View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian Vs Blackburn

08-07-2018, 01:03 PM
Any team news? Updated would be appreciated as working today

Souter96Mac
08-07-2018, 01:09 PM
Blackburn fielding two different teams each half. Seems a weaker one first half, then a stronger one the 2nd. I've only worked this out on the amount of names I recognise

08-07-2018, 01:15 PM
McGinn starts. Efe in midfield.

08-07-2018, 01:16 PM

or a back 3?

08-07-2018, 01:16 PM

No sure Efe will be in midfield when Marv is there as well. 352 imo.

08-07-2018, 01:17 PM
STARTING XI | Bogdan, Ambrose, McGregor, Hanlon, Gray, Bartley, McGinn, Swanson, Stevenson, Shaw, Kamberi.

SUBS | Laidlaw, Mackie, Whittaker, Martin, Slivka, Mallan, S Murray, Boyle.

looks like a back three with Ambrose to me

ps. would expect this to be our starting 11 on Thursday too

porthibbie
08-07-2018, 01:17 PM

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/DhleR9lWkAE8OId.jpg

08-07-2018, 01:18 PM
His squad number is 8, suggests midfield to me.

08-07-2018, 01:18 PM
His squad number is 8, suggests midfield to me.Don't think so looks 3 5 2 to me

Souter96Mac
08-07-2018, 01:20 PM
Either
Bogdan
Ambrose McGregor Hanlon
Gray Swanson Marv McGinn Stevenson
Kamberi shaw

Or
Bogdan
Gray Mcgregor Hanlon Stevenson
Marv
McGinn Efe
Swanson
Kamberi shaw

Bob Box Fish
08-07-2018, 01:24 PM
Mon the hibees! Intae this it’s coming home ***** .

08-07-2018, 01:27 PM
Good to see Kamberi starting, hopefully Mallan gets some game time too

08-07-2018, 01:29 PM
Don't think so looks 3 5 2 to me

The text lineup suggests it may well be.

Souter96Mac
08-07-2018, 01:31 PM
The text lineup suggests it may well be.

Maybe Efe is really the creative midfielder, with the ability to spray the ball, unlocking defences and capable of 30 yard net busting goals that we need.

andybev1
08-07-2018, 01:31 PM
A wee pic. Never used phone before. Sorry if its crap

08-07-2018, 01:32 PM
Pitch looks fantastic. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180708/a44cdba746d01d86288fd3c9075a73ea.jpg

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

08-07-2018, 01:35 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180708/460d9a401e4d69210d5f69e8a5b5f158.jpg

08-07-2018, 01:39 PM
Hope the place gets a bit busier by kick off. Quiet.

andybev1
08-07-2018, 01:40 PM
Last try. Mcginn....

08-07-2018, 01:42 PM
Is there HibsTV audio coverage of this match?

08-07-2018, 01:42 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180708/7128fbb56dc5b1f46184e8fc9358e7c0.jpg

Still quiet in the stadium just now, but the pubs and streets around ER were pretty busy and the club shop was packed out

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

08-07-2018, 01:43 PM
Maybe Efe is really the creative midfielder, with the ability to spray the ball, unlocking defences and capable of 30 yard net busting goals that we need.

We won't know until we try.

08-07-2018, 01:45 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20180708/819287b5fe502a5cba997d86a881dfd9.png

08-07-2018, 01:46 PM
I'm guessing this will be our starting XI v NSI.

08-07-2018, 01:47 PM
I forgot to put sunscreen on 😳😎
I’ve been here 5 minutes and I’m already crispy.

08-07-2018, 01:48 PM
Never seen ER so empty I don't think

08-07-2018, 01:50 PM
5 defenders?

08-07-2018, 01:50 PM
5 defenders?

3-5-2 stevenson & gray wingbacks

08-07-2018, 01:51 PM

yes

08-07-2018, 01:57 PM
:music: Tony Mowbray
Mark Venus
Craig Leviens a ****** p*n*s

08-07-2018, 02:03 PM
Hibs have told the cheapskates at parkhead to double their offer for SJM

08-07-2018, 02:06 PM

It says there is live coverage for us overseas subscribers...but it won't let me in!

08-07-2018, 02:08 PM
Am I nitpicking or has the person putting up the goal nets done a half assed job?

08-07-2018, 02:11 PM
approx 7k according to cliff, i'l go for 6,164

08-07-2018, 02:12 PM
Good start, McGinn playing well.

Souter96Mac
08-07-2018, 02:13 PM
Good start, McGinn playing well.

Always gives 100% for Hibs, despite most likely leaving the club in a couple weeks, shows the character he has.

08-07-2018, 02:14 PM
Always gives 100% for Hibs, despite most likely leaving the club in a couple weeks, shows the character he has.

Spot on. We'll miss him.

08-07-2018, 02:19 PM
approx 7k according to cliff, i'l go for 6,164

To be fair Hanlon will have played competitive games in front of smaller crowds at Easter Road during his time.

Souter96Mac
08-07-2018, 02:23 PM
To be fair Hanlon will have played competitive games in front of smaller crowds at Easter Road during his time.

Stevenson's testimonial was around 9k, don't know if Sunderland brought more than Rovers have though.

ArmadaleHibs
08-07-2018, 02:25 PM
25 minutes gone and not a single comment on whats happening in the game. Must be a cracker

Mango Man
08-07-2018, 02:27 PM
25 minutes gone and not a single comment on whats happening in the game. Must be a cracker

Just going by listening on Hibs TV, it sounds like we are the better team so far, with McGinn running the show.

08-07-2018, 02:28 PM

Gray had a good effort saved low to the keepers left and McGinn had a great right foot effort from 20 yards tipped over. They've not had a shot on target yet.

Swanson and McGinn started bright for us. Flo and Shaw not had a sniff yet.

KinchHibee
We are playing fine - I'd say the lack of pace in the team is really evident though. I know we have Boyle but could really use Barker or another similar to him back.

Lacking any kind of creativity. We have three centre halves on the pitch plus Marv in the middle of the park so not surprising.

Swanson needs to get involved.

skyehibee
08-07-2018, 02:29 PM
Is it just me or has the pitch size been made smaller? Between the East and the pitch the gap looks a lot bigger.

08-07-2018, 02:30 PM
Water break. Never seen one of them before.

08-07-2018, 02:30 PM
Having a water break 30 mins in to a friendly. Its no that hot ffs.

08-07-2018, 02:31 PM
Is it just me or has the pitch size been made smaller? Between the East and the pitch the gap looks a lot bigger.

Are you sitting in the West?

08-07-2018, 02:33 PM

To be fair, I've moved from the front of the East to the back because of the heat.

08-07-2018, 02:33 PM
To be fair, I've moved from the front of the East to the back because of the heat.

The back of east is a bit chilly.

Tobias Funke
08-07-2018, 02:35 PM

26 degrees on my car thermometer driving back from work not long ago. It’s a very hot day.

chinaman
08-07-2018, 02:38 PM
Stevenson's testimonial was around 9k, don't know if Sunderland brought more than Rovers have though.
how many rovers fans turned up ?

Bob Box Fish
08-07-2018, 02:39 PM
900 Sunderland fans at Stevenson’s testimonial

08-07-2018, 02:40 PM
Hibs fans not taking too kindly to the travelling Rovers supporters singing 'Football's Coming Home'

08-07-2018, 02:40 PM
how many rovers fans turned up ?

Id say 250/300.

08-07-2018, 02:41 PM
Its a good test- blackburn working hard

We are lacking pace though

08-07-2018, 02:42 PM
Much as I love the man Gray has been poor.

chinaman
08-07-2018, 02:42 PM
Id say 250/300.

cheers biggy !

08-07-2018, 02:43 PM
Its a good test- blackburn working hard

We are lacking pace though

It’s basically their under 23 side first half. I think we look slow and severely lacking in imagination. Not a lot happening at all.

08-07-2018, 02:44 PM
Shaw missed a one on one. Shot straight at the keeper.

08-07-2018, 02:44 PM
It's bloody roasting, cheek to charge 2 quid for water as well.

08-07-2018, 02:45 PM
Shaw missed a one on one. Shot straight at the keeper.

Great ball by mcginn too

08-07-2018, 02:46 PM
It’s basically their under 23 side first half. I think we look slow and severely lacking in imagination. Not a lot happening at all.

Thought it might be - they are putting alot more into this than i thought

Closing us down very quickly

JimboHibs
08-07-2018, 02:48 PM
Much as I love the man Gray has been poor.

C'mon he's just back from injury

08-07-2018, 02:48 PM
Gray put through by Swanson but just offside. Stepped it up the last few mins. Half time now.

08-07-2018, 02:49 PM
Bar the last 5 mins that was brutal...uneventful would be the word

08-07-2018, 02:53 PM
Absolutely melting in the East. 😓 Taking some much needed shade cover in the concourse now.

Action on the pitch ain’t the greatest . Shaw should have scored that 1v1. We badly lack pace.

08-07-2018, 02:53 PM
HT nowt-nowt

08-07-2018, 02:54 PM
Sun's gone, now it's cold.

JimboHibs
08-07-2018, 02:55 PM
Bar the last 5 mins that was brutal...uneventful would be the word

Are you really surprised its uneventful

08-07-2018, 02:55 PM
We desperately need Boyle to be fit. Transforms the team in that wing back position.

08-07-2018, 02:58 PM
I ve see a lot worse pre season friendlies than this to be fair their goalie worked harder than ours. Lewis with a fantastic tackle to deny Blackburn. It’s not fantastic but it’s far from dull.

08-07-2018, 02:59 PM
Are you really surprised its uneventfulNot really as a rule I hate friendlies but here for Paul Hanlon more than anything. Think what it does show is we still need another 2 or 3 in...and that without the impending loss of SJM who has been our best player. Worryingly Flo doesn't look fit to me which is a concern with the Euro tie looming

08-07-2018, 03:00 PM
Not a lot going on, but we've more than matched Blackburn.

08-07-2018, 03:03 PM
Not really as a rule I hate friendlies but here for Paul Hanlon more than anything. Think what it does show is we still need another 2 or 3 in...and that without the impending loss of SJM who has been our best player. Worryingly Flo doesn't look fit to me which is a concern with the Euro tie looming

Imo Flo really came on to a game when Allan joined last season. They linked up really well. Hopefully he can strike up an understanding with Mallan as he looks a bit isolated today.

I would hope so

Laidlaw on for Bogdan and Boyle for Ambrose at HT. Whole new 11 for Blackburn it looks like.

Much stronger Blackburn side out for the 2nd half.

08-07-2018, 03:04 PM
Craig Conway, a player I know!

08-07-2018, 03:04 PM
Craig Conway, a player I know!

Charlie Mulgrew at centre half as well.

08-07-2018, 03:06 PM
Who put the nets up??? [emoji23]

08-07-2018, 03:07 PM
Good goal

08-07-2018, 03:07 PM
Fantastic goal from Conway.

08-07-2018, 03:08 PM
Why is marv wearing 22 this half??

08-07-2018, 03:09 PM
Absolute peach by conway

When does Paul get his token penalty? Or does this not happen in testimonials anymore??

Mulgrew hits the post with a free kick.

Much stronger Blackburn side out for the 2nd half.

Noticeable right from the first whistle as well. We’re lacking here.

08-07-2018, 03:10 PM
Mulgrew (?) hits post with free kick.

tartanhibee
08-07-2018, 03:11 PM
When does Paul get his token penalty? Or does this not happen in testimonials anymore??

I’m in ff5 upper doesn’t look like we have a penalty spot

I would hope so

Looking like a long second half

tartanhibee
2-0

Well, ****.

2-0

2-0. Poor defending from us and Laidlaw was slow to come off his line.

08-07-2018, 03:12 PM
Daft changes from Lennon. We were very secure at the back then He takes off Efe and we lose all shape.

08-07-2018, 03:12 PM
:eyes:

08-07-2018, 03:13 PM
Surely a foul on gray in the buildup?

Ken it's just a friendly but we've looked incredibly poor & created nothing after the first 5mins

Shot by Flo at an angle straight at the keeper. Should have squared it to shaw.

Have to be careful here.....

A heavy defeat is no good

Not at the game today as heading into work this afternoon for a few hours, but I just walked past the stadium and counted 16 folk leaving the East Stand at half time and streaming down Hawkhill Avenue. Is it really that brutal?

08-07-2018, 03:14 PM
Hibs getting taught a lesson here. Huge difference in the sides this half, Blackburn at least a yard quicker than us and moving it well.

08-07-2018, 03:15 PM
Blackburn have been a lot better but a wonder goal then a ricochet after a decent save gave them 2 goals. On another day Shaw would have scored his 2 1v1s

Shaw tries to chip the keeper but doesn't lift it high enough.

Shaw missed our best chance there. One on one again and tried to lob the keeper. Keeper just got to it.

Shaw needs to be finishing these chances at this level. Kamberi off it too. Very much a pre season game.

08-07-2018, 03:16 PM
Terrible miss from shaw

Great ball in by Boyle misses everyone. Better the last few mins.

I hope this faroese team are rank as we look well.off the pace here

08-07-2018, 03:17 PM
Kamberi’’s final ball very poor here today.

08-07-2018, 03:17 PM
Shaw needs to be finishing these chances at this level. Kamberi off it too. Very much a pre season game.

Only 4 days until our first competitive game though let's hope we look a little better than this

08-07-2018, 03:19 PM

Pre season friendly

08-07-2018, 03:19 PM

They'll need to be. A lack of other pre season games tells me we have planned to use the games against the Faroese side as warm up for the Greek games. We'll need to play better than this on Thursday no matter how bad they are.

08-07-2018, 03:20 PM
Mallan and Slivka on for McGinn and Swanson.

08-07-2018, 03:21 PM
Mallan and Slivka on.

08-07-2018, 03:21 PM
Pre season friendly

Which is fine in terms of the result. But you want to see something encouraging in the performance and it’s been dire for an hour.

08-07-2018, 03:22 PM

They will probably give us quite a fright.

08-07-2018, 03:23 PM
Blackburn have been a lot better but a wonder goal then a ricochet after a decent save gave them 2 goals. On another day Shaw would have scored his 2 1v1s

Again it's just a pre-seasom friendly but we say this far too often when it comes to our younger players. Need to take these chances when they come.

08-07-2018, 03:26 PM
Mallan looks no bad.

Couple of half chances there with flo involved in both. Poor final ball and poor finishing so far from us.

Which is fine in terms of the result. But you want to see something encouraging in the performance and it’s been dire for an hour.

The problem is all our players are hoping to be involved on Thursday, no one's going to risk injury. Blackburn on the other hand can put 2 teams out & tell them all to give everything for 45 minutes with no downside. We do know though that a lot of our creativity & pace last season came from players not currently at ER.

08-07-2018, 03:27 PM
Mallan seems to be playing the typical number 10 role with Bartley and Slivka behind him.

08-07-2018, 03:30 PM
Whittaker and Simon Murray on for Shaw and Gray.

08-07-2018, 03:33 PM
Bartley and stevenson off for scott martin and sean mackie.

08-07-2018, 03:35 PM
We need something else in midfield before the season starts. Bartley is good at what he does but shouldn’t play every week IMO.

08-07-2018, 03:37 PM
Brief i know, but Mallans touch looks a level above

08-07-2018, 03:38 PM
The seagulls are back.

08-07-2018, 03:38 PM
Blackburn now just happy to let us have the ball. 0-2 up shut up shop it seems. They could go up a gear imo.

08-07-2018, 03:39 PM
Boyle doesn't look interested

08-07-2018, 03:39 PM
How is slivka doing?

08-07-2018, 03:40 PM
The problem is all our players are hoping to be involved on Thursday, no one's going to risk injury. Blackburn on the other hand can put 2 teams out & tell them all to give everything for 45 minutes with no downside. We do know though that a lot of our creativity & pace last season came from players not currently at ER.

I don’t think they’d get injured by passing the ball to each other or being a bit more positive with it. We’ve looked really poor, simple as that. The players we’ve lost hurts us and that’s really shown today.

08-07-2018, 03:42 PM
I don’t think they’d get injured by passing the ball to each other or being a bit more positive with it. We’ve looked really poor, simple as that. The players we’ve lost hurts us and that’s really shown today.100% no pace or creativity whatsoever ...we look.pedestrian

I don’t think they’d get injured by passing the ball to each other or being a bit more positive with it. We’ve looked really poor, simple as that. The players we’ve lost hurts us and that’s really shown today.

Definitely need a few more creative bodies in

Oh dear.... Least likely player ever to look disinterested.

Are you here watching it? If you are it's pretty clear

badabing67
08-07-2018, 03:43 PM
Getting nervy about the euro qualifier now

08-07-2018, 03:43 PM

Dunno, i think he's been our main threat this half.

08-07-2018, 03:44 PM
Dunno, i think he's been our main threat this half.

He's hugged the touch line and barely moved for me.

08-07-2018, 03:44 PM
100% no pace or creativity whatsoever ...we look.pedestrian

Midfield been anonymous all game with the exception of Mallan who's just come on. Too many players just walking about with no real interest in moving into space and looking for the ball. Holiday mode still for most it seems.

08-07-2018, 03:46 PM
Midfield been anonymous all game with the exception of Mallan who's just come on. Too many players just walking about with no real interest in moving into space and looking for the ball. Holiday mode still for most it seems.

Seem to have lost our drive as soon as mcginn went off, think we'll need to get used to that though

08-07-2018, 03:48 PM
Nothing much has happened the last 10/15 mins. Typical friendly really.

08-07-2018, 03:50 PM
0-2 ft

08-07-2018, 03:50 PM
FT

May i be the first to say:

Booooooooooo

08-07-2018, 03:51 PM
[QUOTE=B.H.F.C;5457750]I don’t think they’d get injured by passing the ball to each other or being a bit more positive with it. We’ve looked really poor, simple as that. The players we’ve lost hurts us and that’s really shown today.[/QUOTE

I understand but sometimes the mindset takes over. It shouldn't I agree but as long as we're better on Thursday that's all that matters.]

08-07-2018, 03:53 PM
FT

May i be the first to say:

Booooooooooo

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkHaha it wasn't great that's for sure...need to be much improved for Thurs night

08-07-2018, 03:54 PM
It wasn't as bad as some were making out. We were unlucky not to score.

08-07-2018, 03:55 PM
Slightly concerned about the Europa tie now, we were very poor. Very slow and pedantic and created nothing through much play, got some chances through long balls. Dare I say it, we just seemed to play long balls in hope and seemed to be devoid of someone dropping deep to build play. I miss McGeouch...

Why does Slivka always look like he is very nervous/about to trip over the ball? He obviously has talent but his touches always look so awkward.

Craigmount Hibs
Ryan Porteous and Fraser Murray not in the squad again. Either/both injured?

Don’t really read too much into the results in pre season. We’ve still got players to come in as we’re lacking badly in central midfield, out wide and up front. We should still have enough to get through the first euro tie (hopefully).

08-07-2018, 03:57 PM
Ryan Porteous and Fraser Murray not in the squad again. Either/both injured?

They not rested after the Toulon tournament?

08-07-2018, 04:02 PM

What a ridiculous comment. What you basing that on?

08-07-2018, 04:04 PM
What a ridiculous comment. What you basing that on?

The fact he looked as he couldn't be bothered making runs into the acres of space down his side

H18S NX
08-07-2018, 04:05 PM
I thought young Mackie looked ok when he came on.

08-07-2018, 04:05 PM
Strange how they seemed to be a yard sharper than us but have just begun pre-season. Our midfield and defence were wide open for parts of the 2nd half. Not having McGinn and McGeouch in there is hugely debilitating.

08-07-2018, 04:06 PM
Are you here watching it? If you are it's pretty clear

Yes. It's a pre-season game. It's early in his recovery. Big match on Thursday so this is nothing more than a glorified training session. To say he doesn't look interested is fundamentally wrong.

I've been to countless games like these over the years. They're pretty much all the same.

08-07-2018, 04:07 PM
Yes. It's a pre-season game. It's early in his recovery. Big match on Thursday so this is nothing more than a glorified training session. To say he doesn't look interested is fundamentally wrong.

I've been to countless games like these over the years. They're pretty much all the same.

Ok

08-07-2018, 04:07 PM
The fact he looked as he couldn't be bothered making runs into the acres of space down his side

So you gave him his team talk? Here's me thinking Lennon provides instructions to players.

08-07-2018, 04:08 PM
So you gave him his team talk? Here's me thinking Lennon provides instructions to players.

Give it a rest mate, we're all entitled to our opinion

08-07-2018, 04:08 PM
Ok

I answered you're question. If you want to be arsey that's fine mate. Your posts tell me all I need to know.

08-07-2018, 04:09 PM
Give it a rest mate, we're all entitled to our opinion

Ok

08-07-2018, 04:09 PM
I answered you're question. If you want to be arsey that's fine mate. Your posts tell me all I need to know.

Fantastic

08-07-2018, 04:11 PM

He was our main threat after he came on. Put a couple of cracking balls in and never gave up. Not interested? Utter pish.

08-07-2018, 04:13 PM
He was our main threat after he came on. Put a couple of cracking balls in and never gave up. Not interested? Utter pish.

Agree .... he had a few good runs and we looked far more dangerous.... remember he is still working his way back from a torn hammy

08-07-2018, 04:15 PM
Pretty much highlights our 3 main weakest areas. Midfield, wide and up front. Don’t know what to expect this Thursday. If Runavík scouts were there watching, I’m sure they will be informing the Runavík players and coaches that we are there for the taking if play well. I hope we keep McGinn until at least this Thursday as we look poor without him. Mallan looks like he will be a very good player for us once he is up to speed. Kamberi, I’m unsure if he looks unfit or is missing having both Allan & Maclaren next to him:

Definitely need 3-4 reinforcements in but I trust NL and the board to bring the right ones in

08-07-2018, 04:17 PM
Plenty players not fit yet. We had a few chances tbh and they really only had 2. Midfield not out of 2nd gear whole game. Hopefully we can show a bit more when it counts.

08-07-2018, 04:23 PM
Caught the second half on Facebook. Was a typical pre season friendly. Not a lot of action and boring possession football. Kamberi tried to get involved and have a few shots but he looked off the pace. Another 90 minutes under their belts before the real tests begin. Thought dack for Blackburn was heads and shoulders above anyone else on the park second half

08-07-2018, 04:23 PM
Wasn’t much of a game. We were the better side first half and Shaw should have scored. They pressed more at the start of the second half, Conway scored a great goal then the defence was missing although Laidlaw was unlucky. Shaw’s second one on one with the keeper was a worse miss than the first. Loads of subs then disrupted things and the match died a death. Swanson was lively first half and Kamberi was better in the second half.

A lot more urgency needed on Thursday which I’m sure there will be.Still light upfront and in midfield which I’m sure will be addressed.

08-07-2018, 04:25 PM

:agree: absolutely mate. Pre season games are murder - should be free to get in to them.

08-07-2018, 04:27 PM
:agree: absolutely mate. Pre season games are murder - should be free to get in to them.

Would have been the worst testimonial ever for Hanlon though.

08-07-2018, 04:29 PM
Started ok and knocked the ball about well enough.

Shaw missed two sitters but we didn’t offer much beyond that.

We were slow on the ball but that’s to be expected when you have the likes of Gray and Bartley instead of the players we had at the end of last season. Thought Bartley actually did ok but just not required in that system IMO.

We need another striker.

I think Mallan will be thrown in on Thursday as Swanson was pretty non existent.

08-07-2018, 04:32 PM
From Hibs point of view:

Passing: poor
Decisiveness: very poor
Cohesion: non-existent

Other than that it was a decent match.

08-07-2018, 04:34 PM
Would have been the worst testimonial ever for Hanlon though.

It was a pre season game badged as a testimonial.

08-07-2018, 04:37 PM
It was a pre season game badged as a testimonial.

I know, I was being a dick 😊

Would have been over priced as a game on its own, the fact we have another game on Thursday made it a complete non starter for me.

Should have been £10 for adults (£15 max) and £5 for kids.

Squirrel 1875
08-07-2018, 04:42 PM
Bed-wetting after losing a pre-season friendly to a club in the English Championship. Calm down, we should have been a couple up at halftime with Shaw's chances.

Thought Mallan and Mackie did well when they came on, livened play up a bit.

08-07-2018, 04:43 PM
Agree .... he had a few good runs and we looked far more dangerous.... remember he is still working his way back from a torn hammy

Exactly. A major injury - especially for a guy who relies so much on his pace. Some folk tend to overlook such minor details though.

jax67
08-07-2018, 04:45 PM
Big positive for me was SDG. When he was deployed in the back three he looked good. Put in a few great challenges.
Big Marv looked lean and mean, also made more mid range passes today than I’ve seen from him since he came to Hibs. Made a few fouls but that tends to happen at this stage of pre-season.

08-07-2018, 04:47 PM
I don't think I've ever seen us play a game at this stage of the season and look anything other than rusty.

It's normally from this point on that we start to pick up a bit, the work over the past few weeks pays off.

It was a kickabout on a swelteringly hot day.

I'll freak if we don't beat the Faroese team, but I don't think there is any chance that we will fail to beat them.

Folk need to chill out a bit.

08-07-2018, 04:47 PM
Ref was brutal.

Constantly blowing his whistle for small little fouls, especially a lot in Blackburn’s favour.

08-07-2018, 04:49 PM
Big positive for me was SDG. When he was deployed in the back three he looked good. Put in a few great challenges.
Big Marv looked lean and mean, also made more mid range passes today than I’ve seen from him since he came to Hibs. Made a few fouls but that tends to happen at this stage of pre-season.

Thought the back three was poor when Gray went in there. All over the shop at the start of the second half after cruising in the first.

Agree Marv did ok. Just not needed in that system for me.

08-07-2018, 04:51 PM
Efe was best player for us. Very assured and looked sharp.

08-07-2018, 04:54 PM
I know, I was being a dick 😊

Would have been over priced as a game on its own, the fact we have another game on Thursday made it a complete non starter for me.

Should have been £10 for adults (£15 max) and £5 for kids.

:agree: I hate pre season games - fell into the trap a few time’s and always come away disappointed.

08-07-2018, 04:56 PM
Typical early pre season against a very decent Blackburn, touch a bit off, brains not quite up to speed yet. Thought Shaw did well apart from the 2 misses but his movement was good, Slivka looked decent when he came on but a wee bit disappointed in Swanson, did nothing of note and looked very lightweight. Good to see Gray back and he looked comfortable at CH, Boyle looked raring to go and had a couple of good runs but again 1st touch off a bit, still early pre season though. Thought Martin looked solid when he came on and may be a wee surprise for a few folk, likes a 50-50 challenge like Stevenson. 😁

08-07-2018, 05:08 PM
First time I have ever seen a water break in Scottish football

08-07-2018, 05:16 PM
Decent workout but we still look a bit off the pace.
We really need replacements for Mcginn and McGeogh. I don’t think Slivka will ever be able to control a midfield and we will need better than Bartley most weeks.
Mallan, Allan and Swanson all do the same job and I can see Swanson moving on.

stevie-bee
08-07-2018, 05:28 PM
With Mallan in,
do we still need Scott Allan both seem to play in the same area of the pitch and Swanson there as back up

08-07-2018, 05:30 PM
Big Marv looked lean and mean, also made more mid range passes today than I’ve seen from him since he came to Hibs. Made a few fouls but that tends to happen at this stage of pre-season.Opinions ah I thought Big Marv was awful tbh and way off the pace. Love the big guy but I think his days may be numbered at Hibs mate...he just doesn't fit in a 3 5 2 imo

08-07-2018, 05:34 PM
Did we look like a team ready for European competition?

08-07-2018, 05:37 PM
Did we look like a team ready for European competition?

Depends on the level. We’ll beat the Faroes team I’m sure.

We need to add in the final third though or going much further will be difficult.

08-07-2018, 05:41 PM
I still don't like 3-5-2, prefer 4-3-3 and get Boyle on the ball attacking with place, all very pedestrian today and all through the middle, Gray and Stevenson are not wingbacks.

08-07-2018, 05:42 PM
Decent workout but we still look a bit off the pace.
We really need replacements for Mcginn and McGeogh. I don’t think Slivka will ever be able to control a midfield and we will need better than Bartley most weeks.
Mallan, Allan and Swanson all do the same job and I can see Swanson moving on.

What job does Swanson do?

08-07-2018, 05:45 PM
I still don't like 3-5-2, prefer 4-3-3 and get Boyle on the ball attacking with place, all very pedestrian today and all through the middle, Gray and Stevenson are not wingbacks.

Your last sentence brings back memories of Stubbs last season, obviously there was a terrific outcome from that season but the constant attempt to have all our width from those two simply didn’t work.

I think we can get away with Lewis as a wing back if it’s Boyle on the other side but not the both of them.

I think Lennon knows that though and we’ll only play 3-5-2 in the right circumstances, and there are games it works.

Horses for courses and all that.

08-07-2018, 05:50 PM
With Mallan in,
do we still need Scott Allan both seem to play in the same area of the pitch and Swanson there as back up

Yep we do need Allan .... he is absolutely outstanding and he and Mallan with the right player in behind them will definitely create. Not sure who but I’m sure Whittaker could play this role if we don’t have the budget after buying Allan and McLaren and potentially a winger.

Don’t think we will have Allan in by Thursday and Mallan still looks short of fitness but I’d be inclined to throw him in with Whittaker and McGinn (Slivka if he’s gone)

jax67
08-07-2018, 06:01 PM
Thought the back three was poor when Gray went in there. All over the shop at the start of the second half after cruising in the first.

Agree Marv did ok. Just not needed in that system for me.

When Gray went into the back three we were playing against a fresh eleven and were under pressure. I still thought he was a plus.

08-07-2018, 06:10 PM
Lennon won’t be a happy man after that

08-07-2018, 06:11 PM

I think he’ll be encouraged with some of it.

08-07-2018, 06:30 PM
I think Blackburn had their 2nd 11 out in the 1st half, they were a different team in the 2nd half.

08-07-2018, 06:32 PM

He certainly was not a happy man during it.

08-07-2018, 06:34 PM
We bossed the first half and their keeper made 2 or 3 decent saves. Second half their first 11 all played and we didn't spot that the pace would pick up that quickly. Apart from Boyle - we played the same team as the first half so had already extended quite a bit of effort. NL then set about bringing subs on in pairs. Danny S and Flo guilty of keeping the ball too long on occassion, Ollie should have had a least one goal. Good seeing Boyle back - he did cause problems - so not sure where he was disinterested - although he as possibly guilty of giving Conway too much space at the first. Heroic effort from Laidlaw to prevent the second. David Gray excellent in the back three second half and felt Slika did pretty well in a tougher midfield. Good to see Scott Martin and Seam Mackie given a runout. Stevie Mallens first dead ball right on the head of Darren who then mistimed his header. Some promising beginnings in there. Since the Faroese can't change teams at half time I'm not sure we'd be in for the second half we got today regardless of the score.

BegbieHSC
08-07-2018, 06:46 PM
No sure about SJM’s MOTM award. Thought he played (understandably) like a player desperate to avoid an injury.

08-07-2018, 06:49 PM
A bad performance today was probably a good thing, rarely under Lennons tenure has it happened two games in a row. If it means us coming out the traps a bit quicker on Thursday with a point to prove it can only be a good thing.

08-07-2018, 06:51 PM
A bad performance today was probably a good thing, rarely under Lennons tenure has it happened two games in a row. If it means us coming out the traps a bit quicker on Thursday with a point to prove it can only be a good thing.

The second half was poor, the first half was OK.

We created some chances. It’ll need to be better obviously but don’t think it’s the end of the world.

08-07-2018, 06:55 PM
No sure about SJM’s MOTM award. Thought he played (understandably) like a player desperate to avoid an injury.

or maybe told not to pick up an injury :wink:

18Craig75
08-07-2018, 07:01 PM
Any interview with the gaffer or is he continuing his vow of silence [emoji14]

08-07-2018, 07:05 PM
We won about 10 games in a row playing 3-5-2 and folk still don't rate it?

Best formation for our current team by a distance.

Greenworld
08-07-2018, 07:05 PM
What was the attendce

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

08-07-2018, 07:09 PM
I thought it was a really good fitness exercise today and you could tell that players were just shaking off the cobwebs of summer and perhaps not wanting to get an injury for these next Euro qualifiers. First half was nice and neat, with Efe, Daz and Paul Hanlon strolling it and Oli Shaw unlucky not to score when clean through. It lacked a No.10 playing behind the front pairing today as there was too much of a gap between midfield and Flo/Oli. Flo in particular was having to drop very deep which isn't his game.

Second half I thought Blackburn were excellent for the opening 10 minutes, helped I have to say by slackness in our midfield and Boyle playing too high when we were not in possession. Conway's goal was however a cracker. Saying that, at 2-0 we stepped up again and could have quickly got back into the game had Oli lifted his shot a little higher over the keeper. Some good flashes of skill from Flo and Boyle and Lewy really needs to have the confidence to strike a ball first time when it comes to him in the box on an angle...........why did he need to control and take a touch ? :rolleyes:

For me it was a decent game for fitness but showed we need another 4 players in minimum - and quicker the better to get them up to speed. Thought Sean Mackie did really well when he came on - that lad is a unit !! Think if he gets his head down and works hard we could have a real gem there :aok:

Weir07
08-07-2018, 07:11 PM
I think Blackburn had their 2nd 11 out in the 1st half, they were a different team in the 2nd half.

That's exactly what I said at the game. Although we didn't cover ourselves in glory, I thought Blackburn looked a really decent team after the break, will be interested to see how their season pans out, suspect threatening the play offs. Hibs were ordinary but expect a better performance on Thursday, good to see McGinn 100% commited.

08-07-2018, 07:26 PM
First time I have ever seen a water break in Scottish football

You weren’t at Raith Rovers a few years back when the match was abandoned at half time after a torrential downpour then?

08-07-2018, 07:27 PM
Hibs players said it was really warm playing today, god knows how they’ll feel if we play in Greece

08-07-2018, 07:28 PM

We said the exact opposite at the game. Thought he was going in to challenges that we thought he wouldn’t to keep himself from getting injured.

08-07-2018, 07:29 PM
Players got a kicking from Lennon and rightly so. The season has started. Work your bollox of or expect to be dropped. Thursday is no walkover.

08-07-2018, 07:31 PM

We were very solid at 352. Lost 2 goals as soon as we went back 4.

08-07-2018, 07:31 PM
We won about 10 games in a row playing 3-5-2 and folk still don't rate it?

Best formation for our current team by a distance.

With the right players 3-5-2 is a cracking formation, and I think we have the personnel to make it work.

08-07-2018, 07:35 PM
With the right players 3-5-2 is a cracking formation, and I think we have the personnel to make it work.

I agree.

It doesn't work great with Bartley, or with Gray and Stevenson providing the width.

Bartley is excellent in front of a back 4, Gray and Stevenson are excellent with players in front of them.

Any formation can work if you have the right players in the right places.

Apart from 4-6-0.

08-07-2018, 07:37 PM

We never went to a back 4. Gray went in to Efe’s position and Boyle came on at wing back.

08-07-2018, 07:38 PM
I agree.

It doesn't work great with Bartley, or with Gray and Stevenson providing the width.

Bartley is excellent in front of a back 4, Gray and Stevenson are excellent with players in front of them.

Apart from 4-6-0.

Up until a few months ago, I’d have agreed on Stevenson at wing back. But in the second half of last season he was superb there. The quality of his delivery was so much better. It needs Boyle on the other side though.

08-07-2018, 07:43 PM
I agree.

Apart from 4-6-0.

I'd agree that Bartley isn't suited to it. Which is a shame, as I'm a big Bartley fan.

I actually think Stevenson plays the role well, and combined with Boyle you have two wingbacks that will run all day - which is key to the formation.

I think our best line up, as things stand is:

Rocky/Bog
Ambrose McGregor Hanlon
Boyle Mallan Slivka McGinn Stevenson
Kamberi Shaw

We'll probably need to replace McGinn, and we probably should replace Shaw this year.

Whittaker and Swanson could also be deployed in a couple of those positions too.

08-07-2018, 07:50 PM
I thought Craig Conway looked outstanding today also heard he is a big HIBS man !

Ex Scotland international might be worth keeping tabs on but might still be beyond our budget.

08-07-2018, 07:53 PM
Their 2nd goal is certainly a pre season goal, our defence was non-existent.

08-07-2018, 07:54 PM
I thought Craig Conway looked outstanding today also heard he is a big HIBS man !

Ex Scotland international might be worth keeping tabs on but might still be beyond our budget.

Scored an absolute beauty and looked good.

08-07-2018, 07:56 PM
We never went to a back 4. Gray went in to Efe’s position and Boyle came on at wing back.

We 100% went 442. Daz and Paul struggled when the wing backs pushed up and we left gaps. Worse when Whitts came on

08-07-2018, 07:58 PM
We 100% went 442. Daz and Paul struggled when the wing backs pushed up and we left gaps. Worse when Whitts came on

We lined up with a back 3 at the start of the second half. 100%. I was sitting right in line with it.

Boyle was right wing back. Stevenson left. With the same 3 in the middle as the first half.

08-07-2018, 07:58 PM
Funny how people see it differently, genuinely thought we stayed with back 3 - Gray just slotted in for Efe did he not? Thought Boyle and Stevenson were wingbacks?

08-07-2018, 07:59 PM
Their 2nd goal is certainly a pre season goal, our defence was non-existent.

To be fair Gray was definitely fouled

08-07-2018, 08:00 PM
Funny how people see it differently, genuinely thought we stayed with back 3 - Gray just slotted in for Efe did he not? Thought Boyle and Stevenson were wingbacks?

Definitely the case from where I was sitting.

08-07-2018, 08:34 PM

Goalie made a hash of it had it then allowed it to spill from his grasp certainly will not help his confidence. VAR will tell the truth !

08-07-2018, 08:37 PM

True, don’t want me be overly critical but Hanlon and Stevenson’s side of the pitch was wide open. I couldn’t believe the space that opened up for them, that’s why I said it looked like a pre season goal. I’d be pulling out my hair if I saw that during the league campaign...

08-07-2018, 08:44 PM
We lined up with a back 3 at the start of the second half. 100%. I was sitting right in line with it.

Boyle was right wing back. Stevenson left. With the same 3 in the middle as the first half.

Definite back 3 in the second half.

08-07-2018, 08:50 PM
True, don’t want me be overly critical but Hanlon and Stevenson’s side of the pitch was wide open. I couldn’t believe the space that opened up for them, that’s why I said it looked like a pre season goal. I’d be pulling out my hair if I saw that during the league campaign...
Lenny definately was! Only a preseason friendly but a lot of hard work ahead big game on Thursday !

Partyraiser
08-07-2018, 09:02 PM

I agree, we were much better with the 352. Also as soon as we went to 4 and took Effie off we stopped playing football from the back. I'm glad the speculation about him leaving has seemed to die down!

08-07-2018, 09:03 PM
A preseason match and a testimonial all rolled into one is the equivalent of a christmas pantomime performance...something to take the family along to for a change but not for the serious theatre fan looking for some avant garde Shakespearean drama by a touring troupe of Outer M0ngolian throat singers.

08-07-2018, 09:07 PM

Looked like it, the ref looked like he was about to give it then changed his mind - I actually thought the ref might have thought the Blackburn player was fouled then gave the advantage.

For me, it should have been our free kick.

Partyraiser
08-07-2018, 09:13 PM
Definite back 3 in the second half.

Lol my dad and I saw it as going to a back 4 but we were in the famous 5 end of the west lower! I think that just shows we were set up really badly:confused:

08-07-2018, 09:17 PM
Lol my dad and I saw it as going to a back 4 but we were in the famous 5 end of the west lower! I think that just shows we were set up really badly:confused:

:agree: That is what it shows, our shape at the back was not great in the 2nd half. Especially for the first 10-15mins. Think the players were still working out if it was a back 3 or 4.

08-07-2018, 09:19 PM
Back 3.

08-07-2018, 10:01 PM
I thought it was a really good fitness exercise today and you could tell that players were just shaking off the cobwebs of summer and perhaps not wanting to get an injury for these next Euro qualifiers. First half was nice and neat, with Efe, Daz and Paul Hanlon strolling it and Oli Shaw unlucky not to score when clean through. It lacked a No.10 playing behind the front pairing today as there was too much of a gap between midfield and Flo/Oli. Flo in particular was having to drop very deep which isn't his game.

Second half I thought Blackburn were excellent for the opening 10 minutes, helped I have to say by slackness in our midfield and Boyle playing too high when we were not in possession. Conway's goal was however a cracker. Saying that, at 2-0 we stepped up again and could have quickly got back into the game had Oli lifted his shot a little higher over the keeper. Some good flashes of skill from Flo and Boyle and Lewy really needs to have the confidence to strike a ball first time when it comes to him in the box on an angle...........why did he need to control and take a touch ? :rolleyes:

For me it was a decent game for fitness but showed we need another 4 players in minimum - and quicker the better to get them up to speed. Thought Sean Mackie did really well when he came on - that lad is a unit !! Think if he gets his head down and works hard we could have a real gem there :aok:

I couldn't believe how much he's grown in the past 2 seasons, he was working on the sidelines a couple of years ago and looked like a wee laddie then, today he's about 5-6in taller and about a stone heavier, very impressive when he played also.

08-07-2018, 10:04 PM

We didn't play a back 4, Gray and then Whittaker played right sided CH in a back 3 with Boyle as a wingback.

08-07-2018, 10:07 PM
:agree: That is what it shows, our shape at the back was not great in the 2nd half. Especially for the first 10-15mins. Think the players were still working out if it was a back 3 or 4.

It was more a case of Blackburn having better players on the pitch in the second half who went about their business much better than they did in the first half.

08-07-2018, 10:09 PM
I'd agree that Bartley isn't suited to it. Which is a shame, as I'm a big Bartley fan.

I actually think Stevenson plays the role well, and combined with Boyle you have two wingbacks that will run all day - which is key to the formation.

I think our best line up, as things stand is:

Rocky/Bog
Ambrose McGregor Hanlon
Boyle Mallan Slivka McGinn Stevenson
Kamberi Shaw

We'll probably need to replace McGinn, and we probably should replace Shaw this year.

Whittaker and Swanson could also be deployed in a couple of those positions too.

Why the hell would we replace Shaw who has done well when he's played and is a real prospect.

08-07-2018, 10:26 PM
You weren’t at Raith Rovers a few years back when the match was abandoned at half time after a torrential downpour then?

https://g.co/kgs/VvuCp4

08-07-2018, 10:29 PM
Why the hell would we replace Shaw who has done well when he's played and is a real prospect.

I meant replace him as being part of the first 11. Not entirely replace him. I.e. sign another striker to partner Kamberi this season.

08-07-2018, 10:42 PM
We don’t need to replace shaw. He won’t be a starter.

08-07-2018, 10:47 PM
We don’t need to replace shaw. He won’t be a starter.

He currently is a starter, and so needs replaced for now. That's what I meant.

08-07-2018, 11:05 PM
We were ok in the first half and could have been ahead, but the 2nd half was a different matter, we were second to most loose balls and Blackburn's play was sharper and their passing far better with their players finding yards of space in midfield. When we did get into their box we didn't do anything with the possession we had.

I never get too bothered about pre season friendlies win or lose, but what was concerning was our apparent lack of cohesion, as pointed out by another poster, and the fact that nobody stood out .. though I thought Efe was good when he was on and McGinn did well for the first half hour, not much use to us going forward unless by some miracle he stays for the season.

Judging by the standards we have set over the last two seasons we are looking for a team capable of far far better than what we saw today, in all honesty it was all rather insipid and half assed even if it was a pre season match ….. I am not looking to pick on him, but Danny Swanson's performance reminded me of what he showed at the start of last season and that doesn't bode well for him, or us, if we are looking for him to fill one of the considerable gaps left by McGinn ( when he goes ), McGeouch or Allan.

Shout out to the ref … I don't think I've ever seen Hibs penalised so many times for nothing challenges as we were in that game, if it had been a serious match the crowd would have been going mental.

On to Thursday ….. Part timers from a country more famous for slaughtering Whales than football they might be, but if we repeat anything like that performance against Runavik we will make life far more difficult than it needs to be.

09-07-2018, 05:24 AM
Today showed that we are short of the quity we need as iur starting 11 ..up front, right side either as right wingback or right back, midfield strength and a second quality forward..today let us see why Bartley got little game time, he takes the pace out of our play, Gray is struging to be at the pace of this game now, young Oli needs time to develop at this level and not be played and pressured too early.
Crack on recruitment team ..oh and a quick wide player to add to what Boyle gives

09-07-2018, 05:31 AM
He currently is a starter, and so needs replaced for now. That's what I meant.

Agreed. If we want to do anything this year he can’t be a starter at this stage in his development. Judging on yesterday and just by looking at the squad, we’re still at least 3 starting players short. 4 when McGinn goes.

09-07-2018, 06:23 AM
Agreed. If we want to do anything this year he can’t be a starter at this stage in his development. Judging on yesterday and just by looking at the squad, we’re still at least 3 starting players short. 4 when McGinn goes.

:agree: As it stands, we would really struggle with injuries and suspensions.

09-07-2018, 06:30 AM
:agree: As it stands, we would really struggle with injuries and suspensions.

Agreed. IMO we need:

Someone to replace Jamie Maclaren (ideally Maclaren himself)
Someone to replace Dylan
Someone to replace Barker (possibly Horgan? Would love to see Barker back though)
Someone to replace McGinn when he most likely goes

And I’d also love to see Allan back but I don’t reckon he replaces any of the outgoing players. Even then, without Dylan and SJM were going to be significantly weaker. It’s a big ask to have a side as good as last season looking at where we are just now because to be honest, we’re not even particularly near it.