View Full Version : Sky sports news Celtic bid for McGinn turned down

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10

24-07-2018, 05:40 PM
It's such a temptation to get involved here.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

24-07-2018, 05:41 PM
It won't - it will add to the Atmosphere.......

Doesn't need added to on here at the moment, there's No Love Lost between folk. Bordering on Disorder at times, simple threads go from sensible to chaos in Twenty-Four Hours, decent posters making you think (S)he's Lost Control. Hibs better step up and make some signing or else this New Dawn Fades.

The state of your pre-season when so many Joy Division songs titles are relevant...

24-07-2018, 05:42 PM
[coughs politely]

Eh.. Any news on the McGinn bid..?If you kept up with the maths puns, you could have worked out the solution to that yourself.

24-07-2018, 05:42 PM
I'd be all over this like a rash under normal circumstances, but I think Miles Hypothesis's team got knocked out in the last round by FC Parentheses and they subsequently sacked their manager Trigo Nometri who was a mate of mine so I'm out.You're wrong. They were knocked out by Isosceles triangle FC. Just couldn't find an angle to beat them.

24-07-2018, 05:44 PM
[coughs politely]

Eh.. Any news on the McGinn bid..?

Don’t bother with the polite bit........Could someone mail me when the threads back on track so i don’t have to wade through pages of puns.

24-07-2018, 05:46 PM
...when the threads back on track

I like your train of thought.

21sMay
I've just had a text saying mcginn deal to Celtic will be done tonight . source normally spot on . no idea of how much

Mcpakeisgod
Don’t bother with the polite bit........Could someone mail me when the threads back on track so i don’t have to wade through pages of puns.

Amen

24-07-2018, 05:51 PM
Doesn't need added to on here at the moment, there's No Love Lost between folk. Bordering on Disorder at times, simple threads go from sensible to chaos in Twenty-Four Hours, decent posters making you think (S)he's Lost Control. Hibs better step up and make some signing or else this New Dawn Fades.

The state of your pre-season when so many Joy Division songs titles are relevant...
Ignore the moaning minnies - they have Dead Souls.......

24-07-2018, 05:55 PM

brilliant

24-07-2018, 05:55 PM
Why don't you guys make a separate "Let's moan about puns" thread?

It'll probably run to about 3.14592 pages.

24-07-2018, 05:58 PM

I didn't realise the Joy Division and maths puns had hit the buffers, but I respect your attempt to take us down a different route.

24-07-2018, 05:59 PM
brilliant

I knew you wouldn't like it, but I'm glad I plucked up the carriage to post it.

24-07-2018, 05:59 PM
Why don't you guys make a separate "Let's moan about puns" thread?

It'll probably run to about 3.14592 pages.

It would only really make sense with a few pi charts to illustrate what is going on though.

24-07-2018, 06:00 PM
I've just had a text saying mcginn deal to Celtic will be done tonight . source normally spot on . no idea of how much

What other bits of info has your source mentioned that’s been spot on? Just curious, asking for a friend. Thanks for sharing

ehf
24-07-2018, 06:04 PM
[coughs politely]

Eh.. Any news on the McGinn bid..?

It's getting Closer.

24-07-2018, 06:08 PM
Deal will be done in the next Twenty Four Hours though it seems like it's taken Decades.......

24-07-2018, 06:16 PM
zzzzzzzzzz

24-07-2018, 06:16 PM

Heard the same rumour but who knows?

McIntosh
24-07-2018, 06:23 PM
Fourth bid in

24-07-2018, 06:26 PM
Same she-ite the zombies were putting out when they were making laughable offers for Allen

24-07-2018, 06:26 PM
Fourth bid in
Lets hope it is the right one from Hibs point of view.

24-07-2018, 06:32 PM
Tell them we'll look at it on Friday morning after the Asteras match. We need him on Thursday.

Wakeyhibee
24-07-2018, 06:34 PM
Tell them we'll look at it on Friday morning after the Asteras match. We need him on Thursday.

Agree, in fact don't come back until we're out of Europe

24-07-2018, 06:42 PM
Fourth bid in

2 million, a Mars bar and day pass to Coatbridge's famous Time capsule?

24-07-2018, 06:44 PM
If we were really 24 hours from a deal being done, the main stream media would have picked up on it by now.

They’ve been ahead of our itk’ers all summer on this story.

24-07-2018, 06:46 PM
If we were really 24 hours from a deal being done, the main stream media would have picked up on it by now.

They’ve been ahead of our itk’ers all summer on this story.
Not sure if you were referring to my comment Bingo, but if you were I can tell you weren't a Joy Division fan...... :greengrin

24-07-2018, 06:46 PM
Fourth bid in

£2.1M and a packet of crisps and a green and white bar scarf and a coupon for a free day out at Motherwell Theme Park and a promise that they'll think about releasing Scott Allan from his contract next year if we don't take any points off them this season and they get first refusal on Kamberi. And if we don't accept it then we're just bitter because we owe them for being so nice to their wee cousins.

ChicoM1875
24-07-2018, 06:47 PM
I imagine this is how the negotiations are going.

https://youtu.be/st2a1X8CUSc

24-07-2018, 06:48 PM
Not sure if you were referring to my comment Bingo, but if you were I can tell you weren't a Joy Division fan...... :greengrin

I am, I’m just terrible at puns.

Love will tear us apart.

24-07-2018, 06:49 PM
£2.1M and a packet of crisps and a green and white bar scarf and a coupon for a free day out at Motherwell Theme Park and a promise that they'll think about releasing Scott Allan from his contract next year if we don't take any points off them this season and they get first refusal on Kamberi. And if we don't accept it then we're just bitter because we owe them for being so nice to their wee cousins.

They could improve this offer. Take away the day out in Motherwell and it's a deal.

24-07-2018, 06:52 PM
If going ahead tonight with a big game coming up on Thursday we really need a player coming in. Could it be Allan?

24-07-2018, 06:56 PM
2 million, a Mars bar and day pass to Coatbridge's famous Time capsule?

It’s a deep fried mars bar [emoji39]

24-07-2018, 06:59 PM
It’s a deep fried mars bar [emoji39]

That someone's already had a bite out of! :greengrin

24-07-2018, 07:00 PM
We better be getting Scott Allan as part of this deal. Unless we’re just deciding to forget about midfield this season.

24-07-2018, 07:02 PM
We better be getting Scott Allan as part of this deal. Unless we’re just deciding to forget about midfield this season.

Scott Allan will be done closer to the window closing Imo.

We need a replacement for Mcgeouch more urgently, if there is anybody we can get from Celtic on loan that could play that role I’d rather we went down that route.

24-07-2018, 07:03 PM

We need a replacement for Mcgeouch more urgently, if there is anybody we can get from Celtic on loan that could play that role I’d rather we went down that route.

I agree and I've been saying the boy Kouassi could be the answer

24-07-2018, 07:06 PM
Fourth bid in

are you sure?

24-07-2018, 07:07 PM
I agree and I've been saying the boy Kouassi could be the answer

That’s his name!

Yes, that’s who I was thinking of too. Would be pretty happy if we could get him on loan and then buy Scott Allan on a permanent deal later in the window.

24-07-2018, 07:07 PM

:agree: McGeouch is the key loss from last season.

Losing him has been huge and we really need to try and replace him.

24-07-2018, 07:11 PM
Think people are just making stuff up now.

24-07-2018, 07:14 PM
News for Fifers who are taking the bus to ER and getting a lift back home.

Fourth bid in

Queensferry Crossing back.

ShadesLongThrow
24-07-2018, 07:15 PM
Think people are just making stuff up now.

Now? I must have missed the fact based stuff on the thread!

24-07-2018, 07:17 PM
Now? I must have missed the fact based stuff on the thread!

Tbf the first 3 bids were fact.

ShadesLongThrow
24-07-2018, 07:19 PM
Tbf the first 3 bids were fact.

Fair point mate.

24-07-2018, 07:21 PM
If going ahead tonight with a big game coming up on Thursday we really need a player coming in. Could it be Allan?

Really hope we have a player or 2 coming in by tomorrow if McGinn is away.

24-07-2018, 07:22 PM
Bid rejected. Garandsleed.

Liane is taking no prisoners.

24-07-2018, 07:37 PM
£2.05 million, a macaroon bar, a denture and a weekend at Flamingoland by the way big man.

24-07-2018, 07:37 PM

Aye when will we sign a midfielder ffs?

24-07-2018, 07:44 PM
I am, I’m just terrible at puns.

Love will tear us apart.

Waiting for the live "Transmission" on BBC website.. but just hope that LD's not in the position that "She's Lost Control" of the situation!!

24-07-2018, 07:46 PM
I can't see anything anywhere else that says a 4th bid has been made / laughed at / rejected / pitied

24-07-2018, 07:57 PM
The 3rd bid was reportedly made prior to the game in Runavik but the first we heard of it was Sunday night.

24-07-2018, 08:01 PM
Size 5 mitre delta, a mitre mouldmaster and 12 trackies is what I’ve heard..... to go with the first bid!

24-07-2018, 08:05 PM
I can't see anything anywhere else that says a 4th bid has been made / laughed at / rejected / pitied

But our ITKer seemed so sure.:rolleyes:

24-07-2018, 08:19 PM
Size 5 mitre delta, a mitre mouldmaster and 12 trackies is what I’ve heard..... to go with the first bid!

Still got a mouldmaster imprint on my thigh from 1989

24-07-2018, 08:20 PM
Still got a mouldmaster imprint on my thigh from 1989

You and me both. Can still here the ‘ping’ as it blootered off my leg! 🤣

24-07-2018, 08:23 PM
You and me both. Can still here the ‘ping’ as it blootered off my leg! 🤣

While playing on a red ash pitch mid winter 😮

24-07-2018, 08:25 PM
While playing on a red ash pitch mid winter [emoji50]

Indeed. It was always Baltic too!

24-07-2018, 08:27 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2975252/john-mcginn-celtic-brendan-rodgers-hibs-transfer-news-bids/

24-07-2018, 08:27 PM
Indeed. It was always Baltic too!

Ah, the good old days 🤣

24-07-2018, 08:29 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/2975252/john-mcginn-celtic-brendan-rodgers-hibs-transfer-news-bids/

Take it or leave it basically.

24-07-2018, 08:30 PM
Ah, the good old days 🤣

You forgot.....when I was a lad!!

24-07-2018, 08:31 PM

it doesn't really say that though - does it...it says at some point they "may" need to walk away

24-07-2018, 08:32 PM

Once Celtic are out the running English clubs will come forward so that’s fine with me.

24-07-2018, 08:33 PM

He’s a prick. Clearly them making moves to unsettle McGinn and push him to put a transfer request in IMO.

24-07-2018, 08:36 PM
Think BR is being a bit disrespectul openly talking about it IMO. Shouldn’t be talking about other teams players.

24-07-2018, 08:36 PM

He said the same a wee while ago. Fake news.

24-07-2018, 08:37 PM
I remember that prick last season going on about not talking about players who are contracted to other clubs.

Seems to have had a change of mind on this subject?

Greenworld
24-07-2018, 08:37 PM
But our ITKer seemed so sure.:rolleyes:3 million or so is hee haw down south the puzzle is how not one club has bid or have they ?

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

24-07-2018, 08:39 PM
3 million or so is hee haw down south the puzzle is how not one club has bid or have they ?

They’ll be waiting to see how it pans out with Celtic, they’ll know the players first choice is going there sonwhole there’s a chance of that happening there’s no point in getting involved in negotiations.

If Celtic pull out the running, English teams will step in, I’m sure of it.

24-07-2018, 08:40 PM
BR is a bawbag as are the rest of the folk at the club.

Wakeyhibee
24-07-2018, 08:40 PM

Now is the time, walk away! So long as SJM is professional as he has been through 2 windows of speculation, I'd rather he signed a pre contract in January. Let Hibs get on with our business in Europe as far as we can go. I'd rather Hibs showed ambition however relative than a balance sheet.

I know this maybe unrealistic in today's terms but I support Hibernian FC not Hibernian Asset Management Ltd

24-07-2018, 08:43 PM
Think BR is being a bit disrespectul openly talking about it IMO. Shouldn’t be talking about other teams players.

I’d like to see Hibs make comment on this - guy is a total arse who thinks Scottish football revolves around him and Celtic. Needs to be told to zip it.

24-07-2018, 08:44 PM

Pay off Scott Allan plus pay us the 2m and get it done cheapskates. This needs to be over.

24-07-2018, 08:44 PM
Now is the time, walk away! So long as SJM is professional as he has been through 2 windows of speculation, I'd rather he signed a pre contract in January. Let Hibs get on with our business in Europe as far as we can go. I'd rather Hibs showed ambition however relative than a balance sheet.

I know this maybe unrealistic in today's terms but I support Hibernian FC not Hibernian Asset Management Ltd

You seriously think Hibs will bank the money so it shows up in a balance sheet approx. 15 months from now?

24-07-2018, 08:54 PM
I remember that prick last season going on about not talking about players who are contracted to other clubs.

Seems to have had a change of mind on this subject?

Thats because they are not getting it all their own way this time.

Wakeyhibee
24-07-2018, 08:57 PM
You seriously think Hibs will bank the money so it shows up in a balance sheet approx. 15 months from now?

Sorry i put it poorly. Would rather have a professional SJM in the team for Europe at this time than money in the bank for players who have yet to fit in. A bird in the hand.... The draw has been kind to us (hard though it maybe), it doesn't come around often.

24-07-2018, 08:59 PM

Not at all. It's a nothing article.

You can tell from the answer that he has been asked 'do you think you may have to walk away from a McGinn deal if you can't agree a price?'

There's only one way he can answer.

24-07-2018, 09:01 PM
Sorry i put it poorly. Would rather have a professional SJM in the team for Europe at this time than money in the bank for players who have yet to fit in. A bird in the hand.... The draw has been kind to us (hard though it maybe), it doesn't come around often.

Fair play to you for coming back with that.

I'd also gamble just now with playing SJM in Europe in the hope we can get through more rounds.

24-07-2018, 09:02 PM
A reminder of why I hate those arrogant barstewards!

https://thecelticblog.com/2018/07/blogs/rod-petrie-thinks-hes-a-funny-guy-i-wonder-if-hibs-shareholders-are-laughing/

24-07-2018, 09:05 PM

https://thecelticblog.com/2018/07/blogs/rod-petrie-thinks-hes-a-funny-guy-i-wonder-if-hibs-shareholders-are-laughing/

This was discussed earlier today on this thread, Callum.

24-07-2018, 09:12 PM
Pay off Scott Allan plus pay us the 2m and get it done cheapskates. This needs to be over.

Id take that to be honest. I think it would give us the money to become a better overall team than we are now.

24-07-2018, 09:13 PM

I'd also gamble just now with playing SJM in Europe in the hope we can get through more rounds.

:agree: While he's our player, he has to play for us and do his best.

Something i'm sure he'd do anyway, as he's our player and could still be our player until the end of this coming season.

24-07-2018, 09:14 PM

It's a loser's gamble.

John McGinn could tear his hamstring. He could break his leg.

Our keeper could throw one in his own net at any stage in any game. We could miss a penalty.

Is it really worth forgoing £2m for in the hope that we could get to the group stages in our first attempt?

If money was no object, and we could afford to replace McGeoch, Allen, MacLaren and, in 10 months, McGinn, I'd still be reluctant, but in our actual financial situation, I think it would be madness.

24-07-2018, 09:21 PM

Has anyone seen any clips of the supposed interview with Rod Petrie committing the heinous crime of smiling?

24-07-2018, 09:27 PM
This was discussed earlier today on this thread, Callum.

Fair enough [emoji106] it’s hard work trying to keep up with all these transfer threads with not much happening [emoji6]

majorhibs
24-07-2018, 09:36 PM
3 million or so is hee haw down south the puzzle is how not one club has bid or have they ?

Was it not reported couple weeks ago Southern clubs were asking to be “kept informed” on developments, watching this from afar I was taking that to mean player/agent wants if possible only to go to tic, passed on by them to interested parties, if no deal then it’s a bidders market? I am also surprised at no bids whatsoever from England! Have they been told 1 destination only preferred?

24-07-2018, 09:38 PM
It's a loser's gamble.

Our keeper could throw one in his own net at any stage in any game. We could miss a penalty.

Is it really worth forgoing £2m for in the hope that we could get to the group stages in our first attempt?

If money was no object, and we could afford to replace McGeoch, Allen, MacLaren and, in 10 months, McGinn, I'd still be reluctant, but in our actual financial situation, I think it would be madness.

But it wouldn’t just be Europe.

The business case is fairly compelling, but the football one is saying the opposite. 2 million, minus St Mirren’s fee and other deductions isn’t as persuasive.

24-07-2018, 09:39 PM
It's a loser's gamble.

As it stands we would be foregoing £1.3 m nett. I doubt if that would replace McGeouch, Allan, McLaren and McGinn.

24-07-2018, 09:40 PM
It's a loser's gamble.

just over 1M net...would make that up by a decent league position....I don't really care about the finance tbh...would rather see him play for us for another season...sure he will go though.

Wakeyhibee
24-07-2018, 09:41 PM
It's a loser's gamble.

You could also argue it's gamble to play for a European place to not give yourself the best chance of some relative success when you go get ther. selling now to me makes it harder. we won't win the league with the money we get. It's only an opinion.

24-07-2018, 09:42 PM
As it stands we would be foregoing £1.3 m nett. I doubt if that would replace McGeouch, Allan, McLaren and McGinn.

agree with this strongly.

it's simple economics

lawwell needs to make it worth our while and currently he's offering a Ford fiesta price for a purring range rover

24-07-2018, 09:44 PM

Exactly

If Mc Ginn can cope with the strain of seeing his contract out, then we have the services of a dynamic midfielder for the nexr season.

This squad is only a few signings away from being one of the best in many decades, I’m not so desperate to see the sale of the heartbeat of the team.

24-07-2018, 09:45 PM
Rodgers sounding very much like Warburton when he wanted Allan.

"We aren't going to talk about other clubs players"

Before then going onto talk about another clubs player.

24-07-2018, 09:49 PM
Exactly

If Mc Ginn can cope with the strain of seeing his contract out, then we have the services of a dynamic midfielder for the nexr season.

This squad is only a few signings away from being one of the best in many decades, I’m not so desperate to see the sale of the heartbeat of the team.

I go along with that, but in my opinion it might not turn out that way. I think Brenda’s take it or leave it threat is a smokescreen. I honestly thing they are desperate to get McGinn now and a bigger bid will come in.

24-07-2018, 09:52 PM
It’s important to show that we don’t roll over when Celtic whistle.

24-07-2018, 09:54 PM
If they really want him then stop increasing your bid by 250k a time 🤬 it’s insulting to us and John McGinn

24-07-2018, 09:55 PM
Rightly or wrongly i get the impression the club would rather have the player for the remainder of his contract, than sell for £2m?

I wonder if we still have him for this season, he'd sign an extension to guarantee Hibs and St Mirren their money next summer should this scenario happen?

24-07-2018, 09:56 PM
It’s important to show that we don’t roll over when Celtic whistle.
Tell them to BOLT !!!

Gerard
24-07-2018, 10:04 PM
As I see it, Celtic want SJM but will not pay the premium price that is required to permit the transfer to their club. He is a very important player to our club and at this time we badly need him. If Celtic were serious about wanting to get him now then just pay the 4 million pound or pay 3 million pound, and include Scott Alan and a quality loan player in that price. Celtic will get a premium player and Hibs will get a fair amount of money and a badly needed boost to our playing squad. I am sure that Rod M Petire will not dare to smile at Celtic when they offer the correct bid. If it makes them feel better, I am sure that he could burst into tears when he receives this correct offer from Celtic.:wink::wink:

LeithMike
24-07-2018, 10:24 PM
Having read that Celtic blog about Petrie just trying to be difficult and insinuating a breach of fiduciary duty by not acting in the interests of the shareholders, I'd like to do something to back the club's stance over SJM. Is there any way I can make a one off donation to HSL with some kind of reference so that they know that the donation is because of the club refusing to sell John to Celtic for their derisory offers?

It would be good if a kitty could be built up by HSL and given to the club to assist offering SJM a better contract or to compensate the club a little if he moves for free at the end of his contract.

PS - you would think awareness that 1/3rd of the transfer fee is going to St Mirren would mean that Celtic would be offering a bit more than the going rate. By offering £2m they are really offering Hibs £1.2m and I would have thought Hibs would have to pocket at least £2m before even considering which would mean an offer of £3m would be the minimum.

24-07-2018, 10:28 PM
You could also argue it's gamble to play for a European place to not give yourself the best chance of some relative success when you go get ther. selling now to me makes it harder. we won't win the league with the money we get. It's only an opinion.

Is he really that good that he can't be replaced adequately?

Ach, what will be, will be.

24-07-2018, 10:33 PM
I predict he will go for between 2.5 and 2.75 mill plus SA and Christie. If we except an offer, if not he will sign a pre-contract in Jan.

Wakeyhibee
24-07-2018, 10:44 PM
Is he really that good that he can't be replaced adequately?

Ach, what will be, will be.

In time he will be, right now I don't think so, que sera, let's hope Hibs win :)

Austinho
24-07-2018, 11:24 PM
Having read that Celtic blog about Petrie just trying to be difficult and insinuating a breach of fiduciary duty by not acting in the interests of the shareholders, I'd like to do something to back the club's stance over SJM. Is there any way I can make a one off donation to HSL with some kind of reference so that they know that the donation is because of the club refusing to sell John to Celtic for their derisory offers?

It would be good if a kitty could be built up by HSL and given to the club to assist offering SJM a better contract or to compensate the club a little if he moves for free at the end of his contract.Good man!

24-07-2018, 11:36 PM
If McGinn runs down his contract then how much do we end up paying St Mirren? 30% of his market value? Could be too expensive for us let that happen surely...

24-07-2018, 11:40 PM
If McGinn runs down his contract then how much do we end up paying St Mirren? 30% of his market value? Could be too expensive for us let that happen surely...

Good question. Probably nothing though.

24-07-2018, 11:44 PM

0 chance. We will pay them nowt.

24-07-2018, 11:45 PM

No we pay nothing as we receive nothing

24-07-2018, 11:50 PM

Running down his contract and moving on as a free agent would mean he hasn't been sold therefore a sell on clause wouldn't come into effect.

Surely no club would ever make an agreement like you've described.

25-07-2018, 12:05 AM
If he walks for nothing, which several people are prepared to accept, do you realise how much his services from 1 September, if he leaves for zip next May, would cost us?

Even if we only achieved £1.3m net after St Mirren's share, knocking it back would mean he's worth £32500 per week to us, plus what he's on now.

Is he really that good?

Caveat; I may have got those figures wrong, sorry if I have, but I divided 1.3m by 40 weeks.

25-07-2018, 12:10 AM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkWe'd pay them nothing.

25-07-2018, 12:59 AM
Maybe Hibs are holding out for a return from LG in return for SJM :greengrin

One can but wish and dream.......

Austinho
25-07-2018, 01:05 AM
Accept Celtic’s £2 million, but get them to loan him back to us for the season. Problem solved :)

25-07-2018, 05:56 AM
Rightly or wrongly i get the impression the club would rather have the player for the remainder of his contract, than sell for £2m?

I wonder if we still have him for this season, he'd sign an extension to guarantee Hibs and St Mirren their money next summer should this scenario happen?Funny that's now the impression I am getting too and LD has said as much in previous interviews...

If he would just sign an extension a la Cummings it means all this could be put to bed for another season at least.

Wishful thinking on my part perhaps

25-07-2018, 06:06 AM

A club whose fans become more Rangers-like by the day.

Fuzzywuzzy
25-07-2018, 06:11 AM
Make more sense to push for a sizeable sell on percentage and accept the £2m

GreenOnions
25-07-2018, 06:25 AM
If he walks for nothing, which several people are prepared to accept, do you realise how much his services from 1 September, if he leaves for zip next May, would cost us?

Even if we only achieved £1.3m net after St Mirren's share, knocking it back would mean he's worth £32500 per week to us, plus what he's on now.

Is he really that good?

Caveat; I may have got those figures wrong, sorry if I have, but I divided 1.3m by 40 weeks.

This is very relevant but these figures go hand in hand with the phrase "all things being equal" - which they rarely are. The impact of SJM staying could easily have as significant an impact on Hibs'future success and finances as the receipt of a transfer fee.

Austinho
25-07-2018, 06:25 AM
Make more sense to push for a sizeable sell on percentage and accept the £2mRisky. What if McGinn’s Celtic career turns out like Allan, Christie, Hayes, Riordan or any of the other good Scottish talent they’ve ruined in the past. Or if he turns out to be the next Scott Brown and has a long career there, eventually retiring or leaving for next to nothing when he’s past it.

Obviously they sold Stuart Armstrong for £7 million, but they’d be a lot more reluctant to do so with McGinn if 2 million of that went to us - same position we’re in at the moment.

25-07-2018, 06:45 AM
Risky. What if McGinn’s Celtic career turns out like Allan, Christie, Hayes, Riordan or any of the other good Scottish talent they’ve ruined in the past. Or if he turns out to be the next Scott Brown and has a long career there, eventually retiring or leaving for next to nothing when he’s past it.

Obviously they sold Stuart Armstrong for £7 million, but they’d be a lot more reluctant to do so with McGinn if 2 million of that went to us - same position we’re in at the moment.

Sell-on clauses are always risky but I'm not sure you can compare McGinn with Allan, Christie, Hayes, Riordan.

Also think he's more ambitious than Brown.

No gaurantees but there's defo a +£10m player there for Southampton in a couple of years :)

25-07-2018, 07:00 AM

Is he really that good?

We need to be willing to stand firm on our transfer negotiations or it will cost us more in the long run.

As it happens I think he'll leave for more than £2m but currently it's about seeing who blinks first.

25-07-2018, 07:02 AM
Sell-on clauses are always risky but I'm not sure you can compare McGinn with Allan, Christie, Hayes, Riordan.

Also think he's more ambitious than Brown.

No gaurantees but there's defo a +£10m player there for Southampton in a couple of years :)
If he was more ambitious than Brown he wouldn't be signing for Celtic.

25-07-2018, 07:03 AM

Unless they're the only club bidding for him?

25-07-2018, 07:04 AM

He could use Celtic as a stepping stone to the EPL. That's what guys like Van Dijk and Wanyama have done.

Edit - And Armstrong , Ki, Forster. Whether we like it or not Celtic is a very attractive move for players as they know if they do well they will get a big money move south.

25-07-2018, 07:05 AM

Is he really that good?

I am in agreement (again).

25-07-2018, 07:08 AM

Exactly. And if they're the only team bidding right now he'd be better staying with us.

25-07-2018, 07:09 AM
Exactly. And if they're the only team bidding right now he'd be better staying with us.

As much as I’d love that to be true it’s not.

25-07-2018, 07:11 AM
Accept Celtic’s £2 million, but get them to loan him back to us for the season. Problem solved :)

Decent shout

GreenOnions
25-07-2018, 07:17 AM

I'm not sure I agree. The Armstrong situation alone illustrates the value that English clubs place on a player showing he can perform at a good level in the Champions League which SJM would probably have the opportunity to do at Celtic. So - if he'd like to play at a higher level in England or abroad it could help him.

I also don't subscribe to the view that McGinn would spend a lot of time on Celtic's bench if he goes there. Once he settled in I believe he'd be a regular starter

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
25-07-2018, 07:18 AM
This is very relevant but these figures go hand in hand with the phrase "all things being equal" - which they rarely are. The impact of SJM staying could easily have as significant an impact on Hibs'future success and finances as the receipt of a transfer fee.

Plus, it's not costing us that amount. We might lose out on gaining that amount, but that's not the same as it being a cost to us.

I'm not saying it's wrong to sell him, but ultimately the value to us of Hibs is a good team, and mcginn makes us a better team.

We all had to endure the 'infrastructure' years where the club rightly prioritised long term building.

I'm now glad that we seem to be putting having a strong team on the park above all else - £1.3m in the bank gets us nothing, having mcginn makes us a better team. So I back Hibs, hold out for good money or keep him for a year and let him leave as a free agent next summer.

GreenOnions
25-07-2018, 07:30 AM
Plus, it's not costing us that amount. We might lose out on gaining that amount, but that's not the same as it being a cost to us.

I'm not saying it's wrong to sell him, but ultimately the value to us of Hibs is a good team, and mcginn makes us a better team.

We all had to endure the 'infrastructure' years where the club rightly prioritised long term building.

I'm now glad that we seem to be putting having a strong team on the park above all else - £1.3m in the bank gets us nothing, having mcginn makes us a better team. So I back Hibs, hold out for good money or keep him for a year and let him leave as a free agent next summer.

Also - if we were able to hold onto John for the final year of his contract what a boost it would be to hear "We've still got McGinn, Super John McGinn ...." at Easter Road 😊

patlowe
25-07-2018, 07:33 AM

I dislike them as much as the next Hibs fan but I personally don't get why people think signing for Celtic is showing a lack of ambition. You get to play in front of 60k fans every week, likely get Champions League experience and a guaranteed Scotland start. Do well for a couple of years and the English Premier League is suddenly a direct option, meaning you can skip the period of having to mix it with cloggers in the English lower leagues. There's nothing to suggest he would stay at Celtic for the rest of his career like Scott Brown, not that I see anything wrong with that.

25-07-2018, 07:36 AM

Is he really that good?

When it comes down to it, I never started loving football because of the value for money clubs would get for players, or for thinking about balance sheets and accounts etc, as important as they are for running a club.

What I want to see is the best players we can manage to get and keep at the club, playing for Hibs. Who cares how much SJM costs of we have him here for the season?! He's one of the best players in the country, if he stays as sees out his contact we should be delighted, imho.

25-07-2018, 07:41 AM
The problem here is if he stays when he wants to go history suggests it won't end well. We will go through it all again in January with Celtic trying to get him for a pittance.
It could be argued his form dipped a bit last season compared to the previous two so it just seems like it's time for him to spread his wings.
It might take a little longer but we will get a bid in eventually that we are able to accept.

25-07-2018, 07:44 AM
Decent shout

Why would they pay us £2m then give him back for the season when they can get him for nothing in Jan? He either gets sold very quickly or he goes for nothing.

25-07-2018, 07:48 AM
It's a loser's gamble.

Out of interest, why would you be reluctant if money was no object, HR? Do you not rate McGinn that highly?

25-07-2018, 07:49 AM
Why would they pay us £2m then give him back for the season when they can get him for nothing in Jan? He either gets sold very quickly or he goes for nothing.

They can't get him for nothing in January. Wish people would stop saying that.

Caversham Green
25-07-2018, 08:04 AM

Is he really that good?

You'd have to deduct the total cost of a replacement from that. Plus, we'd be very lucky to find a replacement that's as good as McGinn for the sort of price we could pay so you would also have to factor in undefinable costs such as dropped points, cup exits, loss of feelgood factor and potentially a pissed-off Neil Lennon. I'll probably get chucked out of the Accountants Brotherhood for saying this but it's not just about hard cash.

The board obviously put McGinn's total value to the club at more than £2m. If for the sake of argument they put it at £3m accepting Celtc's current offer would effectively be handing £1m over to the richest and second most obnoxious club in the country.

25-07-2018, 08:13 AM

My point was that Celtic would represent a good stepping stone towards a bigger club. Higher profile outwith Scotland and Champions League football etc.

Ambitious players (Scottish and foreign) have shown this. Brown was happy to see out his career there. I have a feeling McGinn has a wider perspective on his footballing career.

25-07-2018, 08:17 AM

But Celtic can get him for nothing in Jan?

25-07-2018, 08:18 AM
You'd have to deduct the total cost of a replacement from that. Plus, we'd be very lucky to find a replacement that's as good as McGinn for the sort of price we could pay so you would also have to factor in undefinable costs such as dropped points, cup exits, loss of feelgood factor and potentially a pissed-off Neil Lennon. I'll probably get chucked out of the Accountants Brotherhood for saying this but it's not just about hard cash.

The board obviously put McGinn's total value to the club at more than £2m. If for the sake of argument they put it at £3m accepting Celtc's current offer would effectively be handing £1m over to the richest and second most obnoxious club in the country.

We definitely wouldn’t be able to replace McGinn with somebody who is as good as him but would we be a better team if we got £2m and Scott Allan and used our portion of the £2m (£1.2m) to bring in say Jamie Maclaren and Mulumbu? I think we would be.

25-07-2018, 08:20 AM

wrong

25-07-2018, 08:24 AM
wrong

Correct. They can get him for nothing in Jan. He can't play for them until June, but they can still get him for £0 in Jan.

No one actually thinks he can leave for nothing in Jan. Unless they've been on the moon for the last 20 odd years.

25-07-2018, 08:28 AM
We definitely wouldn’t be able to replace McGinn with somebody who is as good as him but would we be a better team if we got £2m and Scott Allan and used our portion of the £2m (£1.2m) to bring in say Jamie Maclaren and Mulumbu? I think we would be.

You make it sound so easy.

25-07-2018, 08:29 AM
You make it sound so easy.

Of course I’m just using they two as examples. But we’d have enough money to bring in a couple of bodies to significantly improve a couple of positions in our starting line up. Throw in Scott Allan aswell and I think if the money wasn’t squandered we’d be a better side for it.

25-07-2018, 08:30 AM
When it comes down to it, I never started loving football because of the value for money clubs would get for players, or for thinking about balance sheets and accounts etc, as important as they are for running a club.

What I want to see is the best players we can manage to get and keep at the club, playing for Hibs. Who cares how much SJM costs of we have him here for the season?! He's one of the best players in the country, if he stays as sees out his contact we should be delighted, imho.

I agree.

And other than when we sold Scott Allan, what is our track record like at improving our team when we've taken in a big fee for a player? Pretty abject I would say, and I don't wet myself in anticipation like some do about filling in the corners at ER or building a covered pitch at East Mains.

I'd be gutted to miss out on another year with SJM if we weren't going to get the right price for him - the right price as we call it, not Celtic.

25-07-2018, 08:31 AM
Correct. They can get him for nothing in Jan. He can't play for them until June, but they can still get him for £0 in Jan.

No one actually thinks he can leave for nothing in Jan. Unless they've been on the moon for the last 20 odd years.

They CAN'T 'GET' him in January, they can sign him on a pre contract but he is still a Hibs player until June. Celtc can't play him because he isn't registered with them until AFTER his Hibs contract is complete. Hibs CAN play him between January and June because he is contracted to Hibs and registered with Hibs.

25-07-2018, 08:31 AM

Spend every penny on bringing Barker back. Wouldn't help build our squad but would keep me very happy :greengrin

25-07-2018, 08:34 AM
Spend every penny on bringing Barker back. Wouldn't help build our squad but would keep me very happy :greengrin

He was an absolute joy to watch at times.

25-07-2018, 08:38 AM
Celtc CAN NOT get SJM for nothing in January. He can sign a pre contract to join them next season but if they want him in January they would still have to pay Hibs a transfer fee (granted it will be much reduced)

25-07-2018, 08:41 AM
They CAN'T 'GET' him in January, they can sign him on a pre contract but he is still a Hibs player until June. Celtc can't play him because he isn't registered with them until AFTER his Hibs contract is complete. Hibs CAN play him between January and June because he is contracted to Hibs and registered with Hibs.

Relax mate. Might want to check your caps lock as that read like you were intermittently shouting.

I know how pre-contracts work. My point was around a previous poster using the term 'get'. Of course he would be a fully registered to Hibs until the last day of his contract. He would therefor be playing for Hibs during the remainder of his contract.

But surrounding all the speculative chat about transfer fees I merely suggested that Celtic could get him for free in January. I they want to play him from January they would have to pay us a fee.

There. Glad that's all cleared up. :agree:

25-07-2018, 08:41 AM

How much will they pay for him in Jan? £0. We sell now or admit we get nothing when his contract runs down.

25-07-2018, 08:43 AM
Celtc CAN NOT get SJM for nothing in January. He can sign a pre contract to join them next season but if they want him in January they would still have to pay Hibs a transfer fee (granted it will be much reduced)

So if SJM signs a pre-contract in Jan, then signs for them say end of June. How much will they have got him for from us? To the nearest £? :confused:

25-07-2018, 08:43 AM

Now I'm imagining Buzz Lawwell and Woody Petrie, Leeann Dempster as gung-ho Jessie...

Buzz Lawwell: "To infinity and beyond"

Woody Petrie: "Ahhh Buzz, you won't even make it past Rosenborg now, let alone In-Fin-I-Teeee"

Jessie: "Shoulda signed Super John when you had the chance, Space Boy, where you been these last 20 years..."

25-07-2018, 08:44 AM
How much will they pay for him in Jan? £0. We sell now or admit we get nothing when his contract runs down.

Thank you :aok:

25-07-2018, 08:44 AM
Now I'm imagining Buzz Lawwell and Woody Petrie, Leeann Dempster as gung-ho Jessie...

Woody Petrie: "Ahhh Buzz, you won't even make it past Rosenborg now, let alone In-Fin-I-Teeee"

Jessie: "Shoulda signed Super John when you had the chance, Space Boy, where you been these last 20 years..."

25-07-2018, 08:46 AM
So if SJM signs a pre-contract in Jan, then signs for them say end of June. How much will they have got him for from us? To the nearest £? :confused:

The end of June is not January . They can sign him for free in June , if they want him in their team in January then they will have to pay

25-07-2018, 08:47 AM
The end of June is not January . They can sign him for free in June , if they want him in their team in January then they will have to pay

Ffs

25-07-2018, 08:51 AM

Suppose it just depends on your definition of get him. Id say they get him in the summer when he can actually play for them. If they want to get him in January then they’d have to pay.

Bit like if I bought a new car. I can sign the contract for the car today but I won’t get it until I go to pick it up a few days later. They can sign SJM in January but they won’t get him until he’s their player. He’d still be our player until the summer.

25-07-2018, 08:52 AM
ZERO! Signs proper contract with the smellies 1/7/2019

25-07-2018, 08:53 AM
He could use Celtic as a stepping stone to the EPL. That's what guys like Van Dijk and Wanyama have done.

Edit - And Armstrong , Ki, Forster. Whether we like it or not Celtic is a very attractive move for players as they know if they do well they will get a big money move south.

If SJM does sign for Celtic he will no doubt win a trophy or two. When was the last Scottish young player ( or any player for that matter ) won a league cup with one club the Scottish Cup and championship with another and more than likely the league with another club all in Scotland.

Make no mistake We can say what we want about ambition but SJM will know he will be able to win trophies with Celtic and he can add serious value to his career by choosing wisely. We might not think he is but his stock value will sore at Celtic.

25-07-2018, 08:54 AM
Suppose it just depends on your definition of get him. Id say they get him in the summer when he can actually play for them. If they want to get him in January then they’d have to pay.

Bit like if I bought a new car. I can sign the contract for the car today but I won’t get it until I go to pick it up a few days later. They can sign SJM in January but they won’t get him until he’s their player. He’d still be our player until the summer.

It’s not the point about when he can play for them. People are clearly saying we will get NO money if we wait till Jan. (Unless someone actually wants him then and why would they when they can get him on a pre)

eezyrider
25-07-2018, 08:55 AM

We won't get anything for him from Celtic in January as he won't be going to them in January. He may sign a pre contract with them then but they still can't get him until the end of the contract.
It's at that point they will get him for £0.

EZ

25-07-2018, 09:02 AM
If SJM does sign for Celtic he will no doubt win a trophy or two. When was the last Scottish young player ( or any player for that matter ) won a league cup with one club the Scottish Cup and championship with another and more than likely the league with another club all in Scotland.

Make no mistake We can say what we want about ambition but SJM will know he will be able to win trophies with Celtic and he can add serious value to his career by choosing wisely. We might not think he is but his stock value will sore at Celtic.

Absolutely. His CV will undoubtedly improve. Trophies, European football. Plus he will naturally just get better. Add in to that another 20/30 Scotland caps (complete guess at numbers). He then becomes a very valuable player in 2/3 years from now.

Sell-on clause is a must for me. Another reason I suspect, outwith the actual fee and potential players in return, that this is quite a complex deal to conclude.

heid the baw
25-07-2018, 09:08 AM

Liam Henderson. Didn't win the championship but you can throw in a Norwegian league and cup double 😃

25-07-2018, 09:11 AM
Absolutely. His CV will undoubtedly improve. Trophies, European football. Plus he will naturally just get better. Add in to that another 20/30 Scotland caps (complete guess at numbers). He then becomes a very valuable player in 2/3 years from now.

Sell-on clause is a must for me. Another reason I suspect, outwith the actual fee and potential players in return, that this is quite a complex deal to conclude.

Personally think a sell-on clause will end up being worthless to us, and shouldn’t be added to the agreement at the expense of more money upfront.

25-07-2018, 09:14 AM
It’s not the point about when he can play for them. People are clearly saying we will get NO money if we wait till Jan. (Unless someone actually wants him then and why would they when they can get him on a pre)

Underscore, I'm a big fan but you're defending the indefensible here. Your statement below in bold clearly implies SJM will be available to Celtc in January. If I say I'm getting a haircut tomorrow it doesn't mean I'm booking one for January! :wink: All you had to say was Celtc can sign SJM on a pre contract in January & no one would have argued. Personally I think a lot rides on tonight's game. If Celtc struggle then their fans will go crazy. There's already significant unrest re their lack of transfer activity this window. I think they'll blink first.

Why would they pay us £2m then give him back for the season when they can get him for nothing in Jan?

25-07-2018, 09:24 AM

We didn't win anything last year with him in the team so it's not too much of a stretch to think that we could easily win nothing this season.

He's not worth forgoing £32500 a week for, imo. He won't be paid even close to that if he goes to Celtc and they'll be able to recoup some, if not all, his wages, if they sell him on.

Hopefully we'll find out what's happening soon as the whole business is getting tiresome.

25-07-2018, 09:28 AM
Personally think a sell-on clause will end up being worthless to us, and shouldn’t be added to the agreement at the expense of more money upfront.

You think so? Why worthless? Just curious.

I agree there are no guarantees. He could stay there forever, or leave on a free but sell-on's can be a lucrative bonus a couple of years down the line.

25-07-2018, 09:30 AM

I would agree with you if I thought there was the remote possibility that the money we get for McGinn was going to sit in the bank.

But it won't.

It will be used to buy and pay players to strengthen the team.

Players like MacLaren.

25-07-2018, 09:30 AM

I agree there are no guarantees. He could stay there forever, or leave on a free but sell-on's can be a lucrative bonus a couple of years down the line.

Probably implying that if he does the same as brown, a sell on clause is worthless. I'd have a sell on clause but I'd also have a clause when he reaches X amount of games.

25-07-2018, 09:31 AM
I would agree with you if I thought there was the remote possibility that the money we get for McGinn was going to sit in the bank.

But it won't.

Players like MacLaren.

And pay for the 4g training pitch at E Mains

25-07-2018, 09:34 AM
I've never seen a thread that only has 3 stars beside it

Nice

25-07-2018, 09:35 AM

I just don’t see him leaving Celtic if he goes there, unless he gets an offer too good to refuse (top 6 EPL maybe). I don’t think he’ll quite reach that level of play though.

Caversham Green
25-07-2018, 09:35 AM

But £2m plus Scott Allan is not what's being offered yet. If that deal does come up the board would have to consider whether they could get MacLaren and Mulumbu (or similar players) with whatever's left after St Mirren and McGinn himself have had their cuts. I think the SFA get a percentage as well and of course Farmer takes all the rest according to JKB. They would then have to consider whether the club with those three player but without McGinn is in a better place than the club with McGinn. The answer is probably yes, but can they get it all done?

The bottom line is that the offer currently on the table is simply not good enough and IMO we would be better overall keeping McGinn for another season. That also seems to be the board's view and that of most of the shareholders that the Celtc idiot seems so worried about.

25-07-2018, 09:36 AM
First bid 2nd July

It’s now 25th July and no further forward.

Talk about dragging on

25-07-2018, 09:37 AM
Out of interest, why would you be reluctant if money was no object, HR? Do you not rate McGinn that highly?

If money was no object, I'd reject every bid. I made my previous point poorly.

But it's not. We will need to replace him when he leaves. We need to buy Maclaren, or replace him, we need to replace McGeoch and we want to buy Scott Allen.

Lennon wants to bring good players to Easter Road and they cost.

Selling SJM will help us achieve that.

I'd rather a steady flow of quality players, on longer term contracts, than one good midfielder, for a few months.

Hibs business plan is to buy, develop then sell. I agree with that plan.

25-07-2018, 09:40 AM
The one thing Hibs can’t be accused of is being reckless with finances, so if they deem the offers made by Celtic to not be acceptable to the club, then I’m happy to trust their judgement. I still think McGinn will go during this window, but at a price and deal that satisfies our wishes.

25-07-2018, 09:44 AM

But it's not. We will need to replace him when he leaves. We need to buy Maclaren, or replace him, we need to replace McGeoch and we want to buy Scott Allen.

I'd rather a steady flow of quality players, on longer term contracts, than one good midfielder, for a few months.

I almost agree, I think. I want the business done and Scott Allan (and others) in as soon as we can... but only when we feel Celtic (or someone else) have made the right offer. I guess it's just going round in circles as that sentence is the exact reason this saga, and this thread, are dragging on.

25-07-2018, 09:50 AM
Probably implying that if he does the same as brown, a sell on clause is worthless. I'd have a sell on clause but I'd also have a clause when he reaches X amount of games.

Which could potentially happen. I get where you're coming from.

25-07-2018, 09:53 AM

Petrie would be Potato-head and Lawwell would be Hamm!

25-07-2018, 10:06 AM

In June they would have paid nothing.
In January to the end of the season he would be playing for Hibs and would be our player

Eaststand
25-07-2018, 11:24 AM

Any more news on this yet ?

25-07-2018, 11:37 AM
Underscore, I'm a big fan but you're defending the indefensible here. Your statement below in bold clearly implies SJM will be available to Celtc in January. If I say I'm getting a haircut tomorrow it doesn't mean I'm booking one for January! :wink: All you had to say was Celtc can sign SJM on a pre contract in January & no one would have argued. Personally I think a lot rides on tonight's game. If Celtc struggle then their fans will go crazy. There's already significant unrest re their lack of transfer activity this window. I think they'll blink first.

Why would they pay us £2m then give him back for the season when they can get him for nothing in Jan?

Its semantics. They very clearly will not buy him off us and then give him back to us when they can purchase him on a free in Jan, and he can play for them in July. If they are happy to wait till July for him to play why would they bother giving us £2m and the player back? I still think the deal will happen. And i still think it will be for less money that people are saying but will also include 2 players. But we will never find out as it will be undisclosed.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
25-07-2018, 11:50 AM

But it won't.

Players like MacLaren.

I get that, and I still remember McLeish using the Kenny Miller money to great effect that summer (2001?)

But the transfer market brings a lot less certainty than a player we know well.

I'm all for selling if we get the right cash, but we know as well as anyone that selling x player then spending the cash on replacements is a VERY inexact science.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
25-07-2018, 11:52 AM

When you put it like that, I tend to agree!

As long as the money is right I suppose.

25-07-2018, 11:56 AM

I'm staggered you've had to explain it so simply as I've agreed with all you've said - bar the poorly worded point - we have to sell to invest. And we must develop and sell.

25-07-2018, 11:56 AM
The one thing Hibs can’t be accused of is being reckless with finances, so if they deem the offers made by Celtic to not be acceptable to the club, then I’m happy to trust their judgement. I still think McGinn will go during this window, but at a price and deal that satisfies our wishes.

If a deal is not done by the close of the English window, I think Celtic will then reduce their bid and still expect to get him. If they don’t get him for what they want to pay, they will settle for a pre-contract.

25-07-2018, 12:37 PM
Celtc signing a young midfielder on loan from Man City. Not sure how that’ll affect their McGinn interest.

Godsahibby
25-07-2018, 12:44 PM
Celtc signing a young midfielder on loan from Man City. Not sure how that’ll affect their McGinn interest.

Probably nil impact the Australian boy is a winger.

21sMay
25-07-2018, 12:57 PM
Any more news on this yet ?

not yet m8 . messaged him this morning asking about it and just got a reply saying it's all agreed and he doesn't know what the hold up is. I suppose we will know when the teams announced for game tomoz if he is right.

25-07-2018, 01:31 PM
Brendan Rodgers has been quoted in The Sun today saying "hopefully the clubs can sort it out. But if there comes a point in time where it's not going to happen we might need to walk away"

25-07-2018, 01:40 PM
not yet m8 . messaged him this morning asking about it and just got a reply saying it's all agreed and he doesn't know what the hold up is. I suppose we will know when the teams announced for game tomoz if he is right.

The team bus that goes to the hotel before games leaves usually within the next hour or so from easter road if anyone is free to scoot along and see if SJM is on the bus :cb

25-07-2018, 01:41 PM
The team bus that goes to the hotel before games leaves usually within the next hour or so from easter road if anyone is free to scoot along and see if SJM is on the bus :cb

Will the team be staying in a hotel tonight?

25-07-2018, 01:44 PM
Will the team be staying in a hotel tonight?

The did before the home game v the Faroes so I assume so :aok:

25-07-2018, 01:47 PM
We replaced Allan with McGinn and Henderson last time. We can replace McGinn.

GreenOnions
25-07-2018, 02:40 PM

On another thread it was quoted that UEFA award £250k-£300k for each Europa round in which we participate.

Getting past the Greek side would imply another similar amount.

Could it be that Hibs want SJM for at least the Asteris Tripolis games and then a deal goes through?

25-07-2018, 02:41 PM
Will someone spare a thought for that Fozzy idiot on Kickback. 3 rejected bids from Hibs totally distroys his myth that Hibs have some sort of special relationship with Celtic. He'll be in a dark room somewhere rocking away until a deal is done. #feelforfozzy

25-07-2018, 02:50 PM
On another thread it was quoted that UEFA award £250k-£300k for each Europa round in which we participate.

Getting past the Greek side would imply another similar amount.

Could it be that Hibs want SJM for at least the Asteris Tripolis games and then a deal goes through?

Not much point in him going to Celtic before the league starts, as he couldn't be part of their Champions League qualifying games.

25-07-2018, 03:17 PM
Brendan Rodgers has been quoted in The Sun today saying "hopefully the clubs can sort it out. But if there comes a point in time where it's not going to happen we might need to walk away"

IMO, that is utter bull. His nonchalant attitude is a smokescreen. Celtic are gagging to get McGinn and are keeping their powder dry till the English window closes, when they will hope to see themselves totally in the driving seat. They won’t be walking away and Brenda will be be taking guidance on that from fat Ally. :greengrin

25-07-2018, 03:25 PM

Spoke to John last night at Willowbrae garage, I poted on the MB, he was as expected tight lipped but said he expects to play Thursday. He's a good pro and will do what's right, he said he understands Hibs need to get full value for him, don't think he has eyes only for Celtic.

25-07-2018, 04:33 PM

No they can’t. They can get him on a pre-contract but he will not be able to kick a ball for them for a full year.

25-07-2018, 04:36 PM
I wish that smug fud Rodgers would shut up, he was moaning like mad when Potter spoke about Scott Brown, saying he doesn't talk about other clubs' players.

25-07-2018, 04:43 PM
No they can’t. They can get him on a pre-contract but he will not be able to kick a ball for them for a full year.
He would be able to play for them as soon as his contract with us is finished no? Next summer?

25-07-2018, 04:46 PM
Liam Henderson. Didn't win the championship but you can throw in a Norwegian league and cup double 😃

Yep he did but he’s now moved on from Celtic ( genuine question ) I’ve asked for a player, playing for3 different teams in Scotland but he’s the nearest I can think of to McGinn.

25-07-2018, 04:55 PM

If it boils down to a precontract, events will depend very much on the respective positions of both clubs. For example, if Celtic are out of or struggling in Europe and are not predominant in the league, they might be willing to offer a price for McGinn to strengthen their domestic performances with a view to staying at or getting to the top. From our perspective, we might be in a mediocre position domestically where McGinn’s presence might be not be crucial. Conversely we might be doing well and want to keep McGinn for the run in to the end of the season.

25-07-2018, 05:09 PM
Loved the football-preview on STV's news at six just now - along the lines of -

'Hibs are comfortable with Septic's handling of the transfer-saga over John McGinn but Neil Lennon adds HIBS WON'T BE MOVED ON THE MONEY' !

GIRFUY's :greengrin

25-07-2018, 06:01 PM
He would be able to play for them as soon as his contract with us is finished no? Next summer?

Yep. A full calendar year. Not January.

25-07-2018, 06:07 PM
Would just love McGinn to sign a 3 year deal. With hibs guaranteeing him a move to any club once it meets X amount. Final favour please John.

25-07-2018, 06:21 PM
Would just love McGinn to sign a 3 year deal. With hibs guaranteeing him a move to any club once it meets X amount. Final favour please John.

Only way he would consider that is if he was promised a significant percentage of any transfer fee (which might end up with us getting less than what's offered now). As a free agent in 12 months he will be able to command a pretty healthy signing on fee as clubs would not have to pay a fee for him.

25-07-2018, 06:21 PM
This in Spades!!!
If he has any wish to help us in the money stakes, this would be the way to go!
But, in football its all about opportunity and getting the best deal for No. 1 himself!
Once the transfer window closes, we could have a player that wants to see out his contract, but has no wish to carry on being a Hibs player after that?
Then come the transfer window in January, we could be forced to take a poultry sum to let him move early!!!!
Still prefer your option!!!!

25-07-2018, 06:24 PM
This in Spades!!!
But, in football its all about opportunity and getting the best deal for No. 1 himself!
Once the transfer window closes, we could have a player that wants to see out his contract, but has no wish to carry on being a Hibs player after that?
Then come the transfer window in January, we could be forced to take a poultry sum to let him move early!!!!
Still prefer your option!!!!

Football above anything else is a job , ultimately he will do what's best for him and his family like the vast majority of footballers.

25-07-2018, 06:49 PM
This in Spades!!!
Still prefer your option!!!! HibbyRadge will be along in a bit to tell you that taking a poultry sum would be a cock-up.

25-07-2018, 06:52 PM
HibbyRadge will be along in a bit to tell you that taking a poultry sum would be a cock-up.

Nah he won't - he'll duck the issue.......

25-07-2018, 06:54 PM
Yep. A full calendar year. Not January.

September to May. 9 months.

21sMay
25-07-2018, 07:01 PM
left the village hotel today around 3pm in hibs gear ..... supposedly at Celtic park tonight for the game

25-07-2018, 07:04 PM
At about half past nine tonight Celtic fans will be demanding the biscuit tin be opened.

25-07-2018, 07:07 PM
left the village hotel today around 3pm in hibs gear ..... supposedly at Celtic park tonight for the game

I think we can write this off as nonsense. If he was at Celtic Park, somebody would have seen him.

25-07-2018, 07:11 PM
Celtic getting beat tonight could work in our favour for getting the money we want from them for mcginn

21sMay
25-07-2018, 07:12 PM
I think we can write this off as nonsense. If he was at Celtic Park, somebody would have seen him.

yeah I agree that's why the second part says supposedly . I know for a fact he was at the village hotel in hibs gear though as I seen him pulling out the car park

25-07-2018, 07:12 PM
HibbyRadge will be along in a bit to tell you that taking a poultry sum would be a cock-up.

I'm intrigued by your new tactic of posting a pun, but implying it's actually my fault.

I suspect foul play.

25-07-2018, 07:14 PM

And it would go viral on Twitter.

25-07-2018, 07:14 PM
1 nil rosenberg

25-07-2018, 07:15 PM
Mcginn saga bites them .. less euro money maybe see non sale

25-07-2018, 07:15 PM
I'm intrigued by your new tactic of posting a pun, but implying it's actually my fault.

I suspect foul play.

You’re too chicken-hearted.

25-07-2018, 07:18 PM
Mcginn saga bites them .. less euro money maybe see non sale

maybe the Celticblog will be intérested to know....

...this Hibs shareholder is laughing in my front room.

£4m a week ago could have saved your season lawwell

f*nnies :na na:

AZhibee
25-07-2018, 07:23 PM
Celtic needs Hanlon, or Efe back, or SDG, not SJM...their defense sucks

25-07-2018, 07:29 PM
:rolleyes: 1-1

25-07-2018, 07:33 PM

I can't see Lennon allowing him to disappear to a Celtic game when they're staying at a hotel prior to a Euro cup game, may as well forget the hotel and just let the players do what they want the night before a big game.

25-07-2018, 07:34 PM
Celtic are playing a risky game tbh, all it takes is for minor interest from down south to increase to major and they’ll be priced out of it. Let’s be honest, even if McGinn is dead set on Celtic, if a team down south came in and offered him 15k+ a week I think he’d go down south. He could go to Celtic later in his career if he wanted.

£4m for a club down south is nothing, he will be on lists. The question is if he’ll ever become their favoured target and whether that happens in this window.

seanshow
25-07-2018, 07:34 PM
Whats the rush, imo make celtic wait still 16 days before the english transfer window closes, ironically their transfer window ends on the Europa 3rd Quali round 1st leg,9th August........if we get there.

Im pretty sure their will be a few english clubs interested as we get closer to that date, who knows maybe even a bidding war :greengrin

25-07-2018, 07:35 PM
:rolleyes: 1-1

Booooooooooo!

25-07-2018, 07:36 PM
Because of the SJM saga, I can see Celtic playing hardball with us over Allan if we make a move for him.

25-07-2018, 07:44 PM
Because of the SJM saga, I can see Celtic playing hardball with us over Allan if we make a move for him.

Get someone else on loan for a year and then we can just get Allan for nothing as his contract expires. We should take inspiration from Celtic fans who are saying the same about McGinn.

Let’s hold them to ransom for one of our best players (if not our best) rather than them holding us to ransom for an anonymous player for them.

Hibs should get best deal for McGinn, they should not think about Allan when it comes to this, otherwise Celtic will get McGinn on the cheap.

25-07-2018, 07:50 PM

That’s why we’re not going for him now.

Last day of the transfer window, they have had no other interest in him, and they see the prospect of paying him £9k a week for basically nothing they’ll soon become a lot more agreeable to do a deal.

Gibby the Hibby
26-07-2018, 02:11 AM
Celtic are playing a risky game tbh, all it takes is for minor interest from down south to increase to major and they’ll be priced out of it. Let’s be honest, even if McGinn is dead set on Celtic, if a team down south came in and offered him 15k+ a week I think he’d go down south. He could go to Celtic later in his career if he wanted.

£4m for a club down south is nothing, he will be on lists. The question is if he’ll ever become their favoured target and whether that happens in this window.

I have no doubt that SJM is moving up clubs shortlists every day they miss out on another midfielder, its a tough position to fill, and I think we would def get a bid from down south if we held onto him, but its a risk as to how much it would be, but id be really surprised if 3 mil was not bid by aug 9th if we still have him,

Austinho
26-07-2018, 02:23 AM
I have no doubt that SJM is moving up clubs shortlists every day they miss out on another midfielder, its a tough position to fill, and I think we would def get a bid from down south if we held onto him, but its a risk as to how much it would be, but id be really surprised if 3 mil was not bid by aug 9th if we still have him,This is a very good point. Just as we miss out on our top targets for various reasons, the same thing is happening at every other club up and down the country. Just takes a Derby or Villa to miss out on a player, get nervous and put in a decent bid for McGinn. I'd be surprised if there wasn't a scramble for him on English deadline day.

26-07-2018, 03:04 AM

I think you are absolutely correct.

However I think Mallan is a similar player in style to Allan, and I’m not sure playing them in the same side would contribute to the balance we need in midfield, so it may be that we don’t move for Allan.

26-07-2018, 06:10 AM
Daily Record with a typically mischievous article on match day today.

Apparently sources close to him have revealed he’s going to dig his heels in to make sure he gets his move to his boyhood heroes. He will
be telling the club Celtic are the only club he’ll move to and any efforts to get bids from down south are a waste of time.

The tone of the article is clearly designed to try and cause animosity towards him from the Hibs support. Deliberately not posted a link.

26-07-2018, 06:11 AM
Daily Record with a typically mischievous article on match day today.

Apparently sources close to him have revealed he’s going to dig his heels in to make sure he gets his move to his boyhood heroes. He will
be telling the club Celtic are the only club he’ll move to and any efforts to get bids from down south are a waste of time.

The tone of the article is clearly designed to try and cause animosity towards him from the Hibs support. Deliberately not posted a link.

Written by Keith Jackson, obviously.

26-07-2018, 06:11 AM
Not exactly new but DR running with the line that McGinn has his heart set on Celtic and would be prepared to wait and sign a pre contract in January.

If true is does weaken our position unfortunately. Hopefully something can be worked out soon.

26-07-2018, 06:16 AM
Written by Keith Jackson, obviously.

This the same Keith Jackson that said Scott Allan says was digging his heels in, and would only sign for his boyhood heroes, Sevco?

26-07-2018, 06:23 AM
Take with a pinch of salt, usual OF propaganda from the DR to appeal to their readership. Don’t believe a word printed in that bog roll, infact when I see a Daily Record I don’t believe it is actually is one

sean04
26-07-2018, 06:34 AM
Take with a pinch of salt, usual OF propaganda from the DR to appeal to their readership. Don’t believe a word printed in that bog roll, infact when I see a Daily Record I don’t believe it is actually is one

I don't believe mcginn would do that to us or st.mirren. hibs will sell him this transfer window. When does the English window shut? I think we will try get as far as possible in the Europa then sell him. We're 4 games away from potential earnings of 3/4million

26-07-2018, 06:42 AM
I don't believe mcginn would do that to us or st.mirren. hibs will sell him this transfer window. When does the English window shut? I think we will try get as far as possible in the Europa then sell him. We're 4 games away from potential earnings of 3/4million

Not long left for the English bids to come in, think their window closes on the 9th of August. I agree that he’ll end up at Celtc once we’re out of Europe.

26-07-2018, 06:44 AM

Big game tonight.

Looking for goals from Mcginn, Mallan and Flo and a big performance from Bogdan.

Mon the Hibs and good luck to our talented midfield (Inc Sjm)!

26-07-2018, 07:00 AM

It's 6 games mate 2 more qualifying rounds then a play off

huggie1875
26-07-2018, 07:05 AM
Whats the rush, imo make celtic wait still 16 days before the english transfer window closes, ironically their transfer window ends on the Europa 3rd Quali round 1st leg,9th August........if we get there.

Im pretty sure their will be a few english clubs interested as we get closer to that date, who knows maybe even a bidding war :greengrin

bidding wars don't happen not since Bosman

26-07-2018, 07:08 AM
Get someone else on loan for a year and then we can just get Allan for nothing as his contract expires. We should take inspiration from Celtic fans who are saying the same about McGinn.

Let’s hold them to ransom for one of our best players (if not our best) rather than them holding us to ransom for an anonymous player for them.

Hibs should get best deal for McGinn, they should not think about Allan when it comes to this, otherwise Celtic will get McGinn on the cheap.

What makes you think Allan would automatically join us when his contract expired?

Rumble de Thump
26-07-2018, 07:19 AM
The idea that any footballer would be so desperate to play for Celtic that they wouldn't even consider a move to a bigger and better club that competes in a much better league and could pay far bigger wages is completely ludicrous. It's the kind of thing that only a deluded Celtic fan could possibly believe.