guthrie01
26-07-2018, 09:14 PM
Watching him smash their 17 into the ground was so satisfying, love the man

sauzee=legend
26-07-2018, 09:19 PM
3 bookings = a suspension.

26-07-2018, 09:19 PM
Been a great signing for us. Hibs to the core.

26-07-2018, 09:24 PM

Game changing moment.

He was obviously there hard man and there enforcer, once Daz smashed him they were completely rattled.

There’s a lot to be said for beautiful football but sometimes it’s a good old fashioned smashing that rattles a team and allows you to play.

Arch Stanton
26-07-2018, 09:34 PM
Game changing moment.

He was obviously there hard man and there enforcer, once Daz smashed him they were completely rattled.

There’s a lot to be said for beautiful football but sometimes it’s a good old fashioned smashing that rattles a team and allows you to play.

Yep, it was rather pleasing to watch him after that playing with a bung up his nose - totally subdued!

26-07-2018, 09:39 PM
Right in front of me and you could see the boy was rattled. Daz is a complete beast and played very well tonight. Should get an assist for the boy still being off the park when we equalised.

21sMay
26-07-2018, 09:40 PM
Mr hibs

MagicSwirlingShip
26-07-2018, 09:42 PM

Was directly in front of us.

Daz clattered him about 3 times on the way down and twice on the way up. Superb! 😂

26-07-2018, 09:58 PM
Game changing moment.

He had it coming and SJM couldn't after being carded.
Darren didn't miss him, would love to see that on the highlights.
The boy never recovered, rattled big time.

26-07-2018, 09:59 PM
McGregor is the man. He nailed that guy with at least 3 red card 'tackles' and let him know who was in charge. What a guy.

LustForLeith
26-07-2018, 10:10 PM
Right in front of me too!

Anyone else who saw it close up think Daz lost the rag and left his foot in late on the guy? There was blood coming from his face by the looks of it.

I was wondering if he’d get a retrospective second yellow?

BIGK
26-07-2018, 10:13 PM
That tackle could be a massive differance next week. Nobody f***s with Darren

26-07-2018, 10:23 PM
I thought he should have been booked for holding McGregor down. We did get the foul however.

maturehibby
26-07-2018, 10:31 PM
He should gave been cautioned too
He got away with murder all night until he got splattered by Darren
Quiet wee lassie after that

26-07-2018, 10:33 PM
I’m convinced if that 17 character hadn’t been rolling about the ground then changing his shirt he would have been covering the acres of space that Gray was in for the equaliser.

26-07-2018, 10:42 PM
I thought he should have been booked for holding McGregor down. We did get the foul however.

Aye, Darren got a touch on the ball before melting the big fandan, the fould given actually went our way. There were afters, but it was thon Greek that started it.

26-07-2018, 10:45 PM
Clattered the boy a few times. Delightful

27-07-2018, 02:02 AM
He definitely let the boy know he was there.

27-07-2018, 02:20 AM
Glad he can play next week, instrumental along with Hanlon.

27-07-2018, 02:25 AM
Despite his age - he wouldn't be the one dropping out for Porteous in the coming months. He's our best defender imo

27-07-2018, 06:10 AM
Rattled the #17s bones like a xylophone ! Pure quality! I thought the #17 was going to get booked but played the old trick of being injured!

gorgie greens
27-07-2018, 07:30 AM
Rattled the #17s bones like a xylophone ! Pure quality! I thought the #17 was going to get booked but played the old trick of being injured!

he got up and looked shaken by this and I agree with previous comments it was game changing .

27-07-2018, 07:44 AM
17 playedthe remainder of the game with cotton wool up his nose. Had spent the game kicking people and niggling at people when he wasn’t encouraging those around him to waist time. Thought he could play clever and have a go at big Daz, trying to hold him down by the shirt. Our hero was having none of it. Great to watch and 17 will not forget that lesson in a hurray. Watch him run a mile from Daz all game next week.

27-07-2018, 07:47 AM
17 playedthe remainder of the game with cotton wool up his nose. Had spent the game kicking people and niggling at people when he wasn’t encouraging those around him to waist time. Thought he could play clever and have a go at big Daz, trying to hold him down by the shirt. Our hero was having none of it. Great to watch and 17 will not forget that lesson in a hurray. Watch him run a mile from Daz all game next week.

Looking back at how he played after the incident i wonder if he was possibly a bit concussed? He certainly seemed visibly shaken by it. Wouldn't surprise me if he is an injury doubt for them.

Also, does anyone know if he has a name or are we just going with 'the big number 17'?

27-07-2018, 07:48 AM
Despite his age - he wouldn't be the one dropping out for Porteous in the coming months. He's our best defender imoHim and Hanlon are rocks for us...they were both colossal at times in that 2nd half last night

27-07-2018, 08:00 AM
Also, does anyone know if he has a name or are we just going with 'the big number 17'?

Iglesias was his name I think.

Decent player, tidy on the ball. put himself about and wasn’t afraid to stick the foot in when needed. He’s clearly the one who runs the show for them, so we need to get hold of him better in the second leg.

Barman Stanton
27-07-2018, 08:11 AM
Looking back at how he played after the incident i wonder if he was possibly a bit concussed? He certainly seemed visibly shaken by it. Wouldn't surprise me if he is an injury doubt for them.

Matias Inglesias. 33 year old Argentinian. And I bet sore all over this morning!

27-07-2018, 09:44 AM
Darren was especially proud about doing the guy, delighted in telling people after full time.

He won't come near Darren for sure in the second leg.

27-07-2018, 12:12 PM
Just saw the video of him emptying the boy on twitter. Fantastic stuff. I also liked him firing over to grab the ball out of their other players hands after Lewis was fouled. You could see big Daz was well up for a battle.

27-07-2018, 12:20 PM

Scaredodarenos?

IncredibleHibee
27-07-2018, 12:27 PM
Daz is a class act. He is so solid. I always feel a lot calmer when he is in defence. Good old fashioned centre half. Big strong man who takes no nonsense. Man crush!!! Ha ha

27-07-2018, 12:29 PM
Matias Inglesias. 33 year old Argentinian. And I bet sore all over this morning!

Its Walter Iglesias.

27-07-2018, 12:30 PM
Just saw the video of him emptying the boy on twitter. Fantastic stuff. I also liked him firing over to grab the ball out of their other players hands after Lewis was fouled. You could see big Daz was well up for a battle.

Got a link?

27-07-2018, 12:31 PM

You got a link?

27-07-2018, 12:46 PM
https://twitter.com/aidangw99/status/1022781396652384256?s=21

27-07-2018, 12:52 PM
That’s ****in brilliant. He was putting it about all game, but big Daz showed him who’s the boss, lovely use of the knee.:greengrin

27-07-2018, 01:00 PM
I have an amendment to make my post yesterday where I said there were at least 3 red card offences in there. Seeing it again, probably 4 or 5 is nearer the mark :greengrin

That's what you call laying down a marker.

guthrie01
27-07-2018, 01:04 PM

When he grabs the ball back right after leaving their player on the ground 😂

27-07-2018, 01:09 PM
Its Walter Iglesias.

That's not really much of a hardman's name though, is it?

No wonder "Big Daz" got the better of him.

27-07-2018, 02:39 PM
When he grabs the ball back right after leaving their player on the ground 😂

Number 21 I think it is, he shat it when Daz grabs the ball and he turns away sharpish. Exit - stage left. :greengrin

Barman Stanton
27-07-2018, 03:08 PM
Its Walter Iglesias.

Walter Matias Iglesias to give him his full name.

27-07-2018, 03:12 PM
Walter Matias Iglesias to give him his full name.

Does he sing too

27-07-2018, 03:14 PM
Does he sing too

Big HERO apparently

27-07-2018, 03:20 PM
Anyone else think he was going to be sent off for It? Referee was card happy last night

27-07-2018, 03:22 PM
Anyone else think he was going to be sent off for It? Referee was card happy last night

I though his "knee, stamp" to the head was a stick on red, right in front of the main stand lino as well.

27-07-2018, 05:53 PM

Looked a pair of yellows at the time. Very surprised that Iglesias wasn't booked for hauling McGregor to the ground and holding onto him, particularly since he's committed a few fouls prior to that.

27-07-2018, 11:53 PM
McGregor saw the opportunity and took it with both hands, an elbow and a knee :greengrin

Considering what the Greek team were up to throughout the game, the boy had it coming.

28-07-2018, 12:48 AM

Yes. However, the red seemed to be more lenient towards tackles and challenges like that than dissent.

Anyone else notice Wee Lewis trying out the dark arts? Just as well it went under the radar.😂

28-07-2018, 07:31 AM
Quality ! Hardly touched him! Big girls blouse!

ano hibby
28-07-2018, 07:45 AM
Darren was especially proud about doing the guy, delighted in telling people after full time.

He won't come near Darren for sure in the second leg.

Excellent 😁👍
Jim Telfer be pleased with his rucking technique

28-07-2018, 08:06 AM
For anyone going to the 2nd leg please watch out. The cops are VERY heavy handed. Took all my Greek coins and were taking house keys from Hibs fans in Athens at the AEK game. Their fans pelted us for 90 minutes with bricks, bottles coins and flares whilst the cops did nothing. Risked arrest if you complained. However, don't think Tripolas fans will be as bad. Have a great time but watch out for each other. That's the Hibs way.

28-07-2018, 08:36 AM
For anyone going to the 2nd leg please watch out. The cops are VERY heavy handed. Took all my Greek coins and were taking house keys from Hibs fans in Athens at the AEK game. Their fans pelted us for 90 minutes with bricks, bottles coins and flares whilst the cops did nothing. Risked arrest if you complained. However, don't think Tripolas fans will be as bad. Have a great time but watch out for each other. That's the Hibs way.

Thanks Dad 😂

coco22
28-07-2018, 08:51 AM

Brilliant. Love how he snatches the ball off the boy at the end too...’I’ve just flattened your pal, gies the baw....now!’.

Worth the booking

GoalsMcGinley
28-07-2018, 09:02 AM
Was told Lennon was planning on “phasing” Darren out this season but Ryan’s injury forced his hand to play him early on.

Absolutely indispensable for me. Been our best defender for 3 years.

YanYansen
28-07-2018, 06:51 PM

That is superb - couldnae really see it from the FF end of the East.

As has been said, the boy had it coming, strutting about giving it big licks. Was anonymous after Daz had a word.

What a guy Darren is, too - really is living the dream, and I feel like when he pulls on the shirt there's a few thousand Hibs fans on the park with him.

28-07-2018, 06:53 PM
Was told Lennon was planning on “phasing” Darren out this season but Ryan’s injury forced his hand to play him early on.

Absolutely indispensable for me. Been our best defender for 3 years.

We've not had many better in 30 years.

28-07-2018, 07:38 PM
We've not had many better in 30 years.
Hanlon :cb Best cb pairing since ,,,,

Mango Man
28-07-2018, 10:33 PM
I'd say Daz has another 1 or 2 good seasons in him yet, very rarely let's us down, knows his limits, really strong and deceivingly fast, and best of all, he is one of us.

The guy is a legend and would love him to be at Hibs for the rest of his playing career and beyond.