View Full Version : Simon Murray

14-07-2018, 02:46 PM
Sun reporting we've accepted a bid for Simon Murray from a club in South Africa.

14-07-2018, 02:49 PM
As mentioned on the transfer thread, we must surely be close to signing a striker or 2 if we are allowing Murray to leave. I hope Jamie Maclaren is one of them. Him and Kamberi were great together up front

14-07-2018, 02:51 PM
Find it slightly strange how much foreign interest there appears to be in him

heid the baw
14-07-2018, 02:51 PM
Poor guy's going to need factor 90 in South Africa.

14-07-2018, 02:53 PM

Could be his agent.

sauzee=legend
14-07-2018, 03:05 PM
If accepted - surely means we have people lined up to come in.
Otherwise it’s 2 strikers for us all season

WestStandWillie
14-07-2018, 03:05 PM
Sun reporting we've accepted a bid for Simon Murray from a club in South Africa.

Great news, lets get a player that will improve the squad. Step forward Jamie MacLaren. Have Shaw tae keep them on there toes and get one other as a gid back up.

14-07-2018, 03:09 PM
If accepted - surely means we have people lined up to come in.
Otherwise it’s 2 strikers for us all season

Maclaren and one more I think will come in.

BegbieHSC
14-07-2018, 03:10 PM
Bring back Graham!!

14-07-2018, 03:11 PM
Could be his agent.

Can only be. No way do all these foreign teams know about Simon Murray yet know of hardly any other Scottish players.

14-07-2018, 03:30 PM

His goals to games ratio for hibs must be pretty impressive if you only include games he’s started.

ShinyFantastic
14-07-2018, 03:31 PM
Good

DetroitHibs
14-07-2018, 03:31 PM
Does he have the same agent as Willo Flood?

badabing67
14-07-2018, 04:11 PM
I haven't seen any figures quoted, does any one know how much has been offered, hope its in the region of 150K

14-07-2018, 04:16 PM
I haven't seen any figures quoted, does any one know how much has been offered, hope its in the region of 150K

Would be ideal. Can just use the £150k to buy Leigh outright.

Souter96Mac
14-07-2018, 04:17 PM
Hoping at least £100k.

Fuzzywuzzy
14-07-2018, 04:23 PM
Does he have the same agent as Willo Flood?

You would hope for his sake he hasn't. Sure I read that his Bali move fell through so no club!

14-07-2018, 04:43 PM
Fair play to him and good luck as well. I don’t dislike him and respect him for keeping his head down and working hard but he’s not good enough sadly.

Gala Foxes
14-07-2018, 05:08 PM
Heard he had struggled to settle in Edinburgh missing Dundee so wouldn't hold your breath for him moving to South Africa

14-07-2018, 05:18 PM
I think he could be a useful squad member, not just as a backup striker, but because I think he could deputise in Boyle's role if Boyle's ever unavailable.

14-07-2018, 06:08 PM
Heard he had struggled to settle in Edinburgh missing Dundee so wouldn't hold your breath for him moving to South Africa

Dundee is an hour and a half away. In a summer of madness this is probably taking it to asylum level.

14-07-2018, 06:13 PM

We live in a globilized world, where, I'd be surprised if there isn't a common website (with a comprehensive data base) that can be accessed by professional clubs from around the world.
Maybe the more enlightened among us will know of such a site.

14-07-2018, 06:30 PM
We live in a globilized world, where, I'd be surprised if there isn't a common website (with a comprehensive data base) that can be accessed by professional clubs from around the world.

Aye, YouTube, he will look magic on there.

14-07-2018, 06:31 PM
Im not holding my breath for this one - it's in the Sun after all.

14-07-2018, 07:41 PM
Hoping at least £100k.

Doesn't say much when we were getting that amount for a forward 50 years ago. :wink:

14-07-2018, 07:48 PM
Doesn't say much when we were getting that amount for a forward 50 years ago. :wink:

It does when he went for £70 a week.

14-07-2018, 07:52 PM

Maybe South Africa will have poverty-stricken, violent, lawless townships that will be a bit more like Dundee for him?

14-07-2018, 07:57 PM
Good luck to him if he goes, started off well with us but then hit a slump

NthCarolinaHibs
14-07-2018, 08:05 PM
Maybe South Africa will have poverty-stricken, violent, lawless townships that will be a bit more like Dundee for him?

Brilliant..😂😂

sauzee6_2
14-07-2018, 08:57 PM

Showing your ignorance (lack of knowledge) there, have you been to Dundee recently???

Clarence
14-07-2018, 09:02 PM
Showing your ignorance (lack of knowledge) there, have you been to Dundee recently???

Just a wee joke (attempt at humour) probably.

14-07-2018, 09:07 PM

I lived there for 9 years, loved the place then and love it every bit as much now.

Therefore, I feel I should be allowed to make jokes about Dundee.

Dundee jokes are only funny because they are totally unfair, undeserved and frankly nonsensical.

The city is an example to the whole country as to how to go about turning a reputation around and improving a place beyond all recognition, being constantly innovative and proactive and not accepting the excuses that far too many other places do.

14-07-2018, 09:11 PM
I lived there for 9 years, loved the place then and love it every bit as much now.

Dundee jokes are only funny because they are totally unfair, undeserved and frankly nonsensical.

The city is an example to the whole country as to how to go about turning a reputation around and improving a place beyond all recognition, being constantly innovative and proactive and not accepting the excuses that far too many other places do.

I disagree. They lay claim to Oor Wullie when the laddie clearly comes frae Kirriemuir.

14-07-2018, 09:17 PM
Only time I was ever in Dundee was for training sessions when we got to lay waste to the inside of some of the old textile factories. Heh heh heh.........

14-07-2018, 09:28 PM
A Yes city to boot, can't knock Dundee.

14-07-2018, 09:32 PM
The regeneration of Dundee over the past few years has been fantastic. It’s a great city and I’d never knock it.

Humo
14-07-2018, 09:33 PM
Showing your ignorance (lack of knowledge) there, have you been to Dundee recently???Indeed! South Africa is miles ahead

14-07-2018, 09:34 PM

There is a mechanism for clubs to alert clubs to players for potential moves, not a database as such ( although there is something like that too)

sauzee6_2
14-07-2018, 09:44 PM

In which case I don’t get your post at all.

As you say, the city has developed itself beyond recognition, yet you still beat it with the stick of yesteryear.

Not looking to get in an argument, we’re all entitled to our opinion......provided we all agree GGTTH 😜

14-07-2018, 09:53 PM
In which case I don’t get your post at all.

As you say, the city has developed itself beyond recognition, yet you still beat it with the stick of yesteryear.

Not looking to get in an argument, we’re all entitled to our opinion......provided we all agree GGTTH 😜

It was just a joke......

sauzee6_2
14-07-2018, 10:35 PM
It was just a joke......

No problem, not one I found funny but each to their own.

All the best.

14-07-2018, 10:45 PM
Best thing about Dundee is the bypass.

Learnt that whilst studying at Aberdeen University many years ago.

sauzee6_2
14-07-2018, 10:47 PM

I refer the honourable gentleman to my previous comments

14-07-2018, 10:49 PM

I have, quite a few times. He is spot on.

RIP Bestie
14-07-2018, 10:51 PM

All the best.

Get a grip.
Jings, crivvens, help ma boab!!

14-07-2018, 10:56 PM
I should add, for all its faults Dundee is radge. You can go from the equivalent of to drinking up town in Edinburgh to drinking in a scheme in 100 yards.

14-07-2018, 11:07 PM
There is a mechanism for clubs to alert clubs to players for potential moves, not a database as such ( although there is something like that too)

Cheers bud:aok:

14-07-2018, 11:08 PM
Aye, YouTube, he will look magic on there.

:tee hee::tee hee:

15-07-2018, 11:21 AM

Get a cracking pae and pent up there.

15-07-2018, 03:48 PM

Do you get upset that we call Aberdonians sheep ****gers also, far too much PC crap in this world nowadays when an innocent wee joke about Dundee can get someones back up.

15-07-2018, 04:29 PM

All the best.
Dundee is a dump imo.

15-07-2018, 04:37 PM

When was the Dundee bypass built?

IncredibleHibee
15-07-2018, 04:55 PM

All the best.

You’re a right good laugh.......

midfield_maestro
16-07-2018, 02:54 PM
When was the Dundee bypass built?

16-07-2018, 02:59 PM

20 past six yesterday?

16-07-2018, 05:24 PM

you need to get out more

16-07-2018, 05:26 PM
20 past six yesterday?

Aye and by 18:28 it had been stolen and sold.......

16-07-2018, 05:29 PM
Broughty Ferry is a great night out.

Victor
16-07-2018, 05:39 PM
Dundee. City of a thousand roundabouts.

16-07-2018, 05:42 PM
Dundee. City of a thousand roundabouts.

Circles.

16-07-2018, 10:23 PM
Circles.

Might explain why Simon runs round in them..

Clarence
16-07-2018, 10:37 PM
You’re a right good laugh.......

Would you be laughing if your 30th birthday present was a grandchild?

Wee Effen Bee
17-07-2018, 12:53 AM

Must be a ‘whoosh’ moment for me as I regularly drive to Laurencekirk and have never seen a bypass for Dundee!😧😁

17-07-2018, 06:24 AM
Dundee is a dump imo.

I live there now and it’s a great city. Gets an unfair rep.

17-07-2018, 06:57 AM
Dundee (from old) might not have been the best of places but it has come on a fair bit over the last few years, nice enough city

17-07-2018, 07:02 AM
They must have spent billions regenerating Dundee waterfront. Looks really good these days and work still ongoing.

17-07-2018, 02:56 PM
Lived there for 4 years and really miss it, beats Edinburgh for a night out. The regeneration down the front and city centre areas are really nice. Just had it's areas (like every city) to avoid. And Clark's Bakery is enough to make it a brilliant place in itsef, get withdrawal symptoms about that haven.

17-07-2018, 07:54 PM
Kind of sad it didn't work out for Simon here, especially after he showed so much early promise when he first came in at the start of last season. Not a bad player at all but didn't quite cut it.

Wish him all the best.

17-07-2018, 08:45 PM
He hasn’t gone anywhere.

17-07-2018, 08:56 PM
Hasn’t travelled, and neither has Paul Hanlon

17-07-2018, 09:04 PM
Aye and by 18:28 it had been stolen and sold.......

Wasn't there this morning when I went to work anyway.

17-07-2018, 09:21 PM
Looks like he’s away. 150k!!

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2945578/hibs-simon-murray-bidvest-wits/

Souter96Mac
17-07-2018, 09:23 PM

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2945578/hibs-simon-murray-bidvest-wits/

Decent profit to be fair. All the best Simon, shame it didn't work out.

Paul1642
17-07-2018, 09:25 PM

Brilliant deal If true

17-07-2018, 09:29 PM
Hopefully will be used towards McLaren. Liked Murray's efforts but he is a player where we were 3 years ago imo.

We need better. Lennon took a punt didn't quite work out. Did score decent goals but imo the writing was on the wall when he left for Dundee in January.

17-07-2018, 09:30 PM
Decent, and unexpected bit of cash, if that’s turns out to be right.

Surely signing a striker must be close. Short enough of attacking options as it is.

17-07-2018, 09:31 PM
Worked his arse off, runner and a great squad player who chips in with goals, but his technical ability is very limited as shown last Thursday. Good luck to the boy though, scored some big important goals for us last term, getting us to the semi (basically bulldozed teams in the groups) of the league cup, and big goals against hearts and rangers early on.

17-07-2018, 09:36 PM
Couple of good goals against rangers and hearts but ultimately nowhere near good enough for where we want to go. Decent bit of money, hopefully goes towards getting players in before next Thursday

Greenworld
17-07-2018, 09:37 PM
Hasn’t travelled, and neither has Paul HanlonIs there a bid in for Paul as well [emoji102][emoji102][emoji23]

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

17-07-2018, 09:38 PM

How much did we pay for SM?

guthrie01
17-07-2018, 09:41 PM
How much did we pay for SM?

Nothing, he was a free agent when we signed him

17-07-2018, 09:46 PM

A good pieceof business then:aok:

17-07-2018, 09:48 PM
Is there a bid in for Paul as well [emoji102][emoji102][emoji23]

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
Celtic centre halves were very poor last season.

17-07-2018, 09:51 PM
Hasn’t travelled, and neither has Paul Hanlon

Has McGinn?

17-07-2018, 09:52 PM
150k is a fantastic deal. Good luck Simon, cheers for a great few months. :aok:

Pays for Flo Kamberi. Just think about that 😳

Has McGinn?

Yes

The Leith Dutch
17-07-2018, 09:57 PM
Hopefully will be used towards McLaren. Liked Murray's efforts but he is a player where we were 3 years ago imo.

We need better. Lennon took a punt didn't quite work out. Did score decent goals but imo the writing was on the wall when he left for Dundee in January.

I'd say it worked out really well:

- He scored a lot of goals in the League Cup and got our season off to a flyer
- He scored a couple of goals in big games
- He was part of the deal that brought Allan back and ignited the second half of our season
- Hibs made £150k profit

Totally agree btw that he's definitely not good enough for where we are now but if that's a bad punt by Lennon I reckon we're in a very good place :greengrin

sauzee6_2
17-07-2018, 10:01 PM

- He was part of the deal that brought Allan back and ignited the second half of our season
- Hibs made £150k profit

Totally agree btw that he's definitely not good enough for where we are now but if that's a bad punt by Lennon I reckon we're in a very good place :greengrin

Absolutely correct.

With the greatest respect to Simon Murray, in recent years we would be gutted if he left. The club have moved on in quality - so excited for the next chapter! 🇳🇬

17-07-2018, 10:06 PM
Hopefully we can get 2 strikers signed before next week’s game.

17-07-2018, 10:10 PM
Scored a couple of important goals and tries hard. Best of luck to him.

Delighted with that deal.

17-07-2018, 10:11 PM

Hope so too.

17-07-2018, 10:12 PM
If definitely true then it's a big thank you from me for Simons efforts during his time here. Worked his socks off for the team, scored some crucial goals against Huns and Jambos, cost nothing and we get 150k profit. When you consider where we were and the type of player we had a handful of years ago he was a very good signing for us all round

17-07-2018, 10:14 PM
Celtic centre halves were very poor last season.

Weren’t they all at the World Cup? Can’t be that bad.

17-07-2018, 10:14 PM

We'll need them to be honest. We'll only have Kamberi and Shaw as recognised strikers in our first team squad if Murray does go. The squad is extremely thin right now, I can only imagine that we have a couple of signings which are all but done, otherwise I don't get this move at all.

17-07-2018, 11:34 PM
Good luck Simon!
I enjoyed your "Duracell Bunny" performances and that rich vein of goal-scoring form you hit early doors last season.
It's very unusual for a top-scorer to be sent out on loan for half a season and come the seasons end still end up top scorer for his club.

Enjoy the sun of South Africa, but watch those valuables and what you wear and display. Keep your car doors locked when you are driving. Wind those windows down for no one.
Familiarise yourself with the no-go areas and dodgy parts of town. Johannesburg is considered a fairly dangerous and high risk place to wander. Live in a gated community if possible. Should you be approached when parking, ensure that you give a good tip to the "homeless and jobless" who will offer to look after your vehicle while you are gone.

18-07-2018, 04:44 AM
Watch those valuables and what you wear and display. Keep your car doors locked when you are driving. Wind those windows down for no one.
Familiarise yourself with the no-go areas and dodgy parts of town. Johannesburg is considered a fairly dangerous and high risk place to wander. Live in a gated community if possible. Should you be approached when parking, ensure that you give a good tip to the "homeless and jobless" who will offer to look after your vehicle while you are gone.

Just like Dundee!

;)

WestStandWillie
18-07-2018, 06:20 AM
Tooooooooodaloooo Simon.

You tried but ultimately you arenae up to the standard of player the club needs going forward. Enjoy Africa and have a guid career!

WSW

18-07-2018, 06:35 AM
Thanks for the effort and goals SM (especially the one against the yams)

Good luck!

18-07-2018, 06:36 AM

Lennon said we paid a fee for him?

18-07-2018, 07:09 AM
Anyone who puts the huns to the sword and hits the winning goal in the derby in the famous green and white is fine by me. Gave his all for Hibs every time he stepped on the park. All the best and good luck in South Africa.

18-07-2018, 07:34 AM
Anyone who puts the huns to the sword and hits the winning goal in the derby in the famous green and white is fine by me. Gave his all for Hibs every time he stepped on the park. All the best and good luck in South Africa.

Sums it up perfectly for me

All the best Si

I hope the South African supports are fans of Good Charlotte

tonyrougier123
18-07-2018, 07:57 AM
only really played for 6 months,14 goals, derby winner and a peach at ibrox.surprised we have let him go,I can only think we have mandzukic coming in or something,?? I thought the guy was electric for us till stoksey came in.played amazing against partick first game of the season, linked well despite others suggesting he just runs!!

18-07-2018, 08:10 AM
only really played for 6 months,14 goals, derby winner and a peach at ibrox.surprised we have let him go,I can only think we have mandzukic coming in or something,?? I thought the guy was electric for us till stoksey came in.played amazing against partick first game of the season, linked well despite others suggesting he just runs!!

Yeah those famous performances against Arbroath and Montrose should have bought him another season.

tonyrougier123
18-07-2018, 08:14 AM
Yeah those famous performances against Arbroath and Montrose should have bought him another season.

where did I mention Arbroath and Montrose like??

18-07-2018, 08:14 AM
But will they allow him into the Orange Free State :confused: :wink:

18-07-2018, 08:30 AM

If it was a punt, then it worked brilliantly.

14 or 15 goals for us and then used as a fee which got us Scott Allen on loan.

And now we're getting £150k for him too?

That's the stuff of dreams.

18-07-2018, 08:31 AM

- Hibs made £150k profit

Aargh. I should have read the entire thread before posting.

I just made the exact same points.

18-07-2018, 08:35 AM

he scored half a dozen in the league as well, could possibly have been double figures if he had stayed for the full season, would have been not bad as a backup player this season. plus fans were loving it when he was scoring these goals in the cup games

18-07-2018, 08:38 AM

And a couple of those goals helped us in good wins against the full fats and the diets. If every player we signed put as much effort in as Murray did, they'd have a real chance of success.

All the best Simon, if he's the type of player who's not good enough these days, we are obviously in a much better shape than in previous years.

18-07-2018, 08:41 AM
i wish simon all the best for the next step in his career :agree: look forward to regular updates on this former player

and yet another :music: goes :(

Walter
18-07-2018, 08:44 AM
Bly kalm Simon, ons gaan nou braai

Enjoy life over there

18-07-2018, 09:09 AM
Bly kalm Simon, ons gaan nou braai

Enjoy life over there
Very good, 10 more to go

18-07-2018, 09:29 AM
Very few wanted Murray at the time. We got more than enough out of him to warrant signing him, even without the profit at the end.

For someone who was ultimately an SPL back up striker, has more on his CV in six months with Hibs than the majority have in those roles. Good on him.

18-07-2018, 09:52 AM

Well said, absolutely spot on.

Be interesting to see if the money is used for a couple of marquee signings to genuinely compete for a place alongside Kamberi, or if we get one big signing and a couple of backups.

Won't necessarily be that easy to get backup with the attributes that Murray has. Not sad that he's gone, but hugely grateful for his contributions during a great season for us.

18-07-2018, 10:39 AM
Played his heart out for Hibs & made a fine contribution to the clubs success last season. Wish him nothing but the best in his future career.:agree:

18-07-2018, 10:51 AM
His equaliser at Ibrox last season gave me one of my favourite moments as a Hibs fan. We started poorly and there was a risk the party atmosphere was going to fall flat. It was absolutely mental when he scored and that gave us the momentum to go on and win the game; his derby goal wasn't bad either.

He was well worth a punt, scored a few goals, gave his all and made us a profit. Good luck to him.

18-07-2018, 11:27 AM
His equaliser at Ibrox last season gave me one of my favourite moments as a Hibs fan. We started poorly and there was a risk the party atmosphere was going to fall flat. It was absolutely mental when he scored and that gave us the momentum to go on and win the game; his derby goal wasn't bad either.

He was well worth a punt, scored a few goals, gave his all and made us a profit. Good luck to him.
Agree with this. He's generally a likeable guy, put the graft in, scored a couple of important goals and made us some cash. Ultimately he was nowhere near good enough for Hibernian though and it's no coincidence that a large chunk of his goals came against really poor opposition.

Iceman1875
18-07-2018, 11:48 AM
The thing I liked about SM the most was his workrate, his honesty and his genuine delight at being at a big club like ours.

Further to what has already been said, I wish SM well.

18-07-2018, 12:26 PM
Not many people can say they hit a derby winnner, in front of a packed Easter Road, under the lights, and scored a beauty at Ibrox in a 3-2 win.

Ultimately, the game that (I suspect) did for Simon under Neil Lennon was when he missed a hatful of chances vs Rangers at ER in December, when we battered Rangers 1-2, and gave their fans a night of partying at ours (and our manager's) expense, when they should have lost by 4 or 5.

Turned out Lennon found a guy (Jamie Maclaren) whose game was more about snaffling those 6 yard box chances, and generally strayed offside less than SM, but that's another story.

Nevertheless, when you look at the number of derby *winners* that Riordan, O'Connor, Fletcher, Stokes et al scored, (one or two each) then I say hats off Simon, you are in good company there, and wish you all the very best in SA.

18-07-2018, 01:58 PM
Would you be laughing if your 30th birthday present was a grandchild?

What? Another one!?

18-07-2018, 02:59 PM
Lennon said we paid a fee for him?
No he said we got him for free, not a fee !:wink:

18-07-2018, 03:23 PM
A punt by Lennon with a relatively lowish wage, started well but ultimately didn't improve quickly enough to where we want to be, we don't have time to wait, worked hard but not at this level, good luck to him.

18-07-2018, 03:28 PM
He will score goals .....good luck simon

18-07-2018, 03:54 PM
This move might also make some posters who (bizarrely IMO) believe that last summer's transfer window was disappointing, reassess their opinion.

£150K for a free signing, who only played half a season for us and scored 14 goals, is great business.

18-07-2018, 04:31 PM
This move might also make some posters who (bizarrely IMO) believe that last summer's transfer window was disappointing, reassess their opinion.

£150K for a free signing, who only played half a season for us and scored 14 goals, is great business.

He turned out to be a better signing than Stokes was, who'd have thought that?

18-07-2018, 05:02 PM
Just like Dundee!

;)

:tee hee::tee hee:

18-07-2018, 05:09 PM

Imagine if Stokes had Murray’s attitude...

18-07-2018, 05:13 PM

Oh I’m not sure about that...

ChickenCurryYLT
18-07-2018, 10:03 PM
Wish Murray all the best. Never rated him but always gave his all which probably wasn’t enough.

Stokes left for Turkey today.

GRA
18-07-2018, 10:17 PM
Anyone that has their own designated song played over the tannoy has done a good job in my eyes! Especially when you consider some of the other 'strikers' who have played for us over the last decade... important goals against the Huns and Hearts helped us to Europe.

All the best Si! [emoji137]*♂️

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

18-07-2018, 10:21 PM
Imagine if Stokes had Murray’s attitude...

Then he'd never have signed for us and we'd never have won the Scottish Cup.

19-07-2018, 05:46 PM
No he said we got him for free, not a fee !:wink:

Haha

I saw SM thought it was about Stevie Mallan