View Full Version : Bookie Bashing 2018/19 Season

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

30-04-2019, 03:31 PM
Klassical Dream ran beautifully. Hopefully Min can do the same.

What the hell is this Punchestown course? There are hills on the flat, then there are 'embankments' they have to run up and down. I've never seen anything like it. Is this unique to Irish racing?

Not Irish racing as such, just Punchestown I think

30-04-2019, 03:34 PM

Some of the races are cross country - nae rails, hills, all sorts. I wondered what they were doing :greengrin

30-04-2019, 03:49 PM
Bet365 doing their free inplay matched bet on Barca v Liverpool tomorrow. Free money!

30-04-2019, 03:50 PM
Klassical Dream ran beautifully. Hopefully Min can do the same.

What the hell is this Punchestown course? There are hills on the flat, then there are 'embankments' they have to run up and down. I've never seen anything like it. Is this unique to Irish racing?

K Dream could well be next year's Champion Hurdle winner. Wish I could've heard Mullins interview.

30-04-2019, 03:50 PM

Cheltenham too.

30-04-2019, 03:51 PM
K Dream could well be next year's Champion Hurdle winner. Wish I could've heard Mullins interview.

Did you back him, mate?

30-04-2019, 04:02 PM
Cheltenham too.

Aye Cheltenham as well but I meant in response to whether it was “Irish Racing” that is like that. As far as I know it’s not all Irish courses that are like that, Punchestown is the only one I can think of

30-04-2019, 04:31 PM
Did you back him, mate?

Nah, was happy to watch.

30-04-2019, 04:36 PM
Sounds good but you know and I know there is always one

Un De Sceaux to take Min on :greengrin

Great call mate; Un De Sceaux too good for min. £50 loss for me. That's the way it goes.

30-04-2019, 04:37 PM
Great call mate; Un De Sceaux too good for min. £50 loss for me. That's the way it goes.

Billyhibs is back!

:cb

30-04-2019, 04:41 PM
Billyhibs is back!

Two odds on favourites only second for me. I really need Surfman to come in later!

30-04-2019, 05:13 PM
Spurs v Ajax

Lucas and Eriksen to have 1 shot on target, £50 on @ 9/5

Each team to have 2 or more corners in each half, £20 on @ 16/5

30-04-2019, 05:13 PM
Festival Dex provides redemption. Fiver each way at 9/1 wins £66.25 :agree:

If anyone had an EW on runner up, Whatsnottoknow, you'll be very happy at 66/1

30-04-2019, 05:36 PM
Festival Dex provides redemption. Fiver each way at 9/1 wins £66.25 :agree:

If anyone had an EW on runner up, Whatsnottoknow, you'll be very happy at 66/1

Well in!

30-04-2019, 06:10 PM
I know, I know.....

Roseman stormed in; I doubled up with him and Surfman.

Surfman basically walked around on the dirt at Newcastle and won by ten lengths plus. He was far too good and is an entry for The Derby. He was 1/8 by post!

pontius pilate
30-04-2019, 06:56 PM
Bristol city
Sunderland
Portsmouth
Bury
Newport
Spurs

30-04-2019, 06:58 PM
Bristol City
Sunderland
Pompey
Newport
Ajax

30-04-2019, 07:16 PM
Bristol city
Sunderland
Portsmouth
Bury
Newport
Spurs

Already 2-0 down at home to Peterborough. I've got them also :rolleyes:

Larry Burns
30-04-2019, 07:16 PM
Anticipate a Pompey **** up tonight

Peterborough or draw @ 13/10

Should be safe

30-04-2019, 07:19 PM
Should be safe

Smart erse :greengrin

30-04-2019, 07:25 PM
Should be safe

2-1. The comeback is underway :greengrin

30-04-2019, 08:18 PM
Should be safe

2-2!

Larry Burns
30-04-2019, 08:21 PM
3-2, ffs

Maybe not, has gone back to 2-2 on FlashScores

30-04-2019, 08:23 PM
2-2!

Peterborough 3-2 up.

Larry Burns
30-04-2019, 08:25 PM
It flashed up 3-2 to Pompey then changed 3-2 to Peterborough

30-04-2019, 09:14 PM
Whoever suggested under 2.5 goals in the Spurs game, thank you.

I saw the sense in that one and lumped on.

01-05-2019, 06:18 AM
Not sure where the goals will come from without Kane and Son. I reckon under 2.5 goals could be the call in this one as neither team would be too upset with a goalless draw.

Sadly for Spurs turned out to be the case. Pretty sure under 2.5 goals will be a good price tonight too. Rare that both teams go for it in the first leg of a semi.

Larry Burns
01-05-2019, 07:20 AM
Whoever suggested under 2.5 goals in the Spurs game, thank you.

I saw the sense in that one and lumped on.

Same it was a good tip. Feared the worst after Ajax scored early on but there were few clear cut chances for either side after.

Not sure what to make of Barca v Liverpool tonight so I will be steering clear of it.

MagicSwirlingShip
01-05-2019, 07:28 AM
Same it was a good tip. Feared the worst after Ajax scored early on but there were few clear cut chances for either side after.

Not sure what to make of Barca v Liverpool tonight so I will be steering clear of it.

Got this as a both teams to score tonight on my coupon. I struggle to see this Liverpool side not scoring in any game, regardless of the opposition or venue. Class side. Was actually leaning towards an away win.

LustForLeith
01-05-2019, 10:50 AM
Two match the 2 year old criteria I mentioned before.

Ascot 2.15 Lady Pauline

Pontefract 2.25 Xcelente

The odds were far better in the morning paper than they are now! 😡

Good luck everyone

01-05-2019, 11:50 AM

Ascot 2.15 Lady Pauline

Pontefract 2.25 Xcelente

Good luck everyone

Already on with 3.00 Desert Icon and 6.15 Sashenka slightly over 4/1 for a bit of value

Fingers crossed

01-05-2019, 12:24 PM

Ascot 2.15 Lady Pauline

Pontefract 2.25 Xcelente

The odds were far better in the morning paper than they are now! ��

Good luck everyone

I have both in a five fold. Tenner on would return £92 if they come in.

Xcelente now 4/7 on Betfair; I managed to get him at 5/4 last night.

01-05-2019, 12:25 PM
Already on with 3.00 Desert Icon and 6.15 Sashenka slightly over 4/1 for a bit of value

Fingers crossed

These two are also in it!

01-05-2019, 12:37 PM
These two are also in it!
What is your fifth horse?

01-05-2019, 12:40 PM
What is your fifth horse?

Calyx in the 15:55 at Ascot. 4/7.

01-05-2019, 12:43 PM
Calyx in the 15:55 at Ascot. 4/7.

That wins

Frankie on board

01-05-2019, 12:45 PM
That wins

Frankie on board

We shall see. Like we say, there's always at least one....

01-05-2019, 12:50 PM
We shall see. Like we say, there's always at least one....

01-05-2019, 01:17 PM
Lady Pauline beaten at 1/3. Down it goes at the first hurdle :rolleyes:

01-05-2019, 01:21 PM
Lady Pauline beaten at 1/3. Down it goes at the first hurdle :rolleyes:

Calyx

Xcelente

Desert Icon

Shashenka

Is my four

01-05-2019, 01:24 PM
Calyx

Xcelente

Desert Icon

Shashenka

Is my four

I'm always reluctant to bet on the 5f/6f sprints as they are so unpredictable. Anything can go wrong in the blink of an eye.

01-05-2019, 01:27 PM
I'm always reluctant to bet on the 5f/6f sprints as they are so unpredictable. Anything can go wrong in the blink of an eye.

‘Was reluctant to go on Lady Pauline odds too low too many good horses in that race

01-05-2019, 01:27 PM

There you have it. Xcelente also beaten at 4/7. Be wary of the sprints.

01-05-2019, 01:46 PM
There you have it. Xcelente also beaten at 4/7. Be wary of the sprints.

Thats a blow!

01-05-2019, 02:07 PM
Thats a blow!

Desert Icon won, but it's neither here nor there now.

Hope for better at Punchestown. I much prefer the longer races, especially over jumps :agree:

01-05-2019, 02:14 PM
Verona getting absolutely horsed at home 😳

01-05-2019, 02:24 PM
Races less than a mile now joining Koln, Sunderland and Aberdeen on my banned list. Pish. :greengrin

01-05-2019, 02:26 PM
Rennes at around 5/2 at home Monaco tonight looks very good. Monaco are having a shocking time.

01-05-2019, 02:48 PM
Got winner and a place in the first at Punchestown. Had both EW. Better :agree:

£5EW Musical Slave 7/1 (won)
£2.50 EW Kilbarry Lily 22/1 (placed)

Betfair offered five places

01-05-2019, 02:51 PM
£10 EW on Voix Des Tiep on the next at Punchestown at 4/1

01-05-2019, 03:06 PM
Liverpool to have at least 1 card in each half @21/20.

Messi and Suarez to have over 1 shot on target each @19/10.

01-05-2019, 03:08 PM
Anyone got a bet on the Gold Cup at 18:05? Bellshill, Al Boum Photo and Kemboy having a replay of their Cheltenham battle. Should be a cracker. Kemboy for me!

01-05-2019, 03:08 PM
Liverpool to have at least 1 card in each half @21/20.

Messi and Suarez to have over 1 shot on target each @19/10.

I think I'll have a wee Barca/Rennes double.

01-05-2019, 03:27 PM
£10 EW on Voix Des Tiep on the next at Punchestown at 4/1

Only fifth. Led until the second last but then looked very tired. Seemed to go out a little too fast, though I'm no expert to judge.

01-05-2019, 03:41 PM
I think I'll have a wee Barca/Rennes double.

Rennes a very good price and also have a good recent record vs Monaco.

01-05-2019, 03:43 PM

They are, but I'm always really wary about backing teams at the end of the season, when they've nothing to play for. Monaco still need points, Rennes playing for nothing.

01-05-2019, 03:45 PM
Derby 2/1 away to Swansea feels like a good price. A win for them all but secures their place in the playoffs.

01-05-2019, 03:48 PM
They are, but I'm always really wary about backing teams at the end of the season, when they've nothing to play for. Monaco still need points, Rennes playing for nothing.

This is true, but I'm hoping Monaco are feeling the pressure.

01-05-2019, 04:45 PM
Rennes v Monaco btts
Barca v Pool btts
Blyth Spartans
Derby
AFC Fylde

48/1

01-05-2019, 05:14 PM
Anyone got a bet on the Gold Cup at 18:05? Bellshill, Al Boum Photo and Kemboy having a replay of their Cheltenham battle. Should be a cracker. Kemboy for me!

Get in there Kemboy. What a battle between him and the Cheltenham Gold Cup winner Al Boum Photo. Two magnificent horses.

01-05-2019, 05:15 PM

Rennes 2-0 up inside ten minutes :aok:

01-05-2019, 05:19 PM
Messi anytime goalscorer
Rowe anytime goalscorer
Spennymoor and Altrincham to win

01-05-2019, 05:25 PM

Fingers crossed

Sashenka also ran poorly and was easily beaten into second. Of the five very short odds favourites on my acca only Calyx and Desert Icon won. A few very poor runs in there.

01-05-2019, 05:25 PM
Rennes 2-0 up inside ten minutes :aok:

You persuaded me to take Rennes in a treble, albeit with Liverpool and Derby. Just a small bet :greengrin

01-05-2019, 05:26 PM

You persuaded me to take Rennes in a treble, albeit with Liverpool and Derby. Just a small bet :greengrin

A brave bet to take Liverpool in Nou Camp!

01-05-2019, 05:29 PM
No danger are Derby winning tonight at Swansea

M'boro are taking the last play off place

01-05-2019, 05:34 PM
Sashenka also ran poorly and was easily beaten into second. Of the five very short odds favourites on my acca only Calyx and Desert Icon won. A few very poor runs in there.

Yeah!

Thank god for DXB

Had a few winners at Punchestown but not all in the same Yankee

Gipsy Island in t last

This breaking:

Ruby Walsh has retired

LustForLeith
01-05-2019, 05:34 PM

Ascot 2.15 Lady Pauline

Pontefract 2.25 Xcelente

Good luck everyone

It’s bad enough one short priced horse gets beat. But two! Apologies folks, it’s little wonder I suffer from depression!

01-05-2019, 05:35 PM
It’s bad enough one short priced horse gets beat. But two! Apologies folks, it’s little wonder I suffer from depression!

Don't worry about it, mate, I had three. :greengrin

01-05-2019, 05:36 PM
No danger are Derby winning tonight at Swansea

M'boro are taking the last play off place

Swansea have been in decent form lately.

01-05-2019, 05:38 PM
Yeah!

Thank god for DXB

Gipsy Island in t last

This breaking:

Ruby Walsh has retired

Great for Ruby to announce his retirement on a high. Probably the most talented horseman of a generation and a better natural jockey than McCoy (AP said as much himself). Good time for him to go though as I think he was on the downgrade.

01-05-2019, 05:39 PM
Hills doing Messi and Salah to score 7/1

Flash odds until 7.00pm

01-05-2019, 05:42 PM
Great for Ruby to announce his retirement on a high. Probably the most talented horseman of a generation and a better natural jockey than McCoy (AP said as much himself). Good time for him to go though as I think he was on the downgrade.
Agree!

Lost count of the number of times I been on him and he gets shot by a sniper though! :greengrin

Larry Burns
01-05-2019, 05:48 PM
I’ve gone

Barca v Liverpool over 2.5

Swansea v Derby BTTS

01-05-2019, 05:54 PM
Agree!

Lost count of the number of times I been on him and he gets shot by a sniper though! :greengrin

Gave Kemboy a great ride, so can retire with my best wishes :greengrin

One of the legends.

01-05-2019, 05:59 PM
If anyone uses Betfair, they are offering four places on the 19:10 at Punchestown, in a twelve horse race, so it might good for an EW.

Livelovelaugh for me.

01-05-2019, 06:00 PM
Rennes at around 5/2 at home Monaco tonight looks very good. Monaco are having a shocking time.

Have a tenner on it mate thinking of cashing out at £24.39 as I think they will tire from the weekend. Have Higgins in the snooker @5/2 and got £20 on Barca -1 tonight.

01-05-2019, 06:01 PM
Have a tenner on it mate thinking of cashing out at £24.39 as I think they will tire from the weekend. Have Higgins in the snooker @5/2 and got £20 on Barca -1 tonight.

Best of luck :aok:

01-05-2019, 06:02 PM

Thank you Ruby for many a ££ over the years. End of an era though with AP going too.

01-05-2019, 06:18 PM
If anyone uses Betfair, they are offering four places on the 19:10 at Punchestown, in a twelve horse race, so it might good for an EW.

Livelovelaugh for me.

Mistake at the final fence cost him the win, but he got a good second at 5/1. Nice wee EW.

Correction, was 7/1 at race off.

01-05-2019, 06:27 PM
Rennes 2-1 Monaco :worried:

67 minutes

01-05-2019, 06:30 PM
Rennes 2-1 Monaco :worried:

67 minutes

I celebrated that Falcao header like I would a Hibs goal 😂😂

01-05-2019, 06:33 PM
2-2. Scunnered.

LustForLeith
01-05-2019, 06:45 PM
Don't worry about it, mate, I had three. :greengrin

One of those days!

What’s the bets for tonight? I fancy Alba for an asset, over 0.5 Asia for him is 4/1.

01-05-2019, 06:53 PM

Thank **** 👍

Cashed out Higgins too as can see Robertson winning so stuck £10 on him 3/1.

01-05-2019, 06:54 PM
Thank **** 👍

Well done, you did the right thing. Feels like a boot in the baws.

01-05-2019, 06:55 PM
Well done, you did the right thing. Feels like a boot in the baws.

Seen it coming, waited until the 2-1 tbh and cashed out at £19.78 still pleased I did though. French football is radge just now.

01-05-2019, 06:59 PM
£15 derby in play 2/1 I’ve no idea why they are such a big price against a side nothing to play for.

01-05-2019, 07:02 PM
One of those days!

What’s the bets for tonight? I fancy Alba for an asset, over 0.5 Asia for him is 4/1.

Think I might just stick a wee five on Barca HT/FT

01-05-2019, 07:04 PM
Yeah!

Thank god for DXB

Gipsy Island in t last

This breaking:

Ruby Walsh has retired

Get in !

01-05-2019, 07:09 PM
Get in !

I had a wee fiver win on Gypsy Island and fiver EW on Minella Melody. Softens the blow Rennes dealt me. A little bit anyway...

01-05-2019, 07:11 PM
A win for Nahham in the final race at Bath would be distinctly pleasing at 3/1.

01-05-2019, 07:14 PM
A win for Nahham in the final race at Bath would be distinctly pleasing at 3/1.

Get in there Nahham, you wee beauty. £20 win on him.

Get it right up you, Rennes :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

01-05-2019, 07:16 PM
Get in there Nahham, you wee beauty. £20 win on him.

Get it right up you, Rennes :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Done buddy 👍

01-05-2019, 07:18 PM
Done buddy 👍

I tend to find my horse bets start very hit and miss then get better in the later races. Nae idea why.

Maybe I should only bet on horses running after about 4 p.m. :greengrin

LustForLeith
01-05-2019, 07:39 PM
One of those days!

And a rush of blood to the head I jumped from an Alba assist to Milner first scorer.

Story of my life

01-05-2019, 07:52 PM
Rennes v Monaco btts
Barca v Pool btts
Blyth Spartans
Derby
AFC Fylde

48/1

👀

01-05-2019, 08:40 PM
Think I might just stick a wee five on Barca HT/FT

Why didn't I go large? Hindsight eh.

01-05-2019, 09:17 PM
£10 double at Punchestown tomorrow on Josies Orders (16:50) and Duc Des Genievres (18:40), returning £50.

02-05-2019, 07:11 AM
I’ve gone

Barca v Liverpool over 2.5

Swansea v Derby BTTS

Shout!

02-05-2019, 07:14 AM
Anyone else enjoying the horse racing from Punchestown?

Absolute top drawer horses and first class racing action

Larry Burns
02-05-2019, 07:52 AM
Shout!

Nae much on today, don't fancy those Europa League games at all as all 4 teams are in patchy form

Laval @ 6/5 in the French National League are decent odds for a single, maybe

Auckland Hibs
02-05-2019, 11:16 AM

Nae much on today, don't fancy those Europa League games at all as all 4 teams are in patchy form

Taken a couple of minor punts for a bit of fun:

Frankfurt HT/FT
Valencia HT/FT

Pays around 30/1

02-05-2019, 11:25 AM
Anyone else enjoying the horse racing from Punchestown?

Absolute top drawer horses and first class racing action

Loving it, Billy. Had some good fortune so far, too. Great races/horses involved. Got my wee double on today.

02-05-2019, 03:49 PM
Terrific run by Snugsborough Hall at Punchestown, justifying his favourite status. Had a tenner on at 3/1.

The La Touche about to start, with Josies Orders odds on. I've got him as part of a double.

02-05-2019, 04:02 PM
Josies orders only third; he tired near the end. What a unique race: 36 fences and embankments over four-and-a-quarter miles. An absoloute slog.

02-05-2019, 04:07 PM
Tonight's football, I've put just a fiver on Arsenal, Eintracht and Wrexham, which would return £53.50

03-05-2019, 06:28 AM

Went on Frankfurt Arsenal and Tours v Laval btts

£5=£35

Laval 1-0 up and pressing cashed out 85 minutes you guessed it Tours equalised 92 minutes

Got my dough back though Aubamayang to score first goal of second half 90 th minute

03-05-2019, 09:38 AM
Tonight:Everton, Sevilla, Leipzig, Juventus, Dundalk. £10 returns £90

Larry Burns
03-05-2019, 10:05 AM
Bohemians are goods odds tonight at evens, Cork are having a dreadful season

Brest, Metz and Orelans or draw in a Ligue 2 Treble

03-05-2019, 10:26 AM
Tonight:Everton, Sevilla, Leipzig, Juventus, Dundalk. £10 returns £90

Juve 18 points clear at the top of the league mentally they are already on the beach with a pinacolada and a blonde on each arm :greengrin

03-05-2019, 11:20 AM
Punchestown

City Island evens fav

Battleoverdoyen one of its biggest dangers just been withdrawn

Good luck guys!

03-05-2019, 11:20 AM
Juve 18 points clear at the top of the league mentally they are already on the beach with a pinacolada and a blonde on each arm :greengrin

It's their derby match though, surely they'll be up for it?

03-05-2019, 11:23 AM
It's their derby match though, surely they'll be up for it?

Agree got it btts

Best to see the teams first

03-05-2019, 11:44 AM
Sergei Prokofiev at Newmarket tomorrow, getting a fair bit of weight from the others as a 3 year old - 3/1

03-05-2019, 11:54 AM
Sergei Prokofiev at Newmarket tomorrow, getting a fair bit of weight from the others as a 3 year old - 3/1

Now into 9/4

03-05-2019, 12:14 PM
Now into 9/4

Aye, backed it last night. BOG.

03-05-2019, 12:18 PM
£10 EW on Poker Party in the 16:20 at Punchestown at 6/1 :agree:

Betfair paying four places on this one.

03-05-2019, 12:25 PM

If today's bets go well, I'll give it a shot!

03-05-2019, 01:31 PM
Anyone got any thoughts on the 2000 Guineas?

03-05-2019, 01:40 PM
Anyone got any thoughts on the 2000 Guineas?

I Backed Skardu ew after The Craven.

03-05-2019, 01:46 PM
I Backed Skardu ew after The Craven.

Currently 6/1 third favourite on Betfair, which looks decent for an EW. Very difficult choice, with so many class performers.

Is it expected to be an open race? Looking right down the betting there are very good horses on paper.

03-05-2019, 01:49 PM
Currently 6/1 third favourite on Betfair, which looks decent for an EW. Very difficult choice, with so many class performers.

Is it expected to be an open race? Looking right down the betting there are very good horses on paper.
Paddy Power paying 5 places, Ten Sovereigns 7/2.

03-05-2019, 01:50 PM
Paddy Power paying 5 places, Ten Sovereigns 7/2.

Five? Betfair only paying three, the bassas.

03-05-2019, 01:54 PM

I got just under 10s on Betfair a couple of weeks ago, 2s for a place yesterday. I thought Too Darned Hot was a good thing but, the way he was drifting in the betting was a pointer to his non participation.

03-05-2019, 01:55 PM
I got just under 10s on Betfair a couple of weeks ago, 2s for a place yesterday. I thought Too Darned Hot was a good thing but, the way he was drifting in the betting was a pointer to his non participation.

That's really good. You have a very decent shout :agree:

03-05-2019, 01:56 PM
Five? Betfair only paying three, the bassas.
A wee bonus from the owners of Betfair.

03-05-2019, 01:59 PM
A wee bonus from the owners of Betfair.

Perfect time to open an account :greengrin

03-05-2019, 02:01 PM
Advertise Frankie bullish about its chances

Great Scot 20/1 ew

03-05-2019, 02:10 PM
Perfect time to open an account :greengrin
£20 risk free and £5 free bet for doing so:aok:

03-05-2019, 02:16 PM
£20 risk free and £5 free bet for doing so:aok:

Sounds like a plan, mate. Cheers :aok:

03-05-2019, 03:33 PM
£10 EW on Poker Party in the 16:20 at Punchestown at 6/1 :agree:

Betfair paying four places on this one.

Third. A massive £2 profit :greengrin

03-05-2019, 03:40 PM
Nice wee win for Kupa River there, one bet one winner! 🍺

03-05-2019, 03:43 PM
Nice wee win for Kupa River there, one bet one winner! ��

Good work, Hutchy :aok:

How much did you win?

03-05-2019, 03:43 PM
Third. A massive £2 profit :greengrin
At least 10% profit every bet would be nice.

03-05-2019, 03:44 PM
Good work, Hutchy :aok:

How much did you win?

Nothing major, pays for Sergei and Skardu tomorrow though. 👍

03-05-2019, 03:56 PM
Nothing major, pays for Sergei and Skardu tomorrow though. 👍

Keeps the ball rolling.

03-05-2019, 04:05 PM
Not one hundred per cent confident on Ucello Conti later, but sentiment will get the better of me. He's one of the horses I have to back no matter what, same as Altior, though I never doubt the latter.

Reminds of childhood, when my dad would always back Desert Orchid, even when he was past his prime. Seeing them win is better than the winnings.

03-05-2019, 04:10 PM
Not one hundred per cent confident on Ucello Conti later, but sentiment will get the better of me. He's one of the horses I have to back no matter what, same as Altior, though I never doubt the latter.

Reminds of childhood, when my dad would always back Desert Orchid, even when he was past his prime. Seeing them win is better than the winnings.

It's difficult to explain to folk that don't get it that in horse racing there's more to the game than just collecting your winnings. Good Luck 🙏

There's something special about being at a racecourse when a spontaneous round of applause breaks out for a horse.

03-05-2019, 04:31 PM
It's difficult to explain to folk that don't get it that in horse racing there's more to the game than just collecting your winnings. Good Luck 🙏

There's something special about being at a racecourse when a spontaneous round of applause breaks out for a horse.

My dad still talks about Red Rum today. He would have backed him on three legs :greengrin

03-05-2019, 04:31 PM
RB away @ Mainz ht-ft 17/10

03-05-2019, 04:39 PM
RB away @ Mainz ht-ft 17/10

Got them to win my acca.

03-05-2019, 04:43 PM
My dad still talks about Red Rum today. He would have backed him on three legs :greengrin

As a youngster I'm sure he managed to win a sprint race on the flat! 👏

Oddly enough it was a dead heat over 5f @ Aintree! 😲

03-05-2019, 04:51 PM
As a youngster I'm sure he managed to win a sprint race on the flat! 👏

Oddly enough it was a dead heat over 5f @ Aintree! 😲

Aye, I believe his first race was a sprint. Any flat horse and my dad's line is "Nijinsky would have beaten him/her", which even includes Frankel. Another sentimental favourite :greengrin

03-05-2019, 04:59 PM
Got them to win my acca.

I'm a bit wary of backing teams with nowt to play for, we'll soon see.

Having said that I'm tempted to back Everton ht-ft too, will probably wait and see what's happening after 30 mins in the RB game.

03-05-2019, 05:01 PM
Aye, I believe his first race was a sprint. Any flat horse and my dad's line is "Nijinsky would have beaten him/her", which even includes Frankel. Another sentimental favourite :greengrin

I believe Frankel had an abnormally large heart which some have said gave him an advantage, I'm sure the breeding must've helped too.

03-05-2019, 05:15 PM
Punchestown

City Island evens fav

Battleoverdoyen one of its biggest dangers just been withdrawn

Good luck guys!

He was awful and never in it. Had a tenner each way on him.

03-05-2019, 05:16 PM

10ew @ EVS?

03-05-2019, 05:17 PM

Aye!

It was a shocker

Metz Seville double :greengrin

03-05-2019, 05:23 PM
10ew @ EVS?

Aye, top class field but thought he would get a place at least. In the end he was miles back.

03-05-2019, 05:30 PM
Aye, top class field but thought he would get a place at least. In the end he was miles back.

Are you on the bevvy? 😉

Never heard of someone doing that before.

03-05-2019, 05:31 PM
I believe Frankel had an abnormally large heart which some have said gave him an advantage, I'm sure the breeding must've helped too.

The greats Phar Lapp and Secretariat had hearts over twice the normal size. It must be a massive plus for racehorses; a freak of DNA.

03-05-2019, 05:36 PM
Are you on the bevvy? 😉

Never heard of someone doing that before.

I'm usually cautious and expect the worst, thus I play it safe to minimise losses when uncertain. Very poor run from City Island meant zero.

Had a couple of Guinness but that's it :greengrin

03-05-2019, 05:42 PM
I'm usually cautious and expect the worst, thus I play it safe to minimise losses when uncertain. Very poor run from City Island meant zero.

What would you have got back for a place?

03-05-2019, 05:47 PM
What would you have got back for a place?

Less than I put on, but would have meant losses cut. He was pulled up anyway; possibly the end of him? He's given me many good races.

03-05-2019, 05:50 PM

You have to have a cut off price for e/w. I wouldn't go under 5/2 and usually only against an overhyped odds on shot.

03-05-2019, 06:00 PM
Less than I put on, but would have meant losses cut. He was pulled up anyway; possibly the end of him? He's given me many good races.

For the sake of a couple of quid surely a score win is the way forward @ EVS.

03-05-2019, 06:07 PM
For the sake of a couple of quid surely a score win is the way forward @ EVS.

You have to have a cut off price for e/w. I wouldn't go under 5/2 and usually only against an overhyped odds on shot.

You're both right, of course, but, if I'm uncertain, I just err on the side of caution.

03-05-2019, 06:26 PM
You're both right, of course, but, if I'm uncertain, I just err on the side of caution.

The next time you do it I hope you win 🏆

03-05-2019, 07:21 PM
F***ing Sevilla 👹👹

03-05-2019, 07:22 PM
I'm a bit wary of backing teams with nowt to play for, we'll soon see.

Having said that I'm tempted to back Everton ht-ft too, will probably wait and see what's happening after 30 mins in the RB game.

Backed Everton @ 27/20 to win the 1st half.

03-05-2019, 07:42 PM
Backed Everton @ 27/20 to win the 1st half.

Great call, mate. Sevilla have ruined my bet with a scandalous performance.

03-05-2019, 08:06 PM
Great call, mate. Sevilla have ruined my bet with a scandalous performance.

Mine too.

Marseille @evens (1 up)
Dundalk @4/7 (2 up)
Everton @4/7 (2 up)
Seville @2/5 (2 down)

03-05-2019, 08:25 PM
Had a 10er at 12/5 Mainz to win the second half, £4 up! Result 🏆

03-05-2019, 08:27 PM
Mine too.

Marseille @evens (1 up)
Dundalk @4/7 (2 up)
Everton @4/7 (2 up)
Seville @2/5 (2 down)

It’s going really well now 🙈

1-1
2-2
2-0
0-2

BS44
03-05-2019, 08:37 PM
Will Sunderland play their first eleven tomorrow? Possibly still finish third and avoid Charlton who are league one best side over last 6 games

03-05-2019, 08:37 PM
2000 Guineas decision made: £10 EW on both Advertise (15/2) and Al Hilalee (16/1). The Paddy Power five places tipped the balance.

03-05-2019, 08:39 PM
Just cancelled my holiday in Sevilla

Must have bust every acca in the UK tonight :fuming::fuming:

03-05-2019, 08:40 PM
Just cancelled my holiday in Sevilla

Must have bust every acca in the UK tonight :fuming::fuming:

0-3 the comebacks off

03-05-2019, 09:17 PM
It’s going really well now 🙈

1-1
2-2
2-0
0-2

I can't work out what happened here. 🤨

04-05-2019, 08:14 AM
I can't work out what happened here. 🤨

From only needing Seville to perform an almighty comeback, my 4-fold ended up with only Everton winning

04-05-2019, 08:38 AM
From only needing Seville to perform an almighty comeback, my 4-fold ended up with only Everton winning

Ah right, I thought the bevvy had scrambled my mind! ☺

Bangkok Hibby
04-05-2019, 08:56 AM
2000 Guineas decision made: £10 EW on both Advertise (15/2) and Al Hilalee (16/1). The Paddy Power five places tipped the balance.

Al Hilalee entered in the Derby and supplemented for this for 30 grand just recently 👍🏻

LustForLeith
04-05-2019, 09:24 AM
Today’s bets

The over 2.5 goals points to the following

Toronto
Dortmund
Munich
Benfica

Lucky 15 first scorer with the top first scorers in their respective leagues

Auguero - City (Mane and Salah alsonacired njme first league goals but cancel each other out as they play for the same team!)
Maupay - Brentford
Taylor - Charlton
Norwood - Tramrere

Metros tips
Oxford
MK Dons
Newport

Racing Post Scottish Tips
Stirling
Airdrie
Dumbarton

And there’s three teams either relegated or playing the newly crowned champions thTbi fanxyncausing annipaet

Falkirk
Colchester
Bradford

Finally, the two year theory, for all its worth (!!!) throws up one selection. Manolith in the 2.09 at Thrisk.

As always, good luck everyone 👍

04-05-2019, 09:35 AM
Today’s bets

The over 2.5 goals points to the following

Toronto
Dortmund
Munich
Benfica

Lucky 15 first scorer with the top first scorers in their respective leagues

Auguero - City (Mane and Salah alsonacired njme first league goals but cancel each other out as they play for the same team!)
Maupay - Brentford
Taylor - Charlton
Norwood - Tramrere

Metros tips
Oxford
MK Dons
Newport

Racing Post Scottish Tips
Stirling
Airdrie
Dumbarton

And there’s three teams either relegated or playing the newly crowned champions thTbi fanxyncausing annipaet

Falkirk
Colchester
Bradford

Finally, the two year theory, for all its worth (!!!) throws up one selection. Manolith in the 2.09 at Thrisk.

As always, good luck everyone 👍

Has someone mixed up the keys on your keyboard? 😂

EskbankHibby
04-05-2019, 09:49 AM
Single on St Johnstone, my only bet of the day.

Hate this time of the season for betting, some really random results, bit of a minefield.

Row H
04-05-2019, 09:57 AM
Had a 10er at 12/5 Mainz to win the second half, £4 up! Result 🏆

04-05-2019, 10:12 AM
Decided to do just one crazy, massive accumulator and if it comes in then, I’ll be partying like it’s May 21st 2016! 😁

Charlton
Bury
Draw (Dundee vs Hamilton)
Ayr
Arbroath
Elgin
Man City
Leeds
Bayern Munich
Roma
Levante
Porto
Ajax
Kortrijk
Nantes

£15 stake returns £26,509.42 🙏🏾

04-05-2019, 12:26 PM
Decided to do just one crazy, massive accumulator and if it comes in then, I’ll be partying like it’s May 21st 2016! 😁

Charlton
Bury
Ayr
Arbroath
Elgin
Man City
Leeds
Bayern Munich
Roma
Levante
Porto
Ajax
Kortrijk
Nantes

Good luck :greengrin

04-05-2019, 12:36 PM

Charlton
Bury
Ayr
Arbroath
Elgin
Man City
Leeds
Bayern Munich
Roma
Levante
Porto
Ajax
Kortrijk
Nantes

It would be fantastic if they all came in :greengrin

04-05-2019, 12:38 PM

£20 win. Let's see how he goes.

04-05-2019, 12:47 PM
I've had a wee dabble on Advertise in the Guineas. Debatable whether he will get the mile but he plugged away nicely over 7f last time and just ran into one too good. His Curragh win over 6f is some of the best form on show imo.

Larry Burns
04-05-2019, 12:57 PM
On the draw in play (Spurs game)

11/10

04-05-2019, 12:58 PM
I've had a wee dabble on Advertise in the Guineas. Debatable whether he will get the mile but he plugged away nicely over 7f last time and just ran into one too good. His Curragh win over 6f is some of the best form on show imo.

Pleasing, mate, as I've also backed him!

04-05-2019, 01:00 PM
£20 win on Klassique in 14:05 at Goodwood at 11/8.

hibs#1
04-05-2019, 01:10 PM
10 on Motherwell, St Johnstone and Inverness @ just over 8/1.

04-05-2019, 01:10 PM
£20 win on Klassique in 14:05 at Goodwood at 11/8.

Only second, couldn't find the pace in the last couple of furlongs

04-05-2019, 01:24 PM
Got a Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea, Man U, Barca 5 fold. I know Barca will play a weak side, but the amount of quality they have, 3/1 still feels good.

On a non-betting note, not sure if anyone has had this before, but Virgin Gaming just me a £55 bonus out of nowhere, with only 1x wager. Just got £213 back within 5 mins and withdrew.

04-05-2019, 01:25 PM
£20 win. Let's see how he goes.

Awful run, never in it. £40 down first two races :rolleyes:

04-05-2019, 01:25 PM

Poor performance. 😠

04-05-2019, 01:27 PM
Poor performance. 😠

Back marker most of the way and left himself far too much to do.

04-05-2019, 01:42 PM
Bayern Munich, Wolfsburg, Clyde, Elgin, Motherwell, Wolves, Charlton, Benfica, Porto.

Tenner wins £146.50

NC1875
04-05-2019, 01:47 PM
West Ham
Wolves
MK Dons
Tranmere
Lincoln

£10 pays around £350

BS44
04-05-2019, 01:48 PM
Exeter
St Johnstone
Dundee U

04-05-2019, 02:41 PM
Well I think it's safe to say Advertise doesn't stay a mile.

04-05-2019, 02:42 PM
Well I think it's safe to say Advertise doesn't stay a mile.

Aye, both of my bets right down the back of the field. Having a terrible day so far.

04-05-2019, 03:25 PM
Bad day at Blackrock!

04-05-2019, 03:28 PM
Bad day at Blackrock!

Looks like Clyde are going to blow it and send me £60 down for the day so far :rolleyes:

04-05-2019, 03:50 PM
Ayr let me down for a £15 treble. Motherwell just conceded so, not anywhere near it after all!

04-05-2019, 03:55 PM
Three successive cash outs on a £3 bet bringing in £130 for me there. £277 the pre-match return.

Bournemouth
Fylde
Hoffenheim
Wolfsburg.

hibs#1
04-05-2019, 03:56 PM
10 on Motherwell, St Johnstone and Inverness @ just over 8/1.

Looked good until the last few minutes 😢

04-05-2019, 03:59 PM
Motherwell ****s 😤

04-05-2019, 04:06 PM
Three successive cash outs on a £3 bet bringing in £130 for me there. £277 the pre-match return.

Bournemouth
Fylde
Hoffenheim
Wolfsburg.

Well done!

04-05-2019, 04:18 PM
£30 on Charlton, Doncaster, Luton and Pompey.

04-05-2019, 04:24 PM
£30 on Charlton, Doncaster, Luton and Pompey.

How much would you win?

04-05-2019, 04:34 PM
How much would you win?

£162 I think.

04-05-2019, 04:45 PM
£162 I think.

Fingers crossed for that.

04-05-2019, 04:47 PM
Newcastle 8/1? Wouldn’t be unlike Liverpool to capitulate.

04-05-2019, 04:57 PM
Newcastle 8/1? Wouldn’t be unlike Liverpool to capitulate.

Good odds for a home game. You just never know, though Liverpool should be too good.

04-05-2019, 05:06 PM
Bury let me down for £82 and Blackpool losing (early doors yet) letting me down for £85 and at 2 down don’t look like pulling it back. O well always next season

04-05-2019, 05:40 PM
Portsmouth. Why oh why did I back Portsmouth.

04-05-2019, 05:51 PM
30 stake to win 162.

I’ve got three winning and 1 drawing and my cash out is 33? What am I missing here?!?

04-05-2019, 06:55 PM
1000 Guineas tomorrow: tenner EW on both Skitter Scatter (6/1) and Mot Juste (12/1). Thoughts?

LustForLeith
05-05-2019, 06:07 AM
Has someone mixed up the keys on your keyboard? 😂

05-05-2019, 06:26 AM
1000 Guineas tomorrow: tenner EW on both Skitter Scatter (6/1) and Mot Juste (12/1). Thoughts?

I've not got a strong opinion on the race but after watching The 2000G yesterday, I've gone for Just Wonderful ew who has the advantage of a high draw.

05-05-2019, 08:46 AM
I've not got a strong opinion on the race but after watching The 2000G yesterday, I've gone for Just Wonderful ew who has the advantage of a high draw.

Best of luck, Hutchy. After the disaster of the 2000, I could with better today.

NC1875
05-05-2019, 08:48 AM
Hibs to win
Both teams to score
4+ corners each team
20+ booking points each team

80/1

05-05-2019, 08:50 AM
Hibs to win
Both teams to score
4+ corners each team
20+ booking points each team

80/1

I've put a fiver on us at 8/1. Definite chance.

NC1875
05-05-2019, 08:53 AM

Yeah thought that above bet was good value. I’ve done quite well with these type of bets in Rangers games previously.

Morelos first player to be carded 7/1 as well if he starts

05-05-2019, 08:56 AM

Where are the goals coming from?

Asked a guy in the pub yesterday and after thinking about it blurted out Horgan

I reckon McNulty due us a goal

At 8/1 I hope you are correct

05-05-2019, 09:24 AM
Chelsea, Man United, Arsenal, RB Salzburg, Copenhagen, Sporting Lisbon, Napoli, Lyon.

Tenner returns 144.

05-05-2019, 12:14 PM
Derby
Forest
Boro
Man United
Hibs
Salford
Arsenal

Tenspot pays 989.

05-05-2019, 03:24 PM
Chelsea, Man United, Arsenal, RB Salzburg, Copenhagen, Sporting Lisbon, Napoli, Lyon.

Tenner returns 144.

Not a bean again today. Even just had a wee bet on the next at Newmarket where the 2/5 favourite was beaten by 10/1 outsider. :cb

05-05-2019, 03:33 PM
I suppose it could be worse. At least I didn't money on the 1/12 favourite at Hamilton which just lost :greengrin

Don't think I've ever seen a horse of that price lose!

Larry Burns
05-05-2019, 04:10 PM
Not a bean again today. Even just had a wee bet on the next at Newmarket where the 2/5 favourite was beaten by 10/1 outsider. :cb

It’s been an utterly brutal weekend

05-05-2019, 04:32 PM
Maqsad looks like one to follow after its performance in the 1645 at Newmarket. In its previous race at Newmarket the first two were about 15 lengths clear of the 3rd. Probably worth watching out for the 2nd from that previous race too.

05-05-2019, 04:33 PM

Hello darkness my old friend!

05-05-2019, 05:14 PM

Hello darkness my old friend!

I've had a nightmare.

05-05-2019, 05:15 PM
Maqsad looks like one to follow after its performance in the 1645 at Newmarket. In its previous race at Newmarket the first two were about 15 lengths clear of the 3rd. Probably worth watching out for the 2nd from that previous race too.

One of the few bright spots for me this weekend. Had tenner on him at 6/5. He looked very good.

05-05-2019, 05:33 PM
I'm a wee bit in front, absolute nonsense defending in their respective 2nd halves from Arsenal & Man Utd stopped it from being quite a profitable day.

05-05-2019, 05:46 PM
One of the few bright spots for me this weekend. Had tenner on him at 6/5. He looked very good.

The 2nd was a Gosden horse, Twist N Shake, it's due to run on Friday but, will probably be well odds on.

05-05-2019, 06:46 PM
I suppose it could be worse. At least I didn't money on the 1/12 favourite at Hamilton which just lost :greengrin

Don't think I've ever seen a horse of that price lose!
I remember Arum Lily getting beat at 1/14 about 30 years ago and something tells me there was a 1/20 beaten around the same time, maybe even the same day.

05-05-2019, 07:15 PM
I remember Arum Lily getting beat at 1/14 about 30 years ago and something tells me there was a 1/20 beaten around the same time, maybe even the same day.

Incredible stuff. I don't think I've ever before seen a 1/12 horse actually, even in a match race, but the Hamilton race had five runners I think.

Just checked: It came second: Al Hadeer in the 16:20. Winner was 7/2, six ran!

05-05-2019, 07:19 PM
2/1 Valencia ht-ft looking quite good so far! ☺

05-05-2019, 07:20 PM
Weekend off for me on all betting. Probably saved myself a fortune.

05-05-2019, 07:21 PM

They were a ridiculous price just to win.

05-05-2019, 07:22 PM

2nd FAV now for The Oaks, I'm a wee bit worried that they'll run her in The French Oaks as Haggas wasn't too sure about the horse staying 12f.

05-05-2019, 07:25 PM
They were a ridiculous price just to win.

I was a bit wary that they might have rested a few players as I put the Bet on before the teams were announced, oh well.

05-05-2019, 07:28 PM

5-0 up after 42 minutes. I think you've won this one :greengrin

06-05-2019, 03:58 PM
Dolos came in for me at 11/8. I was worried, as he was conceding almost two stones to the rest of the field! However, he's a class act who justified my faith.

06-05-2019, 04:20 PM
Where are the goals coming from?

Asked a guy in the pub yesterday and after thinking about it blurted out Horgan

I reckon McNulty due us a goal

At 8/1 I hope you are correct

06-05-2019, 06:43 PM
Racing Post Bet Builder

Aguerro anytime

Vardy anytime

Ndidi to get booked

20/1

06-05-2019, 06:54 PM
£10 @ 5.9 Sterling 1st scorer
£10 @ 2.1 Sterling anytime scorer

06-05-2019, 07:53 PM
Leicester playing well against City . 8-1 the draw looking very generous.

06-05-2019, 09:29 PM
A wee treble in the racing tomorrow:

1655 Wetherby - Moonking 8/13

1705 Ayr - Biblical 13/8

1950 Exeter - In Arrears 4/11

Tenner wins 58.70. :agree:

MagicSwirlingShip
07-05-2019, 12:14 AM
Absolutely hopeless the past month, retiring for the season. 😂

07-05-2019, 01:58 PM
£20 Barca 9/5, Laddies price boost last night

07-05-2019, 03:26 PM
£20 Barca 9/5, Laddies price boost last night

Tough game at Anfield, but, when you have Messi, you can win any match.

07-05-2019, 03:36 PM
Wouldn't be a bad idea to put a small outlay on both teams to score in all 6 English and Scottish matches tonight, should get you around the 20/1 mark.

Liverpool v Barca

Ayr v Inverness

Montrose v QOS

Raith v Forfar

Annan v Stenhousemuir

Edinburgh City v Clyde

07-05-2019, 03:40 PM
Tough game at Anfield, but, when you have Messi, you can win any match.

The tie is over but, thought it was worth a go with Salah & Firmino missing, expected the price to be shorter, the betting professionals tell you that's when to get involved.