View Full Version : How far will we go in Europe?

23-07-2018, 12:49 PM
I'll go play offs.

23-07-2018, 12:51 PM
I think we’ll probably lose to the Greeks but it would be great if we progressed. They’re no world beaters but they have a lot more recent European experience.

23-07-2018, 12:57 PM
Heart says group stages , head says we lose to Asteras

23-07-2018, 01:00 PM
Where is the winners button?:greengrin

23-07-2018, 01:00 PM
We'll lose narrowly to the Greeks.

Our squad isn't ready for this game, and there will be a meltdown on here.

After we're out we'll get some decent transfer business done and go on to have a good season domestically.

jonny
23-07-2018, 01:04 PM
Where is the winners button?:greengrin

500/1 to win it. Like buying money.

23-07-2018, 01:07 PM

After we're out we'll get some decent transfer business done and go on to have a good season domestically.

There would be a certain feeling of missed opportunity. The team that finished the season could have handled the next two rounds. Of course we are not that team right now.

However a solid effort against the Greeks and a good domestic campaign - hopefully earning another shot at Europe from a stronger starting point... I'd take that.

23-07-2018, 01:09 PM
I think we are a couple of signings short to get through this round. If we got McLaren and a new Dylan in for Thursday my view would change. Not easy getting quality players but it seems to me that we should roll the dice with the money available to win in Europe.

23-07-2018, 01:12 PM

Bangkok Hibby
23-07-2018, 01:15 PM
Hope I'm wrong but realistically this team isn't ready to go a lot further

23-07-2018, 01:17 PM
If we play to our potential then I expect we will win the game on Thursday, whether or not that will be enough to win the tie is anyone's guess. We will need atleast a 2 goal advantage going into the second leg to stand a chance though.

This is Asteras first competitive game of the season and there is a possibility we could catch them cold.

23-07-2018, 01:18 PM
Shaping up to be a pretty straightforward cruise into the group stages. My main concern is the lack of depth in the pool to fight a war on both European and domestic fronts. Need to take lessons from Hearts on that one - even if it has been some time.

23-07-2018, 01:19 PM
We'll get past this round and the next. I'll wait to see who we get drawn against before making a prediction on getting to the group stage.

23-07-2018, 01:20 PM
How far will we go? Depends really - if we play defensively like we did as the somewhat chaotic outfit against NIK we will be properly sent packing by the Greeks, if Lennon wakes them up and organises them we can progress to the next round. I'd love to see us in the group stage for the extra income, but not sure how Lennon can get them that well organised to do so in such a short space of time ...

CREESE
23-07-2018, 01:22 PM
Hope I'm wrong but realistically this team isn't ready to go a lot further

We don’t need a new McGeough. We already have Slivka who was excellent in first Euro tie. Think we need a left sided winger and new striker.

Am confident that we’re good enough to beat Greeks and whoever we get in next round Molde or Lavi. Play offs is where we will come up against the really big teams and we’ll go out at that stage.

Let’s enjoy it while we can starting Thursday. GGTTH

23-07-2018, 01:22 PM

Agree with most of that, but I don't think there'll be a meltdown.

If we perform reasonably well and don't lose by many goals, I think people will be happy enough.

23-07-2018, 01:26 PM
We don’t need a new McGeough. We already have Slivka who was excellent in first Euro tie. Think we need a left sided winger and new striker.

Am confident that we’re good enough to beat Greeks and whoever we get in next round Molde or Lavi. Play offs is where we will come up against the really big teams and we’ll go out at that stage.

Let’s enjoy it while we can starting Thursday. GGTTH

Except Slivka and McGeouch play two pretty different roles

Either Whittaker or Bartley will start in midfield imo, which is not ideal

23-07-2018, 01:28 PM
500/1 to win it. Like buying money.

Odds to make the groups?

23-07-2018, 01:30 PM
We’ve not prepared for this properly. Team is 4-5 players short. We probably don’t go further than this round.

23-07-2018, 01:45 PM
We’ve not prepared for this properly. Team is 4-5 players short. We probably don’t go further than this round.

We are as prepared as well as we can be given that the Qualifying rounds for this competition start before our season properly begins. What do you honestly think the club could do differently? New signings are always going to be hard to come by this far away from the end of the transfer window.

YanYansen
23-07-2018, 01:47 PM
Aye, regrettably I agree with the majority - we don't have enough to progress past the Greek side; who, while not exactly euro giants, have a far better pedigree than us in terms of recent history.

However, if we were to get a win of any kind on Thursday, I'd be thinking it's 50/50; however, I just don't see us not conceding in both legs, tbh.

23-07-2018, 01:47 PM
Well my car is off the road so I am walking. Has to be 500 miles and then 500 more🤔

23-07-2018, 01:54 PM
One game at a time for me! Not looking beyond Thursday's home game.

Roxyhibee
23-07-2018, 02:24 PM
Think we definitely have a chance against Asteras, but getting into the third round will take the level up where we need another good striker, everyone fit and flying, and keeping / replacing SJM.

That Molde (assuming they get through) will be a handful - third in Norwegian League I think and excellent European pedigree in recent years.

Just happy to be having these challenges.

23-07-2018, 02:33 PM
This round.

23-07-2018, 02:36 PM
We'll comfortably beat the Greek side. Dunno where this negativity has come from. We're good and we'll show it.

23-07-2018, 02:36 PM
I'm hopeful rather than confident that we sneak this tie starting with a solid performance on Thursday. If think we'll be seriously up against it should we face Molde in the next.

Looking forward to the challenge though.

23-07-2018, 02:47 PM
My thoughts exactly.

23-07-2018, 02:51 PM
Asteras will have too much for us.

Greenfly
23-07-2018, 05:18 PM
I think we can beat Asteras - not sure why as I know nothing about them but feel instinctively hopeful about this one. I expect Molde to beat the Albanians and if they do will surely be favourites to beat us. If we get the Albanians we'll beat them.

23-07-2018, 05:20 PM
I think we'll be comfortably beaten by Asteras Tripolis to be honest. I hope I'm wrong.

I don't think we've strengthened anywhere near enough to win this tie.

Sioux
23-07-2018, 05:37 PM

Usual nonsense from the resident troll.

23-07-2018, 05:39 PM
Usual nonsense from the resident troll.

On this occasion I don't see much wrong with what he's said. Perhaps apart from the accusation that we haven't prepared.

Fuzzywuzzy
23-07-2018, 05:40 PM
I've got a feeling they will be quite a clever and dirty team.

23-07-2018, 05:41 PM
We will be out this round.

Not a good enough squad to progress

SingaporeHibs
23-07-2018, 06:22 PM
Given my knowledge of the Greeks has come from this message board I can’t say I know enough about them to have any idea of their quality. However, i read they have signed a bunch of newbies and that gives me hope as far as they go. Looking at us, our first choice defence is still in tact, we still have McGinn and I fancy we still will have him for both ties at least, we have a number of options of formation around him in the middle of the park so not too concerned. That said, I would be a lot happier if Scott A was back already (I know not likely unless SJM goes the other way) or even having the pace of Barker back. However, Slivka, Bartman, Whitty, Boyle,Swanson around SJM still gives us options at this stage. How could I forget our freekick specialist, Super Stevie!! Up front we have Flo and we need another along side him but Shaw is more than capable for now. Overall, we have a chance this round and then we’ll be more prepared for the next round and again the draw has been fairly kind so in with a chance. After that it’s all about the draw again. If some of these Irish & Welsh sides can make the group as they have in recent years there is no reason we can’t. It will be about getting team and formation right in this round and the next and see what luck we carry. I’ve been following this club for 40 years so fully understand the safety blanket of expecting defeat going into these games but our club changed in 2016. I’m all for believing and confidence counts for a lot in Football. I’ll be happy clapping our way to the groups and some really big income that will boost our Club to a level that’s way beyond any of our expectations at this stage of the rebuild. We’re on our way GGTTH

23-07-2018, 06:27 PM
I have no idea how good this lot are, or even how good Greek football is these days with their economy down the ****ter?

23-07-2018, 06:37 PM
Need a European loyalty scheme in place. I mean 250,000 Hibs fans trying to get their hands on 12,000 final tickets for Baku.

Glad I've got my flights and accommodation already sorted.

shetlandhibee
23-07-2018, 06:50 PM
If we play to our potential then I expect we will win the game on Thursday, whether or not that will be enough to win the tie is anyone's guess. We will need atleast a 2 goal advantage going into the second leg to stand a chance though.

This is Asteras first competitive game of the season and there is a possibility we could catch them cold.
remember bronby a draw on thursday wouldnt be end of the world, a clean sheet and a 1 0 win would be exellent:agree: IMO:thumbsup:

23-07-2018, 07:00 PM
Feeling confident that we will win the tie at ER. I think European football suits our style and we have enough talented players to aquit ourselves well in this campaign. We will have new players signed soon enough too.

My long standing pessimistic take on Hibs has been diminished by the targets we’ve set season on season for the past few years and the fact that we have the foundations to carry on building and really cement our aim of being a very decent side. Players come and go, it’s about quality replacements and shrewd recruitment.

If we can’t sustain our forward momentum now then we probably never will.

23-07-2018, 07:05 PM
Taking it one game at a time. Pretty much I don’t know what to expect from this Greek side but at the same time, I’m sure they will be feeling the exact same about us.

Let’s just see how things unfold in front us.

Pescarese
23-07-2018, 07:12 PM
The Greeks will be a tough challenge. So will Molde, if we get through. That’s assuming Molde win, would be a big and welcome surprise if they don’t. But we’ll be unseeded for the play off and that will take the challenge to a whole new level. Here’s hoping for the group stages, but I’m not putting money on it.

23-07-2018, 07:40 PM
Although i know very little about our Greek opponents I do know that their home attendances are 10% of what ours are!!!
However, the Greek TV deal is almost 3 times the size of ours despite only having twice the population!!!
This in a nutshell is why Scottish teams struggle.
I believe Hibs will win this tie.

23-07-2018, 07:42 PM
I believe Hibs will win.

Aw no this song again. Was terrible the first time round

23-07-2018, 07:45 PM
remember bronby a draw on thursday wouldnt be end of the world, a clean sheet and a 1 0 win would be exellent:agree: IMO:thumbsup:

Disagree. We need to take a 1st leg lead when we go to Greece as they have a very good strong home record. Only Spurs & Schalke have won over there

23-07-2018, 07:47 PM
Although i know very little about our Greek opponents I do know that their home attendances are 10% of what ours are!!!
However, the Greek TV deal is almost 3 times the size of ours despite only having twice the population!!!
This in a nutshell is why Scottish teams struggle.
I believe Hibs will win this tie.

Not that it will have a bearing on the outcome of the tie but to back CMs point up Asteras average just above 1800. Only Olympiakos and AEK average over 10k (14k and 12k). I think when I was checking Asteras out after the draw was made I think their stadium only holds 8k.

CREESE
23-07-2018, 08:19 PM
Except Slivka and McGeouch play two pretty different roles

Either Whittaker or Bartley will start in midfield imo, which is not ideal

I would suggest that Slivka is ideally suited to playing that role. Taking the ball off the defense and beginning the play with McGinn / S Allan and Mallan ahead of him, when playing 3 - 5 - 2.

GRA
23-07-2018, 08:24 PM
I'd say we have a 50-50 chance of beating the Greeks. If we can get a first leg win and clean sheet that sets us up nicely for away. I'd be surprised if we get further as I suspect the midweek-weekend flow of games will catch up with our thin squad if we (probably) play Molde. A few extra quality bodies in may change that!

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

23-07-2018, 08:36 PM
I think we’ll beat the Greek team at home and do enough away to qualify. Beating Molde(probably) will depend on us bringing in a couple of new players. I’m sure the club are doing everything they can to bring in players, but it’s taking a while. We’ve got 2 tough but winnable ties to leave us on the brink of something special and I’d hate to be left thinking what might have been.
Id push the boat out and get McLaren back ASAP.

23-07-2018, 08:42 PM
It will certainly be a big financial boost for the club to make the group stage, not to mention a great trip for our players and fans. The link is for the Europa League money distribution, on top of that we would obviously have extra gate and merchandise revenue etc.

www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/news/newsid=2562034.html

23-07-2018, 08:45 PM
I think Thursday will be a major step up in class. Lack of signings from us in regards to getting Allan, McLaren back are a big blow.

We currently have a poorer squad than we did last season.

Think we may draw on Thursday. But beaten in Greece

jonny
23-07-2018, 08:53 PM
Odds to make the groups?

Can't find a price for that. Probably have to request a bet to get it.

We're even money to qualify past the Greeks, they are just a little bit shorter and slight favourites to qualify, although Hibs are favourites for Thursday's game at 6/5 with Tripolis being 9/4.

23-07-2018, 09:20 PM
To make the groups it’s pretty obvious that you’ll need to beat some decent sides.

But the draw has given us a realistic chance of getting to the playoff round at least. When you compare it to what it’s thrown up for Aberdeen for example.

Hope we can make the most of it.

23-07-2018, 09:28 PM
Nothing to to fear from either of the next two rounds.

Approach them with confidence and take our chances against a seeded team in the playoffs

23-07-2018, 10:21 PM
I think we'll beat Asteras, get a spawny draw and earn ourselves a place in the groups. Will then finish a respectable 3rd and be squeezed out.

Optimist? Who - me???

23-07-2018, 11:38 PM
I expect we'll lose over 2 legs to Tripolis.

23-07-2018, 11:48 PM
I think the odds are probably 55/45 in the Greeks favour due to their European experience. Really hope we can get a wee European run though. The group stages would be amazing. Must be great to regularly get to that stage - you get all sorts of interesting ties.

24-07-2018, 12:23 AM
If (big if) we can beat Astoras and Molde and the rest of the draw goes with the seeds then we will play one of these teams in the play off round.

Sevilla ** Esp 113.000
Zenit St. Petersburg *3 Rus 78.000
Besiktas ** Tur 57.000
Olympiakos Piraeus *3 Gre 54.000
Sparta Praha ** Cze 34.500
FC København * Den 34.000
Sporting Braga *3 Por 30.500
PAOK Thessaloniki @2 Gre 29.500
FCSB ** Rom 27.500
AA Gent *3 Bel 27.000
Racing Genk ** Bel 27.000
AZ Alkmaar ** Ned 25.000
NK Maribor * Slo 22.500

Austinho
24-07-2018, 02:14 AM
If we’re going to make it through, Neil Lennon is the best man to do it. Beat Barcelona with Celtic, and very nearly took us through against Brondby when we were a Championship side. I think he’ll have us set up the right way.

We certainly shouldn’t be fearing the away leg. It’s hardly going to be an intimidating atmosphere with a couple of thousand home fans. Any other team in Greece and we’d be up against a wall of noise. Hopefully the temperature is low at that time of night, as that will be their main advantage. Hopefully our fitness levels are our main advantage given they don’t start their season for another month.

DetroitHibs
24-07-2018, 04:47 AM
Going in to the game with one forward and a young laddie up front. Don't see us getting past the Greeks.

24-07-2018, 05:02 AM
We'll get papped out by the Greek side. Our recent European record doesn't inspire confidence. But live in hope.

24-07-2018, 05:10 AM
Can't see us progressing past this round tbh. Monumental achievement if we do

24-07-2018, 05:13 AM
Think we will unfortunately be involved in a Greek Tragedy.

We can dress it up anyway we want, but we are leaking goals, and the result at Easter Road will probably have us focussing on this in great detail when it happens.

24-07-2018, 05:56 AM
I get impression they will be very cynical and that there will be a lot of off the ball stuff and rolling about from them. Would be very surprised if we are allowed to play our normal game and that coupled with fact that we are still light in some key areas, makes me think it would be a major achievement to win this tie over two legs.

24-07-2018, 07:26 AM
Not a lot of confidence around.
Personally I think we will beat the Greek team. We have the quality and I think with Hanlon and McGRegor back our defence will be solid.

24-07-2018, 07:30 AM
Not a lot of confidence around.
Personally I think we will beat the Greek team. We have the quality and I think with Hanlon and McGRegor back our defence will be solid.

Was speaking to someone at Hibs re them. They said they are the equivalent of a Top 6 Team here. So the tie is definitely winnable

24-07-2018, 07:34 AM
We'll get papped out by the Greek side. Our recent European record doesn't inspire confidence. But live in hope.

Our recent European record is we've won two games in a row and scored 12 goals in Europe :wink:

I know what you mean but this is a different squad and different manager so previous games go out the window in my opinion.

Our current first 11 is good enough to get through the next two rounds as long as no one has a howler and we avoid injury. After that it becomes much more difficult.

Lennon said the second leg against Runavik was being used to try things that would be tried in pre season friendlies. We won't see anything like that performance on Thursday.

24-07-2018, 07:54 AM
Going in to the game with one forward and a young laddie up front. Don't see us getting past the Greeks.

Shaw is alot more than some young laddie. Going to be a great player, not worried about him playing at all.

24-07-2018, 08:00 AM
Shaw is alot more than some young laddie. Going to be a great player, not worried about him playing at all.

Shaw’s goal scoring rate for the first team is great. He’ll be a top player for us this season.

NZ Green
24-07-2018, 08:01 AM
I suspect it'll be fairly close against AT, but not sure if we'll manage to beat them.

24-07-2018, 08:08 AM
This Greeks side have signed about 12 new players this season, if most of them are in the side, their European experience will be quite low for this team.

We have a chance here.

24-07-2018, 08:11 AM
Fail to prepare, prepare to fail.

24-07-2018, 08:27 AM
Baku

24-07-2018, 08:34 AM

Since relegation our record in Europe has been pretty impressive I would say. We obviously haven't achieved much but last time we won away in Brondby and could easily have gone through.

24-07-2018, 08:41 AM
This Greeks side have signed about 12 new players this season, if most of them are in the side, their European experience will be quite low for this team.

We have a chance here.

Are they managed by the Greek Craig Levein ?