View Full Version : Sproule vs Boyle.

28-07-2018, 06:34 PM
Who do we reckon is faster? Boyle or Ivan (say Ivan is in his first spell).

100m sprint, who’s finishing first?

28-07-2018, 06:37 PM
Who do we reckon is faster? Boyle or Ivan (say Ivan is in his first spell).

100m sprint, who’s finishing first?

its going to be close but i reckon Ivan had slightly quicker acceleration

HelmutSchlong
28-07-2018, 06:39 PM
Ivan

28-07-2018, 06:40 PM
Alan O'Brien.

Boyle's brilliant, but Ivan put the fear of death in people when he ran at them. Twas chaos.

Skol
28-07-2018, 06:42 PM
If the question is about [pace then its not even worth debate. Its Sproule by some way. This pace itself created chances due to panic.

On ability though then its again no contest. Boyle by far the better on the ball.

supermcginn
28-07-2018, 06:43 PM
Ivan

28-07-2018, 06:43 PM
Sproule

28-07-2018, 06:44 PM
Ivan Sproule

28-07-2018, 06:46 PM
Ivan was even faster than mbappe

28-07-2018, 06:48 PM
Sproule. His pace was absolutely frightening.

Absolutely loved the wee man, but think I would probably prefer Boyle in my team.

28-07-2018, 06:48 PM
Barker, I mean Agyepong all day long

28-07-2018, 06:49 PM
Boyle was much more like Ivan when he arrived at Hibs.

He had blinding pace (I wonder if he's lost a tiny bit of it) but I don't think even he knew what he was going to do half the time.

The improvement in Boyle's technique over the past few years has been something to behold though.

On pace alone though, the Sproule and Boyle who arrived were much of a muchness.

28-07-2018, 07:28 PM
Sproule was Lightning fast . Boyle and Barker would be a cracking race over 30 yards .
But Sproule over 30 yards would destroy both of them .
Sproule v Usain Bolt over 30 yards would have been a cracker :)
Would still fancy Ivan to win ( obviously not over a 100 )

SideBurns
28-07-2018, 07:44 PM
Boyle's a better fitba player but reckon Sproule was faster. Love Martin, but he'll need to score 4 at Ibrox while I'm standing in that shabby wee corner to leapfrog Ivan in my estimation!

HelmutSchlong
28-07-2018, 07:54 PM
Is there not a Tam Agyepong option?

28-07-2018, 07:59 PM
Arthur Duncan.

sadtom
28-07-2018, 08:04 PM
Ivan. The quickest i've seen 48 years watching Hibs...i include opponents too.
No wanting to jinx him, really like him as a player and seems a sound lad. He is possibly the most improved player over a 12-18 month period that i have ever seen at ER
However...i hope its not the case but i actually thought MB has looked slightly slower this season. Not quite as blistering as last season. Granted its really early and i may be completely wide of the mark but i did mention it to my laddie on thurs. But no doubt his overall play is far superior to what it was.
To be honest i think he is still well short of International fitba. Hopefully soon he will be but i reckon it would be a sign of how desperate we are if he was capped at the moment.

jakedance
28-07-2018, 08:14 PM
It’s not even close. Sproule.

28-07-2018, 08:36 PM
It’s not even close. Sproule.

Agreed. Sproule was laughably fast, it was just ridiculous. He looked like you'd put cheats on a Playstation game. Where as Boyle is just absolutely rapid but a much better football player.

28-07-2018, 09:06 PM
Boyle's a better fitba player but reckon Sproule was faster. Love Martin, but he'll need to score 4 at Ibrox while I'm standing in that shabby wee corner to leapfrog Ivan in my estimation!

Remember after the first game he said something like he had always drempt of scoring a hatrick at Ibrox 😂. However, my favourite performance was the 0-3 cup game at Ibrox..his chip to the back post for GOC to put us 1up and then his goal to put us 2 up before Killen made it 3. Sproule was unbelievable at Ibrox that season.

SideBurns
28-07-2018, 09:15 PM
Remember after the first game he said something like he had always drempt of scoring a hatrick at Ibrox 😂. However, my favourite performance was the 0-3 cup game at Ibrox..his chip to the back post for GOC to put us 1up and then his goal to put us 2 up before Killen made it 3. Sproule was unbelievable at Ibrox that season.
Aye was at the cup game too - couldn't believe I was watching another 3-0 win at Ibrox. I retired from attending matches in the Govan area at FT 😃

28-07-2018, 09:18 PM
Ivan over the two.

But I'm old enough to remember Arthur Duncan! There was a flyer.

28-07-2018, 09:27 PM
Ivan over the two.

But I'm old enough to remember Arthur Duncan! There was a flyer.

28-07-2018, 10:02 PM
If the question is about [pace then its not even worth debate. Its Sproule by some way. This pace itself created chances due to panic.

On ability though then its again no contest. Boyle by far the better on the ball.

This is bang on.

28-07-2018, 10:22 PM
Ivan skinning 4 Gretna players and rounding the keeper only to smack it over the bar

And ok I suppose the small matter of a winning hat-trick at Ibrox

But it’s a tough call

28-07-2018, 10:35 PM
Never seen a Hibs player as fast as Ivan.

28-07-2018, 11:19 PM
Love the Boiler but Ivan is uno numero.

cheltenhamhibee
29-07-2018, 12:24 AM
George McNeil ? Albeit he only played one game
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_McNeill_(sprinter)

29-07-2018, 12:50 AM
Probably recency bias, but Barker looked very, very fast. Would he beat Ivan?

vuefrom1875
29-07-2018, 12:59 AM

Naw!

29-07-2018, 10:12 AM

Nowhere near. He’s not as fast as Boyle - just a better footballer. And barker is very good at travelling with the ball at his feet.

Ivan quicker than them both.

29-07-2018, 03:16 PM
I honestly don’t think it’s an exaggeration to say Sproule was probably one of the quickest players in Europe around 2006/ 2007 time. Never seen anything like it.

SideBurns
29-07-2018, 03:20 PM
I honestly don’t think it’s an exaggeration to say Sproule was probably one of the quickest players in Europe around 2006/ 2007 time. Never seen anything like it.

Loved the way he used to run with his tongue sticking oot the side of his mouth. At that speed, I used to wonder at how he never bit it off!