View Full Version : Scotland V Brazil (1998) NHC

GaryOsCheerios
14-06-2018, 02:56 PM
With the World Cup finally upon us and the opening game about to start I was feeling a bit nostalgic (and old:wink:) about France 98, especially with Scotland opening the tournament.

I wrote the following and thought you guys might like a read to get you in the mood for the next 4 weekshttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif

https://thefootballblether.com/2018/06/14/the-day-33-of-the-world-watched-scotland/ (https://thefootballblether.com/2018/06/14/the-day-33-of-the-world-watched-scotland/)

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated:cb

Enjoy the World Cup!

14-06-2018, 03:19 PM
With the World Cup finally upon us and the opening game about to start I was feeling a bit nostalgic (and old:wink:) about France 98, especially with Scotland opening the tournament.

I wrote the following and thought you guys might like a read to get you in the mood for the next 4 weekshttp://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/thumbs%20up.gif

https://thefootballblether.com/2018/06/14/the-day-33-of-the-world-watched-scotland/ (https://thefootballblether.com/2018/06/14/the-day-33-of-the-world-watched-scotland/)

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated:cb

Enjoy the World Cup!

Wouldn’t believe at the time we wouldn’t see Scotland in another tournament by 2018😳 Never been as drunk as that day🤪

14-06-2018, 03:47 PM
My first national team memory was a big gathering at our family house to watch the opening game.. and Collins slotting home that penalty.

As noted above.. who'd have thought that couple of weeks would be my last tournament memories of Scotland 20 years on. Really quite sad when I think about it like that!

wpj
14-06-2018, 04:03 PM
Watched it in a Brazilian open air pub in Düsseldorf with about 20 ex pats and over 100 Brazilians. Fantastic atmosphere and when JC scored the pen the noise was mental.great memories.

14-06-2018, 04:08 PM
I was 12 and remember we got let out of school early so we could be home in time for the game :greengrin

nellio
14-06-2018, 04:58 PM
I had my mates over to watch it after school back in Wales.

We went to get a chippy before kick off and the boy behind the counter was Scottish and he said his boss wanted to watch the game himself so made him work!!

Felt really sorry for him!!

14-06-2018, 05:06 PM
I was at the game. Unbelievable atmosphere and seeing. Scotland in the opening ceremony was just amazing. It was my second world cup after Italia 90 and had also been at all Euro 96 games as well. I feel sorry for the younger Scotland fans who have never experienced occasions like that

14-06-2018, 05:28 PM
My son turns 20 next month and never seen us qualify for any tournament. I long for the day that we can both watch Scotland in glorious failure.

14-06-2018, 05:40 PM
I had the good fortune to attend the game. Brilliant build up and prematch atmosphere. The match was played in St Denis in the Stade De France which was in the suburbs of Paris so we had to get a tube train to the game which as you can imagine was rammed full.The whole area felt like an early Wester Hailes. We met Joe Jordan before the game as he was a BBC pundit and got our photy taken with him.We gave him pelters for being an ex jambo boss but he still looked fit enough to play.The Brazilian fans were absolutely fantastic totally gorgeous really into football and their team and just wanted to party all the time Samba style.Initial disappointment when Scotland lost a soft goal from a corner elation when JC equalised from the spot he came right across to us to celebrate extreme disappoint when what seemed to be a f*** up between Boyd and Leighton gifted them the match.At the end of the match a torrential downpour came on and our group of Scotland fans were interviewed by Radio Brazil they asked us what we thought of the match one of our group a Weegie ex Hun Dundee fan grabbed the mike and said WEWUZROBBED!

14-06-2018, 06:30 PM
Watched it in a pub in Guernsey. Pub full of Scots and even bumped into a guy who fitted my sister's kitchen in Edinburgh. Small world.

14-06-2018, 06:32 PM
Watched it in a pub in Guernsey. Pub full of Scots and even bumped into a guy who fitted my sister's kitchen in Edinburgh. Small world.

Crap name for a kitchen firm unless he was from little France

14-06-2018, 06:37 PM
Crap name for a kitchen firm unless he was from little France

Think he was from just up the road from there.

Santa Cruz
14-06-2018, 08:37 PM
Remember it well. The late Donald Dewar who was the then Secretary of State for Scotland let all (who wanted to) Civil Servants at the Scottish Office clock out early to get home in time to watch it. Actually, I think quite a few with heehaw interest in fitba legged it early that day too.

Stax
14-06-2018, 09:07 PM
Watched the game in Kuala Lumpur in a bar called Bravehearts tavern, time difference meant the game kicked off about 1am iirc, about 100 Scottish ex pats steaming & singing, John Collins winking at the camera & seeing my mates in the crowd on tv when I was on the other side of the world...
Happy days.

14-06-2018, 09:24 PM
Watched it in Heroes Sports bar in Milton Keynes.

14-06-2018, 09:36 PM
Holyrood Bar London. Changed my life - with a little bit of over-exhuberance I’m celebrating JC’s goal got my self noticed by my future wife.

Now It’s 20 years on and I’ll be heading to São Paulo to watch the Cop Mundial with my father in law. Still awaiting on the sponsorship from the SFA for our boys ;) at least I can genuinely support another team the family has ties to and actually stand a chance of winning the thing.

GaryOsCheerios
15-06-2018, 09:29 AM
Great memories - I was still in Primary school!:dummytit:

15-06-2018, 10:40 AM
I know they say the '82 Brazil team was the best team never to win but that 98 team was pretty special too. Of course winning it 4 years later meant a lot of them did win.

15-06-2018, 11:13 AM
I had my mates over to watch it after school back in Wales.

We went to get a chippy before kick off and the boy behind the counter was Scottish and he said his boss wanted to watch the game himself so made him work!!

Felt really sorry for him!!

I was in the same boat. I had an after school job in a deli in Bath. Bizarrely both the owner and his wife were from North Berwick and he was of the Jambo persuasion.

Asked to come in late and he said no, but I could bring in my Sega Game Gear with TV attachment to watch the second half.

Got there only to find his wife working and I had to work with a poxy wee screen for the rest of the game.

Remember feeling massively hard done by the mannner of the Brazilian winner. Rebounded in off of Tommy Boyd!

I wish I could go back and tell my 17 year old self to make an effort as you would be at least 39 before Scotland qualify.

Also annoyed that I didn’t go to any Euro 96 games. My Dad was at sea at the time, so no way my Mum would have let a 15 year old go to Wembley or Birmingham on my own.

Still, one day soon.

15-06-2018, 11:14 AM
Holyrood Bar London. Changed my life - with a little bit of over-exhuberance I’m celebrating JC’s goal got my self noticed by my future wife.

Now It’s 20 years on and I’ll be heading to São Paulo to watch the Cop Mundial with my father in law. Still awaiting on the sponsorship from the SFA for our boys ;) at least I can genuinely support another team the family has ties to and actually stand a chance of winning the thing.

That’s a cracking “how I met your mother” story!

15-06-2018, 11:18 AM
That’s a cracking “how I met your mother” story!

It’s all LondonHibs fault. With Scotland not qualifying since Feels a wee bit like “back to the future” - Scotland don’t qualify, I don’t pull a moony, don’t meet wife, Don’t have kids... :)

guidref
15-06-2018, 11:37 AM
Watched it in a wee bar in Trogir just outside Split in Croatia. It was pretty quiet that day but for the Morroco game there were maybe 40 ex-pats marched through the town before the game. Mental!

For the rest of the world cup 98 I watched the Croatia games in Split with big screens near the harbour. Absolutely mental scenes!

I was in Bosnia when Croatia beat Germany and had to go into lockdown when the locals started firing of weapons in celebration.

15-06-2018, 01:04 PM
It’s all LondonHibs fault. With Scotland not qualifying since Feels a wee bit like “back to the future” - Scotland don’t qualify, I don’t pull a moony, don’t meet wife, Don’t have kids... :)

I’m similar with my wife. We met on holiday in Zante.

If me and my mates were a day late or early booking we could have ended up on a totally different holiday and likewise, never met, married, have kids.

15-06-2018, 10:31 PM
I was at this game in Paris and was sitting before kick off chatting to a friend when i noticed a group of lads in kilts c u Jimmi wigs and tackety boots looking rather the worse for wear.

It wasnt until they were level with me that i recognised my own son!! From the look of him i thought he had been drinking all night! Sorry to say he was full of hay fever and feeling and looking miserable!

I moved on to take in the next two games before we were ousted out but have amazing memories of great times with brilliant people.

GaryOsCheerios
19-06-2018, 09:21 AM
Some good memories in here guys!

hibbie02
19-06-2018, 12:08 PM
Watched it is a bar in Canary Wharf and remember the hope (it's always the hope) that they might cling on and maybe even snatch it at the end, but no. Hope smacked me in the coupon just like Leighton, and Scotland lost in their classic style! Unfortunately I stayed on for the Norway game afterwards (no idea why) and got utterly trollied. Apparently I had a great afternoon......

s2hart
19-06-2018, 12:44 PM
What a day that was, I was living in Paris at the time, up early carry out in hand and went to get my mates who were sleeping in a camper van near the Eiffel Tower, joined the march from there to the metro, the train was absolutely bouncing all the way up to St Denis, how it didn't derail I do not know. Ended up in the big fans zone/beer garden in the shadows of the stadium, managed to smuggle our spirits in past security in cartons of orange juice, brilliant day lost my jumper but managed to party on through the night minus a top! Shame the rest of our games were a damp squid, still some good nights in the Auld Alliance. Met Walter Smith in there watching a game, miserable and didn't look like he was up for any chat, don't blame him as everyone was leathered!

19-06-2018, 12:50 PM
A group of us stayed in Amsterdam and travelled down for the games. It was cheaper than France and with much more to do😉. Anyway our plan was to get the train down, go to the game, get very drunk and then sleep in the Gar du Nord then train back to Amsterdam next day. Unfortunately the station closes at about 3am and we got horses out.
We ended up sleeping in a doorway under our big flag. One of the guys decided that was a crap idea so set off to find a hotel at about 4. Eventually he came back and said he had one but it was expensive and we had to be out again by 10 and no breakfast. Being tired and frozen we decided to head to the hotel.
When we got there it was stunning, marble hall, marble staircase etc. As we were checking in, in strolls Joe Jordan, Eddie Gray and Peter Lorimer. One of my mates nearly pees his pants as Eddie was his hero as a boy. Runs up and says "that goal you scored against *(a team I now can't remember) was the best goal I've ever seen. Eddie says, aw for **** sake everyone remembers that one but what about the dozens of others I scored! Mate was deflated to say the least as we all pissed ourselves laughing.
Anyway up to the most stunning bedrooms we had ever seen. We got about four hours sleep. As we woke up one of the guys I was sharing with gets up, stretches and looks like he has shat all over the bed, pillow and himself. Turned out he had fell asleep on the chocolate on his pillow!
Ended up paying a fortune for about four hours sleep but it was more than worth it for the memories

19-06-2018, 12:52 PM
What a day that was, I was living in Paris at the time, up early carry out in hand and went to get my mates who were sleeping in a camper van near the Eiffel Tower, joined the march from there to the metro, the train was absolutely bouncing all the way up to St Denis, how it didn't derail I do not know. Ended up in the big fans zone/beer garden in the shadows of the stadium, managed to smuggle our spirits in past security in cartons of orange juice, brilliant day lost my jumper but managed to party on through the night minus a top! Shame the rest of our games were a damp squid, still some good nights in the Auld Alliance. Met Walter Smith in there watching a game, miserable and didn't look like he was up for any chat, don't blame him as everyone was leathered!

The Norway game was far from a damp squib. Cracking game in a great city and we all left the stadium thinking we were heading to the knock out stages. All we had to do was beat a poor Morocco side in St Ettiene. That worked out well!

pollution
19-06-2018, 04:37 PM
Not mentioned here, I think, but Scotland players scored all three goals that day in Paris!

19-06-2018, 10:01 PM
The Norway game was far from a damp squib. Cracking game in a great city and we all left the stadium thinking we were heading to the knock out stages. All we had to do was beat a poor Morocco side in St Ettiene. That worked out well!

Bordeaux, and Norway was easily the best part of the World Cup, the group games were all 6 days apart, and we went down to Bordeaux the day after the Brazil game - the atmosphere built up more & more every night, great memories. Brasil and Paris was good, but the Norwegians were much better than the Brazilians, who were largely aloof and full of themselves. We based ourselves in Lyon for the final game, Iran beating the US while we were there was magnificent, as was watching Romania beating England on TV the next night.

20-06-2018, 05:58 AM
Not mentioned here, I think, but Scotland players scored all three goals that day in Paris!
Eh?

Sampaio, JC and Boyd og.

Sampaio, scores near side post from a corner nipping in between two Scottish defenders appears to head it onto the top of his shoulder before going in.Might be a candidate for dubious goals panel as unsure if comes off any Scottish defenders on the way in but all creditable websites credit the goal to Sampaio.It may well be he has some distant Scottish connection but unlikely.He further compounds things by giving away the penalty which is duly converted by JC and the third goal is a freak og involving Leighton and Boyd Colin Hendry unable to stop the ball crossing the line.

Gordon Durie missed a late chance to equalise late on but quite a few in the Scotland line up with a HIBS connection.JC, Durie, Jackson, Leighton and that great Manager Colin Calderwood.

https://youtu.be/X9jrLD_If1w

20-06-2018, 07:29 AM
We had a fantastic trip, 13 of us went over and our base was a small town called montarnge au perch,no tickets for the Brazil game but ended up in one of the fan zones near the stadium. Tried to get in without a ticket but was quickly escorted of the premises by the local gendarmes. For the Norway game we headed down to Bordeaux via Arcachon and La Rochelle. Some fantastic memories

pollution
20-06-2018, 11:43 AM
Eh?

Sampaio, JC and Boyd og.

Sampaio, scores near side post from a corner nipping in between two Scottish defenders appears to head it onto the top of his shoulder before going in.Might be a candidate for dubious goals panel as unsure if comes off any Scottish defenders on the way in but all creditable websites credit the goal to Sampaio.It may well be he has some distant Scottish connection but unlikely.He further compounds things by giving away the penalty which is duly converted by JC and the third goal is a freak og involving Leighton and Boyd Colin Hendry unable to stop the ball crossing the line.

Gordon Durie missed a late chance to equalise late on but quite a few in the Scotland line up with a HIBS connection.JC, Durie, Jackson, Leighton and that great Manager Colin Calderwood.

https://youtu.be/X9jrLD_If1w

My apologies, you are right!

I watched a US version of this goal and their commentators said og, as I thought I had too.

That shows 20 years of ignorance on my part!!

itslegaltender
20-06-2018, 11:52 AM
9 of us headed over on the Monday after the game.

We took the overnight train to Bordeaux and it was one mental trip with the Scots and Norwegian fans having a full on party. We arrived around 5am in Bordeaux to be met with hundreds of Scots sleeping in the station and Scots fans coming out of all the bars in the city.

The day and game was crazy, I got myself into Total Sport magazine for winding some English journos up. There was a mental kick about in the Place De La Victoire with 50 aside I remember.

We stayed there for a few nights then spent two nights in Lyon at the night of the USA v Iran game which was great.

The night before in St Ettiene with 10,000 Tartan army fans going mental after the Rumania v England game was very special.

Morrocan fans were ********s before and after. I do remember coming out the ground singing "we're going to Tokyo, Que Sa Ra Sa Ra".

20-06-2018, 12:25 PM
My apologies, you are right!

I watched a US version of this goal and their commentators said og, as I thought I had too.

That shows 20 years of ignorance on my part!!
No worries mate!

I was actually at the game and it was difficult to tell from the other end of the stadium where I was behind the Brazil goals.

I saw the US clip you refer to and it is like they are commentating on a baseball or basketball game totally out of their depth in a foreign sport. I am glad that soccer the beautiful game finally seems to be catching on stateside.