View Full Version : Dirty Greek Tricks?

Austinho
02-08-2018, 07:15 AM
Flight cancelled last minute.
Team hotel cancelled last minute.
Power cut in new hotel.

Coincidence, or could our lovely hosts be at it?

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/cancelled-flight-hotel-leaves-neil-13017149

02-08-2018, 07:22 AM
It's certainly not a coincidence put it that way

02-08-2018, 07:23 AM
Is Xenophobia playing for them tonight?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

02-08-2018, 07:25 AM
Is Xenophobia playing for them tonight?

Where is the xenophobia here?

02-08-2018, 07:26 AM
Dazza just tweeted dirty great big wooden horse pitched up in their training ground overnight :wink:

02-08-2018, 07:27 AM
Where is the xenophobia here?The inference in the DR headline. The headline, as often, doesn't reflect the story itself.

And the opportunity for me to get a Greek-based word in this thread was too good a chance to miss.[emoji16]

02-08-2018, 07:32 AM
Dazza just tweeted dirty great big wooden horse pitched up in their training ground overnight :wink:Has not been warned about Greeks bearing gifts? [emoji849]

02-08-2018, 07:40 AM
the heading is a bit misleading , should it not read dirty tricks not dirty Greeks, they always look clean enough to me !

02-08-2018, 07:45 AM
Has not been warned about Greeks bearing gifts? [emoji849]

Any Greek will tell you that's Macedonians. :wink:

02-08-2018, 07:46 AM
All that combined is too much to just be a coincidence.

02-08-2018, 07:52 AM
They are playing mind games with the fans as well. We had a power cut at our hotel in Athens yesterday which meant us climbing 4 sets of stairs to get to our room. Then the Police closed the Athens Sports Bar due to noise complaints. The Greeks are all out to get us 😂

02-08-2018, 08:03 AM
Any Greek will tell you that's Macedonians. :wink:It's all Greek to me [emoji16]

02-08-2018, 08:11 AM
They are playing mind games with the fans as well. We had a power cut at our hotel in Athens yesterday which meant us climbing 4 sets of stairs to get to our room. Then the Police closed the Athens Sports Bar due to noise complaints. The Greeks are all out to get us 😂

Who loves ya Baby? :greengrin

02-08-2018, 09:13 AM
It’s fine, Daz’ll sort them.

Again.

02-08-2018, 09:55 AM
All of this is our own fault. If you are going to act small time and not even have your own club jet and your own security entourage to monitor the hotel staff when you get there you cant complain when things go wrong IMO. These are the next things we need to concentrate on rather than wasting a load of cash on bloody players :grr:

Look at the Hearts …. They have used Edinburgh airport, which means they now own their own airfield … at least I think that's how it works :greengrin

02-08-2018, 10:01 AM
Power cuts in hotels etc are the norm

02-08-2018, 10:17 AM
Any Greek will tell you that's Macedonians. :wink:
Wish someone would steal my Mrs - would nae bother if they were Greek or Macedonian would nae even tell the polis never mind launching a 1000 ships ! :wink:

02-08-2018, 10:24 AM
Am I missing something but how could the original flight being cancelled have anything to do with Asteras?

The hotel issues then potentially aye but no the flight surely?

02-08-2018, 10:27 AM
Was it always a 5pm KO local time? Maybe I'm going senile but was sure it was listed until very recently as 7.45 our time ie 5.45 local?

If it has changed recently, you might think 45 minutes won't make that much difference but it is more than that. They will be playing the first half 5.00 to 5.45 instead of the second half 6.45 to 7.30 so nearly two hours difference which I'd expect will be a fair difference in terms of temperature?

02-08-2018, 10:29 AM
Was it always a 5pm KO local time? Maybe I'm going senile but was sure it was listed until very recently as 7.45 our time ie 5.45 local?

If it has changed recently, you might think 45 minutes won't make that much difference but it is more than that. They will be playing the first half 5.00 to 5.45 instead of the second half 6.45 to 7.30 so nearly two hours difference which I'd expect will be a fair difference in terms of temperature?

745pm our time would be 945 local time.

I'm not a doctor, though. :greengrin

scooby
02-08-2018, 10:30 AM
Am I missing something but how could the original flight being cancelled have anything to do with Asteras?

Backhander?
The Greek economy is quite corrupt, and unregulated compared to ours.
As somebody else said, Daz will sort it.

02-08-2018, 10:33 AM
Backhander?
The Greek economy is quite corrupt, and unregulated compared to ours.
As somebody else said, Daz will sort it.

Was the original airline Greek?

And how does a club that had to fly its players on a scheduled flight find the cash to bribe an airline?

02-08-2018, 10:39 AM

7.00 pm kick off UK time

02-08-2018, 11:08 AM

Apparently the airline crew were all mysteriously invited out to a Greek restaurant the night before the flight for some salmonella & tzatziki , they'll stop at nothing this lot :panic:

02-08-2018, 11:30 AM
Has not been warned about Greeks bearing gifts? [emoji849]

Hopefully we will make them eat humble π on the 'Greek pitch'.

02-08-2018, 11:33 AM
Hopefully we will make them eat humble π on the 'Greek pitch'.

I can't get Pi on my keyboard.

I must have the Beta version.

02-08-2018, 11:37 AM

You're going 2 hours in the wrong direction.

It's 7pm in the uk which is 9pm in Greece.

banchoryhibs
02-08-2018, 11:52 AM
The hotel cancellation was more than a bit suspect but the power cut in the second hotel was due to a lightning strike. The hotel management have apparently been superb throughout.
I have it on good authority that the players are quite relaxed and ready for the game.

Alfiembra
02-08-2018, 11:53 AM
Was the original airline Greek?

Think it was Delta

I'm Spartacus
02-08-2018, 12:06 PM
All the issues do seem a bit stinky, but the flight couldn't have been! Lets drop the paranoia and just horse them!

02-08-2018, 12:08 PM
I can't get Pi on my keyboard.

I must have the Beta version.

Didn't Blobby say you should go to the theta if you want entertainment?

02-08-2018, 12:17 PM
Players of course could do without all this distraction.
Hopefully just adds to their determination,if needed, to get through this tie.

A repeat of the Videoton away tie would be nice !

02-08-2018, 12:30 PM
Bloody foreigners. Up to all the tricks

Taking our joabs, benefits and electricity!

02-08-2018, 12:55 PM
O me gads!

Too many puns about the Greek alphabet on here.

02-08-2018, 01:05 PM
O me gads!

Too many puns about the Greek alphabet on here.

An intelligent thread, but most folk don't care one iota.

GreenProfessor
02-08-2018, 01:28 PM

I wish I nu before I started reading this thread it was going to turn into a punfest...

02-08-2018, 01:29 PM
745pm our time would be 945 local time.

I'm not a doctor, though. :greengrin
Of course it is. What a prat. Red face.

Chic Murray
02-08-2018, 01:32 PM
You're going 2 hours in the wrong direction.

It's 7pm in the uk which is 9pm in Greece.

Greece is three hours ahead of GMT (EET), I am in Holland (CET) - what time does the game start here? I think it is 7pm, but am very confused now.:confused:

02-08-2018, 01:34 PM
Greece is three hours ahead of GMT (EET), I am in Holland (CET) - what time does the game start here? I think it is 7pm, but am very confused now.:confused:

8pm dutch time

02-08-2018, 01:35 PM

UK is on BST, so it's 8pm.

02-08-2018, 01:36 PM
So 9pm Croatian time?

02-08-2018, 01:38 PM
So 9pm Croatian time?

And 8pm in Spain, but 7pm in Lanzarote

Chic Murray
02-08-2018, 01:38 PM

8pm dutch time

Thanks guys, I should add, that was bollocks about three hours ahead of GMT.

Watching via Virgin Go and a VPN. But have booked my wife's birthday meal for 19:30 here. Hopefully the restaurant has decent With Fi!

02-08-2018, 01:50 PM
Thanks guys, I should add, that was bollocks about three hours ahead of GMT.

Watching via Virgin Go and a VPN. But have booked my wife's birthday meal for 19:30 here. Hopefully the restaurant has decent With Fi!

It wisny. It is. :greengrin

Buy her chips with mayo. Works for me every time.

02-08-2018, 01:53 PM

I heard those cheating Greeks got in touch with their Government to move Greek time three hours ahead, so that the Hibs team would be late and the tie awarded to Asteris.

Is there no limit to how far they'll go to cheat Hibs out this game? It's all the tricks, from Alpha to Omega!!!

02-08-2018, 02:04 PM
Those cheating Greeks have now got Zeus to pee down!!:grr:

02-08-2018, 02:17 PM

Styx and stones may break my bones ...... an' a' that.

02-08-2018, 05:23 PM
I heard those cheating Greeks got in touch with their Government to move Greek time three hours ahead, so that the Hibs team would be late and the tie awarded to Asteris.

Is there no limit to how far they'll go to cheat Hibs out this game? It's all the tricks, from Alpha to Omega!!!

Hellas no fury like a Greek scorned.

02-08-2018, 06:29 PM
They are at it on the park too. Rattles oot the pram with every foul against them!

02-08-2018, 06:36 PM
The Greeks aren't as slow /wasting time as last week!

02-08-2018, 06:37 PM
What's with the ambulance siren in the stadium?

02-08-2018, 07:01 PM
What's with the ambulance siren in the stadium?2 sirens.

They're looking for Odysseus

Saturday Boy
02-08-2018, 08:06 PM
2 sirens.

They're looking for Odysseus

Seriously, your classics knowledge is wasted on here.

02-08-2018, 08:11 PM
Seriously, your classics knowledge is wasted on here.I've waited 45 ****ing years to find a use for it, though 🤣

I'll no be so clever in the next round......

Saturday Boy
02-08-2018, 08:25 PM
I've waited 45 ****ing years to find a use for it, though 🤣

I'll no be so clever in the next round......

😄 my Norwegian is limited to “stoorsooker” which means vacuum cleaner. And I might have misspelled it.😄

02-08-2018, 08:37 PM
[emoji1] my Norwegian is limited to “stoorsooker” which means vacuum cleaner. And I might have misspelled it.[emoji1]Once HibbyRadge gets back from Greece, he can crank up the Norwegian puns. [emoji16]