View Full Version : Best ever Hibs team - by shirt number

Austinho
22-07-2018, 07:52 AM
A little twist on the usual, ‘best or worst Hibs players’. Only one player can occupy the squad/first XI number they wore. A tough one given that the likes of Sauzee and Stanton both played number 4.
Should get easier going into the 20’s and 30’s, but what about the first 11?

I’ll start:

01 - Derek Riordan :wink:

22-07-2018, 08:00 AM
2. David Gray.

Maybe not the best player ever to wear the number but his performance in the last 10 minutes of the final and the winning goal elevate him to a different level. What that has done for the club is almost unbelievable.

22-07-2018, 08:06 AM
3. David Murphy?

Not even sure if that was his squad number. Best first touch I've ever seen at ER and I include Franck Sauzee and Latapy amongst my considerations.

22-07-2018, 08:13 AM
25 Conrad Logan

22-07-2018, 08:13 AM
2. David Gray.

Maybe not the best player ever to wear the number but his performance in the last 10 minutes of the final and the winning goal elevate him to a different level. What that has done for the club is almost unbelievable.

Difficult to argue with that, but John Brownlie needs a mention. Tough, skilful, international class.

22-07-2018, 08:16 AM
8 Everyone Knows His Name

22-07-2018, 08:19 AM
3. David Murphy?

Not even sure if that was his squad number. Best first touch I've ever seen at ER and I include Franck Sauzee and Latapy amongst my considerations.

3. Eric Schaedler. Hard as nails, great left foot, amazing engine and a better defender than David. Taken too soon.

22-07-2018, 08:20 AM

22-07-2018, 08:23 AM
Difficult to argue with that, but John Brownlie needs a mention. Tough, skilful, international class.

With a Username like that, hard for you to say anything else.

I agree by the way....John was a superb right back.

Austinho
22-07-2018, 08:24 AM
8 Everyone Knows His NameVykintas Slivka? Jorge Claros?

22-07-2018, 08:27 AM

Edwin De Graaf?

hibbydog
22-07-2018, 08:27 AM
2. David Gray.

Not just my favourite ever hibs player. Probably one of my favourite human beings!!

Scored the most important goal in the history of our club. And the heart on the sleeve way he did it was inspirational.

Sir David. Marry my daughter!!

Gloucester Hibs
22-07-2018, 08:30 AM
17. Ivan Sproule

22-07-2018, 08:35 AM
#1 The Goaie!

Aye ah ken big fat hun but still the best since 1875.

:not worth

22-07-2018, 08:37 AM
25 Conrad Logan

We should do a testimonial for him when he retires. I can't think of player who has played less games for us but had such an impact!

Bangkok Hibby
22-07-2018, 08:55 AM
11. Eric Stevenson. My favourite Hibs player. A crime he wasn't capped.

22-07-2018, 09:15 AM
4 Franck Sauzee

22-07-2018, 09:22 AM
14 Guillaume Beuzelin

Argylehibby
22-07-2018, 09:26 AM
4 Franck Sauzee

4 there can only be one and that's Pat Stanton.

aljo7-0
22-07-2018, 09:29 AM
16 Lewis Stevenson.

22-07-2018, 09:33 AM
4 there can only be one and that's Pat Stanton.

22-07-2018, 09:34 AM
Vykintas Slivka? Jorge Claros?

Jimmy O'Rourke, song from the seventies (taken from Rupert the Bear).

Jason Cummings 35
Garry O'Connor 33.

22-07-2018, 09:36 AM
8 Franck Sauzee

22-07-2018, 09:37 AM
11. Eric Stevenson. My favourite Hibs player. A crime he wasn't capped.

Just finished reading his book on holiday, it was better than I had imagined.

He played the first time I watched Hibs in 1968 and thought he was very good player.

Got the feeling reading the book though that Eric himself felt he could have done more, didn't help himself a lot of the time unfortunately.

22-07-2018, 09:46 AM
18 - John McGinn or Scott Brown?

22-07-2018, 09:47 AM
18 - John McGinn or Scott Brown?Only one of them won the Scottish cup at hibs.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Austinho
22-07-2018, 09:48 AM
18 - John McGinn or Scott Brown?7 - Also John McGinn or Scott Brown.

Austinho
22-07-2018, 09:50 AM
8 Franck SauzeeWhat season did he wear 8? Thought he was always 4.

22-07-2018, 09:54 AM
What season did he wear 8? Thought he was always 4.

Probably at some point in the great adventure. We didn’t have squad numbers that season. Given he played in midfield that season, there’s probably a good chance he did wear 8 at some point. I seem to remember Justin Skinner wearing 4 most of the time that year.

22-07-2018, 09:56 AM
5 - Rob Jones

Cup winning captain and a solid defender who was also a good threat to have at set pieces. Was gutted when he left but understood the reasons why. Always great to seen him back at ER, which he normally does.

22-07-2018, 09:56 AM
7 - Also John McGinn or Scott Brown.

Without having seen him I would have thought Gordon Smith would have been a shoe in for the number seven.

22-07-2018, 11:49 AM
10 - Latapy.

22-07-2018, 11:55 AM
4 Franck Sauzee

Not a chance, Sauzee was fantastic but there's only one number 4 and that is the great Pat Stanton.

Hibee_Dave
22-07-2018, 11:58 AM
51 - Big Yves.

22-07-2018, 12:00 PM
20 zitelli

HibeeMackenzie
22-07-2018, 12:32 PM
28 stokes
91 palsson

Col_0762
22-07-2018, 01:17 PM
18 - John McGinn or Scott Brown?

18 Gary Smith

22-07-2018, 03:39 PM
8 Jimmy O'Rourke
5 John Madsen
2 Joe Davis
11 Eric Stevenson

and the others whose numbers I can't remember:wink:

22-07-2018, 03:47 PM
16 Mr Dependable Wee Lewis

22-07-2018, 04:11 PM
So tough with the likes of the famous 5.

From what I've seen Russell Latapy takes the #10 shirt. Although I think he wore #4 on his debut.

22-07-2018, 04:12 PM
Mickie Edwards & Arthur Duncan.
You can see which era I come from :greengrin
Oh and Alan Gordon so cultured.

22-07-2018, 04:13 PM
7 - Also John McGinn or Scott Brown.

Or Alex Edwards :greengrin {I never saw Gordon Smith].

22-07-2018, 04:15 PM
Or Alex Edwards :greengrin {I never saw Gordon Smith].
Damm :greengrin

22-07-2018, 04:21 PM
8 Jimmy O'Rourke
5 John Madsen
2 Joe Davis
11 Eric Stevenson

and the others whose numbers I can't remember:wink:

1 Willie Wilson/Thomson Allan/Gordon Marshall/Roy Baines
2 Bobby Duncan/Chris Shevlane
3 Joe Davis/Melvyn Jones/Billy McEwan
4 Alan Cousin/John Blackley
5 John Madsen/Jim Black
6 Pat Stanton
7 Alex Scott/Peter Marinello/Kenny Davidson
8 Alan McGraw/Jim O'Rourke/ Johnny Graham
9 Colin Stein/Joe McBride/Joe Baker
10 Peter Cormack/Jim Blair/John Hazel
11 Eric Stevenson/ Arthur Duncan

And then we got TT's.

22-07-2018, 07:54 PM
Just reading Bobby Johnstone The Passing of an Age by John Leigh an absolutely brilliant read this guy sounds like an early Scott Allan but by all accounts 100 times better! He would be No 8 in the famous five so that rules out my all time fav Jimmy ORourke and I am sure he will agree as he asked to see Nickers statue at Man City. The people of Selkirk are currently trying to raise 50k to erect a statue to this HIBS legend. How many players on this thread can say they have had statues erected in their memory?

There is class there is first class and then there is HIBS class!

22-07-2018, 07:56 PM
Just reading Bobby Johnstone The Passing of an Age by John Leigh an absolutely brilliant read this guy sounds like an early Scott Allan but by all accounts 100 times better! He would be No 8 in the famous five so that rules out my all time fav Jimmy ORourke and I am sure he will agree as he asked to see Nippers statue at Man City. The people of Selkirk are currently trying to raise 50k to erect a statue to this HIBS legend. How many players on this thread can say they have had statues erected in their memory?

There is class there is first class and then there is HIBS class!

My Dad's favourite player. He insisted on getting his pic taken beside the Hall of Fame photo on Father's Day there. It now has pride of place in his front room.

Hero-worship never dies, :greengrin

22-07-2018, 08:05 PM
My Dad's favourite player. He insisted on getting his pic taken beside the Hall of Fame photo on Father's Day there. It now has pride of place in his front room.

Hero-worship never dies, :greengrin
Cheers Sodje! :thumbsup:

Nevi_SOL
22-07-2018, 08:21 PM
9 - Lawrie Reilly

22-07-2018, 09:19 PM
Have to add Matty Jack.

22-07-2018, 09:36 PM
33 Liam Miller, RIP

22-07-2018, 09:38 PM
26 Sol Bamba

badabing67
22-07-2018, 09:39 PM
#1 The Goaie!

Aye ah ken big fat hun but still the best since 1875.

I thought Jim Leighton was better for us he'd be my no 1 goalie

21 Marc Libbra he wasn't here long but managed 5 goals in 10 games

cmcd
22-07-2018, 09:43 PM
10 - Latapy.

Copley

cmcd
22-07-2018, 09:49 PM
5 John Madsen/Jim Black
6 Pat Stanton

And then we got TT's.

8 Willie Hamilton

22-07-2018, 09:55 PM
Aye he was good as well in fact I would say outstanding he was good for HIBS and HIBS were good for him resurrecting his international career but Gorams angles one to ones handling distribution ball retention goals for just shades it. I remember being at Love Street one cold rainy night Hibs scored early and Goram was totally outstanding to win us three points by the same token in the play offs v Airdrie Leighton outstanding both legs. Leightons game was all about confidence and as the position evolved into a sweeper role he was sometimes caught out.Goram on the other hand oozed confidence.
Both were excellent for us football is all about opinions but my vote goes to the Goalie but would not hear a bad word against Leighton who was also great I just hope he enjoyed his time here at our great club.

22-07-2018, 09:56 PM
23 Scott Allan

And if nobody else has bagged 17, could do worse than have Ivan’s pace and passion in the squad!

And did Zitelli wear 20?

22-07-2018, 10:01 PM

21 Marc Libbra he wasn't here long but managed 5 goals in 10 games
Libra was quality cest magnifique ! I remember after his brilliant goal versus the smellies at Parkhead Celtic trying to sign him Quelle surprise !!!

Austinho
23-07-2018, 12:48 AM
4 there can only be one and that's Pat Stanton.Man United have the legendary Number 7 shirt, with the likes of Best, Robson, Cantona, Beckham and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Is Number 4 the iconic Hibs shirt? With two of our greatest ever in Stanton and Sauzee, Scottish Cup winner Paul Hanlon and League Cup winner Zemmama - it certainly stakes a claim. Who else has worn it in the past?

BegbieHSC
23-07-2018, 01:40 AM
28 - Tony Stokes - no need for an explanation

23-07-2018, 05:31 AM
8 Willie Hamilton

Although my first game was 1965, I wasn't a regular until 68 and with the exceptions of players like Murphy, Pringle & Wilkinson, who also played bit-part roles, those were the main block of players that took us up to the TT's, although, as we know, players like Brownlie, Schadler & Cropley had already made the breakthrough before Ned's arrival in 1971.

23-07-2018, 06:37 AM
Man United have the legendary Number 7 shirt, with the likes of Best, Robson, Cantona, Beckham and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Is Number 4 the iconic Hibs shirt? With two of our greatest ever in Stanton and Sauzee, Scottish Cup winner Paul Hanlon and League Cup winner Zemmama - it certainly stakes a claim. Who else has worn it in the past?
#4 Only person that comes close to the first two IMO Kaiser Franz Beckanbaur and he disnae qualify :wink:

Eric
23-07-2018, 07:07 AM
19 - He who played a very special role - The Matty Jack Role.

Leith's finest
23-07-2018, 10:03 AM
33 chris killen
01 & 10 Deek

17 Ivan
36 Jason

23-07-2018, 11:52 AM
5 John Madsen/Jim Black
6 Pat Stanton

And then we got TT's.
Nice little trip down memory lane:aok:

St Pauli Hibee
23-07-2018, 11:59 AM
Done a 1 - 11. Probably will get slated for a few, but thought of these players quickly

1. Daniel Andersson
2. Ulises De La Cruz
3. David Murphy
4. Franck Sauzee
5. Rob Jones
6. Ian Murray
7. Paco Luna
8. Scott Brown
9. Garry O'Connor
10. Derek Riordan
11. John O'Neil

cmcd
23-07-2018, 12:11 PM
Done a 1 - 11. Probably will get slated for a few, but thought of these players quickly

1. Daniel Andersson
2. Ulises De La Cruz
3. David Murphy
4. Franck Sauzee
5. Rob Jones
6. Ian Murray
7. Paco Luna
8. Scott Brown
9. Garry O'Connor
10. Derek Riordan
11. John O'Neil

Impossible to have a Hibs team without Pat Stanton

23-07-2018, 09:41 PM
#8 Des Bremner European Cup Winner no one realised how good he was and how hard he worked until he was gone! ABSOLUTE LEGEND!

23-07-2018, 09:57 PM
Copley

:agree: Agee :wink:

23-07-2018, 10:21 PM
:agree: Agee :wink:
Copley good Cropley even better!

I know no one likes a smart arse 😁👍🏾

24-07-2018, 08:19 AM
4 can only be Pat Stanton

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

chinaman
24-07-2018, 08:29 AM
Not a chance, Sauzee was fantastic but there's only one number 4 and that is the great Pat Stanton.

correct !

24-07-2018, 09:11 AM
26 Sol Bamba

perhaps

HelmutSchlong
24-07-2018, 09:17 AM
50. Yves Ma-Kalambay

24-07-2018, 10:06 AM
7- Zemmama

Mac_17
24-07-2018, 10:06 AM
19 Kevin Thomson

24-07-2018, 10:09 AM
62 - Latapy

24-07-2018, 10:51 AM
Number 5. Big Gordon Rae :not worth

24-07-2018, 10:55 AM
33 chris killen

Liam Miller over Chris Killen surely?

Hibernian32
24-07-2018, 12:52 PM
28 - antti Niemi he was never finished

Oranje39
25-07-2018, 12:00 PM
51 - Big Yves.

He wore #50.

#36 I'd say Benji, I'm sure he was wearing #36 when he scored against Hearts at Easter Rd.
#19 big Amadou Konte.
#22 Can't think of a better one than our current one Flo Kamberi.