View Full Version : Simon Murray

WestStandWillie
30-06-2018, 03:12 PM
Looks totally uninterested.

It might only be first pre season match but him and Kamberi look miles apart.

Lets hope we get JMAC back.

30-06-2018, 03:13 PM
Deary me.

30-06-2018, 03:14 PM
Guys goalscoring record for us is superb. Deserves another chance on his workrate alone!

30-06-2018, 03:14 PM
34 minutes of football.

WestStandWillie
30-06-2018, 03:15 PM
Deary me.

Deary me whit? I am here at Lithgow and its clear he is pap.

Mibbae your too busae watching world cup pal

30-06-2018, 03:17 PM

It's a pre-season friendly game mate. Chill out.

WestStandWillie
30-06-2018, 03:20 PM
This boy is playing for his future. Done nowt. Shaw is a better player and our future striker.

30-06-2018, 03:25 PM
Not uninterested certainly not lacking in effort just poor so far

30-06-2018, 03:26 PM
One thing you cant say about Simon Murray is he's uninterested. His workrate is fantastic.

30-06-2018, 03:27 PM

Busae 😂😂😂😂

30-06-2018, 03:47 PM
I like Simon Murray. Made the start of the season enjoyable last year☺

bodhibs
30-06-2018, 03:54 PM
I like Simon Murray. Made the start of the season enjoyable last year☺

Girls don't like boys

30-06-2018, 04:01 PM
looks totally uninterested.

It might only be first pre season match but him and kamberi look miles apart.

Lets hope we get jmac back.

doom

30-06-2018, 04:01 PM
Girls don't like boys☺

I'd respond properly if I wasn't well into a beer festival just now

bodhibs
30-06-2018, 04:02 PM

I'd respond properly if I wasn't well into a beer festival just now

🍻👍

Tobias Funke
30-06-2018, 04:18 PM
Not ginger enough for me. GTF IMO.

30-06-2018, 04:33 PM

They don't do well in the sunshine.

Squirrel 1875
30-06-2018, 04:34 PM
Simon Murray the new Danny Handling. A scape goat. Guy has done bout wrong in a hibs top.

supermcginn
30-06-2018, 04:36 PM
Simon Murray the new Danny Handling. A scape goat. Guy has done bout wrong in a hibs top.

Murray has done a lot more for us than handling ever did.

30-06-2018, 04:38 PM

Just about to post the same. Although it doesn’t mean Murray is good enough either.

30-06-2018, 04:40 PM

Or the Romans

30-06-2018, 04:40 PM
Handling had a few very decent games for Hibs.

Neither Handling (because he played a few decent games) nor Murray (who is still a Hibs player, one who has scored a few goals including a derby winner) really deserve to be spoken of in this way.

Rowan Vine, Joe Keenan, Ed De Graaf, Michael Hart, Alan O'Brien etc etc etc though.....

30-06-2018, 04:53 PM
Murray gives you 100% and he chipped in with a couple of big goals last season. Is he going to take us up another level though? Is he the kind of player Aberdeen or Rangers would be trying to sign?

supermcginn
30-06-2018, 04:55 PM
Just about to post the same. Although it doesn’t mean Murray is good enough either.

True but goals at ibrox and a winner v hearts help.

30-06-2018, 05:00 PM
Love it

ShinyFantastic
30-06-2018, 05:00 PM
Was pretty much at his level against Linlithgow Rose today...

Arch Stanton
30-06-2018, 05:02 PM
So, the highlight of the game was S Murray doing nowt?

30-06-2018, 05:06 PM
What an awful thread :rolleyes: I know it's a forum for all opinions but surely one of our own players deserves support, not mocked/ridiculed/shunned after a half of football pre-season ?

The lad gives everything and was one of the main reasons we got off to a flyer last season - try and put things into a wee bit of perspective and support the boy while he is here :aok:

30-06-2018, 05:28 PM

I’m too busy watching the World Cup.

I’ve no idea if SM has a future with us but he is a trier!

30-06-2018, 05:28 PM
Was pretty much at his level again Linlithgow Rose today...

Sorry but thats nonsense.

30-06-2018, 05:29 PM
What an awful thread :rolleyes: I know it's a forum for all opinions but surely one of our own players deserves support, not mocked/ridiculed/shunned after a half of football pre-season ?

The lad gives everything and was one of the main reasons we got off to a flyer last season - try and put things into a wee bit of perspective and support the boy while he is here :aok:

ChicoM1875
30-06-2018, 05:42 PM
For the time Murray was with us, he scored a good few goals and a good few important goals. Helped get us to where we ended up last season. Earned more respect than this thread has given him.

30-06-2018, 05:45 PM

Well said, I've never quite understood the motives behind this type of thread. It's all a bit daft but each to their own I suppose.

30-06-2018, 06:05 PM
100% agree. Simon Murray should have our total support while he is still at our club. More to the point how did Ross Laidlaw do and where was Rocky?

Girls don’t like boys girls like Simon Murray.:wink:

30-06-2018, 07:10 PM
Shame Murray appears to be becoming a scapegoat for some on here. He had a great scoring ratio for us, including two brilliantly taken goals against Hearts and The Rangers. He only was shipped out as a makeweight for Scott Allan, he deserves our full support.

DR1875
30-06-2018, 07:13 PM
Worked a lot harder than the beloved Stokes, that's for sure.

wpj
30-06-2018, 07:15 PM
A player being rubbished after half a game against Lithgae Rose must be some kind of record for .net? Aye I have been watching the world cup and even the "greats" are having off days.

Liam978
30-06-2018, 07:22 PM
A player being rubbished after half a game against Lithgae Rose must be some kind of record for .net? Aye I have been watching the world cup and even the "greats" are having off days.

Sums it up in a nutshell well said mate GG2TH.

Seattle.Hibs
30-06-2018, 07:23 PM
Love Murray, don’t really see him pairing with Kamberi but I’d like to think he could definitely play a part wether that’s coming off the bench or playing in cup ties.

30-06-2018, 07:24 PM
True but goals at ibrox and a winner v hearts help.[emoji106]

Wee list of players who've done the same in, say, the last decade?

tonyrougier123
30-06-2018, 07:57 PM
Simon murray is worth a team slot at hibs,while I hope we sign mclaren but you canny deny the graft of murray and he has goals in him.and the shoddy guff being spouted on here is brutal.dinny say anything unless weve got guys like heffernan and vine upfront then its its worth moaning!!

30-06-2018, 08:02 PM
Quite glad I didn't get to this game today, had a feeling it'd be pap, and it was

30-06-2018, 08:08 PM
Quite glad I didn't get to this game today, had a feeling it'd be pap, and it was

I enjoyed it, as I always do watching Hibs
Nice wee ground and a day in the sunshine, what’s not to like

30-06-2018, 08:21 PM
This boy is playing for his future. Done nowt. Shaw is a better player and our future striker.

34 minutes against Rose? Calm yer jets ffs

Stokesy's on fire
30-06-2018, 08:21 PM
So, the highlight of the game was S Murray doing nowt?

Actually the Steak and haggis pie was!

Did anyone try one? Brilliant.

30-06-2018, 08:44 PM
Bring back Rowan Vine

30-06-2018, 08:58 PM
Season not quite started and already some have found a scapegoat.Short memories some of them.Scored a few goals for us last season.

30-06-2018, 10:00 PM
Think Murray would be a good impact player to come on and chase things down but no sure he'd want a place on the bench

30-06-2018, 10:01 PM
Threads like this are the reason I decided to stop posting on this forum a wee while back. I still read now and again, but this place has deteriorated in a massive way over the last year. It’s a shame really.

30-06-2018, 10:02 PM
I can’t beleive the amount of stick he is getting.

He’s no world beater but he is a good option and done very well for us first half of the season scoring some important goals. I wouldn’t be against keeping him as a squad player.

If he played second half off the season with how the team was playing he would have been very good too

30-06-2018, 10:18 PM
Murray works hard but I don't think he's good enough to be a regular starter for us if we're to challenge for second.

We need a partner for Kamberi and I see Shaw as the first choice off the bench which leaves Murray as our fourth striker.

30-06-2018, 11:38 PM

I feel sorry for anyone who doesn't recognise the point of a pre season game. Great to see our team back in action but it's all about fitness and sharpness.

01-07-2018, 04:43 AM
I can’t beleive the amount of stick he is getting.

He’s no world beater but he is a good option and done very well for us first half of the season scoring some important goals. I wouldn’t be against keeping him as a squad player.

If he played second half off the season with how the team was playing he would have been very good too

Agree with all this. Almost think it’s a waste of time him coming back as he’s been so comprehensively written off by so many on very little evidence. All he was score goals and at Ibrox, in derbies etc

01-07-2018, 07:01 AM
The state of this thread.

01-07-2018, 07:03 AM

Couldn't agree more slated after half an hour of a preseason game. Dear oh dear. :faf:

01-07-2018, 07:44 AM
Threads like this are the reason I decided to stop posting on this forum a wee while back. I still read now and again, but this place has deteriorated in a massive way over the last year. It’s a shame really.

01-07-2018, 08:34 AM
Uninterested is not something you can label Simon Murray, he never stops running/trying.

Some of the comments about finding his level are ridiculous.

01-07-2018, 08:52 AM
Simon Murray might be a lot of things, some of these things may even be negatives but uninterested will never be one of them.

The guy gives you 100% every week. Whether he's good enough for a team aiming for the top 4 of the Premiership is certainly up for debate but not his workrate or his attitude.

01-07-2018, 09:05 AM
Thought he played better than Kamberi yesterday. Early days and it must be tricky for him if the rumours are right and we are looking at offers. I think he is an excellent squad player and streets ahead of the vast majority of strikers we have had in the last 10 years. He has scored Derby winners and other important goals and I can't believe how many don't rate him in the slightest.

hibbydog
01-07-2018, 09:25 AM
Brilliant thread. Haven’t pished the bed for a few weeks now

Arch Stanton
01-07-2018, 09:35 AM

Care to back up that opinion with some player's ratings?

01-07-2018, 09:38 AM

Very good.....

01-07-2018, 09:42 AM
Bottom line. Is he as good as McLaren? No? Then it's a step backwards.

People quote his goal record. He scored a bunch at the start then these dried up. He's a confidence player and will go on runs of goals then none for a run of games. The world loves a trier but personally I just don't see him being consistent enough to get us higher up the league/ deeper into Europe. All personal opinion. I'll be cheering him on if selected.

WestStandWillie
01-07-2018, 09:46 AM
This blew up an awfy lot.

He’s no Hibs standard. Take the first offer for him and move on.

01-07-2018, 10:05 AM
Folk have opinions about players that play for Hibs. Is that not part of what this place is about?

Murray banged in loads against massively inferior opposition and then took that into the league and scored big goals vs Hearts and Rangers. The goals dried up massively for him though and at the end he lost his place to Shaw. I don’t think he’s what we need to be challenging for top 2/3 in the league. Not even as a sub.

01-07-2018, 11:16 AM
Regardless of a player's natural ability (any player) he's more likely to respond and improve from active encouragement as opposed to unnecessary criticism. He deserves his chance, a certain ex player didn't help his cause last season but thankfully he's now gone.

01-07-2018, 11:24 AM

Your names awfy close to what I think of you.

01-07-2018, 11:25 AM
Don’t feed the troll folks. They drop a jobbie then knock one off watching genuine fans getting reeled in.

01-07-2018, 11:29 AM
Tbh, he looked really rusty yesterday. Shaw a much better option for Europe if yesterday is anything to go by.

01-07-2018, 11:32 AM

Pwowd

01-07-2018, 11:36 AM
Don’t feed the troll folks. They drop a jobbie then knock one off watching genuine fans getting reeled in.
Fan has the cheek to not rate a player and is therefore a troll. This place is a parody of itself sometimes

01-07-2018, 11:40 AM

Seriously? Some fans don’t rate a player. It’s not trolling, it’s giving an opinion.

01-07-2018, 11:41 AM
Tbh, he looked really rusty yesterday. Shaw a much better option for Europe if yesterday is anything to go by.

Have we tried Shaw and Kamberi up front together before? If we don’t bring in a striker before the Runavík tie I wouldn’t mind seeing these two as a pairing.

01-07-2018, 12:32 PM

The Danny Handling that is now at Edinburgh City? Maybe the doubters were right

01-07-2018, 12:58 PM
Based on the photograph of Danny Swanson in one of todays papers he looks well over weight. Serious training required.

01-07-2018, 01:15 PM
Regardless of a player's natural ability (any player) he's more likely to respond and improve from active encouragement as opposed to unnecessary criticism. He deserves his chance, a certain ex player didn't help his cause last season but thankfully he's now gone.

Ah so it's now stokes fault Murray isn't good enough. People talk about hibs fans being negative about players yet genuine hibs legends get treated like ***** amongst the support.

01-07-2018, 01:20 PM
Based on the photograph of Danny Swanson in one of todays papers he looks well over weight. Serious training required.

Was there yesterday. He looked very sharp and in no way overweight.

01-07-2018, 01:56 PM
Was there yesterday. He looked very sharp and in no way overweight.
Good to know it was a very unflattering photo.

andybev1
01-07-2018, 02:17 PM
Was pretty much at his level against Linlithgow Rose today...

Getting the preseason Idiotic posts in early - maybe your level of opinion, I doubt it is the majority of others. I hope Murrray can calm down a bit and look up more when he has the ball. Rough diamond.

Hibby soldier
01-07-2018, 02:32 PM

So sad...

Squirrel 1875
01-07-2018, 02:35 PM
Fan has the cheek to not rate a player and is therefore a troll. This place is a parody of itself sometimes

Says this websites biggest troll.

01-07-2018, 02:37 PM
Murray is good enough. He scored against Hearts. He's good enough.

01-07-2018, 02:48 PM
According to Sunday post , - I know - Simon Murray is heading for turkey for a 6 figure fee .

01-07-2018, 02:54 PM
Murray is good enough. He scored against Hearts. He's good enough.

What did you think of Brian Kerr? :greengrin

01-07-2018, 02:57 PM
I get accused of trolling all the time, yet this thread....

01-07-2018, 03:17 PM
According to Sunday post , - I know - Simon Murray is heading for turkey for a 6 figure fee .

Have you picked up a paper from 6 months ago? :greengrin

01-07-2018, 03:25 PM
Have you picked up a paper from 6 months ago? :greengrin

Nah todays, Yeni Malatyaspor finished 10th in top division have made a formal approach - according to PC Murdoch :greengrin

01-07-2018, 03:28 PM
Good to know it was a very unflattering photo.

I think I saw the photo you mean and yes it's unflattering. In all the other pics I've seen he looks in fine trim.

01-07-2018, 03:43 PM
I think I saw the photo you mean and yes it's unflattering. In all the other pics I've seen he looks in fine trim.

I thought the whole team looked trim yesterday. I would go as far as saying I can't remember any Hibs team coming out for the first game looking like they hardly had an ounce of fat on them.The only one looking like he was carrying a bit was Sean Mackie but I've never seen him play before so that may be his build. Swanson looked a slip of a lad on the pitch and although I don't think he is a 90 minute man I think he could be very useful off the bench and particularly so if Scott Allen re-signs as he seems to struggle for a full 90 most likely due to his condition.

01-07-2018, 03:49 PM

01-07-2018, 04:10 PM
What did you think of Brian Kerr? :greengrin
A front three of James Collins, Simon Murray and Ross Caldwell would win the league. Brian Kerr and Liam Craig supplying from midfield.

01-07-2018, 04:25 PM
I thought the whole team looked trim yesterday. I would go as far as saying I can't remember any Hibs team coming out for the first game looking like they hardly had an ounce of fat on them.The only one looking like he was carrying a bit was Sean Mackie but I've never seen him play before so that may be his build. Swanson looked a slip of a lad on the pitch and although I don't think he is a 90 minute man I think he could be very useful off the bench and particularly so if Scott Allen re-signs as he seems to struggle for a full 90 most likely due to his condition.
Mackie is a chunky lad naturally.

Tobias Funke
01-07-2018, 07:15 PM
I get accused of trolling all the time, yet this thread....

You ain’t a troll, just really really REALLY miserable :greengrin

Babyshamble
01-07-2018, 07:18 PM
Looks totally uninterested.

It might only be first pre season match but him and Kamberi look miles apart.

Lets hope we get JMAC back.hahahaha roaster 😂

02-07-2018, 05:19 AM
Getting the preseason Idiotic posts in early - maybe your level of opinion, I doubt it is the majority of others. I hope Murrray can calm down a bit and look up more when he has the ball. Rough diamond.

Ginger gem?

02-07-2018, 06:18 AM
For **** sake he played half an hour in a friendly against Linlithgow Rose😂 Hibs fans can be right west stand penises at times.

wee hay
02-07-2018, 01:03 PM
Very harsh post especially considering it’s the guys first game back from pre season

02-07-2018, 01:13 PM
Uninterested is not something you can label Simon Murray, he never stops running/trying.

Some of the comments about finding his level are ridiculous.

It's almost as if [fill in the blanks]

02-07-2018, 01:15 PM
What an absolute joke of a thread

05-07-2018, 09:20 AM
Maybe some might want to revisit their comments after last night's performance? No?

05-07-2018, 09:24 AM
Girls don’t like boys girls like Simon Murray! :not worth

05-07-2018, 09:33 AM
Maybe some might want to revisit their comments after last night's performance? No?

A good finish for his goal last night but I thought he was poor otherwise. Take the goals out of the equation and I thought Shaw looked miles better in terms of touch and movement.

Murray didn’t deserve to be slaughtered after a poor game against Linlithgow but scoring against Berwick Rangers doesn’t mean he should be playin up front for us this season either. He’s got a lot of work to do.

05-07-2018, 09:57 AM
Can we just give the laddie a chance without getting on his back? He proved last season that he can deliver in big games, usually on his own up front. Now we have Kamberi they might just strike up a good relationship.

Main thing that frustrated me about Simon was getting caught offside needlessly considering the pace he has. If he can / has cut that out then lets give him his chance.

Either way I doubt Lennon has stopped looking for a quality replacement for McLaren, That would give us 4 strikers with Shaw and Murray given the challenge to see if they can justify the starting positions.

05-07-2018, 10:02 AM
For **** sake he played half an hour in a friendly against Linlithgow Rose😂 Hibs fans can be right west stand penises at times.

West Stand Penises aye??

More likely from the East Stand Neds no??

05-07-2018, 10:03 AM
West Stand Penises aye??

More likely from the East Stand Neds no??
Can we cut out the personal stuff please?

05-07-2018, 10:11 AM
Eh? What you on about?

05-07-2018, 10:19 AM
Can we cut out the personal stuff please?

Deary me.

If someone comes in for an offer for Murray we should bite their hands off. But until then, by playing him his value will only go up. Lennon's playing a blinder.

andybev1
05-07-2018, 10:27 AM
Ginger gem?

I was not aware that Hibs were even playing last night - glad it went well for Simon and Hibs. I need to go check out a report.

seanoheimhin
05-07-2018, 10:35 AM

Tony Mowbray...

05-07-2018, 10:35 AM
Right for all people saying he’s uninterested etc etc. Stop it, he’s a lot of things but uninterested isn’t one of them. His work rate last night was superb and scored when he got a chance.

He may not be good enough for Hibs but he’s developing and offers us speed which is always a valuable asset.

One last thought if we keep him it may be the difference between Kembari and another decent striker being brought in as I’d imagine (and I’ve no knowledge of this ) but his wages aren’t going to be to expensive which leaves us with more to pay our other striker and players coming in towards wages.

Still think Olly and Girls don’t like boys, are decent subs to have on a bench.

05-07-2018, 10:48 AM
Deary me.

If someone comes in for an offer for Murray we should bite their hands off. But until then, by playing him his value will only go up. Lennon's playing a blinder.
Utter tosh. Complete drivel.

05-07-2018, 11:39 AM
why would we want him to leave? i personally dont think he is good enough to start each week but every squad on the planet needs back up players, how much would it cost us to go sign a player who can easily get into double figures in a season? simple answer is a lot more than simon murray is costing us

05-07-2018, 11:45 AM
Almost like he’s trying too hard? There was a point second half when Boyle fizzed a ball in to his feet for a 1-2 but he took a touch and lost possession and gave Boyle a hard time, like he’d made him look bad. He got a good 70mins Lennon obviously interested to give him a full chance, slotted the goal away well but the ball never stuck when played in to him struggled again for me.

05-07-2018, 11:51 AM
Almost like he’s trying too hard? There was a point second half when Boyle fizzed a ball in to his feet for a 1-2 but he took a touch and lost possession and gave Boyle a hard time, like he’d made him look bad. He got a good 70mins Lennon obviously interested to give him a full chance, slotted the goal away well but the ball never stuck when played in to him struggled again for me.

From what I seen last season, full of enthusiasm but technically just not good enough, purely back up if he stays.

05-07-2018, 12:00 PM
No one is basing their entire opinion on one game. We are all fans of hibs who want to see us winning games. That means the best possible team in the park and strengthening areas that need it. I personally don’t think he’s good enough. I’m not trying to get a rise out of anyone. That’s just the way I see it. I’d be delighted if we somehow managed to get jmac back as I think he is a better player. Murray is a step back imo when we need to be making gains on last season.