View Full Version : Question Coach to Molde

merseyhibs
01-08-2018, 05:46 PM
Been in touch with a few companies to go by coach.
Cost is approx £140 each
Leave Edinburgh Monday pm / Tuesday am.
Returning sometime after game.
Approx 38 hour drive.
If any interest please let me know.
Will have to act fast. ( also depends on tomorrow night )
I think we will go through so it leaves less than 2 weeks before traveling.

01-08-2018, 05:49 PM
The thought of a 38 hour bus is giving me the boak.

01-08-2018, 05:51 PM
Cost is approx £140 each
Approx 38 hour drive.

That would be some trip.

01-08-2018, 05:54 PM
Haha

38 hours

Sounds surreal

My longest stint on a bus was 20 hours when the snow hit Glasgow a few years ago. That was brutal.

01-08-2018, 05:54 PM
Which ports would the coach be using and does the 38 hours include the crossing?

01-08-2018, 05:55 PM
Cost is approx £140 each
Approx 38 hour drive.

Just being nosey, where are you crossing the North Sea. Hull?

JimboHibs
01-08-2018, 05:57 PM
Ha love these threads.

01-08-2018, 05:58 PM
Just being nosey, where are you crossing the North Sea. Hull?

I remember when Del boy went to Hull and back.

01-08-2018, 05:58 PM
Google Maps says it's 34 hours via Channel Tunnel, then up via Denmark then ferry to Norway

01-08-2018, 06:07 PM
There used to be a ferry from Newcastle to Bergen and Stavanger, not sure if that still runs, would probably be the best bet.

BegbieHSC
01-08-2018, 06:08 PM
Aw mate! 100% game. What a laugh that would be. Me + 1

01-08-2018, 06:13 PM
I've done a coach to Barcelona and Brugges. The time spent sitting is brutal but it's a good laugh.

If it was affordable then I'd be keen but I don't have £140 to spare right now. For anyone else thinking about it then do it.

SideBurns
01-08-2018, 06:18 PM
Went to see Hibs in Liege '89 and Brussels '92 on the bus - great laugh on the way there, in particular the ferry across, brutal on the way back!

Also went to Millwall on the bus in 1990 but the least said about that the better...

BegbieHSC
01-08-2018, 06:19 PM
“How do we get there, I don’t know; how do we get there, I don’t care - all I know is Hibs are on their way!!!”

So hope this happens.

merseyhibs
01-08-2018, 06:30 PM
I've done a coach to Barcelona and Brugges. The time spent sitting is brutal but it's a good laugh.

If it was affordable then I'd be keen but I don't have £140 to spare right now. For anyone else thinking about it then do it.

Let’s see what happens tomorrow night. Only just got the ball rolling with enquiries and seeing the interest. But better being proactive.

01-08-2018, 06:33 PM
Count me in if it's a goer

hibeg
01-08-2018, 07:08 PM
Let’s see what happens tomorrow night. Only just got the ball rolling with enquiries and seeing the interest. But better being proactive.

Haha. Did Strasbourg not put you off travelling by coach for life ! 😂

Eaststand
01-08-2018, 07:12 PM
Went to see Hibs in Liege '89 and Brussels '92 on the bus - great laugh on the way there, in particular the ferry across, brutal on the way back!

Also went to Millwall on the bus in 1990 but the least said about that the better...

I did those trips too, and yep, by coach they were long journeys, but a great laugh.

If we do progress into the next round, I'd def be interested in a couple of places on a coach to Molde

merseyhibs
01-08-2018, 07:26 PM
Haha. Did Strasbourg not put you off travelling by coach for life ! [emoji23]
Sitting next to you did [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

merseyhibs
01-08-2018, 07:27 PM
Sitting next to you did [emoji23][emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

Are you up for it ? Will talk tomorrow

NthCarolinaHibs
01-08-2018, 07:46 PM
Haha. Did Strasbourg not put you off travelling by coach for life ! 😂

Sunday night to Tuesday evening..was it no 🤔..

BegbieHSC
01-08-2018, 08:00 PM
Did the company say anything about whether it would be continuous driving using multiple drivers, or if there would be stops?

merseyhibs
01-08-2018, 08:16 PM
Did the company say anything about whether it would be continuous driving using multiple drivers, or if there would be stops?

No I’ve got the cost should get itinery tomorrow. The cost is good until Friday. So see how result goes !

01-08-2018, 08:21 PM
I can’t make up my mind whether this sounds amazing or horrendous :greengrin you could probably manage to go through three different hangovers on that bus before you got there.

01-08-2018, 08:32 PM
Reminds me of the Gene Pitney classic hit....
"38 hours from Molde"

I remember once getting the 26 bus from Clerry to Seton Sands.
Long enough for me
One the way back,i had pit stops at Scotties ,Mather's ,Toby Harp and the Rainbow.
Was fleeing by the time i got hame.

Knew a guy though who was terrified of flying and use to get the coach to Spain for his annual holiday.
Stock of Smirnoff vodka helped him sleep.

HibbyDave
01-08-2018, 08:37 PM
Can I use my bus pass for this trip?

01-08-2018, 08:38 PM
Which ferry port would it go through?

01-08-2018, 08:50 PM
Festival starts this weekend, it takes about 38 hours to get from the gyle to Leith on the bus so that doesn’t sound too bad.

01-08-2018, 08:58 PM
Festival starts this weekend, it takes about 38 hours to get from the gyle to Leith on the bus so that doesn’t sound too bad.

Went from Aberdeen to Malaga return - with a trip to Seville in between - for the 1982 World Cup. Never again.

norhfc
01-08-2018, 09:21 PM
There is no direct ferry route anymore, interested to see the itinerary is.

01-08-2018, 09:25 PM
There is no direct ferry route anymore, interested to see the itinerary is.

It’s got to be via Hull surely

01-08-2018, 09:28 PM
Went from Aberdeen to Malaga return - with a trip to Seville in between - for the 1982 World Cup. Never again.Never again you`re probably right . Scotland may not qualify for a WC again and Spain won`t be hosting a WC for a long time either . In 1982 flights even in Europe were expensive and complicated which is why you took a bus . Not very comfortable but if you`d taken a flight you`d have forgotten about trip within a couple of weeks instead of reminiscing about it 36 years later . IF we get through tomorrow night , fans who go by land and sea to Norway / Albania will have lifelong memories of travel ( good and bad memories ) .

01-08-2018, 09:35 PM
"38 hours from Molde"

Long enough for me
One the way back,i had pit stops at Scotties ,Mather's ,Toby Harp and the Rainbow.

Knew a guy though who was terrified of flying and use to get the coach to Spain for his annual holiday.
Stock of Smirnoff vodka helped him sleep.There are a few Hibs fans who travel by train from southern Spain and Portugal for cup finals . At least one of them has been to every LC and SC final this century . Even with high - speed trains a much longer and probably more expensive trip than those done by fans who travel from Australia , New Zealand etc .

01-08-2018, 09:51 PM
There is no direct ferry route anymore, interested to see the itinerary is.Newcastle to Amsterdam then train . Not sure if Harwich to Hoek of Holland ( Rotterdam ) still exists . Up to Denmark then ferry or train . See seat61.com for routes . Doubt bus would be faster or cheaper than train including Eurostar ( now to Amsterdam ? ) . Great trip if possible between St Johnstone and Ross County matches . 40 years ago it was possible to get to Norrkoping by ferry from Newcastle and back without missing a league match so it should be possible now .

01-08-2018, 11:36 PM
Not sure how feasible it is at that price- but would definitely be interested.

01-08-2018, 11:50 PM
It’s got to be via Hull surely

Newcastle to Amsterdam would be quicker?

02-08-2018, 06:42 AM
You wouldn’t be sitting much anyway, just taking your place in the constant queue for a pish.

02-08-2018, 06:54 AM
"38 hours from Molde"

Long enough for me

Stock of Smirnoff vodka helped him sleep.

Mick, the 26 bus from Clerry is legendary.. "You take the 26 bus all the way round .." :wink:

02-08-2018, 07:17 AM
Newcastle to Amsterdam would be quicker?

Didn’t know they did that route, but yes would be quicker

02-08-2018, 07:42 AM
Can I use my bus pass for this trip?

That's a cracker!

02-08-2018, 08:55 AM
Went to a Scotland game v Switzerland (stayed in Offenburg, a brilliant wee place in The Black Forest) in the early 90s by bus, as well as The Sphere Travel trip to Liege via Brussels, happy days. Not sure I could face it now but, it would be some experience.

norhfc
02-08-2018, 09:24 AM
Does anyone know (if we get through) when the away leg would be confirmed, Friday morning ??

asking for a friend :greengrin

02-08-2018, 09:32 AM
Does anyone know (if we get through) when the away leg would be confirmed, Friday morning ??

asking for a friend :greengrin

Can't believe anyone is even contemplating this question. Tonight is gonna be a very very difficult game. Ridiculous to talk of travel to future games.

02-08-2018, 09:39 AM
Can't believe anyone is even contemplating this question. Tonight is gonna be a very very difficult game. Ridiculous to talk of travel to future games.

Calm down a bit, I'm sure we're all well aware how tough it'll be. I suppose the Tripolis manager sticking sheets of A4 he has downloaded from .net on the dressing room walls could make it trickier right enough.

norhfc
02-08-2018, 10:13 AM

Agreed, very difficult indeed tonight, but when we only have 1 or 2 weeks to plan a trip we really need to have some sort of contingency plan to book flights etc.
If all goes well tonight there wil be a couple of hundred Hibs looking at flights to Molde right after the final whistle.

02-08-2018, 12:11 PM
Mick, the 26 bus from Clerry is legendary.. "You take the 26 bus all the way round .." :wink:

Hi Stevie
Aye,happy days indeed :agree:

Well.the ones i can remember,that is.!

Oh. Keep up the good work .:aok:

02-08-2018, 01:01 PM
Be extremely interested in this, 38 hrs on a bus? So what, every Jan I drive to Spain or Portugal Algarve for 2 months holiday so bus journey when I can relax, drink and just generally chill out with no driving sounds great to me. Happy days, just need to win/draw tonight.

02-08-2018, 07:56 PM
Take my money we're on our way.

Count me in +1 please

BegbieHSC
02-08-2018, 07:58 PM
Bump! Me + 1 confirmed!!!!! Yasssz

hail1875hail
02-08-2018, 07:59 PM
Interested in this +3

Eaststand
02-08-2018, 08:01 PM
Cost is approx £140 each
Approx 38 hour drive.

Yeeeeha, and the Hibs go marching on

Merseyhibs, as per my earlier post on this thread, please add me + andy1875 for places on your coach mate.

andrew70
02-08-2018, 08:03 PM
3 of us interested

Col_0762
02-08-2018, 08:04 PM
Yeeeeha, and the Hibs go marching on

Merseyhibs, as per my earlier post on this thread, please add me + andy1875 for places on your coach mate.

7 of us defo

02-08-2018, 08:06 PM
2 of us interested, depending on details

burtis97
02-08-2018, 08:06 PM
me +1 defo

02-08-2018, 08:07 PM
if its a goer then ill take 2 seats depending on the schedule

loanhead hibs
02-08-2018, 08:09 PM
Me plus 1 if it's a goer

02-08-2018, 08:14 PM
Not a lover of long bus journeys as I have long legs but if the other routes are too expensive for this OAP then can I be first to book the middle seat in the back row? Seriously I would be up for this, or similar, me + 1 (if it's a goer).

02-08-2018, 08:37 PM
if its a goer then ill take 2 seats depending on the schedule

Apparently the coach will return at some time after the game :dunno::greengrin.

02-08-2018, 08:41 PM
Count me IN +1

02-08-2018, 08:45 PM
What’s the dates?

merseyhibs
02-08-2018, 09:29 PM
Quick update we have 27 names

BegbieHSC
02-08-2018, 09:34 PM

Brilliant! Get signed up, folks! This will be class.

02-08-2018, 09:35 PM

That’s great, but could with a bit more info please if you can
Approx departure date and time
Route
Do we have an overnight anywhere in a hotel?
Arrival back in Edinburgh
Thanks

Ozzy1875
02-08-2018, 09:35 PM
Put my name down + 1 please

02-08-2018, 09:38 PM
Route
Thanks

More importantly is there a toilet on the bus and will it be stopping if not.

Neo167
02-08-2018, 09:50 PM
Put me down + 2

merseyhibs
02-08-2018, 10:35 PM
Route
Thanks

Hi Billy
Talking to coach company tomorrow for details and checking numbers on bus.

merseyhibs
02-08-2018, 10:36 PM
More importantly is there a toilet on the bus and will it be stopping if not.

Yes got to be

02-08-2018, 10:41 PM
Yes got to be

38 hrs on a bus.....the smell! :greengrin

Mainstandman
02-08-2018, 10:50 PM
Me plus 2.

BegbieHSC
02-08-2018, 11:02 PM
Would expect the numbers to shoot up, once those in Tripoli are no longer too pished to look at their phones 😂

MagicSwirlingShip
03-08-2018, 12:44 AM
Myself and a few mates are looking at taking a minibus, what route would this bus take? Interested in joining the convoy!

Nevi_SOL
03-08-2018, 12:54 AM
Me

03-08-2018, 01:51 AM
Add me please.

brythehibby
03-08-2018, 06:02 AM
Me plus 1 please

WeeDundeeHibee
03-08-2018, 08:14 AM
Can I provisionally book 2 places?

Thanks

03-08-2018, 08:19 AM
Hi Billy
Talking to coach company tomorrow for details and checking numbers on bus.

Good man. I’ll hold off booking anything else, until o hear bs k from you
Thanks for having a go at this

03-08-2018, 08:37 AM
Would be interested to know the details.

03-08-2018, 08:37 AM
Has the bus left yet?

03-08-2018, 08:45 AM
Do you get loyalty points for this ?

03-08-2018, 10:51 AM
Two for me subject to full details.

ArmadaleHibs
03-08-2018, 11:05 AM
I’ll take two seats subject to details also please, thanks

03-08-2018, 11:11 AM
If I was to turn up with 15 small bottles of strangely clear bottles of Diet Coke, I assume that wouldn’t be an issue.....

not that I can afford to go, unfortunately

03-08-2018, 11:15 AM
I’ll take two seats subject to details also please, thanks

Is that so you can lie down mate? Good planning :greengrin

ArmadaleHibs
03-08-2018, 11:20 AM
Is that so you can lie down mate? Good planning :greengrin

Never thought of that lol

03-08-2018, 11:23 AM
Holy smoke......is this coach trip in aid of charity! Remember my parents taking me to Spain back in the day on a coach, most miserable experience of my young life at that point. I'd struggle to cope with a 2 hour flight with my hangovers, 36 hour bus journey would end me!😂

merseyhibs
03-08-2018, 02:35 PM
Sorry for delay Details are coming out tonight. We have worked so hard on this. !

Eaststand
03-08-2018, 02:37 PM
Sorry for delay Details are coming out tonight. We have worked so hard on this. !

Thanks for the effort you're putting into this and I'm looking forward to the details bud

03-08-2018, 02:38 PM

Have you no just phoned a bus company?

You could get a job at my work with talk like that :wink:

03-08-2018, 02:39 PM

Good man

ArmadaleHibs
03-08-2018, 02:47 PM
Thanks for your efforts MH. Excited already lol

03-08-2018, 02:49 PM
Thanks for your efforts billyW. Excited already lol

Nothing to do with me, it’s Merseyhibs who’s organising it

ArmadaleHibs
03-08-2018, 02:50 PM
Cheers Merseyhibs

03-08-2018, 02:58 PM

Great work mate. Really looking forward to it if it goes ahead.

BegbieHSC
03-08-2018, 03:29 PM

Great stuff! So excited for this to happen.

03-08-2018, 05:56 PM
Defo interested dependent on details

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

merseyhibs
03-08-2018, 06:04 PM
Hi folks.
I posted on Wednesday if there was interest about running a bus to Molde.
I looked into it and got costs of 5/7 k for 50 seater.
After further talks with the company I established they were “gob *****s “
I will post the quote from company for people to avoid.
However after numerous phone calls and emails I have managed to get 72 seater.
Leave Edinburgh 1am on the 13th , to catch ferry to Amsterdam with overnight stay (extra)
Leave Amsterdam for Copenhagen with overnight stay ( extra)
Next day leave for Molde and arrive early morning on match day.
Then leave
After game with 1 night stay (tba)
Arrive back in Edinburgh on 18th
I still have the operator working on fine tuning times over the weekend.
There is 2 drivers on the coach which is a luxury double decker
COST is £290
Accommodation I’ve been told is about 50 per night , not confirmed think we can get cheaper and not sure if that is a room yet.
I was totally mislead by the first crowd and like I say I will post the original quote.
It’s debate but been assured it a once in a lifetime trip.
If there is still interest let me know and I will forward questions etc to the operator.
Thanks
Keith

03-08-2018, 06:18 PM
Merseyhibs, thanks for all your work in getting this quote
Can I just ask you to clarify a few things for me, as per my understanding of your post

Leaving on Monday 1am. Which route are you taking you Amsterdam, Newcastle?
Overnight in Amsterdam on Monday night (13th)
Overnight in Copenhagen on Tuesday night (14th)
I’m presuming the Wednesday night will be overnight on the bus?

Also do they think they can get back to Edinburgh on the Saturday, as it’s taking a lot quicker to get home, than on the way out?

03-08-2018, 06:24 PM
If I go on the bus I'd be going by myself so if anyone wants to join me booking accommodation or anything to make it cheaper send me a dm to discuss. Looking at prices for accommodation for 1 is putting me off going for the cost

03-08-2018, 06:27 PM
That sounds brilliant, wish I could go.

merseyhibs
03-08-2018, 08:08 PM
Merseyhibs, thanks for all your work in getting this quote
Can I just ask you to clarify a few things for me, as per my understanding of your post

Leaving on Monday 1am. Which route are you taking you Amsterdam, Newcastle?
Overnight in Amsterdam on Monday night (13th)
Overnight in Copenhagen on Tuesday night (14th)
I’m presuming the Wednesday night will be overnight on the bus?

Also do they think they can get back to Edinburgh on the Saturday, as it’s taking a lot quicker to get home, than on the way out?

Maybe it’s getting on n ferry I will ask. Sure the guy said Harwich

03-08-2018, 08:57 PM
So 290 quid in total ?

burtis97
03-08-2018, 08:58 PM
Im gathering 290 for coach travel plus roughly £150 accommodation so £440 in total?

03-08-2018, 09:02 PM
Ferry looks over £100 alone if I'm looking at the right one

BegbieHSC
03-08-2018, 10:25 PM
Hi folks.
Leave Edinburgh 1am on the 13th , to catch ferry to Amsterdam with overnight stay (extra)
Then leave
COST is £290
Accommodation I’ve been told is about 50 per night , not confirmed think we can get cheaper and not sure if that is a room yet.
I was totally mislead by the first crowd and like I say I will post the original quote.
If there is still interest let me know and I will forward questions etc to the operator.
Thanks
Keith

Thanks Keith,

Sounds good. If you get any further info on accommodation etc, let us know.

04-08-2018, 08:18 AM
Wonder how many toilet stops there will be!

You can have a bowel movement anywhere from one to three times a day at the most, or three times a week at the least, and still be considered regular, as long as that's your usual pattern. Irregular eating / drinking patterns may influence the above!!!

04-08-2018, 10:00 AM
metaeyhibs, I’m going to say no to the bus unfortunately
Trip will have me away for longer that I can manage

Hope you get enough to be able to do
Thanks for your work on this, and good luck

Eaststand
04-08-2018, 10:41 AM
Hi folks.
Then leave
COST is £290
Thanks
Keith

Hi Keith
Ta for the info and all the effort you've put into this.
I'm not able to go to the game on your coach, and wish you all the best bud.

I wrongly assumed the travel plans would be along the lines of:- a coach from Edinburgh to Newcastle/Hull, overnight ferry to Amsterdam (Ijmuden) then using 2 drivers, motoring up to Norway.
The Itinerary that you've listed would mean too many costly overnight stops, so that's the main reason why I'll pass.

Good luck on the trip

merseyhibs
04-08-2018, 02:39 PM
Hi Keith

I wrongly assumed the travel plans would be along the lines of:- a coach from Edinburgh to Newcastle/Hull, overnight ferry to Amsterdam (Ijmuden) then using 2 drivers, motoring up to Norway.
The Itinerary that you've listed would mean too many costly overnight stops, so that's the main reason why I'll pass.

Good luck on the trip

Thanks for coming back. [emoji106]

merseyhibs
04-08-2018, 02:40 PM
metaeyhibs, I’m going to say no to the bus unfortunately
Trip will have me away for longer that I can manage

Hope you get enough to be able to do
Thanks for your work on this, and good luck

Thanks for coming back [emoji106]

04-08-2018, 02:51 PM
Hi Keith

Good luck on the trip

Same for us too.

ArmadaleHibs
04-08-2018, 02:53 PM
I will unfortunately have to withdraw from travelling on the bus MH. Managed to get to Molde via Oslo and stanstead for £380 including hotels in Oslo and Molde. Fly out stanstead 15th to Oslo Ryanair. Spend one night Oslo. Fly to Molde 16th early morning Norwegian air, arrive Molde 0900. Stay one night Molde, Return same route 17th. That’s £380 each for party of 3. Getting to stanstead by car is around £80 return and parking around £25

I think all in we are £420.

If anyone wants to look at that journey and can book same flights there is a space in my car to stanstead and back. Pm me for flight details and hotels

04-08-2018, 02:54 PM

Price dependant I'm interested.

Col_0762
04-08-2018, 03:18 PM
Hi Keith

Good luck on the trip

Same for our 7, unfortunately. Cheers.

04-08-2018, 03:27 PM
Are folk seriously, in 2018, thinking about spending 30+ hours or whatever on a coach?
Each to their own and all that but bugger me there must be a less onerous way.

Sadly this time of year is a big no no for last minute annual leave at my work so I'll just need to watch people's travel plans develop with increasing jealousy.

04-08-2018, 03:41 PM
Not a lover of long bus journeys as I have long legs but if the other routes are too expensive for this OAP then can I be first to book the middle seat in the back row? Seriously I would be up for this, or similar, me + 1 (if it's a goer).

Sorry - will have to drop out, too many days/overnights unfortunately.

04-08-2018, 03:47 PM
Wonder if the problem is a bus can’t get on the ferry from newcasle to Amsterdam?
If it could, would shorten the journey

04-08-2018, 03:57 PM
Sorry - will have to drop out, too many days/overnights unfortunately.

Unfortunately me too also. Sorry

Eaststand
04-08-2018, 04:33 PM
Wonder if the problem is a bus can’t get on the ferry from newcasle to Amsterdam?
If it could, would shorten the journey

You may be right Billy.

I realise the Newcastle and Hull crossings are slightly longer, therefore more expensive than the Harwich crossing.

But, I reckon the overnight Newcastle or Hull crossings to Amsterdam would have been popular routes, and also a great laugh onboard the Ferry ( as were the Liege and Anderlecht games crossings :-))

Mainstandman
04-08-2018, 04:55 PM
Just gonna be too long away from work for me, thanks for the effort though

merseyhibs
04-08-2018, 08:38 PM
Guys. unfortunately this looks like a no go due to lack of interest. If anybody wants to take this further PM me and I will forward you the quote and coach details.
Thanks for all your interest

04-08-2018, 08:39 PM
Guys. unfortunately this looks like a no go due to lack of interest. If anybody wants to take this further PM me and I will forward you the quote and coach details.

That’s a shame
Appreciate your efforts on looking at this merseyhibs

bodhibs
04-08-2018, 08:44 PM

How many dots do you have, how many would make it viable?