View Full Version : Hearts v ICT

Pages : 1 [2]

29-07-2018, 05:19 PM
This all threads went a bit Kickback for my liking. Some people sound like they do when disregarding us. I think they'll be better than they were last year, but its definitely not the time to put guarantees on it.

29-07-2018, 05:21 PM
Hearts are still crap to watch (I know, I know they just won 5:0).
Levein can't change his spots, will always be playing hoofball up to whichever interchangeable big laddie he has. They might occasionally have a decent midfielder, but nothing really inventive. The wing backd looked good today, but won't get that space in the top league.

10 points plus gap again 👍

29-07-2018, 05:23 PM
This all threads went a bit Kickback for my liking. Some people sound like they do when disregarding us.

It’s just a counter position to the bt sport fanfare we listened to this afternoon

29-07-2018, 05:24 PM
Cancel all bets they have won the treble already.

29-07-2018, 05:25 PM
Wait and see. They were absolutely miles behind us last season but a good result today. Have a feeling they will be better this season, but 18 points closer to us? I'm not sure...We've got at least 10 signings to make before we can even dream of equalling Hearts this season. Thought you frequented Kickback have you not educated yourself?!

HelmutSchlong
29-07-2018, 05:27 PM
Let’s put it this way. So far they have massively improved on where they were this time last season, added to the fact they were deducted 2 points this year and they have still qualified

Have they shown improvement from last year? Yes, undoubtedly

Do I think they will finish above us? No

Do I fancy us to finish 18+ points ahead of them again? At this stage then no I don’t, as we have seen in the 4 Europa qualifiers already this season we are very very suspect at the back, bordering on abysmal

Let’s see where they are come May

29-07-2018, 05:28 PM
This all threads went a bit Kickback for my liking. Some people sound like they do when disregarding us.

It’s just a counter position to the bt sport fanfare we listened to this afternoon

HelmutSchlong
29-07-2018, 05:32 PM

The BT commentators and pundits can only comment on the game they were watching with the two teams who were competing

Hearts were excellent in what they were up against just as ICT were poor in what they were up against.

What do people expect the TV pundits to talk about it if not on what the product that was put in front of them

29-07-2018, 05:36 PM
They looked better actually tried to pass the ball in midfield though not wholly convinced by some of their new players will score goals and attacking options better and Naismith will be better this season.

Velma Dinkley
29-07-2018, 05:43 PM
How many competitive games have Hearts played this season? How many did they play well in and how many were they abysmal in?

29-07-2018, 06:26 PM
The BT commentators and pundits can only comment on the game they were watching with the two teams who were competing

Hearts were excellent in what they were up against just as ICT were poor in what they were up against.

What do people expect the TV pundits to talk about it if not on what the product that was put in front of them

Talking with a bit of perspective would be a start

A decent hearts performance was greatly exaggerated by a very poor defencive display from caley

4 out of the 5 goals were easily stoppable (but credit to the free kick)

But the commentators were speaking about hearts like they’re world beaters

29-07-2018, 06:27 PM
Let’s put it this way. So far they have massively improved on where they were this time last season, added to the fact they were deducted 2 points this year and they have still qualified

Have they shown improvement from last year? Yes, undoubtedly

Do I think they will finish above us? No

Do I fancy us to finish 18+ points ahead of them again? At this stage then no I don’t, as we have seen in the 4 Europa qualifiers already this season we are very very suspect at the back, bordering on abysmal

Let’s see where they are come May

Wouldn’t be difficult to show improvement from last year tbh! They have a scattergun approach to transfers and have done so for the last few seasons. They have still to finish their mega stand, complete the nursery and finished 18 points behind us.

They don’t care about that though... the only thing they care about is beating us, not the bigger picture. This was evident at the end of last season when they celebrated like they had won the league when they stopped us finishing 2nd.

The qualified through default imho and if the powers that be had the bottle and did their jobs correctly they would have been out regardless of today’s result.

You also need to bear in mind they have played a non league team, a team that finished bottom of the pile, a league 1 team and ICT.

They should be beating all these teams convincing so if you think they’ve improved massively then so be it.

29-07-2018, 06:43 PM
Look better than last season and took their goals well but still a mid-table outfit IMO. ICT defence was worse than any we saw in the Prem last season and they completely capitulated once they went behind. Most Prem sides would not do that.

Would expect Hearts to bounce back this season but it's far too early to judge how far they can go.

29-07-2018, 06:48 PM
When is the open top bus parade through town? Going by something’s I’m reading, the Georgie Galatico’s have just won the league cup.

29-07-2018, 07:15 PM
Just had a look at his Wikipedia as everyone seems to be drooling over him. 19 goals in 2 years at English League two team Cambridge United and 12 goals in the previous 5 years at various lower league teams. 31 goals in 7 years? Cant be right surely?

The fact he's signed for Hearts for probably not much more money than he was on at Cambridge also indicates he couldn't find another lower league English club interested in him.

Simon Murray scored a barrowload for us in the League Cup last season but couldn't maintain that sort of strike rate in the Premiership. Too early to say whether this guy will be much more than just another Levein big target man. And far too early to claim Hearts are 'massively' improved on last season based on the mediocre opposition they have faced.

29-07-2018, 07:17 PM
Allan Preston on the BBC website...

“Hopefully we've got a Hearts team that are going to challenge Aberdeen, Rangers, Celtic and Kilmarnock who all finished above them last season.”

Forgetting someone Allan?

Have just listened to the podcast and he actually mentions Hibs where you've got Celtic and he mentions Celtic after Kilmarnock. He's still a numpty though.

JT Fae The Toon
29-07-2018, 08:45 PM
They have played cove, raith, cowdenbeath and ICT. How anyone can say they have improved from last season based on those games?

We qualified from the group this season, last year we didn't.

It's not rocket science.

29-07-2018, 08:53 PM

It's not rocket science.

Were all the teams you played this season exactly the same standard as the group stages last season?

If Inverness this season were as good as Dunfermline last season you may have been in the same situation.

29-07-2018, 08:56 PM

It's not rocket science.

Would rocket science help sort out the debate as to whether or not needing to cheat your way to victory over Cove Rangers in order to progress represents that much of an improvement on playing fair and getting papped out by Peterhead?

HelmutSchlong
29-07-2018, 08:56 PM
Launch the yam fud

29-07-2018, 09:06 PM
Would rocket science help sort out the debate as to whether or not needing to cheat your way to victory over Cove Rangers in order to progress represents that much of an improvement on playing fair and getting papped out by Peterhead?

Steady. Failing to register a player's incompetence, shirley, rather than cheating? The mistake should have put them out of the competition, for sure, but they hardly set out to gain an unfair advantage.

29-07-2018, 09:11 PM
Big team wee cup
Wee team Europe

Can we sing this at derbies?

29-07-2018, 09:13 PM
Steady. Failing to register a player's incompetence, shirley, rather than cheating? The mistake should have put them out of the competition, for sure, but they hardly set out to gain an unfair advantage.

You are of course correct, but that's not the point when it comes to abusing Johnny Yam.

29-07-2018, 09:22 PM
I am happy for the admin person who should have completed the registration online, they must have been stressed out for the past week or so. At least now when they get knocked out it will be down to the players / Levein. They can't even say they got a bad draw because they were unseeded.

29-07-2018, 09:38 PM

True but has previously always been punished by a reverse of score which equated to team being booted out.The loss of 2 points and the retention of the goal difference is new and still unexplained.

29-07-2018, 11:53 PM
Have just listened to the podcast and he actually mentions Hibs where you've got Celtic and he mentions Celtic after Kilmarnock. He's still a numpty though.

Fair enough. I took it from the BBC website

30-07-2018, 07:21 AM
True but has previously always been punished by a reverse of score which equated to team being booted out.The loss of 2 points and the retention of the goal difference is new and still unexplained.

Indeed. Has any media outlet actually asked for an explanation from the powers that be as to how they came to this unprecedented decision?

Of course, while there's been no official explanation it's not hard to work out the thought process behind it. Basically, previous similar offences have been committed by smaller team rather than a perceived 'big' team like the yams and whose absence from a cup competition would not be seen to significantly 'devalue' it. With the yams game v Caley also scheduled for live TV it was obviously deemed unacceptable to dock them three points, effectively eliminate them from the competition and render the TV game meaningless.

It was a joke decision and one which means that in the unlikely event that the yams were to win the competition it would be by default.

30-07-2018, 07:35 AM
Watched the yams game yesterday certainly they have not really played anyone yet but to me look to be more of a threat than last year. Their build up play looked to be a lot more fluent going forward than last year the Aussie boy can take a free Kick ( Garuccio) the big boy up front (Ikpeazu) looks a handful and Naismith looks as though he has benefited from having the half season under his belt.They have also signed three goalies ??? but the guy yesterday “Bobby” looked athletic and useful. Normally I would not see them in our way but if we do not strengthen they might be a problem. Just saying! :wink:

30-07-2018, 08:43 AM
Indeed. Has any media outlet actually asked for an explanation from the powers that be as to how they came to this unprecedented decision?.

Robbo was questioning it pre match yesterday but probably hoping/expecting they wouldn’t lose by 3+.

Now that they did I’m hoping ICT will put an appeal in.

30-07-2018, 08:57 AM
Indeed. Has any media outlet actually asked for an explanation from the powers that be as to how they came to this unprecedented decision?

Of course, while there's been no official explanation it's not hard to work out the thought process behind it. Basically, previous similar offences have been committed by smaller team rather than a perceived 'big' team like the yams and whose absence from a cup competition would not be seen to significantly 'devalue' it. With the yams game v Caley also scheduled for live TV it was obviously deemed unacceptable to dock them three points, effectively eliminate them from the competition and render the TV game meaningless.

It was a joke decision and one which means that in the unlikely event that the yams were to win the competition it would be by default.

30-07-2018, 09:00 AM
Big team wee cup
Wee team Europe

Can we sing this at derbies?

Nope. Chances are neither statement will be true by the time we play them :wink:

30-07-2018, 09:50 AM
Robbo was questioning it pre match yesterday but probably hoping/expecting they wouldn’t lose by 3+.

Now that they did I’m hoping ICT will put an appeal in.

Doubt it, Robbo basically said yesterday post match that - regardless - they should have been capable of going to Tiny and getting a better than 4 goal reverse, wasnt blaming them going out on the decision.

snedzuk
30-07-2018, 10:39 AM
Doubt it, Robbo basically said yesterday post match that - regardless - they should have been capable of going to Tiny and getting a better than 4 goal reverse, wasnt blaming them going out on the decision.

Did he not hedge his bets though by saying all other clubs in the group should receive a written explanation of the points deduction decision which - as it hasn't yet been forthcoming - might leave the way clear to raise this once they see it in writing.

30-07-2018, 10:47 AM
ICT should have kicked up ****, cheats win again 😠

30-07-2018, 11:28 AM
ICT should have kicked up ****, cheats win again ��

Despite their well earned reputaion, this wasn’t really cheating this time but sheer incompetence.

30-07-2018, 11:39 AM
Despite their well earned reputaion, this wasn’t really cheating this time but sheer incompetence.

In many areas of life there is a very thin line between incompetence and fraud/ corruption.

That's why there should not be any variance from precedent, as going light on incompetence may encourage fraud/ corruption in future.

30-07-2018, 12:35 PM
Incompetence = not submitting the correct paperwork.

Fraud/corruption = not imposing the standard sanction applied to other clubs.

30-07-2018, 02:12 PM
I am finding it difficult to feel sorry for ICT.

Yes, in an ideal world, in the Cove Rangers game, Cove should have been awarded a 3-0 win, giving them 3 points and the Yams getting 0. But having said that, to go into a game as Group Leaders, knowing that you have to lose by at least 4 goals to be put out of the competition and allow Partick to qualify. After the mad 6 mins and going down 3-0, ICT should have changed their strategy to defend at all costs, even at 4-0, all you need to do is score 1. To then to go on and lose 5-0, that is a real Bend-Over-and-Take-It situation and if I was an ICT fan I would be going mental at the team/management.

It's a funny old game as they say!

30-07-2018, 02:21 PM

Yes, in an ideal world, in the Cove Rangers game, Cove should have been awarded a 3-0 win, giving them 3 points and the Yams getting 0. But having said that, to go into a game as Group Leaders, knowing that you have to lose by at least 4 goals to be put out of the competition and allow Partick to qualify. After the mad 6 mins and going down 3-0, ICT should have changed their strategy to defend at all costs, even at 4-0, all you need to do is score 1. To then to go on and lose 5-0, that is a real Bend-Over-and-Take-It situation and if I was an ICT fan I would be going mental at the team/management.

:agree: No wonder Robbo was raging with his team after the game.

30-07-2018, 02:26 PM

Agreed. Totally unprofessional approach from Inverness.