View Full Version : Molde

25-07-2018, 07:00 PM
Anyone taken a punt on travel to this potential game?

25-07-2018, 07:05 PM
How would you get there? Best seems flights to Bergen then either drive or train.

25-07-2018, 07:07 PM

No way. Thats madness mate, the Greeks, imo a better team than Molde, I'd hold off booking anything until after tomorrows match at the earliest.

25-07-2018, 07:08 PM
How would you get there? Best seems flights to Bergen then either drive or train.

Molde has airport. Fly in from Oslo?

25-07-2018, 07:09 PM
Had a look just to get an idea of costs. Not many affordable options to say the least.

25-07-2018, 07:09 PM
No way. Thats madness mate, the Greeks, imo a better team than Molde, I'd hold off booking anything until after tomorrows match at the earliest.

Need cheap flights to Molde or Albania

25-07-2018, 07:10 PM

Theres no cheap flights to Molde from the UK that i can see.

25-07-2018, 07:11 PM

Once I'm up from the pit, ate my tripe, drunk 15 light ales and skelped the Mrs roond the hoose with my cloth cap I might think about it. :greengrin

25-07-2018, 07:14 PM
Have seriously thought about it as my stag clashes with Greece, B.

Looks a pricey one though...

25-07-2018, 07:15 PM
Oslo about a 7hr drive from Molde.

Flights to Oslo from Edinburgh with Norwegian around £170. Internal flights from Oslo to Molde £140.

25-07-2018, 07:18 PM
Oslo about a 7hr drive from Molde.

Flights to Oslo from Edinburgh with Norwegian around £170. Internal flights from Oslo to Molde £140.

This is a game (should we be playing there) where a fans charter would be beneficial.

25-07-2018, 07:23 PM

writing off a décent albanian team there bud.

could well be flights to tirana you need...

25-07-2018, 07:24 PM
Would be silly to book this before we’ve played the Greeks IMO.

25-07-2018, 07:24 PM
Albania flights would be even more. Around £400 with Wizz or BA from London.

25-07-2018, 07:25 PM
Albania flights would be even more. Around £400 with Wizz or BA from London.

Cheap digs though.....:greengrin

HelmutSchlong
25-07-2018, 07:33 PM
Theres no cheap flights to Molde from the UK that i can see.

What’s cheap and what’s not? Horses for courses

I’m sure the club will have something lined up for Norway or Albania should we be successful in overcoming the current task in hand

25-07-2018, 07:37 PM
Have seriously thought about it as my stag clashes with Greece, B.

Looks a pricey one though...

All money Ross, I'm gonna greet

25-07-2018, 07:37 PM
writing off a décent albanian team there bud.

could well be flights to tirana you need...

Don't know much about Albanians, decent?

25-07-2018, 07:39 PM
Would imagine Albania is dirt cheap for food and drink, you probably get about 6 or 7 pints in Albania for your 1 in Norway. Might be more expensive to fly to Norway but think Albania would be cheaper overall.

25-07-2018, 07:42 PM
My friend has already booked a room in Molde for the 2nd leg. Will probably go if we get through this round

HelmutSchlong
25-07-2018, 07:43 PM

Not only writing off a decent Albanian team but also writing off a more than decent Greek team too!

25-07-2018, 07:43 PM
Would imagine Albania is dirt cheap for food and drink, you probably get about 6 or 7 pints in Albania for your 1 in Norway. Might be more expensive to fly to Norway but think Albania would be cheaper overall.

It was 4.50 for Juice in Faroes, christ knows what a Coke would cost in Norway

25-07-2018, 07:45 PM
Not only writing off a decent Albanian team but also writing off a more than decent Greek team too!

I did say potential in opening post, never any guarantees

25-07-2018, 07:54 PM

That'll still be around a 10 hour drive by car or one day by bus. By train you would almost have to travel towards Oslo before heading north.

Bergen is a beautiful town, so I wouldn't want to put you off going there.

When I was there one winter, I recall seeing pictures of one of their roads in the springtime and it was like the one below.

http://www.worldharmonyrun.org/images/gallery/norway/2005/snow/car_by_snow_walls.jpg

25-07-2018, 07:57 PM
Think we can afford to look beyond the Greeks and the Norwegians. The real test will come after this. We've been incredibly fortunate so far - it's all a bit England in the group stages of the World Cup.

james62
25-07-2018, 07:59 PM
There are many accommodation options in Molde so I've booked a hotel with free cancellation, I certainly wouldn't be gambling with flights though even if we were to win tomorrow night.

25-07-2018, 08:11 PM
There are many accommodation options in Molde so I've booked a hotel with free cancellation, I certainly wouldn't be gambling with flights though even if we were to win tomorrow night.

Theres not that many and certainly not cheap either.

25-07-2018, 08:27 PM
Theres not that many and certainly not cheap either.

theres loads on booking.com in molde

25-07-2018, 09:48 PM
It was 4.50 for Juice in Faroes, christ knows what a Coke would cost in Norway

Still no as dear as Stockholm airport. £37 for cheese and ham salad sandwich, 2 bars chocolate and 2 bottles of Coke.
Dick Turpin would be proud of them.

25-07-2018, 09:49 PM
Are we at home or away the first leg?

25-07-2018, 10:01 PM
Are we at home or away the first leg?

Home.

Gibby the Hibby
26-07-2018, 01:39 AM
Home.

always better I think, As you can mentaliy get on over the away side, by getting a win at home, you can go over there with a plan to protect, but also, being away in the 2nd leg, means if extra time comes, its at a point when away goals count double,thats what you need when both teams are going all out,

but first of all,,,, just a 1 goal lead will do, to protect over there, :flag:

Austinho
26-07-2018, 02:20 AM
When we played Brondby, I decided to make a bit of a Scandinavian backpacking and visit Norway and Sweden as well as Denmark. Norway was very expensive – I actually ended up sleeping in Oslo airport for 2 nights instead of paying last minute prices for a hotel :hilarious Just slept in an airport cafe, commuted into Oslo each day, then back to the airport each night for some kip!

Bill Milne
26-07-2018, 07:49 AM
I went to Molde for the Scotland game. We flew from Edinburgh to Alesund via Amsterdam then got a bus to Molde. Stayed in a hotel right next to the ground!!

norhfc
26-07-2018, 07:54 AM
Molde have a great wee ground. I am not planning anything just yet and I live in Norway.

MKHIBEE
26-07-2018, 09:05 AM

IF we end up playing in Albania then fly to Bari, ferry to Durres. Lac is 40km away. Return price less than £300

Chic Murray
26-07-2018, 09:13 AM
I was hoping to get Seville in the group stages, anybody know what the best way to get there is?

Seville, I mean, not the group stages.

26-07-2018, 09:32 AM
I was hoping to get Seville in the group stages, anybody know what the best way to get there is?

Direct flight from Edinburgh

Chic Murray
26-07-2018, 09:35 AM

Thanks, I guess I should have looked that up myself. :aok:

26-07-2018, 09:43 AM

The direct flights are only Monday and Thursdays and wouldn't get in until 8pm so would not have been much good.

26-07-2018, 09:47 AM
The direct flights are only Monday and Thursdays and wouldn't get in until 8pm so would not have been much good.

Tbh. I was reading it as a general question. Not a Euro league trip

Chic Murray
26-07-2018, 09:56 AM
Tbh. I was reading it as a general question. Not a Euro league trip

No, I meant the football. You don't think I'm being a bit premature do you?

26-07-2018, 10:09 AM
No, I meant the football. You don't think I'm being a bit premature do you?

Put it this way, I wouldn’t book any Flamenco lessons [emoji6]

Chic Murray
26-07-2018, 10:17 AM
Put it this way, I wouldn’t book any Flamenco lessons [emoji6]

Actually, that could provide a little insurance, unless the bull fighting season is still on. :agree:

26-07-2018, 10:19 AM
Actually, that could provide a little insurance, unless the bull fighting season is still on. :agree:

I’d be on the bulls team for that one - barbaric “sport”

Chic Murray
26-07-2018, 10:19 AM
I’d be on the bulls team for that one - barbaric “sport”

Depends who wins.

26-07-2018, 10:20 AM
Depends who wins.

Nah. Only one is there through choice ....

Chic Murray
26-07-2018, 10:22 AM
Nah. Only one is there through choice ....

The long winter nights must fly past. :bye:

26-07-2018, 12:43 PM

I’m a glass kinda full guy but your cup is overflowing and flooding the room 😂

Chic Murray
26-07-2018, 12:46 PM
I’m a glass kinda full guy but your cup is overflowing and flooding the room 😂

:greengrin Can't beat a bit of positivity. I must have been swept along on the wave of optimism washing over this thread. Any idea where the final is being played?

26-07-2018, 12:56 PM
We'll pish all over this mob. I'm not going to be able to make Molde but if I could I'd have it booked by now

26-07-2018, 12:58 PM
We'll pish all over this mob. I'm not going to be able to make Molde but if I could I'd have it booked by now

A team we know nothing about an you think we'll "pish" all over them...:rolleyes:

Your post might come back to haunt you.

jonny
26-07-2018, 01:01 PM

Love the optimism! We'll totally hose them. It's going to be a footballing massacre.
Although I'd still take a 1-0 right now LoL

jonny
26-07-2018, 01:02 PM
:greengrin Can't beat a bit of positivity. I must have been swept along on the wave of optimism washing over this thread. Any idea where the final is being played?

Baku. If you're quick you can still get 500/1 on Hibs to win it.

26-07-2018, 01:20 PM
IF we end up playing in Albania then fly to Bari, ferry to Durres. Lac is 40km away. Return price less than £300

I wouldnt go this route. Bari flight options not great.

26-07-2018, 01:21 PM
Cheap digs though.....:greengrin

Party at the in-laws??!! 😂

Chic Murray
26-07-2018, 01:24 PM

Hmmm, best get my feet on the ground and worry about negotiating the group stages first. :agree:

26-07-2018, 02:09 PM
Party at the in-laws??!! 😂

I can see this being right up your old man's street :greengrin

26-07-2018, 02:17 PM
A team we know nothing about an you think we'll "pish" all over them...:rolleyes:

Your post might come back to haunt you.

I'll definitely lose sleep over that.

26-07-2018, 02:18 PM
No way. Thatdness mate, the Greeks, imo a better team than Molde, I'd hold off booking anything until after tomorrows match at the earliest.

Totally agree. I'm not sure we will make it past this round although I hope I'm wrong.

26-07-2018, 02:52 PM
Molde v Laci kicks off at 6pm tonight, so by the time we play, should know the score from the 1st leg

26-07-2018, 04:46 PM
Still no as dear as Stockholm airport. £37 for cheese and ham salad sandwich, 2 bars chocolate and 2 bottles of Coke.
Dick Turpin would be proud of them.

They seen you coming! Swedens expensive- but even I wouldn't pay that... but sorry to tell you this, Norway is dearer than Sweden🙈🙈

londonhibby
26-07-2018, 05:08 PM
Molde one up after 6 minutes. Penalty.

sauzee=legend
26-07-2018, 05:27 PM
2-0 after 24minutes

26-07-2018, 09:50 PM
Ended 3-0

01-08-2018, 11:40 AM
Is it actually confirmed that we are at home first if we go through? Might try book up straight away if we win tomorrow

01-08-2018, 11:48 AM
Is it actually confirmed that we are at home first if we go through? Might try book up straight away if we win tomorrow

The only other Norwegian team will play at home first if they go through and are in any case 8 hours from Molde, so it's safe to assume the order of the legs won't change.

Ginger Gehagan
01-08-2018, 01:15 PM

Yeah I'm the same, already booked a hotel just in case!:thumbsup::thumbsup:

01-08-2018, 01:17 PM
Yeah I'm the same, already booked a hotel just in case!:thumbsup::thumbsup:

What day’s the home leg played on?

01-08-2018, 01:18 PM
There game on Thursday kicks off at 4pm, so we’ll know who we playing before we kick off

Ginger Gehagan
01-08-2018, 01:18 PM
What day’s the home leg played on?

Thursday 9th of August as far as I can make out.

Ginger Gehagan
01-08-2018, 01:19 PM
The only other Norwegian team will play at home first if they go through and are in any case 8 hours from Molde, so it's safe to assume the order of the legs won't change.

Actually, are Rosenborg not due to play Cork City if they get beat off cltc?

01-08-2018, 01:20 PM
Molde v Laci kicks off at 6pm tonight, so by the time we play, should know the score from the 1st leg

I see the second leg is a 4pm kick-off so we will know who we could be playing before our game kicks off.

01-08-2018, 01:23 PM
Thursday 9th of August as far as I can make out.

Shame. I could have done the 16th.

01-08-2018, 01:59 PM

I just put a grand on Hibs... each way.

01-08-2018, 02:03 PM
Actually, are Rosenborg not due to play Cork City if they get beat off cltc?

True enough, but they're still 4 hours apart.

Ginger Gehagan
01-08-2018, 02:18 PM
True enough, but they're still 4 hours apart.

Cool, just don't want to get everything booked and find out the dates have been changed, if we get through obviously.

01-08-2018, 04:07 PM
Molde is further north than the Faroe Islands, watch out for Polar Bears.

hibeg
01-08-2018, 05:03 PM
Stopped off there on a fjords cruise a couple of years back. Nice looking stadium. Went for a beer in town but it was a ridiculous price. Can’t remember how much though. Went back to the cruise ship for an all inclusive gin and tonic. !!!

01-08-2018, 09:32 PM
Molde not as good as Rosenborg, so a win tomorrow, and we’ve got a great chance against them

02-08-2018, 03:17 PM
0-0 after 19 mins away at Laci

jonny
02-08-2018, 03:19 PM
Games live now on Albanian channel SuperSport 2.

02-08-2018, 03:21 PM
If we get past the Greeks and then take care of Molde, are we in the Group Stages?

02-08-2018, 03:22 PM
What was the Molde score in the first leg?

jonny
02-08-2018, 03:23 PM
If we get past the Greeks and then take care of Molde, are we in the Group Stages?

1 more round after that.

jonny
What was the Molde score in the first leg?

They won 3-0

Na, playoff game where we could end up playing Olympiakos, Zenit, Bordeaux etc.

02-08-2018, 03:24 PM

Na one final round to get through unfortunately :agree:

02-08-2018, 03:25 PM
Cracking wee stadium & nice scenic drive for me over. Hope hibs get through tonight.

02-08-2018, 03:31 PM
Cracking wee stadium & nice scenic drive for me over. Hope hibs get through tonight.

If we get through, you need to let us know best way to get there.
No directs flights from Scotland

02-08-2018, 03:38 PM
If we get through, you need to let us know best way to get there.
No directs flights from Scotland

Internal flights from Oslo are regular and reasonable I think

02-08-2018, 03:40 PM
1-0 Molde
Must be game over now

02-08-2018, 03:47 PM
1-0 Molde
Must be game over now

2-0 now

02-08-2018, 04:22 PM
I wonder if we have scouts watching the game.

02-08-2018, 04:34 PM
I wonder if we have scouts watching the game.

Gareth Evans went to watch the Greeks, so maybe he’s gone again

02-08-2018, 04:42 PM
Can go to Molde from dublin.Flight to Oslo and then flight to Molde.

02-08-2018, 08:56 PM
Oslo sorted. Just need the internal flights now. Not sure whether to stay in Molde on the Wednesday too.

02-08-2018, 08:57 PM
Oslo sorted. Just need the internal flights now. Not sure whether to stay in Molde on the Wednesday too.

Just booked up Molde too. Absolutely buzzing. :hyper

norhfc
02-08-2018, 09:01 PM
Thats my and my oldest booked, flights from Bergen, and hotel, btw not many hotel rooms available at the moment.

02-08-2018, 09:04 PM
Thats my and my oldest booked, flights from Bergen, and hotel, btw not many hotel rooms available at the moment.

You going London to Bergen? Or Manchester?

02-08-2018, 09:05 PM

What route

02-08-2018, 09:06 PM

Are you on the norwegian air direct from edinburgh to oslo?

02-08-2018, 09:11 PM
Whats the best route from London?

hibsfan
02-08-2018, 09:12 PM
Booked hotel a week or so ago (free cancellation) but commutes to flights at HT tonight £224 return! Bargain!

hibsfan
02-08-2018, 09:13 PM
Whats the best route from London?

Stansted - cheap as chips.

02-08-2018, 09:14 PM

Direct?

02-08-2018, 09:14 PM
What route

6:50 EDI TO STANSTEAD WED 15
11:55 Stanstead TO OSLO WED 15

09:20 OSLO TO MOLDE THU 16
06:45 MOLDE TO OSLO FRI 17 (EARLY FLIGHT AS NEXT ONE IS A BIT TIGHT FOR STANSTEAD FLIGHT)

11:55 OSLO TO STANSTEAD
20:05 STANSTED TO EDI

02-08-2018, 09:17 PM

Which airport/route is that?

02-08-2018, 09:22 PM
If you cant get to Molde try Alesund. Its 2 hours away from Molde on the bus so while not ideal, its better than a 7 hour drive from Oslo.

02-08-2018, 09:27 PM
NORWEGIAN AIR oslo to molde is only 30 each way if under 26 when you use promo code under26

The Pointer
02-08-2018, 09:41 PM
NORWEGIAN AIR oslo to molde is only 30 each way if under 26 when you use promo code under26

Under 26? That'll be the singing Famous Fivers sorted, but what about the rest of us? Slightly more I would imagine.

02-08-2018, 09:42 PM
Under 26? That'll be the singing Famous Fivers sorted, but what about the rest of us? Slightly more I would imagine.

About £140 return by looks of it

joe t
02-08-2018, 09:49 PM
Seems Molde may be suffering from the same probs as we have with players. Their main man missing tonight Haaland (son of alfe, Roy Keane’s mate 😳) pending potential move to red bull Salzburg. Hope we can hold on to McGinn for another week and they lose this lad for the two ties. Would make a nice change. 👍

Dav1986
02-08-2018, 10:02 PM
Can get Manchester to molde wednesday-friday for about £310-320. That has about 8 hours wait each way at Oslo though so may be better to hire car and drive.

Saw car hire from £250 for the 2 days (split between however many people) and Manchester-oslo return just £172.

Save you money for about 6 pints over there doing it that way 😂

norhfc
02-08-2018, 10:02 PM
You going London to Bergen? Or Manchester?
Na I live in Bergen mate.