PDA

View Full Version : World Cup VAR

JeMeSouviens
18-06-2018, 02:07 PM
I'm liking it so far. Delays are minimal and wrongs have been righted.

scuttle
18-06-2018, 02:15 PM
Not for me so far, some incidents not getting reviewed so too inconsistent

Hibbyradge
18-06-2018, 02:19 PM
Not for me so far, some incidents not getting reviewed so too inconsistent

Every incident is automatically reviewed.

It's only when there's a clear mistake that the ref is asked to look again.

Sylar
18-06-2018, 02:50 PM
I like it, but I can't see it being widely implemented outside of an international tournament (aside from perhaps the Champions League).

The cost (financial and personnel) of having something like this across all levels of the game would be prohibitive.

I still feel a few decisions have either been overlooked or incorrectly awarded (the penalty for France vs Australia for example wasn't clear cut IMO, but then I'm not a professional referee, and it WAS reviewed by a panel of them), but in the instances of Sweden's penalty for example, it protected against a gross injustice.

cabbageandribs1875
18-06-2018, 02:53 PM
a wrong wasn't righted last night with the clear push by the swiss gadgy with the equaliser, cheating VAR git :agree: Failure :)

http://www.goal.com/en/news/world-cup-brazil-switzerland-tite-miranda-push/1fkg23iopjc5l1jmp5xtuxxwn1

"The Miranda moment was very clear. The second play you can interpret but the first one you can't discuss - the people responsible for that must work within fairness. You have to be fair.

Hibernian Verse
18-06-2018, 02:56 PM
Credit where it is due, this World Cup has been hugely successful so far. :aok:

GreenCastle
18-06-2018, 02:58 PM
Long over due to have technology.

I still would have officialls looking at video replays make the decisions rather than the ref stopping the game and going across to side of pitch to have a look.