf" show. Very funny, but **** me, what an ending.

patch1875
19-08-2018, 07:17 PM
360 Allstars

Great show! BMX, breakdancing,rapping,drumming,basketball and some spiny ring thing.

20-08-2018, 08:49 AM
I thought we had a thread for one liner jokes, but I couldn't see it. So here seems a good place to pass on the top 10 one liners from the Fringe:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-45238696

They all gave me a chuckle. :greengrin

20-08-2018, 09:45 AM

Saw this on Saturday. Brilliant.

patch1875
20-08-2018, 10:36 AM
Saw this on Saturday. Brilliant.

Seeing him tomorrow looking forward to it.

22-08-2018, 08:44 AM
Went to see 1902 last night. Absolutely brilliant, especially the last 10 mins or so.

22-08-2018, 08:51 AM
I've been disappointed with my fringe viewing this year. I've hardly gone to any and what I have seen, it's been acts I've seen before and preferred their previous years; alone they were still good shows though.

Jay
22-08-2018, 10:28 AM
Saw a guy called Gary Meikle who was funny and going to Colin Cloud on sat after it was recommended by a few friends.

Jay
22-08-2018, 11:54 AM
I forgot to mention the free show i stumbled upon - a comedic reading and analysis of the characters of Moby dick. It was even worse than it sounds :greengrin. My boys will never forgive me.

22-08-2018, 12:16 PM
I've been disappointed with my fringe viewing this year. I've hardly gone to any and what I have seen, it's been acts I've seen before and preferred their previous years; alone they were still good shows though.Conversely, I've had my busiest Festival in years.

21 seen, 7 more booked, and still spotting stuff I want to see.

22-08-2018, 12:31 PM
Went to see 1902 last night. Absolutely brilliant, especially the last 10 mins or so.

Saw it on Monday, last 10 minutes were indeed brilliant. I can see why so many folk like it but it wasn't my thing, to me there wasn't much of a story, just a load of shouting and swearing with the odd funny line. Must be getting old....

LALthehibeeGAL
22-08-2018, 09:36 PM
Saw it on Monday, last 10 minutes were indeed brilliant. I can see why so many folk like it but it wasn't my thing, to me there wasn't much of a story, just a load of shouting and swearing with the odd funny line. Must be getting old....

not long back from this and that is how I would probably sum it up - my son loved it and said he would happily go again. I am clearly getting auld tae. Opinions eh!

lal:wink:

24-08-2018, 10:16 AM
Couple of shows the last 2 nights -

Wednesday went to see Judah Friedlander. He was good, show depends largely on the crowd, as it's more about how he reacts to what you ask him, I enjoyed it.

Last night - Anthony Jeselnik - I'd never heard of him, someone gave us a flyer on Wednesday night, and they talked him up enough that we decided to buy tickets. He was only doing 2 nights at the fringe. He was absolutely brilliant. One of the best shows I've seen at the festival, ever. Was laughing all the way through it. He's apparently got a couple of Netflix specials, so I'm definitely going to watch them.