View Full Version : New song in singing section

13-07-2018, 04:28 PM
What are the lyrics to the new song about Europe?

Don't care how we get there etc?

13-07-2018, 07:57 PM
We're on our way
Off to Europe
We're on our way
How do we get there I dont know
How do we get there I dont care
All I know is Hibs are on their way

Callum7
13-07-2018, 08:04 PM

McrHibee
13-07-2018, 09:34 PM
I've been singing this to myself over the last few days...

Now it's off to Europe in the green, in the green
And we're gonna watch the Hibees play
Cos the fans have seen that the team has been
Playing the Hibernian way...

The Pointer
13-07-2018, 10:18 PM
Sorry, but what's the tune?

13-07-2018, 10:19 PM
I've been singing this to myself over the last few days...

Now it's off to Europe in the green, in the green
And we're gonna watch the Hibees play
Cos the fans have seen that the team has been
Playing the Hibernian way...Those of us of a certain age can hear the rattle of the Thomson gun in there.... [emoji16]

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

13-07-2018, 10:19 PM
Sorry, but what's the tune?

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=F757QAamdz4

13-07-2018, 10:23 PM
Those of us of a certain age can hear the rattle of the Thomson gun in there.... [emoji16]

Helmets as well. Yes those were the days. :greengrin

penihibs
13-07-2018, 10:27 PM
Makes you feel auld!!

13-07-2018, 10:31 PM
Makes you feel auld!!

Sang it with gusto in the 70s and really didn’t know better. Very glad we have dropped that from the repertoire now.

13-07-2018, 10:45 PM
Those of us of a certain age can hear the rattle of the Thomson gun in there.... [emoji16]

Laughed when I saw your post - that was all I could think of :faf:

Cardinal G
14-07-2018, 01:43 AM
Sang it with gusto in the 70s and really didn’t know better. Very glad we have dropped that from the repertoire now.

Aye ashamed to say I too sang this, older and wiser now but at the time it felt right to sing it.

31-07-2018, 05:12 PM

Bit confused here, why is that song controversial?

31-07-2018, 05:15 PM
Bit confused here, why is that song controversial?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ThltOPL6Jsc&list=RDThltOPL6Jsc&start_radio=1

31-07-2018, 06:36 PM
Remember singing The Soldiers Song on Carlton Branch Bus mid to late sixties! Seemed OK at the time ???? :confused:

linlithgowhibbie
31-07-2018, 06:44 PM
Remember singing The Soldiers Song on Carlton Branch Bus mid to late sixties! Seemed OK at the time ???? :confused:

Wouldn't have got away with that in the 70s on that bus!!!

Feed McGraw
31-07-2018, 07:02 PM
Sorry, but what's the tune? The tune as far as the song the OP is on about is "Paint your wagon" I think, same tune the English fans were singing at the WC.

31-07-2018, 07:13 PM
Sixties!

31-07-2018, 07:16 PM
Shank says “No, I don’t think so but I’ve heard of the MENTAL HIBEES!” Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na !

31-07-2018, 07:17 PM
Shank says “No, I don’t think so but I’ve heard of the MENTAL HIBEES!” Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na Na !
I know not the soldiers song just a radge random memory!:wink:

31-07-2018, 07:33 PM

That "sudden thought came to my mind" as well :wink:

Must say though,the current Hibernian Choir are doing a grand job.:nlgwa

Back then it was the Cave-ites,or the foot stampers in the Old North Stand (Hibees ! Hibees !) that started the singing.

31-07-2018, 07:41 PM
That "sudden thought came to my mind" as well :wink:

Must say though,the current Hibernian Choir are doing a grand job.:nlgwa

Back then it was the Cave-ites,or the foot stampers in the Old North Stand (Hibees ! Hibees !) that started the singing.
Normally run of the mill fans start the Hibees ! to spur the team on at an important part of the game but I think you might have hit on something here if the singing section could incorporate it into their repertoire when they want the whole stadium to join in.....!

:nlgwa

31-07-2018, 07:45 PM

Never to be forgotten. Think the last time I heard it was on Hibs 3 game Irish tour before season 2005/6. We were inside/outside Fitzgerald's pub at Aston Quay, Dublin. The lyrics leant themselves very well to our visit.

Feed McGraw
31-07-2018, 08:00 PM
Bit confused here, why is that song controversial? Not as confused as I am, at 62y.o. and an ex caveite, I remember those old rebel songs very well but I thought this thread was about the new "European" song ! :confused: :greengrin

31-07-2018, 08:01 PM
Good stuff that the Choir are creating new songs and chants.
My favourite in recent seasons and the loudest has to be the SJM song.

Just in front of the Warburton one !!

And other ones like that !!

Feed McGraw
31-07-2018, 08:03 PM
Good stuff that the Choir are creating new songs and chants.
My favourite in recent seasons and the loudest has to be the SJM song.

And other ones like that !! They are my two favourites as well Mick. :aok:

31-07-2018, 10:07 PM
Coming back to me now.... still the sixties not the Soldiers Song . .. but ... wait for it .... Sean South!
.... better?:thumbsup:

31-07-2018, 10:16 PM
The tune as far as the song the OP is on about is "Paint your wagon" I think, same tune the English fans were singing at the WC.

Sevco sing a sectarian song to that tune.
I hope we dont adopt a song with the same tune.

Edit: Oops!
Wrong tune
Am thinking of Wanderin Star from that movie

bodhibs
31-07-2018, 10:33 PM

Love singing this to the knuckle draggers at my work, a favourite that winds them up even though the bread man, with respect is long gone.

31-07-2018, 10:36 PM
Mallan needs a song !