View Full Version : Match Updates World Cup thread

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

14-06-2018, 01:12 PM
Opening ceremony away to begin. Who's hyped as ****?

14-06-2018, 01:16 PM
Massively excited. Bollahs special chilli cooked, popcorn ready, kids pals coming over. I'm going to watch every game :hyper

14-06-2018, 02:55 PM
Utterly bizarre choice of Robbie Williams for the opening ceremony. Still got a great voice though. As for the main event, 3-1 to Russia.

14-06-2018, 02:57 PM
The boy doing the translation of Putin had an absolute stinker.

14-06-2018, 02:58 PM
The Russian anthem is properly stirring. Right up there with Les Marseillais.

14-06-2018, 02:58 PM
Didn't it used to be the cup holders first match? Certainly was in 1998

14-06-2018, 02:59 PM
I’ve grudgingly got to admit that I like the Russian national anthem.

14-06-2018, 02:59 PM
Glad that the opening ceremony was quite short. Could do without the speeches from Putin etc. Robbie Williams...strange choice as well. Could have saved themselves a fortune and time by not doing an opening ceremony as it was rubbish.

Get on with the fitba.

14-06-2018, 03:00 PM

Scotland never won the World Cup in 1994 :greengrin

14-06-2018, 03:01 PM
Scotland never won the World Cup in 1994 :greengrin

Brazil did though.

14-06-2018, 03:02 PM
Here we go, I hope the Russians get grubbed. Mind you I’ve no time for the Saudis either. Right, no more politics.:greengrin

14-06-2018, 03:03 PM
C'mon the team in green.

14-06-2018, 03:04 PM
There are two Russians in the starting line-up who aren't featured in the Panini album. Scandalous. Shouldn't be allowed.

14-06-2018, 03:05 PM
Saudi Arabia coach looks like Fred West.

14-06-2018, 03:06 PM
Russian goalkeeper sounds like a Glaswegian shoplifter.

14-06-2018, 03:07 PM
This thread has lots to live up to from the last world cup thread, I have my customary 2 weeks holiday for the group stages so every game is getting watched

14-06-2018, 03:08 PM
when was the last WC the host country got emptied at the group stage

14-06-2018, 03:09 PM
This thread has lots to live up to from the last world cup thread, I have my customary 2 weeks holiday for the group stages so every game is getting watched

:aok: ill be joining you, I'll be watching every game :greengrin

Good attacking start, not what I expected.

14-06-2018, 03:10 PM

i believe Germany bucked that trend in 06 and basically said "our tournament, we play first" and its been like that ever since

Hoping for a cracking opener. Won't hold my breath.

14-06-2018, 03:10 PM
when was the last WC the host country got emptied at the group stage

South Africa - 2010

14-06-2018, 03:11 PM
Just hoping for a festival of football. Just wish we were there.

14-06-2018, 03:11 PM
I like that the ref is wearing a conventional black strip. He stands out clearly.

14-06-2018, 03:13 PM
South Africa - 2010

oh well, thought it was much longer :), ta :aok:

14-06-2018, 03:13 PM
i believe Germany bucked that trend in 06 and basically said "our tournament, we play first" and its been like that ever since

Cool

Good goal russia

14-06-2018, 03:14 PM
a goal for the hosts

14-06-2018, 03:14 PM
Great header. 1-0 to Russia in El Gasico.

14-06-2018, 03:15 PM
Great header - Was it a foul? I thought the defender slipped but commentator saying a push?

14-06-2018, 03:16 PM
There are two Russians in the starting line-up who aren't featured in the Panini album. Scandalous. Shouldn't be allowed.

Was too old for the Panini stickers but remember the Texaco World Cup coins in 1970. Anyone else remember them? Good header by the Russian.

14-06-2018, 03:17 PM
Vlad.

What a guy.

14-06-2018, 03:18 PM
SA look really poor. Russians going to get every single 50/50 decision.

14-06-2018, 03:21 PM
Was too old for the Panini stickers but remember the Texaco World Cup coins in 1970. Anyone else remember them? Good header by the Russian.

I think i’ve got a set of them back at my folks house...Did have a set for 1978 but if it’s not there it’s lost..Real quality momento.

14-06-2018, 03:32 PM
Early thoughts that Cavani could do himself a right favour for the Golden Boot against Saudi Arabia.

14-06-2018, 03:33 PM
Saudi defenders giving the ball away every time

14-06-2018, 03:35 PM
Saudi defenders giving the ball away every time

Number 5 the left sided centre back is absolutely terrible.

14-06-2018, 03:36 PM
Number 5 the left sided centre back is absolutely terrible.

Nice flip flap by the Russian there. Was that golovin?
Edit nope, Smolo

14-06-2018, 03:45 PM
Comedy defending by Saudi Arabia 2-0

What a lovely goal 2-0

Had the whole set, my Dad's pal managed an Esso station :greengrin But, then, my sister threw them in a the bin.

Weren't ever going to be worth much unless England won the thing, but Gerd put paid to that :greengrin

seanshow
14-06-2018, 03:53 PM
Ht 2 v 0

2 going on 10 hopefully, Russia are no saints when it comes to human rights, but Saudi is a dark ages abomination.

That's what I am basing my hopes for this match. :)

14-06-2018, 04:03 PM
Golovin has been very impressive first half. Rumoured to be joining Juventus. Cracking cross for first goal.

14-06-2018, 04:05 PM

Yeah and the sticker which looked like bullet holes

14-06-2018, 04:15 PM
This #5 is beyond gash. Omar Hawsawi.

14-06-2018, 04:20 PM
Early thoughts that Cavani could do himself a right favour for the Golden Boot against Saudi Arabia.

I took Suarez at 25-1 EW.

That could be an interesting game.

Scottiedog007
14-06-2018, 04:21 PM
Currently live and work in Saudi cant see them dancing in the streets tonight after this performance !!!

14-06-2018, 04:25 PM
Golovin has been very impressive first half. Rumoured to be joining Juventus. Cracking cross for first goal.

I've been more impressed with Smolov to be honest the #10. At the centre of everything.

14-06-2018, 04:29 PM
I see the Saudis have a guy called Al-Faraj. I wonder if oor Nigel is a relation? He would never live it down. :greengrin

14-06-2018, 04:32 PM
My 4-yearly knitting-ripping gripe.

Why, oh why, oh why, do the Russians and the Sauds have their names in Latin letters?

(I know the answer, of course... it just annoys me.... :rolleyes:)

14-06-2018, 04:32 PM
Dzyuba. What a monster of a man. 3-0.

CorrieHibs
14-06-2018, 04:36 PM
I took Suarez at 25-1 EW.

That could be an interesting game.

I took Suarez E/W as well. Only got 22/1 though

14-06-2018, 04:38 PM
https://www.facebook.com/dreamteamfc/videos/1967104593308455/?t=84

14-06-2018, 04:40 PM
60% possession to SA but they’re too lightweight.

14-06-2018, 04:40 PM
https://www.facebook.com/dreamteamfc/videos/1967104593308455/?t=84

Those videos are brilliant :faf:

14-06-2018, 04:43 PM
Saudi Arabia are brutal. I reckon even Scotland would beat them.

14-06-2018, 04:51 PM
What a goal.

14-06-2018, 04:52 PM
What a goal,silky

Forever_Green93
Great finish! 4-0

Enjoyed that, good entertainment.

14-06-2018, 04:54 PM
Wow. Golovin now. Impressive. 5-0.

14-06-2018, 04:55 PM
Superb free kick
5-0

nellio
14-06-2018, 04:55 PM
Quality finish.

I'm sure Cardiff tried to loan him when he was at Real.

Wow great free kick too as I'm typing!!

14-06-2018, 04:59 PM
Great goals and good skills from the Russians but the Saudis were mince and would make any team look good. If the Russians go far in this competition it’ll be a fix. :greengrin

14-06-2018, 05:02 PM
Saudi Arabia were atrocious but Russia did well. As someone with money on Suarez to be top scorer I’m pleased.

14-06-2018, 05:08 PM
At least it has taken the pressure off Saudi of getting beaten badly.

14-06-2018, 09:58 PM
Russia as always very athletic, reasonably well organised but lacking in individual talent and a leader on the park.

They'll progress to the ko stages with ease but will lose against decent opposition.

15-06-2018, 08:14 AM
May be controversial but giving Saudi a game on the last day of Ramadan was a bit naughty.

Game took place at 8.00 p.m. local time. No food or drink had passed these boys lips since 4.00 a.m. They were bound to be dehydrated and off the pace.

I think the critics should cut them some slack.

Egypt playing today, just after Ramadan and, in my opinion, they must also still be feeling the after effects.

And, by the way, if Salah plays, he won't last 10 minutes. Uruguay's street wise defenders will make sure of that. First challenge on him will be physical.

15-06-2018, 08:22 AM
May be controversial but giving Saudi a game on the last day of Ramadan was a bit naughty.

Game took place at 8.00 p.m. local time. No food or drink had passed these boys lips since 4.00 a.m. They were bound to be dehydrated and off the pace.

I think the critics should cut them some slack.

Egypt playing today, just after Ramadan and, in my opinion, they must also still be feeling the after effects.

And, by the way, if Salah plays, he won't last 10 minutes. Uruguay's street wise defenders will make sure of that. First challenge on him will be physical.The draw is based on pre-set arrangements. SA could just as easily have been drawn to play next week.

How many of the team are practising Muslims? And, I'm sure they could find an imam to give them dispensation for the day.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

15-06-2018, 08:38 AM
The draw is based on pre-set arrangements. SA could just as easily have been drawn to play next week.

How many of the team are practising Muslims? And, I'm sure they could find an imam to give them dispensation for the day.

Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk

I think it’s a fair point.

Saudi Arabia has a very strict interpretation of Islam - even if given a dispensation many of the players might have felt obliged to observe the fasting anyhow.

15-06-2018, 08:45 AM

Saudi Arabia has a very strict interpretation of Islam - even if given a dispensation many of the players might have felt obliged to observe the fasting anyhow.

My main point, though, was that the draw itself appears to be above board. There's no warmed balls involved. :greengrin

(cue the punsters.....)

15-06-2018, 08:54 AM
Russia as always very athletic, reasonably well organised but lacking in individual talent and a leader on the park.

They'll progress to the ko stages with ease but will lose against decent opposition.

I don't know if we can assume Russia are through, Egypt have an excellent defensive record and Uruguay obviously the favourites for the group. Really looking forward to Salah vs Cavani and Suarez later on.

15-06-2018, 09:00 AM

Can’t see them getting out of this group.

Uruguay and Egypt are both far superior teams.

15-06-2018, 09:41 AM
I actually liked what Saudi Arabia tried to do yesterday. They tried to play football, getting the ball down and stringing some nice passes together. They just lacked a quality of player to do it well enough.

Couple of decent games today - looking forward to Spain vs Portugal tonight, and Egypt vs Uruguay could be decent. I know nothing of either Morocco or Iran, but I'll probably catch the first half at work.

15-06-2018, 11:20 AM
Salah starts on the bench. Not surprising considering his recent injury and the fact that Uraguay hardly have shy and retiring defenders

15-06-2018, 11:21 AM
Salad starts on the bench. Not surprising considering his recent injury and the fact that Uraguay hardly have shy and retiring defenders

Not surprising. He's been looking a bit green recently.

Boom. We're off.

Edit... you changed it. Spoilsport. :na na:

15-06-2018, 11:25 AM
I just came on to make a salad pun but it looks like I mayo have been too late.

15-06-2018, 11:25 AM
Salah starts on the bench. Not surprising considering his recent injury and the fact that Uraguay hardly have shy and retiring defenders

C'mon the pharaohs. I only get to watch the first half and then it's back to work :boo hoo:

15-06-2018, 11:26 AM
Not surprising. He's been looking a bit green recently.

Boom. We're off.

Edit... you changed it. Spoilsport. :na na:

I had a feeling that someone saw it :greengrin

Don't think I've ever knowingly typed Salad in my phone before little alone Salah :faf:

15-06-2018, 11:27 AM
I had a feeling that someone saw it :greengrin

Don't think I've ever knowingly typed Salad in my phone before little alone Salah :faf:

Lettuce hope you're more careful in future. :bitchy:

15-06-2018, 11:29 AM
Lettuce hope you're more careful in future. :bitchy:

My posts are always a mixed bag:rolleyes:

15-06-2018, 11:37 AM
My posts are always a mixed bag:rolleyes:

It's because you're an absolute rocket...

My office-mate suddenly understands why I have 4 screens today, rather than my usual 3! :greengrin

15-06-2018, 11:40 AM
Salad only on the bench. I can see Uruguay winning this.

15-06-2018, 11:41 AM
I've just found an icy cold bottle of beer at the back of fridge. Today is getting better and better :agree:

15-06-2018, 11:47 AM
Salad only on the bench. I can see Uruguay winning this.

Nah. Uruguay are a bunch of fruits.

15-06-2018, 11:50 AM

According to MOTD, the SA team mostly took advantage of exemptions.

So they were just ***** :greengrin

15-06-2018, 11:50 AM
I never really considered the ramadan aspect for Egypt. Probably a factor in SAs non performance yesterday.

15-06-2018, 11:53 AM
mon Uruguay, make me money ££

15-06-2018, 11:54 AM
I never really considered the ramadan aspect for Egypt. Probably a factor in SAs non performance yesterday.

Did you see the game a couple of weeks ago when the Tunisia goalkeeper went down with a slightly suspect injury just as the sun was setting?

All the players went off and started munching dates and guzzling water.

It's a bit pish for Egypt to be playing at this time.

It must be really tough for muslims with ramadan falling at this time of year, when the days are so long.

15-06-2018, 11:57 AM
I love how South American anthems always seem to have a minute long instrumental before they start :faf:

15-06-2018, 12:01 PM
Did you see the game a couple of weeks ago when the Tunisia goalkeeper went down with a slightly suspect injury just as the sun was setting?

All the players went off and started munching dates and guzzling water.

It's a bit pish for Egypt to be playing at this time.

It must be really tough for muslims with ramadan falling at this time of year, when the days are so long.

The game is being held in Yekaterinburg which currently has daylight between 4am and 10pm. They can't really have them playing at 2am.

I might be wrong on this but I believe Muslims who live in the extreme north or south of the world, and who will therefore have periods during the summer of almost entire sunlight, have the option of fasting during the hours of daylight in Mecca so maybe they could be observing that.

15-06-2018, 12:02 PM

I'm sure they have a dispensation. Could be wrong tho.

15-06-2018, 12:02 PM
Strange stadium design? Looks like some of the seats behind the goals are uncovered so they'll get soaked if it rains.

15-06-2018, 12:03 PM
I'm sure they have a dispensation. Could be wrong tho.

They do. MOTD just said so.

15-06-2018, 12:03 PM
All of the empty seats don't look great.

15-06-2018, 12:04 PM
was just about to say nice stadium, until that aerial shot showed the ends behind the goals are open to the elements :greengrin strange

They're not empty. They're RFC supporters on their holidays.

... But the nutrition specialist interviewed there was saying there could be a post ramadan 'bounce', with an improvement in normal stamina possible over the next few weeks. Interesting.

15-06-2018, 12:05 PM

Was just about to post this, You would have thought that FIFA who need all the good PR they can get would have handed any unsold tickets to local kids, nah let's just play with lots of empty seats

15-06-2018, 12:05 PM
They do. MOTD just said so.

Thought they might. Mon the Egyptians :flag:

15-06-2018, 12:07 PM
that's a heck of a travelling distance for uruguayans +16,5++ Km's

15-06-2018, 12:10 PM
Do you think Cavani would have succeeded in the premier league? FFS

15-06-2018, 12:10 PM
Why not just give the tickets to local schools, charities etc. Or just sell them cheap to locals. I honestly do not understand the logic behind the empty seats, unless it is tickets which have been bought by touts and not resold.

15-06-2018, 12:11 PM
Do you think Cavani would have succeeded in the premier league? FFS

I know, ridiculous. He's world class anywhere. Caceres is a cool dude at left back.

15-06-2018, 12:13 PM
I know, ridiculous. He's world class anywhere. Caceres is a cool dude at left back.

It's nauseating, the sheer elevation this lot give the Premier League. Cavani would be a superstar anywhere he goes.

Though granted, Pogba isn't quite the same player he was in Italy.

15-06-2018, 12:16 PM
It's nauseating, the sheer elevation this lot give the Premier League. Cavani would be a superstar anywhere he goes.

That's more down to position and man management, watched him for France V Russia and he was played further foward and was an absolute standout

Looks like Potter has had a say in the pitch here too, grass seems a bit long or not watered enough

15-06-2018, 12:18 PM

I watch Cavani a lot in ligue 1. Funny thing is, he actually misses a lot of easy chances, but he gets into great positions so often he keeps getting more chances. And he's scored some screamers as well. The only PSG player I like :greengrin

15-06-2018, 12:19 PM
book the boy for diving ffs ref

15-06-2018, 12:20 PM
I watch Cavani a lot in ligue 1. Funny thing is, he actually misses a lot of easy chances, but he gets into great positions so often he keeps getting more chances. And he's scored some screamers as well. The only PSG player I like :greengrin

You really are a French football hipster :faf:

15-06-2018, 12:21 PM
You really are a French football hipster :faf:

I've actually got the beard as well now. I even like craft beer. Im thinking of starting smoking a pipe:faf:

15-06-2018, 12:22 PM
Tickets at the back were £15. The seats that are empty £157

15-06-2018, 12:25 PM
I've actually got the beard as well now. I even like craft beer. Im thinking of starting smoking a pipe:faf:

:faf::faf: you've changed and I'm not sure I like it

Saurez is about to do something mental I can feel it

15-06-2018, 12:25 PM
Suarez misses a sitter.

15-06-2018, 12:26 PM
kamberi would have burst the net with that chance

Suarez misses a sitter.

Is iPlayer a minute behind the live feed?

If so, I'm staying off this thread :rolleyes:

I'm aware I'm not sat in the same seats as the commentators, but I was dumbfounded when Pearce said "1-0 Uruguay" there.

I'm on iPlayer too and appear to be up to speed CWG.

15-06-2018, 12:27 PM

Just checked and it's 40 seconds behind the TV

15-06-2018, 12:29 PM

No, I just live 45 seconds in the future to other people. Its confusing :greengrin

Just checked and it's 40 seconds behind the TV

Ta.

B'bye now :greengrin

What's with the crowd ?! it's like hundreds of screaming bairns !!!!!!

15-06-2018, 12:30 PM
This is poor, poor stuff.

15-06-2018, 12:34 PM
This is pretty bad so far, hope Morocco and Iran just go for it next

15-06-2018, 12:38 PM
This is pretty bad so far, hope Morocco and Iran just go for it next

Both of those teams really need a win because they're in Spains group. Should be attacking.

This game is cagey. They're both looking happy with a point.

15-06-2018, 12:41 PM
Both of those teams really need a win because they're in Spains group. Should be attacking.

Some of the passing and control is absolutely dire. For supposedly one of the best players in the world, Suarez has been utter humpty.

15-06-2018, 12:46 PM

Yep, nothing much going on at all. Looking forward to the game tonight though that should be a lot better.

15-06-2018, 01:07 PM
Shocking how many empty seats there are for a World Cup match. No doubt FIFA pricing the locals out of going.

15-06-2018, 01:22 PM
Uruguay: Sideways pass, backwards pass, sideways pass, forward pass, ball lost. Suarez huffs out his arse.

Egypt:Run with ball, pass, pass, gives ball away.

Repeat.

15-06-2018, 01:31 PM
ffs suarez

15-06-2018, 01:33 PM
Anyone who backed Suarez as top goalscorer should cash out.

15-06-2018, 01:33 PM
Cannot believe how bad Suarez has been! Wee moan as well.

15-06-2018, 01:34 PM
Dont think the game has been as bad as made out by the commentators. Alot to play for and has opened up in second half just lacking a goal.

15-06-2018, 01:34 PM
Dont think the game has been as bad as made out by the commentators. Alot to play for and has opened up in second half just lacking a goal.

You can't be watching the Egypt vs Uruguay game. This has been awful fare.

15-06-2018, 01:36 PM

Are you Craig Levein?

15-06-2018, 01:37 PM
How many short distance passes have been "overshot" in this game? A bunch of elite players that can't pass a ball 10 yards to their teammates.

15-06-2018, 01:38 PM
You can't be watching the Egypt vs Uruguay game. This has been awful fare.

Both teams are good defensively isnt as easy as play the ball quicker.

15-06-2018, 01:38 PM
Did this not happen in the last world cup too? First game was a goalfest then the second game was a stinker

15-06-2018, 01:39 PM
Are you Craig Levein?

i don't thin we're watching any possible WC winning side here :)

Uruguay v Egypt is a borefest, two teams who'll do nothing in this cup, I ended up watching Find it, fix it, flog it on Ch4.

Both teams are good defensively isnt as easy as play the ball quicker.

Disagree - neither of them are playing an attacking team that's competent. Far too many mistakes and stupid decisions.

There's not been a single bit of quality on the park so far.

15-06-2018, 01:40 PM
Can I claim my prize then?

15-06-2018, 01:40 PM
Get the Pharoah on

15-06-2018, 01:41 PM
BBC have given man of the match award to that salah gadgy

15-06-2018, 01:41 PM
What a save that is. Some strike by Cavani too.

15-06-2018, 01:42 PM
Brilliant save

15-06-2018, 01:42 PM
Uruguay are very unimpressive. Great shot from Cavani but the save was even better.

15-06-2018, 01:43 PM
great save

15-06-2018, 01:43 PM
Must be the only one that thought that was a decent save but one any keeper should be making, was pretty central

15-06-2018, 01:44 PM
Must be the only one that thought that was a decent save but one any keeper should be making, was pretty central

Even Suarez would have saved that :greengrin

15-06-2018, 01:47 PM
How did that manage to avoid every Uruguay player in the box when it came back off the post there?!

15-06-2018, 01:48 PM
yassssssssss :thumbsup:

Uruguay score 1-0

Goal Uruguay!

Great header.

Everyone who's got Uruguay on the coupon can relax.

Didn't want to see a replay of a belting free kick anyway

15-06-2018, 01:50 PM
Ps was never a free kick they scored from

15-06-2018, 01:50 PM
Ugh - the horrible *******s find a way to win it after committing crimes against football for 90 minutes.

15-06-2018, 01:53 PM
Commentators have been awful
But on the bright side it can only get better with that tedious moron lawrenson :rolleyes:

15-06-2018, 01:53 PM
Are Mo's salad days behind him?

15-06-2018, 01:55 PM
better team won...end of

15-06-2018, 01:55 PM
suarez is such a cheating little git

15-06-2018, 01:56 PM
suarez is such a cheating little git

today? whats he done?

15-06-2018, 01:57 PM
Everyone who's got Uruguay on the coupon can relax.

Morocco 13/10 ?? Aye gaun then !

15-06-2018, 01:59 PM
today? whats he done?

he deliberately got his foot/shin stuck under a set of egyption studs

15-06-2018, 01:59 PM
today? whats he done?

Put two hotels on Mayfair and only paid for one of them in the pre-match Team Monopoly championship.

15-06-2018, 02:02 PM

Morocco 13/10 ?? Aye gaun then !

Also got Morocco myself :aok:

15-06-2018, 02:02 PM
I missed that second half but I like Egypt to get something against Russia in the next game with Salah back.

15-06-2018, 02:06 PM
The game is being held in Yekaterinburg which currently has daylight between 4am and 10pm. They can't really have them playing at 2am.

I might be wrong on this but I believe Muslims who live in the extreme north or south of the world, and who will therefore have periods during the summer of almost entire sunlight, have the option of fasting during the hours of daylight in Mecca so maybe they could be observing that.

That’s kind of right, there’s all different interpretations, that’s one of them. Zidane had a medical condition that meant he didn’t have to fast, lucky man.

15-06-2018, 02:10 PM
Disagree - neither of them are playing an attacking team that's competent. Far too many mistakes and stupid decisions.

There's not been a single bit of quality on the park so far.

Disagree Uruguay on another day could have won by 3 or 4 if Suarez was on form. Both centre back in each team were good. Game opened up a bit and Uruguay deserved to win. Athletic partnership for Uruguay are quality.

15-06-2018, 02:11 PM
he deliberately got his foot/shin stuck under a set of egyption studs

15-06-2018, 02:12 PM
Should Egypt have had a boy on the post given how close to the byeline the free kick was?

15-06-2018, 02:22 PM
Ps was never a free kick they scored from

Totally agree - Uruguayan-player should've been booked for diving along with intentionally handling the ball !

15-06-2018, 02:50 PM
Felt for Egypt, they played very well considering the gap in talent levels between them. Missed having a game changer in Salah on the park. Suarez was poor and Cavani wasn't much better but popped up to test the keeper at least.

15-06-2018, 03:00 PM
No idea how this will go - I know scarcely any of the players on either side.

But I used to play football with a bunch of Iranians, and dear God they knew how to cheat/moan.

For that reason, come on Morocco! :greengrin

15-06-2018, 03:08 PM
Get Benji and Zemmama on!!

15-06-2018, 03:15 PM
I'm liking no 16 the Moroccan Martin Boyle already

15-06-2018, 03:18 PM
Yep, these Iranians are just like the chaps I used to play with every Sunday - you blow on them and they're down rolling around, screaming abuse at you.

Morocco by far the better team so far.

15-06-2018, 03:22 PM
I'm liking no 16 the Moroccan Martin Boyle already

I've seen their #10 a few times, Belhanda, was class for Nice #strokes hipster beard

15-06-2018, 03:24 PM
I've seen their #10 a few times, Belhanda, was class for Nice #strokes hipster beard

:faf::faf:

15-06-2018, 03:29 PM
:faf::faf:

Quaresma playing tonight, hoping he can roll back the years.

15-06-2018, 03:30 PM
Quaresma playing tonight, hoping he can roll back the years.

You know I love the main man, can't wait to see what new jail tattoos he's got for this tournament, he's still way cooler than Ronaldo

15-06-2018, 03:47 PM
Just spotted a Scotland flag at Morocco Iran game.

15-06-2018, 04:17 PM
whichever team the fans with they damn hooter things are supporting i hope their team get skelped :)

15-06-2018, 04:24 PM
lol@ that iranian gadgy screaming like a wee lassie ffs :faf:

15-06-2018, 04:25 PM
lol@ that iranian gadgy screaming like a wee lassie ffs :faf:

Pretty sure he changed the leg he was holding too...

15-06-2018, 04:29 PM
Pretty sure he changed the leg he was holding too...

i was too busy rolling about laughing to notice that :greengrin

15-06-2018, 04:30 PM
Im just back from work. 0-0. Has there been anything notable in this one?

15-06-2018, 04:32 PM
Im just back from work. 0-0. Has there been anything notable in this one?

Just the Morocco manager pairing colourful trainers with trousers & a white shirt.

Apart from that; nothing.

15-06-2018, 04:33 PM
David Gray took a sore one there, looks concussed as well

15-06-2018, 04:33 PM
Please tell me that boy isnt being let back on, hes severely concussed.

15-06-2018, 04:35 PM
Today's fixtures have so far not managed to live up to yesterday. Hopefully Portugal v Spain can change that.

15-06-2018, 04:38 PM
What a truly god awful game , The ball is never in play !!!!

15-06-2018, 04:44 PM
What a truly god awful game , The ball is never in play !!!!

Would be nice if Morocco scored.

15-06-2018, 04:45 PM
Ive only been watching fifteen minutes and ive seen about five minutes of justfiable injury time to be added on. Just awful.

15-06-2018, 04:46 PM
Heres another pretend injury. dear god.

15-06-2018, 04:49 PM
lol@ all the extra rolls by the iranian

15-06-2018, 04:49 PM
:faf:23 rolling about

Topographic Hibby
15-06-2018, 04:50 PM
Only been watching since 75mins. Shocker....

I will treasure the previous hour and bit, walking the dog and making some home made burgers, as time very well spent........:rolleyes:

15-06-2018, 04:51 PM
How long has the ball actually been in play? It’s seemed like a farce of a game of football.

15-06-2018, 04:52 PM
Fracas on the sidelines, this games got it all

15-06-2018, 04:54 PM
How long has the ball actually been in play? It’s seemed like a farce of a game of football.

I've been watching football a helluva long time but i honestly can't remember a game like this where the ball is hardly been in play

A truly horrific game

Teams like these just ruin the game.

Just the Morocco manager pairing colourful trainers with trousers & a white shirt.

Apart from that; nothing.

Old Herve is a legend. When he won the ACN he was in blue jeans, loafers and a white shirt open like an 80s porn star

booooooo

Goal Iran!!

1-0 Iran in stoppage time.

Haha GOAL Iran

15-06-2018, 04:55 PM
oops an OG ffs glad i cashed out earlier

Topographic Hibby
15-06-2018, 04:55 PM
Own goal 90+4........!!!!!!!!

15-06-2018, 04:56 PM
Scenes. Iran going mental.

15-06-2018, 04:58 PM
hope donald trump overturns this result

15-06-2018, 04:58 PM
Old Herve is a legend. When he won the ACN he was in blue jeans, loafers and a white shirt open like an 80s porn star

He looks like he’d play a ‘loverat’ in Corrie or Eastenders.

15-06-2018, 05:00 PM
I hate to say it but watching Hearts would be more entertaining than that dross.

15-06-2018, 05:03 PM
He looks like he’d play a ‘loverat’ in Corrie or Eastenders.

Up with the soaps aye do you watch river city

15-06-2018, 05:14 PM
Up with the soaps aye do you watch river city

Don’t think you can count River City as a soap if none of the characters use it.

15-06-2018, 05:19 PM
Think it would be safe to say, that’s Morocco and Soufia Arabia out, after their 1st matches

15-06-2018, 05:28 PM
Looking forward to seeing what one of my favourite radges Ramos gets up to in this game

15-06-2018, 05:31 PM
Looking forward to seeing what one of my favourite radges Ramos gets up to in this game

If Egypt get through, Salah will be up against Ramos again in the knockout stage :faf:

15-06-2018, 05:35 PM
If Egypt get through, Salah will be up against Ramos again in the knockout stage :faf:

I like Salah but hope Ramos goes right through Pepe, strange that I like one and not the other :faf:

15-06-2018, 05:41 PM
Teams like these just ruin the game.

Whilst Italy, Netherlands and even the likes of Scotland and Wales don't make it. FIFA must be really proud of rigging the system so they have teams that have no right to be there in the competition!!

chinaman
15-06-2018, 05:42 PM
ramos is a bully ****.whatever rocks yer boat tho.
i wish a career ending injury for the tool.

15-06-2018, 05:45 PM
ramos is a bully ****.whatever rocks yer boat tho.
i wish a career ending injury for the tool.

I know exactly what he is but for some reason I can't help but like him

15-06-2018, 05:46 PM
I know exactly what he is but for some reason I can't help but like him

I'm a bit sick like that tae...I like to see what he gets up tae next !

15-06-2018, 05:47 PM
I like Salah but hope Ramos goes right through Pepe, strange that I like one and not the other :faf:

I really like Cuadrado, so when Ramos got him sent off with that dive in the Champions League final I turned against him.

15-06-2018, 05:50 PM

I'm a bit sick like that tae...I like to see what he gets up tae next !

That's where I'm at with him, one minute he's rolling around on the ground or going through someone and the next minute he's dismissing everyone to take a free kick from 45 yards, it's always an adventure

15-06-2018, 05:57 PM
Outrageous, not a single Spanish player sang the anthem. Disgraceful.

15-06-2018, 05:58 PM
Absolute disgrace, not one single Spanish player singing their anthem.

15-06-2018, 05:58 PM

Git. :faf:

15-06-2018, 05:59 PM
I didn't realise that the VAR wear referees kits, that's tremendous haha

15-06-2018, 05:59 PM
Quaresma not playing :grr:

15-06-2018, 06:00 PM
Quaresma not playing :grr:

He likes to build up the tension first

SJNB Hibby
15-06-2018, 06:03 PM
I dunno---looked a bit divey---brave call---VAR?

15-06-2018, 06:03 PM
He knew exactly what he was doing there

15-06-2018, 06:05 PM
Stick on penalty, well taken.

Played for and got.

Git. :faf:

Been waiting all day :greengrin

Cool as a cucumber brilliant

guthrie01
Diving ***** :grr: not looking good for my bets today

Stick on penalty, well taken.

Aye, Danny Murphy "no pen".....oh, aye it is. Fud

15-06-2018, 06:07 PM

Was that a protest at the sacking of the manager?

SJNB Hibby
15-06-2018, 06:09 PM
Was that a protest at the sacking of the manager?

There's no words to the spanish national anthem

15-06-2018, 06:09 PM
So much quality already compared to the first three games.

15-06-2018, 06:10 PM
So much quality already compared to the first three games.

I could watch Iniesta play fitba all day and not get bored, he's like a mini McGeouch

15-06-2018, 06:13 PM
I could watch Iniesta play fitba all day and not get bored, he's like a mini McGeouch

David Silva is so good to watch as well. He knows what hes doing before he does it.

15-06-2018, 06:14 PM
There's no words to the spanish national anthem

Well they could at least hum the tune or do a wee twirl to the rhythm. :greengrin

15-06-2018, 06:14 PM
Anyone saying that wasn't a penalty for Portugal are just clearly dismissing the laws of the game and allowing their dislike of Ronaldo to rule.

15-06-2018, 06:15 PM
David Silva is so good to watch as well. He knows what hes doing before he does it.

Yep, I've always rated him as the best player in English football, he's a joy to watch

15-06-2018, 06:16 PM
It's like watching a ****ing pantomime with the cheering whenever Ronaldo gets the ball then the cartoon booing when he passes it.

As is Isco. He is brilliant.

Anyone saying that wasn't a penalty for Portugal are just clearly dismissing the laws of the game and allowing their dislike of Ronaldo to rule.

maybe I just think Ronaldo knew exactly what he was doing and left his foot in to gain the advantage and to me that's as good as a dive

Ps Ronaldo is still a fanny

15-06-2018, 06:21 PM
Pepe marking Diego Costa needs watching :faf:

Wow Spain are playing really well.

15-06-2018, 06:21 PM
maybe I just think Ronaldo knew exactly what he was doing and left his foot in to gain the advantage and to me that's as good as a dive

Fanny or not, when you’re running at speed, the slightest touch can knock you right off balance.

guthrie01
15-06-2018, 06:22 PM

Yeah it was a penalty but Ronaldo certainly made the most of the little contact presented to him. But rules are rules I guess