View Full Version : We are Hibernian Fc....

Babyshamble
27-07-2018, 08:46 PM
Anybody else miss singing this ? Loved it growing up.

27-07-2018, 08:52 PM
I thought it was sung last night :confused:

linlithgowhibbie
27-07-2018, 08:59 PM
I thought it was sung last night :confused:

It was several times from the East

Babyshamble
27-07-2018, 09:12 PM
It was several times from the East

Never heard it from where I sitting.apologies lads 👍

27-07-2018, 09:17 PM
It could be sung more frequently for my liking too. Not particularly enjoying that world cup Carnival de Paris song occupying the peak time after we score either. Get a Hibs song sung :flag:

AZhibee
27-07-2018, 10:19 PM
Never heard it from where I sitting.apologies lads 👍

Heard it in Arizona...on HibsTV

Babyshamble
27-07-2018, 11:14 PM
Heard it in Arizona...on HibsTV

Good for you.number one hibby you eh ?

27-07-2018, 11:15 PM
Good for you.number one hibby you eh ?

:wtf:

The man lives in Arizona.

27-07-2018, 11:20 PM
It could be sung more frequently for my liking too. Not particularly enjoying that world cup Carnival de Paris song occupying the peak time after we score either. Get a Hibs song sung :flag:

That's been a staple for about 3 seasons now. Where you been?

27-07-2018, 11:31 PM
I've never particularly liked it because of the shoehorning of "hating" Dundee into the song. I doubt we "hate" Dundee, they just happened to the the first team anyone could think of that rhymes with "FC".

27-07-2018, 11:32 PM

Longer than that.

I remember singing it with great gusto at Tinycastle when we beat St Johnstone in the League Cup.

It's great after a goal.

Babyshamble
28-07-2018, 12:01 AM
:wtf:

The man lives in Arizona.

There was no need for his smart arse comment.

28-07-2018, 12:14 AM

Was it a smart arse comment?

He was pointing out that the song you bemoaned the loss of is was actually still being sung as he'd heard it on Hibs TV.

Maybe you guys have history, but otherwise it seemed like an innocent enough post to me.

Babyshamble
28-07-2018, 12:21 AM
Good point.I stand corrected.dinnae want to cause any arguments with anyone on here.was just saying me & ma mates never heard it. that's all.sorry if I offended the guy from Arizona.no harm meant lad.

28-07-2018, 01:19 AM
sung loud and clear from the three home stands on thursday night, and quite often during last season :agree:

28-07-2018, 01:22 AM
I like it. It's aggressive and makes for a good atmosphere. Someone put a clip up on twitter from Arthur's Seat last night where you can hear it planely from there.

Callum7
28-07-2018, 01:25 AM
I like it. It's aggressive and makes for a good atmosphere. Someone put a clip up on twitter from Arthur's Seat last night where you can hear it planely from there.

Link?

Austinho
28-07-2018, 01:42 AM
It could be sung more frequently for my liking too. Not particularly enjoying that world cup Carnival de Paris song occupying the peak time after we score either. Get a Hibs song sung :flag:Rather they played 500 Miles after goals, or at least mix it up. Iconically Hibs.

AZhibee
28-07-2018, 03:15 AM

Apologies, no intent of antagonism. Did hear the song and sang it quietly in my office while watching the game and pretending to work. Next week we can sing it together at full time whistle when Hibs advance. Cheers!
:thumbsup::flag:

Clarence
28-07-2018, 05:26 AM
I've never particularly liked it because of the shoehorning of "hating" Dundee into the song. I doubt we "hate" Dundee, they just happened to the the first team anyone could think of that rhymes with "FC".

A derivation of the song was featured on a Hibs album released in the 90s. It changed the “hate” section to “we are the Hibee family”. Safe to say that version did not catch on.

The best song on the album was Cabbage and Ribs by the Peristalsis Brothers.

LustForLeith
28-07-2018, 06:21 AM
Why do we hate Dundee?

28-07-2018, 06:34 AM
Why do we hate Dundee?

Have you been to Dundee? Quite understandable.

It's a comment on the city rather than the team 👍

28-07-2018, 06:44 AM

I know, I've been thinking this for three years :wink: It's not a bad song but for peak moments in a game I'd rather sing a Hibs song than a generic football song with "Hibees" added in.

SideBurns
28-07-2018, 06:48 AM

I substititute "Dundee" for "Airdrie" which nearly works as well, and is a far more palatable sentiment given their mini hunnery.

linlithgowhibbie
28-07-2018, 09:40 AM
Why do we hate Dundee?

Coz it rhymes with FC !!!:thumbsup:

The Pointer
28-07-2018, 10:22 AM

Would like to hear that. Got a link?

ElginHibbie
28-07-2018, 10:26 AM
Would like to hear that. Got a link?

https://twitter.com/se8nhumphreys/status/1022606936800419841

28-07-2018, 10:31 AM
Longer than that.

I remember singing it with great gusto at Tinycastle when we beat St Johnstone in the League Cup.

It's great after a goal.This Great Gusto chap of whom you speak. Is he one of those stage hypnotists or magicians? Is he someone else to add to the list of celebrity Hibbies?

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

28-07-2018, 04:36 PM

Good vid but we’re not singing ‘We are Hibernian FC’ on it are we?

28-07-2018, 04:56 PM
Favourite memory of this song is singing it between SDG 90+2 and FT. If your mouth forming the right shapes while unintelligible squeaky noises come out your throat counts as singing, that is. Still the best rendition i’ve ever given it though!

28-07-2018, 04:56 PM
First song sung after we won the cup. Probably the loudest one ever too

28-07-2018, 05:05 PM

You can hear the Hibs support from Arthurs Seat, but you cannae hear the yams inside their stadium. Speaks volumes!

28-07-2018, 05:05 PM
Anybody else miss singing this ? Loved it growing up.

We hate jam tarts and we hate Dundee...

One of the songs from the 80s that is still allowed..

28-07-2018, 05:24 PM

I miss the Hibees bounce being our after goal celebration

28-07-2018, 05:26 PM
I miss the Hibees bounce being our after goal celebration

Definitely!

Babyshamble
28-07-2018, 09:27 PM
Apologies, no intent of antagonism. Did hear the song and sang it quietly in my office while watching the game and pretending to work. Next week we can sing it together at full time whistle when Hibs advance. Cheers!
:thumbsup::flag:
Didn't mean to offend you lad.bad day yesterday.my grandad has been in hospital with prostate cancer & dementia.
Took it all out on the drink.sorry mate.

ElginHibbie
28-07-2018, 09:38 PM

It does sounds like that's what is being sung to me, but it's pretty faint so could well be wrong

28-07-2018, 10:39 PM

Yeah. If you listen hard enough it does become clear it’s being sung.:agree:

I’ve not checked but if memory serves me right, pretty sure it was the first song sung after the mayhem died down following SDGs goal on 21/5/16.:thumbsup:

AZhibee
29-07-2018, 12:10 AM

Yes, but the "mental HFC" explains this, some random club will be hated for no other reason than they rhyme with something; now that's cool.

29-07-2018, 12:21 AM
I substititute "Dundee" for "Airdrie" which nearly works as well, and is a far more palatable sentiment given their mini hunnery.

Substitute "Dundee" with "Levein". Doesn't rhyme quite as well but it is more fun hating him.

29-07-2018, 12:32 AM
i'm firmly in the 'Not hating dundee' camp, tiz a great song but we do need to change the reference to dundee, jeezo they gave us a fantastic day in 1986, we should be singing 'we hate jamterts but we lurve dundee' :agree: maybe one of the reid brothers could think up a simple wee line for us :cbthey know they want to

29-07-2018, 06:10 AM
We are Hibernian FC
Overthinking a melody

AZhibee
29-07-2018, 06:54 AM
Maybe "We hate jam tarts and ann budg-e".😏

29-07-2018, 08:01 AM
“ oo oo to be
Oo to be a Hibby “
I’ve no heard sung that for ages