View Full Version : Fans in Greece

Pages : 1 [2]

fife hfc
01-08-2018, 08:57 PM
Might be worth knowing the ground is maybe half an hour walk from town centre. I drove there this morning in about 10 there is a big car park at the back of it. Watch out for sheep on the road! Taxi rank opposite the Star Store.

Walked to it tonight and took twenty minutes if I wasn’t following google maps. No sheep but is almost the back of beyond.

01-08-2018, 10:10 PM
https://www.facebook.com/100011706452194/videos/640987379634805/

Here's the first video up.

Link broken

01-08-2018, 11:06 PM

👏🏻👏🏻

Quality !

stokesysonfire
01-08-2018, 11:35 PM
Anyone still out in athens?

02-08-2018, 12:06 AM
Anyone still out in athens?

I was but just retired to my room ten minutes ago.

02-08-2018, 12:13 AM
In Sofia airport, 3 hours to go

02-08-2018, 01:19 AM
Sure you'll be OK 👍

Pleased to say we have finally made it to Athens 😆 bring it on!

02-08-2018, 02:05 AM
Hibees here, Hibees there

Hibees ****ing everywhere!

02-08-2018, 06:02 AM
I’m blaming every single Hibby that was in the James Joyce last night for my hangover. It was worth it though . :greengrin

02-08-2018, 06:23 AM
Have a brilliant time all of you. So so jealous I couldn't come this time [emoji1184][emoji1184]

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

02-08-2018, 06:30 AM
Opened a couple of videos of Hibs fans in a bar last night singing a catchy new tune (well new to me) 'All i know is Hibs are on their way'

That's me buzzing already and still 12 hours to go.

02-08-2018, 06:33 AM
Was in the James Joyce last night and heard two rumours first Kamberi May be out injured as he didn’t train yesterday.

Second there seems to be a big rumour going around that Maclaren is with the team in Greece. Obviously if true and I can’t know one way or another if it is, but he’ll not be able to play. So does anyone know anything about this or is it just bull manure?

02-08-2018, 06:37 AM
Yep its true re Kamberi.Has knee injury.Did not train yesterday

Silversand
02-08-2018, 07:01 AM
I’m blaming every single Hibby that was in the James Joyce last night for my hangover. It was worth it though . :greengrinThis was earlier in the afternoon. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180802/2084ffbfbbe5587f4a2013e81cd08a9d.jpg

02-08-2018, 07:09 AM
Was in the James Joyce last night and heard two rumours first Kamberi May be out injured as he didn’t train yesterday.

Second there seems to be a big rumour going around that Maclaren is with the team in Greece. Obviously if true and I can’t know one way or another if it is, but he’ll not be able to play. So does anyone know anything about this or is it just bull manure?

Was reported in the media last night he never trained yestersynas a precaution but expected to play tonight.

02-08-2018, 07:10 AM

GGTTHThe BBC say that Kamberi will play.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

St Pauli Hibee
02-08-2018, 07:11 AM
Where is everyone this morning ??

02-08-2018, 07:17 AM

Just arrived at Mansion Hotel mate. Where about on Omonia Square will the busses pick up?

02-08-2018, 07:31 AM

We’re heading up to omonia shortly

02-08-2018, 07:38 AM

We're still on Zante. Catching the 12.00pm ferry to the main land then meeting the others and driving to Tripoli.

I'm guessing we'll be there about 4.30.

Bandito59
02-08-2018, 07:44 AM
Walked to it tonight and took twenty minutes if I wasn’t following google maps. No sheep but is almost the back of beyond.

Well done you found a quicker way than me. I shouldn’t really trust Google maps! Can’t wait for the game!

ChickenCurryYLT
02-08-2018, 07:49 AM
What a brilliant first night, We’re on our Way must’ve went on for a good 20 minutes in that Irish boozer!

We go again today 🇳🇬🍻

18Craig75
02-08-2018, 08:07 AM
Great night in the Green Olive in Tripoli last night. More of the same today, will be great when the busses arrive as well!

Silversand
02-08-2018, 08:18 AM
Omonia Sq just now

Where is everyone this morning ??https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180802/27153126533525bfb4a1625c52a88018.jpg

02-08-2018, 09:10 AM
For pre match food remember the souvlaki that they sell outside most Greek grounds, normally 1 euro a go and better than the crap pies we get offered here.

WHAM
02-08-2018, 09:16 AM
Was told by a mate across there that some young local bams turned up in Tripolis last night trying to steal Hibs flags but were swiftly sent on their way. 😂

Enjoy the day everyone out there and let’s hope we get the result.

02-08-2018, 09:22 AM
Just arrived from Athens only 2 hours on bus, collected tickets from star store.. No passports were required.

02-08-2018, 09:40 AM
Omonia Sq just now
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180802/27153126533525bfb4a1625c52a88018.jpg

Brilliant, keep the pics coming:flag:

IrnBru22
02-08-2018, 09:54 AM
FYI the local bus from Athens to Tripolis is €30 return.

fife hfc
02-08-2018, 10:29 AM
Well done you found a quicker way than me. I shouldn’t really trust Google maps! Can’t wait for the game!

I have sons who walk faster and want to get there, while I wanted a leisurely stroll. My walking would have been 30 minuted and less sweaty😂

fife hfc
02-08-2018, 10:33 AM
Good news for the team as it’s clouding over here in tripoli and got a bit cooler. Got told the weather has not been as hot this summer and they have had more rain than usual.Been roasting this morning. Anything that helps Hibs tonight.

02-08-2018, 10:35 AM
Good news for the team as it’s clouding over here in tripoli and got a bit cooler. Got told the weather has not been as hot this summer and they have had more rain than usual.Been roasting this morning. Anything that helps Hibs tonight.

I’m absolutely pishing wi sweat. Would hate to see it hotter.

IrnBru22
02-08-2018, 12:27 PM
Currently a thunderstorm in Tripoli. Pishing down at the stadium.

Didn’t need a passport to buy tickets.

02-08-2018, 12:41 PM
Seemingly pishing it down in Tripoli atm

02-08-2018, 12:42 PM
Also just saw a video in Athens of a masked guy throwing Molotov cocktails seemingy towards Hibs fans...

Anyone else heard about this?

02-08-2018, 12:43 PM
Also just saw a video in Athens of a masked guy throwing Molotov cocktails seemingy towards Hibs fans...

Us Hibbys are daft, we will drink anything.

02-08-2018, 12:46 PM

Yeah heard some hibs fans got jumped in Athens boozer.

BegbieHSC
02-08-2018, 12:47 PM

Got a link?

EH6 Hibby
02-08-2018, 12:49 PM

I've saw the video, and it was filmed by Hibs fans, but I was told it wasn't towards Hibs fans, they just happened to be there, it was supposedly Greeks and Turks towards each other?

02-08-2018, 12:50 PM
Seemingly pishing it down in Tripoli atmWas 30 mins ago. Can only suit hibs. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180802/efed979611fb52d87bfd4363d97995a0.jpg

Sent from my S40 using Tapatalk

02-08-2018, 12:50 PM
Yeah heard some hibs fans got jumped in Athens boozer.

That’s bad, hope they are all ok

02-08-2018, 12:51 PM
Got a link?

Nah sorry just got showed it at work

scooby
02-08-2018, 12:54 PM
Stay safe guys 👍

02-08-2018, 12:55 PM
Was told by a mate across there that some young local bams turned up in Tripolis last night trying to steal Hibs flags but were swiftly sent on their way. 😂

Enjoy the day everyone out there and let’s hope we get the result.

Think this is a European ultras tradition. Friend who was away with Rangers had the same issue the other week. Folk came in to the pub with balaclavas and bat's but were just after the flags.

fife hfc
02-08-2018, 01:09 PM
Raining again but the Olive Green is the place to meet. Have the buss arrived yet?

02-08-2018, 01:10 PM
Pouring down with thunder again.

02-08-2018, 01:12 PM
Raining again but the Olive Green is the place to meet. Have the buss arrived yet?

Our bus driver is scared to come out of third gear. We might make kick off. :greengrin

02-08-2018, 01:15 PM
http://www.livecameras.gr/up/tripoli.php

02-08-2018, 01:24 PM
http://www.livecameras.gr/up/tripoli.php

hope that's the same as the home teams goals for column tonight....blank

:)

fife hfc
02-08-2018, 01:25 PM

02-08-2018, 01:28 PM
[QUOTE=cabbageandribs1875;5490093]hope that's the same as the home teams goals for column tonight....blank

:)[/QUOTE
Works for me fine

02-08-2018, 01:28 PM
hope that's the same as the home teams goals for column tonight....blank

:)21087

02-08-2018, 01:48 PM
It's torrential, could game be off?

02-08-2018, 01:50 PM
If the games off then so is our game against Motherwell on Sunday as they'd have to play the tie tomorrow.

02-08-2018, 01:51 PM

Think it’s to go off around KO time

02-08-2018, 01:57 PM

If the games off then so is our game against Motherwell on Sunday as they'd have to play the tie tomorrow.

Think it’s to go off around KO time

NL, was saying how dry and sponge like the pitch was.

He was happy that the rain and possibly cooler conditions were on there way!........

02-08-2018, 02:01 PM
NL, was saying how dry and sponge like the pitch was.

He was happy that the rain and possibly cooler conditions were on there way!........

If it carries on like this the pitch will flood, it's been continously lashing down for over an hour.

02-08-2018, 02:12 PM
According to Accuweather.com it’s just a thunder storm which will soon pass, sun will be out shortly :aok:

02-08-2018, 02:13 PM
Anyone got an iPhone charger near the mainalon hotel. Pints in it for ye.

02-08-2018, 02:15 PM
So incredibly jealous of everyone there :boo hoo: Im sure the rains not dampening anyone's spirits :flag:

02-08-2018, 02:31 PM
Is it still raining there?

02-08-2018, 02:31 PM
Is it still raining there?

Pishing down

Heckys Wheel
02-08-2018, 02:34 PM
Anyone got an iPhone charger near the mainalon hotel. Pints in it for ye.

Just stay off Hibs.net for a while. You’re in Greece. Be in the moment. 👍🏼

02-08-2018, 04:35 PM
Brian McLaughlin on BBC just said 800-1000 Hibs fans expected tonight
Great turnout, well done to all who’ve made it

02-08-2018, 04:40 PM
Pal just sent me a couple of videos. Looks like a brilliant atmosphere and the sun is now out.

02-08-2018, 04:44 PM
Been bomabrded with videos and photos all day. So jealous.

02-08-2018, 04:46 PM
Cracking tour so far. Hope the boys see it through.

02-08-2018, 07:06 PM
Red card boom.

Let’s finish this Hibs

West lower
02-08-2018, 08:18 PM
What a fantastic backing you guys out there gave the team. Enjoy the rest of your trip and get home in one piece. Well done.

GORDONSMITH7
02-08-2018, 08:23 PM
Our bus driver is scared to come out of third gear. We might make kick off. :greengrin

I am sure you did make it and experienced a great European night. Splendid.

BIG G

02-08-2018, 08:25 PM
Well done to all who travelled.

I think they had the mic turned down as the sound from both sets of fans was quiet but you could hear the Hibs fans for the full 90+ minutes and the backing sounded fantastic.

I’m going to do some begging, borrowing and maybe even stealing to get to Norway.

02-08-2018, 08:32 PM
I would have loved to have been out there. Top effort to those who made it out there. How many Hibs fans made the trip do we know? Heard varying numbers.

02-08-2018, 08:35 PM
Well done to all who travelled.

I think they had the mic turned down as the sound from both sets of fans was quiet but you could hear the Hibs fans for the full 90+ minutes and the backing sounded fantastic.

I’m going to do some begging, borrowing and maybe even stealing to get to Norway.

I've got a collection of pegs to sell

Cheshire Hibby
02-08-2018, 08:38 PM
Another well done to the Hibees that travelled. Superb again. :nlgwa

02-08-2018, 08:40 PM
Each and every one of you, well done[emoji122][emoji122][emoji122][emoji1184][emoji1184]

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

02-08-2018, 09:01 PM
You guys and girls did the club proud tonight! Could hear you all loud and clear! 💚👍🏾

02-08-2018, 09:04 PM
:top marksTo all those out there in Greece who cheered on our boys right through those 90 finger-biting minutes:hibees.

03-08-2018, 01:59 AM
Congrats and well done to all of our supporters at tonight's game - the result was no more than you all thoroughly deserved !

ChickenCurryYLT
03-08-2018, 06:54 AM
What a brilliant trip 🇳🇬 Athens / Tripoli it’s been a pleasure. Special thanks to St Pauli for sorting the buses yesterday. Different class mate 👍 We’re on our way

murray26
03-08-2018, 06:56 AM
Looked and sounded like a great away trip.. memories for a lifetime.. anyone got and good pictures or videos to share..

03-08-2018, 06:57 AM
What a day!!! Lets all do the Lenny ✈

03-08-2018, 06:58 AM
I think I’ve watched about 50 videos on twitter and every single one looked brilliant. Well done to all those who made it over to back the boys you lot were superb last night.

03-08-2018, 07:25 AM
For anyone that’s getting the public bus back to Athens today, be aware the bus station is not where Google says it is, it’s a kilometre or two out of town.

Humo
03-08-2018, 09:25 AM
That was an incredible trip

03-08-2018, 09:38 AM
That was an incredible trip

I didn’t think Brondby could be bettered but the atmosphere over the past two days has been something else.

03-08-2018, 10:10 AM
What a game last night. First Euro trip for me and it was just superb. Still here till Sunday.

03-08-2018, 10:19 AM
The papers are saying 1500 hibs fans at the game , unbeievable .. you did us all proud . The stream i watched had awful sound quality but still heard the hibs fans loud and clear for the 90 minutes

same again for Molde

03-08-2018, 02:22 PM
Athens airport is dead

03-08-2018, 03:38 PM
Just back, what a trip.
Buckled my ankle, bruised my backside, lost my voice and can’t eat.
Would do it al again

GRA
03-08-2018, 08:26 PM
What a brilliant trip [emoji1184] Athens / Tripoli it’s been a pleasure. Special thanks to St Pauli for sorting the buses yesterday. Different class mate [emoji106] We’re on our wayFinally back home! Time for a very long sleep....

Thanks to St Pauli for organising the buses and thanks to my fellow Hibees for all the great banter along the way. My first Euro trip and was definitely worthwhile! [emoji106]

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

03-08-2018, 09:04 PM
Just back, what a trip.
Buckled my ankle, bruised my backside, lost my voice and can’t eat.
Would do it al again

Wont ask, what happens away with the lads stays with the lads. :wink:

DarrenSQH
03-08-2018, 10:29 PM
17 hours today to get home after delays for the second flight. Well worth it though. Amazing few days

03-08-2018, 10:45 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YsYDd1AibSw

Nice but brief clip of the goal celebrations from a different angle on this one at 3.48.

03-08-2018, 11:47 PM
Athens airport is dead

So is Manchester

Andy Bee
04-08-2018, 01:37 AM
Just home myself, what a trip, my lad absolutely loved it and talking to another nice chap in Athens airport this afternoon his young lad was the same, as was another who I'd met earlier in the week in our hotel. Every one of them had grins from ear to ear when I asked about the game, I suppose that's what it's all about.

I've been deaf in one ear for four days now with no idea how it happened, I've also got a rather tender lump in my head from skelping it everytime I left the bus although I finally mastered the manoeuvre by the end of the night. There's also a good chance I'll be nursing a bout of double pneumonia after the drenching received waiting in the ticket que.

Special thanks to Deano and all the boys in his company along with the lads in The Stanley hotel they were all absolutely brilliant, it could've been quite intimidating when you're in these types of places on your own but we were welcomed in to their company, it really made the week so cheers folks.

Also another special mention to the singing section at the back of bus 2, if ever there's a non pc version of X Factor these boys are walking or skiing :greengrin it hands down, I don't know what was more funny, the songs or the apologies for going too far but that was some laugh. The highlight was an updated version of the Mercer song, absolutely brilliant but seriously tasteless :greengrin

Finally another top top special mention to Scott for arranging the buses, that was some shift you put in, top bloke and I'd guess you'll rarely have to put your hand in your pocket for another drink when on future trips, thanks a lot. :thumbsup:

So so many funny memories, the march up to the stadium when some bloke took over a passer byes car horn who unfortunately had his window down and then he jumps in the back of anothers pickup and proceeds to do the Hibee bounce, about ninety hibbys serenading two old ladies Tom Cruise style when they'd only came out to see what the commotion was :rotflmao: absolutely brilliant, well natured banter and the locals seemed to love it.

04-08-2018, 04:21 PM
Had planned on meeting some of the guys in the Athens Sports Bar but in arrival to my hotel had a late lunch, put the head down for 30 mins and woke up this morning, 12 hours later! Must have needed it. Wee wander about Athens today and our to the airport super early. Flight delayed by 18 minutes so far, hopefully it doesn't lengthen.

04-08-2018, 04:25 PM
Athens airport is dead

So is Manchester

Athens airport was absolutely heaving yesterday, it took and absolute age to get through passport control and I had two loud mouth Aussie birds behind who obviously felt they were too good to queue up and tried to skip it only to be swiftly collared by the border agent and put back in line with everyone else. It was quite funny and they weren't so loud mouthed after that. :greengrin

sean04
04-08-2018, 06:02 PM
Just seen a video of fans singing a Ryan portuous song. Class

04-08-2018, 07:07 PM
Would say there's somewhere between a dozen to two dozen obvious Hibbys on the Edinburgh flight leaving Athens in about 30 minutes. We must surely be the last hingers oan! A quieter group than 48 hours ago that's for sure!

04-08-2018, 07:19 PM
Would say there's somewhere between a dozen to two dozen obvious Hibbys on the Edinburgh flight leaving Athens in about 30 minutes. We must surely be the last hingers oan! A quieter group than 48 hours ago that's for sure!We're still here! Heading home tomorrow.

04-08-2018, 07:30 PM
There a few of us wandering around Amsterdam Airport just now.

Jim Herriot
04-08-2018, 08:03 PM
A nice video of the fans in Tripolis is here...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BY3nvaVUfXQ

04-08-2018, 09:06 PM
Just home myself, what a trip, my lad absolutely loved it and talking to another nice chap in Athens airport this afternoon his young lad was the same, as was another who I'd met earlier in the week in our hotel. Every one of them had grins from ear to ear when I asked about the game, I suppose that's what it's all about.

I've been deaf in one ear for four days now with no idea how it happened, I've also got a rather tender lump in my head from skelping it everytime I left the bus although I finally mastered the manoeuvre by the end of the night. There's also a good chance I'll be nursing a bout of double pneumonia after the drenching received waiting in the ticket que.

Special thanks to Deano and all the boys in his company along with the lads in The Stanley hotel they were all absolutely brilliant, it could've been quite intimidating when you're in these types of places on your own but we were welcomed in to their company, it really made the week so cheers folks.

Also another special mention to the singing section at the back of bus 2, if ever there's a non pc version of X Factor these boys are walking or skiing :greengrin it hands down, I don't know what was more funny, the songs or the apologies for going too far but that was some laugh. The highlight was an updated version of the Mercer song, absolutely brilliant but seriously tasteless :greengrin

Finally another top top special mention to Scott for arranging the buses, that was some shift you put in, top bloke and I'd guess you'll rarely have to put your hand in your pocket for another drink when on future trips, thanks a lot. :thumbsup:

So so many funny memories, the march up to the stadium when some bloke took over a passer byes car horn who unfortunately had his window down and then he jumps in the back of anothers pickup and proceeds to do the Hibee bounce, about ninety hibbys serenading two old ladies Tom Cruise style when they'd only came out to see what the commotion was :rotflmao: absolutely brilliant, well natured banter and the locals seemed to love it.

Great post - made me jealous-as !. Anybody manage to film any of these events/happenings/events - they'd be great to see ??

05-08-2018, 06:39 PM
Brilliant video by Hibs Media team. Probably been posted, but just stumbled across it myself. Goosebumps.

https://www.facebook.com/ScottishFootballForTheFans/videos/214659435890153/

05-08-2018, 06:50 PM
Brilliant video by Hibs Media team. Probably been posted, but just stumbled across it myself. Goosebumps.

Brilliant, I'm on the fence in that :greengrin

Bandito59
05-08-2018, 07:14 PM
Does anyone know how many of us were in Tripolis? Read 1200 in one report.

05-08-2018, 07:25 PM
Does anyone know how many of us were in Tripolis? Read 1200 in one report.

1200. I read it in a report

05-08-2018, 07:28 PM
The EEN said jut over 1500 made the trip to Tripolis.

05-08-2018, 07:30 PM
The EEN said jut over 1500 made the trip to Tripolis.

Easily felt like this at the game.

05-08-2018, 07:32 PM

Cracking video that captures it well :thumbsup:

05-08-2018, 11:29 PM
Easily felt like this at the game.

Aye, I think it was about 1500, not many seats left free in our end.