View Full Version : Prediction time - will Hibs get through to face Molde

01-08-2018, 05:46 PM
Thoughts for tomorrow

01-08-2018, 05:54 PM
Unpredictable tomorrow. Hoping we do it but those two away goals that Asteras got might come back to haunt us. Plus there home record in Europe is pretty good

01-08-2018, 05:56 PM
2-1 for the cabbage :nlgwa

01-08-2018, 06:01 PM
The heat is going to be a real handicap. It's melting here is in Zante and it'll be even hotter in the mountains.

I expect us to wilt. :boo hoo:

01-08-2018, 06:04 PM
Where's the draw game and qualify option?

01-08-2018, 06:04 PM
I think we will score, but I don't have any faith in Bogdan to keep a clean sheet. I don't care how many he concedes, as long as we get through - I reckon 2-2.

Sent from my G3311 using Tapatalk

MichelleHibs
01-08-2018, 06:13 PM
wheres the draw 0-0 or 5-5 options lol?!

01-08-2018, 06:29 PM
Where's the draw game and qualify option?

:grr: dam, schoolboy error.

Thought I had all permutations, but missed out the draw. :faf:

01-08-2018, 06:30 PM
2 or 3-1 them :tin hat: our keepers mistake(s) last week will cost us imo, i actually thought the minute they scored it would cost us....clean sheets at home very important in close european games :agree:

but anyway, mon the cabbage :thumbsup::flag: hope everyone that travels savours the experience

01-08-2018, 06:31 PM
I think we will lose. I'm hanging onto the hope of another brofnby away kind of performance where mcginn and Gray play out their skins and that kamberi makes it.

01-08-2018, 07:48 PM
We will go through.

01-08-2018, 07:52 PM
That 3rd goal last week could be crucial and allows us any draw tomorrow to go through.

1-1 and Hibs to qualify.

01-08-2018, 07:54 PM
4-2 loss unfortunately. Hope I'm wrong.

jakedance
01-08-2018, 07:58 PM
I think we’ll go through. Impossible to predict a score with this team though - could be anything. Two pretty evenly matched teams, we’ll need to play well.

01-08-2018, 08:40 PM
2-0 Asteras. I was wrong last time though.

01-08-2018, 08:43 PM
We might score a goal but if a bunch of fisherman can score four against us then it does not bode well for our chances, just hope it's not embarrassing.

01-08-2018, 08:45 PM
I think we won't go through, mainly because of how bad the defence was in the first half last week. That said I have been totally wrong before and hopefully I'm wrong again.

01-08-2018, 08:55 PM
We might score a goal but if a bunch of fisherman can score four against us then it does not bode well for our chances, just hope it's not embarrassing.

A bunch of fishermen scored against a makeshift defence that won't be playing tomorrow night.

We still shouldn't have shipped 4 goals the other week but tomorrow we'll have our strongest team out which wasn't the case against Runavik.

EastCalderHibby
01-08-2018, 09:01 PM
0 1 hibs hanlon from a corner :thumbsup:
:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

01-08-2018, 09:03 PM
0 1 hibs hanlon from a corner :thumbsup:
:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

What is Hanlon doing taking corners?

01-08-2018, 09:28 PM
2-1 Asteras. Another heroic failure and exit via the away goals rule.

We make an awful start, give ourselves too much to do then play brilliantly but fall a bit short.

DetroitHibs
01-08-2018, 09:32 PM
2-1 Asteras. Another heroic failure and exit via the away goals rule.

We make an awful start, give ourselves too much to do then play brilliantly but fall a bit short.

Same. Think we lose 2-1

01-08-2018, 09:35 PM
Unpredictable tomorrow. Hoping we do it but those two away goals that Asteras got might come back to haunt us. Plus there home record in Europe is pretty good
My thoughts exactly.

YanYansen
01-08-2018, 09:37 PM
Unfortunately, shipping two at home ****ed it, imo.

01-08-2018, 09:40 PM
Would be surprised if we progress tomorrow. No faith in Bogdan either

Flynn
01-08-2018, 09:43 PM
We only lost to Celtic once in the league last season and they are a far better team than the Greeks. We'll win this.

We've got better footballers. Even at 2-0 down last week I didn't think they were better team. They got lucky with a near post shot/cross our keeper should've dealt with and a cracking strike that 9 out 10 times would fly over the bar or wide. Honestly don't think they're any better than Kilmarnock or Motherwell.

2-1 Hibs (5-3)

Delboy4
01-08-2018, 09:52 PM
Mallan to come good and score a couple AGAIN

nellio
01-08-2018, 09:54 PM
Nil nil for me.

Rocky
01-08-2018, 09:54 PM
Do away goals count double in extra time?

01-08-2018, 09:55 PM
tin Hat firmly on. It all depends on which team NL puts out. First half team from last week and we’ll get spanked, second half team and Hibs actually want it can see us winning 2-0

01-08-2018, 09:56 PM

Don’t think so, but you can make a 4th sub in extra time

01-08-2018, 10:01 PM
Noone even considering getting through but playing Albanian team ? Temperatures rising in southern Europe , Molde may not find it so easy to defend 3 v 0 .

CathroMustStay
01-08-2018, 10:04 PM
Draw.

Guaranteed.

andybev1
01-08-2018, 10:45 PM
Hope we can get a score draw. Hopefully the mini heatwave we have had recently will help in the Greek evening heat tomorrow.

AZhibee
01-08-2018, 10:52 PM
1-1, a real nail biter, Shaw equalizer in the 76th minute.

01-08-2018, 10:58 PM
I’m going tor 2-2. I was right the first leg so hoping I am this one too!

heid the baw
01-08-2018, 11:03 PM
We need to score to have any chance.
An early away goal and we will likely do it.
0-0 is not going to happen.

BegbieHSC
01-08-2018, 11:05 PM
I’m calling a 4-4 thriller.

01-08-2018, 11:20 PM

Away goals have never ‘counted double’. If it ends up level on agregate after 90 minutes the team with the most away goals goes through. If it ends up 5-5 then I think it goes to extra time and penalties.

The away goals count only in extra time only applies in the English League Cup.

01-08-2018, 11:39 PM
High score draw & March on.

02-08-2018, 02:25 AM
The heat is going to be a real handicap. It's melting here is in Zante and it'll be even hotter in the mountains.

No mr radge I expect you to die.

02-08-2018, 02:57 AM
Unfortunately, shipping two at home ****ed it, imo.

That’s what I concluded too when the second goal went in.

02-08-2018, 06:14 AM
2 - 1 Asteras if I buy wifi on my flight to keep up to date

3 - 0 to the Hibs if I try to pretend it isnt happening and manage to check the score in a day or two whilst I'm in the middle of a jungle.

Sorry guys, this one is on me if it happens.

Greenworld
02-08-2018, 06:14 AM
I’m going tor 2-2. I was right the first leg so hoping I am this one too!I had a dream 2-2 both Mallan free kicks [emoji848] I better stick a bet on [emoji23]

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

02-08-2018, 06:37 AM
As far as I am concerned this is last chance saloon for Bogdan and even Laidlaw for that matter. I am hoping whoever is handed the gloves can rise to the challenge and put on an outstanding performance and put down a marker a declaration of intent a genuine challenge to Rocky for the coming season. It is going to be a busy night and calm heads will be required I would even condone taking time over bykicks etc tactics that opposition teams usually employ against us at ER. I am sorry to sound so negative on this thread I am happy with the rest of the team I hope Flo makes it confident new recruits will be added in next few days but to me the goalkeeping position is a worry. I hope I am proved to be wrong!

02-08-2018, 09:29 AM
Chances are they will score several, but so might we. I can therefore see it being another 3-2 on the night, 5-5 agg. If so, the head says the heat might then catch up with us. The heart of course says different.

02-08-2018, 09:33 AM
Don’t think so, but you can make a 4th sub in extra time

Do you still get the extra sub even if you don't use all 3 in the 90 minutes?

i.e could you make no subs and then make 4 changes in extra time?

02-08-2018, 09:35 AM

The forecast is about 5 degrees C cooler for Tripoli compared to Zante.

Actually, forecast for kick off time is 22 degs C, which is exactly the same as last week!

Bangkok Hibby
02-08-2018, 09:40 AM
1-1 or 2-1 Hibs.....we're through :flag:

02-08-2018, 09:43 AM
Do you still get the extra sub even if you don't use all 3 in the 90 minutes?

i.e could you make no subs and then make 4 changes in extra time?

I’m presuming you can, but a great question

02-08-2018, 09:45 AM
2-0 Asteras sadly.

02-08-2018, 09:45 AM
Yes

02-08-2018, 09:58 AM
I said we'd win 3-1 or 3-2 in the 1st leg.

I can see us losing 2-1 or drawing 2-2 tonight so eithrr agonising failure or a great win in the tie.

I think the players need to remember that losing a goal isn't catastrophic as scoring 1 would still be enough in that scenario. Throughout the game as long as remain within 1 goal then we are only a goal for ourselves away from qualifying so I think that has to be a positive.

An early goal for us would be superb as it leaves them needing 2 and we are good enough to punish teams on the break.

02-08-2018, 10:11 AM
Sadly I think we'll go out.

The conditions coupled with the Greek side having considerably more European experience and nous will probably tell.

The comeback last week was brilliant but it was that first half performance and team set up that I expect to cost us this tie. Frustrating as I think we're a better team than they are.

Would ****** love to be wrong!

02-08-2018, 10:11 AM
Havnt voted yet , im torn between Sir David Gray scoring the goal that puts us through or Bogdan throwing the 1 in the net that knocks us out .

02-08-2018, 10:13 AM
Think we’ll hump them as long as we don’t start with Slivka at RWB.

02-08-2018, 10:14 AM
As far as I am concerned this is last chance saloon for Bogdan and even Laidlaw for that matter. I am hoping whoever is handed the gloves can rise to the challenge and put on an outstanding performance and put down a marker a declaration of intent a genuine challenge to Rocky for the coming season. It is going to be a busy night and calm heads will be required I would even condone taking time over bykicks etc tactics that opposition teams usually employ against us at ER. I am sorry to sound so negative on this thread I am happy with the rest of the team I hope Flo makes it confident new recruits will be added in next few days but to me the goalkeeping position is a worry. I hope I am proved to be wrong!

Last chance saloon in your second competitive game for a club.

02-08-2018, 10:18 AM
Draw and go through.

02-08-2018, 10:21 AM
I think we are going out. 2 away goals has made it very difficult.

02-08-2018, 10:27 AM
Last chance saloon in your second competitive game for a club.

4th ;)

02-08-2018, 10:33 AM
4th ;)

Lol the other two seemed to get lumped in with the friendlies in my mind.

Anyway, I think we’ll get a hard earned 1-1 draw.

02-08-2018, 05:23 PM
Bump - last chance before the game starts

02-08-2018, 05:26 PM
I had a dream 2-2 both Mallan free kicks [emoji848] I better stick a bet on [emoji23]

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

12/1 😉

Rocky
02-08-2018, 05:48 PM
Away goals have never ‘counted double’. If it ends up level on agregate after 90 minutes the team with the most away goals goes through. If it ends up 5-5 then I think it goes to extra time and penalties.

The away goals count only in extra time only applies in the English League Cup.

I checked the rules on UEFA website. Aye they do (in the event of a tie in extra time obviously). Extract below:

If both
teams score the same number of goals during extra time, away goals count
double (i.e. the visiting team qualifies). If no goals are scored during extra time,
kicks from the penalty mark determine which team qualifies for the next stage.

02-08-2018, 05:49 PM
1-1 Mallan

SonOfDavidFrancey
02-08-2018, 08:20 PM
I think we will go through call me mystic francey

02-08-2018, 08:26 PM
Sooo, it looks like the missing choice in the poll was the winner then