View Full Version : Fans in Greece

28-07-2018, 09:43 AM
Seems to be plentybooked up for next Week.

Any guesses as to number of Hibs fans there next week?

28-07-2018, 09:47 AM
I reckon 800 -1000.

HelmutSchlong
28-07-2018, 09:48 AM
500 max

28-07-2018, 09:52 AM
usually have a decent travelling support in europe , how many did we take over to brondby ?

28-07-2018, 09:53 AM
500 max

I think double that at least

28-07-2018, 10:04 AM
500 max

I reckon it will be a lot more than that. I think we would have taken that sort of number (maybe less) if it had stayed at 2-0 to them on Thursday night. I reckon a lot of people will be encouraged to go after we've won the first leg.

28-07-2018, 10:06 AM

That would be unbelievable
Really gutted I’m not going 😔

28-07-2018, 10:08 AM
I reckon it will be a lot more than that. I think we would have taken that sort of number (maybe less) if it had stayed at 2-0 to them on Thursday night. I reckon a lot of people will be encouraged to go after we've won the first leg.

Anybody who was planning to go would have made arrangements prior to Thursday night IMO. There might be one or two but would imagine it's a tiny amount.

28-07-2018, 10:08 AM
Anybody who was planning to go would have made arrangements prior to Thursday night IMO. There might be one or two but would imagine it's a tiny amount.

Just the charter boys and girls

28-07-2018, 10:12 AM
That would be unbelievable
Really gutted I’m not going 😔

Me too, can hardly walk at the moment, Apparently i'm too young for a new knee, even though it gives way at least 5 times a day, sometimes more? :rolleyes:

No cruciate ligament, and as unstable as an MFI table without half the screws.:grr:

28-07-2018, 10:15 AM
Between 800 and 1000 I think.

28-07-2018, 10:16 AM
There was about 300 in Faroes, Greece a much more accessible place in terms of costs

28-07-2018, 10:17 AM
There was about 300 in Faroes, Greece a much more accessible place in terms of costs

Surely about 1000 I think.

28-07-2018, 10:17 AM
Me too, can hardly walk at the moment, Apparently i'm too young for a new knee, even though it gives way at least 5 times a day, sometimes more? :rolleyes:

No cruciate ligament, and as unstable as an MFI table without half the screws.:grr:

Really? That's a shame. I was looking forward to linking up with you again.

What did you do?

28-07-2018, 10:24 AM
500 max

There will be at least a 1000 Hibs fans at the game

28-07-2018, 10:25 AM
We might even see around the same amount of Hibs fans as Asteras fans.

28-07-2018, 10:29 AM
Really? That's a shame. I was looking forward to linking up with you again.

What did you do?

Snapped it 30 years ago Dave, had the replacement done, and the very first training session back after 11 months rehab, i did it again. That finished me as a footballer :greengrin

Had a scan done last year, and the consultant said if anyone did that operation now, they'd be struck off, but when i had it done it was in its infancy, and they know more about that kind of injury now.

Its now wear and tear, and has become very unstable even when walking now.

Gutted i cant be there, or even get up the road at the moment.

Have a great time Dave, i'm sure you will.:greengrin

28-07-2018, 10:31 AM
Anyone flying from Newcastle??? Couple us heading down from Waverley around 9am on Wednesday could get a wee hibee carriage on the go!

[emoji1184][emoji1184][emoji1184]

St Pauli Hibee
28-07-2018, 12:42 PM
I would say around 850

On buses alone from Athens I think we have around 250 fans

28-07-2018, 12:45 PM

According to young M59 the official Hibs crowd at Brondby was around 1020. Which sounds about right.

28-07-2018, 01:24 PM
Anyone flying from Newcastle??? Couple us heading down from Waverley around 9am on Wednesday could get a wee hibee carriage on the go!

[emoji1184][emoji1184][emoji1184]

I'm heading from Waverley about that time as well but to Manchester airport instead.

28-07-2018, 01:27 PM
I'd say slightly less than went to Brondby, but considerably more than Runavik - so about 900.

28-07-2018, 01:28 PM
Seems to be plentybooked up for next Week.

Any guesses as to number of Hibs fans there next week?

At the very least 1000 mate, folk are getting to this one by hook or by crook. I think the feeling was this could be our last trip in Europe this season so more wanted to go, add in the fact that its Greece, its summertime and fans can make a holiday of it by staying at one of the many resorts on Greeces islands and the mainland.

28-07-2018, 01:29 PM
I'd say slightly less than went to Brondby, but considerably more than Runavik - so about 900.

I think you might be surprised at the size of our travelling support for this one.

28-07-2018, 01:30 PM
I have never seen Hibs win a competitive game abroad. Been to:
Athens (postposed game)
Vetra Vilnius
Odense
Elfsborg
Dnipro
Missed Maribor, Malmo and Brondby, and Faroes this time due to being on holiday so I am buzzing for this one.

Think we will take around 1000 fans over.

Ken
28-07-2018, 01:31 PM
About 1,000 I’d guess

28-07-2018, 02:28 PM
Athens (postposed game)
Vetra Vilnius
Odense
Elfsborg
Missed Maribor and Brondby, and Faroes this time due to being on holiday so I am buzzing for this one.

Don't bother coming over...:greengrin

28-07-2018, 02:59 PM
Bronby was a superb trip.Atmosphere at the Dubliner was fantastic.

28-07-2018, 03:00 PM

Bob Box Fish
28-07-2018, 03:01 PM
Wish I was going ☹️

28-07-2018, 03:02 PM
I think you might be surprised at the size of our travelling support for this one.

Hope so mate :flag:

28-07-2018, 03:06 PM
Hope so mate :flag:

You can buy me a pint. I'll be the one with the green Hibs top on :greengrin.

28-07-2018, 04:11 PM
Don't bother coming over...:greengrin

Well you know who to blame if we get beat 🙈

28-07-2018, 04:21 PM
Cant wait for this

28-07-2018, 07:06 PM
Easily 1000. An atmosphere like we carried to Malmo or Brondby will be memorable I think.

28-07-2018, 07:18 PM
Athens (postposed game)
Vetra Vilnius
Odense
Elfsborg
Missed Maribor, Malmo and Brondby, and Faroes this time due to being on holiday so I am buzzing for this one.

Please, please don't go

28-07-2018, 07:18 PM
Can't wait to go :thumbsup:

I reckon we will end up with c.850.

28-07-2018, 07:41 PM
Please, please don't go

I'd also not seen us win a Scottish Cup Final but I was there in 2016 😀

Edit. Forgot I was in Dnipro too 🙄

28-07-2018, 08:39 PM
So buzzing for this. I reckon around 1000

28-07-2018, 10:54 PM
So where is everyone meeting? Is there a square we can congregate or have we been allocated a certain area? Which pubs are best to get into?? These questions all need answered!!

28-07-2018, 11:09 PM
Gutted I'm missing out. Been a hard year financially and blew the holiday budget on a family holiday earlier this summer. Fancied us to beat the Greeks over two legs and still do so thought i'd wait till the next round but Molde is gonna be a much more difficult/expensive trip if we get there so wish I booked up for this. Never mind, hopefully we make it even further and I'll be there. GGTTH :flag::thumbsup::flag:.

penihibs
28-07-2018, 11:22 PM
First euro trip can't wait,I'm like a wee bairn at Xmas.
GGTTH.

29-07-2018, 06:53 AM
I’m driving to Manchester airport Tuesday (31st) night leaving about 22:30-23:00 to get to Manchester Airport for 3-4 am on Wednesday (1st) morning.

Coming back to Edinburgh on Friday (3rd) arriving in to Manchester airport just after 09:30

If anyone needs a lift then your more than welcome, just get in touch.

29-07-2018, 08:13 AM
See the weather forecast for Tripoli has changed to scattered thunderstorms right up until kick off. Looks like we are going to get wet.

29-07-2018, 08:16 AM
See the weather forecast for Tripoli has changed to scattered thunderstorms right up until kick off. Looks like we are going to get wet.

FFS, I was looking forward to some sunshine over there.....Sun cream scrapped and another poncho needs purchased

Bandito59
29-07-2018, 08:17 AM
We had to buy rain coats in Sarajevo so are ready for anything!

Gala Foxes
29-07-2018, 08:25 AM
We had to buy rain coats in Sarajevo so are ready for anything!

Didn't think I was going to have to take my Toshavn 70 Kroner "Liam Gallagher" oilskin to Tripolis - nightmare

29-07-2018, 09:23 AM
FFS, I was looking forward to some sunshine over there.....Sun cream scrapped and another poncho needs purchased

Athens forecast is 33c and sunny. Tripoli on Thursday afternoon...☔⛈

18Hibee75
29-07-2018, 09:37 AM
I was thinking more around 1800-2000. Seems to be loads of people on twitter, Facebook, this and people I’ve spoke to in person going. Could be wrong though!

29-07-2018, 10:01 AM

Maribor all over again, without the score line of course.:greengrin

29-07-2018, 10:20 AM
So where is everyone meeting? Is there a square we can congregate or have we been allocated a certain area? Which pubs are best to get into?? These questions all need answered!!

Saint Basil Square looks decent as it's in the centre of town. Take the bubble bath for the fountain. :wink:

Areos sq also an alternative.

29-07-2018, 10:30 AM
I’m driving to Manchester airport Tuesday (31st) night leaving about 22:30-23:00 to get to Manchester Airport for 3-4 am on Wednesday (1st) morning.

Coming back to Edinburgh on Friday (3rd) arriving in to Manchester airport just after 09:30

If anyone needs a lift then your more than welcome, just get in touch.

You know theres a train to Manchester Airport from Edinburgh Waverley at 22:13? Theres usually some very cheap tickets available on it.

Tickets available for £17.50 one way
https://www.buytickets.scotrail.co.uk/buytickets/combinedmatrix.aspx?Command=TimeTable

29-07-2018, 10:31 AM
I was thinking more around 1800-2000. Seems to be loads of people on twitter, Facebook, this and people I’ve spoke to in person going. Could be wrong though!

If theres that many there wont be enough tickets.

29-07-2018, 10:35 AM
Saint Basil Square looks decent as it's in the centre of town. Take the bubble bath for the fountain. :wink:

Any one know of any pubs in South Edinburgh that have Premier Sports or will show the game ? Thanks

29-07-2018, 11:08 AM

Hope there’s no that many!!!

penihibs
29-07-2018, 11:26 AM
Any one know of any pubs in South Edinburgh that have Premier Sports or will show the game ? Thanks

Try the pub named after you!
Watched a few games last season in the Southsider on Premier Sports buddy.

LustForLeith
29-07-2018, 11:29 AM
Athens (postposed game)
Vetra Vilnius
Odense
Elfsborg
Dnipro

No offence but you might be a jinx

29-07-2018, 11:35 AM
Try the pub named after you!
Watched a few games last season in the Southsider on Premier Sports buddy.

Cheers. Close enough

29-07-2018, 11:40 AM

Still 29c though, will soon dry out.

29-07-2018, 03:14 PM
You know theres a train to Manchester Airport from Edinburgh Waverley at 22:13? Theres usually some very cheap tickets available on it.

Tickets available for £17.50 one way
https://www.buytickets.scotrail.co.uk/buytickets/combinedmatrix.aspx?Command=TimeTable

Cheers HC looking into it tonight when I finish work

tam4hibs
29-07-2018, 05:26 PM
So where's good to go...

Heard the Athens sports bar will be a haunt for most Hibees. Any other good bars/restaurants?
Staying the Friday night also, so some good suggestions on where to head (staying in Plaka)...

29-07-2018, 05:40 PM
So where's good to go...

Heard the Athens sports bar will be a haunt for most Hibees. Any other good bars/restaurants?
Staying the Friday night also, so some good suggestions on where to head (staying in Plaka)...

How many of us on the easyJet flight back to Edina on Saturday night? A good few I presume given the price it has now jumped to!

Hulk1875
29-07-2018, 05:47 PM

Watched game against Runavik in platform 5 maybe about 20 hibbies

29-07-2018, 05:53 PM
So where's good to go...

Whats address for Athens sports bar?
Appears to be two.

St Pauli Hibee
29-07-2018, 05:55 PM
Whats address for Athens sports bar?
Appears to be two.

Veikou 3, Athina 11742, Greece

Had the same bother when I first looked it up

29-07-2018, 06:03 PM
Veikou 3, Athina 11742, Greece

Had the same bother when I first looked it up

Is this near Omonia Square?

29-07-2018, 06:12 PM
I'm heading from Waverley about that time as well but to Manchester airport instead.

I'm going from Manchester aswell on Tuesday. Got fights yesterday for £230 was getting quoted £600 odds from Edinburgh.

29-07-2018, 06:24 PM

25 min walk, 7 mins on Metro by look of it.
Opens at 7.30 am.

29-07-2018, 06:31 PM
Going from Glasgow to Kefalonia -sp?- on Wed morning. Then to athens on Thursday. Looking forward to it!

St Pauli Hibee
29-07-2018, 06:39 PM

7min Metro ride
25 min walk

HTD1875
29-07-2018, 07:31 PM
Going from Glasgow to Kefalonia -sp?- on Wed morning. Then to athens on Thursday. Looking forward to it!

20 of us on the same route, could be an fun early morning plane.

29-07-2018, 07:49 PM
Is anyone flying to Malaga from Prestwick on Wednesday then onto Athens? (It was cheap)

Le_Franck
29-07-2018, 08:36 PM
Anybody flying Edinburgh to Athens via Brussels? Leaving at 6am wed morning?

29-07-2018, 08:44 PM
Is anyone flying to Malaga from Prestwick on Wednesday then onto Athens? (It was cheap)

Looked at that but then paid £20 more for Glasgow to Katowice to arrive in Athens earlier.

29-07-2018, 08:45 PM
Looked at that but then paid £20 more for Glasgow to Katowice to arrive in Athens earlier.We're flying back on Sunday via Katowice

29-07-2018, 08:47 PM
I'm going from Manchester aswell on Tuesday. Got fights yesterday for £230 was getting quoted £600 odds from Edinburgh.

What time is your flight? We're flying out of Manchester at 05.35, getting into Zante at 11.10

29-07-2018, 09:12 PM
We're flying back on Sunday via Katowice

I've since heard that the airport there is horrific.

29-07-2018, 09:14 PM
I've since heard that the airport there is horrific.Great news

fife hfc
29-07-2018, 09:15 PM
Looked at that but then paid £20 more for Glasgow to Katowice to arrive in Athens earlier.

Is this the flight on Tuesday night? I’m on it with my two sons and know another few Hibbys are on the plane.

HIBEELASS
29-07-2018, 09:27 PM
Anybody flying Edinburgh to Athens via Brussels? Leaving at 6am wed morning?

Four of us going via Brussels but leaving Newcastle at 6.20 am Wednesday morning.

29-07-2018, 09:31 PM
What time is your flight? We're flying out of Manchester at 05.35, getting into Zante at 11.10

0850, one hour change over in Zurich and arrive in Athens at 1650.

29-07-2018, 09:32 PM
Use the RometoRio app to help you get around the city,it's wonderful 😀

St Pauli Hibee
29-07-2018, 09:33 PM
Since this thread has turned into "Who's flying where" its only fitting I join in

Anybody flying via Stockholm on Tuesday ??

29-07-2018, 09:36 PM
Since this thread has turned into "Who's flying where" its only fitting I join in

You could bring my dnipro/hibs scarf along, and I'll be able to pick it up. 😉

29-07-2018, 09:37 PM
Is this the flight on Tuesday night? I’m on it with my two sons and know another few Hibbys are on the plane.

Sure is mate.

Steviep73
29-07-2018, 09:41 PM
Anyone flying Manchester to Athens on Wednesday at 6.15am with a one hour stopover in Frankfurt arriving Athens 13.30?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

St Pauli Hibee
29-07-2018, 09:41 PM
You could bring my dnipro/hibs scarf along, and I'll be able to pick it up. 😉

I certainly can. will PM you my number just now

29-07-2018, 09:44 PM
I certainly can. will PM you my number just now

Thanks, Scott. I'll see you in tripolis.

29-07-2018, 09:44 PM
Use the RometoRio app to help you get around the city,it's wonderful 😀

What an amazing app. Thanks for the suggestion.

29-07-2018, 09:56 PM
What an amazing app. Thanks for the suggestion.

No probs, it's literally got me around dozens of strange cities all round the world, its brilliant!

29-07-2018, 10:05 PM
Anyone flying Manchester to Athens on Wednesday at 6.15am with a one hour stopover in Frankfurt arriving Athens 13.30?

I am. I’m also leaving Edinburgh Tuesday night about 22:30-23:00 driving down unless I can find a train cheap enough for coming back on Friday morning rather than driving.

Steviep73
29-07-2018, 10:15 PM
I am. I’m also leaving Edinburgh Tuesday night about 22:30-23:00 driving down unless I can find a train cheap enough for coming back on Friday morning rather than driving.

GGTTHI don't arrive back in Manchester until 22.50 on Friday night then get train back to edinburgh at 4am return journey cost £45

29-07-2018, 10:42 PM
I don't arrive back in Manchester until 22.50 on Friday night then get train back to edinburgh at 4am return journey cost £45

What train are you getting down?

Steviep73
29-07-2018, 10:55 PM
What train are you getting down?

GGTTHTuesday night 22.13 from Waverley

29-07-2018, 11:29 PM
Tuesday night 22.13 from Waverley

You on your own or are there a few of you’s Going over

Steviep73
29-07-2018, 11:35 PM
You on your own or are there a few of you’s Going over

GGTTH2 off us mate me and my sister but meeting a few people over there

Juice Terry
30-07-2018, 05:19 AM
I don't arrive back in Manchester until 22.50 on Friday night then get train back to edinburgh at 4am return journey cost £45

Sent from my SM-A520F using TapatalkI think I may be on that return flight.
Leave Manchester at 11.35am on Wednesday via Frankfurt to Athens
And return to Manchester via Munich on the Friday. Arriving at 22.50, all on Lufthansa.

Sent from my SM-A320FL using Tapatalk

Steviep73
30-07-2018, 05:30 AM
I think I may be on that return flight.
And return to Manchester via Munich on the Friday. Arriving at 22.50, all on Lufthansa.

Sent from my SM-A320FL using TapatalkSame return flight as us

30-07-2018, 06:12 AM
[QUOTE=Steviep73;5485485]2 off us mate me and my sister but meeting a few people over there

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk[/

There’s a young lad that goes on the supporters bus I go to with his sister and he was over in Portugal for the Willian ll game got rather drunk and was suffering the next day in the taxi I shared back to the airport with him and his sister. Wasn’t you was it?

ChickenCurryYLT
30-07-2018, 06:37 AM
8 of us leaving from Leith Wednesday morning and arriving in Athens around 4.30pm. Haven’t been on here much lately so apologies if plans already made but is there any pubs over there we’re all meeting in like we done in Copenhagen (The Dubliner)?

We’re on our way 🇳🇬🇳🇬 GGTTH

Juice-Terry
30-07-2018, 07:08 AM
I think I may be on that return flight.

Nice username. :greengrin

Steviep73
30-07-2018, 08:07 AM
[QUOTE=Steviep73;5485485]2 off us mate me and my sister but meeting a few people over there

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk[/

There’s a young lad that goes on the supporters bus I go to with his sister and he was over in Portugal for the Willian ll game got rather drunk and was suffering the next day in the taxi I shared back to the airport with him and his sister. Wasn’t you was it?

GGTTHNo mate wasn't me

Le_Franck
30-07-2018, 08:16 AM
Four of us going via Brussels but leaving Newcastle at 6.20 am Wednesday morning.

We will probably be on the same flight from Brussels, I get into Athens at 4pm. Are you heading to Tripoli or staying in Athens? I’m planning on getting the bus but we could maybe share a taxi?

30-07-2018, 09:20 AM
So who is all on the Glasgow to Sofia flight on Wed night with the 7hr overnight stay in the airport and the 6.50am flight to Athens?

30-07-2018, 09:30 AM
So who is all on the Glasgow to Sofia flight on Wed night with the 7hr overnight stay in the airport and the 6.50am flight to Athens?

Me and BoomtownHibeys

30-07-2018, 09:30 AM
Anyone else (I know Hermit Crab is), on the 22.20 flight from Cephalonia (argostoli) flight to Athens on Wednesday night?
For that matter, is anyone else on my flight from Edinburgh to Cephalonia (14.40 Wednesday).

Keen to know where the party is when we arrive late Wednesday night.

Hibee Ryan
30-07-2018, 11:41 AM

Me + 2, that the 10:25am flight?

St Pauli Hibee
30-07-2018, 11:55 AM
Me + 2, that the 10:25am flight?

Correct Mate, nice to see someone else on my flight out, see you all at Airport !!!!

30-07-2018, 11:58 AM
Anyone else (I know Hermit Crab is), on the 22.20 flight from Cephalonia (argostoli) flight to Athens on Wednesday night?
For that matter, is anyone else on my flight from Edinburgh to Cephalonia (14.40 Wednesday).

20 of us flying to Cephalonia early on Wednesday, the party will be well underway!

Although I misread your post, we're flying to Athens Thursday morning.

HIBEELASS
30-07-2018, 12:02 PM
We will probably be on the same flight from Brussels, I get into Athens at 4pm. Are you heading to Tripoli or staying in Athens? I’m planning on getting the bus but we could maybe share a taxi?

Ye looks like same flight from Brussels. We are staying at Athens - at Apollo Hotel but have prebooked transfer from airport since there four of us as wasnt too expensive.

30-07-2018, 12:06 PM
Now on the train from Waverleyto Manchester Airport tomorrow night, just after ten pm. ( thanks Hermit Crab for the info ). So will see you if on the train

30-07-2018, 12:14 PM
Disappointed nobody has started the 'do you think they'll have a tasty mob' discussion. Yet another example of the appalling gentrification of the game. Would have been the first consideration back in my day, I can bloody well tell you.

30-07-2018, 12:14 PM

Please buy him a beer and cheer him up, from all of us. Thanks. :greengrin

30-07-2018, 12:15 PM

The party plane...

RossScott1991
30-07-2018, 12:21 PM
anyone else flying from Edinburgh tomorrow morning at 8am - stops off in Dublin for couple hours, then into Athens by 5pm?

30-07-2018, 12:24 PM
Disappointed nobody has started the 'do you think they'll have a tasty mob' discussion. Yet another example of the appalling gentrification of the game. Would have been the first consideration back in my day, I can bloody well tell you.

Are they not the Gretna of Greece. More likely to find a mob of birds wanting married?

30-07-2018, 12:25 PM
Watched game against Runavik in platform 5 maybe about 20 hibbies

Me too!

30-07-2018, 12:31 PM

Take more than a beer for that miserable g i t to cheer up.😂😂

30-07-2018, 01:06 PM
Take more than a beer for that miserable g i t to cheer up.😂😂

What's a g i t?

Is it the same as a git? :wink:

30-07-2018, 02:28 PM
What's a g i t?

Is it the same as a git? :wink:

Sure is but I spelt it that way for the kids on here lol

30-07-2018, 03:04 PM
Sure is but I spelt it that way for the kids on here lol

sixtwo
30-07-2018, 03:12 PM
I'm going Edinburgh - Frankfurt- Athens Wed at !2:45
Returning via Munich on Friday.

Happy to share a cab from the Airport to central Athens with any Hibees arriving Wednesday night. :thumbsup:

Le_Franck
30-07-2018, 03:21 PM
Ye looks like same flight from Brussels. We are staying at Athens - at Apollo Hotel but have prebooked transfer from airport since there four of us as wasnt too expensive.

I’m heading straight to Tripoli to meet up with a few others, were staying at the Alex hotel. Would prefer to get a taxi as it will be a lot quicker but ah well, the bus will be fine.

Juice Terry
30-07-2018, 03:35 PM
Ye looks like same flight from Brussels. We are staying at Athens - at Apollo Hotel but have prebooked transfer from airport since there four of us as wasnt too expensive.I'm slumming it in the Apollo hotel.
Probably head to omonia square mid morning on the Thursday to get st Paulis bus [emoji1184]

Juice Terry
30-07-2018, 03:37 PM
Nice username. :greengrinI thought I had saw it on here before ! [emoji41]

30-07-2018, 03:41 PM
I'm going Edinburgh - Frankfurt- Athens Wed at !2:45
Returning via Munich on Friday.

Happy to share a cab from the Airport to central Athens with any Hibees arriving Wednesday night. [emoji106]What time are you arriving in Athens?

Juice Terry
30-07-2018, 03:43 PM
Same return flight as us

Sent from my SM-A520F using TapatalkI'll be the one shivering with the fear most probably after an excessive Thursday!

Steviep73
30-07-2018, 04:00 PM
I'll be the one shivering with the fear most probably after an excessive Thursday!

Sent from my SM-A320FL using TapatalkThat'll be 2 off us then mate

sixtwo
30-07-2018, 04:08 PM
What time are you arriving in Athens?

21:40

30-07-2018, 04:11 PM
21:40Would've shared but we will be an hour later

HIBEELASS
30-07-2018, 05:15 PM
I'm slumming it in the Apollo hotel.
Probably head to omonia square mid morning on the Thursday to get st Paulis bus [emoji1184]

Ye we going on St Paulis buses too 🇳🇬

bigruss
30-07-2018, 05:37 PM
Ye we going on St Paulis buses too 🇳🇬

Just booked up taking my daughter luton/athens wed morning

30-07-2018, 05:44 PM
Enjoy all, Im as jealous as ****

Got to see the first leg at least

30-07-2018, 06:18 PM
Steviep73 you and your sister get in on the same flight as myself to Athens fancy sharing a taxi, into Athens?

30-07-2018, 07:25 PM
I take it I'm the only one on the 0610 from Luton to Athens on Wednesday morning?

30-07-2018, 07:39 PM
Air France EDI-CDG-ATH Tue, return ATH-CDG-EDI, Fri. Staying Hotel Mirabello Athens and on St Paulis bus. GGTTH

Steviep73
30-07-2018, 08:05 PM
Steviep73 you and your sister get in on the same flight as myself to Athens fancy sharing a taxi, into Athens?

GGTTHAye not a problem can you pm me your phone number and I'll give you a call.

CampbellHarp
30-07-2018, 09:16 PM
10 of us leaving for Newcastle on Wednesday morning- 3pm flight to zante, then a ferry to the mainland on Thursday morning. First Europe trip, cannot wait😀

30-07-2018, 09:43 PM
10 of us leaving for Newcastle on Wednesday morning- 3pm flight to zante, then a ferry to the mainland on Thursday morning. First Europe trip, cannot wait😀

What time is your ferry?

30-07-2018, 09:48 PM
Sorry if already discussed but does anyone know if there is any spare seats (3) on any bus leaving from Athens on Thursday.

CampbellHarp
30-07-2018, 11:08 PM
What time is your ferry?

My friend booked the ferry unsure of the exact time, but I know we arrive at the port at 1030am, I believe the ferry is between 1045/11am

30-07-2018, 11:09 PM
My friend booked the ferry unsure of the exact time, but I know we arrive at the port at 1030am, I believe the ferry is between 1045/11am

We're on the 12.00pm ferry.

Have fun :aok:

penihibs
30-07-2018, 11:10 PM
I take it I'm the only one on the 0610 from Luton to Athens on Wednesday morning?

Now another 3 after the charter cancellation

30-07-2018, 11:15 PM
10 of us leaving for Newcastle on Wednesday morning- 3pm flight to zante, then a ferry to the mainland on Thursday morning. First Europe trip, cannot wait[emoji3]

This for us tae got the 9am ish train from Waverley.

tam4hibs
31-07-2018, 06:31 AM

And 4 of us... see you tonight/bright and early tomorrow!

HibeeMassive
31-07-2018, 06:36 AM

And 4 of us too .. we’re taking over :greengrin

Need to figure out how we’re getting to Tripoli now, and where we’re staying!

gorgie greens
31-07-2018, 08:07 AM

3 in my group and I know of another group so there should be a fair few on this flight

31-07-2018, 08:22 AM

Albanian Hibs has a spare double room. See the Mansion hotel thread.

penihibs
31-07-2018, 08:32 AM

Maybe Hibs will send the bus they had for us on the charter flight that's no longer required.haha

tam4hibs
31-07-2018, 08:49 AM
Edi-luton
Delayed from 8.55 to 23.34 tonight. Late one for those heading down for tomorrow's Wizzair flight.

Concern is if the decide to cancel; it's too late to get to Luton for the flight tomorrow by car or rail.

31-07-2018, 08:50 AM

If you can’t find a decent deal on a taxi/minibus, this is the site for the bus from Athens to Tripoli: http://www.ktelarkadias.gr/

There’s no English version, but the automatic translation in Chrome is decent. Watch out – the Athens stop is sometimes referred to as Athens and sometimes as Kifissos or similar (the name of the bus station).

31-07-2018, 08:52 AM
Don’t know if this comes in cheaper or not but rental cars.com has a 9 seater Vivaro for £239 Wed-Fri, Athens-Athens, so could be an option.

31-07-2018, 09:07 AM
Don’t know if this comes in cheaper or not but rental cars.com has a 9 seater Vivaro for £239 Wed-Fri, Athens-Athens, so could be an option.

Gettransfer.com offering an eight seater
Mercedes-Benz Vito 2012 with driver from the airport to Tripoli for 189 euros.

penihibs
31-07-2018, 12:01 PM

Sounds good buddy how you getting to Tripoli from Athens.

31-07-2018, 12:50 PM
any plans for tomorrow nights gathering? arrive relatively late and ideally would just head straight to a pub

Capt Mainwaring
31-07-2018, 03:00 PM
For any Hibees already in Athens, I see AEK Athens are playing tonight v Galatasaray. Anyone popping along?

31-07-2018, 03:03 PM
For any Hibees already in Athens, I see AEK Athens are playing tonight v Galatasaray. Anyone popping along?

I'm going to be there a day too late but that sounds like a proper sort of gathering!

Gorebridge Hibb
31-07-2018, 03:08 PM
any plans for tomorrow nights gathering? arrive relatively late and ideally would just head straight to a pub

Is there any seats in a bus/ car/ taxi for back to Athens straight after the game? There’s a flight leaving Athens at 11:15 Friday but don’t know if I can get back from Tripolis in time. 1 seat only needed.

31-07-2018, 03:09 PM

That will be a tasty game I would have thought.

31-07-2018, 03:23 PM
Was originally on charter but just sorted Edinburgh to Athens on lastminute.com inclusive of some hotel in Athens. Gonna bin the hotel as we have somewhere sorted near Tripoli.

Transfers are the tricky part. Sorted a taxi to the hotel from the airport and gonna sort transfer back when we’re over there. Was despondent this morning but now buzzing.

Andy Bee
31-07-2018, 03:53 PM
Was originally on charter but just sorted Edinburgh to Athens on lastminute.com inclusive of some hotel in Athens. Gonna bin the hotel as we have somewhere sorted near Tripoli.

Transfers are the tricky part. Sorted a taxi to the hotel from the airport and gonna sort transfer back when we’re over there. Was despondent this morning but now buzzing.

Just posted this on another thread but give Rideways a try for your transfers. It's coming in under £30 from Athens airport to Tripolis.

31-07-2018, 04:31 PM
Just posted this on another thread but give Rideways a try for your transfers. It's coming in under £30 from Athens airport to Tripolis.

I looked but was getting quoted £200 one way.

31-07-2018, 04:34 PM

Not quite sure its the type of game you can just pop along to :greengrin

RossScott1991
31-07-2018, 05:14 PM
Me and couple mates in Athens right now, any other hibbys out and about

31-07-2018, 05:30 PM
Athens (postposed game)
Vetra Vilnius
Odense
Elfsborg
Dnipro

What about dinaburg?

31-07-2018, 05:38 PM

Dont think thats right. We booked rideways for transfer to hotel in athens from airport and it was €35 one way.

Andy Bee
31-07-2018, 06:32 PM
Dont think thats right. We booked rideways for transfer to hotel in athens from airport and it was €35 one way.

Yup we were the same. No idea why it's giving me that price but there must be a mistake somewhere. Sorry folks

aazza91
31-07-2018, 06:50 PM
Me and couple mates in Athens right now, any other hibbys out and about

Trying to find somewhere to go!

31-07-2018, 07:11 PM

That’ll be an old bike at that price. 😀

31-07-2018, 07:16 PM
Anyone getting in around 10pm local time tomorrow? Taxi share?

St Pauli Hibee
31-07-2018, 07:42 PM
Where are people tonight in Athens need somewhere to go. Pm me and I shall give you my number

RossScott1991
31-07-2018, 07:45 PM
Me and mates are staying local near our apartment tonight a club called Cinderella for a few cheesy dances !!!! Be in bars nearby this place for a few hours yet tho !

St Pauli Hibee
31-07-2018, 07:54 PM
Me and mates are staying local near our apartment tonight a club called Cinderella for a few cheesy dances !!!! Be in bars nearby this place for a few hours yet tho !

Offt that looks perilous after a pub crawl. I would join you but looks a trek from my hotel and I probably wouldn't be joining you for a dance. Are you pub crawling it for a while still ??

ChickenCurryYLT
31-07-2018, 07:56 PM
Has anything at all been arranged for tomorrow? Big squad of us arriving, would love to meet up with all fellow Hibees. Been asking the question the past few days and having no luck 😂 The Dubliner in Copenhagen was bouncing the day before the game would love something similar. Cheers guys

31-07-2018, 07:57 PM
Has anything at all been arranged for tomorrow? Big squad of us arriving, would love to meet up with all fellow Hibees. Been asking the question the past few days and having no luck [emoji23] The Dubliner in Copenhagen was bouncing the day before the game would love something similar. Cheers guysThere's an Irish bar Joyce's in the centre. Think they have live music.

St Pauli Hibee
31-07-2018, 08:03 PM
There's an Irish bar Joyce's in the centre. Think they have live music.

Heading there for breakfast tomorrow 👍👍

31-07-2018, 08:08 PM
Heading there for breakfast tomorrow [emoji106][emoji106]If you're still there at midnight I'll see you there [emoji23]

ChickenCurryYLT
31-07-2018, 08:15 PM
There's an Irish bar Joyce's in the centre. Think they have live music.

Cheers mate... we’ll be in Hibs colours maybe see you all in there! Buzzing now

31-07-2018, 08:17 PM
Cheers mate... we’ll be in Hibs colours maybe see you all in there! Buzzing nowNo doubt catch you there tomorrow we land at 10pm straight out

Bandito59
31-07-2018, 08:42 PM
Found a great wee square in Tripolis Petrinou Square with lots of bars. Just round the corner from Areos Square which is huge but does not have so many bars.

31-07-2018, 09:06 PM
Is there any seats in a bus/ car/ taxi for back to Athens straight after the game? There’s a flight leaving Athens at 11:15 Friday but don’t know if I can get back from Tripolis in time. 1 seat only needed.

I've sent you a PM.

18Craig75
31-07-2018, 09:51 PM
Found a great wee square in Tripolis Petrinou Square with lots of bars. Just round the corner from Areos Square which is huge but does not have so many bars.

Will head there tomorrow. Just waiting on our taxi to Tripoli from Athens airport now.

banchoryhibs
31-07-2018, 10:01 PM
Just had an exceptional time in Vienna, will ne in Tripolis tomorrow and can't wait.... GGTTTH :flag:

31-07-2018, 10:03 PM
Hope all you guys have a memorable trip.
But for health issues i would be joining you all.
What is about me and Athens?
Back when we played AEK, the airlines were charging a fortune for flight only (Man Utd were in Athens the same week)
Like you guys, i searched for alternatives and found 2 weeks SC on the island of Santorini(from Newcastle), cheaper than the scheduled flights to Athens that week.

Alas,after buying my speedboat/ferry tickets to Piraeus port(Athens) from Santorini.the game as you all know was cancelled.

I still had a great time with my wife on a beautiful island.

Bring the required result back lads,and beware Greeks bearing gifts in Athens itself.
Dont be going into any clip joints,now.
Your wallet will be emptied.
Have fun !!

DarrenSQH
31-07-2018, 10:15 PM
Was 12 of us in total doing the Glasgow- berlin- athens trip today.

31-07-2018, 10:33 PM
Anyone getting in around 10pm local time tomorrow? Taxi share?

Me and Macbean arrive at 23:10 ish.

Dav1986
01-08-2018, 12:42 AM
Is there any way to hide this thread? Depressing me not going this time now that my mates have started their journey over.

01-08-2018, 03:38 AM
Me and Macbean arrive at 23:10 ish.Pm me your number? I'll see what time we actually land

01-08-2018, 05:34 AM
Big group leaving from Hermiston park and ride just now. Not jealous not jealous honest

18Craig75
01-08-2018, 07:18 AM
Lovely morning in Tripoli. Haven’t seen any other Hibees yet but off to get tickets now. Nice place, off he beaten track.

01-08-2018, 07:21 AM
Prestwick is buzzing with Hibs fans. Spaceman and I...

01-08-2018, 07:29 AM
Disaster! Just got off the plane and realised I’ve booked a flight to the wrong Tripoli :boo hoo: Any other Hibees booked in for two nights at the Gaddafi Plaza?:fez::fez:

01-08-2018, 07:34 AM
Disaster! Just got off the plane and realised I’ve booked a flight to the wrong Tripoli :boo hoo: Any other Hibees booked in for two nights at the Gaddafi Plaza?:fez::fez:

Haha are you joking?!

01-08-2018, 07:43 AM
Lovely morning in Tripoli. Haven’t seen any other Hibees yet but off to get tickets now. Nice place, off he beaten track.

May be good to feedback on what their operation is like- how long it takes etc. Think it could be a sting in the tail for hibbies over there. Get there as early as possible folks.

18Craig75
01-08-2018, 07:45 AM
May be good to feedback on what their operation is like- how long it takes etc. Think it could be a sting in the tail for hibbies over there. Get there as early as possible folks.

Advice would be to leave plenty of time if possible. We were okay but there was only one woman serving both Asteras Fans and Hibs fans, can see it getting busy.

Only one passport needed total, ie not one per ticket.

01-08-2018, 07:47 AM

😂😂😂

01-08-2018, 08:36 AM
Great night out in zakynthos town. The people are very friendly. Digs are brilliant, free bevvy when we arrived. Gutted for the guys missing the charter flight.

Hibees in europe, it doesn't get better than this.

01-08-2018, 08:40 AM
Off for a haircut - then first stop Corfu here we come :flag:

01-08-2018, 08:47 AM

Let us know how long the process takes.

01-08-2018, 08:50 AM
Advice would be to leave plenty of time if possible. We were okay but there was only one woman serving both Asteras Fans and Hibs fans, can see it getting busy.

Only one passport needed total, ie not one per ticket.

That’s Annoying. Hibs didn’t make that clear.

01-08-2018, 08:54 AM

I'm sure you're just kidding, but I've been waiting patiently for weeks to see if anyone ends up in Libya for this game. :greengrin

01-08-2018, 08:59 AM

Would guess probably because it wasn't made clear to Hibs...

01-08-2018, 09:01 AM
Day is here! Feel like I’ve been waiting months for this

one day maybe...
01-08-2018, 09:31 AM
For anyone in Sidari Corfu, The Escape Bar in the Canal d’ mour area are showing the game tomorrow night. Bumped into another Hibby at my hotel going to head there tomorrow 🇳🇬🇳🇬

01-08-2018, 09:32 AM

You're the only person on this forum who'll be annoyed by a process being easier than we were told it would be.

Gorebridge Hibb
01-08-2018, 09:35 AM

I’m sorted...

01-08-2018, 09:50 AM
Dad just phoned, he arrived last night and said pints were around €3. He is drinking in Omonia Square area. Weather really hot and sunny.

01-08-2018, 09:57 AM
Been sent photos by friends that are there & in the middle of Areos square there looks to be a stage set up right in front of the court house... Could be fun tomorrow 👍🏼

JimboHibs
01-08-2018, 10:02 AM

And so it begins ✌

01-08-2018, 10:05 AM
You're the only person on this forum who'll be annoyed by a process being easier than we were told it would be.

Yes because I went to the effort of scanning my passport and then driving to my mates to give the copy to him last night who’ll be in Tripolis later today so he could get me a ticket.

Would not have had to bother if the information above was known earlier.

01-08-2018, 10:07 AM
Yes because I went to the effort of scanning my passport and then driving to my mates to give the copy to him last night who’ll be in Tripolis later today so he could get me a ticket.

Would have had to bother if the information above was known earlier.

I would guess Hibs were only passing on the information they received from Asteras - so maybe it is the Asteras ticket office that has not read the memo!

01-08-2018, 10:08 AM

Would have had to bother if the information above was known earlier.

You think Hibs knew this and just didn’t want to say?

01-08-2018, 10:12 AM
You think Hibs knew this and just didn’t want to say?

I think they knew that one person could purchase for another’s as long as there was a copy of the passport. If th fans reps know then how come the club don’t advertise.

Anyway I’m not getting into this, I’ll see you jokers in Greece...

Kthomson44
01-08-2018, 10:17 AM

This square definitely seems better than the main one. More compact, more bars and cheaper.

01-08-2018, 10:18 AM
I think they knew that one person could purchase for another’s as long as there was a copy of the passport. If th fans reps know then how come the club don’t advertise.

It's a conspiracy.

01-08-2018, 10:29 AM

They know the same way as we now do.

Bus 1 mate, see you there 👍🏼

fife hfc
01-08-2018, 10:36 AM
Just arrived in Tripoli and a long journey from Athens airport after flying overnight to Katowice then Athens. Not seen any Hibbys and plan to have a wee walk to the ground later to get tickets. At least my plan landed this time, no fog to stop it.

01-08-2018, 10:52 AM

Surely you'd have wanted to do that just in case the info wasn't right. Better safe than sorry?

Hibs are in Europe, you're there to see them. These are the good times, don't let wee things like that get you down.

Gorebridge Hibb
01-08-2018, 11:11 AM
Just arrived in Tripoli and a long journey from Athens airport after flying overnight to Katowice then Athens. Not seen any Hibbys and plan to have a wee walk to the ground later to get tickets. At least my plan landed this time, no fog to stop it.

Did you get the bus from Athens?

01-08-2018, 11:14 AM
Few hibbies in Heathrow atm.

01-08-2018, 11:18 AM
I've sent you a PM.

Is there any more spare seats? Cheers

smack
01-08-2018, 11:28 AM

If you scanned your passport you could have just emailed it to him and saved yourself the drive [emoji85]

01-08-2018, 11:38 AM
Surely you'd have wanted to do that just in case the info wasn't right. Better safe than sorry?

Hibs are in Europe, you're there to see them. These are the good times, don't let wee things like that get you down.

Boy can’t help it.

01-08-2018, 11:51 AM
How’s the weather in Tripolis?

Bandito59
01-08-2018, 12:00 PM
Might be worth knowing the ground is maybe half an hour walk from town centre. I drove there this morning in about 10 there is a big car park at the back of it. Watch out for sheep on the road! Taxi rank opposite the Star Store.

penihibs
01-08-2018, 12:27 PM
How did you get to Tripoli's?

18Craig75
01-08-2018, 01:01 PM

Been glorious all day.

We didn’t have to go to the stadium for tickets btw, the shop is at the main square. Star shop, can’t miss it.

Met a couple of guys earlier who were ticket number 65.

Juice Terry
01-08-2018, 01:01 PM
Enjoyed a couple of drinks at Manchester airport with a couple of Hibees.
Just arrived in Frankfurt.
We're on our way, on our way.........
[emoji1184][emoji172][emoji460]️[emoji1112]

01-08-2018, 01:09 PM

👏🏻👏🏻

01-08-2018, 01:16 PM
On train to Glasgow for flight to Sofia and on to Athens.

Come on Hibs!

01-08-2018, 01:24 PM
Been in Edinburgh airport last couple of hours and met a handful of Hibees. As always very accommodating, particularly helpful when flying alone. Anyway, boarded and ready to fly to kefalonia for part 1. See you at the the Athens sports bar

18Craig75
01-08-2018, 01:27 PM
Hibees congregating at Kallisto Bar at the square in Tripolis [emoji106]

01-08-2018, 01:47 PM
Enough of all these travelling plans. When are we getting videos of Hibs fans taking over town centre squares all over Greece?

Some of the videos from the people at the Brondby game were superb, hopefully there's a few more of them flying about soon.

01-08-2018, 02:06 PM
Yes, can people please start putting up photos or videos 👍😁

01-08-2018, 02:08 PM

[emoji1319][emoji1319]

01-08-2018, 02:16 PM
Milkinho and I in Malaga just now. 5 your delay on our flight to Kuwait via Athens. Praying we get there tonight 😬

01-08-2018, 02:18 PM
Milkinho and I in Malaga just now. 5 your delay on our flight to Kuwait via Athens. Praying we get there tonight 😬

That's one mental way to get to Athens! How much did that cost mate?

01-08-2018, 02:33 PM
That's one mental way to get to Athens! How much did that cost mate?

£160 return. Got what we paid for! Apparently plane on its way now 😭

01-08-2018, 02:50 PM
On train to Glasgow for flight to Sofia and on to Athens.

Come on Hibs!

In the Upper Lounge already. Our flight to Athens in morning will be crazy!

fife hfc
01-08-2018, 03:13 PM
Did you get the bus from Athens?

No got a taxi (use the phrase loosely) from Gotransfers.com. Still pricey at £100 but after flying through the night good to do away with the hassle and length of journey.

01-08-2018, 03:20 PM
£160 return. Got what we paid for! Apparently plane on its way now 😭

Sure you'll be OK 👍

01-08-2018, 03:24 PM
Sure you'll be OK [emoji106]I really hope so. Travelling with this roaster is bad enough but delayed and 5 pints deeper than he should be is just torture!

01-08-2018, 03:24 PM
I really hope so. Travelling with this roaster is bad enough but delayed and 5 pints deeper than he should be is just torture!

01-08-2018, 03:26 PM
[emoji23]What's the Athens nightlife like at 3am?

Kthomson44
01-08-2018, 04:10 PM
Anyone in Tripoli found a sports bar? Would be good to get a decent atmosphere going. From what I’ve seen it’s all happening in Athens.

01-08-2018, 04:36 PM

👏🏻👏🏻

Brilliant news.

01-08-2018, 06:56 PM
I really hope so. Travelling with this roaster is bad enough but delayed and 5 pints deeper than he should be is just torture!

Oh dear, i hope your pain is over soon and you see other Hibees! 😁

01-08-2018, 06:57 PM
There will be at least a 1000 Hibs fans at the game

Cracking if so 👍

fife hfc
01-08-2018, 08:54 PM

Warm when we arrived at noon. Raining when I woke up at 5pm and cool in the evening, good weather for the team.

01-08-2018, 08:56 PM
https://www.facebook.com/100011706452194/videos/640987379634805/

Here's the first video up.