View Full Version : 1902 The Play @ Fringe

Hibsintherigg
20-07-2018, 09:17 PM
Hi Guys,

Ive just bought tickets for "1902" the play at the fringe in august, buzzing cos a couldny get tickets last year. Anyone seen it? or planning on going?

:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

20-07-2018, 09:23 PM

Hibeewilly
20-07-2018, 09:23 PM
Hi Guys,

Ive just bought tickets for "1902" the play at the fringe in august, buzzing cos a couldny get tickets last year. Anyone seen it? or planning on going?

:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:
Saw it last year in the East Stand concourse....thought it was excellent. Is it the same venue this year? Hope you enjoy it mate

20-07-2018, 09:27 PM
Saw it last year in the East Stand concourse....thought it was excellent. Is it the same venue this year? Hope you enjoy it mate

Different play. the play in the east stand was “a field of our own “

20-07-2018, 09:27 PM

Think the 1902 and the one in the East Stan last year are 2 different shows, saw them both last year, well worth a go.

20-07-2018, 09:28 PM
Saw it last year @ wee red bar.

Was excellent! Thoroughly enjoyed it!

20-07-2018, 09:28 PM
Saw it last year. More than decent way to pass an hour.

20-07-2018, 09:31 PM
A Field Of Our Own was the show at the East stand & 1902 at the we Red Bar

dirtydirk
20-07-2018, 09:33 PM
Is field of our own on again this year. Went last year and it was brilliant

Hibeewilly
20-07-2018, 09:41 PM
Thanks guys I've got the Fringe brochure so will get tickets for 1902

Hibsintherigg
20-07-2018, 09:57 PM
Ive heard really good things about "1902" was gutted I didn't get to see it last year like!

Souter96Mac
21-07-2018, 12:52 AM
I seen it last year. It was quality, brought me to tears and laughter several times

21-07-2018, 03:37 AM
If anyone connected with 1902 is viewing this thread......any way to get some kind of video coverage of it for us unable to get to a performance because of distance?

21-07-2018, 08:04 AM
Saw it last year @ wee red bar.

Was excellent! Thoroughly enjoyed it!

Same here, I thought it was excellent. If it’s the same venue, get there early for a decent spot

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

tetley
21-07-2018, 11:21 AM
Saw it last year and really enjoyed it from start to finish......well worth going to see it......if it’s at the wee red bar again suggest you get there early as it’s quite small ......they perform it in the middle of the room so can see it from wherever you sit at the sides that’s if they are doing it the same as last year

Hibsintherigg
21-07-2018, 11:48 AM
Saw it last year and really enjoyed it from start to finish......well worth going to see it......if it’s at the wee red bar again suggest you get there early as it’s quite small ......they perform it in the middle of the room so can see it from wherever you sit at the sides that’s if they are doing it the same as last year

I have family in Dundee that went to see it in Dundee! they are staunch Dundee United fans but adored it, Im absolutely buzzin to see it.

21-07-2018, 12:42 PM
Went last year with 2 friends who aren't into football, they (& I) really enjoyed it would recommend it. Good night/afternoon out.

HelmutSchlong
21-07-2018, 07:12 PM
Without giving away the main story line could someone kindly give a rough indication to the plot?

Is it basically a story around the lead up to the greatest day in history?

21-07-2018, 07:28 PM
Without giving away the main story line could someone kindly give a rough indication to the plot?

Is it basically a story around the lead up to the greatest day in history?It's what's known in the biz as a 6 tissue job.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

22-07-2018, 06:18 AM
2 for 1 offer 6 th and 7 th August 2018 tickets £12 plus £1.60 booking fee shows 1700 and 1900 hrs

Venue Wee Red Bar Edinburgh College of Art just down from Tap O Lauriston tickets available to buy on line. :wink:

edfringe.com

Thief
22-07-2018, 09:45 AM
Booked! Thanks for tip Bill [emoji106]

22-07-2018, 10:06 AM
Booked! Thanks for tip Bill [emoji106]

Nae bother!

22-07-2018, 10:50 AM
I recall one of the artists (Canon Hannan) from Field of Our Own looking like Jason Cummings. Was a very good show. Think I'll go to 1902 show this year.

22-07-2018, 10:51 AM

Is it basically a story around the lead up to the greatest day in history?

Basically about 4 mates in the pub trying desperately to get tickets for the final. After doing so, going to game have to face consequences of paying for them. Lot of humour ( especially from token jambo who is a bit, well, thick). Will definitely bring a tear to the eye. Really good show. Enjoy.

22-07-2018, 10:51 AM
Another tip is if you buy a bunch of tickets at once you get charged a booking fee for the first 6 tickets - up to £4.80.

So it’s worth doing a bit of planning/ buying together if your watching the penny’s.

22-07-2018, 10:55 AM
Saw it first time, will try to go again this year.

linlithgowhibbie
22-07-2018, 12:32 PM
Nae bother!

Likewise, booked for the Tuesday:thumbsup:

22-07-2018, 02:21 PM
Likewise, booked for the Tuesday:thumbsup:

22-07-2018, 06:51 PM
2 for 1 offer 6 th and 7 th August 2018 tickets £12 plus £1.60 booking fee shows 1700 and 1900 hrs

Venue Wee Red Bar Edinburgh College of Art just down from Tap O Lauriston tickets available to buy on line. :wink:

edfringe.com
Guys! Check out 2 for 1 Offer

Hibsintherigg
27-07-2018, 01:40 PM
I’m going on the 3rd! Opening show

27-07-2018, 01:42 PM

27-07-2018, 04:00 PM
I’m going on the 3rd! Opening show

What part do you play?

Hibsintherigg
27-07-2018, 09:15 PM
What part do you play?

😂😂😂 good yin!

Hibsintherigg
27-07-2018, 09:21 PM
What part do you play?

I don’t think that’s prticulatrly fair, especially when I’m new to this, not very welcoming at all

27-07-2018, 09:45 PM
I don’t think that’s prticulatrly fair, especially when I’m new to this, not very welcoming at all

Not sure you had to send me a private message to say this too.

Hibsintherigg
27-07-2018, 09:47 PM
Not sure you had to send me a private message to say this too.

Just don’t think it’s fair that’s all. For your information I have nothing to do with the show.

27-07-2018, 10:24 PM
Saw 1902 last year and it was brilliant. guy who wrote it is from Bonnyrigg and the girl who plays the Irish barmaid was taught drama by my daughter.

28-07-2018, 12:10 AM

28-07-2018, 12:14 AM

edfringe.com

28-07-2018, 01:49 AM
Saw 1902 last year and it was brilliant. guy who wrote it is from Bonnyrigg and the girl who plays the Irish barmaid was taught drama by my daughter.
He’s also a jambo

28-07-2018, 06:14 AM
Enjoyed this last year, and as others have said, it’s a very small venue so best book in advance. A few of the famed cup winning side have been in the audience to see it at last years run.

28-07-2018, 07:04 AM
Welcome to HIBS.net mate I hope you enjoy the show! :thumbsup:

30-07-2018, 11:55 AM

edfringe.com
According to Sandy Macnair in his new book We only want the earth about our return to the premiership this play is not about 1902 but about 21/5/2016 highly recommends it will make you laugh and cry.

30-07-2018, 11:58 AM
According to Sandy Macnair in his new book We only want the earth about our return to the premiership this play is not about 1902 but about 21/5/2016 highly recommends it will make you laugh and cry.

You don't need to buy the book. The Fringe programme is quite clear what it's about. :greengrin

https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/1902

30-07-2018, 12:37 PM
You don't need to buy the book. The Fringe programme is quite clear what it's about. :greengrin

https://tickets.edfringe.com/whats-on/1902
Yip ! Got ye 1902 about 2016
Sandy Macnair book about our return to SPFL 2017/18 available from club shop

hhibs
30-07-2018, 01:02 PM
Just don’t think it’s fair that’s all. For your information I have nothing to do with the show.

Steady fella,you seem a tad sensitive,I am sure it was only a wee joke.

30-07-2018, 03:38 PM

It was obvious to me that it was a joke.

Quite a good one, in my opinion.

Getting gently teased on hibs.net is a result. Wait till you post a controversial opinion!

Welcome.

30-07-2018, 03:43 PM
It was obvious to me that it was a joke.

Quite a good one, in my opinion.

Getting gently teased on hibs.net is a result. Wait till you post a controversial opinion!

Welcome.

Not to mention that I was probably right......

30-07-2018, 03:49 PM
Saw it last year, was excellent. Nice wee venue & I enjoyed the interaction, my drink was cleared away by the barmaid in the play!

30-07-2018, 03:52 PM
Saw it last year, was excellent. Nice wee venue & I enjoyed the interaction, my drink was cleared away by the barmaid in the play!
Hope you had finished it! :wink:

HelmutSchlong
30-07-2018, 03:54 PM
I see a group of yams have a stint at the fringe with a show called a war of two halves 🙄

I’d kindly ask anyone who happens by it to refrain from ruining the ending for us all

30-07-2018, 04:09 PM
I see a group of yams have a stint at the fringe with a show called a war of two halves 🙄

I’d kindly ask anyone who happens by it to refrain from ruining the ending for us all

That might be quite interesting, from a non-partisan POV.

However, at £24 a head, I'm not sure it will be getting many punters. At Fringe time, that's way OTT. More expensive than the likes of Mark Thomas, or any of the stuff at the Traverse (which I'm boycotting this year because of their prices).

30-07-2018, 04:10 PM
Not to mention that I was probably right......

What makes is even stranger was that his initial reaction was to post laughing smilies and type "Good yin".

I wonder why the quick change of heart.

30-07-2018, 05:39 PM
That might be quite interesting, from a non-partisan POV.

However, at £24 a head, I'm not sure it will be getting many punters. At Fringe time, that's way OTT. More expensive than the likes of Mark Thomas, or any of the stuff at the Traverse (which I'm boycotting this year because of their prices).

I refuse to pay over £15 for the Fringe, up from £10 a couple of years ago. Paying £30+ for a few dates tagged on to a tour seems against sverything the Fringe was supposed to be.

30-07-2018, 05:46 PM
I refuse to pay over £15 for the Fringe, up from £10 a couple of years ago. Paying £30+ for a few dates tagged on to a tour seems against sverything the Fringe was supposed to be.I'm with you on that.

I don't mind paying the higher prices at any other time of the year. But the TV comics who come here in August are cynically taking the business, and more importantly the exposure, away from those who are on their way up.

At this point I could mention my lodger who is one of the latter, but I'll leave that until it's more commercially appropriate [emoji16]

30-07-2018, 06:31 PM

edfringe.com

30-07-2018, 06:36 PM
Hope you had finished it! :wink:

You have to ask? :greengrin

30-07-2018, 07:13 PM
You have to ask? :greengrin

linlithgowhibbie
30-07-2018, 09:49 PM
Prices for the fringe are getting ridiculous. My wife and I now spend a day doing free shows, some of which have been pretty good, and then pick and choose another one show.

Enjoyed Radio Forths show at the Playhouse but went two years in a row and thought it was just the same(but slightly different)

30-07-2018, 09:53 PM
Prices for the fringe are getting ridiculous. My wife and I now spend a day doing free shows, some of which have been pretty good, and then pick and choose another one show.

Enjoyed Radio Forths show at the Playhouse but went two years in a row and thought it was just the same(but slightly different)
Eh? Thought the Fringe started 3/8/2018.

30-07-2018, 10:01 PM
Eh? Thought the Fringe started 3/8/2018.Some shows are opening on the 1st.

30-07-2018, 10:27 PM
Some shows are opening on the 1st.

Took the dates from the Fringe Official Programme I will be in the Laughing Horse/ Pear Tree for the free shows that start on Thursday . I am surprised that you did not go for the 2 for 1 offer for 1902 that I have been trying to push for fellow hibbies? I have nothing to do with the show just trying to make sure the green and white army get a good deal! :thumbsup:

30-07-2018, 10:31 PM
Took the dates from the Fringe Official Programme I will be in the Laughing Horse/ Pear Tree for the free shows that start on Thursday . I am surprised that you did not go for the 2 for 1 offer for 1902 that I have been trying to push for fellow hibbies? I have nothing to do with the show just trying to make sure the green and white army get a good deal! [emoji106]Um... How do you know I'm not? [emoji6]

FTR, I saw the show last year. Since I normally see about 20-30 shows in August, much as I enjoyed it, there's too much else to see.

30-07-2018, 10:39 PM
Um... How do you know I'm not? [emoji6]

FTR, I saw the show last year. Since I normally see about 20-30 shows in August, much as I enjoyed it, there's too much else to see.

Apologies I thought I saw a post saying you were going on 3/8/18 ? Must have got you confused with someone else? :wink:

Jay
30-07-2018, 11:03 PM
Took the dates from the Fringe Official Programme I will be in the Laughing Horse/ Pear Tree for the free shows that start on Thursday . I am surprised that you did not go for the 2 for 1 offer for 1902 that I have been trying to push for fellow hibbies? I have nothing to do with the show just trying to make sure the green and white army get a good deal! :thumbsup:

Appreciated. I got tickets in the offer after it was posted here.

30-07-2018, 11:12 PM
Appreciated. I got tickets in the offer after it was posted here.

linlithgowhibbie
31-07-2018, 09:43 AM
Eh? Thought the Fringe started 3/8/2018.

Billy,

I meant that in previous years I went two years in a row:thumbsup:so wont go back to it

31-07-2018, 10:38 AM
Billy,

I meant that in previous years I went two years in a row:thumbsup:so wont go back to it
I know ! Was only pulling your leg. Bad joke! Will be giving Forth on the Fringe a miss for the same reasons plus everyone turns up pissed!:wink:

31-07-2018, 10:45 AM
Billy,

Check out 2 for 1 offer 1902 as your main choice! :thumbsup:

03-08-2018, 08:04 AM

edfringe.com
Only a few tickets left guys :wink:

04-08-2018, 05:57 AM
Anyone seen this yet?

05-08-2018, 07:44 AM
Went to see it last night and it's highly recommended.

There's a lot (a lot) of swearing but if you can get past that you'll have a cracking time.

mcohibs
05-08-2018, 08:48 AM
Went to see it last night and it's highly recommended.

There's a lot (a lot) of swearing but if you can get past that you'll have a cracking time.

7.30 showing? Was there as well! Thoroughly enjoyed it. Would recommend it to anyone who's yet to see it.

05-08-2018, 09:02 AM

edfringe.com

05-08-2018, 11:07 AM
7.30 showing? Was there as well! Thoroughly enjoyed it. Would recommend it to anyone who's yet to see it.

Aye, it was indeed 👍

06-08-2018, 11:13 AM

edfringe.com
Only a few tickets left! :thumbsup:

Jay
06-08-2018, 08:27 PM
Excellent show. I laughed, I cried and I sang. What more do you need?

Thief
06-08-2018, 08:59 PM
Was there tonight as well. Powerful stuff, absolutely loved it. [emoji106][emoji106]

06-08-2018, 10:18 PM
Yip! Finally saw it tonight. Thought it was excellent. Be prepared for Trainspotting meets the mental Hibees with some strong language and some mild violence thrown in. Not a dry eye in the house!Some brilliant performances by some very talented actors build up to a superb finale.

06-08-2018, 10:31 PM
Im going tomorrow can't wait

tanfield
07-08-2018, 10:15 AM
Went to the 5pm show yesterday having seen the show last year as well. Enjoyed it just as much and was welling up at the end. Bloke across from me had a fly in his eye too 😀.

This year i brought my partner who generally hates all things football. She thought it was brilliant and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Jay
07-08-2018, 10:32 AM
Went to the 5pm show yesterday having seen the show last year as well. Enjoyed it just as much and was welling up at the end. Bloke across from me had a fly in his eye too 😀.

This year i brought my partner who generally hates all things football. She thought it was brilliant and thoroughly enjoyed it.

That was the one we were at too. No flies in my eye - i just sobbed

linlithgowhibbie
07-08-2018, 09:42 PM
Wife and I were at 5.00pm show tonight, was brill and yes I needed the tissuesI

PS barman stated that they had been told to put up prices during August!! £9.50 for pint of Carlsberg and a wee bottle of rose!

Silver Fox
07-08-2018, 09:46 PM
great night at it again, 2nd year, took my son who thoroughly enjoyed it :greengrin

07-08-2018, 09:48 PM
great night at it again, 2nd year, took my son who thoroughly enjoyed it :greengrin

How old is your son ? I took my 14 year old along tonight and was turned away at ' the wee red pub' as he was to young !!

Hibs4185
07-08-2018, 09:50 PM
Wife and I were at 5.00pm show tonight, was brill and yes I needed the tissuesI

PS barman stated that they had been told to put up prices during August!! £9.50 for pint of Carlsberg and a wee bottle of rose!

I was at the 5pm show, couldn’t help a few tears at the end!

Jay
07-08-2018, 09:55 PM
How old is your son ? I took my 14 year old along tonight and was turned away at ' the wee red pub' as he was to young !!

Its an 18+ Andy. Says it on the booking page. I had been planning on taking my 17 year old but hes young looking so he didnt come.

08-08-2018, 05:01 AM
Not for kids!

If it says 18+ It’s 18+ :thumbsup:

dalkeith stu
08-08-2018, 05:39 PM
Was thinking of going tonight, I know short notice. Is there anywhere I can print off the ticket if I buy one on the app?? Cheers.

08-08-2018, 05:43 PM
Was thinking of going tonight, I know short notice. Is there anywhere I can print off the ticket if I buy one on the app?? Cheers.

Order online edfringe.com pick up from ticket collection point George Square

08-08-2018, 05:45 PM

I went last year and it was after a Sun game (? Dundee). We were late getting back so I didn't have time to collect the tickets but the staff at the venue very kindly took the email on my phone as proof of purchase. Hope you get it sorted :aok:

08-08-2018, 05:46 PM
Was thinking of going tonight, I know short notice. Is there anywhere I can print off the ticket if I buy one on the app?? Cheers.There are plenty machines where you can do It. The Fringe site will tell you where.

Most of the big venues' box offices will also do it for you.

dalkeith stu
08-08-2018, 05:47 PM
Cheers guys!! Now where can I buy tissues???

hibbybob
10-08-2018, 09:07 PM
Saw this tonight and loved it!
10/10.

10-08-2018, 09:19 PM
Out of interest is it 18+ because of licensing in the venue or because of the content?

I've seen it twice and there's nothing in it I'd think is too heavy for say 14/15. They'll hear worse in the school playground and there's only one real moment of violence.

Silver Fox
11-08-2018, 07:56 AM

18 now and asked for id at the door by "the doorman" turned away last year, like another poster said, he was young looking and wee.

guessing 18+ for venue, swearing and fight scenes. :rolleyes:

11-08-2018, 09:36 AM
Out of interest is it 18+ because of licensing in the venue or because of the content?

I've seen it twice and there's nothing in it I'd think is too heavy for say 14/15. They'll hear worse in the school playground and there's only one real moment of violence.
Lots of use of the c word and they mention Hearts at least once 😂

11-08-2018, 09:38 AM
Lots of use of the c word and they mention Hearts at least once 😂

So just like a normal day at the football then ?

11-08-2018, 11:01 AM
Really enjoyed the show, definitely not what I was expecting.