View Full Version : Who will win the 2018 World Cup

12-06-2018, 06:35 AM
Two days to go - so who do you think will win the 2018 World Cup.

I don't think there is a strong favourite, though the winner will come from one of four teams, in my opinion. After these four, there's probably another four or five teams that could win it if they perform consistently at a level that they sometimes perform at, but not often enough.

As always, it's going to be great to watch.

PS: There's enough ABE threads out there, so if you want to vent your ABE opinion please do so on one of these. :greengrin

12-06-2018, 06:40 AM
Spain - fitting finale for Iniesta

12-06-2018, 06:46 AM
I've been impressed by Deschamps - I reckon France could do it.

12-06-2018, 07:32 AM

Brazil for me but spain are the dark horses

In transition at the last major but rebuilt quietly and effective

Part of me would like Belgium to win it though as they've got an extremely talented squad

12-06-2018, 07:45 AM
Germany usually turn up and do the business. I fancy them.

Stranraer
12-06-2018, 07:49 AM
Germany.

12-06-2018, 10:34 AM
According the the BBC, the winner will be............................

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44431262

Belgium

12-06-2018, 10:41 AM
This is Messi's time to cement his place as the GOAT

12-06-2018, 10:42 AM
I'd like it to be a country that's never won it before (Belgium maybe).

The Champions League and World Cup seems to be won mostly by the same old names.

12-06-2018, 10:43 AM
Gotta go for Sweden. A life without hope.. and all that!

SJNB Hibby
12-06-2018, 04:22 PM

Agreed. Ronaldo won Euro, think Messi can match/better that

yeezus
12-06-2018, 04:28 PM
I fancy Germany to win it, if not them then France.

12-06-2018, 04:38 PM
If Hertz don’t win it for the good of British football then I reckon on France [emoji632] a good squad with a nice blend of youth and experience. Brazil are overrated IMO Germany have been struggling of late, Argentina over rely on Messi, Spain are peasants, England are too inexperienced, Italy aren’t even there and every other team is pish [emoji13]

12-06-2018, 04:40 PM
Russia will have the referees...can you really count them out? South Korea reached a semi-final from it.

12-06-2018, 06:22 PM
Germany.

12-06-2018, 06:28 PM
According the the BBC, the winner will be............................

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44431262

Belgium

"Belgium has a population of approx. twice that of Scotland so as Scotland's chances of ever winning the World Cup are zero then mathematically Belgium chances are 2 x 0 which equates to zero". - Stephen Hawkins (just before he died)

AZhibee
12-06-2018, 06:32 PM
We all win by witnessing such an event.😏

12-06-2018, 08:28 PM
"Belgium has a population of approx. twice that of Scotland so as Scotland's chances of ever winning the World Cup are zero then mathematically Belgium chances are 2 x 0 which equates to zero". - Stephen Hawkins (just before he died)

And Brazil has a population approx. 40 times that of Scotland so, by your (sorry Hawkins') logic, Brazil chances mathematically are 40 x 0 which equates to zero. Someone please tell the bookies!

12-06-2018, 08:56 PM
Germany, Spain, and Brazil seem the obvious choices. I fancy Colombia though.

12-06-2018, 09:09 PM
the poll closes on 30-6 so i'l wait and see who all gets knocked out early doors before casting my vote :cb :)

12-06-2018, 09:13 PM
I don't know. Has Kamberi signed yet?

12-06-2018, 10:00 PM
Heart says Germany but they need to up their game considerably and I don't see any leaders in this team that will drive them on.

13-06-2018, 06:17 AM

He’s not even close

13-06-2018, 06:27 AM
I’m going for Brazil.

13-06-2018, 07:20 AM
Heart Brasil. As long as it’s not Germany - sorry Brandenberg

13-06-2018, 07:34 AM
The Special One has spoken! Jose Mourinho predicts that Brazil will knock England out at the Quarter Final stage. That is good enough for me . ABE.

Ryan69
13-06-2018, 07:41 AM
Brazil for me but spain are the dark horses

In transition at the last major but rebuilt quietly and effective

Part of me would like Belgium to win it though as they've got an extremely talented squad

I wouldnt really class third favourites as dark horse...Spain have a great chance.

13-06-2018, 07:53 AM
I fancy Spain. I think goalkeeper, defence and midfield they’re better than anyone. Question marks over their front line but if Costa can perform I can’t see anyone stopping them.

13-06-2018, 08:51 AM
I wouldnt really class third favourites as dark horse...Spain have a great chance.

Most of the chat I've seen has been focused on Brazil/Messi/Germany/France and Belgium. Dark horse is probably the wrong term, but for me they've flew under the radar a bit until now

Speculation that the manager will leave his post today...

13-06-2018, 09:01 AM
i know they are only friendlies but after watching the germans recently i'm taking them off my list of favourites, their defence has been pretty rank, so...Spain or Brazil it is :)

13-06-2018, 09:09 AM
Lets be honest, it doesn't matter who wins it anyway, it's meaningless because Rangers aren't involved . . . .

13-06-2018, 09:49 AM
He’s not even close

Haha.

13-06-2018, 09:50 AM
Most of the chat I've seen has been focused on Brazil/Messi/Germany/France and Belgium. Dark horse is probably the wrong term, but for me they've flew under the radar a bit until now

Speculation that the manager will leave his post today...

Apparently been sacked!
But they have a replacement ready... weird time to make a call like that

Curried
13-06-2018, 10:02 AM
I've gone for Germany.

Although their form coming into the Cup has not been great, I fancy them to reach the final and beat France 2-0.

13-06-2018, 10:06 AM
Apparently been sacked!

Julen Lopetegui sacked as Spain manager after accepting Real Madrid job

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2018/jun/13/julen-lopetegui-sacked-spain-manager-real-madrid-job?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Copy_to_clipboard

13-06-2018, 10:07 AM
Apparently been sacked!

Yep, just been sacked. Absolute madness

13-06-2018, 10:18 AM
He’s not even close

Banter.

13-06-2018, 10:20 AM
Yep, just been sacked. Absolute madness

Crazy timing. What were they thinking? On the eve of the World Cup.

14-06-2018, 06:39 AM

Wonder how the sacking of the manager will affect Spain's chances!

The game against Portugal will be very interesting and will determine how soon they play the better teams. If all goes to form, they should get Denmark in the quarter's if the win their group. Or it could be France if they come second in their group.

15-06-2018, 10:32 AM
Was impressed by Russia yesterday. It will be interesting to see how far they get. Probably wasn't a great test for them against the Saudis.

Can't wait for the Spain Portugal game today - whoever wins that must win the group.

15-06-2018, 10:38 AM
Wonder how the sacking of the manager will affect Spain's chances!

The game against Portugal will be very interesting and will determine how soon they play the better teams. If all goes to form, they should get Denmark in the quarter's if the win their group. Or it could be France if they come second in their group.

Portugal are 4th in FIFA rankings table.
They are the current European Champions.
Spain are ranked 10th

RoslinInstHibby
15-06-2018, 10:39 AM
Was impressed by Russia yesterday. It will be interesting to see how far they get. Probably wasn't a great test for them against the Saudis.

Can't wait for the Spain Portugal game today - whoever wins that must win the group.

brilliant result for them, and a cracking opener for the tournament, I genuinely think its gonna be a great world cup.

Salah not staring today, shame as we wont get to see him play but I think its the right decision

15-06-2018, 10:49 AM
Heart Brasil. As long as it’s not Germany - sorry Brandenberg

No apology necessary bud. Brazil will be out for revenge if their paths meet, would be a cracking match.

16-06-2018, 05:34 PM
I've got a feeling France could be a bit of a dark horse here. Worth sticking a wee fiver on.

Andy.1875
18-06-2018, 08:47 AM
I've got £10 on Portugal to win it at 25/1, so hopefully.......

18-06-2018, 09:04 AM
Spain!

20-06-2018, 08:37 PM
So the favourites on Hibs.net are Germany (who lost their first game) and Brazil (who drew their first game) - shows we've got a lot of football experts on Hibs.net.:stirrer:

Spain should qualify, as should France. Have they impressed though?

Belgium looked impressive, but it will be interesting to see how they fare against England in a winner wins the group match.

Argentina don't impress me.

How about Russia? They've impressed to date.

nellio
20-06-2018, 08:41 PM
I've gone for Belgium.

Think they would have won the euros if we hadn't put them out.

20-06-2018, 09:10 PM
Portugal could be a shout.

20-06-2018, 10:01 PM
Spain.

24-06-2018, 08:34 PM
"It's coming home"

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44593710

Well what do you think?

Anyone fancy England............... 🏆🏆🏆

24-06-2018, 08:41 PM
"It's coming home"

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/445937 (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44593710)
Well what do you think?

Still Spain for me. England last 16 or quarter final. A quarter final place would represent a decent world cup for England and progression.

24-06-2018, 08:47 PM
"It's coming home"

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/44593710

Well what do you think?

Nope, Tunisia and Panama two of the easiest sides in the World Cup. They haven’t been tested at all.

24-06-2018, 08:47 PM
Still no real standout other than Belgium or dare I say England. No real tests for either side and their game against each other wont be an indication of either sides ability. Think we won’t get a good idea of a winner till this group is over and some sides face a proper test, while some might not advance at all!

24-06-2018, 08:52 PM
Should be Scotlands second world cup win to go with 78. :wink:

24-06-2018, 09:33 PM
Russia. If you can put a president in the oval office, landing a world cup on home soil is a walk in the park.

In other news, I expect:

Brazil to self destruct against clinical opposition

Senegal to defy everyone's predictions

England to be brought down to earth against Belgium

24-06-2018, 09:34 PM
Should be Scotlands second world cup win to go with 78. :wink:

You jest, but Scotland have yet to concede a goal in this world cup. Think on lad...

24-06-2018, 09:39 PM
You jest, but Scotland have yet to concede a goal in this world cup. Think on lad...

Aye but you've got to be in it to win it.:wink:

27-06-2018, 06:58 PM
Well, it won't be Germany.

Three more days to cast your vote.

28-06-2018, 12:17 AM
Spain

28-06-2018, 08:23 PM
Poll closes on Saturday morning. If you've not voted who do you think will win it?

France vs Argentina, Saturday, 30 June 7:30 PM IST, Kazan Arena
Uruguay vs Portugal, Saturday, 30 June 11:30 PM IST, Fisht Stadium
Spain vs Russia, Sunday, 1st July, 7:30 PM IST, Luzhinki Stadium
Croatia vs Denmark, Sunday, 1st July, 11:30 PM IST, Nizhny Novgorod Stadium
Brazil vs Mexico, Monday, 2nd July, 7:30 PM IST, Samara Arena
Belgium vs Japan, Monday, 2nd July, 11:30 PM IST, Rostov Arena
Sweden vs Switzerland, Tuesday, 7:30 PM IST, Saint Petersburg Stadium
Colombia vs England, Tuesday, 11:30 PM IST, Spartak Stadium

28-06-2018, 08:41 PM
The Special One has spoken! Jose Mourinho predicts that Brazil will knock England out at the Quarter Final stage. That is good enough for me . ABE.

Has he an update?

15-07-2018, 05:28 PM
Well, less than 10% of those who voted got it correct.

My vote went to Spain but they needed a better striker.

IMO, after the group stages there was only ever going to be one winner, France.

Was very impressed with Croatia, though.