View Full Version : Football Stayed Away, it stayed away...

proud_and_green
11-07-2018, 08:39 PM
It stayed away....

Sent from my G8441 using Tapatalk

11-07-2018, 08:41 PM
Bring me home, please bring me home......

11-07-2018, 08:51 PM
Southgate your the one you still turn me on. You've just sent them home again

tynehibs
11-07-2018, 08:53 PM
It stayed away....

Typical pathetic comment , England have performed brilliantly in this world cup

proud_and_green
11-07-2018, 08:54 PM
I didn't say they hadn't!

tynehibs
11-07-2018, 08:58 PM
I didn't say they hadn't!

Why start the thread then ?

11-07-2018, 08:58 PM

Go and get some fresh air mate, there’s always next time :greengrin

11-07-2018, 09:00 PM

You shouldn't have got your hopes up. Years of supporting hibs should have taught you that

proud_and_green
11-07-2018, 09:03 PM
Why start the thread then ?Apologies, didn't realise we weren't allowed to engage in banter....!

tynehibs
11-07-2018, 09:04 PM
You shouldn't have got your hopes up. Years of supporting hibs should have taught you that

Aye too true mate !

11-07-2018, 09:06 PM

I think that is a huge leap to be honest they have beaten teams they should have and lost to the two best teams they have p!ayed. They have done well but brilliantly :rolleyes:

11-07-2018, 09:08 PM
Wee lambs 😪

Bye bye 👋👋

tynehibs
11-07-2018, 09:09 PM
Apologies, didn't realise we weren't allowed to engage in banter....!

Sorry just a bit pissed off , ggtth

bodhibs
11-07-2018, 09:10 PM
Wee lambs 😪

Bye bye 👋👋

Bless em

11-07-2018, 09:16 PM
I blame the silly waistcoat.

11-07-2018, 09:18 PM
Sorry just a bit pissed off , ggtth

Shouldn't be pee’d off mate, they did well and their country proud. It’s now all about the banter :na na:

12-07-2018, 11:13 AM

In which games, specifically? Who were England 'brilliant' against, Panama?

12-07-2018, 12:02 PM
Why start the thread then ?Hardly brilliant they beat Tunisia, Panama and Sweden...3 average teams. Squeezed thru on pens against a Colombia team without it's star man and lost to the 2 decent sides they faced. They performed well yes but only beat teams they would always expect to beat mate. But they done well I admit but nothing more and have probably just blown their best ever chance....the draw will never be that easy again imo

AltheHibby
12-07-2018, 12:20 PM
If "football's coming home" is the English song, does that mean "football stayed away" is the Scottish team's anthem?

proud_and_green
12-07-2018, 12:48 PM
If "football's coming home" is the English song, does that mean "football stayed away" is the Scottish team's anthem?You make a good point!

Roxyhibee
12-07-2018, 12:53 PM

I am definitely not anti English / English football, but please explain why you think England have “performed brilliantly” in this World Cup.?

12-07-2018, 01:08 PM

We're Scottish, mate. We have to get our kicks somewhere and it aint gonna be from how well our own team are doing.

12-07-2018, 01:11 PM
Hardly brilliant they beat Tunisia, Panama and Sweden...3 average teams. Squeezed thru on pens against a Colombia team without it's star man and lost to the 2 decent sides they faced. They performed well yes but only beat teams they would always expect to beat mate. But they done well I admit but nothing more and have probably just blown their best ever chance....the draw will never be that easy again imo

Some good points there BH but I will say I think that the England team will continue to improve as Southgate refines his squad. Be interesting to see how things go in the up and coming Euro qualifiers for them & for Scotland for that matter.

12-07-2018, 02:06 PM
Some good points there BH but I will say I think that the England team will continue to improve as Southgate refines his squad. Be interesting to see how things go in the up and coming Euro qualifiers for them & for Scotland for that matter.I'd agree with you there they are a young team that will improve but they lack creativity which is an area they will need to improve upon imo

12-07-2018, 02:10 PM
I see the local charity shop are displaying a few natty wee waistcoats at half price this morning.

Wasnae tempted.

12-07-2018, 03:01 PM

Shows how low the expectancy levels are down there that a last minute winner against Tunisia, pumping the tournaments worst team and beating an average Sweden is seen as brilliant.

12-07-2018, 09:42 PM
Shows how low the expectancy levels are down there that a last minute winner against Tunisia, pumping the tournaments worst team and beating an average Sweden is seen as brilliant.

To be fair Scotland won the World Cup in 78 by losing to Peru, drawing with Iran before true classs shone with the 3-2 win against Holland in the final.

Sioux
12-07-2018, 10:05 PM
To be fair Scotland won the World Cup in 78 by losing to Peru, drawing with Iran before true classs shone with the 3-2 win against Holland in the final.

That's exactly what happened. No one remembers because the whole of Scotland was pissed for a month.

TrinityHibs
12-07-2018, 10:10 PM
I am definitely not anti English / English football, but please explain why you think England have “performed brilliantly” in this World Cup.?

I think if Scotland got to the World Cup semi final we would consider it a brilliant performance regardless of who we played. I think you might be anti English

Roxyhibee
12-07-2018, 10:21 PM
I think if Scotland got to the World Cup semi final we would consider it a brilliant performance regardless of who we played. I think you might be anti English

Did you actually watch the England games.? If so, please tell me where you think they “performed brilliantly”.?

Pick any game you want - there were 6 by the way.