19-07-2018, 08:29 PM
Hammer on

Efe has been an utter disaster area tonight too ...Shocking

hailhail22
On virgin Ive had a message the last 10 minutes or so saying this channel is not authorised........ annoying

maturehibby
Got 70 mins on BT551 then thankfully they pulled the plug
If I had paid for this I would have felt cheated as it was impossible to see so much of the game
And what I did see was not up to much

This is a perfect game for Bartley to get a goal - aww he’s off now

Bartley off Gullan on

Who is this lad?

You know this is a part-time team, right? After winning 6-1 at home, I'd take a 1-0, 2-0 win. You can tell by some of the players body language, they aren't happy about the score-line - they know defensively they have been shocking.

It might be a win but I actually think this will lower morale for some players.

Hopefully it gives some players a kick up the bahookie.

Aye we have. Whittaker.

Touché G.

He’s just been utter pish unfortunately

I can't wait to hear what Neil Lennon thinks of this.

Amongst the madness there are actually a good few positives to take.

I’m looking forward to it as well. Yes we won, but defensively we have been a massive shambles. Conceding 4 goals against a bunch of part timers from The Faroes is unacceptable.

Depends if you've put six past them two games running.

It’s worrying on a defensive side of things but if you think this standard is enjoyable that’s fine. Putting six past a team of fisherman isn’t that great to be honest.

19-07-2018, 08:30 PM
Who is this lad?

One of last year’s development team players

Who is this lad?

Jamie Gullan - last year's development team?

Who?Xxxxxxxxson Faroese defender. Best I can do [emoji3]

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

One of last year’s development team players

Centeal midfielder?

There is no joy in conceding 4 goals to a part time side.
Correct, not a laughing matter.:confused:

On virgin Ive had a message the last 10 minutes or so saying this channel is not authorised........ annoying

Same here,cracking up

Centeal midfielder?

Striker, but usually plays left

19-07-2018, 08:31 PM
Correct, not a laughing matter.:confused:

Just as well we lost five goals to them then 😁

19-07-2018, 08:31 PM
Bogdan needs to learn to catch.

19-07-2018, 08:32 PM
Striker, but usually plays left

Cheers for that 😁

Xxxxxxxxson Faroese defender. Best I can do [emoji3]

Ta, worried it was Whittaker

It’s worrying on a defensive side of things but if you think this standard is enjoyable that’s fine. Putting six past a team of fisherman isn’t that great to be honest.

How long before you stop greeting? :rolleyes:

Decent chance there for 5...

ShadesLongThrow
Not feeling the love for Bogdan.....

19-07-2018, 08:33 PM
FT

FT.

Hibs -1 are 11/10 with Paddy Power!

Jeezo has to sweat for that 😓😓

Booooooooo

Jesus Christ

RossScott1991
He’s not had a chance truly prove himself so I’ve no idea if what am about to say next is the right thing

But I can’t wait for Marciano to be back in goals

Serious questions about our defence, then.

How long before you stop greeting? :rolleyes:

Give me five mins!

Not feeling the love for Bogdan.....

He’s brutal

Have Hobs ever scored 6 away from home in Europe before ?

Full time 6-4 on the night 12-5 on aggregate.

19-07-2018, 08:34 PM
Who was it that said it might be a professional 0-0

They could have scored another 2. We need to get the defence sorted asap. If Hanlon and McGregor aren't fit for next week we are in big trouble. McGinn situation needs resolved - he either stays or goes.

Squirrel 1875
Not sure Bogdan at fault for any of the goals, not getting the criticism. The defense on the other hand...

Imagine if Runavik had set out to defend instead of chucking men forward like they did in both legs and we'd won 7-0 on aggregate?

Some folk on here really need to have a word with themselves.

RossScott1991
19-07-2018, 08:35 PM
TheCat please tell me Hibs will announce Sergio
Ramos after that

coco22
Hibs -2 a solid bet then 🙄

I'm away for a lie down.

Who was it that said it might be a professional 0-0

Neil Lennon?

He’s brutal

Nah, defending for nearly all their goals is minging/own goal/deflection. Far more defensive issue than keeper.

bodhibs
Through but I reckon I'm now officially a pant pisher

At least Nl now knows that this defence wont work. Its ok to try this when we were miles in front. Also lets the geeks think we will be easy

Serious questions about our defence, then.

Big time, Whitty should never play again unless last resort. I have to laugh though at the comments of who cares we scored 6. Delighted we have Lennon who’ll not except this performance no matter this score.

soupernashwan
19-07-2018, 08:36 PM
Better to have a mare in this game than next week. And promising signs from Mallan in particular. But otherwise, it's very odd to score 12 goals in a tie and have such a mixed, or even negative feeling! I'm sure Lennon will use this to inspire the guys to ensure this doesn't happen again. Bogdan obviously didn't want to lose any more goals but didn't look that convincing at times.

ShadesLongThrow
They could have scored another 2. We need to get the defence sorted asap. If Hanlon and McGregor aren't fit for next week we are in big trouble. McGinn situation needs resolved - he either stays or goes.

Spot on about McGinn. Didn't look interested and more concerned about not getting injured.

Whittaker should not play again for hibs and was not inspired by bogdan.Need a huge shake up before the Greeks arrive or else its good bye Europe

Davy Mac
There is no easy European game - fact.

There is however easier games than others but I would far rather learn from our frailties tonight before we meet stiffer opposition.

Haven't seen the game tonight but we have scored 12 goals over 2 legs, and we are complaining?

Job done, thank you Hibs but NL has got some formation thinking to do IMO.

Serious work to do before the Greek tie. We're through though. First time since 1992 we've got past first round? Shambolic defensively tonight but I'll take it.

Not sure Bogdan at fault for any of the goals, not getting the criticism. The defense on the other hand...

He hasn't saved a shot on target since he signed.

Maybe it's just bad luck.

He’s not had a chance truly prove himself so I’ve no idea if what am about to say next is the right thing

this :agree:

19-07-2018, 08:37 PM
Stevie Mallan the only pass marks tonight for me, defense was an utter shambles.

19-07-2018, 08:37 PM

Apart from tonight when he saved a free kick.

19-07-2018, 08:38 PM
Absolutely scooshed it !!

Gordy M
Jeez if this is the reaction to winning both euro ties....scoring 12 and easily through.....its gonna be a long season ahead on here.

Bearing in mind before the tie....folk on here were predicting tight matches maybe a goal or two between the teams

Runavik looked pretty tidy going forward, nippy with good movement, although I'm sure our defence didn't make it too difficult for them.

Hopefully reinforces that we are 4 or 5 first team players away from where we need to be, regardless of what happens with McGinn.

19-07-2018, 08:39 PM
Hibs players played the whole game half hearted trying not to get injured which is understandable.
Without McGregor and Hanlon the defence was atrocious.
As a result the overall impression was of two pub teams playing.

hibee316

Saved the free-kick!

Looks a bit crap though...

Jamie Gullan - last year's development team?
His grandad played for Hibs and Hearts

Some absolute nonsense on here.

Great entertainment and I’m sure Lennon and co knows what we need.

Mallans 2 goals and Stevenson’s goal were screamers.

10 goals for all those that made the trip. Not bad value :aok:

apparently the greek newspapers are running headlines of 'beware of scottish football teams bearing gifts'

I'm glad to hear that. I lost the picture for a while and obviously missed it.

19-07-2018, 08:40 PM
Spot on about McGinn. Didn't look interested and more concerned about not getting injured.

Starting the season in the same fashion he finished the last one... ;)

Quicker it's all resolved the better.

Serious work to do before the Greek tie. We're through though. First time since 1992 we've got past first round? Shambolic defensively tonight but I'll take it.

Agree mate. Take it and move on. My hope is that this is the catalist for transfer activity.

Lennon getting interviewed just now on Sportsound. Sounding fairly positive overall, with the exception of the first 10 minutes.

Togs91
There is no easy European game - fact.

There is however easier games than others but I would far rather learn from our frailties tonight before we meet stiffer opposition.

Haven't seen the game tonight but we have scored 12 goals over 2 legs, and we are complaining?

Job done, thank you Hibs but NL has got some formation thinking to do IMO.

Scored good goals, definetly. Happy to get through, delighted. Defence, wait until you see it, all game they were nowhere, schoolboy stuff

Correct. Ooooooh I’d take 6-4 every week. Unfortunately the fleet is busy for the rest of the season.

apparently the greek newspapers are running headlines of 'beware of scottish football teams bearing gifts'

That too sharp :greengrin

That was pretty nerve racking for the -1 😂 happily taking my £30 in the end though

Conj

Apart from the free-kick in the first half last week and the free-kick in the second half tonight that is. Not sure he could've done much better with any of the goals tonight.

19-07-2018, 08:41 PM

Agree - too fond of punching rather than catching it !

Well food for thought I think.

Play well next week and get a result and tonight will be forgotten. Play poorly and leave ourselves a tough task in the away leg and this will be cast up.

I've said it plenty of times but there is a lot or work still to do on that squad. We have lost our best player, our most creative player, one of our real goalscoring threats and one of only 2 real pacy players we had and have only really replaced one. Hopefully things start to move before next weeks game as I think we can still add 2 players to the squad before then.

Excellent interview by Neil Lennon. Very level headed, mentioned the lack of numbers in the squad.

Had a significant wedge on Hibs -1. Free beers for me in Greece.

19-07-2018, 08:42 PM
End of the day, if we'd won two nil tonight everyone would be fine with it.

And 6-4 is much more fun than 2-0.

Exactly the thoughts going through my mind. From some of the reactions, you'd think we'd just lost 3-0 to Cove Rangers :greengrin

19-07-2018, 08:42 PM
Excellent interview by Neil Lennon. Very level headed, mentioned the lack of numbers in the squad.

What else did he say?

19-07-2018, 08:43 PM
Apart from the free-kick in the first half last week and the free-kick in the second half tonight that is. Not sure he could've done much better with any of the goals tonight.

Did be save a free kick last week? I can't remember that.

I didn't see tonight's save as picture went down.

soupernashwan
19-07-2018, 08:43 PM
Is Lennon still banned for the first leg of the next tie?

Slavers
19-07-2018, 08:44 PM
Had a significant wedge on Hibs -1. Free beers for me in Greece.

I only had a small wedge on it but **** me it was hard work getting it in lol

Did be save a free kick last week? I can't remember that.

I didn't see tonight's save as picture went down.

1st half. Guy tried to catch him out at the near post from the angle. Got down and pushed it out for a corner.

bodhibs

Yes and some I think

It's one of the few away wins he's had as a manager in Europe. He won't turn his nose up at an away win and huge aggregate victory in this competition, like many on here are.

19-07-2018, 08:45 PM
1st half. Guy tried to catch him out at the near post from the angle. Got down and pushed it out for a corner.

Thanks.

What else did he say?

Said it was an experimental back 3 (:greengrin) said he certainly hoped SJM was here next week, and that the team needed games. Was clearly pleased with Mallan.

Didnt trash the defence, repeated that part of the game was to give players match practice.

Where was the interview? Radio?

GRA
Scored 12 goals overall and at least tonight we got through a European tie for the first time since 1989! Got the job done but Ambrose, Whittaker and Bartley were atrocious. The game next week will be different that I'm sure.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

Right what date is the first leg ?

Yes and some I think

One more, I think.

19-07-2018, 08:46 PM
Right what date is the first leg ?

Next Thursday

Better us than Ajax though.

Scotty Leither
Could've been worse - we might have got beat if we'd been playing some yad from Luxembourg or Malta. Really hope to see some movement in the transfer market this week, though.

bodhibs
19-07-2018, 08:47 PM
One more, I think.

Was it not 4?

Next Thursday

And it's at Easter rd ?

At the risk of getting ahead of myself did someone say the draw for the next round of the Europa league was before the game against the Greeks?

19-07-2018, 08:48 PM
And it's at Easter rd ?

Yep.

At the risk of getting ahead of myself did someone say the draw for the next round of the Europa league was before the game against the Greeks?

Third round draw on Monday mate.

Was it not 4?

Possibly, but I thought he said 2 more on Hibs TV after the first leg.

Better us than Ajax though.

Hibs.net... home of intellectual banter :greengrin

Souter96Mac

Monday.. 👀

Or the first leg, when he saved from a free kick.

19-07-2018, 08:49 PM
And it's at Easter rd ?

Yep 1st leg at home week today then away the 2nd leg.

The draw's on Monday.

Totally agree jack he could have done with any of them. Back 3 all over the place.

Third round draw on Monday mate.

Cheers......is that when all the big boys come in?

Guessing Chelsea would be the biggest club in there?

alihibs1
Is there a deadline to sign players before the tie like there was for the Runavik first leg?

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Yep.

Nightmare , I had it in my heid it was the 2nd August !!

ElginHibbie
Was it not 4?

4, but first was one was served 2 years ago wasn’t it?

Lennon getting interviewed just now on Sportsound. Sounding fairly positive overall, with the exception of the first 10 minutes.Pretty surprised at how upbeat he was tbh...probably due to the experimental nature of the back 3...at least I hope it was experimental

19-07-2018, 08:50 PM

Yes he's banned for both legs. He still has two matches left of his ban.

19-07-2018, 08:50 PM
BIG questions needs to be asked of this Bogdan character!!

why

19-07-2018, 08:51 PM

Yep that’s normally the two outcomes.

19-07-2018, 08:51 PM
Pretty surprised at how upbeat he was tbh...probably due to the experimental nature of the back 3...at least I hope it was experimental

Sent from my SM-G950F using TapatalkHopefully it was one of those experiments that are never repeated.

19-07-2018, 08:52 PM
Cheers......is that when all the big boys come in?

Guessing Chelsea would be the biggest club in there?

Chelsea and Arsenal go straight into the group stages.

why

Couple of punches gave me the ****s a bit (and I normally defend keepers punching the ball), don’t think he could do anything regarding the goals though so I disagree with the person saying big questions need answered.

Totally agree jack he could have done with any of them. Back 3 all over the place.Yup I don't get the criticism of the goalie...he was not at fault imo but the back 3 certainly were

19-07-2018, 08:54 PM
I don't get the Bogdan criticism. No howlers, not to blame for any of the goals (ok, a bit of a mess with Ambrose for the first).

No chances came from his punches - if he doesn't think he can hold the ball I'd rather he got a decent punch away, which he did.

The back 3 were all over the shop and Marvin was no better, with us looking vulnerable in that area between the defence and midfield.

I thought the wingbacks played very well.

guthrie01
19-07-2018, 08:55 PM
From what I’ve seen and heard about Bogdan I don’t feel too confident about him in goals. Granted he hasn’t really had too much to prove himself on but he doesn’t seem to have the composure that Marciano has when playing for us. Would rather have convinced Cammy Bell to stick around for another season, looked class when called last season

Yup I don't get the criticism of the goalie...he was not at fault imo but the back 3 certainly were

Looked like the goalie was left exposed by the back line for all the goals.

Most bizarre game I’ve seen. No goalkeeper in the world is going to keep out the amount of chances we allowed them to create. Don’t know where we go from here defensively.

Presume I’m not the only one who took a heavy hit with the bookies!

Souter96Mac
19-07-2018, 08:56 PM
It was poor defending that led to the goals. Get Hanlon and Mcgregor back in and we'll be fine.

19-07-2018, 08:57 PM
Most bizarre game I’ve seen. No goalkeeper in the world is going to keep out the amount of chances we allowed them to create. Don’t know where we go from here defensively.

Wisnae exactly our first choice defence though. Wont be the same next week.

19-07-2018, 08:57 PM

and last week also

EH54
19-07-2018, 08:58 PM

Im sure his 5 match ban was reduced to 4 so these two legs away to Brondby so thougt he would be back for second leg?

Anyone else think we badly missed McGeoch?

Don’t know where we go from here defensively.

Presumably we bring Hanlon and McGregor back in which makes a huge difference right away.

Rumble de Thump
It's almost as though the conditions were ridiculous and not conducive to playing any kind of football (or seeing where the football was).

Baw187
19-07-2018, 08:59 PM
I don't get the Bogdan criticism. No howlers, not to blame for any of the goals (ok, a bit of a mess with Ambrose for the first).

No chances came from his punches - if he doesn't think he can hold the ball I'd rather he got a decent punch away, which he did.

The back 3 were all over the shop and Marvin was no better, with us looking vulnerable in that area between the defence and midfield.

I thought the wingbacks played very well.

Completely agree.

There are many factors as to why we played so
keek at the back, including the 3 at the back and Marv having stinkers. Still not match sharp... not giving them the respect after last week... the pitch... still early in the season... some people’s first games... the fog....

I doubt we’ll see a defensive performance like that again this season.

19-07-2018, 09:01 PM
Wisnae exactly our first choice defence though. Wont be the same next week.

With all respect to Runavik - and they were good going forward - we shouldn’t be conceding four goals against a part time team.

MartinfaePorty
19-07-2018, 09:01 PM
Is there a deadline to sign players before the tie like there was for the Runavik first leg?

Would appear to be 22nd July, so Sunday. Plus 1 extra the day before the first tie.

19-07-2018, 09:02 PM

Honestly didn't give him a thought during the game... but now that you mention it...

I wouldn’t take much from that. Good workout for the players and Mallan is a free kick King. I don’t think Bogdan was to blame for any of the goals. Never play Whittaker on the left of a back three ever again! Amazing that the last three competitive games have been 5-5, 6-1 and 4-6. Real thing begins v Tripolis.

Souter96Mac
Would appear to be 22nd July, so Sunday

Really? Where's this?

19-07-2018, 09:03 PM
They scored 4 ‘cos we were a shambles in defence. We scored 6 because they were a bigger shambles. Sums up the game for me.

19-07-2018, 09:03 PM
Im sure his 5 match ban was reduced to 4 so these two legs away to Brondby so thougt he would be back for second leg?

He has one more game in the stand.

Watch his post match interview after last week's game, 4 minutes onwards.

19-07-2018, 09:05 PM
How about - that was a bit pish, but we won comfortably in the end and move on?

I wont bother wetting my pants tonight.......however I hope to never see that defence again :greengrin

MartinfaePorty
19-07-2018, 09:06 PM
Really? Where's this?

Apologies, that was for 2016/17! Would imagine similar this time, but will check.

19-07-2018, 09:07 PM
Pretty surprised at how upbeat he was tbh...probably due to the experimental nature of the back 3...at least I hope it was experimental

A one off experiment I hope!!

19-07-2018, 09:07 PM
Hearts and Rangers have both gone out to Part Time teams in recent years in this comp...we scored 12 and went through easily, despite having to play on an artificial pitch, in a howling gale, with thick sea fog, with a new goalie and a makeshift defence. Can everyone PLEASE stop being so negative. We are through, it's basically pre-season..Mallan is a star and we will only get better. Life is good...:greengrin

19-07-2018, 09:08 PM
Mallan hitting four already this season is a great way to start off.

Souter96Mac
19-07-2018, 09:09 PM
I wouldn't mind winning every game this season 6-4. Get your moneysworth

MartinfaePorty
19-07-2018, 09:10 PM
Apologies, that was for 2016/17! Would imagine similar this time, but will check.

It's actually tomorrow, but with 2 new players allowed the day before the 1st leg.
https://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Download/Regulations/uefaorg/Regulations/02/55/82/82/2558282_DOWNLOAD.pdf?iv=true
Section 42

19-07-2018, 09:12 PM
You're enthusiastic about taking on Asteras with this line-up and possibly minus McGinn?

I'm enthusiastic about any game Hibs have coming up.

19-07-2018, 09:13 PM

My thoughts exactly

19-07-2018, 09:13 PM
A one off experiment I hope!!

A failed experiment! :greengrin

19-07-2018, 09:15 PM

Wasn’t it a four match ban and the first was the away leg v brondby?

19-07-2018, 09:18 PM
I'm enthusiastic about any game Hibs have coming up.

good man, me too :thumbsup:

19-07-2018, 09:19 PM

Presume I’m not the only one who took a heavy hit with the bookies!We put Hanlon and McGregor back in and we're fine?

jonny
19-07-2018, 09:20 PM

I piled on Hibs-1 at 10/11 so done alright. Was looking ropey for most of the match to be fair. I'd imagine a few guys would've gone for Hibs to win both halves and lost out though.

The defending at times was criminal. Like yourself I'm not being critical of the goalkeeper but was disappointed in the 3 centre backs tonight. Hopefully Daz and Paul will help tighten things up before next week.

19-07-2018, 09:21 PM
Another stunning performance from Whittaker I see. Defensively we were a disgrace. We are a week away from what is our first real test and we are still 4 or 5 short. Scoring 6 and Mallan are the only positives from that game for me. The rest was very amateurish

alihibs1
Would appear to be 22nd July, so Sunday. Plus 1 extra the day before the first tie.Geez oh. If we are to bring anyone in it will have to be quick.

Wasn’t it a four match ban and the first was the away leg v brondby?

It was originally a 5 match ban, Hibs appealed and got it reduced to 4 matches but this punishment was announced after the tie with Brondby so I really don't think it includes the second leg of that tie.

19-07-2018, 09:22 PM
Whittaker has been a ****ing bombscare since he's been back and should be in a striped shirt and balaclava given the robbery he is doing with the wages he's coming away with week in week out.

19-07-2018, 09:23 PM
Whittaker has been a ****ing bombscare since he's been back and should be in a striped shirt and balaclava given the robbery he is doing with the wages he's coming away with week in week out.

***** post, look over at who posted it, no surprises.

How much is he coming away with then?

19-07-2018, 09:24 PM

What about the goals he's scored since being back?

He's a pro footballer paid to contribute to winning football matches. How can he be thieving wages if he's doing what he's paid for?

19-07-2018, 09:24 PM

By all means criticise his performance(s) if you must, but the rest of it is exceptionally poor to say about a Hibs player.

MartinfaePorty
19-07-2018, 09:25 PM
Geez oh. If we are to bring anyone in it will have to be quick.

Sent from my SM-G930F using TapatalkEven worse as it's tomorrow after I realised I had old info!

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

19-07-2018, 09:30 PM

Doesn’t help that he plays a different position in every game. Wonder how Kamberi would have played left centre back tonight
Any thoughts?

19-07-2018, 09:32 PM

Of course. We desperately need to replace him with a quality holding mid. Bartley or Whittaker are not what we need.
If Mcginn goes we should be looking to invest the money in quality like kamara.

19-07-2018, 09:33 PM
Doesn’t help that he plays a different position in every game. Wonder how Kamberi would have played left centre back tonight
Any thoughts?

He's been poor in every position he's played. Versatile though so let's give him a long term contract. I don't see how anyone can defend him after that tonight. He was a joke.

19-07-2018, 09:35 PM
Any thoughts?

I think Lennon sees him as a holding midfielder. I thought David Gray was more comfortable at right wing back than Whittaker has looked. He’s no centre half for sure but I agree with Lennon, this was pretty much a pre-season match.

19-07-2018, 09:35 PM
We've beaten a team home and away in the Europa by 7 goals on aggregate and still some aren't happy? The team we were playing have drawn 0-0 with Fulham and beaten Dynamo Tblisi in their short European history.

What's the problem?

19-07-2018, 09:36 PM
He's been poor in every position he's played. Versatile though so let's give him a long term contract. I don't see how anyone can defend him after that tonight. He was a joke.

I thought he was really good last week.

Hopeless tonight though - never a left-sided CB in a million years.

He mustn't play there again.

19-07-2018, 09:39 PM
Hibs lost 2 away goals and one at home to Rosenborg on a proper pitch with our full team.

We only beat them 3-2 away and lost the first goal in the home game. We went on to win the tie 12-3.

Our 9-1 win was Rosenborg's record defeat.

Not much different from our tie against Runavik whose previous record aggregate loss was 9 goals.

19-07-2018, 09:40 PM
Any thoughts?

Agree with this.

Tonight I get the stick. But the other two at the back were equally as bad. Bartley was even worse in the middle of the pitch.

Some people quite enjoy Whittaker having a shocker so they can say that they told us so. He did plenty good last year. Wouldn’t be in my first choice 11, but important part of the squad.

Him playing different positions every week probably says more about the current state of the squad than anything.

19-07-2018, 09:41 PM
Any thoughts?

Billy there really is no excuses. This is an experienced pro here who’s played in many roles. He’s a poor footballer who’s legs have gone. It’s horrible to see because you end up going mad at him but he’s not good enough not even as a squad player. I’d love to see him moved on now for the good of Hibs and himself.

sauzee6_2
19-07-2018, 09:47 PM

Very short memory, there were a number of games last season where Whittaker was brilliant.

Just have a look through some of the threads on here, or are you more happy just putting the boot in??

I am 100% certain if he was dropped, there would be a thread on here demanding he was reinstated.

19-07-2018, 09:47 PM
I'd much rather have our 12-5 win than Rangers' 2-0 at home, which included a soft last minute penalty followed by a dull 0-0.

19-07-2018, 09:49 PM
We put Hanlon and McGregor back in and we're fine?

Exactly.

Some posters on here really need to have a word with themselves, what a bunch of graceless, classless ****witted comments on this thread.

19-07-2018, 09:50 PM
Agree with this.

Tonight I get the stick. But the other two at the back were equally as bad. Bartley was even worse in the middle of the pitch.

Some people quite enjoy Whittaker having a shocker so they can say that they told us so. He did plenty good last year. Wouldn’t be in my first choice 11, but important part of the squad.

Him playing different positions every week probably says more about the current state of the squad than anything.

Said on PM board, players haven’t had enough game time per season. Heard Lennon on BBC, and he said we could have done with another game on Sunday, i’d argue last Sunday as well

Guys like Bartley who’s been criticised, has had hardly played pre season, needed game time to get fit, yet gets criticised on here
Gray also has hardly had many minutes too

19-07-2018, 09:53 PM
Said on PM board, players haven’t had enough game time per season. Heard Lennon on BBC, and he said we could have done with another game on Sunday, i’d argue last Sunday as well

Guys like Bartley who’s been criticised, has had hardly played pre season, needed game time to get fit, yet gets criticised on here
Gray also has hardly had many minutes too

Is there any reason why a closed doors match at HTC can't be organised for this weekend? I'm sure there a lot of teams looking for games this time of year.

19-07-2018, 10:04 PM
Wish I could have gone to the Faroes. Sounds like some entertainment!

A plea to the bed wetters - please stop. Hibs have just won a European tie 12-5 over two legs. What’s not to like?

19-07-2018, 10:08 PM
By all means criticise his performance(s) if you must, but the rest of it is exceptionally poor to say about a Hibs player.Agreed that's way OTT...I'm not the guys biggest fan neither but he doesn't deserve that

19-07-2018, 10:15 PM
For context, Hearts and The Rangers have been put out by shan teams at this stage in recent years.

We comfortably went through to the next round by a massive margin, so without even considering the mitigating factors around the pitch, the conditions, and an 'experimental' defence, we should be pleased.

The game was a bit mental, but it was entertaining and we won, we're in the next round and so that'll do me.

19-07-2018, 10:16 PM

A number of people had a poor shift tonight - the worst thing about this place is the way people gang up on one or two individuals - it’s like people pray on the weakest point ...used to be Lewis, now it’s Whittaker. People follow the popular opinions..Criticise performances by all means - but to make it so personal and generic as this is way over the top .

19-07-2018, 10:20 PM
I thought he was really good last week.

Hopeless tonight though - never a left-sided CB in a million years.

He mustn't play there again.

I agree with all your points :aok:

19-07-2018, 10:58 PM
Listened on the radio while working and the defence seemed all over the place with mistakes from all 3 defenders. Efe is a bombscare, he was at Celtic and he is here, forget the occasional decent bit of football almost every game he has 2-3 moments where you face palm yourself and shake your head at some stupid thing he's done. Whittaker is finished, his legs have gone and he's becoming a liability, can't pass, can't keep up with play, time to hang up the boots.

Felt sorry for Porteous tonight, he'll learn more playing with McGregor and Hanlon.

Bartley needs to move on now also, we've moved on as a team and he's just not good enough for where we want to be.

19-07-2018, 11:28 PM
One of the most insane games I've ever attended, defence looked vulnerable every time they had to try to defend, and almost everything seemed to fly past the keeper & end up in the net. Will need to improve a lot by next week, but dont see why we can't.

Nutmegged
19-07-2018, 11:30 PM
the positives of the game were six goals, five different goalscorer and Stevie Mallan, also John McGinn starting, while it may not put Celtic off, it probably lessens their immediate interest in him now that he's ineligible for the qualifiers.

Losing 4 goals tonight was an embarrassment, no two ways about it, it doesn't matter who was in defence or the conditions, to lose four goals to a team from the Faroes in the first round of the Europa is a shambles and should sound alarm bells for us, what happens come October if Hanlon and/or McGregor is injured, this is who we have to rely on, it's a worrying scenario.

I believe we'll be a lot better next week, we need to be and I fancy us, tonight though shouldn't be wrapped up in cotton wool, serious questions need to be asked of our defending.

19-07-2018, 11:42 PM
Listened on the radio while working and the defence seemed all over the place with mistakes from all 3 defenders. Efe is a bombscare, he was at Celtic and he is here, forget the occasional decent bit of football almost every game he has 2-3 moments where you face palm yourself and shake your head at some stupid thing he's done. Whittaker is finished, his legs have gone and he's becoming a liability, can't pass, can't keep up with play, time to hang up the boots.

Felt sorry for Porteous tonight, he'll learn more playing with McGregor and Hanlon.

Bartley needs to move on now also, we've moved on as a team and he's just not good enough for where we want to be.

“forget the occasional decent bit of football”

For the sake of objectivity and in the cold light of tomorrow Care to quantify this statement versus his “bombscare” moments. If it we’re the media or opposition forums we’d be calling it out so what do you put up as evidence? How many goals has he cost us? And I don’t think it’s as straight forward as that - when he’s positive and drives forward with purpose howcan you quantify that?

19-07-2018, 11:46 PM

And once again without tabloid mode?

20-07-2018, 12:07 AM
Whittakers had his day but he's finished now unfortunately and has been for a wee while now. Time to call it a day with him and free up his wages for some else.

I thank him for his services, he was part of a very good 2007 team that won the cup but as I say, unfortunately his time with hibs is up now.

20-07-2018, 12:19 AM
Hopefully the Greeks were watching our pish defence tonight and get lulled into a false sense of security although judging by the video I seen of them, they cant defend either. Could be another high scoring tie.

20-07-2018, 07:06 AM
“forget the occasional decent bit of football”

For the sake of objectivity and in the cold light of tomorrow Care to quantify this statement versus his “bombscare” moments. If it we’re the media or opposition forums we’d be calling it out so what do you put up as evidence? How many goals has he cost us? And I don’t think it’s as straight forward as that - when he’s positive and drives forward with purpose howcan you quantify that?

Simply put Efe in general is just an ok CH, he does some ok defending and the occasional decent bit of defending but far too often and in nearly every game he has a brain fart moment, that moment when he dawdles on the ball or tries the stupid sideways pass to a marked man.

For me he's far too inconsistent, one minute doing that great run out of defence and then in the next breathe half asleep not concentrating, maybe he'd make a decent DM and should be tried there.

20-07-2018, 07:26 AM
Simply put Efe in general is just an ok CH, he does some ok defending and the occasional decent bit of defending but far too often and in nearly every game he has a brain fart moment, that moment when he dawdles on the ball or tries the stupid sideways pass to a marked man.

For me he's far too inconsistent, one minute doing that great run out of defence and then in the next breathe half asleep not concentrating, maybe he'd make a decent DM and should be tried there.

I would say when Efe is on his game, he is our best defender by some distance, and much more than an just OK...His pace and athleticism are assets that the others don’t have. His lack of concentration and decision making at times cause us real problems - mind you, if he didn’t have that in his game, he would be playing at a much higher level than us

20-07-2018, 07:32 AM
was a very stranfe game last night, some of them just didnt look interested at all, whittaker was very poor, dont think he has a sprint in him these days, ambrose was am rose, one minute great then not so great, porteoys was a bit off also, mcginn looks like he needs games, bartley was very poor but again needs games, cant remember shaw having a single shot on goal either, although he probably did and couldnt see it for the mist. one thing was very noticeable, we missed boyle big time going forward

20-07-2018, 07:35 AM

Efe is much better than ok.

For the vast majority of last season we had one of the best defences in the league. There was the obvious madness of the 5-5 game at the end of the season. And his shocker, as a right back, up at Aberdeen.

Him and Hanlon bringing the ball out from the back was a big part of how well we played in the second half of the season.

HelmutSchlong
20-07-2018, 07:39 AM
I see that some of the Hibs boys got the green and black Union Jack up on one of the flag poles designated for the competing nations and UEFA flags lol

Love it!

20-07-2018, 07:51 AM

Efe is a fantastic footballer, jesus christ he pays football out from the back, its much better than having a player who just lumps it forward and gives the ball back to the opposition.

He was part of the team that took us forward last year, took us to a top 4 league position. How many bombscares do that for us, i can only think of Sol Bamba, and look how badly his career has gone.

We really need to get over Sheiting ourselves whenever a defender plays football at the back, if it causes the odd goal against us, but the overall picture is better, we really need to embrace it, not slaughter them for trying to do the right thing.

The overall picture need to be looked at, not single instances, as i have said before, these are the good times at Hibs, enjoy it, lets build on it, support these players as they are part of a team that dont achieve this very often.

20-07-2018, 08:03 AM
I would say when Efe is on his game, he is our best defender by some distance, and much more than an just OK...His pace and athleticism are assets that the others don’t have. His lack of concentration and decision making at times cause us real problems - mind you, if he didn’t have that in his game, he would be playing at a much higher level than us

Efe is much better than ok.

For the vast majority of last season we had one of the best defences in the league. There was the obvious madness of the 5-5 game at the end of the season. And his shocker, as a right back, up at Aberdeen.

Him and Hanlon bringing the ball out from the back was a big part of how well we played in the second half of the season.

Efe is a fantastic footballer, jesus christ he pays football out from the back, its much better than having a player who just lumps it forward and gives the ball back to the opposition.

He was part of the team that took us forward last year, took us to a top 4 league position. How many bombscares do that for us, i can only think of Sol Bamba, and look how badly his career has gone.

We really need to get over Sheiting ourselves whenever a defender plays football at the back, if it causes the odd goal against us, but the overall picture is better, we really need to embrace it, not slaughter them for trying to do the right thing.

The overall picture need to be looked at, not single instances, as i have said before, these are the good times at Hibs, enjoy it, lets build on it, support these players as they are part of a team that dont achieve this very often.

I understand all you are saying, when he's good he's very good but when he's bad, jeez he's bad and I understand if he had that consistency he wouldn't be here, I'm just not a huge fan, it's allowed to have a different viewpoint. I do think Efe would make a decent defensive midfielder, has decent ball skills, good in the tackle, strong and has ability maybe by being more involved in the game would help his concentration levels.

20-07-2018, 08:08 AM
I understand all you are saying, when he's good he's very good but when he's bad, jeez he's bad and I understand if he had that consistency he wouldn't be here, I'm just not a huge fan, it's allowed to have a different viewpoint. I do think Efe would make a decent defensive midfielder, has decent ball skills, good in the tackle, strong and has ability maybe by being more involved in the game would help his concentration levels.

We conceded the 4th least amount of goals last season with Efe the bombscare, and scored the 3rd most amount of goals.

I'd say we got the balance about right, keeping the ball is they way forward, and nobody kept the ball better in our side coming out from the back than Efe does.

20-07-2018, 08:51 AM

Don't mean to have a go at you JC but you seem to have drawn a lot of conclusions from a game you listened to on the radio :confused:

20-07-2018, 08:54 AM
Don't mean to have a go at you JC but you seem to have drawn a lot of conclusions from a game you listened to on the radio :confused:

I listened to te whole game and can only go on what the commentators were saying and by the guys on here who were watching or at the game.

20-07-2018, 08:56 AM
I listened to te whole game and can only go on what the commentators were saying and by the guys on here who were watching or at the game.

apart from the wild swipe i dont think he done to much else wrong

20-07-2018, 09:05 AM
He’s not. He may think he is and that’s his biggest issue. No point being brilliant one minute and you are dreadful the next. Thankfully when we have Hanlon next to him the mistakes are minimised. Biggest problem we had last night was no one leading that defence. With Paul back in we wouldn’t see as many issues in the defensive line. But even he can’t save Steven Whittaker.

20-07-2018, 09:07 AM
Efe can be brilliant one minute beating 2 or 3 players on a run down the line then pass to the opposition and slowly jog back as if it's a pre season game. That's efe though, you aren't going to change him now. He's been better than I expected in all honesty. Every time i seemed to watch him for Celtic towards the end of his time there he was giving the ball away and looked poor but a lot of that may have come down to the fact the Celtic fans were starting to get on his back and he has came here and become a bit of a fans favourite and the fans have got behind him mostly.

20-07-2018, 09:07 AM
He’s not. He may think he is and that’s his biggest issue. No point being brilliant one minute and you are dreadful the next.

Who would you say is our best defender, as i cant think i've ever seen you mention any of our defenders in the past?

20-07-2018, 09:09 AM
He’s not. He may think he is and that’s his biggest issue. No point being brilliant one minute and you are dreadful the next. Thankfully when we have Hanlon next to him the mistakes are minimised. Biggest problem we had last night was no one leading that defence. With Paul back in we wouldn’t see as many issues in the defensive line. But even he can’t save Steven Whittaker.

ambrose is easily our best defender

20-07-2018, 09:12 AM
Who would you say is our best defender, as i cant think i've ever seen you mention any of our defenders in the past?

I tried to add a bit extra before you got your reply in. 😂. Paul Hanlon is the glue in our defence. It’s proven time and time again. He leads that defence and ensures everyone does their job. We are always poorer without him in our team. He is our best overall defender.

20-07-2018, 09:13 AM

Hanlon is good not great..we’ve all watched games when Hanlon gets caught on the wrong side or has been bullied off the ball at key moments...so let’s not suggest he is our defensive saviour....Efe has played at a higher level than Paul , and will again , for a reason ...and to isolate Whittaker in this , when he is playing out of his normal role lacks any balance of analysis . Yes. He has not played well at times this season..but this populist “he is hopeless” comment is a poor type of football forum chat ...

20-07-2018, 09:14 AM
I tried to add a bit extra before you got your reply in. 😂. Paul Hanlon is the glue in our defence. It’s proven time and time again. He leads that defence and ensures everyone does their job. We are always poorer without him in our team. He is our best overall defender.

Thats a surprise, i for some reason or another never thought he would be your choice. :greengrin

20-07-2018, 09:19 AM
Thats a surprise, i for some reason or another never thought he would be your choice. :greengrin

He’d be hung out to dry if he made half the Efe mistakes. 😂

20-07-2018, 09:20 AM

Did Hanlon play in the 5-5 game with Rangers and the 5-3 game with Killie?

That's a genuine question by the way, i think he played in the Rangers game but not the Killie?

I really like Hanlon, think he's class but i do also think you perhaps get a bit carried away with just how good he is.

20-07-2018, 09:21 AM
ambrose is easily our best defender

I don't know if I'd even call him a defender. He's more some sort of bizarre player who defies description - a very deep lying attacker who starts off all of your attacking moves and is occasionally relied upon to do a bit of defending.

He's the closest we've had to Sauzee when it comes to playing out from the back. At times he is sublime and you need players like Efe and Hanlon to play the type of football we do.

Some of the nonsense he comes out with at times is beyond belief though.

There will be times in the future when we go through "pragmatic" periods again when we'll long for the mad world of Efe Ambrose.

I love him. I think.

But I definitely love him more when he has Darren McGregor in there to bail him out.

I actually think Hanlon, Ambrose and McGregor all need each other and together they make an outstanding combination. They complement each other very well.

20-07-2018, 09:22 AM
Hanlon is good not great..we’ve all watched games when Hanlon gets caught on the wrong side or has been bullied off the ball at key moments...so let’s not suggest he is our defensive saviour....Efe has played at a higher level than Paul , and will again , for a reason ...and to isolate Whittaker in this , when he is playing out of his normal role lacks any balance of analysis . Yes. He has not played well at times this season..but this populist “he is hopeless” comment is a poor type of football forum chat ...

SW is done. What was the problem with his role last night? He can’t play at wingback anymore as he doesn’t track, can’t slot in to defence. So Lennon has tried to put him in a holding role. He’s not good enough anymore. He was a cracking player in his time when he had bags of energy. Without that he’s simply not good enough.

HelmutSchlong
20-07-2018, 09:25 AM

Would you prefer we went back to signing defenders like Michael Nelson and James McPake?

20-07-2018, 09:28 AM
Did Hanlon play in the 5-5 game with Rangers and the 5-3 game with Killie?

That's a genuine question by the way, i think he played in the Rangers game but not the Killie?

I really like Hanlon, think he's class but i do also think you perhaps get a bit carried away with just how good he is.

Everyone has their favourites in a football team. I just recognise that we are a much stronger team defensively when he plays. Surely all our fans agree with that. Lennon certainly does. Btw the Rangers game isn’t one I’d use to rate any of our defenders as most were playing with no shape at all at the behest of our manager.

20-07-2018, 09:29 AM
SW is done. What was the problem with his role last night? He can’t play at wingback anymore as he doesn’t track, can’t slot in to defence. So Lennon has tried to put him in a holding role. He’s not good enough anymore. He was a cracking player in his time when he had bags of energy. Without that he’s simply not good enough.

Because of his lack of pace I think he needs to have players behind him.

If he's on the right, he needs to have someone sweeping behind him or paying close attention to when he loses his man (which happens a lot).

I think he's got what it takes to play most of our games in central midfield. His distribution and touch are excellent and he can join play up well.

He's never a left-sided CH in a million years, he toils badly at LB and I get the fear whenever he's anything like our last man.

Still has a role to play though.

fife hfc
20-07-2018, 09:55 AM
Had a look at Valur airport arrivals, couldn’t see any real delays
Hope that’s the case

Wasn’t the case. I was on the flight with my son and we were the only flight not to land😢. We circled for a while then the pilot decided to turn back. Ended back in Copenhagen and took in F.C. Copenhagen s game versus KuPs. Done now and just have to get compensation when I get home but that’s life!

20-07-2018, 10:37 AM
Nicely measured comments from our manager:

"Some of the defending was a bit calamitous," Lennon told BBC Scotland. "We were just sloppy and complacent.
"I wanted us to be professional but we were anything but. We got a reaction, though, so I'm not going to be over-critical.
"There was a bit of rust there but we'll be ready next week for the Greeks and it's important we put the hours in to get things right for that."

20-07-2018, 11:08 AM
Thinkn Steven needs tae concentrate mair oan speed than upperbody strength. Mibbe needs tae lose that upper body muscle.

20-07-2018, 11:08 AM
Efe has had very few poor games for Hibs, I could probably count them on 1 hand, so I have no idea why he is getting stick. Quality player.

20-07-2018, 11:33 AM
Efe has had very few poor games for Hibs, I could probably count them on 1 hand, so I have no idea why he is getting stick. Quality player.

Because he was very wobbly against weak opposition last night.

He is a quality player, but shouldn't be immune from criticism when he genuinely deserves it, as he does on last night's showing.

alihibs1
20-07-2018, 11:50 AM
I think Big Daz is still probably our best defender. May not do as much going forward as the other two but rarely makes mistakes and is very strong. During the crazy 5-5 he came on and tightened things up. We badly missed his discipline last night.

20-07-2018, 11:53 AM
What I like most about this thread is how much slack and understanding is being given to players still in pre-season. It's great to see nobody hounding players or calling them out as past it on the back of a glorified pre-season game.

20-07-2018, 11:59 AM
Would you prefer we went back to signing defenders like Michael Nelson and James McPake?

The classic absolute argument, where it’s either Ambrose or Michael Nelson with no options in between.

20-07-2018, 12:07 PM

[emoji122][emoji122][emoji106]

20-07-2018, 12:12 PM
Nicely measured comments from our manager:

"Some of the defending was a bit calamitous," Lennon told BBC Scotland. "We were just sloppy and complacent.
"I wanted us to be professional but we were anything but. We got a reaction, though, so I'm not going to be over-critical.
"There was a bit of rust there but we'll be ready next week for the Greeks and it's important we put the hours in to get things right for that."

It had the feel of of a preseason friendly about it. Bogdan had no chance with the goals. It looks like the weather was awful in the second half. Agree with Lennon that there was a bit of complacency and am not worried about the next round as nl says they will be ready for it. Mallans finishes were top drawer and looks a great signing. We can moan about the defending but Fulham beat this side 3-0 on aggregate so it shows they aren't garbage. Hopefully a couple of signings in over the weekend.

20-07-2018, 12:14 PM

I agree. He strolls it near enough every week.

20-07-2018, 12:27 PM
SKY highlights (apologies if already posted)

http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/11442894/hibs-win-10-goal-europa-league-thriller

20-07-2018, 12:37 PM
Because he was very wobbly against weak opposition last night.

He is a quality player, but shouldn't be immune from criticism when he genuinely deserves it, as he does on last night's showing.Right but he isn't being criticised for last night, he's being called a bombscare and a liability based on these made up bad performances.

He wont have 2 bad ones in a row, bet he is brilliant next week as we take a 2 goal lead to Greece.

20-07-2018, 12:39 PM
Right but he isn't being criticised for last night, he's being called a bombscare and a liability based on these made up bad performances.

He wont have 2 bad ones in a row, bet he is brilliant next week as we take a 2 goal lead to Greece.

Efe can do whatever he wants in any position he wants (including to me) if that happens.

20-07-2018, 12:52 PM
He’d be hung out to dry if he made half the Efe mistakes. [emoji23]Absolutely this Hanlon is by far the better and more influential defender for us...yes he makes the odd mistake but nowhere near the number Efe does

That said I luv watching them both and efe has his sublime moments which are worth all the other "Efe moments"

Velma Dinkley
20-07-2018, 01:02 PM
People are talking about how badly certain players played yesterday and I'm sitting here thinking: "There were players on that pitch?!" :greengrin21012

20-07-2018, 01:54 PM
SKY highlights (apologies if already posted)

http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/11442894/hibs-win-10-goal-europa-league-thriller

Some superb goals there.

Based on the goals we conceded, can't see why some were having a go at Bogdan at all.

20-07-2018, 01:54 PM
Absolutely this Hanlon is by far the better and more influential defender for us...yes he makes the odd mistake but nowhere near the number Efe does

That said I luv watching them both and efe has his sublime moments which are worth all the other "Efe moments"
Sent from my SM-G950F using TapatalkWhere are all these made up Ambrose mistakes coming from? Hanlon and McGregor made about the same number of bad mistakes leading to goals as Ambrose last season. All 3 made very few.

20-07-2018, 02:02 PM
Where are all these made up Ambrose mistakes coming from? Hanlon and McGregor made about the same number of bad mistakes leading to goals as Ambrose last season. All 3 made very few.

Exactly, the 4th best defence in the league last season, and the 3rd best goal scorers. I'm sick of all these bombscares we have in the team.

20-07-2018, 02:09 PM
Some superb goals there.

Based on the goals we conceded, can't see why some were having a go at Bogdan at all.

because people see what they want to see, he had no chance with any of the goals as you say but gives some folk on here something else to moan about

20-07-2018, 02:14 PM

Way too harsh had a brilliant season just past and is one of our best players.

20-07-2018, 02:18 PM
What I like most about this thread is how much slack and understanding is being given to players still in pre-season. It's great to see nobody hounding players or calling them out as past it on the back of a glorified pre-season game.

Agree bit of perspective.

21-07-2018, 09:00 AM
In a time when there's a lot of focus on the coefficient etc, it's worth pointing out that Hibs won this week, thereby helping the national coefficient.

Rangers drew with their unseeded opponents, which will hurt the coefficient.

If anyone should be embarrassed, or if anyone has 'showed up Scottish football', it's not Hibs.

21-07-2018, 09:15 AM
Any pictures of the Hibs fans in the Faroes? Couldn’t see them on the tv

BS44
21-07-2018, 11:08 AM
Any pictures of the Hibs fans in the Faroes? Couldn’t see them on the tv

21-07-2018, 06:33 PM

Cheers , found myself in one of the photos 👍

NthCarolinaHibs
21-07-2018, 07:29 PM
No seen what the crowd was on Thursday..🤔