View Full Version : C'mon Cove Rangers

18-07-2018, 06:26 PM
All the best to the Cove Rangers for tonight!

Kevin Silva goes straight on to the Hearts bench after securing a contract following a successful trial for the goalkeeper who has been playing college football in the United States.

Seven of Craig Levein's summer signings start the game.

Veteran striker Steven MacLean, who had been spared playing on synthetic pitches while with St Johnstone, is not given a free night this time at Balmoral Stadium.

This is Hearts' first competitive fixture, while hosts Cove Rangers lost their opening League Cup group game 2-0 away to Inverness Caledonian Thistle on Saturday.

18-07-2018, 06:28 PM
Is it on TV? Any games on tonight?

18-07-2018, 06:29 PM
Apparently Cove have a new stadium.

Wonder how long it took?

Somewhere south of £15 Million and in less time than it's taking our Gorgie chums to build only one new stand?

18-07-2018, 06:32 PM

Wonder how long it took?

Somewhere south of £15 Million and in less time than it's taking our Gorgie chums to build only one new stand?
Apparently it holds six more than Easter Road :hyper

Col_0762
18-07-2018, 06:38 PM
16/1 Cove. Cheeky wee fiver.

18-07-2018, 06:42 PM

Wonder how long it took?

Is it grass or Astro

18-07-2018, 06:43 PM
So Hibs are taking a 6-1 lead into the 2nd leg of a European tie and Hearts are playing Cove in the league cup group stage? Aye but 5-1, big team etc

18-07-2018, 06:46 PM
Managed to keep away from any on the train this afternoon. Sitting waiting for my meal in Aberdeen Altens hotel and in they all troop. Nearly put me off ma fisherman's pie.

18-07-2018, 06:52 PM

Wonder how long it took?

Expectation:

http://www.coverangersfc.com/images/new_stadium_latest.jpg

Reality:

https://image.ibb.co/gsmEPJ/D67_BA815_14_FE_4635_931_C_3_CA9_A28_BA8_AA.jpg

18-07-2018, 06:53 PM

22/1 on betfair exchange or 28/1 on betfair sportsbook Cove and both teams to score (if you do it as same game multi).

18-07-2018, 06:58 PM

Took the 16/1 & 15/2 for the draw

Col_0762
18-07-2018, 06:59 PM
22/1 on betfair exchange or 28/1 on betfair sportsbook Cove and both teams to score (if you do it as same game multi).

Don’t use Betfair unfortunately. 16’s was best across the rest.

Col_0762
18-07-2018, 06:59 PM
Took the 16/1 & 15/2 for the draw

11/2 the double chance was a good bet.

HelmutSchlong
18-07-2018, 07:06 PM
Expectation:

http://www.coverangersfc.com/images/new_stadium_latest.jpg

Reality:

https://image.ibb.co/gsmEPJ/D67_BA815_14_FE_4635_931_C_3_CA9_A28_BA8_AA.jpg

Oh dear 😂

18-07-2018, 07:06 PM
Celtic 1 up and opponents down to ten men after 15 mins.

18-07-2018, 07:07 PM

It's Celtic who are down to 10

Col_0762
18-07-2018, 07:07 PM

Celtic had a man put off after 10 mins, Simunovic. 2-0 now. Pen.

18-07-2018, 07:08 PM

It's Celtic who are down to ten men according to Sky Sports News.

2-0 now. Celtic got a penalty, but it was never a penalty.

Its only Simunovic. They'll be better off with him being suspensed in the next round. A total bombscare that cost them £3m.

18-07-2018, 07:15 PM
Jambos up 0-1 Booooooooo!

HelmutSchlong
18-07-2018, 07:15 PM
****bos take an early lead

St Pauli Hibee
18-07-2018, 07:16 PM
1-0 Hertz Olly Lee

18-07-2018, 07:17 PM
The ref in the Celtic game is hopeless.

18-07-2018, 07:20 PM
Think out of all their signings olly lee could be the best of the bunch

18-07-2018, 07:21 PM
3-0 Celtic , J Forrest

18-07-2018, 07:22 PM
Is Celtic match on tv?

18-07-2018, 07:23 PM
Jambos up 0-1 Booooooooo!

Boooo. They should win it comfortably though so not a surprise. Would be funny if they mess it up though.

St Pauli Hibee
18-07-2018, 07:23 PM
Think out of all their signings olly lee could be the best of the bunch

Definitely. Standout player for Luton in the last couple of seasons

18-07-2018, 07:24 PM
Is Celtic match on tv?

It's on Celtic tv

18-07-2018, 07:26 PM
1-0 Hertz Olly Lee

Oily.

18-07-2018, 08:14 PM
2-0 now [emoji853]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

18-07-2018, 08:18 PM
2-0 now [emoji853]

Cove Huns 0 Diet Huns 2

18-07-2018, 08:25 PM
The ref in the smellies game is superb, he's booking smellies and letting the other team off for worse tackles and fouls, plus he sent one of them off after 10 minutes. :top marks

18-07-2018, 08:30 PM
The ref in the smellies game is superb, he's booking smellies and letting the other team off for worse tackles and fouls, plus he sent one of them off after 10 minutes. :top marks

Have we found out which lodge he's from yet?

18-07-2018, 08:32 PM
Scott Allan sub tonight but not used.

18-07-2018, 08:32 PM
1 2

18-07-2018, 08:33 PM
2 1 at Cove now

stevie-bee
18-07-2018, 08:33 PM
2-1 hearts

18-07-2018, 08:42 PM
Kickback is locked down apparently. I think they could get relegated if these 13 signings don't gel.

18-07-2018, 08:45 PM
Even if they hang on to win it isn't exactly a convincing win against the lowest ranked team they could have been drawn against.

18-07-2018, 08:45 PM
Kickback is locked down apparently. I think they could get relegated if these 13 signings don't gel.

But they're winning??

18-07-2018, 08:48 PM
But they're winning??Just passing on what I had been told

Souter96Mac
18-07-2018, 08:49 PM
Full time 2-1. Cove will be disappointed with that.

18-07-2018, 08:51 PM

Not just the 13 but the other 22 first team players. Scattergun approach is working at Tiny and long may it continue.

18-07-2018, 08:54 PM
What an absolute gang Hertz are.

18-07-2018, 08:55 PM
Same old crappy Jambos and still can’t stop thinking about us. His team has just held on in a game against really weak opposition and all he can think is:

“Can already see the vermin comments: "AW YE PURE ONLY WON 2-1 AGAINST COVE, HAHAAHAHAH WEE TEAM GGTTH"

:faf::faf::faf:

18-07-2018, 08:56 PM
Goal difference may well be a factor. Even if they win the group they'll want to be one of the 4 best group winners so they're seeded for the knockout stage.

18-07-2018, 09:00 PM
Same old crappy Jambos and still can’t stop thinking about us. His team has just held on in a game against really weak opposition and all he can think is:

“Can already see the vermin comments: "AW YE PURE ONLY WON 2-1 AGAINST COVE, HAHAAHAHAH WEE TEAM GGTTH"

:faf::faf::faf:

Feel the Fear. Locked down after they win a game... Oh dear!

18-07-2018, 09:02 PM
Not just the 13 but the other 22 first team players. Scattergun approach is working at Tiny and long may it continue.

Incidentally why did the Director of Football not allow Cathro to have such a big squad last year? He would have had a much better chance of qualifying from the League Cup group and could probably have scraped into the top 6 with a squad the size they now have.

18-07-2018, 09:03 PM
Read on boak-back game thread , cove had a goal chalked off as offside! So could have been 2-2!

18-07-2018, 09:06 PM
Incidentally why did the Director of Football not allow Cathro to have such a big squad last year? He would have had a much better chance of qualifying from the League Cup group and could probably have scraped into the top 6 with a squad the size they now have.

They have a quantity over quality approach with the hope of unearthing a player that might be worth something to them.

Meanwhile they are playing the star that is M.martin x amount of thousands a week to not even make the first team squad on match days!

18-07-2018, 09:11 PM
They have a quantity over quality approach with the hope of unearthing a player that might be worth something to them.

Meanwhile they are playing the star that is M.martin x amount of thousands a week to not even make the first team squad on match days!

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkFree kick specialist. Maybe doctor football was planning to have no free kicks?

18-07-2018, 09:14 PM
Free kick specialist. Maybe doctor football was planning to have no free kicks?

Ah yes indeed!

Now is that free kicks for or against! We all know that they commit the most fouls pretty much every game!

18-07-2018, 09:18 PM
Ah yes indeed!

Now is that free kicks for or against! We all know that they commit the most fouls pretty much every game!

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYep, bottom of the fair play league will be consolidated by Xmas again for the tallest dirtiest team in the country.

18-07-2018, 09:22 PM
Yep, bottom of the fair play league will be consolidated by Xmas again for the tallest dirtiest team in the country.

Don't forget, now that they've got a decent pitch they'll be playing football the way it is meant to be played so won't need to resort to their usual dirty bassa tactics.

18-07-2018, 09:22 PM
Just passing on what I had been told

That was intended as sarcasm

18-07-2018, 09:26 PM
Don't forget, now that they've got a decent pitch they'll be playing football the way it is meant to be played so won't need to resort to their usual dirty bassa tactics.And they've finished the megastand with a perfect view of the castle from the school view lounge and the kids are all back in the nursery on time as promised.

Be afraid.......

18-07-2018, 09:29 PM
Not too dissimilar to the result we had against the rose tbf.

18-07-2018, 09:30 PM
They really are *****. Potter will struggle again this year!

18-07-2018, 09:32 PM
That was intended as sarcasm

:wink:The way some of the threads are going at the moment it's extremely hard to tell haha

18-07-2018, 09:32 PM
That would be a fantastic achievement for England.

18-07-2018, 09:53 PM

That was a friendly. No comparison whatsoever.

18-07-2018, 09:55 PM
That would be a fantastic achievement for England.

How did Scotland do at the World Cup, pal?

18-07-2018, 09:56 PM

Starting to realise quantity over quality isn't such a good thing. Just wait 'til they cash in on Lafferty, that's when the fun will begin.

18-07-2018, 09:57 PM

Virtually the same 🤓

19-07-2018, 12:55 AM
We needn't worry about this league cup pish just yet, we've got some international jet setting to do before we need to concern ourselves about that. :greengrin

19-07-2018, 05:11 AM
Hearts are dug*****

19-07-2018, 05:39 AM
What strength team did hearts put out? Mostly first teamers or the under 21s?

It’s tough to tell when they’ve signed 14 players this window, so far.....

19-07-2018, 06:00 AM
Starting to realise quantity over quality isn't such a good thing. Just wait 'til they cash in on Lafferty, that's when the fun will begin.You mean the best is yet to come?!

19-07-2018, 06:10 AM
Still in lockdown this morning. Fannies.

Hibs4185
19-07-2018, 06:11 AM
Brokeback still in lockdown! Normally there are pretty vile in the way they discuss subjects, would love to see the comments during a meltdown!

19-07-2018, 06:47 AM
What strength team did hearts put out? Mostly first teamers or the under 21s?

It’s tough to tell when they’ve signed 14 players this window, so far.....

I was wondering that. I recognised about 6 of the names as what will probably be first teamers. The others I didn’t recognise but I don’t know if they’re youngsters (surely not another batch of future internationalists?!) or if it’s just some of their new signings.

19-07-2018, 07:11 AM
Brokeback still in lockdown! Normally there are pretty vile in the way they discuss subjects, would love to see the comments during a meltdown!

I’ve just been in to have a look. No lockdown as far as I can see. There’s little about last night and they are content with a win. There’s a lengthy thread about McGinn full of factual nonsense and childish seethe. Nothing else of any interest.

19-07-2018, 07:23 AM
55 years and 9 months since they won the league cup !

Soon to be 56 and counting..

AltheHibby
19-07-2018, 07:30 AM
55 years and 9 months since they won the league cup !

Soon to be 56 and counting..

And as they last won it the day before I was born, I hate you for reminding me I'm getting on a bit! 😂

Still, that haven't won it in my lifetime, so it's not all bad.

19-07-2018, 07:36 AM
I’ve just been in to have a look. No lockdown as far as I can see. There’s little about last night and they are content with a win. There’s a lengthy thread about McGinn full of factual nonsense and childish seethe. Nothing else of any interest.

Defo still locked. I’ve just tried to get in just now.

19-07-2018, 07:41 AM

It’s fine for me

19-07-2018, 07:42 AM
It’s fine for me

Yeah but you’re a member 😜

19-07-2018, 07:45 AM

Well how the hell am I getting in? Here’s the most recent post on their last nights match thread :

Three points from this game should be a given. I am more concerned about the performance.

We should and did dominate the game. Our finishing was poor.

We get pass marks with the win.... but with the comment should do better.

You are arguing with yourself here. You say you are more concerned with performance?? Well, according to the posters at the game, the performance was very good so not sure what your issue is?

Should I be worried at gaining ilicit access?:greengrin

19-07-2018, 07:47 AM
Yeah but you’re a member 😜

Long term member too😬
I just behave and read

19-07-2018, 07:50 AM
I’m a member too but funnily enough I can get in on my phone but not on my IPad.

19-07-2018, 07:52 AM
Well how the hell am I getting in? Here’s the most recent post on their last nights match thread :

Three points from this game should be a given. I am more concerned about the performance.

We should and did dominate the game. Our finishing was poor.

We get pass marks with the win.... but with the comment should do better.

You are arguing with yourself here. You say you are more concerned with performance?? Well, according to the posters at the game, the performance was very good so not sure what your issue is?

Should I be worried at gaining ilicit access?:greengrin

They really are a strange lot Jim 😂

Oh and yes I’d be very worried!!!!!!

19-07-2018, 07:55 AM
They really are a strange lot Jim [emoji23]

Oh and yes I’d be very worried!!!!!!I'm sure it's only 100% certified Jambos that are allowed in at such times...

19-07-2018, 08:00 AM
I'm sure it's only 100% certified Jambos that are allowed in at such times...

😁

19-07-2018, 08:02 AM

Sent from my SM-G950F using TapatalkIt is, they scan you with your devices webcam and if you've got a maroon cardigan or tank top on with brown corduroy strides and matching brogues/purple face you're in.

19-07-2018, 08:03 AM
Do not understand the obsession some posters have with the yams.

As far as I am concerned they will always be playing catch up.

I had a look at their starting line up last night only four Scots. The only players I recognised were Soapy Soutar, Christophe the hammer thrower Berra and Kyle the diver Lafferty.

They have made 14 signings this window all appear to be journey men professionals haven’t heard of any of them apart from that wee nonentity Naismith.

We will only start to appreciate if they are to offer any threat if they start to gel as the season progresses.So far from where I am sitting looks to be a waste of the fans consortiums money.

Harry Potter did not sound convinced when interviewed after the match.

As I said I cannot understand the fascination with Hearts.

Forgot to mention some old geezer that scored the second that they signed from either the sheep or St Johnstone was not really interested when I heard the news.

19-07-2018, 08:08 AM

Errrr.... No !

seem to be torn between a crap performance and "a win is a win.."

19-07-2018, 08:09 AM
How utterly ***** are Hearts?!?! 😂😂😂😂😂

19-07-2018, 08:10 AM
Do not understand the obsession some posters have with the yams.

As far as I am concerned they will always be playing catch up.

I had a look at their starting line up last night only four Scots. The only players I recognised were Soapy Soutar, Christophe the hammer thrower Berra and Kyle the diver Lafferty.

They have made 14 signings this window all appear to be journey men professionals haven’t heard of any of them apart from that wee nonentity Naismith.

We will only start to appreciate if they are to offer any threat if they start to gel as the season progresses.So far from where I am sitting looks to be a waste of the fans consortiums money.

Harry Potter did not sound convinced when interviewed after the match.

As I said I cannot understand the fascination with Hearts.

Forgot to mention some old geezer that scored the second that they signed from either the sheep or St Johnstone was not really interested when I heard the news.

They were actually asking each other about the identity of one or two players before their game.

TheHarpy76
19-07-2018, 08:12 AM
Feel the Fear. Locked down after they win a game... Oh dear!

Just asked a workmate why JKB was locked down. He said due to the fact that there was no coverage of the game elsewhere the site was running very slow due to the amount of people that were going on to get updates of the game. The admin then decided to lock out unsubscribed members so that the subscribers could get priority.
Seems fair enough to me. Pretty sure we do the same here.

19-07-2018, 08:16 AM
I was of the (mis)understanding that even members were excluded once lockdown came into effect.

19-07-2018, 08:28 AM
Just asked a workmate why JKB was locked down. He said due to the fact that there was no coverage of the game elsewhere the site was running very slow due to the amount of people that were going on to get updates of the game. The admin then decided to lock out unsubscribed members so that the subscribers could get priority.
Seems fair enough to me. Pretty sure we do the same here.

So why’s it still on lockdown now? Surely once the game is done then it should open up again. I think you’ll find that’s pish and it’s because they were rotten and don’t like us laughing at them so they shut it down!

19-07-2018, 08:38 AM
So why’s it still on lockdown now? Surely once the game is done then it should open up again. I think you’ll find that’s pish and it’s because they were rotten and don’t like us laughing at them so they shut it down!

Probably gutted that their new look squad were hanging on for dear life against the might of Cove Rangers

19-07-2018, 08:40 AM
I was of the (mis)understanding that even members were excluded once lockdown came into effect.

So, you’re a registered Kickbacker then ! :greengrin

19-07-2018, 08:42 AM
They've signed 12 players this window, a recipe for (at best) a disjointed and transitional season.

TheHarpy76
19-07-2018, 08:45 AM

I’ve no idea. He said that some unsubscribed will get access as what they do over there is split all unsubscribed members into four groups. What they were doing was locking out 2 groups for around 10-15 minutes and then allowing them back on and locking out the other 2 groups. That way everyone had access to match updates.
Seems plausible to me and would explain why some on here are getting access while others aren’t.

19-07-2018, 08:55 AM
Reading the match report on the BBC, it does sound like they battered Cove - two goals, two off the line, hit the post; 23 attempts, 9 on target.

Obviously I hope that they're ***** this year, but I wouldn't read too much into last night's scoreline.

TheHarpy76
19-07-2018, 08:59 AM
Reading the match report on the BBC, it does sound like they battered Cove - two goals, two off the line, hit the post; 23 attempts, 9 on target.

Obviously I hope that they're ***** this year, but I wouldn't read too much into last night's scoreline.

The general consensus I’ve heard so far is that they played well but weren’t clinical enough in front of goal.

Cat Stanton
19-07-2018, 05:26 PM
The general consensus I’ve heard so far is that they played well but weren’t clinical enough in front of goal.

The new consensus (see other thread about ineligible player) is that Cove battered them 3-0...

19-07-2018, 07:03 PM

The general consensus is they cheated and Cove should be awarded the tie (this is for those looking in)

19-07-2018, 07:38 PM
They've signed 12 players this window, a recipe for (at best) a disjointed and transitional season.

and they STILL fielded in ineligible player :faf:

Oh hearts, you really are comedy gold :thumbsup:

TheHarpy76
20-07-2018, 09:53 AM
The new consensus (see other thread about ineligible player) is that Cove battered them 3-0...

20-07-2018, 11:32 AM
and they STILL fielded in ineligible player :faf:

Oh hearts, you really are comedy gold :thumbsup:

Who wasn’t even one of the 12 new ones!