View Full Version : Betfred Cup Draw - Hibs v Ross County

27-07-2018, 02:31 PM
Live on sunday after the Hearts v Inverness game
Hibs will be seeded in this round, along with the top 4 group winners
Should become clearer the top group winners after tomorrow’s games
It’s unlikely, that Hearts will be seeded even if they top the group, so we could get them😄

https://spfl.co.uk/news/betfred-cup-draw-on-sunday

sauzee=legend
27-07-2018, 03:48 PM
Hearts at home would be nice BUT they won’t make the next round.

27-07-2018, 04:11 PM

Would be nice to get them at ER for a change, other than money spinning replays

27-07-2018, 06:17 PM
Would be nice to get them at ER for a change, other than money spinning replays

No replays for them to get in the League Cup.

27-07-2018, 06:20 PM

I’d like to think you’re right but I think they’ll qualify.

27-07-2018, 06:23 PM
A lot of lower league teams topping the groups currently. Easiest tie at home for me, we'll hopefully still have Europe to contend with at that point so could do with a game where we can maybe rotate a wee bit.

27-07-2018, 06:25 PM
A lot of lower league teams topping the groups currently. Easiest tie at home for me, we'll hopefully still have Europe to contend with at that point so could do with a game where we can maybe rotate a wee bit.

If I can remember correctly, last season we were runners up to Ross County, and drew one of the group winners in Ayr Utd, in the 1st round knock out stage
2 wins and you have a semi at Hampden

27-07-2018, 06:54 PM
If I can remember correctly, last season we were runners up to Ross County, and drew one of the group winners in Ayr Utd, in the 1st round knock out stage
2 wins and you have a semi at Hampden

Been a couple of years since I had one of those.

27-07-2018, 07:00 PM
Been a couple of years since I had one of those.

Beat me to it :greengrin

27-07-2018, 07:39 PM
Beat me to it :greengrin

By 6 mins as well. Life in the old Johnson yet.

MartinfaePorty
27-07-2018, 08:03 PM
2 wins and you have a semi at HampdenDid we not end up winning the group as Ross County failed to win their last game.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

27-07-2018, 08:04 PM
Did we not end up winning the group as Ross County failed to win their last game.

Yup I'm sure we won it.

27-07-2018, 08:11 PM
Yup I'm sure we won it.

Yeah we won the group and Ross County were second.

27-07-2018, 08:25 PM
Did we not end up winning the group as Ross County failed to win their last game.

Think you’re right. Ayr won their group and were seeded. Hibs weren’t
McCall wasn’t happy at the draw

29-07-2018, 09:45 AM
So after yesterday’s games, and before Hearts v Caley, this is the state of play for tonight’s last 16 draw

Seeded teams in league order
Celtic
Aberdeen
Rangers
Hibs
Ayr
Dunfermline
St Johnstone
Either Inverness or Livingston

Unseeded
Kilmarnock
Motherwell
Livingston
Dundee
St Mirren
Inverness or Partick or Hearts
Ross County
Queen of the South

A few ifs buts and maybes. A Caley win, or draw and a bonus point is enough for them to get seeded, as they have a better goal difference than Livvi
Hearts need to win to be an unseeded team, anything less and they are out🤣
If Caley were to lose 4-0, they would be out, and Partick would be one of the unseeded teams. If they draw and lose the penalty shoot out, they will be unseeded, and Livvi will be the 8th seeds

Draw is on BT Sport after Hearts v Caley

Think I’ve got this right, any mistakes, please add in😜

29-07-2018, 10:41 AM
So after yesterday’s games, and before Hearts v Caley, this is the state of play for tonight’s last 16 draw

Seeded teams in league order
Celtic
Aberdeen
Rangers
Hibs
Ayr
Dunfermline
St Johnstone
Either Inverness or Livingston

Unseeded
Kilmarnock
Motherwell
Livingston
Dundee
St Mirren
Inverness or Partick or Hearts
Ross County
Queen of the South

A few ifs buts and maybes. A Caley win, or draw and a bonus point is enough for them to get seeded, as they have a better goal difference than Livvi
Hearts need to win to be an unseeded team, anything less and they are out🤣
If Caley were to lose 4-0, they would be out, and Partick would be one of the unseeded teams. If they draw and lose the penalty shoot out, they will be unseeded, and Livvi will be the 8th seeds

Draw is on BT Sport after Hearts v Caley

Think I’ve got this right, any mistakes, please add in😜

A lot of the muppets on KB seem to think that a draw and a bonus point for penalties will guarantee them a best runner up spot. :confused::greengrin

Austinho
29-07-2018, 10:48 AM
A lot of the muppets on KB seem to think that a draw and a bonus point for penalties will guarantee them a best runner up spot. :confused::greengrinSuppose that would be in the category of needing to ‘win’.

Seekyit
29-07-2018, 11:03 AM
As i understand it Hearts need the three points to go through. The unfortunate thing is Inverness can afford to lose even 2 or 3 nil and still go through so both teams might see the game out if Hearts get a goal or two.

That's the way I understand it anyway....

29-07-2018, 11:14 AM
A lot of the muppets on KB seem to think that a draw and a bonus point for penalties will guarantee them a best runner up spot. :confused::greengrin

There's currently 4 2nd place teams on 9 points. If Hearts draw and then win on penalties they will only have 8 points. They need to win or they are out.

29-07-2018, 11:22 AM
There's currently 4 2nd place teams on 9 points. If Hearts draw and then win on penalties they will only have 8 points. They need to win or they are out.

Annoyingly, a proper 3 point deduction for their cove rangers indiscretion would have rendered this game meaningless.

29-07-2018, 11:35 AM
As i understand it Hearts need the three points to go through. The unfortunate thing is Inverness can afford to lose even 2 or 3 nil and still go through so both teams might see the game out if Hearts get a goal or two.

That's the way I understand it anyway....

And that’s why it’s unfair on the other teams, as they have an advantage knowning what they have to do today
Should have been played yesterday at 3pm like the rest of the fixtures

SPFL have a lot to answer for, if this gets played out, with neither team wanting to go forward

29-07-2018, 11:41 AM
Think you’re right. Ayr won their group and were seeded. Hibs weren’t
McCall wasn’t happy at the draw

And then drawn away from home, ER, where we won 5-0.

29-07-2018, 11:44 AM
It’s a certainty we’ll get Hearts away.

29-07-2018, 11:58 AM

They could have another meaningless pen shootout , just like they had last season against Dunfermline
They think Cali will let them win as Fat Robbo and Levein will be in cahoots.
Kinda forgetting that a Cali win will make Cali seeded in the draw .
They really are a different breed on that keek back .

29-07-2018, 12:01 PM
Yams will win today and will qualify!

JimboHibs
29-07-2018, 12:10 PM

Hopefully 👍

29-07-2018, 12:15 PM
Nathan Austin to score at anytime for Inverness.And Arron Dorian to finish them off.

29-07-2018, 12:19 PM
What we don’t want, is an away trip to Dingwall or Inverness
Could be playing at Molde on the Thursday night previous. So anything at home I’d take now

29-07-2018, 12:20 PM
I’d like to think you’re right but I think they’ll qualify.

Hope not

SJNB Hibby
29-07-2018, 12:43 PM
They could have another meaningless pen shootout , just like they had last season against Dunfermline

And if it DOES go to Pens, ICT will need the extra point to be seeded, :thumbsup::greengrin

29-07-2018, 12:45 PM
And if it DOES go to Pens, ICT will need the extra point to be seeded, :thumbsup::greengrin

I’ll just be one happy bunny, if it goes to a penalty shoot out

SJNB Hibby
29-07-2018, 12:45 PM
OR Stubbsy at home

29-07-2018, 12:50 PM

That would be funny! :faf:

29-07-2018, 12:51 PM
Hopefully 👍

After our recent no shows at their place it’s not something I’d relish tbh

29-07-2018, 01:11 PM

I saw Fat Robbo last Friday night, 9 days ago. Think he'd been at a funeral & was a tad in his cups. From things he was saying I don't think he & Harry P will be in cahoots any time soon. He was very complimentary about Hibs though & he loved the Natural Order banner.

29-07-2018, 01:11 PM
what time and channel is the cheats game on?

29-07-2018, 01:12 PM
what time and channel is the cheats game on?

3pm BT Sport

Nevi_SOL
29-07-2018, 01:19 PM
What we don’t want, is an away trip to Dingwall or Inverness
Could be playing at Molde on the Thursday night previous. So anything at home I’d take now

Flight straight into Inverness 😉

29-07-2018, 01:20 PM
Flight straight into Inverness 😉

Team charter😄

SideBurns
29-07-2018, 02:18 PM
I saw Fat Robbo last Friday night, 9 days ago. Think he'd been at a funeral & was a tad in his cups. From things he was saying I don't think he & Harry P will be in cahoots any time soon. He was very complimentary about Hibs though & he loved the Natural Order banner.

I'll always remember Robbo was the sole voice of reason in the Jambo wilderness when Mercer tried to kill us. He seems to have a bit of integrity about him, would like to think he'll have a team out trying to win today's game.

29-07-2018, 02:49 PM
Team charter😄

£600 for the team charter from Molde to Inverness.

29-07-2018, 02:56 PM
Hopefully ��

A ground we haven't beaten them at since 2013? Not sure about that. If we have to be drawn against them I'd rather at home, but preferably the weakest team in the draw at home.

SideBurns
29-07-2018, 03:14 PM
A ground we haven't beaten them at since 2013? Not sure about that. If we have to be drawn against them I'd rather at home, but preferably the weakest team in the draw at home.

I have some admiration for the fans who seem to relish the chance to play Hearts at Tynie - completely unfounded optimism, there can't be many grounds where we have a worse record!

29-07-2018, 03:16 PM
Hearts home or away I don’t care. We are far better than them! Plus we’ll have couple more quality in as well.

29-07-2018, 03:30 PM
I have some admiration for the fans who seem to relish the chance to play Hearts at Tynie - completely unfounded optimism, there can't be many grounds where we have a worse record!
Right now they need to score to progress. You would think they would be pushing forward frantically. Not a bit of it. Could be they are just poor right enough.

29-07-2018, 03:31 PM
Hearts home or away I don’t care. We are far better than them! Plus we’ll have couple more quality in as well.

Our record at tynecastle is an embarrassment so I would prefer home

29-07-2018, 03:32 PM

Will they not be seeded, like us, in the draw, with no chance of meeting at this stage?

29-07-2018, 03:38 PM
Will they not be seeded, like us, in the draw, with no chance of meeting at this stage?

Nope. They are unseeded.

29-07-2018, 03:44 PM
Queen of the south at home ideally.

29-07-2018, 03:44 PM
Is it on straight after the match?

29-07-2018, 03:45 PM
Is it on straight after the match?

Yes

29-07-2018, 03:50 PM

“Plus we’ll have couple more quality in as well”

Are you able to spill the beans who they are Cat? 😉

29-07-2018, 03:51 PM
Guaranteed the cheats get a home tie against us

29-07-2018, 03:54 PM
So Inverness lose out thanks to Hearts only getting docked 2 points.

29-07-2018, 03:58 PM
Ball numbers
SEEDED

Aberdeen 2
Ayr 6
Celtic 1
Dunfermline 5
Hibs 4
Livingston 8
Rangers 3
St Johnstone 7

UNSEEDED

Dundee 14
Hearts 11
Kilmarnock 10
Motherwell 9
Partick Thistle 16
Queen of the South 13
Ross County 12
St Mirren 15

29-07-2018, 03:59 PM
Guaranteed the cheats get a home tie against us

They don’t deserve that, do they? :greengrin

29-07-2018, 04:02 PM

SEEDED

Aberdeen
Ayr
Celtic
Dunfermline
Hibs
Livingston
Rangers
St Johnstone

UNSEEDED

Dundee
Hearts
Kilmarnock
Motherwell
Partick Thistle
Queen of the South
Ross County
St Mirren

29-07-2018, 04:03 PM
I’m guessing us v Ross County away.

Mikey_1875
29-07-2018, 04:07 PM
NAP it will be hearts

29-07-2018, 04:08 PM
NAP it will be hearts

Of course it will be Hearts. We can’t seem to get through a Cup without playing them these days.

29-07-2018, 04:09 PM
Hearts will be away to Celtic and they will be greetin about it.

29-07-2018, 04:10 PM
Times the draw?

29-07-2018, 04:11 PM
Times the draw?

Nowish

29-07-2018, 04:11 PM
Times the draw?

Now i think

29-07-2018, 04:12 PM
Times the draw?

Just starting now

29-07-2018, 04:12 PM
Still warming up certain balls

29-07-2018, 04:13 PM
Livi v Motherwell

Dundee v Ayr

Paul1642
Dunfermline hearts

29-07-2018, 04:14 PM
Dunfermline v Hearts

Killie v Rangers

Aberdeen v St Mirren

Pars v jam tarts

29-07-2018, 04:15 PM
Partick Thistle v Celtic

Come on you Pars 😀 they won't get it so easy now 👊

Paul1642
Home to Ross county :)

Hibs v Ross County

alihibs1
County at home for us

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Livingston v Motherwell
Dundee v Ayr
Dunfermline v Hearts
Kilmarnock v Rangers
Aberdeen v St Mirren
Partick v Celtic
Hibs v Ross County
Queen of the South v St Johnstone

29-07-2018, 04:16 PM
Home to Ross county :)

Decent.....

Hibs v Ross County

Decent draw

About as good as we could have asked for I reckon. Happy with that.

Happy with that

Delighted with that.

Livingston v Motherwell
Dundee v Ayr
Dunfermline v Hearts
Kilmarnock v Rangers
Aberdeen v St Mirren
Partick v Celtic
Hibs v Ross County
Queen of the South v St Johnstone

That'll do nicely.

Happy enough. Wanted Hearts though!

29-07-2018, 04:17 PM
Take that, home draw 👍🏾

Decent draw.

I’m guessing us v Ross County away.

Nearly Nostradamus. :greengrin

29-07-2018, 04:18 PM
Mon the Dunfy :thumbsup:

29-07-2018, 04:18 PM
Great draw for us

jae
29-07-2018, 04:19 PM
Good draw. Wow the Huns got an away draw!!!!!

Rewenge?

https://youtu.be/Ie546D_tcwk

badabing67
Welcome back Liam Fontaine

29-07-2018, 04:22 PM
No complaints with the draw. Always happy with a home tie.

29-07-2018, 04:24 PM
No complaints with the draw. Always happy with a home tie.

And works out well, if we’re still in Europe

29-07-2018, 04:25 PM
Good draw, should see us through to the quarters.

29-07-2018, 04:28 PM
When's the game

Seekyit
29-07-2018, 04:29 PM
When's the game

18/19 August which is the weekend

29-07-2018, 04:29 PM
When's the game

Saturday 18th or Sunday 19th
Probably Sunday if hopefully we’re playing Molde on the Thursday before

29-07-2018, 04:34 PM
Home draw, can't grumble with that

29-07-2018, 04:37 PM
Hopefully ticket prices will be around the same as the Ayr last 16 game last August
£15 and £10 conc, but reduced to £13.50 and £9 if booked in advance

29-07-2018, 04:38 PM
Oh well, another missed game.

29-07-2018, 04:46 PM
Oh well, another missed game.

Suggest you diary the below

https://spfl.co.uk/pages/key-dates

BT will probably take Killie v The Rangers

29-07-2018, 05:55 PM
When's the game

Sun 19th as we'll be in Molde on 16th.

29-07-2018, 06:49 PM
Good draw. Wow the Huns got an away draw!!!!!

Not really... Compliant Killie will surrender 3 stands to Stevie's Sevco while Kris Boyd acts as lead cheerleader for the new Order.

29-07-2018, 07:07 PM
If we're still in Europe we should be looking to give a few of the reserves a run-out for the Ross County game. With a fairly small squad we don't want to run the risk of injuries in a League Cup tie when there's a lot more money to be made by keeping a European run going.

HelmutSchlong
29-07-2018, 07:26 PM
Not really... Compliant Killie will surrender 3 stands to Stevie's Sevco while Kris Boyd acts as lead cheerleader for the new Order.

As good a cheerleader as he was the last time der hun went to Ayrshire? That time when he put 2 past them or the time after that when they went away to Ibrox when he scored the winner....

29-07-2018, 07:40 PM
If we're still in Europe we should be looking to give a few of the reserves a run-out for the Ross County game. With a fairly small squad we don't want to run the risk of injuries in a League Cup tie when there's a lot more money to be made by keeping a European run going.

No we need to play the competition as we mean to win it, as a fan couldn’t care less about money, I want see Hibs attempting to win one of the only two we have a real chance of winning.

HelmutSchlong
29-07-2018, 07:45 PM

I could not care less about money. I’d rather see the open top bus with a trophy on it rather than Petries smug puss announcing x-amount of profit at this years AGM

NASAHIBS
29-07-2018, 08:49 PM
Not really... Compliant Killie will surrender 3 stands to Stevie's Sevco while Kris Boyd acts as lead cheerleader for the new Order. Hopefully not. Hate Boyd but he done the business last Dec against his former "employers".

hibee1875
29-07-2018, 08:57 PM

By the time this game comes round I reckon we'll have at least another 4 bodies in, especially if we get through on Thursday.

29-07-2018, 08:58 PM
People realise that we use money to buy and pay players, right?

29-07-2018, 09:00 PM

Wow. You certainly seem to have the post barter economy capitalist system down to a tee :aok:

jae
29-07-2018, 09:02 PM

Was meaning a good draw for us and stating my surprise that Sevco were not drawn at home as per usual

29-07-2018, 09:07 PM
Wow. You certainly seem to have the post barter economy capitalist system down to a tee :aok:

It looked like it needed clarified.

29-07-2018, 09:08 PM
I could not care less about money. I’d rather see the open top bus with a trophy on it rather than Petries smug puss announcing x-amount of profit at this years AGM

Balancing act IMHO. If we reach the group stages of the Europa League it means a few money pounds to play with and for me takes us to the next level and should allow us to bring in a better quality of player.

To say you don't care about money is wrong as we need money to improve the team etc

29-07-2018, 10:17 PM

Yeah as I take my seat st ER I never watch the game, I prefer to study the balance sheet because that’s what really attracts me to the game. Yes of course we need money but the fact remains that we can’t dismiss the likes of the league cup either.

29-07-2018, 10:22 PM
Yeah as I take my seat st ER I never watch the game, I prefer to study the balance sheet because that’s what really attracts me to the game. Yes of course we need money but the fact remains that we can’t dismiss the likes of the league cup either.

If we've just progressed to the playoff game for the Europa group stages then I'll happily dismiss the league cup for 1 year, that's not an opportunity that comes round often.

29-07-2018, 10:52 PM
If we've just progressed to the playoff game for the Europa group stages then I'll happily dismiss the league cup for 1 year, that's not an opportunity that comes round often.

We wouldn't need to dismiss the League Cup but the rarity of European ties means even a game against a team from the Faroes will generate more money and a better atmosphere than a last 16 cup tie with Ross County. While it's probably unlikely we'll go much further, if we DO find ourselves in with a shout of some more big European nights under the lights that would be more exciting than a League Cup run. A weakened team would still have a fair chance of beating County.

League Cup's been devalued this season anyway by the way the organisers came up with that unprecedented two point deduction for Hearts so that the TV broadcasters had something more than a dead rubber to broadcast today.

29-07-2018, 11:04 PM
We wouldn't need to dismiss the League Cup but the rarity of European ties means even a game against a team from the Faroes will generate more money and a better atmosphere than a last 16 cup tie with Ross County. While it's probably unlikely we'll go much further, if we DO find ourselves in with a shout of some more big European nights under the lights that would be more exciting than a League Cup run. A weakened team would still have a fair chance of beating County.

League Cup's been devalued this season anyway by the way the organisers came up with that unprecedented two point deduction for Hearts so that the TV broadcasters had something more than a dead rubber to broadcast today.

Agreed, I didn't mean "dismiss" as harshly that. Rather prioritise our chances in Europe, and hope that a weakened team would still do the business in the LC. :aok:

29-07-2018, 11:48 PM
If we're still in Europe we should be looking to give a few of the reserves a run-out for the Ross County game. With a fairly small squad we don't want to run the risk of injuries in a League Cup tie when there's a lot more money to be made by keeping a European run going.you sound a bit like the gorgie mob, with that comment. If we're in it, try and win it. It may just be a diddy cup(for some) but I want my team to compete at all levels.we have a squad that should be able to rotate enough, giving a decent performance level in every competition surely?

30-07-2018, 07:46 AM
A cup is a cup. I want to win the League Cup if we can

30-07-2018, 07:47 AM

I don’t think we should play reserves against Ross County we should play our strongest team who are reserves. We have no choice but to play our strongest team -in the right formation- until someone is injured and suspended and try and get as far as we can in every competition only when we add quality reinforcements will we have the luxury of resting players and squad rotation. The HIBS go marching on!

31-07-2018, 10:48 AM
TV games announced, and surprise surprise, both Old Firm games announced. Dunfermline v Hearts is a more appealing fixture than Partick v Celtic in my opinion

Hibs v Ross County hopefully will be moved to the sunday

https://spfl.co.uk/news/betfred-cup-tv-selections

31-07-2018, 10:53 AM
TV games announced, and surprise surprise, both Old Firm games announced. Dunfermline v Hearts is a more appealing fixture than Partick v Celtic in my opinion

Hibs v Ross County hopefully will be moved to the sunday

https://spfl.co.uk/news/betfred-cup-tv-selections

Hopefully we're in a position where we need moved to Sunday. :thumbsup:

Not sure why Dunfy v Hearts is more appealing than a Glasgow derby though?

31-07-2018, 01:00 PM
Hopefully we're in a position where we need moved to Sunday. :thumbsup:

Not sure why Dunfy v Hearts is more appealing than a Glasgow derby though?

Much more competitive game than a Celtic stroll.

02-08-2018, 08:20 PM
This game will be on Sunday 19th August now